Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves math or science (and definitely both!) would find a major they can enjoy here. If you're looking for a school known for excellence that is also small with teachers who give students individual attention and that's inexpensive, look no further.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study up on your math skills. If you're like me and want to study science but aren't great at math the school is great at setting up tutors, plus the math TA's are great (they're usually students majoring in mathematics) but it's still a good idea to brush up on it a little bit. Bring warm clothes!

    Bang for the buck

    My deciding factor was that other universities offering the same major were twice (sometimes three times) as much. The school offers a lot of major-based scholarships but really is not that expensive at all. Given the majors available (engineering and science) student loans would not be very difficult to pay off a year or two after graduation. They have a few job fairs every year with recruiters from companies that are hiring engineers and scientists. Most students have great job offers way before graduation.

    Am enjoying being here

    SDSM&T has several activities going on for students all the time. They send out an e-mail with information on what's going to be happening this week. There's always something whether it's a pumpkin carving contest, dance lessons or a carnival in the quad. Rapid City also has fun things to do like movies, bowling, shopping, lots of fast food (thank goodness), swimming and ice skating as well as skiing and lakes not far out of town

    Am learning a lot

    I have already gained alot of knowledge and it's only the end of the first semester. I'm studying for geology and took earth science in high school so I expected that I would know most of what we learned in physical geology but I really learned a lot more. The teachers are very helpful and get to know you since it's a small school. The laptop program helps because you can find notes and power points for your classes on the system.

  • 10/01/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Introverted, gaming, science, mathematical, and studious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to take any and all advance placement tests, even if you don't think you'll do well. Who knows, it may save you a few thousand dollars.

  • 10/26/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The school is designed for leaders, students who participate well in lab environments as well as someone who enjoys the outdoors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the core curriculum and be as prepared as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is extremely competitive with the larger universities such as Iowa State University.

    Will enjoy being here

    I love the small school environment plus the one-on-one attention when required.

    Will learn a lot

    A top school in the country for engineering.

  • 10/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that have interest in any of the sciences or any sort of engineering would fit in perfectly here.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should definitely consider if being challenged in your first semester is something you are willing to do. The learning starts right when you walk on campus, so be prepared and have an open mind to opinions of others.

    Bang for the buck

    The credibility of this school is undeniable, with the experienced professors and constant innovation from within. Comparing this to other technology and science schools, the cost of SDSM&T is incredibly lower, giving students the ability to be well prepared for their prospective futures at a low and reasonable cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful and is very well maintained. The smaller population size is also a bonus because if you need help, there is almost always someone there to help you, but it is easy to find room to study by yourself or quietly. The other students here are friendly and more than willing to engage in conversation, making the campus life that much more enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are excellent in communicating the lessons and getting every detail that needs to be known. The Tablet PC that comes with tuition increases the potential to learn because of all the programs installed on them and the all-campus wi-fi.

  • 02/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Were you the kid who yawned in AP Calc, and then aced the test in 20 minutes? Or maybe the guy in the back of the room that the teacher looked to, making sure they were on the right track? Well, School of Mines is where you belong. Instead of being surrounded by those who want to finish and be done, you'll be surrounded by the very best of students from across the country, even the world. The community pushes you to try your hardest, and to attain a level of education unsurpassed anywhere else. The professors expect the very best from you as well. They're always ready to answer or explain anything you should wonder about, whether it's strictly related to the class you're taking with them or not. Should you come to School of Mines, get ready, because you're about to be challenged like you always hoped you would be.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking at the School of Mines, get ready for an interesting experience. It's not like High School anymore, where you can get by pretty easily. It's a challenge fitting those who want to be the best of the best.

    Bang for the buck

    School of Mines has a BIG name for a little price. At under 20 grand a year, School of Mines easily halves the prices of bigger colleges, yet, when you throw a graduate from Mines up against a graduate from the Air Force Academy, your employer has a hard choice ahead of him. Mines has the absolute best name out there for the lowest price possible.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is great. Everyone is friendly, and the air is fresh as can be. The professors teach like they are having fun with the classes too, and they're always willing to answer whatever questions you may ask. The King Center is amazing as well. The pool is open to students year round, as is the weight room, and it doesn't take much time to get a room for racquetball or to shoot some hoops in the gym.

    Am learning a lot

    In my first semester, I've learned more than the past four years of High School! And that means a lot! I was one of those kids that glided through High School, bored and did well with very little effort, but it's hard to learn when you can't get interested! In one semester, SDSM&T has turned me from a High School drone into a College student!

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe have not experienced any problems

    Greek Life

    Great for both sororities and fraternities, have joined Delta Sigma Phi myself!

    Clubs and Activities

    Various clubs, sororities and fraternities, sports both at Div 2 level and intramural available, beginning boys D2 soccer team this year, SDSMT is in last year of D2 qualifying.

    Great for these types of students

    Engineering, Computer technical based individuals, interdisciplinary program for the undecided available.

    Bang for the buck

    SDSMT's tution rates are among the lowest in the country. Major employers seek out interns and graduates from this school from all over the world.

