Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

South Carolina State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 out of 17 people found this review useful. 1 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a hard worker, fun loving, open to new experiences, and looking for someplace that will not only mold you, but allow you to mold yourself, South Carolina State University is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any students wishing to attend this university should be sure to keep an accurate record of all paperwork. While the school itself is wonderful, the offices sometimes become disorganized and people get lost in the shuffle.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, this institution is worth the money. The quality education that one will recieve, the experiences one will have, and the lifelong friends that all students make here, constitute the perfect place to further an education.

    Am enjoying being here

    Campus life at SCSU contributes to its appeal and the enjoyability of attendance. From greek life to sporting events, South Carolina State University offers a variety of activities for students to make the experience here a memorable one.

    Am learning a lot

    The learning environment at South Carolina State is very relaxed. Teachers are easily accessable and willing to help students understand course material.

  • 12/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SCSU is a great school for anyone that is interested in attending an institution of higher learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective student you should be determined and serious about your education at SCSU and if you are then you will go far.

    Bang for the buck

    SCSU has really give me a Bang for my Buck'. I feel that all the money being spent for me to attend SCSU has been used wisely. The classes are productive and the teachers really care and are there to help. There are free resources, such as tutors to help when there's a need. The campus is nice and I feel safe when I am on campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    All though I do become rather homesick SCSU has lots of academic programs, extracurricular activities, and other festivities that take place on campus that help take my mind off being homesick and away from my family and friends that I have left behind. The campus is full of diversity and fun things to get into. I truly enjoy meeting all the different and new people on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Since I began Attending South Carolina State University I have learned so much. I am learning how to manage my time and study skills that help me to better understand material that I need help in. I am also learning discipline. At home I had my Parents to guide my, now that I am off at school SCSU has consequences and rewards to help me learn self discipline.

  • 12/31/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    South Carolina State has an environment that is very middle pace. I think that it is a great school for independent, down to earth students who are ready to learn and have fun with out a lot of drama.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's vital that you stay focused on your goal which is to get out of school with degree in a major that will help you in the future. Its always a good idea to organize your time so that you get enough hours to sleep, eat, work, and HAVE FUN!!!! It won't be easy, but one thing you will learn in college is that you have to be diligent and TRY! Some teachers will help you as long as they see that you're doing this simple thing. REMEMBER: Distractions will always be there but if you let them takeover your life then you won't.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though SCSU is a great school, it is not cheap. Though, I do get what I pay for. I get a full all-you-can-eat meal at the cafe (cafeteria), along with tutors, a decent place on campus to lay my head, a library which stays open till midnight, many open computers and printers and the list goes on. These are all essential to me at State.

    Am enjoying being here

    Oh man! I really like being here. I'm apart of the Marching 101 at SCSU. They really make you feel welcomed as a freshman, and it is soo much fun. Because it was my first year, things were kind of hard getting used to, but soon, I caught on to the jist of things. On campus we have a Student Center which includes pool tables, ping pong tables and even a bowling alley. It also has the Pitt which is something like a food court where I can enjoy a quick meal while I chill and eat with my friends.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning a lot! I feel like I'm getting the education that I'm paying for. The teachers are extremely helpful. When I needed extra help, they were very willing to give me their undivided attention to help me succeed in their class.

  • 12/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for football players due to the great program, and honor students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please try to see the school before you come, so that you can see if you like it or not.

    Bang for the buck

    The school lacks in food choice, and times when we can eat. We need a 24 hour cafeteria run off of a point system rather than meal plans.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is nothing like California....enough said.

    Academic Rigor

    The campus isnt much to look at, and some of the teachers are hard to get through to. As an athlete, it is difficult for me to keep my grades up. I was lucky to even get the 3.33 that I got. The teachers do not care whether you're an athlete or not.

  • 06/21/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Just have fun. Its your college life Stay focus on your career that you are interested in

    Tips for prospective students

    keep your head up on your accomplishments. Keep your potential high. Make the right decisions.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Very apparent on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities on campus - meltdowns, aports events, step shows, parties, spirit week, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There's the dining hall, the Pitt (subs, chicken and burgers, chinese), and the all new Pizza Hut express...all wonderful choices!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, but a lot of them require maintenance often. If you do have an issue, make sure you contact the dorm office and stay on it until the problem gets fixed.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the teacher. Do not think that just because a teacher is nice and does not really stress completing work, do not think they forgot. These are the ones that will catch you at the last minute and won't care about failing you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not play around freshmen year. Go to class everyday and do all assignments on time. Learn to prioritize; try your best not to procrastinate. Other people's advice about teacher's is not always accurate...get your own impression; you can always drop the class.

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State is a nice enviornment. People overall are friendly. Teachers really care about student success.

  • 03/28/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    i will love to attend south carolina state university

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    8 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I expect to learn a lot because they are a great school.

  • 08/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Im Very Excited About Attending The 2012 Spring Semester

    Will learn a lot

    Im almost positive that I will be learning a lot

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 63

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I would have to rate South Carolina State University as a very good university because of the small class size you can get more one on one with your teacher. This also help you to learn more of what you are majoring in because you get more help along the way.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety, is called public safety. you see them here and there on campus, they're always riding around campus making sure everything's safe, but when the time come and something does go down it takes the public safety a minute to get there.

    What to do for fun

    i really don't doing anything to have fun. but they do have parties here and there, but if its not a party than its probably different programs, or games that you can attend.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining, when i first got there i believed in the freshman15 i don't really eat like that, but the meal plan is worth having. even though food may not be good, most people don't turn down free food. just know you can swipe your card, just about 3 times out the day. its worth it.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life, i like. i really don't how it'll be to have a roomate that you dont know. my roomate i went to school with for the last 6yrs. so that made my dorm life a whole lot easier. but overall the dormitories, i dont complain about.

    Academic Rigor

    learning isnt hard. professors tell you to get the book, if needed. in class all you do is take notes. most likely your notes would say the same thing as the book just worded different, but books and notes is all the help you really need

    Tips for prospective students

    dont let partying get in the way. take notes and read over them every chance you get

    In three sentences

    south carolina state is an hbcu, the nursing program is good. i dont really like certain situations that take place on campus, but overall scsu academically is good.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    party

    Dorm Life

    excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you manage your time wisely

    In three sentences

    it's going well so far

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    unable to rank

    Great for these types of students

    do know new to college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i am new to the campus and i do not now many people.

    What to do for fun

    nothing right now, i am waiting on the football season.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure your financial aid is enough before starting.

    In three sentences

    i enjoy attending this college. i have people who have attended this college. i wanted to be closer to home.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you can play pool, go swimming, watch movies at the theater, go to the parties they have, and etc.

