Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

South Mountain Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The one who wants to achieve and likes to have a close knit campus feel.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to show up and be prepared for class. But if you must miss a class a great rule of thumb to remember is that you can miss as many classes a semester as the class meets in a week. So if your class meets four times a week for the semester, you can miss up to four classes a semester. There is a public library on campus that you can rent study rooms in. You are allowed to bring food and drink into them. The learning center also has study rooms for student use. Don't settle for a advisor that you feel does not suit your needs, you can shop around to find a comfortable fit. Also do not be afraid to ask questions, you are not bothering the staff.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have security guards on campus at all times patrolling campus. we also have protection towers encase of an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have a verity of clubs on our campus. we have clubs like student government, metcha and phi theta kappa all the way to softball, and volleyball. we have a club to meet everyone's needs.

    Great for these types of students

    south mountain is great for all types of students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are not many unusual traditions but we do tend to hold similar events every years around the same time. for example the spring fling in april and the men's luncheon in november.

    Bang for the buck

    you will definitely meet a lot of genuinely amazing people at south. being a small campus is in our favor and has brought students and employees together as a family.

    What to do for fun

    south mountain has quite the verity of clubs and activities on campus. many students get active in clubs on campus to spend their free time with friends planning events and projects.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria at south is very delicious. the cooks are the same ones every time you go in and they know everyone's order and what they might like. if you want something special they will definitely fix you up whatever you like.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on campus. most students who attend south mountain community college live in the area and either walk, drive, ride bikes, or take the bus to school.

    Academic Rigor

    at south students are very dedicated towards their education and the instructors and faculty are there to help you succeed. students who are focused and dedicated never receive a grade lower than a c.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep an open mind and do anything that comes your way. at south mountain if you get involved and show a passion for your education opportunities will just come flying at you.

    In three sentences

    south mountain community college is a small campus were everyone one knows another and works together as a family. at south you get the opportunity to form relationships with your instructors, fellow students and faculty. overall south mountain community college is a very student oriented community college with a lot of amazing people ready to teach you lessons that will last a lifetime.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take the harder university courses here. It will be a little easier and a lot cheaper.

    In three sentences

    Visually stunning campus. It is for getting an education and getting the education you need. Great place to start out with many clubs and sports.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security will walk you to your car. it is very convenient, especially if you are taking night classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are tons of clubs at the college! i learn about them almost every week! one that i am interested in is called trio... its a club designed to help you transfer over to a four year university. along with that, they have a one on one tutoring, offer calculators and laptops for the semester.

    Academic Rigor

    some material may be hard to understand but the teachers are more than willing to help. it is up to the student to not be afraid to ask because the subject will only become more confusing later on.

    Tips for prospective students

    -don't be afraid to explore! -use your resources, such as the library and your teachers! -set priorities such as when study time will be -set up a group/buddy study group, it helps to get other students perspectives about the class work -make sure you are prepared for class, its always helpful that way you are on task.

    In three sentences

    overall the college has been a great choice! from the day i registered i had help from the students to administration. i feel secure and i am not afraid to ask questions

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Not a dorm facility.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent,it's their house or campus respect the rule's and you'll be good.

    Great for these types of students

    they have something cool for every type

    What to do for fun

    whatever put's a smile on your face

    Food and Dining

    whatever is within your budget respect the process

    Dorm Life

    doesnt apply@smcc

    Academic Rigor

    above excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Be focused,committed and ready to do all that need's to be done,be punctual and ask question's to generate the clarity you need to understand what's expected of you as a student.Take advantage of all the program's that will help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Very professional and Organized,i respect their structure because it allow's student's from all walk's of life to be successful. #2.I was blessed to attend in the spring of 2013 and i excelled behind their excellent instructor's and excellent program's to assist you every step of the way. #3.I look forward to obtaining my associates degree and graduation,all of my decision's are professional which connect's to their foundation and what this successful college was built on,and i'm only a freshman so it's very visible and appreciated.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    With several club organizations, i'm sure you'll find the right one for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students love to get to know each other, which is why we have a game and TV room. We have several events and tournaments going on, organized by the student government committee. It is a great way for students to mingle and have fun.