    What to do for fun

    Rapid City is a tourist destination, until you have seen Mount Rushmore you haven't seen Mount Rushmore. Lot of year-round activities available, malls/shopping, community and campus activities are available.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining on campus needs to be improved, but that is in the works.

    Dorm Life

    Interesting and varied experiences, dorms clean and well maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    Expectations and academic rigor are challenging and you are expected to be responsible and engaged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for strong academic rigor and expectations. SDSMT does not have the stress level that students in other school of mines programs experience.

    In three sentences

    Smaller school/class size creates a great opportunity to receive personalized education. Excellent high-paying job opportunities while in school and after graduation. Excellent opportunity to meet other high performing individuals and faculty.

  • 06/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with strong math and/or science backgrounds. Those looking at engineering fields (metallurgy, civil, chemical, computer), or computer technologies (computer science).

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a full work load! This is a school with relatively high standards and in order to be successful, you will have to put forth your best effort. Both math and science are strongly emphasized in any major you choose. Do your research and determine if SDSM&T is the school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    SDSM&T has been rated as one of the nations top one hundred buys. The cost is very reasonable considering the exceptional placement rate for graduates. Many local companies look forward to hiring graduates and other employment opportunities are also available.

    Am enjoying being here

    SDSM&T is a small campus with plenty of potential. It has a respectable community of students and professors. The small number of students means smaller class sizes and more one-on-one time with your professors. The school itself has many activities and groups to participate in, both technical and recreational. Because it is located in Rapid City, South Dakota, it allows for plenty of off campus activities. This includes countless outdoor activities you can experience in the nearby Black Hills.

    Am learning a lot

    There is certainly a great deal to learn in order to obtain one of the many math and science based majors offered by South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. After having completed only two semesters, I believe I have advanced significantly in my field of study. This is a school where you can expect to get the most out of your classes and your studies.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs it's unbelievable!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for geeks! If you feel even a little intrigued by the workings of a computer or how to engineer basically anything this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Quad is a lot of fun mostly because you always see something cool going on there. Also the Museum of Geology has fun events going on every so often. Every year around Halloween time they do and event called Night at the Museum and students get to volunteer for the different stands they have set up. It's so much fun because you get to dress up!

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun around Rapid City! The school is always advertising things like open mic nights and movie nights. A lot of the clubs have events going on that are open to non-club members and it's nice because they'll post the signs on the sidewalk (they literally tape signs for events on the sidewalk) so that everyone can notice them! In Rapid City there are many great restaurants, I suggest Que Pasa, it's a Mexican Grill and it is so good! Also there is Mount. Rushmore and for those interested in animals you can check out Bear Country or Reptile Gardens. Reptile Gardens does a snake and crocodile show every day (weather permitting) so you can go everyday and see a different show because they use live snakes and crocodiles!

    Food and Dining

    I've had the food at this school and I have to say it's not that bad. It's not a 5 star restaurant but there is a Papa John's pizza place in the cafeteria if that counts for anything. In my book it does. I love pizza! It's the perfect college food!

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in the dorms. However, I do have friends who have lived in the dorms and they loved it! I've never heard anyone say that they didn't like the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not going to lie, classes are difficult. You can't just coast through them without studying and hope to pass. Trust me. If you put in the time and effort though you'll find that it pays off. College is no walk in the park but if it was you wouldn't really get much out of it, would you?

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to this school I suggest you study hard and become involved in as many extracurricular activities as you can. This school is all about educating their students as well as enriching the community. Currently I am majoring in Geology with a specialization in Paleontology and I am in the Paleontology Club and its Outreach Committee. Being apart of the Outreach Committee is so much fun! I get to go on school trips to various events and public schools to teach young students interested in Paleontology everything I know so far. After you get accepted get in touch with your advisor right away, you want to make sure that you are signing up for the correct classes. Your advisor will be your best friend in college, especially this one. They are so helpful! One last thing, the school makes you rent a laptop from them every semester. If you're thinking of buying one for school don't. It's just a waste of money. You get to keep it through your entire college career so don't worry about giving it back at the end of every semester and having to start all over with a new one. It's a pretty nice laptop too. I love this school! It is so nice to finally go to a school where I feel like I really belong there and where the students that go there are so accepting of every single person there!

    In three sentences

    South Dakota School of Mines and Technology is a competitive and nurturing school. Anyone who wants to not only learn but also be mentally challenged by their peers and professors should apply to this school. Class sizes are easily manageable, the professors are genuine, and the student body is unlike anything I've ever been introduced to.

  • 07/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not every had an experience with our campus safety police but I see them around all the time so they must be doing their job! Our campus is extremely safe. I have never felt uneasy or unsafe and I have walked around at night alone. Though we are right in the down town area of Rapid City our campus i quite separate and it's small too. Not much can go on without someone being around to help so it really is a safe place.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life on campus is not our first priority, though there is a place for it. It is not like the Greek Life you see in movies on TV though. There are parties but they are not crazy and big, most of the members are more concerned with doing well in school and will help you if you are falling behind. It really is a great place to meet people if you think it would be right for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many many clubs on campus that offer lots of entertainment and are a great way to meet people.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is really for those who are serious about having a good job and making good money in science and engineering. It is not for those who want to party their way through their college experience. I personally believe this is not a place for athletes only because many a time they come because of scholarships and are not prepared for what is expected of them, BUT that being said, if you're first priority is science or engineering but you love playing a sport as well, this could be a good match for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are traditions concerning the freshman that amount to a lot of fun but you'll have to join us to find out!

