Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

South Plains College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love to learn and will work hard at whatever they do

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the teachers Actually study it can be hard Use your time wisely

    Bang for the buck

    I saved so much more money by going here than I would going to Texas Tech. Saved like up to 8,000

    Am enjoying being here

    Ya I love going to college there. The teacher are definately one on one and will help whenever you really need it. They actually know your name. That rocks

    Am learning a lot

    Wow I can't tell you how much I learned at this school. To me it was hard work but I learned more than I ever did in all 4 yrs of high school in one semester

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety on campus is great. students do feel safe as they attend classes, and have places to go for help, if needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    intramurals, gay and straight alliance, and so many other varieties of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    students that are older and coming back to school. students that have just graduated and are worried about the large college experience. actually all students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a center in lubbock, the byron martin atc building, which students from lubbock can take some of their classes. this accessibility is critical for students from lubbock. there is also the reese campus which is right outside of lubbock, that is nicely located between lubbock and the main campus in levelland. these locations make it so very easy for students to plan their schedule according to jobs and home, especially if your from lubbock.

    Bang for the buck

    i feel like coming to south plains college was a major point in my life, because the preparation i am receiving for the future will be very beneficial.

    What to do for fun

    many clubs and activities for different kinds of students exist for the student. from intramurals to lifestyle clubs that help the student maintain social status'.

    Food and Dining

    great food with alot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are a very integral part of campus life on the levelland campus, but not on reese campus, a commuter campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the lessons and material are exactly what students need to earn a degree or transfer to texas tech for more focused study.

    Tips for prospective students

    taking these classess seriously help the student get more focused attention and make it easier to ask questions. the long haul is what makes south plains college a great school. the school stands alone as one of the regions greatest schools, and joins other schools in the area as a community focused institution.

    In three sentences

    south plains college is an excellent institution with great instructors who truly care about the studen'ts education. the college has expanded and serves a large based population from many cities and towns. the academics are on level with her sister college, texas tech, so that students may transfer easily.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    band, jazz band, theatre arts, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    any that want to come.

    Bang for the buck

    you get all the learning you need for much cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    lubbock texas is only 30 minutes away and there is plenty to do there.

    Food and Dining

    i won't eat or dine here.

    Dorm Life

    i will not have a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you don't know what your major is, just get down the basics and decide later, rather than waste time.

    In three sentences

    south plains college is a great school for students that either just want to get down the basics first, or just don't want to attend a major university yet. it sets the ground for college learning.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any problems on campus and have never heard of any incidents during the three years I have attended the college.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not participate in any clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Those trying to get their feet wet or are too busy to go to a traditional university. South Plains College offers a very diverse crowd.

    Bang for the buck

    Ultra cheap tuition and good instructors make South Plains College a great value.

    What to do for fun

    As Levelland is a small town all entertainment is in Lubbock, Texas which is about thirty minutes away. The city of Lubbock has plenty of bars and is home to Texas Tech University so you still get the college crowd.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived on the dorms however the college is located in a very small town so from what I hear from others is that dorm life is boring.

    Academic Rigor

    More work at more rigorous standards are dolled out in most classes. A passing grade is truly earned in classes at South Plains College

    Tips for prospective students

    Because it is not a research university the instructors are focused on teaching. Because of this classes are much harder and it is impossible to win just by showing up. Instead hard work and study are what it takes to pass classes.

    In three sentences

    South Plains College provides a unique opportunity to learn in a small community setting. Because it is not a research university, the teachers are focused on students and classes are much harder. The largest classes are around thirty people so there is abundant time for one on one time with the instructor.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the basketball games are fun to go to. the team isn't bad either. they are currently one of the top jr colleges in the area. intramurals are fun too. they have basketball, softball, soccer, and flag football just to name a few.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty basic. everything from burgers to pizza and everything in between.

    Dorm Life

    i didn't live in the dorms but as a freshmen i got to live off campus which was really nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    if your worried about money south plains is the way to go. its cheap and a great school that offers the same caliber of classes as texas tech.

    In three sentences

    south plains has a very intimate setting. you actually get to know your instructors and they get to know you in an almost personal level. its one of the better jr colleges around.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus I use is shared with Lubbock Indipendant School District, so it is very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Students preparing for a career in Automotive or Industrial Technologies

    Bang for the buck

    Good education so far for the price.

    Food and Dining

    I only use the vending machines. So, no input for Food and Dining.

