Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Somerset Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a text update system that sends your phone a message if something is happening on campus. It addresses everything from extreme weather to campus shootings.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs: Film, Art, Green...etc

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to stay in Somerset, Students who don't want to spend much money but want to start putting in hours on their degree, even if they don't know what they want it to be in. Students who want to learn in the small town of Somerset

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During Earth Day there is always a festival for the community

    Bang for the buck

    This is pretty good. There are a lot of cheap things to do on the town, and the prices for classes are decent. The textbook prices may drive you a bit wild, but, overall, they are great.

    What to do for fun

    Occasional Flag Football games, lots of events organized by the school, plays from the drama department, the town has two movie theaters and a drive-in, the town also has a put-put place and a bowling alley. There is also a large Lake nearby and plenty of woods to camp/hike through.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fairly good. The price isn't extravagant. Overall, nothing to write home to mom about. However, the Baptist Student Ministry House occasionally serves free lunches, and those are nice.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of the course depends on how you go through out it. I picked to take more difficult courses: Calculus 1 and 2, University Physics, etc... These classes were difficult, but when I took simpler classes like Developmental Psychology the class was easier to handle. (Also, George Martinez is a wonderful Psych prof) You can tailor the rigor to however much you really want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should just be prepared to work with their professors. The professors are so nice, and they are willing to help you out if you are in a tough spot. I would recommend hitting the book store early as they sell out of books for popular classes or online classes quickly. Go to the additional seminars they have. Occasionally someone will come speak at SCC, and they often have a small crowd, but many of these speakers can give you tips on things you need to learn. Just the other day I went to an interview workshop that helped get me a scholarship.

    In three sentences

    I took classes here while in high school, and I had a great time! You get what you want out of it. The professors are so incredibly nice.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Somerset Community is great for students with a tight budget, as well as a busy schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is fairly affordable compared to most other colleges, and the education is very fulfilling.

    What to do for fun

    The Laurel County branch offers a great fitness center, with a variety of equipment to accommodate everyone's needs. Furthermore, the duck pond is very close, offering peace for those with busy schedules.

    Food and Dining

    Somerset Community does not have a cafeteria like many schools; however, sometimes the school holds lunches, which always consist of a welcoming atmosphere and great food.

    Dorm Life

    This really does not apply; I attend the Laurel County branch of Somerset Community, where we do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The assignments can be a little lengthy at times, but they are never too difficult. Professors teach at a pace that is easy to work with.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to start early on all assignments; deadlines will catch up with you in a hurry. I would also recommend thinking your schedule through very thoroughly; I have signed up for early classes that I should have known I could never make it to.

    In three sentences

    Somerset Community College is a great place to get an education. The professors are very reasonable, and the atmosphere is welcoming. as a student here, I feel like my goals are very reachable.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    anime, karate and archery

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of clubs, such as anime club. there are a couple of sororities and faternitys

    Tips for prospective students

    enroll early, this will ensure the best schedule. make sure to be able to make it from one campus to the other.

    In three sentences

    i believe that this school is on it's way to becoming a better college. there is a lot of things the school is behind on. the staff are often understanding and kind.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    just pull up our web site and find out.

    Bang for the buck

    not much to tell for a small town.

    What to do for fun

    there is not much to do in this town, but we have the local water park, movie theater, and dining areas.

    Food and Dining

    the college just got a cafe, it is not much, but fulfills the needs of us students. however, local restaurants serve us well and and cost is ok.

    Dorm Life

    since, i do not live in a dorm and this town is smal it does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    this college has an overall academic.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you do not want to spend a lot of time trying to accomplish a degree and know what you want to do, then come to somerset community college.

    In three sentences

    this college is small, but offers many educated instructors that i am glad to have meet. somerset community college is close to my apartment and family, and if i have problems someone is always there to help answer my questions. scc, may be a two year program, however, it is worth every minute of my time.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is worth spending money on your education and Somerset is reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    I am an older student with a family but I do get invitations through e-mail for activities they sponsor and host.

    Food and Dining

    There are snack machines everywhere and there is a cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know if they have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They help you each step of the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a good computer for on-line classes. Take time to study. Don't worry about being too old to learn anything.

    In three sentences

    Somerset is a college for all ages. Somerset is easy to apply to. Somerset will help you take the right path to your future.