    Bang for the buck

    Seriously this school is the best bang for the buck. Tuition may be a little more pricey if you are out of state but for the type of starting salary you are looking at it really is nothing. We have a really high placement rate and there is a career fair twice a year where you can get internships and jobs. This really is the best school to go to for science and engineering as we have all the connections of other schools at a lower price.

    What to do for fun

    Our campus has many events for people to participate in, and the RAs try to put on events as well. The fraternities have parties at the beginning of the year for everybody but after that they are mainly for members, pledges, and friends. Rapid city has a great down town which is really fun to walk around. There are bars if you are of age, a hookah lounge, and the Elk's theater which shows out of theaters but usually not out on DVD movies for much less! Aside from that dorm life is really the most fun as you can hang out with many people and watch movies or play video games. It's not the most exciting campus but if you take advantage of what is offered to you it can give you many unforgettable memories.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not going to lie, the food is not that great. Or it wasn't this past year, though it isn't horrible either. The Miner's Shack is a great place to get snacks and the dining hall does have good dishes sometimes. The best time to eat there is when there are recruiting events as they make the food a lot better to impress people. There is always pizza, a salad bar, waffles, and cereal available, along with some fruit. You can eat as much as you want and drink as much as you want. The orange juice is AWESOME! And of course there are kitchens in most of the dorms so if you prefer cooking you have that option as well.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm experience was phenomenal. The dorms are neither elaborate nor luxurious but they are great for a beginning freshman. All of the dorms have been recently updated so they are not dirty or dingy. The rooms are acceptable sizes living in the dorms offers a whole new life style. I met so many people because of living there my freshman year. Everybody hangs out with everybody and there are events you can participate in to meet new people also. You can leave when you want and come back when you want and there are no strict rules about girls or boys in each other's room. It really is the only way to go as a freshman at SDSM&T

    Academic Rigor

    The first year, for many people, is very hard. Those of us that used to a rigorous and extensive schedule think that it is just as hard as high school. But after the first year, things get tough. You are expected to handle a lot more. Your classes get smaller as you are in more courses pertaining to your major but you also may have to take more credit hours to make sure you graduate on time. If you try your hardest and ask for help when needed you are sure to succeed, but if you think it is going to be an easy ride you are sorely mistaken.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come here thinking it will be easy. This is a tough school that is very serious about learning and preparing for your career. If you have not had a rigorous high school schedule you may not be prepared for what you find here. We do not have a high retention rate because we accept a lot of people who, in the end cannot handle what is expected of them, and transfer to somewhere else. If you are considering attending ask yourself if you are willing to not have a social life and put everything you have into your studies. If the answer to this question is yes, then this may be the school for you!

    In three sentences

    This school is almost a guaranteed way of learning everything you need to and more concerning your major, getting a great job with a great starting salary, and meeting new and interesting people. The people are generally all concerned about doing their best and learning everything they can to assist them in their future. Most of the staff share in the interest of their students' futures and are sure to help you to understand and do well, figure out exactly which major/area of study is right for you, and even get through all the new social situations that come along with starting college.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be too intimidated by the extremely brilliant ones here, and remember to study up on your math skills!

    Bang for the buck

    I am paying less for out of state tuition at SDSMT as I would for in-state tuition at the UW-Madison!

    Am enjoying being here

    Perfect sized town of a little over 60,000 people. Perfect for those who like the outdoors but also like to enjoy some of the bigger city life

    Am learning a lot

    Coming from a smaller school in a rural environment and graduating in the top 15% of my class I thought that I was pretty smart. Once I came to school here my first semester I realized so much that I didn't know. The people here are undeniably smart and willing to help you learn the material if you let them.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Focused and know what they want. Good work ethic and responsible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't skip class or you'll fall behind. They try to weed out students who aren't serious about this school in the first couple years.

    Bang for the buck

    It's irritating to pay so much money for a course and have a foreign teacher you can't understand or someone that is really smart but really doesn't know how to teach. There are a few of those teachers here; so sometimes you end up teaching yourself.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is really nice and this is a top school to be at; great placement rate!

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    greek bidding does not occur until late december, which means that they get to know you before you actually become part of the the group.

    Great for these types of students

    school of mines is great for students that are geeky or socially awkward. it is also good for smarter students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    during homecoming week, everyone hikes to m hill and helps white wash the hill. beanie raids happen throughout the dorms also. the beanie run which signify the frosh changing into freshmen. our school songs states we drink our whiskey clear. we have a large collection of songs.

    Bang for the buck

    when you come here you will find that every penny you spent was worth it. there are lots of things that you can do on campus, and there are lots of resources if you are having trouble in any area.

    What to do for fun

    the rapid city area is great for things that you can do around the community. there is outdoor activities like hiking, and there are also tourist activities otherwise.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is not terrible, but its also not that great. they have quite a large variety of food, but it is the same food every day. if you are a picky eater you will find yourself getting bored with the food.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm rooms are pretty small, but if you get the newer hall they do have sinks within the dorm. it's really easy to make friends so long as you step out of your dorm, and everyone seems to be accepted here.