    What to do for fun

    South Mountain Community College is a very divers and family oriented school. Here on campus we have many organizations that can consume time. However, they do have fun in the mix. From student life to ambassador program, we all enjoy having fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be a little pricey for a college student, but hey the quality is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to step out of your comfort zone. I've had several occasions where I felt intimidated in class. Although you may feel like that, there is no such thing as a stupid question, so feel confident in asking for help.

    In three sentences

    South Mountain Community College is a place where I started my education. Staff, instructors, and students have all been wonderful to me throughout the years. Not only do I call it my school, but it is also my home.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe campus, they have video surveillance in all parking campuses,. campus security is located on campus plus the security is always patrolling areas on campus, basically insure that there presence is known.

    Clubs and Activities

    they are many clubs and sorority to join that are always hosting something , from book drives , can drives , awareness, fundraiser etc

    Bang for the buck

    the price for tuitions is amazing!!!!!! Compared to other schools in area by far the lowest when it comes the amount per credit hours

    What to do for fun

    they are many clubs and sorority to join that are always hosting something , from book drives , can drives , awareness, fundraiser etc

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria does not have a lot of variety , but the items that are on the menu are very delightful.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recomment to future students to sit in the crical t area in classrooms.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always feel safe on campus. There are always security guards walking around and driving around campus keeping students safe. Also, South Mountain has emergency posts in the parking lot if anything happens.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is unusal. If you notice South Mountain Community College is like a circle. Another unusual thing on campus is that there is a like space that is desert like in back and on one side of the college. Which is part of the college.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous things to do for fun on campus. One is to catch a baseball game in the summer and watch us hit a home run. Or watch and witness the cultural plays and performances of students and faculty members in the auditorium.

    Food and Dining

    The food is scrumptious from breakfast to lunch. The quarter pound hamburger is mouth watering especially with cheese. It is huge and worth the price. Dining on campus is wonderful. You can grab a bite from the cafeteria or get a quick snack and drink from the vending machines. If you are eating on campus there are endless places to seat and enjoy you meal. For instance, under the shade and mist in the square or under a huge green tree that seems to provide endless shade.

    Dorm Life

    South Mountain Community College does not offer housing, It is a college where you have to commute.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic strictness at South Mountain Community College is challenging. A challenge is a great way to determine your strengths and weaknesses. Their expectations are high because they know each student is capable of doing much more than what they expect you to do. With the academic rigor being high it will help individuals to keep a high standard of themselves. By the way there is always someone there to help you. If you have any questions, concerns, or just someone to talk to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students is to be prepared mentally, emotionally, and physically. For the reason that, the first day of college does not measure up to the first day of high school. That is where you have to be mentally prepared because you are on your own for the first time in your life. This is where you become an adult and take full responsibility of your actions. This is the point where you make own decisions and your family is your supporters now (not decision makers). Emotionally prepared ties up with being on your own. You become independent and you become your motivator. Being prepared emotionally will help you conquer college. For the reason that, you understand what you are up against. You are up against a higher level of education where it will test your knowledge and abilities. Last but not least is being physically prepared. If you are physically prepared it will help learn new things and have it preserve in your mind.

    In three sentences

    South Mountain Community College is a ten, on a scale of one being the worst and ten being the best college. It has everything a person ever wanted in a college. It is a small and well organized college. The class sizes are small and the new library is huge.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Okay but could be better.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Wonderful

    Tips for prospective students

    Hard work Dedication Avoid negative distractions

    In three sentences

    Great campus Nice professors Great experience

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of fun stuff to do. For example, theirs clubs, sports you can join and much more!

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious; the cafeteria is a very clean environment.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say nothing about this because i stay with my parents. I haven't experience the dorm life yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Homework is okay, they done leave you with a lot. It all depends on your classes and teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for an affordable, fun and friendly environment South Mountain Community College is the best place to be.

    In three sentences

    South Mountain Community College is a great school to start with. The staff and people there are friendly. When you have a problem or questions they take there time and help you resolve you problem.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There's the Honor's society.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have a very good golf team, there is women's volley ball, women's basket ball, men's basket ball, baseball, softball, and men/women's soccer. Those are the main sports, there are others.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who haven really committed to a major yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on your course you may have to take a prerequisite for a prerequisite.