  • 04/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I actually have never ate the food at the college. I honestly just go home after i'm finished with my classes and eat.

    Dorm Life

    I actually live at home so i'm not sure what the dorm life is like.

    Academic Rigor

    The learning here is not that hard for me. It's like the teachers here understand that the students do have a life outside of school and consider that when assigning homework assignments.

    In three sentences

    Somerset Community College has been great for me so far. I'm a freshman and all my teachers have made me feel so important and like i belong there. I would love to see more people attend this college.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Different clubs and activities something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult, First time college students, and senior

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advisor as a friend and get to know the staff in the offices.

    In three sentences

    Great place to start your education and find your path. SCC helps everyone reach their goals as long as he or she gives 100%.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fully safe

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities available for those who want to attend.

    Great for these types of students

    For those who want to earn their post secondary education and those who may want to transfer to one of our Kentucky Universities.

    What to do for fun

    Hiking, fishing, swimming, golf, bowling, movies, and of course shopping.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you choose to attend college set goals for yourself to achieve. Those goals may include making a certain grade point average or being accepted into the degree program of your choice. Never quit.

    In three sentences

    Somerset Community College is a college that is dedicated to the student and their ability to excel in the degree that they choose. I have currently enrolled to continue my nursing degree. I received my associates in Applied Science and LPN in 2009. I am excited and looking forward to continuing my education at this school.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unless you are worried about dying from second-hand smoke you will be ok.

    Bang for the buck

    $125 a credit hour.

    What to do for fun

    Good Luck with that. Get friends I guess.

    Food and Dining

    Good but expensive cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Gen-ed classes are fairly easy for the most part. Show up, do the work, and study and you will get an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a knowledgeable advisor who can get you on the right path the first time so you aren't taking worthless classes. Also, use online teacher rating sites to find a good one before you get in the class. Lastly, don't buy any book until after classes start. Many teachers don't even use them.

    In three sentences

    Small classes, good degree choices, and great place to start of your college career. Good advisers are hit and miss and some teachers are like that as well, although there are many great one.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very secure

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    to many to name

    Great for these types of students

    First time Straight from High School Older who have not attended school for a while

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The International Festival is a great way to explore other cultures of those who are on the campus and those who live around the community of summer set.

    What to do for fun

    I take my son to the park I go fishing and camping with friends anything outdoors Im up for.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Somerset is a great place to start looking into especially if you aren't sure what you want to do yet.

    In three sentences

    Somerset is a great start for a college career. The workers and students are very helpful and supportive. The classes are small and the teachers are wonderful.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If at all possible decide what your major is as soon as you begin so you can start working toward that. Figure out which classes suit you best, online, in-class, itv, etc. Try your best to be all that you can be!

    In three sentences

    A great college for first time students who are planning to transfer to a 4 year university. A great thing about the college is that you can also take courses online and be an out-of-state student and receive the same tuition. The college has some great professors!

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on patrol, especially at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Parents Full-time or Part-time employees High School graduates The Baby Boomers generation Anyone who wants to educate their mind.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is awesome. I have to say the breakfast is the best, with good home cooking.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot expected of you, but it is no more than what you can handle. Just put your all into everything you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a general idea as to what you would like to major in, that way when all of your general ed classes are completed you are well on your way to getting that degree. Make college your priority, really focus on what is important to you. Make sure you explore all the college possibilities you have to find the right one for you...it's out there.

    In three sentences

    Somerset Community College has given me the opportunity to expand my education and still be a mother to my 3 kids while working. SCC has flexible class schedules so that I am able to work full-time, get my smarts on and keep up with my other responsibilities. Plus, the instructors are great, they understand what it is like to juggle school, work, and parenthood.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SCC in London is a very safe environment. I have not heard of any incidents regarding safety issues.

    Greek Life

    I am unable to answer this question.

    Clubs and Activities

    SCC has several clubs and activities. They are constantly sending out emails to let you know what is going on.

    Great for these types of students

    SCC is great for students that like the small college experience. I chose SCC because it is close to my home and for the small town feel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus in London is split into two locations. That can sometimes put time constrictions on you. You may have a class at the North location and your next class will be at the South location. You may have to leave a class early to reach the other one, but as long as you explain to the professor, they will work with you.

    Bang for the buck

    The staff at the London location are very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. This is my first experience with college, but I am enjoying it so far.