    Academic Rigor

    this school tries to start you off very quickly, but if you have prepared in high school, you will have no trouble in the first year of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    take all the higher level math and sciences that will help you with you degree. taking calculus in high school is the best thing i can recommend.

    In three sentences

    south dakota school of mines is a great place for students who are considered geeks at their own school, and for those who may not fit in as well. don't come here for sports, come here if you want a great education.

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are serious about studying and making something out of yourself, then this is the school you should attend. You won't be disasppointed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A certain day in September is for the running of the Freshmen. All Freshmen wear little green beanies and then run to the top of a hill. This is when we all became real 'Freshmen.'

    Bang for the buck

    Coming to SDSMT is an out-of-state choice for me. It was cheaper for me to come here than to attend the university in my home state.

    What to do for fun

    What can I say?! Sports, student government, hiking, camping, fishing, biking, shopping, dancing, concrete canoes, dune buggy building, building remote control airplanes for competition. You won't believe the many opportunities you have here at SDSMT.

    Food and Dining

    We have one major dining hall, one cafe, and a snack shack in a classroom building. They serve just about any kind of food you could want. And that includes DESSERTS.

    Dorm Life

    There are three dorms here and new ones are presently going up right now. Fellow students are friendly and there is always something going on. All of the dorm buildings are great, you will be happy living in anyone of them.

    Academic Rigor

    SDSMT helps with all your scheduling so can get into the classes you want and need. Professors are friendly and love to meet new faces. Classes are small so you get more one on one instruction if you need it. The campus is also small so getting around is not a problem at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't second guess yourselves. If you know what you want to do for your career and SDSMT can offer the courses you need, then by all means, come here. We are not big on partying, just big on studying, having fun, making new life long friends and earning big bucks in the ends.

    In three sentences

    South Dakota School of Mines and Technology was the right choice for me. It is everything I was looking for in a college. I am very happy I came to this college.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always feel safe there.

    Greek Life

    again gotta go to know.

    Clubs and Activities

    Alot of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    All kinds.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    gotta go to know.

    Bang for the buck

    Price to attend is one of hte bes tin the country fo rthe education you get.

    What to do for fun

    THe Blackhills are full of fun thign sot do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is a little pricey, alot of fast food places nearby.

    Dorm Life

    seems like a blast.

    Academic Rigor

    The school of mine is tough but it will pay off someday. Only the best and brightest get in and have to work hard to stay

    Tips for prospective students

    Set goals and work hard to attain them. The future is yours so work hard to ge there.

    In three sentences

    The school of mines prepares tomorrows leaders for the challenges we will face. The professors are bright and readily available to assist students. The school of mines is the best place to get and education in South Dakota.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    SAE Formula, SAE Baja, Concrete Canoe, Aero Team, UAV (Unmanned Areal Vehicle), Chem-E car, Ham Radio Club, Steel Bridge team, Football, Volleyball, Basketball, Track, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Geeks (that is nothing to be ashamed of), farm kids, car nuts, hard-workers, computer-savvy people, experimenters.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Dublin Dash is a parade and run around downtown Rapid City, open to all students. M-day is the homecoming of SDSM&T, allowing students to become familiar with the school. Students are encouraged to walk from campus to M-hill, and help the seniors paint the M.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a reason that South Dakota School of Mines and Technology has been rated as a best college buy for 12 years.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with one or two of the design teams, on campus. There are many teams that design and test vehicles from several different classes that are used to compete with other schools. Vehicle teams include unmanned helicopter, RC aeroplane team, SAE Formula race car team, and SAE Baha buggy team. The teams are great for developing a sense of community. Employers like to see the teaming experience on resumes, as the experiences from these teams really do translate into there real world.

    Food and Dining

    In my opinion, the meal plans are a bit pricey. It is required that any student living in the dorms must purchase a meal plan. Many students that live off of campus do not purchase meal plans simply because it is cheaper to cook meals. If purchasing a meal plan, make sure to purchase one that works with class schedule. Purchasing more meals than you can use do to class conflicts is a waste of money.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life completely depends on the dorm. Connoly and Palmerton dorms have more avid dorm atmospheres, with floor activities. They are great dorms for hanging out, if you have the time. Peterson, because of it's layout, does not have as good of a dorm life. There are no common rooms on the floor, so it is not a good place to meet people. However, it is connected to the main building on campus, so accessibility is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It is actually quite a joke when athletics is mentioned on campus. The focus on education is primary. It takes a lot of hard work to keep up with classes, but the rewards are worth it. Professors truly expect you to do your part in your coursework. Exams are not easy, and things are not simply handed to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If possible, take calculus-based physics at another university. Do not plan on being able to party at this school. The kids who come to SDSM&T planning to party many times end up being the drop-outs. If you are focused on engineering and getting a degree, this is the school for you. Still, don't expect it to be easy.

