Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

South Georgia College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have pretty good campus safety officers roaming around the campus at all times. I feel pretty safe there. I actaully run around campus at night sometimes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs! Too many to name!

    Bang for the buck

    I'd recommend this college. Saves you money and you do not really need to start off anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things going on here at this college. At least once a week there is some type of event going on. They have a game room where you can play video games, watch televison, and play or ping pong while you hangout with friends. They also have intramural sports, which I am very fond of! In additon, the city itself has a movie theatre and a bowling alley which my friends and I would take advantage of every week!

    Food and Dining

    Their food is great! I love it! They always have a good variety!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms look fabulous! However though, it does get kind of loud sometimes. But just remember, it is the college life!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are really great here. However though, they do not push you to your limits like some professors are known to. This is a much rather 'easier' college.

    Tips for prospective students

    2 Bedroom Suites have bigger rooms but no living room 4 Bedroom Suites have smaller rooms but with living room So if you're a people person and like to hangout, I recommend the 4 bedroom suite.

    In three sentences

    South Georiga College is a great place to start going to college right out of high school. It is not a huge jump to a higher university but more like a stepping stone to feel the atmosphere for the college life. I would recommend it for those looking to start their college lives nice and easy while saving money at the same time.

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be well prepared for this college.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always riding around. Makes the area feels more secure.

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends in the coffee shop.

    Food and Dining

    I don't live in campus but I often eat in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you read your syllabus and study, you are good to go!

    In three sentences

    I love the small classrooms. The teachers actually focuses on their students. I rate this school at a 9 out of 10.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is everywhere on campus and they make routines all day and night every day. You can relay on them for everything. The school updates everyone on crime alerts and weather reports. They want us to feel as well as be safe at South Georgia College. You can relay on that.

    Greek Life

    We have the Honor Society and they are very open are willing to help you reach the criteria before entering.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do here at South Georgia College. There are many clubs that make themselves known. The school sponsors many fairs that students can go and find the right club for them.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for all types of students. You can choose your own speed here and have fun with it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The has a whole bunch of ghost stories that you enjoy. It is usually tradition for students to explore the campus at night and visit the old buildings to see if they can capture the ghosts in action.

    Bang for the buck

    What you see is what you get. The school does everything it says it does. All you have to do is attend and enjoy the service. Everything you are paying for is exactly what you get.

    What to do for fun

    The school hosts a whole bunch of activities that you can win free stuff from. The school also has the Clower Center that is basically an arcade area for students. The school clubs also host a lot of events you can go to.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is really good. They serve in a buffet style and have a salad, fruit, and desert bar. If you ever miss a meal the you can get a replacement meal at the school cafe which is open whenever the cafeteria isn't.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is amazing. You can choose to have a private room or have a roommate. Each room has two bedrooms doors that lock. You share a sink area and a bathroom. Each room also comes with your own bed, night stand, dresser drawers, closet, desk, and a window. You are also paired with a resident assistant that is there to make you comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the college is completely based on the student. You can choose how much classes you have per semester and the school provides free tutoring for students. The teachers are always available for students who need extra guidance.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planing to attend South Georgia College then you should try to set an appointment with your academic adviser provided by the school. They will help you find out what how much classes you can take per semester as well as how long it would take for you to graduate. This will be extremely beneficial.

    In three sentences

    South Georgia College is a good step for students just entering the college world. I think the school is extremely good and beneficial. It is trying at times but you always come out on top.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No campus is really safe. Other than the parking lot security, we don't have police patrol around campus or metal detectors to have complete safety.

    Greek Life

    We don't have any greek life at South Georgia College

    Clubs and Activities

    South Georgia College does not have any clubs or activities.

    Bang for the buck

    It is affordable and cheap. You really wouldn't have to take out any loans unless you don't get any financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Since the school is connected with Valdosta State University, we can go on their campus for activities. They have activities on the front lawn most of the time. They have activities in the student union. We have volunteer activities, basketball games, football games, soccer games, tennis courts, volleyball activities, etc.

    Food and Dining

    We have Chic-fil-a and it is fantastic.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms at the South Georgia College in Valdosta, GA.

    Academic Rigor

    I made the deans list during the summer and fall semester of 2013. This motivates me to keep doing excellent in my classes. Some classes are online, which teaches responsibilty and time management.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be on time to class. Don't miss a class unless you really have to. Read and study the material ahead of time so you can follow along in the following class. Do NOT procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    South Georgia College is a great entry program for students to enter right after high school. The one I attend is in Valdosta, GA. It is the entry program to Valdosta State University.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus officer are there for 24/7. It is a safe campus

    Great for these types of students

    There are different students from different parts of the world. I was surprise i met so many people from different part of the world.