    Food and Dining

    the food is sometimes good and sometimes bad.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are pretty nice, can't complain there other than the females don't have a dorm where they can stay by them self while the males do.

    Academic Rigor

    academic wise, it is a pretty fair institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you read and study what you go over in class.

    In three sentences

    scsu is a good school but the cost is inefficient for the courses provided. the campus has many repairs that isn't being token care of. the food isn't that great either.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Any student interested in coming to South Carolina State University needs to be ready to have the time of their lives and also receive a great quality education in the process.

    In three sentences

    SCSU is a great school it has provided me with a variety of opportunities that I believe I couldn't have received anywhere else. The other individuals that South Carolina State has put me around is great. SCSU has just a great environment and I love the students,I love my staff and I love my school.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is great. Usually when you go to certain school you have certain greeks that have beef with each other, but here everybody get along.

    Great for these types of students

    anybody

    What to do for fun

    Sports, Bowling, & Other Campus activites

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your financial aid is taking care of before you have to move in.

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State University is a great school. I love the teachers, the students, and majority of the faculty and staff here. The school gives the students who attend their money worth.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    its ok

    Dorm Life

    its ok but i just don't like having a roommate

    Academic Rigor

    its great

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Personally I'm a dancer, so any form of performing arts is great. If you want to be apart of the GREATEST band on the East Coast (Marching 101) Then SCSU is for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a freshman, you might want to stay in Williams hall. The dorms are a little bigger and there is less commotion.

    In three sentences

    I can't wait to get to South Carolina State University. I've been there to visit and i have fallen in love.The atmosphere is so great. unlike high school the teachers actually care and they make sure you are successful.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do especially on campus. There are usually Greek sponsored parties going on every other week and you can always find a small get together going on in the suites. On top of that our Campus Activity Board is very active in getting speakers and hosting random events. The most fun is during football season, going to the games and tailgating and watching the band.

    Food and Dining

    The food is hit and miss at times one day the food can be fantastic and the next day it can make you not want to eat for the rest of the day. I would recommend you eat at the cafe more than anywhere else.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you stay determines how you enjoy the dorms. The RA's can be difficult and seem to lack empathy at times and some are quick to find a way to fine you, but the people you meet in the dorms are ones you develop lifelong bonds with.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are only as hard as you make them if you attend all your classes on a regular basis and develop good study habits passing classes wont be a problem. Some professors are difficult to interact with so be patient.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to go out and try new things. Go to class and pay attention to the professors. Don't be a recluse and stay in your room go out and interact with other students outside your room.

    In three sentences

    Its not too small of a campus yet at the same time not too big. It has a very southern feel to the campus. Students are quick to bond with each other and create strong relationships.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have pretty good campus safety. There is security check points and the different gates to enter campus are closed at night. There are also various campus police cars riding around throughout the day and night

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is good, we have divine nine sororitys and frats. They are eqaul opportunites for anyone to be a part of greek life. There are many different organizations that represent all types of people.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities range from different teams, academic fraternities. There are clubs to join in almost every type of category. There a different departments that students can work for that can help pay them and their tuition.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a lot of student forums and informational events. We have multiple guest speakers and a lot of famous people to come and enlighten the students on important information. There are also alot of various clubs for students to join like CAB and SGA.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The plaza located in the middle of campus, that is towards the middle of the campus and that is where a lot of events happen and where people can go to sit around. After any event in the SHM Gymnasium, everybody stands around outside and mingles in front of Hugine Suites Apartment

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition has gone up from lack of support, bad management of money, and debt in the schools. But it is a good HBCU and one of the few Universities in South Carolina not under University of South Carolina.

    What to do for fun

    I am an athlete so I feel like the multiple sporting events are fun. The multiple parties on campus and the different events like ice cream events and carnivals. There are also a lot of greek sponsored activities like step shows and talent shows.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a lot of options for food on campus, and sometimes they are overcrowded. There should be more healthy options for students and more opportunities to get good food on campus. They should invest in building another place to eat towards the front of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great to me. The RA's always have something set up for the residents to participate in and fun activities. The dorm life is very supportive.

    Academic Rigor

    Some sections of course study are more challenging than others. Some times I feel challenged, and other times I dont feel pushed at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very proactive,dont wait for things to come to you,go out and look for what you need.

    In three sentences

    SCSU is a great HBCU that needs help. We need better staff and more money to fix up the school and provide more scholarships. It is a school full of pride and a strong history and background.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who need a platform to raise them to the next level in life.

    What to do for fun

    Get a job and save your money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus, focus, focus. Keep in mind your goals at all times and do not get distracted by things that will not prepare you for success. This environment will teach you to discern between what is important and necessary, and other things that you must know how to say 'no' to.

    In three sentences

    SC State University is a place that will challenge you to grow initially. The institution would benefit from more professional customer service oriented administration. Perhaps a higher rate of pay would attract better qualified personnel and dedicated leadership.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am a member of Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity Inc. Greek Life is amazing

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a Historically Black institute. We have so many different traditions on campus.

    What to do for fun

    I am apart of Alpha Phi Alpha fratenity Inc. I do community service every week to give back to the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to become and engineer, police officer, or a nurse. South Carolina State University can defiantly open up alot of doors for you.

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State is a HBCU and have one of the top nursing, criminal justice, and engineering programs. It is definaly a different experience for me. I would rate South Carolina State and A.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is unfortunately no to safe, there is a security at the back of the campus who claims to check id but he barely checks, or he is sleeping in his box. There are gates that stay open on the sides of campus which causes locals to come on the campus anytime they feel like it. However they have done great things to fix that in these last few weeks and i don't feel we will have that problem anymore

    Greek Life

    The Greek life at our school is very heavy especially the divine 9. We have all of the divine 9 at our school consisting of: Alpha kappa alpha sorority, delta sigma theta,sigma gamma rho, zeta phi beta, iota phi theta, phi beta sigma, kappa alpha psi, omega psi phi, and alpha phi alpha fraternity incorporated. They run the yard of SCSU

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a variety of clubs and activities, too many to name. However we have all the Greek letters on our yard . we have gospel choirs, a modeling troupe, rappers, singers, Campus activities Board, and so much more!

    Great for these types of students

    Kids who are willing to try new things, get out their comfort zone and meet ew black people form all aspects of the world

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a memorial for three young men who was shot at the school during a historical civil rights movement called The Orangeburg Massacre

    Bang for the buck

    South Carolina State University is a good school. Right now our institution is going through some very unfortunate things but still striving to be better. IT is just a small school in a small town , however we have huge potential to be so great

    What to do for fun

    At SCSU we have Campus Activities Board where we strive to always keep the students active. there are many different events always happening around the school , so there is little time to get bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food service provided is by the company sodexo. Rarely do we have anything that's really healthy for you. the food definitely can improve much more

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life on campus for freshman is not too good. We will sometimes go with out hot water for periods of time or no water at all.However upperclassmen housing is nice just a little too expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Staying focused will get your far. This institution does not cater too much to poor academic. However the professors are willing to work with you. uli=timately you will succeed

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all the money you can before you come to this institution because it is not cheap!