    In three sentences

    A great school for engineering students, with challenging curriculum and a small campus. Many professors have real-world experience, which is a big plus. Overall, worth my money, and a great college buy.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The South Dakota School of Mines is one of the nations top 100 best college buys with some of the lowest tuition for the education you get also there is almost guaranteed job placement prestigious students.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do for fun there are rec rooms for students in each hall in the Connolly and Peterson commons there is a flat screen with three computers a pool table and some vending machines for your convenience. the Palmerton commons or game room in the Surbeck center has two ping pong tables and a pool table and also has vending machines. along with that you can hang with your new friends. The school also has a pool, two basketball courts, soccer field, and a new volley ball court. Also there are performers that come to the school and perform which are usually free for all students to attend and there usually held at night after most classes so no one misses out.

    Food and Dining

    The school has three places for eating the miners shack, the hard rock cafe, and the coffee shop. the miners shack is like a mini fast food and sub shop in the school that opens before lunch and is open till usually 10 to 11 pm. the hard rock cafe has three types of buffets that they serve breakfast at 7:00am to 9:00am, lunch at 11:00am to 1:30pm, and dinner 4:30 to 6:30pm. The food at both the hard rock cafe and miner shack are very good with friendly employees and faces. lastly the coffee shop is located in the classroom building and serves some more specialty drinks that the other two eatery's don't.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great with how friendly everyone is. most of the time the different floors have events and special nights, some examples are; movie night, cooking events, gaming events and tournaments. The only thing that is uncomfortable are the rooms because of there small size so i suggest getting to know your room mate and see if you guys can't figure out a way to maximize space, and so you can learn to live well together.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor or difficulty can be quiet challenging. Each class starts out easy and progressively get more difficult as the course goes on and some are greatly accelerated. But structured to better your skills and make it so you understand exactly what your talking about, so you have to be very thorough.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for the prospective students that go to the school of mines is to not be shy. there are a lot of kids but most of them just want to get to know you to there are times where you can be caught in a friendly conversation and meet someone new. Also there is always something happening around campus. so don't just sit in your room and watch TV, but get out there and see what the school has to offer it might surprise you.

    In three sentences

    The South Dakota School of Mines and Technology is an excellent school that strives for excellence. They provide a perfect learning environment with energetic teachers and students there to help anyone eager to learn. Helping it be the very successful university that it is.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe campus and surrounding areas.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshman wear beanies and don't walk on the grass!

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat the price of SDSM&T. Out of state tuition, room, board, and expenses is less than $18k/year. Engineering graduate's starting salary averages $62k/year. There's not a better deal out there for engineers.

    What to do for fun

    Outdoors activities

    Academic Rigor

    It's not difficult to get into SDSM&T, but if you're not prepared, you're one of the people that will be weeded out. This school is interested in developing serious engineers.

    Tips for prospective students

    You'll love SDSM&T. The Black Hills are a beautiful location for outdoors enthusiasts but don't forget, you're here to become an engineer. Study, study, study.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very good. They patrol often and are always available for any emergency.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is definitely a big part of many people's lives at SDSM&T. For students who do not want to get involved, there are many here that aren't and they never miss it. For students that would life to get involved in Greek life, it is a great opportunity, it looks good on resumes and the connections you make last a lifetime.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs here, it is crazy to keep up with them. There are some volunteer clubs and then there are many engineering clubs. They are all fantastic and the club that would be best for a student just depends on what field of engineering interests them the most.

    Great for these types of students

    SDSM&T is great for hardworking students, students that are good in math and science and anyone that is passionate about any of the engineering fields.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are few unusual traditions that we have. One is running around the track to lose your frosh status, another is beanie raids. Freshman are taken up to Greek Hill and made to sing really funny songs. It is a blast!

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth every penny. I love the campus; it is small enough to walk around in 15 minutes but big enough to give you a little diversity. The people are willing to help you out in any way they can. There is always something going on. For those who are struggling with a class, there is free tutoring for any subject.

    What to do for fun

    The people here at SDSM&T work hard to give students free activities that are also fun. We often have movie nights, free ice skating, dances, weekly yoga and zumba nights, and many other activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. The cafeteria has good hours that accommodate the majority and when the cafeteria isn't open there is always the Miners Shack, which is also pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. I have never had a noise complaint, and I have never had to make one either. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are always kept in good shape too.

    Academic Rigor

    This is not an easy school. You have to work hard to get the good grades but if you are willing to put in the time, it is worth the trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard but also have a social life and you will love it here.

    In three sentences

    South Dakota School of Mines and Technology is an amazing school! I am getting a good education for an even better price! The campus, faculty and students are friendly and helpful!

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Rapid City is an extremely safe city and the campus is even more regulated. We are small enough that you literally know just about everyone on campus and strangers stick out.

    Greek Life

    Minimal. As a small campus, focused heavily on academics, social time is minimal.

    Clubs and Activities

    The aforementioned athletic events are great and there are a TON of academic based teams competing in everything from F1 racing to robotics and photography.

    Great for these types of students

    Nerds. No question about it, the average IQ is far above most other campuses. With so many engineering students in a single location, you will often find yourself as NOT the smartest guy in the room.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The giant SMD on the hill in Rapid City are white washed every year as part of M week (ie. homecoming). As a 125 year old college, traditions and history are numerous.