    Dorm Life

    I drive 50 miles from my home in Plainview Tx. to the School in Lubbock Tx. and back daily. I have no input for dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    The Courses that I am currently taking in Automotive Technology are only difficult if a student is unprepared and absent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized and on-time. If not computer litterate then get that way. Plan and stay focused, make plenty of time to read.

    In three sentences

    I attend SPC at the Byron Martin Advanced Technology Center as a Full-Time Automotive Technology Student. The Classroom and Lab are small, but the Instructors are good and they both have plenty of real world experience. Overall I am satisfied with the education and hands on experience that I am recieving at SPC.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always officers on duty at SPC and I have always felt safe which is good because my classes were at night.

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the many clubs offered or study!

    Food and Dining

    I ate off campus, sorry!

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers at SPC are very patient and taught very well. They expect a lot from you but only because they believe you can succeed. You will definately learn all you need to know in the classes at SPC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your FAFSA early as it takes time to process because they have so many apllicants! If you need help the financial aid department is always very willing to help and never impatient!

    In three sentences

    SPC is a great school and everyone there is extremely nice and helpful. I had never attended college before SPC and knew very little about the process but the folks at SPC made it so simple to apply and get in. I'd recommend SPC to anyone.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    GREAT feeling to have security cameras and officers doing there job

    Bang for the buck

    Great opportunity if you want to save some money

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do, unless you join some sort of organization.

    Food and Dining

    Great if you go to the levelland campus, but no cafeteria at the Reece campus in lubbock.

    Dorm Life

    I have no idea, never had the opportunity to live on campus, but hear its great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Better than going to a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its always better to start at a community college vs. a university. In order for you to explore your options, but whatever you do make decisions before its too late.

    In three sentences

    It is a community college, very small, affordable, and helpful instructors. The classroom sizes small and better one on one interaction with teachers if needed. Great college, reminds me of my small high school, but at a college level.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is very inexpensive when compared to schools in this area. It costs a fraction of what it would to attend Texas Tech University for the first two years and the education is just as great. The teachers prepare you for the university that you will be going to next and they do not slack when it comes to education.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun on campus. The school has workout programs, a recreational building, a technology center, group meetings, a gym, and much more. If you are looking for something to do, it will not be hard to find it at South Plains College.

    Food and Dining

    The food ranges from hot to cold, freshly made to packaged. The food is always prepared really well and the cost is easy on the bank. The amount and quality of the food is exceptional.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived on the dorm, therefore I am unable to speak about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic aspect of South Plains College is favorable for the teachers and the students. The teachers set their expectations high and the students, most often, meet the expectations. The classes are challenging but that is because they are preparing you for the university that you may attend after completion at South Plains College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come into South Plains College with an open mind and be ready to set your goals high. The teachers set very high expectations for their students and it is easier to meet these expectations if you give your all. Always come prepared to class, the teachers do not accept late work or excuses.

    In three sentences

    South Plains College is a great starting school that allows you to obtain the basics without breaking the bank. The classes are more interactive and with a smaller student body, it is easier to get involved. The teachers at this school are very well rounded and they are open to discussing things taking place in the classrooms.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are placed around campus. Their office is easy to find.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Campus Ambassadors. Catholic Student Organization. Baptist Student Ministries. Gay/Straight Alliance. Broadcasting. Hispanic Student Organization. Press Club. SPC Bands. STAR. Student Government. Texan Cheerleaders. And many more!

    Great for these types of students

    Students into sports like Track&Field and Basketball especially! Basketball team was undefeated this year. If you are used to small environment classes, this is always great!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school has a ranch, I believe that's what it is, for the students enrolled into Rodeo classes and others.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is pretty cheap, in a good way! Financial Aid is always good. You get a lot for what you pay for!

    What to do for fun

    The Student Activities Center is a great place to hang between classes! It consists of many pool tables, ping pong tables and other games. Recently installed video games, so you can play the Wii or XBox. It has nice outdoor areas for people who want to run around and play Football or Ultimate Frisbee, and also have tennis courts. The school also has Intramural Sports like flag football, basketball, and others. Also if you are interested in Theatre, but not a Theatre major, you can still audition for the many plays. The Commercial Music program also holds fests at the end of each semester that everyone can attend for free live music.

    Food and Dining

    There are many fast food places and restaurants near campus. Snack bar inside campus consists of many great foods. Cafeteria available for people who live on campus, and costs for people who live off campus. The food can be so-so.