    In three sentences

    The illustrious South Carolina state is a loving institution. They are very welcoming to foreign students. Also they are very open minded to the ideas of the students

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police officers are visible on campus.

    Greek Life

    The Divine Nine are represented. As well as the band and music fraternities/sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty to choose from. Also, the major you choose has an organization to be apart of as well.

    What to do for fun

    The definition of fun is as different as each personality. In terms of parties, there will be plenty of them; of campus of course. Also, you may be able to hang out with a dorm-mate when he/she goes out of town or to the beach for the weekend during spring break. If you want to get into something, that mission won't be hard to complete.

    Food and Dining

    To each his/her own. I heard mixed reviews about the food. However, there is pizza and hamburgers if you want to play it safe. There are fast food chains within ten minutes from the campus.

    Dorm Life

    It's what you make it. I'm fortunate to live off campus but from what I hear, there are some up's and down's to deal with. For example, everyone would love to have a room by themselves. However, that's isn't always the case. You'll meet different people from different countries and they may not operate as you've been taught to. Differences are not detrimental to social success.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on the major you choose. As an Elementary Education major, I have three certification tests to pass prior to graduating. This process can be stressful (cost of tests, studying time/homework/ work study, etc) but it can be done. Time management is a key skill for college students. Other majors may not have any exit exams prior to graduation, but I would expect them to be competitive to other HBCU's.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Decide to make the best of each day and become the best individual you can be. 2. Open yourself to balance your college life. Get involved in activities that will benefit you individually and socially. 3. Be a leader in and out of the classroom.

    In three sentences

    1. College life, in general, will position you to for the rest of your life. 2. SCSU is not perfect, but it has a value to the community. 3. SCSU will have an impression on each and every student.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You constantly see them on campus. They are very responsive and friendly also.

    Greek Life

    Greeks are constantly active on campus. We have the Divine 9 along with other fraternities that associate with your major or interests.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities to name.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a hard core studyier, the dog house is for you. Its open 24 hours. There are computers there and a nice lobby to study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a bowling alley in the PITT and a movie theather in the bulldog house.

    Bang for the buck

    I love my HBCU. You will learn how to network with people. The other students on campus are you lifeline to everything. People there are very friendly and are always willing to help.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of functions that are constantly going on campus and off. Sometimes you will be notified by e-mail but mainly its by hear say. Some things you can do is hang around the plaza after hours or go to the bulldog house which is open 24hrs.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great! We have several different places on campus where you can eat food. Only down side is most of the food is unhealthy and very greasy.

    Dorm Life

    Sharing rooms can be hard but if you have problems with your roomate or suitemates, they will have no problem removing them or placing you in a room by yourself. Roomate contracts are usually made to try to cut down on conflicts. Conflicts are usually resloved with a RA. The dorms are fairly nice looking.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are fair. I have heard of students challenging professors on their grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of financial aid. Do not be afraid to talk to other students on campus because they will tell you a lot of things that the staff sometimes don't. If transferring, make sure all of your classes will transfer before coming. If you get here and you are told that a class/classes did not transfer, go to your department head or dean to make sure.(transfer students seem to have to most problems with classes coming in.)

    In three sentences

    Everyone is family at SCState. Everyone, faculty and students, work together. Teachers will do what they can to help you succeed.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can feel really safe on this campus. There are many security guards on campus that are at gates and drive around campus. Even at night they patrol the campus. There are many emergency phones around campus in case of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    There are many Greek organizations on the campus. All of the Divine 9 which are: AKA, Deltas, SGRho, Zetas, Sigmas, Omegas, Alphas, Iotas, and Kappas. There is also an organization called Gammas for women that are multicultured. Also there are organizations for all of the majors. The business major has the biggest organization for men and women called Alpha Kappa Psi.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an Honors college, for students with a 3.0+. There are a lot of clubs to help communities, which helps with getting community service. There are also many jobs on campus where you can get work study.

    Great for these types of students

    South Carolina State University is open to all types of students no matter race or sexual orientation. It is an HBCU - historically, black college or university. So it is great for any and all cultures. A lot of students come here for sports. We have a great football and tennis team. The football team has went to MEAC. The tennis team has many international students on the team that has won many National competitions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone loves the band at school. Marching 101 that has won many awards. There is a song we all sing during games to honor them.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very good school where you can meet all types of people. The teachers are nice and try to help as much as they can. There are many restaurants off-campus like: chic-fil-a, Fatz, Ruby Tuesdays, Applebees. There are many off- campus apartments to chose from. The campus is clean and friendly. We have a great band that we love to hear during games. There are also many organizations to join from Honors to Greek organizations.

    What to do for fun

    They have many meltdowns in the plaza which is where they play music, its where you can eat and talk to people and just relax. There are on-campus parties in facilities at the school. Going to sports games are also fun like: football, basketball, tennis, golf, bowling, track, softball, soccer etc.

    Food and Dining

    There are 3 places to eat on campus. One is the traditional cafeteria, they have good food international food, salad bar, dessert bar, sub line, burgers fries, pizza, and an entree line that has many types of foods, it also serves vegetarian foods. The second place is Pete's arena that serves pizza wings and snacks. The second place is The Pitt which has subs, chicken and burgers. The food is really good depending on what you like.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you stay you can have the best dorm life. Some dorms are Women only some Men only. Two dorms are co-gendered. You have a lot of space, and quietness.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers help. Most of them give test on what they teach in class, few dont.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get all of your financial aid in order before you come to school. Know your way around campus so you will not be late to class. Stay on top of your work.

    In three sentences

    There are many activities where stundents can meet and greet eachother. Its a great environment to study and go to class. Teachers are very understanding.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is definitely something for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Things can get a little pricey- with funding cuts and what not but it all depends on your own personal experience and how you make it. For me, its worth it. There are great professors, activities, organizations, and lessons to be learned.

    What to do for fun

    I'm on the band, which has allowed me to meet a lot of people and make a lot of friends. In my free time i'm most likely with them having fun in the dorms or out at a party.

    Food and Dining

    Lets be honest, NOBODY enjoys school food...well at least no one I know! The campus food is about the biggest down fall of the whole experience in my opinion. The dining areas are nothing fancy and the service is not great at all but it will get you through the day. I suggest you stack up on enough snacks and microwavable meals for those days when you just cant take it anymore.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nothing out of a five star hotel. I assume its just about the same as any other normal college/university these days. Freshmen dorms are ok but its not until you become an upperclassmen that you can finally get some sense of space and privacy with individual bedroom suites.