    Bang for the buck

    Do a little research and you will soon realize that our graduates are making more money (and spending less on their education) than any other school out there. Go ahead and Google South Dakota versus Harvard and you will see.

    What to do for fun

    They are in a big push to move to D2 in most sports and athletic events are well attended. Downtown Rapid City is within walking distance and outdoor recreation opportunities (camping, climbing, fishing, hiking, etc.) are abundant within the surrounding Black Hills.

    Food and Dining

    Plenty of it, clean and reasonably priced. No getting around the fact that it's not home cooking but there is enough to chose from to suit just about any taste.

    Dorm Life

    Nice facilities, but like any dorm it has it's share of noise and distractions. There are ample opportunities to live very near campus at a very low cost if desired.

    Academic Rigor

    Top notch, engineering focused curriculum and instructors. On site instruction is supported by lab work and real world experience through academic project teams and co-op and internship programs

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus, tour the facilities and meet the staff. Then spend a weekend here. The location is remote at best. If you are looking for a fantastic education, it's great. If you are looking for the full Animal House college experience, you should probably consider somewhere else.

    In three sentences

    One of the top engineering schools in the nation with minimal cost. The return on investment is extraordinary and the instruction is outstanding. If your an engineering focused individual, it is an excellent choice.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus itself is very safe with plenty of lighting and safety staff. Rapid city can be a little sketchy at night, but it's really not that bad.

    Greek Life

    If you like greek life, Tech has plenty of it to offer. We have 5 frats and 2 sororities. They are very big recruiters and offer many benefits.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for just about everything you can think of. Tech also offers many volunteer opportunities and undergraduate research positions

    Great for these types of students

    Studious, determines, fin loving, creative, thinkers, inventors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    M week is always fun. It includes picnics and hiking to M hill, then sliding down the hill as we white wash the M.

    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the cheapest schools you will find. Even the out of state tuition is cheaper than most in state tuition. For this, you get access to millions of dollars worth of equipment and thousands of dollars worth of computer software.

    What to do for fun

    The Black hills is full of hiking and biking trails. Downtown Rapid offers some great shopping and sightseeing. The school is always holing event like video game tournaments and ice cream parties that are fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is better than most school cafeterias, but its not like home. They do have a good variety and offer many healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not too bad. There is a good sense of community and you will meet tons of people.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard, but they are worth the effort because you will learn so much. Tech is a school for the hard workers, not the slackers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are prepared for the rigorous course load. Tech has higher standard of learning than most colleges, so the courses will be tough. Make sure you get a good foundation in high school. As always make sure you visit campus and apply early.

    In three sentences

    Tech offer the highest level of academics combined with a small, friendly campus and state of the art laboratories. If you are interested in Engineering or sciences, there is no better school out there for the price. The faculty is knowledgeable and committed to your success in learning.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe but the are around Rapid City is a little rough.

    Greek Life

    I am in the Delta Sigma Phi fraternity, the largest greek house on campus. There is also Triangle and Theta Tau for fraternities. Soroities include Alpha Delta Pi and Alpha Omega Epsilon.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs to join that can get you involved with people on campus to make more friends.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is cheaper than most and the salary at the end is way more than most schools for this cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities to join in on and plenty of people willing to go have fun with you.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok, but not the best. The dining hall has a lot of the same food everyday and is not very big. But it is a good consistent meal for all.

    Dorm Life

    Most of the students are really nice and like to have fun. Some just lock themselves in their rooms, but all you have to do is knock and you have a new friend!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are tough, but they are definitely worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a great place to learn. This school is not for the weak at heart but for the ones who love to learn and get to the top.

    In three sentences

    School of Mines is a top school for engineering. Plus, the average graduating salary is higher than students from Harvard!! Come join one of the leaders in technology in the whole world!

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is nothing to worry about here.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is pretty popular here. They aren't necessarily attractive like you see in movies. Honestly, our school is not the ordinary college, which makes it even better.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have all kinds of clubs and activities. There are all kinds of clubs split up by major who do projects. For instance, there is the BAHA club and they make racecars and race them in a contest.

    Great for these types of students

    This is the mega nerd school. Great for wannabe engineers who are proud to be nerds. This school is split up into nerds and athletes. We are a D2 program so it attracts a lot of smart athletes as well who aren't necessarily nerds. But I'm sorry, everyone has a little bit of that inner nerd if they go to Mines.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school is located in the Black Hills so there are a lot of hills. It makes sense that we have a huge white M on a hill that belongs to us called M Hill (M is for Mines). Every fall we have an M-Day picnic (which is completely free) and you dress up in the most ridiculous clothing possible. You climb M Hill and white wash the M by sliding down it drenched in white paint. It is a blast!

    What to do for fun

    We party a lot. And if you're not into that, there's always some kind of school sponsored event that is fun. We have Humans vs. Zombies which is a blast. You use nerf guns to kill zombies.