    Dorm Life

    Is pretty great! Women's dorms are a little better than the men's. New dorm is now available, co-ed, and it looks amazing! Dorm Apartments are also available. It is better to live on campus than off due to weather and the cost of gas.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on what classes you have and who you have. It is important to attend classes, because you can miss a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all classes as much as possible. Don't be afraid to ask questions. Take notes. Get to classes early. Study. Do your work once you get it.

    In three sentences

    This school encourages you to pursue your career goals. The teachers are very helpful. Small environment encourages students learn and get more face time with teachers.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms yet, but I have visited the dorms and they seemed very nice

    Tips for prospective students

    this college has great campus and personal

    In three sentences

    The campus was excelent, the administration people were very helpful and I have got many good comments about this collge

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    A+++

    Dorm Life

    Awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work, and you will love this school!

    In three sentences

    South Plains College has great professors that are ready to help all students. South Plains College has awesome resources that are available to all students. This is a great college, and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    South plains has a student hangout where you can play pool, watch tv, or sit at food courts with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food at the school is ok, not the best but not the worst.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm, so sorry That i can't answer this.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to this school may be nerve recking at first, but you will come to love this school. Don't be afraid to ask for help when ever you need.

    In three sentences

    South Plains College is a nice and friendly environment for incoming students. Getting help from the faculty is fast and easy; they are always willing to provide there assistance. I am Happy to further my educational career at this fine institution.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police man always on guard.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    None

    Great for these types of students

    On adults who don't know what to study or have busy schedules.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Helps you start your future.

    What to do for fun

    A basic campus, doesn't offer extra activities in plainview,tx.

    Food and Dining

    No food or dinning in plainview,tx.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm in plainview,tx.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are pretty awesome. They offer extra help when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your confused on what to study, this college helps you get your basics before you decide.

    In three sentences

    South plains is a very good school. Helping out elders, parents and young adults. Helps regular people find a career that fits them.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is not extremely big, but it's in a bad part of town in a town overrun by impoverished people. Be careful if you're taking night time classes. Almost all the teachers, students and staff leave at 4 pm and there are very few people on the campus after that. I hate to say it, but someone could very well be kidnapped, or worse, if not careful.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know of any at all unless you're gay/lesbian.

    Great for these types of students

    Get to know your professors, they will take finals easier on you if they like you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year during the holidays the school lights up all the trees on campus, which I thought to be really nice.

    Bang for the buck

    It's the cheapest option around, but poorly funded.

    What to do for fun

    If you're living in Levelland, you better have friends, because there is absolutely nothing to do outside of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not speed on your way to school, the Highway Patrol monitors that road very constantly, day and night.

    In three sentences

    This college is very cheap and affordable, but also lacking in programs, sports and supplies. I would only recommend you get your basics done here, then transfer somewhere else. The drive from the city to SPC is also miserable.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join the GSA!!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't want to go into debt from getting an associates or transferring. Also good for students who are more laid back.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Lubbock.

    Food and Dining

    There are limited options on campus, but a lot of choices close to the school.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I've only taken two semesters so far, but I haven't been in a really difficult class yet. But most classes involve a lot of time and outside work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Many of the teachers are laid back.

    In three sentences

    I would not be able to afford a 4- year university, so SPC is a very affordable option. The class sizes are small, and I feel like a lot of the teachers actually care. I'm glad I can begin my education here.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The lunch on thursday's for a dollar is great!

    Dorm Life

    I haven't stayed in the dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Some nights I had a lot of homework and other night I didn't

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of things. Most of the professors will award the students that stay on topic.

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are great! The one on one with the professors makes it easier for me to learn. It is nice when a professor actually knows who you are.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have never eat at SPC.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, so I can not speak on them.

    Academic Rigor

    SPC provides more one on one, you are not just a number, so to speak. The staff at SPC really cares about you.

    In three sentences

    I would rate SPC to be a top 10 Jr. college. SPC is a great college for anyone, who might just be looking to get some basic out of the way for a lower cost.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I just head out to the movies when i'm not full of homework over the weekend. Or go on a quick road trip and back before Monday hits, usually to a casino nearby.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at my own place and sometimes out and about places, Taco Bell, Whataburger, and several others.

    Dorm Life

    Not living in the dorm this time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just keep track of your classes and their outlines they give you. They help a lot.

    In three sentences

    This school has been great so far. The classes are enjoyable and you can learn a lot. I can't wait to take some more courses.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hung out with some friends a few times but only to study or review each other for a test that day.