    Academic Rigor

    You must stay focus. This school is filled with all types of social life, so it can be easy to get off track from time to time if your not careful. Learn how to balance work with play and you will do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join something! Join a club or organization. Its the best and most effective way to make friends and meet great people. From my experience, those who are involved in things have a much better experience than those who choose not to.

    In three sentences

    I love it! Its a great experience filled with new journeys and interesting people. Life never gets boring at this school.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe for the most part especially at night there is a guard at each gate.

    Greek Life

    I am a part of a sorority and Greek life on campus is wonderful, they set a high standard for all the students that aren't apart of a sorority/fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and things to do. Every major has its own club

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for African American students who really want to make a difference in society and work hard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Because my college is in a small town the girls dorm named Truth Hall is the tallest building in the whole town. The building is only 14 floors high.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay out of state tuition so it is not worth almost $30,000 but the experiences i have had there is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay, it needs some improvement

    Dorm Life

    Campus life is very nice they student activities board gets everyone on campus involved with a lot of different types of events that will interest everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is pretty good it really depends on the major and if the teacher actually cares about what they are teaching you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a good relationship with you're professor if you need help don't hesitate to ask. Also keep all documentation that the school gives you especially if you pay for things

    In three sentences

    This school needs better administration. The teachers are pretty good at what they do. They need to do better about notifying students when registration begins.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although we are an open campus, we are a safe campus. We have well lit areas all around campus and security 24/7. The campus police officers and dorm security are very friendly and make you feel like your safe.

    Greek Life

    Being that S.C. State is an HBCU we do have the Divine Nine Greek sororities and fraternities. We also have a business fraternity, music fraternity, dance sorority, and band fraternity and sorority on campus. They have parties, campus activities for everyone, and they volunteer in the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for EVERYBODY! A club for students who want to purse a career in the health field, intramural sports, fashion and modeling clubs, music clubs, different clubs for most majors, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    For international students we have festivities that help others learn about their cultures. For freshmen and students who don't have a car we have a shuttle bus that will transport students around Orangeburg and on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Memorial on campus for three students who died during a civil rights protest off campus. We have a building named after them where our basketball games, parties, and major ceremonies take place.

    Bang for the buck

    The in and out of state tuition is very reasonable, and the school offers many scholarships to help assist you.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do on campus! From the parties to the student organized festivities. The sports function and our awesome band will get the crowd moving at any function!!!

    Food and Dining

    Their are many different place and styles of food you can eat on a daily basis from the cafe to the 2 other eatery's. If you a vegetarian or on a diet we have foods for you. We have a place to just get snacks if that's what you want too. We even have a place for frozen yogurt and healthy smoothies.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great, and the people you will meet are even greater! The RA's are very helpful and will make the transition for incoming freshmen smooth as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and professors are challenging but the work can be done! Their is a wide range of majors to choose from, everything from business, engineering, to fashion merchandising! The STEM majors have the absolute best programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you that you mentally and spiritually prepared to be on your own away from family. Be sure to prioritize accordingly, work before play. Get to know your professors, they are their to help you succeed!

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State University is a great HBCU to attend. The professors will do any and everything to help their students succeed. The campus life is second to none.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe

    Greek Life

    I'm not into that, although it's quite fun and a great distraction from school work.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs...

    Great for these types of students

    Quite diverse student population

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ISA fun!!! International students like to share their culture with everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang

    What to do for fun

    Be creative. Do whatever you like without breaking the law. You could always go bowling or partying. Actually, there are lots of fun things to do. You just have to find them or make them up.

    Food and Dining

    You're given unhealthy choices which look so alluring. Be careful about your food choices. Freshman 20 is real. I certainly experienced it.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on the dorm and of course your suitemates. Always strive to room with level headed intelligent people, not necessarily friends. That way, no one takes anything for granted and everyone respects each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Well, I can't talk much about this since I'm kinda above average in comparison to other students. Of course if you work hard, you'll definitely shine. Don't be all books and no fun or vice versa. It's cool to relieve stress every once in a while and do something fun. Relaxation of course helps with studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read reviews/ ask other students before you register for classes. You're likely to get some of your books from Honors College if you ask first and nicely. Be careful who you hang out with. You want to be friends with someone who can help boost your GPA.

    In three sentences

    It's all about fun. Students feel they have to work for nothing. It has good extracurricular activities' schedule.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend student activies such as meltdowns, and carnivials on campus. A week full of Homecoming events. The local YMCA and SC state is also very clsoe to the state capital, Columbia.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend every Class. Get top know the professors. Buddy up with a upperclassman in your major.

    In three sentences

    A great School.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security officers on both entrances of the campus 24/7. Individuals are NOT allowed on campus without a valid student i.d.

    Greek Life

    The whole D9 are finally back on the yard. Greeks host many community and health awareness functions as well as parties.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of activities outside of school work.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a diverse campus. Everyone is welcomed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The biggest event of the year is HOMECOMING!!!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    I love my HBCU. It is awesome!!!

    What to do for fun

    I volunteer with Felton Elementary School. Go to the gym. Participate in various campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    The pit is more of a fast food dining hall. If you are looking forward to a home cooked and healthy menu then this is your spot.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is friendly and welcoming to new bulldogs.

    Academic Rigor

    Do all assignments before deadlines and the work is easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are many extracurricular activities to participate in. Please take care of all assignments and classwork before engaging in activities. Being able to balance school work and your social life will make your college experience an awesome one. GOOD LUCK AND GOD BLESS!!!!

    In three sentences

    The perfect definition of Southern Hospitality. SCSU BULLDOGS have a lot of school spirit. South Carolina State offers student a wonderful HBCU experience overall.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police out at all times. They make sure that the students are safe while on campus.

    Greek Life

    Deltas, AKAs, Ques, Αs. Some are more loved than others, but they always have some kind of event going on which everyone loves to attend.

    Clubs and Activities

    Campus Activity Board members, Sports, and many more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SHM, Smith, Hammond, Middleton is the gym named after three guys who were involved in the Orangeburg Massacre. That's something historical about our school.

    What to do for fun

    Our CAB (Campus Activity Board) work hard to put together events for us, we come together and have a great time. The student center is open, we have bowling there also.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. I prefer eating in the cafe over the Pitt.

    Dorm Life

    I liked living on campus, but some issues made it very hard dealing. I enjoyed how our Resident Assistant was to meet with us.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, they challenge you. The professors help in anyway possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise you to get all your information in on time, attend class regularly as you should, and to excel in all aspects of your college career.