    Food and Dining

    It's an all-you-can-eat buffet so if you like to eat it's awesome! The food is pretty repetitive but at least there's a lot of it. They have very good dessert ranging from strawberry shortcake to brownies to cookies.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not exactly awesome. The quads are pretty cool because you get your own bathroom. You don't have to worry about getting some kind of nasty fungus on your feet in a public shower. That's a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    Engineering is difficult to learn. So naturally, this is a difficult school. But it all pays off in the end. Grads make bank!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Do not procrastinate. Class loads are heavy since this is an engineering school. Engineering is not easy! 2. Get involved. Making friends is easy when you get out there. 3. Build relationships with your professors. They are very helpful and want you to succeed. 4. Ignore the fake people. There's a lot of 'em, everywhere you go. Find your real friends.

    In three sentences

    A degree from South Dakota School of Mines is top notch. On average, our grads have a higher starting salary than Harvard grads. If you want to make big bucks and are interested in Engineering, math, or science (or all three), this is the place for you.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since the schools back yard is the Black Hills there is an endless amount of activities to do. Hiking, backpacking, skiing/snowboarding, snowmobiling, mountain biking, rock climbing, you get the picture. If you are not the outdoorsy type downtown has been improving it's appeal to the younger people with shopping and dining.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat at school a lot but when I have it has been good. The all you can eat is nice because they cook it right there in front of you. One can create their own pasta dish, Chinese dish, burgers, pizza,etc.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at SDSM&T is tough. One has to put in the work to be successful. One will only get out of it what one puts into it!

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is to get your work done right away! Don't put it off until the last minute and you will find you have more free time or I should say less stressful free time.

    In three sentences

    South Dakota School of Mines and Technology is a demanding but rewarding school. The school makes you earn your degree and learn the material. It is a fun and beautiful place to go to school and live!

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of ways to get involved!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Until the homecoming football game all freshman are considered Frosh and have to wear hats the color of our rival school, BHSU. The tradition claims that SDSMT freshman are smarter than the seniors at BHSU.

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely reasonable tuition! The Tablet PC program may seem expensive to some, but it is really great considering the perks you get from it. Not the most beautiful campus, but you'll probably be spending most of your time studying anyway.

    What to do for fun

    Once tourist season is over in Rapid, there isn't much to do, so students have to rely on themselves for entertainment. Movies, board games and just general goofing off is what students usually do. My roommates and I usually went bowling 1 or 2 times a month.

    Food and Dining

    The options are very limited for food on campus. It's good for the first couple of weeks, and then it get old very quickly.

    Dorm Life

    Things can get kind of boring in Rapid City, but if you make the right friends, you can usually find a way to have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard, and make it a point to connect with fellow students and professors right away!

    In three sentences

    SDSM&T is a great place to find friends if you are normally considered a nerd, but beyond that it is a great place to get an education because classes are small, professors are accessible and because everyone is an engineering or science major, you can find help everywhere when you need it. Overall, it's a great school!

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has many lines of security, from Campus Safety, who are always available for emergencies, to the local police force, to members of Residence Life. Students are safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not a member of a Greek organization but am friends with many who are. The fraternities and sororities at SDSMT offer a different kind of community for students pursuing a degree at the school because they have such strong brother or sisterhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 100 clubs and organizations on campus from Greek organizations to a student-run radio station to Gamers for Service. Students are also invited to start up their own clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    SDSMT is great for any student pursuing a degree in math, science, or engineering, including premed majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, during M Week, a celebration of the school, our frosh wear beanie hats until they complete a lap around the football field during the homecoming game, when they become freshmen. On M Day, we climb M Hill to white wash the M. We also have a parade through Downtown Rapid City.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is an excellent deal for the return you get out of it. It's even ranked as one of the best for its tuition in the US annually. It's especially great when compared to other Schools of Mines, like Colorado's, which charges a ton for in state students and a completely unreasonable amount if you're from out of state.

    What to do for fun

    The school is constantly bringing in shows, like magicians and hypnotists, as well as providing activities like free movie nights at the Elks theater or free ice skating. The Music Center puts on open mic nights, karaoke nights, and concerts. The school's location in the Black Hills gives a lot of opportunities to go hiking, cliff jumping, and sight seeing. There are many clubs and groups on campus for everyone to find somewhere to fit, from blacks smithing club to Gamers for Service, who put on Humans VS Zombies every year. There are also many sporting events to attend from rivalry football games against BHSU to soccer games, a new event to our school. There is also a variety of fraternities and sororities to check out if you're interested in Greek life.

    Food and Dining

    The school's dining services are the one thing I think they overcharge for. Though the food has improved in quality over the years I've been attending the school, it still has a way to go.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are dorms. They have their pros and cons. The school's ResLife and SALC do a great job providing activities, events, and really build a community.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes at SDSMT are quite challenging. There are very few classes students can skate through, but they come out knowing the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help. As an engineering student, I know how difficult some of the classes are. And maybe it's just one topic in a class, but there's going to be something you don't get. Ask for help. People are there to help you learn. Go to class, do your homework, but don't forget to get out of your dorm room and meet new people and go to events and have a blast. This school has a great community so enjoy it.