    What to do for fun

    SCC is always sending out emails to students letting them know about current events. I attend the London campus, but the emails sent out are for all locations.

    Food and Dining

    Again I do not know about the food and dining. I live off campus and prefer to eat at home in order to save money.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know anything about dorm life. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes can be tough, especially the online classes. The teachers are very willing to help you out as long as you are putting for the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to fill out your FAFSA early. In order to make sure you get the classes that you want and the professor you want, you will also need to make sure you sign up for your classes as early as possible.

    In three sentences

    SCC is a great place to start your education. They have a lot of programs to choose from. If you need to transfer to continue your education, SCC will help you find the right program and university for your needs.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus sends out emails and text messages and can even call when something is happening on or around campus that may affect the safety of students and staff.

    What to do for fun

    They have intramural sports teams and a workout gym for students to use for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has a small cafeteria and vending machines throughout the college.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on the campus because it is just a small community college, but having to travel from home is worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    With the small class sizes, the professors give more time to their students to help them do better in the classes.

    In three sentences

    Somerset community college is a good school. I like the small campus and class sizes, and being able to take most of my classes online. The staff and professors are really nice also.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems to be a safe campus. I have not heard of any problems.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there is a snack area for students. Plenty of restuarants close by.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in the campus where I attend.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have taken so far are intense and stick to the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work, this is not a party school.

    In three sentences

    The academics here are very intense. My English was taken online but I think I would have progressed better within a classroom. There is always someone around for help with tutoring.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many extra activites to get involved in. such as fund raisers. meetings. Movie nights. Etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, but i havn't ate there.

    Dorm Life

    This college doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many different programs you can enter into. I mainly attend this college to get my general education. They offer alot of assisting programs. If you want to be a doctor or something similar. this won't be the college for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the learning commons to peacefully study or get tutoring. Take a health class and get free access to the gym!

    In three sentences

    Classes are easy. Your able to get good help. There are many places to study.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Have study groups to better understand the subject. Join in activities that the school is having. Get involved with helping others learn with you.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to study very hard and make the grades to be able to make it through. You have to keep your grades up at all times. You will have to do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always try to do your best even if you are struggling. don't be afraid to ask for help. be on time for your classes and do the work.

    In three sentences

    somerset community college has been a great experience for me. they have always went out of there way to help with any problems i might have. they always keep you up with what is going on at the college.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Somerset Community College is a great community college.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten the food at school, but some of my friends have and they say it is very good.

    Academic Rigor

    Somerset offers me the courses i need to help me to receive the major that interest me.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help, don't be afraid to ask, because no question is stupid.

    In three sentences

    I love Somerset Community College. It is small and you can find everything very easily. The staff is always very helpful and responsive to my needs,and questions.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security guard who drives around and patrols. I feel very safe on the campus of SCC.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't receive a lot of financial aid. Students who need to be close to home while attending college. students who want to learn, study and dedicate themselves to a course of study.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely a GREAT college for those who can't afford college, and may not receive financial aid. each semester averages about $1,500 as opposed to a university like EKU which may run from $3,000 to $4,000 per semester. Somerset Community College is definitely a wonderful college with many classes and courses of study. I think taking the community college route is so much better in the long run financially.

    What to do for fun

    There is a gym at SCC, and just walking around campus can be interesting. Meeting new people is a constant, and everyone is extremely friendly. I love the social aspect of this small college.

    Food and Dining

    The last time I ate at SCC, the food was wonderful. They also have sandwich machines and various other vending machines if you'd rather escape to a place to study instead of waiting in line for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    SCC doesn't have dorms. Community colleges are so easily accessible, and especially the KCTCS colleges. There is one near you no matter where you live, so long treks to a university aren't necessary, and neither are dorm living situations.

    Academic Rigor

    The reason I give rigor 5 stars, is because depending on what field of study you go into, this college has some pretty tough classes. I think this is a good thing though, because the harder the classes, the harder you have to study, and the more knowledge you'll leave with at the end of your college experience. Knowledge is what we go to school for, so be prepared to study all the time. The basic classes like Eng 101, PSY, SOC, COMM 101, etc are relatively easy. To me, they seemed like just a review of what high school classes I had taken.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many basic classes that you can per semester. It took me longer than I had anticipated to graduate from scc because I only went part time. If you take Anatomy and Physiology, I recommend Dr. Lynch. He is such a wonderful teacher, and I learned a lot from his classes. Somerset also has various satellite campuses, and you might be able to attend this college in your hometown. I spent the first year taking courses in Russell Springs so I didn't have to drive the 30 miles to somerset every day. It's very helpful.