    In three sentences

    I love attending South Carolina State University. The classroom environment is lovely. The staff/workers are helpful.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 63

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    South Carolina State University is a university that has lots of dedicated instructors. SC State has a wonderful faculty. The instructors are willing to go the extra mile to help their students.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our school is patrol by our city and campus officers 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    not a member

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    none

    What to do for fun

    Attend campus activities and outside campus activities

    Food and Dining

    Campus foods is nutrient but poor in taste. Other eating places are in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has it up and down but our students know we are here for an education. We know our purpose.

    Academic Rigor

    Here at States we are the majority. In our nursing program, blacks and others races can earned a BSN degree by academic achievement and not by the color of our skin or background. (South Carolina)

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow your dreams and remember, you are only a failure when you never take action.

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State University is one's of the oldest black University here in South Carolina. The University and it staff made it possible for me to reach my life time goal becoming an Registered Nurse with a BSN degree, through their Senior Waiver Program. (Which has been cut).

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus. I have never experienced any trouble and campus police are always on duty.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is great! We all have a good source of unity and come together for certain projects. Service is our main goal and we strive to reach that on campus and throughout the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 clubs and activities! There is something for everyone to be able to take part in. This is one of the things that I love, as well. I was able to be involved and enjoy myself with the things that interest me.

    Great for these types of students

    SCSU is very diverse. Any type of student will be able to find some common ground here. But particularly if one is looking for a smaller campus with excellent professors, this is a good school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our campus holds tons of history. The most renowned in our city is the Orangeburg Massacre that took place in 1968 that left many injured and 3 young men killed. In the front of our campus, there is a special memorial in reverence to that incident and also our gymnasium is named in their honor.

    Bang for the buck

    GO BULLDOGS!!! I love my university, and I am proud to be earning my degree from SC State!

    What to do for fun

    Campus Activities Board has worked hard to offer the students fun activities throughout the school year and on the weekends. Speaking on this past school year, I had a blast! I am looking forward to more exciting things in the future.

    Food and Dining

    There has been a major improvement in food and dining since my first year. I love how the Washington dining hall caters to different types of students. The meals are more diverse and offers the student body the opportunity to try different foods. Also, the fast food restaurants have longer hours and are now open to the students on the week-ends which is a major plus.

    Dorm Life

    Part of the college experience is the dorm life. I have been satisfied with my stay here on campus. I have made long-lasting friendships with faculty and students.

    Academic Rigor

    As a double major student, I feel extremely challenged by the course load that I am undertaking. However, it is only preparing me for life after college and when I go to medical school. I am grateful for those professors who challenge their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking at a college, find one that fits your specifics needs. Look for one that will help you grow as a person and student while at the same time offering you a challenge.

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State University has a great family environment. Campus is not very big which allows a more personal connection with the professors. Students are the focus of this university.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You will waste a lot of money and time going to this school if you are not from south carolina. Its expensive for out of state students. I did not appreciate that as a freshman i did not get much help settling in for summer school.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. You wont be surprised about what will be served because they tend to repeat the menus.

    Dorm Life

    In hugine suites almost every student smokes weed or cigarettes. Its disgusting, but the dorms are nice on the inside.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as for me, classes and work has been just like a high school. Some teachers are strict while others are cool, it depends on who it is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before you decide to attend SCSU. Freshmans are not allowed a car, and it gets very hot waking everywhere, so bring a bike, or skateboard or something! Make sure you have money because sometimes the cafe is not the only place where you want to eat.

    In three sentences

    SCSU has a lot of nice faculty and student body. When getting things done, be prepared to get the run around. Make sure you have a car, or a bike to get around. Its basically a big highschool.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you can go to what is called the PITT. In the pitt there is a bowling alley, video games, pool tables. etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe on campus is SLAMMIN!! The food is spectacular. Such a variety.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life! This is the perfect opportunity to meet new people. I met the best roommate ever!

    Academic Rigor

    Chemistry is so far the hardest course I have taken. With hard work and dedication you will get pass it. Other than that everything is pretty smooth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work Hard! Your freshman year is the hardest year. Make it count!

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State University is a Great School. The teachers here actually care about your well-being. SCSU is the place to be!

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very important at the university. We have a police force on campus that patrol the campus day and night. We also have security when you first enter the university and you have to have some sort of identification and a reason for being on campus if not then they must leave that way outsiders would not cause any type of disruption on campus

    Greek Life

    Greek Life on campus is a huge deal at SC State we have a greek wall that displays the 9 greek organizations that we have on campus called the divine 9 along with the other organizations outside of the divine 9. We always have greek step shows that the students love to attend the arena is always jam packed with students. Every year each student has an opportunity to be apart of a greek organization and finally become a part of a family

    Clubs and Activities

    We have everything from Student Gov Association, Royal Court, Campus activity board, Athletics NAACP and much more. Students have the opportunity to take part in any type of activity that they may have an interest in.

    Great for these types of students

    We have students that love sports but may not want to play them under athletics so we have intramural sports that they can get involved in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year the students vote on a new campus queen and they crown her as MISS SC STATE UNIVERSITY and we have a coronation to honor her by crowning her as the new queen for the university

    Bang for the buck

    you can always spend money at the book store on your favorite snacks clothing supplies and much more.

    What to do for fun

    There is alot to do on campus especially in the fall. You can always attend the football games, we have a lot of greek step shows that the students love to attend, there are also forums students can attend as well and then we have Zumba classes through out the week, fashion shows and much more, so there is always something fun to do on campus

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is a perfect time to spend with your friends and get to know each other. The food at the dining hall at SC State is very well delicious healthy its always crowded so that how you know the food is goood. Some days they may have a dj in the cafe to basically bring the student body together to enjoy great food and music at the same time.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at SC State is always fun you can decorate your room you can invite family and frinds over, you can always spend quiet time there doing homework or just reading. Whatever you like to do in your room at home you can do in your dorm.... but of course you have to keep it clean!

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is really big at the university, its something everyone takes really serious in my opinion. For some students its like a big comepetition to stay on top of there academics so that they can continue to be known for academic excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class its very important because your job is to go to class so you can continue to move closer and closer to your goal which is graduation. Remember time management is very important, you want to beable to schedule your self accordingly so that you may be able to fit in homework and other activities you wish to do on campus.

    In three sentences

    The school a a great school to meet new people and enjoy the atmosphere. The football games are always great to attend with family and frineds. The academic progam is excellent enough for the students to graduate with a degree that they want.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I will be Working on the radio station on campus to stay busy, and go to the football games to be social. Also there are so much if fervent clubs on campus to join. I will be putting my dance skill to use in the pit on Friday nights to laugh with friends!