    Bang for the buck

    The good thing about is that FASFA had pay everything for me, but if you stay on campus it cost little bit more and again the school has three different location, so each campus cost more or less

    Food and Dining

    Again it matters which campus you are locate because each college is different from another

    Dorm Life

    I stay at home because i don't stay far away from the college.

    Academic Rigor

    There are not many classes to take, but it matters which campus you are locate.

    In three sentences

    South Georgia College have small classroom space and a stable environment. There are three campus in Georgia, that is close to home. It is great college to get your education.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety here leaves something to be desired. If you take a night class, beware - a large portion of the campus is dark. There is an elevated crime level in the town and it finds its way on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is little in the way of Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    The one thing I can say this college has going for it is its variety of clubs. It also hosts a few decent events over the semester, some fun and laid back, others more informative and serious, but all executed well.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are only interested in an associate's degree and a very laid-back experience with little responsibility would love this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not aware of any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is fairly cheap, but I suppose you get what you pay for. I feel, however, I'm being a little cheated - I've paid for the lab and athletic activities for 4 years and have never stepped foot in the lab or attended a single game.

    What to do for fun

    There's little here to do for fun, which is a major issue - a campus full of bored college students doesn't add up to a whole lot of good.

    Food and Dining

    Though I have never dined in the cafeteria as a college student, I've heard the food is good, and when I did visit the college as a grade schooler I remember the food to be delicious (though I was only about 10, and hamburgers were top notch cuisine in those days). If your not interested in the food here, though, don't fret - there's a Dairy Queen and a Zaxby's only a short walk off campus, along with a great Mexican restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    Although I have never stayed in the dorms, the stories I've heard are awful. The safety concerns are far from where they should be - the public safety officers are more concerned with making sure guests are escorted by their hosts than worrying about the safety of the students.

    Academic Rigor

    The general academic rigor is minimal at best. It's far too easy to get your degree without knowing a thing about your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find an upperclassman or alumni who can give you advice on what professors to take and what classes to take. Some classes are far too difficult given the subject at hand, while others will leave you scratching your head, wondering what exactly the class is supposed to be about. The psychology and sociology department I can vouch for - Frank and Dr. Steverson are great teachers, and if given the opportunity I would suggest that everyone interested in the social sciences give their lectures a try.

    In three sentences

    This school is growing, and has a lot of potential. Things somehow still feel very much like high school, though - many of the classes are far to easy and not challenging. I've been attending for several years (because it's 5 minutes from home and inexpensive), but I don't feel very prepared to move on to a 4-year university.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is always on duty. There is a security guard in front of the dorms morning, noon and night. Cameras are placed on every corner of the dorm buildings. The residence manager is on-duty round the clock and an access card is needed to gain access to all dorms. The campus grounds are well lit at night and the head of security reviews the video from the cameras on a daily basis. You feel very safe at SGC.

    Greek Life

    This is a 2-year college which doesn't have Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everyone who is involved in a club, sports team or activity demonstrates a lot of team spirit. They are encouraging and always willing to helping their team mates improve themselves as well as the team. You can find information on all the acitivites under the Athletic link on the school's website. Very informative.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who strive to be more out-going. Students who want to have fun, and like to be involved in different activities. Athletes who didn't do exceptionally well in high school would enjoy SGC. Here they can improve on their abilities. They can get stronger, faster and gain a better understanding of their sport. Students who are coming from small towns will find the transition easier at SGC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every freshman has to go to the RAVE in their fall semester. The RAVE is the biggest social gathering on campus. Prizes are given out for things like the best dancer, the most spirited individual, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost for SGC is quite affordable. If you have $5000 in scholarship money, you might be able to pay for books and incidentals out of pocket. Even if you need a loan, it won't be as much as you would pay for two years at a 4-year college or university. You're getting the same quality education for less money at SGC. That's something you can't beat!

    What to do for fun

    All the parties sponsored by the school are fun! The Clower Center is where there are aactivities such as ping pong, pool, air hockey and video games. SGC athletic teams are always competing against some school, so you'll always be entertained by attending a game. Intramural sports are also popular. There are a few places in town where you can hang out, watch the game and eat pizza.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is strategically located between the two dormitories. Like the rest of the campus, it is kept quite clean. If there was more of a food variety, I probably could give it five stars overall. Quality is inconsistent. When the food is good, there is not an abundance. This means you have to arrive early to get your share which is not always possible. During the weekends and before holiday breaks, the food is always good. The cafeteria workers are friendly and accommodating.