    In three sentences

    My experience was an overall positive one. I loved the majority of my teachers and professors. You definitely get a lot of bang for your buck at this college.

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I do not live on campus therefore I do not do anything for fun here

    Food and Dining

    I do not dine or eat at the campus

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The criteria thus far has been challenging and I have to really study to keep up.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend a small college where you know you can receive help from the staff and faculty, then enroll at Somerset Community College.

    In three sentences

    I have recently just started attending Somerset Community College but my experiences thus far have been pleasant. I have dealt with the Admissions Office, The Financial Aide Department, the Book Store and two different advisers and everyone I have come in contact with have been very helpful to me with my college experience. The faculty that I have dealt with has been very knowledgeable as well.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wonderful Security

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Great for these types of students

    All students

    Bang for the buck

    Greatly affordable

    What to do for fun

    Join Clubs

    Academic Rigor

    Very enthusiastic atmosphere!

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead and listen to advisors.

    In three sentences

    SCC is well equipped for all academic needs. The faculty goes above and beyond for every student. Designed for all students to excell.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movies, Mini-golf, water park and tons more!

    Food and Dining

    Great town with large selection of various cuisines! Will suit any students culinary needs!

    Dorm Life

    Commuting is the Key to a community college, although on campus housing is not provided at some locations local apartments are great nearby!

    Academic Rigor

    Amazing staff, friendly and well educated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great for students unsure about future plans. Perfect school to test the waters to find a major that fits to your liking!

    In three sentences

    As a student of Somerset Community College, I have learned that they have a lot of offer. Multiple campus locations and a variety of majors to pick from. Great school, Great Staff, Unbelievable educational experience!

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They do have a cafeteria on both campus's which is pretty nice :)

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus-

    Tips for prospective students

    Do some research on what type of major you want to do before signing up for college- it'll save you alot of time and hassle when it comes to picking classes, etc.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful College- Its great if you are coming straight out of high school or if its been 10 yrs since you graduated. Most professors are 1 on 1 which is awesome if your a hands on learner.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Don't ask me, I'm old!!!!

    Food and Dining

    Good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a decision about what you want to major in before taking a lot of classes you don't need. If you are unsure, do some job shadowing in areas you think you might be interested in.

    In three sentences

    Somerset Community College is very affordable for those with a family and on a budget. Somerset Community College is very convenient, with online classes and many different campus locations. Somerset Community College cares about their students.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    completely safe when on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    i havent attended any myself but there is plenty to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    Futere transfer students. Students looking to go into a trade, and students who may not have the best academic qualitys

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None to be thought of at the moment

    Bang for the buck

    Most definitely worth every penny of tuition

    What to do for fun

    Lift weights, shoot billiards, play ping pong, and enjoy the beautiful scenery

    Food and Dining

    wonderful cafeteria food

    Dorm Life

    not attended

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to show up on time or early for classes. If you have any questions the staff will be delighted to help you through the toughest of all inconveniences

    In three sentences

    The staff is unbelievably nice and helpful whenever any complications occur. From the instructors i have had, they all are very committed on helping you do your best and be sure to do everything in there power to help u pass. i would recommend this school to anyone

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security on campus driving through and walking by to ensure safety is not an issue.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus. I do not participate in any.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any type of student.

    What to do for fun

    College is close to Lake Cumberland so warm months is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is a little expensive for what you get. I usually went out to eat or brought my own lunch from home.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus so I can't talk about this.

    Academic Rigor

    Staff pushes students academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips are to not procrastinate and get everything done early for enrollment.

    In three sentences

    Somerset Community College is a great college for students that are getting their general education studies. Staff is great to help students in any way needed. Small campus and offers better staff to student ratio and allows for more opportunity for assistance.

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Secuirty guard and a program called SNAP for safety.

    What to do for fun

    They have many clubs to join to meet new students. A area that has ping pong and a pool table to socialize with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definatley recommend SCC to you. Everyone is so nice and helpful. Many options for you financialy and flexibility on schudules.