    Food and Dining

    Food is beautiful, feel like I'm at home and my mother cooking. I will be cooking every Sunday at my friends room. The cafe food is great, hot, and fast with sweet ladies cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at SCSU is great. I'm in the oldest dorm and I love the place! Jut bring what you need, the space can be a little bigger but I'm a college student so little is great.

    Academic Rigor

    Studies at SCSU is a number one thing. Everyone is in study sessions and the professors are there to help. No one there want to see you fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school, know the school history. SCSU is another family so make sure you know what you coming to school for.

    In three sentences

    My school is beyond amazing for an biology student like myself. My favorite HBCU in the nation and my favorite biology program. SCSU is my number one school and I won't go nowhere else, it's like home.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Im student work and going to school full time trying to hurry and graduate so i can get a good job

    Food and Dining

    I love the food here to

    Dorm Life

    To me dorms are the best depending wich one u stay in

    Academic Rigor

    I study hard

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending this school make sure you have finace

    In three sentences

    It an ok school, You meet nice people. But the tution is getting crazy

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can get involved in campus life and football/basketball games. There is a YMCA in the area to workout and get involved with gym classes.

    Food and Dining

    There are limited places to eat but there are a lot of fast food restaurants. If you do some searching you'll find quaint, family owned, places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot comment on this factor because I didn't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This school provides a challenge. It is imperative to take time to teach yourself and get into your own study groups. Make certain to be one step ahead.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take control of your education. Do not anticipate that others will go out of their way in terms of your own education. Be proactive in looking for scholarships and fellowships as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    This school is a historically black university which I like because it gives people from varying backgrounds a chance at a good education. You do need to proactive in getting your paperwork in, keeping a copy, and knowing what you need to stay on track for graduation. I found it to be more conducive to people who live in the area.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    South Carolina State University strictly believes in campus safety. At the beginning of year, at the freshmen orientation, they gave us the campus police number. They also have emergency phones placed all over campus. So, if there was an emergency all you would have to do is press the button and the light would flash.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life is amazing! They're always having step shows and showcases, showing off their talent.

    What to do for fun

    It's always something to do at South Carolina State University. There are many activities that goes on. There are also organizations that you can join, so you would never be bored on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to eat from at South Carolina State University with really great food. You can choose from pizza, subs, chinese food, chicken, or the buffet which is located in the dining hall. If that's not enough for you, they even have a Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are decent size, they're not really big but they're not small either.

    Academic Rigor

    There really isn't any academic rigor at this school, you just have to study and if you find a class that is difficult, then it would be best if you get a tutor.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come to South Carolina State University, don't have too much fun and always put studying first rather than having fun.

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State University is a really great school to meet new people. The school is set in a really nice location and everyone is friendly here. There is a lot of people you can meet who is just like you.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition are expensive for out of state students. Housing is over priced in the Suites in my opinion. Roads could use a little fixing.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has a bowling alley located in the Student Center.

    Food and Dining

    The university has a building called the Pit where you can get subs, Chinese food, or burgers and chicken tenders. We have a Pizzeria where we can get pizza. We have a cafeteria which sits approximately 200-300 students.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm life is nice in the Suites. Everybody has their own room. You share a room with three other roommates who all have their own rooms as well.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the programs have been stopped. The university no longer has a nursing program. Many have had to change their majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work. Always communicate with your teachers. Don't miss too many days of class.

    In three sentences

    SCSU is an interesting campus. Has a lot of interesting artifacts and a long history. The James Brown Memorial Building is awesome.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety could be a little better

    Greek Life

    Greeks are amazing. I believe it being a HBCU has a lot to do with it.

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of clubs. a known club would be faces also a main club for locals.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition really isn't that much compared to some schools

    What to do for fun

    you have plenty of parties to attend. Many organizations have events on and off campus that you can attend also. You can also make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    You have the Cafe which is a buffet setting. Then you have the pit which has Chinese food wings wraps subs and other stuff. We also have a starbucks, a pizza place and another coffee shop as well called jazzmans

    Dorm Life

    the freshmen dorms could be a little better

    Academic Rigor

    academic could be better with the way they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let the parties get the best of you.

    In three sentences

    this school is good for certain majors and it is all what you make it. If you do not want to make your own fun then it will not be fun. It is a great school for music majors.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24 hour police patrol. Who will do just about anything to keep your safety.

    Greek Life

    Although though I'm am not a greek yet we have only the best of the best in our many greek organizations. We about over 25 different organizations on campus who stay active both on campus and in the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    I myself is involved in many of our campus clubs and activities such as:(Student Life of Leadership, Student Government Association, BCM, i help with Campus Activity Board.) and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    SCSU is great for all types of student. Reason being is that the students and staff will try everything they can to help you stay on the right path but it is up to you to take the help they give and make more of it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    FRESHMAN when there is a greek strolling,stepping,or hoping. whatever you do. Do NOT!!!! Step in the way or you will be on the bad side of over half the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Greatest part about SCSU is that there is plenty to such as play football every sunday, join the intermediate team, play basketball, go to the dance studio, library open, parties are around, gym is open, even go to the art hall and paint if you want. everything you need is on campus so you are never bored or without.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good you get three swipes of whatever free food you desire and u can choose to eat in either the cafe, pit, or the pizza shop by the gym(workout). but be careful what they say about the freshman 15 is true .We also have many other common dining areas across the street.

    Dorm Life

    DORM LIFE IS AWESOME. Boys dorm are MAYS 1&2.(1 IS DOUBLES. 2 IS SINGLES) MITCHELL HAS BOTH SINGLE AND DOUBLE ROOMS GIRLS: TRUTH HALL AND WILLIAMS HALL. COED: WE HAVE BATISE E]WHICH IS FOR HONOR STUDENTS OR FRESHMAN ATHLETES, UPPER CLASS:HUGINE FOR ALL UPPER CLASSMEN AND ATHLETES OFF CAMPUS :UNIVERSITY VILLAGE AND CAMPUS CORNER

    Academic Rigor

    The class room for the most part are descent sized but the teachers cannot have a 1on1 session unless you meant them between office hours. they do not accept tardiness and some teachers are strict on what you wear to the class room. all the teachers expect you to behave like adults that how everybody gets treated and they expect you to come prepared to learn. Always ask question if you don't understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those who believe they would like to attend this university my tip for you is to come with a plan and a backup because this school moves at a very fast and steady tempo so always be ready.