    Dorm Life

    There are only two dorms. One male. One female. However, the dorms are in close proximity to each other. The men's dorm stays very clean. The common area is a good place to congregate. They have a TV, computer lab, a laundry room, lounge and study areas. There's a lot of natural light, and the dorms are generally safe and secure. The rooms appear to be more spacious than the average dorm rooms I've seen. The walls of the dorm rooms are thick enough to cancel the noise, if any, from the adjoining rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    South Georgia takes the information you learned in high school and objectively and thoroughly expands on the content in an effort to improve your understanding of the subject matter. The professors have practical knowledge and work experience which makes them more than qualified to teach the curriculum in a variety of ways to help you understand and master the content. They are committed to the students and their success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Strive to build a strong relationship with your professors. The stronger the bond, the more you will understand the professor and vice versa. South Georgia is a good, safe place to step outside your comfort zone. Be outspoken and don't be afraid to try something different. For example, if you weren't active in clubs in your high school, make one of your goals to join a club that you might be interested in.

    In three sentences

    There are many academic resources available to students including one-on-one and group tutoring for those students who may need a little help transitioning from high school. A small campus makes for easy accessibility to classes, the dormitories, dining hall and the library. Students are open, friendly and always willing to help each other.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going to different games and joining clubs are very fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the school is very good and there are healthy options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived on campus. That's one thing I would like to do though. :)

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is good. I've always loved a challenge when it came to my schoolwork.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the campus just to get a feel. Always study, but don't overload yourself.

    In three sentences

    I love the opportunities available at this school. There are a wide variety of majors to choose from. The instructors are always there to help when we as students need them.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Real good food. I rate it a 10

    Dorm Life

    I commute back and forth. no rating

    Tips for prospective students

    You will like this school. It's not to big or to small.

    In three sentences

    Great school. Well educated professors. Good location and curriculum.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    NOTHING

    Tips for prospective students

    Think twice about coming here before you select to attend this school. There are alot of things they do not tell you about this school.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school for a start or if you have messed up and need to get your GPA back up. I don't advise people to attend the school personally. There is nothing to do within the city of Douglas.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really good about going around at night and making sure nothing is up. They also patrol the dorms at night to make sure no intruders get in!

    Greek Life

    No greek life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Climbing the buildings is about the funnest thing you can do on any given day. There are about 4 buildings you can climb, but I'm not gonna tell you how, because thats the fun part. Am i right?

    What to do for fun

    The school does offer a few fun things such as dance competitions, and rap battles. Those get pretty crazy, but other than that, its a pretty boring campus. There are some bowling allies in the town, and theres always a Walmart to go to!

    Food and Dining

    The food is average. Nothing is to fancy about our cafe. We do have a variety of foods, but most the time its pretty gross. But on occasion you do have the good days were your just so glad you came!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is actually not to bad! For the girls, you get your own bedroom, and you share a bathroom with one other person. For the guys, you have 4 people to a suite, and there are 2 bathrooms, and a living area. The dorms are very safe, and all outsiders and opposite sex must be checked in. Keeps you feeling as though you have nothing to worry about if your walking around at night.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic part of this school isn't too bad. You get a TON of 1 on 1 experience and your never overwhelmed with class work. Teachers work well with you as long as you work well for them. They offer a variety of classes and your most likely to find the classes your looking for with some of the best teachers!

    Tips for prospective students

    Honestly if your looking for somewhere to just start out your college life, this isn't too bad of a place. It gets you going, and its super small, so your not overwhelmed by the size, or the amount of people in your classes. Class sizes range to about 30 people a class, which is great for a 1 on 1 experience. But if your looking for an awesome college experience, and you want to get out and do something, this isn't the college for you! Its in a small town, with not a lot going on.

    In three sentences

    South Georgia is nothing special. Nothing fun going on at the school or in the town. Just a regular community college.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there's nothing good about it other than that it's small

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Flag football

    Great for these types of students

    none

    Bang for the buck

    I get no financial help and I'm not getting a quality education.

    What to do for fun

    play video games in your room. If you play a sport, then focus on that.

    Food and Dining

    unless your stomach is made of steel and you can't taste it, you don't want to eat their food.

    Dorm Life

    The water smells like sulfur and it's over-priced.

    Academic Rigor

    good luck finding a good professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here unless you absolutely have to.

    In three sentences

    Really hard due to the incompetence of the professors. The cafeteria food is the most horrible food I've ever had. There's wifi but it's very limited to certain spots in buildings.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of clubs and organizations to be apart of and a great way to meet new people. Its very important to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    great food. many varieties and unlimited chances to go and eat

    Dorm Life

    Its not that bad. It really is a lot better than living at home

    Academic Rigor

    You have to teach yourself in along ith the help of the professors. as long as you study, you'll be just fine

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your game and don't be afraid to ask for help

    In three sentences

    Georgia Southern is a great school. The teachers/professors there are very helpful and pretty cool people. Plus the school gives plenty of opportunities to broaden your horizons!