    What to do for fun

    They have a game room and a T.V room other than that there isn't any thing else on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As stated previously there are only a select few classes that are truly a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at the college or university that you plan on transferring to and make sure that you take the classes that they may want you to take before you get there. Make sure that south mountain offers them and if it is a full class, or else it may get dropped.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very attentive to the needs of the students, and they are not hard to reach. For certain majors, the more unpopular at community colleges, some of your core classes mat be dropped due to low enrollment. Most of the classes are not very challenging.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is visible and helpful. will walk you to your car at night

    Great for these types of students

    I see a lot of women in their 30's and 40's. The seem to enjoy the easy going atmosphere

    Food and Dining

    There is a Starbuck's on Campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus before classes start

    In three sentences

    SMCC is friendly and diverse SMCC's Campus is easy to navigate SMCC has a fantastic Library

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Helpful security

    Clubs and Activities

    Join Phi Theta Kappa if you have 12 credits or more, and a 3.5 GPA or higher

    Bang for the buck

    Not as expensive as universities

    What to do for fun

    Go see the sports games! Especially the women's and men's basketball games.

    Food and Dining

    Great food selection!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Honor's Program offer scholarships for those with a 3.5 GPA or higher

    In three sentences

    SMCC has great teachers who help those who apply themselves. Small school and small class so you get one-on-one teacher attention. Great library with useful resources.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap to attend. The federal pell grant covers everything while you attend the school.

    What to do for fun

    I would go out and eat with friends or be in the library. There are friendly people there to chill with.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is small and they have good food thats a bit expensive. I spent like a lot of money on food there. But the good thing is that the campus is surrounded by restaurants and food places so that you can go out to eat. Or just go to the grocery store for a snack.

    Dorm Life

    IT is non existent

    Academic Rigor

    It has small classrooms. It is perfect to get one on one time with the professors so that you can get higher grades. The professors are great and you can get a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your homework a bit if you want to transfer into a university. Although this school is pretty great the administration can be a little slow.

    In three sentences

    This is a really good school to go to get you off your feet. Instead of taking act and sat test or if you got a low score but want to get into ASU or any other of your dream university. Its a great place to help you to get going.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is fantastic. I feel safe on campus because their are securities and staff all around. I am proud to be attending South Mountain CC

    Food and Dining

    I have not checked out the food and dining area.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Being in class is yoour nummber 1 priority. Make sure you dont miss anything the professors say. I hope that each student completes their goal and become more successful.

    In three sentences

    SMCC is a greats college to attend because it is an open environment and accepts anyone ad everyone. They have just offer about any class you would want to take. Staff member are very helpful and great communicators.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe to be, I take night classes as well and always see security around campus all day and at night as well

    Clubs and Activities

    You can join any club you feel that fit your needs. There's always something to do

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student that's wants to learn in a fun and friendly environment

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable classes

    What to do for fun

    There's clubs you can join and they have there own individual activities

    Food and Dining

    They have good food

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so I can't comment on this

    Academic Rigor

    I have a 3.1 GPA currently

    Tips for prospective students

    Research other colleges and see what kind of courses they offer before you choose the one that best fit your needs. You'll have a wonderful time at South Mountain!!!!!

    In three sentences

    They have the best Intructors that really teaches you the courses and they take the time to explain everything to you if you don't understand something.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at school because security is always on top of things.

    Clubs and Activities

    Students and advisors in clubs are very kind.

    What to do for fun

    By joining clubs, one can be involved, while also hhaving fun and meeting new people!

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    The staff that work at South Mountain are very helpful and friendly. The campus is very big and beautiful. There is a huge amount of people that are kind.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus and the landscape is very well maintained. The building structure is very cool as well!

    Bang for the buck

    I'd definitely say it's in budget and worth what I'm learning so glad they have the music business program!

    What to do for fun

    If you like hiking it is right beside the South Mountain.

    Food and Dining

    There is a ton of great food all around the area!

    Dorm Life

    I live in an apartment and they don't have dorms but there are plenty of great apartments and houses near by.

    Academic Rigor

    It keeps me very engaged but not too overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest getting there at least a half hour early for your new classes. I got a little bit lost but everyone there was helpful in pointing me in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    South Mountain has really great teachers that are always willing to help. I am currently in the Music Business Program run by Josh Gottry that just started this semester. There is so many jobs in the Music Business that i did not know about and the classes teach you real life scenarios and how to work through them.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a student center with games and social events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the tutors in the LRC building, they are very knowledgeable and will help easily.

