Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

South Central College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are 100% safe!They have not had a accendient in a very very very long time.

    What to do for fun

    You can join many groups or you can go to the library and enjoy being in the book club!

    Food and Dining

    They always serve the best food!They always have fresh food out and it is never loud.You feel like you were at home.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus so I wouldn't know how it is.

    Academic Rigor

    I still haven't started but I have heard that they never let a student fall behind.They will always lend a helping hand and never let you fall.I know that I will be able to trust them!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always have a map with you.Also if you have any questions,feel free to ask anybody.They will all answer your questions correctly!

    In three sentences

    The school was awesome.Always helpful!They understood me so well and me me feel like I was at home!

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nervous first year students, and especially good for students who are starting school a little bit later in life.

    What to do for fun

    There are several groups to get involved in on campus. Off campus, Mankato has all of the excitement you would expect in a college town.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is actually really good, and there are several places to eat close to campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available, but many apartments close to campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate, the deadlines come up quickly. Try some online classes, I have liked the ones that I have taken.

    In three sentences

    SCC is great for people who are looking to start college in a small, friendly environment. It is easy to find your way around, and staff is very helpful. The instructors really want you to succeed.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Just interested in Certificates or 2 year degrees. Typically this is the first stop for people who wish to do their generals and then transfer to a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't many extra curricular activities offered at SCC.

    Food and Dining

    There's a cafeteria that offers slim pickings.

    Dorm Life

    There is no campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    There are no excuses for late work. If it's not there by the due date then it's not worth full credit

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective student not to start classes unless they are positive that they are ready for the commitment and hard work.

    In three sentences

    South Central College is a reliable institution. The Instructors are always willing to go the extra mile to help a student. The classes are all in one building which makes it easy to find your way around.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    Not in the traditional sense.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many.

    Great for these types of students

    tech school types or people looking to expand their horizens.

    Bang for the buck

    Good deal, great education, not your typical tech school.

    What to do for fun

    Graduate!

    Food and Dining

    No idea.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms that I am aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    Again, do not fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be impressed by the false sense of pressure that is applied to you in the first year, if you keep at your books and ignore the rest, you will do just fine. With that said, don't fall behind.

    In three sentences

    Student services (Financial Aid, GI Bill) as well as the professors are wonderful. The Paramedic program is tough and a bit tense at times but that tension is only to make you into a more well rounded professional.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    South central has a few clubs and has lots of activities planned throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe located inside the school. But mankato has a lot of restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this college.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what classes your taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    The college website isnt very user friendly and can be very frustrating sometimes.

    In three sentences

    I think this is a great college. Its alot cheaper than a state university. South central could use more of a variety of libreal arts classes.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a non-traditional student. I'm married and have a family. I spend time with my family and we love to go fishing.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten at the coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at South Central.

    Academic Rigor

    You can take as many classes as you want. Just do well in the ones that you do take. If it takes you longer to finish it's alright.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that you take college serious. Study hard and get the best grades that you possibly can. Make the time to study, it will pay off in the end.

    In three sentences

    South Central College is a spectacular college! They have great schedules for non traditional students. I would recommend South Central to everyone.

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely! You definatly get more than you would think. It is a small college with a homey enviroment. I couldn't be happier.

    What to do for fun

    Many student groups to get involved in

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe right in school that has a few options

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Classes challenge you but are reasonable. If you need help there are tutors or you can ask teachers or classmates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you want a four year degree, South Central College is a great place to start out. Make sure you stay ahead on your home work and don't procrastinate, especially with an online class.

    In three sentences

    The teachers know you by name and really care about you, they treat you like family. Everyone wants you to succeed and will help you out. It is a great school and and I would highly reccomend it.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Seems to be ok

    Greek Life

    Greek to me!

    Clubs and Activities

    I live off campus

    Great for these types of students

    Out going.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    don/t have any.

    Bang for the buck

    the value will be worth it. And more so WHEN they get accredited nursing program.

    What to do for fun

    I live off campus and I am only a PT student for now

    Academic Rigor

    At this time it seems to be challenging enough and very informative

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that the major you have choosen in accredited.

    In three sentences

    So far SSTC has been great, the teachers and staff are very eager to help you succeed. help and tutoring is always available. The staff seem to be very focused on our success.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a Latino Club, that is now official in campus. We help and support all Hispanic or Latino students with furthering education and goals.

    What to do for fun

    Explore campus' majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions don't be afraid of your future.

    In three sentences

    SCC has fiendly staff; definately made a good choice coming here!