    In three sentences

    I am very proud to attend, it has a nice campus. Faculty and staff are so helpful with anything and everything. I love SCC!!

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be turned off because it's only a community college. The smaller classrooms give more of an opportunity for one on one interaction with the professor that will make your learning experience all the better and more rewarding.

    In three sentences

    Somerset Community College is by far one of the best community colleges in and around Kentucky. All of the faculty that I've had the pleasure of learning from have been excellent, with the improvement of their students being their main goal. I dare say that, if they offered it, I would pursue more than just my Associates Degree here.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many security guards on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are wanting to leave off campus and for some students who have children or a hectic life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any.

    Bang for the buck

    Somerset is well worth the money you pay.

    What to do for fun

    There are any activities and clubs someone could join. There are also many fun events that take place.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be prepared to study. 2. Don't overload yourself. 3. Make schedules of important events.

    In three sentences

    Somerset has small class sizes so there aren't many distractions. Somerset also has some great programs. Somersets staff is interested in the students and their progress.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Martial Arts Club!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone. Students who want to earn a 2 year degree afford-ably or those looking to start somewhere cheap and transferring to finish their degree.

    What to do for fun

    There's a recreational room where you can play pool or pong between classes. There's always some type of tournament (video gaming/pool/pong/etc...) or little festivals going on. They also have regular self defense classes held by the Martial Arts Club.

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers are great here. They go above and beyond to make sure you do the best you can do in their class. I have made so many friends here and this is just my first year. The class sizes are small so you never feel drowned out. Plus campus life is great, there's always something going on.

    In three sentences

    SCC has a beautiful campus. Intimate class sizes so the teachers are always able to help. And everyone is so friendly, there's always something to do.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's campus security as well as the city police outpost at the South Campus.

    Greek Life

    There's the highly active honor society, Phi Theta Kappa. Minimum requirement is to have your GPA at 3.5 or higher.

    Clubs and Activities

    The list goes on and on. Here's a link for your viewing. http://www.somerset.kctcs.edu/Student_Life/Student_Activities_and_Organizations/Student_Organizations_2013-2014.aspx

    Great for these types of students

    High energy, hard working, looking for opportunities to excel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual, nothing comes to mind as of yet.

    Bang for the buck

    The faculty and staff are persistently working with the student's to enhance the college experience at SCC.

    What to do for fun

    From flag football and yoga to poetry and video games. If you check your student email regularly you're bound to find your niche.

    Food and Dining

    The price of food at the campus dining facility is overpriced and the menu isn't wholesome.

    Dorm Life

    This is a 2 year community college so there are no dorms. But the campus is live with activity. There's always something going on.

    Academic Rigor

    In the traditional brick and mortar classes, if you pay attention and participate you'll learn everything you need to know and maybe even more.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't understand something, don't be afraid to ask questions. If your able, take the time to attend campus activities. It's a great way to get to know people at your school and network. I'd recommend in-class classes over online.

    In three sentences

    From my experience majority of the faculty and staff are passionate about teaching and providing opportunities for students to learn and grow. The professors will take the time to work with you one on one, making sure you understand the material. I feel like I've really benefited from my time attending Somerset Community College.

  • 10/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has security round the clock.

    Clubs and Activities

    Gay Straight Alliance Flag Football

    Great for these types of students

    Working students. Parent Students. Returning students.

    What to do for fun

    Flag football.

    Food and Dining

    Great Cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Not a residential campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers expect you to ask questions and do your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try no matter what.

    In three sentences

    The school has great advisors and teacher. Everyone is always friendly. The faculty are always willing to help you.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A security guard is available to walk you to your car at any time.

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Several clubs are offered, depends on what you are interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    nursing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Somerset and London Campus are very easy to locate.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that we will get our moneys worth in educational growth by attending Somerset College.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers several different clubs, as well as a fitness center available for our use.

    Food and Dining

    good

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm, so I am currently unable to give an opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe in pushing myself beyond what is expected of me in order to give my full potential in any subject, which every student is expected to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be fully persuaded that you are ready mentally to attend college and give your 100% plus- your all in all before committing yourself.

    In three sentences

    The Advisors were very helpful for my entrance into college. I found the school to be very clean, which as a CMA , I am always looking for at whatever facility that I enter. The aspects of financial aid were very informational.