    In three sentences

    SCSU is a great HBCU for anybody who desires to work hard. It is also diverse in many ways and here everybody is family. SCSU has many awards and accomplishments in both academic and sports competitions.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sometimes, a DJ would set his/her equipment up in the day time in the plaza to play loud music where students can come dance to, mingle or watch the fraternities and sororities. Students can also watch the basketball games which is free to all students. During the fall, students can go watch the football games.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious. Breakfast is open every morning and you can choose from about three different places to eat from. Everyday there is nearly always something different to choose to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at State are decent. Depending on what dormitory a person stays in it will be different from someone else. One dormitory has rooms where only one person can stay, another has where two people can stay, and two dormitories have four to a room, where two will share a bedroom with each other and the other two will share the other bedroom while still in the same room.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on who your instructors are. Class work can be hard if you fall behind your studies. Class can be very difficult and if it is it is best to get help from a tutor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all your classes everyday. Do not have too much fun during homecoming. Pick your classes as soon as your able to set up your next semester schedule.

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State is an awesome university. One of the best historically black colleges in the U.S.. Has great standards and strong history.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the normal activity that you will considers, burglary, stolen cars, but its not high.

    Greek Life

    Devinne 9 and others, along with major organizations, and band.

    Clubs and Activities

    Gospel choir, band, rotc, along with other campus activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ROTC is one of our most positive aspects of the school.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is not high compared to other schools, we do have our problems, but we are working on them.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club/organizations. Join Sorority, or go to the clubs, or just chill with friends.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of different eating facilities, but you will grow tired of them. 6 different stations at the cafe, 3 different stations at the pitt, 2 different stations at Truth Hall, and you have starbucks and Simple to Go.

    Dorm Life

    Huginie suites, University Village, and Campus Corner are better because they allow you freedom.

    Academic Rigor

    Good CJ professors, the instructors will work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have patience when working with financial aid and accounts receivable. Join clubs, be proactive. Do not forget where you came from, and keep your goals on top.

    In three sentences

    Diversity Friendly students. Big on Community Service if your are looking for hours. Problems with financial aid, but you have to be patient.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do for fun around there. Unless you're throwing your own party or CAB (Campus Activities Board) is doing something, its pretty boring. There are frequent Meltdowns in the Plaza and you never know when the Greeks will come out.

    Food and Dining

    I do not like the food... at all. The only thing I really look forward to is Fried Chicken Wednesday and the breakfast in the cafe. We recently got a pizza hut though. Watch out for the weekend hours on places because they are weird.

    Dorm Life

    As for the looks of the dorms and the amount of space they give you, thats a turn off. But the people you live with and the activities held are really fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very good, the teachers are great, although their office hours could be a little better. Most are good with answering calls or responding to emails, so there are plenty of ways to get in touch with them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your own paper work and information. While the academics are great the schools financial offices are quick to lose things and change things around. Careful to check all costs and ask questions about what you are paying for.

    In three sentences

    SCSU is a GREAT school, the students are very friendly they have great activities and the students that attend are very passionate about their studies.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus can be very dangerous at night. Robberies happen here thats why its best not to walk at night time or alone. Always walk where there are lights.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life here is amazing. The Greek Unity at State is like no other school where everyone gets along.

    Clubs and Activities

    As soon as you get here you might want to find the @SCSU_CAB club for all activities.

    Food and Dining

    There isnt too many restaurants here in Orangeburg. You may want to travel to Columbia or Charleston for food. Its best that you have a car.

    Dorm Life

    Here at SC State, Hugine is the biggest dormitory which is co-ed. We also have UV which is located across the street from campus but is considered on campus. Quite expensive, you may want to try Campus Corner for $500 a month.

    Academic Rigor

    FCS major. There are so many great programs here at State. You may want to choose wisely which program you are interested in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of your advisor. Do not walk alone anywhere on this campus.

    In three sentences

    SC State is a great school where the professors are here to help you achieve greatness. The financial aid office isnt of the most help so it is best that you go handle business before semester starts back. Contact your professors or any administrator in person, as sending them an email will not be helpful.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are available 24/7 for the students

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is an exciting time for the students at the university. all are an no hazing Organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    the university offers various clubs and activities for student to be apart of.

    Great for these types of students

    South Carolina State University is great for students seeking to become leaders in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The University has no unusual traditions or locations. everything is fairly easy to find.

    Bang for the buck

    South Carolina State University is a great HBCU. the University is designed to help build African American students up and help lead them to greatness. the University has plenty of fun activities for students to get involved in. the faculty and staff listens to the students. the South Carolina State University, the students come first.

    What to do for fun

    South Carolina State University offers a lot of on campus activities. The students at the university offers groups and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining at the University is good and convenient for you.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at SCSU is pretty decent. Dorms at SCSU are neat and affordable. Dorms at SCSU are coed, separated.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor at SCSU is a 2.0.

    Tips for prospective students

    South Carolina State University makes incoming students feel welcomed. South Carolina State University has a nice campus for up incoming students. South Carolina State University is here to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State University is a working process. South Carolina State University is set out to help African American students succeed in life. South Carolina State University is a positive environment filled with future leaders.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Football games are a blast! We have greek step shows in the student plaza and of course we party.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is delicious! But it is also very unhealthy.

    Dorm Life

    Underclassmen dorms aren't that great but aren't horrible. Upperclassmen have it maid.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of academics varies with your major of choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective SC State students: be yourself, have an open mind, don't procrastinate, and have fun!

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State University is a small historically black institution that is composed of a very diverse population. It gives a very family- like vibe to all students in attendance. SC State is an awesome school.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    53 of 63

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At this school they have a bowling alley and many more things to do. I would recommend the students to have some fun every now and then after studying.

    Food and Dining

    The food is well cooked, and is served with kindness. The cafeteria is well organized and very clean. It is a wonderful place to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Their dorms are well built. It's an amazing facility.

    Academic Rigor

    there is nothing bad to say here.

    In three sentences

    There were many kind, friendly students and adults here at South Carolina State University. First impressions are the best, and in this case I would love to be at that school. I'd tell all the rising Seniors of high schools to apply there.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are polices everywhere, they make sure that are campus is safe 24/7. we even have security to check to make sure our doors are locked in our dorms. they make sure your not speeding and the only way to get inside your dorm is if you have your id to open the door.

    Greek Life

    we have probates at the end of the season. It is so fun !! when its crossing night the Greeks come out at night and step the night away.

    Clubs and Activities

    They Have all types of clubs and activities here such as the health club for chemistry and biology majors

    Great for these types of students

    Everybody is really welcomed to this school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At every football game, at the end. the whole stadium stands up and sing the Alma Marta

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, this institution is worth the money. The quality education that one will receive, the experiences one will have

    What to do for fun

    there's a variety of activities to do there. we have volleyball games, track meets, basketball games, football games, swim meets and more that you can attend. we have international day we have art day. we have a lot of fun activities to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is very horrible there another place we have there that's in the student center called the pit. I eat there everyday. They sale variety of foods like chicken, Chinese food, and sub sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    If you stay in a girls dorm you a big room that you share with your roommate and you share your bathroom with your suit mate. outside of your room you have a living room area. there's also an elevator inside of your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    They have very good teachers who will help you with one on one studying. They also have mentors who can help you. They have activities for your major.And they also let you meet people who are in your major who can help you. The teachers also help you look for intern jobs while your there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure if your a chemistry major that you study everyday. Make sure you go to class everyday. Also make sure you do all your work.