    In three sentences

    South Mountain a nice campus with awesome professors. They have many places for student help. The campus is fun to be on and the people are welcoming.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always driving around campus. We also have emergency booths everywhere on campus. At night there are more security guards on patrol.

    Clubs and Activities

    Majority of the student body are involved in clubs or sports.

    Great for these types of students

    All students regardless of age.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most of the students meet up to study at the nearby starbuck's or they meet up at the applebees or ihop.

    Bang for the buck

    Restaurants around the campus or some stores offer discounts to students with valid id's.

    What to do for fun

    There always activities going on all year. Never a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate on campus but the cafeteria is small.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are tougher than others but all of them are always available if a student has questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    When in doubt, never hesitate to ask.

    In three sentences

    Great community college for first time students. The campus is smaller compared to Mesa Community and Chandler-Gilbert. The student body is smaller as well. Great teachers.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college has public safety at the tip of your finger, you will feel just at home safe!

    Food and Dining

    The food is made right in front of you! The college offers a small caf�© lounge for the students to feel comfy.

    Dorm Life

    South Mountain Community College does not offer dorms, although there are many locations around to move in close for convenience!

    Academic Rigor

    Procrastination is everybody's enemy, although simply beginning doing your homework whenever you have free time, you will not regret. If you are struggling with any topic, South Mountain has a huge variety of tutoring offered for free!

    In three sentences

    The school atmosphere is very comforting as well as the faculty is superior. I have never known such a great college like South Mountain Community College. Truly feels like you are with family 24/7.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food they sell in the cafeteria is delicious They have burgers, pizza, soup, energy bars, etc. They even have a Starbucks in the school library! The location of the school is great because it is close to many restaurants such as Chili's, Jack in the Box, McDonald's, Apple Bee's, etc.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, there are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    If you ever need help with anything at all there is always someone that can help you. You can go speak to an advisor at any given time, go to a tutor, or ask your professor for help. There are usually around 15-25 students in each class so you really do get to interact with everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the tips I have is to try your very best to score high on the Accuplacer Test (test you take to determine what level classes you need to take). If you score high enough you will earn a scholarship that will pay for your Associate's degree and will also automatically be enrolled as an 'Honor student.

    In three sentences

    This college is amazing! The staff here are very friendly and extremely helpful. There are also many resources to help you such as tutors for math and writing and plenty of computers for you to use.

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria will good variety of nutritious food.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging classes are offered along with easy classes. Different variety of classes from in person, online to even hybrid.

    In three sentences

    South Mountain Community College has one of the most well endowed libraries. A great collection of resources to help students. Friendly and active college atmosphere and easy going peers.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have had problems with an ex boyfriend and they were always keeping a close eye on me ensuring I was safe. I definitely felt safe and secure on campus. All of security is AWESOME!

    What to do for fun

    The students love to hang with each other and the mall is right down the road. It definitely is always a fun campus!

    Food and Dining

    The college is surrounded by a great variety of fast food and restaurant choices. It's awesome and all walking distance!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are all very interactive and fun. All my teachers this semester have kept the class exciting and alive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you register ON TIME because they don't except late registration anymore.

    In three sentences

    The school is so diverse and everyone is nice. I immediately felt comfortable on campus with fellow student and my teachers. It's a great small school that I would recommend.

  • 05/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join clubs hang out with friends go to the gym along with taking bus transportation to the mall and back it stops right near school so easy access

    Food and Dining

    good cafetieria along wih the restants that are walking distance

    Dorm Life

    i think they have them live with friends

    Academic Rigor

    great and perfect for serious scholars

    Tips for prospective students

    stay in contact with your professors at all times about all materials learned in class, along with dont be scared to ask questions. study atleast 3-4 hours a day to review material and understand it completely with out a doubt. Mainly just give you best dont miss school and do not and i repeat do not fall behind.

    In three sentences

    intellegent and strong knowledge professors that help you along your way to a good career. Well maintained school, with helpful facilties along with its students that attend during school hours. compfortable learning community with its wonderful veiw of its name South Mountain, along with the close range of shopping centers and resturants.