    In three sentences

    This college can provide an excellent education in math, science, or engineering for a great price. However, you have to want that degree, as some of the classes are extremely challenging. Most professors go above and beyond at SDSMT, and help is always available through many different sources.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The dining hall menu is not very diverse. You will be eating the same food a lot for every meal. There are not many choices for healthy food either.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are well maintained, but they are your basic dorm rooms. There are always people around though, so it makes it easy to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging! Students must study hard to do well in their classes. You will always find many resources to help you succeed though. Professors are always willing to help and there are other programs on campus to help out as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking at this school make sure that you are coming for your academics. The social life is lacking sometimes because most students are studying for their classes.

    In three sentences

    South Dakota School of Mines and Technology is a great environment for students are intrested in majoring in engineering. The price of SDSMT is reasonably cheap compared to other engineering schools of its caliber. Students are given many opportunities to develop themselves professionally while receiving a great education.

  • 11/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wonderful math and science emphasis. You should be self motivated.

    Bang for the buck

    Amazing school for a good price.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of club activities. The campus is close to the down town area. Not only that but you are close to the Black Hills. There is hiking, biking, and skiing.

    Academic Rigor

    Its not easy, but it is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grades do matter so keep up with your work. Procrastination is not a good thing.

    In three sentences

    Is a great school with motivated professors who are willing to help. They hold you to high standards and help you believe in your self. The school is a community with a wide range of interests and activities.

  • 02/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is low and the classes you receive are amazing for the price.

    What to do for fun

    There are dozens of clubs here from blacksmithing to concrete canoe. There are all sorts of awesome groups to join that will further your understanding of the field of engineering.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is not very good at all. I ended my meal plan as soon as I had the chance.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are small and the Head of Residence Life is not a pleasant man to deal with.

    Academic Rigor

    This is an extremely difficult school to attend

    Tips for prospective students

    You must come prepared, and if possible, get out of the dorms as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    The classes here are wonderful and the professors are passionate. The residence life staff is, unfortunately, not satisfactory. Every academic aspect of this university it incredible.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a smaller campus so everyone at least almost recognizes everyone. We're all civil, decent, human beings. We look out for one another and, personally, as a female on campus, I feel safe walking anywhere alone wither it be night or day.

    Greek Life

    We have three different fraternities and two sororities on campus and all have houses of their own. All Greek members are active individuals on campus that take pride in our school, community, and overall success.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have 13 different CAMP teams for those who want to apply what they're learning in the classroom to real life projects. We have athletics, music, drama, foreign clubs, video game tournaments, yoga every Tuesday, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in science and math. You don't have to be the top of your class to be successful here, but you have to be willing to work hard.

    Bang for the buck

    If you can make it through this school, then the opportunities awaiting you in life after are endless. Our students currently have a 98% job placement rate before graduation.

    What to do for fun

    1. Study Only after do you join a club, CAMP team, fraternity/sorority, organization, etc.

    Food and Dining

    You're required to get a meal plan your first two years and while there's a lot of different options on any particular day however, one will quickly notice how they're the same options day-in and day -out most of the time.

    Dorm Life

    My incoming class (2013) was the biggest incoming freshman class in the history of the institution and next year's incoming class is expected to be even bigger. Anyone not a Freshman is having to deal with finding adequate housing off campus to make room on campus for the next class.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm only in general courses still, but even these are more rigorous than other institutions, especially the math classes. This institution always takes it one step further.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think once you're accepted that its a simple walk in the park, for this school expects a lot out of you and procrastination is not an option.

    In three sentences

    A smaller campus, but one that is very friendly and success driven. Even though most students struggle since the material is so difficult, don't let that deter you away, for their are infinite resources and aids to help, plus the professors are friendly and have an open door policy.

  • 06/03/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend this place to students who don't want to get in debt while earning his or her degree, somone who won't mind a small campus, and any person who loves outdoor activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth your money. Even though it's not a top tier 1 school everyone wants to go for, you won't get in debt for your degree, which is extremely nice for this day and age.

    What to do for fun

    Since it is a small campus, like I said, you mostly just sit and talk with friends, watch sports and movies, but the one thing you'll do a lot in South Dakota is outdoor activities. Hiking and biking is probably the two most common things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes great! The only problem is that since it's a small campus, you won't get too much variety of foods. The three I gave it is mostly due to the fact of little variety.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say too much about this area, mostly, because it depends on who you room with. If you get a person without similar interests, it won't be a great time. If you get a person you get along with, than you'll enjoy your time there. If you don't like your roomate, I heard from students you can as the school to switch rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I've heard from current and past students, it's what you'd expect from any engineering school. It's definitely the sort of college that will make you work hard for your degree. Even though it's hard, it won't be a Stanford type education, which is understandable given that it has a way lower tuition, and less money compared to those schools. Overall, I'd give this place a good four out of five stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you ever have any questions to ask, ask anybody around the campus for advice, it will help you a lot. Whenever possible, get a tour of the fascilities to see teachers and a sense of where you'd want to study at.

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff are helpful and kind, which is nice for beginners. The campus is small, but well kept. Students at the campus, for the most part, are extremely helpful, and give great advice on how to succeed at the college level.

  • 10/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Surbeck dinning hall is not good at all. The Miner Shack is decent, I wish there were more options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms aren't fun and these are worse. The school is over capacity so doubles have 3 people and quads have 5 people.

    Academic Rigor

    Defiantly tough for every hour in class expect to spend 2 hours outside of class.