    In three sentences

    Its a very good academic school. The activities there are very great. They have very helpful mentors.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    You don't need a fine dining eatery, our cafe has everything.

    Dorm Life

    DORM LIFE IS AWESOME! Meeting new people and being on your own is an all around great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Any major you decide to choose, we have it availabe to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared for fun, learning and more fun!

    In three sentences

    Emotions, in my experience, aren't coverend by single words. If you can imagine a university that has a world wide variety of people, a calming vibe and an all around great place to be than turn right because you are at my school. The amazing place is South Carolina State University!

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The academic programs are very helpful and understanding. Just as long as you put your mind to it, you will succeed.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    BAND

    What to do for fun

    I am in the band and the keeps me plenty busy. I really enjoy it. Being able to juggle those long practice nights and studying helps me to stay on my toes.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing like moms home cooking though.

    Dorm Life

    It takes some adjusting. However, I am only in there for sleep and studying.

    Academic Rigor

    I have 7 classes, plus band practices. I want to graduate on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard. If your work hard now you can play hard later. Stay in the know as it pertains to you. Know who you are, Know where you are going, Know what you expect the end result to be.

    In three sentences

    A University that really cares about your successes, dreams and goals. There are avenues, outlets, guidance, and anything that you can name that will help you achieve the goal of becoming a college graduate. Faculty are very concerned and help me to stay focus and on task to accomplish what I am set out to do.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a good idea to travel in groups.

    Food and Dining

    Variety of on-campus restaurants.

    Academic Rigor

    Study, study. Ask for help before its too late.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your success will be based on your determination. Study before you party. Great opportunities to learn and mature.

    In three sentences

    Very good school and I am glad I chose to come here. Most instructors are very approachable and want to help you.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are everywhere so the campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    We have all the types of greeks that attend our college.

    Clubs and Activities

    A host of clubs and activities to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love a great experience would enjoy this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The pit is the meeting spot on campus. Its like the second dining hall and it usually stays open until 11pm.

    Bang for the buck

    The nursing program is a wonderful program. Many of our programs comes with internships to help better your knowledge in your specific field of study.

    What to do for fun

    I usually mingle in the student center for fun. Its alway campus activities going on, so just look at the school calendar to stay posted on those fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! On Thursdays we always have fried chicken. In our dining room there are four different food lines so its always something different to try and enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is wonderful. You get to meet new people and sooner then later everyone will be like a big family. The best dorms to stay in would be Hugine and it has an apartment type of style inside. The worst dorm I would say is Truth hall which is strictly for women.

    Academic Rigor

    South Carolina State University is a institute that are strict with date deadlines. Always stay on top of important dates especially on turning in certain paper work that could be crucial to graduation. Also, parking can be a little crazy at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for students that are new to the school would be, always turn in your school work. It is imperative to study and keep up with assignments. Also, stay on top of important calendar dates that relate to school activites and important school dates.

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State is a wonderful college. The teachers are awesome and will help work with you to acheive top grades. The experience is great for students, who want a new outlook on life and are ready to adapt to adulthood.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is awesome. They help provide all kinds of activities for student to do while keeping the campus informed to important events.

    What to do for fun

    We have a bowling ally, and weekly student meltdowns.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should always go to class. If you ever need a teachers assistance, don't be afraid to ask.

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State University is a great school. The facility is always attentive to student needs. There are also plenty of was to be active in the school's student Government.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    sc state does not have any money for me thats why im applying for some scholarships

    Tips for prospective students

    please apply for scholarships early and finacial aid

    In three sentences

    I would rate scsu a 5 out of 10 on scale

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The overall safety of campus is satisfying. The police officers are serious about their jobs and perform their jobs to the fullest of their abilities in the name of safety.

    Greek Life

    There is an organization for everyone. Each school of the university has its own organization. There are organizations for athletes, musicians and regular students. Each organization stands for something positive.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs that include fashion clubs, athletic clubs, and academic clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who seek academic challenges, a safe campus, and to have fun in the name of positivity and education, the South Carolina State University just may be worth considering.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Although there are not any unusual locations on campus or traditions, there are instances where students take matters into their own hands and may throw campus-wide hide n seek games. This past snow storm, South Carolina State University and Claflin University students joined altogether in a massive snowball fight.

    What to do for fun

    As a drum major, I recommend the band for students who love music or want to continue band after high school. The football games are festive and full of life. Basketball games are just the same. Although there are many other organizations to join on campus, these are the most popular.

    Food and Dining

    The dining areas on campus are broad enough to fit just about all tastes. The campus favorite is the pit offering subs, Asian foods, and a chicken line.

    Dorm Life

    The campus dorm life is interesting. The overall atmosphere is warm though out campus. The dorms are clean and the grass is always cut.

    Academic Rigor

    South Carolina State University offers academic challenges for students. The classes are demanding and gives the student a chance to obtain academic skills and tips to carry on through out life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If one is interested in attending South Carolina State University, it would be important to handle all financial obligations or arrange for them to be made. I would advise students to be proactive in classes and form relationships with their professors.

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State University is one of the top HBCU's in the United States. The academic environment is fitting for studious students who are serious about their future. South Carolina State University offers a promising, once in a lifetime experience that will be cherished for years to come.

  • 05/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 63

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    GREEK LIFE IS THE BEST AT STATE HANDS DOWN !! you always know you will be entertained when you go to a stroll off or going to a probate .

    What to do for fun

    theres always something going on campus. especially when its hot like at the first of the year and the end of the year. its always something to do .

    Food and Dining

    the pitt is where its at when you want some food after 5 pm. the caf�© stays open til 8 but most people go to the pitt or to pizza hut which is in Truth hall .

    Dorm Life

    it really all depends on where you stay at on campus. one side of the campus is very quiet and the opposite side is very loud and always some kind of gathering outside. Hugine is the most expensive dorm. University village is off campus but directly behind the school and is a whole lot better. and its cheaper.

    Academic Rigor

    its very good the teachers help you strive for what you need, so if you fail its really your fault because the teachers give you all the resources you need to pass the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just get to class on time and try to schedule your classes according to how you feel verses what you will have to choose from when everybody else has choose the classes they want. in other words, register for classes early or you will be upset at the times you will have to choose from if you register late.

    In three sentences

    South Carolina State is a great School. very diverse even being a HBCU there are very many different people that attend the school. Bulldog pride is all you can expect when you walk across campus.