    Food and Dining

    I never ate there.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I have just taken a general biology class and I passed it with a high C. I also took a government class and passed it with a C also.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and sit in the front of your classes so you can distort distractions and better yourself in the long run. Just because this college is in the cheaper range does not mean it's any easier! So just pay attention well.

    In three sentences

    South Plains College is a great, affordable college to start your basics at. I am attending this college while I am in high school and I have currently passed two classes from there. So it's a great help and I am still taking classes there until I graduate high school.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is exceptional especially since the Lubbock Police academy train on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    South Plains College is very cheap compared to other schools I have attended

    Food and Dining

    never eaten at school.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, at least non that i am aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    This college will definitely keep your brain working.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely express your concerns and wishes to the counselors. They help will help you in all ways including on how to transfer to a major university.

    In three sentences

    South Plains College has two campuses. I currently attend South Plains college on the Reese campus. It is a great college with small classes and exceptional professors.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I personally have never had any kind of incident but a friend of mine has. She said that the campus police was quick to respond and very helpful to her. They are always riding around campus and ro walking around making sure all is good. I give them 2 thumbs up

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many differnet clubs and activities in South Plains College. I am in the Hispanic Committe and Baptist Life Group. My groups are very encouraging and they offer scholarships as well.

    Bang for the buck

    South Plains College is not expensive at all so you will definately get your bucks worth. They have a great transfer rate to Texas Tech University and the advisors here are great.

    What to do for fun

    The campus always holds some kind of event whether its a concert in the sundown room or co-ed sports like softball, basketball, ect.....South Plains have a great halloween dance its awsome. Lubbock in about 20 minutes away and they have everything you need there. I live in Lubbock and its a great place.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is average. Pizza, burgers, chicken baskets and salads are the usual. The have a big dinning area which is always good. The prices are a bit high for me but I guess thats the problem everywhere you go. All in all the food is good not the best thou. There is a few good fast food joints around campus which is always a plus.

    Dorm Life

    I DONT LIVE IN THE DORMS SORRY

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is not bad at all. Some instructors are very easy while others are very tough. If you want to be an A student you definately need to study and or read all your stuff that will be assigned. All the instructors that I have had so far have been very helpful and most are intresting. It's good to try to get to know them and be their friends since it is a small college I think they like to know their students. A&P is very hard here but my instructor is very helpful. She gives all we need to succeed in her class. Almost all instructors are consistant and when they there will be a test and no makes ups then its almost always true. All in all if you are responsible and want to make something of yourself then you will be ok.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are an incoming student i encourage you to go to every class, especially the sciences. Sometimes skipping out can really hurt you so try your hardest to be there. Listen and be observent to all class instructions. Check your email and blackboard everyday so you will not miss anything. Always be respectful and if you are an above average student I encourage you to help others and in the same way you will be helping yourself. Take advantage of study groups and lab time, that really helpes me.

    In three sentences

    South Plains College is a great place to start. It's cheap and many classes and professors will try hard to work around your schedule. Classes are not to big so you will definately get alot of one on one time if you need it.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    First generation students, non-traditional students, returning students

    Bang for the buck

    This school offers a more inexpensive option versus a 4 year university which could be extremely expensive especially if you are unsure college is for you.

    Food and Dining

    The main campus at Levelland offers various foods selection the other campuses are limited in their offering.

    Dorm Life

    There is a dorm at the Levelland campus, other than that I can not offer an opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    The course load and intensity depends upon your course load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any student seeking to attend SPC or any college/university for that matter make an appointment with the advisers express your concerns as a prospective student. Obtain all your school records before applying and submitting them to your institution early otherwise any late coming paperwork could hinder your chances. If you are attending college for the first time, returning adult student, or a student undecided minimize your course load this way acclimating to the process could limit the stress load.

    In three sentences

    South plains college happens to be located on multiple site allowing students the flexibility in taking classes we it might be continent. The schools facilitate several courses of study that might interest various types student. This school staff is pleasant and knowledgable plus willing to assist the students in their school career.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have great options in the student center. The school is also surrounded by restaurants within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great. You can tell that they love what they are teaching and want their students to love it too. My professors have been interested in making real life applications to what they teach. The classes are challenging and make you think.

    Tips for prospective students

    This a great school to consider. You get a quality education but for a fraction of the big school price.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are interesting, passionate and helpful. The class size is small enough for one on one help. Flexible about accepting transfer credits.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough but necessary but, they will help with anything.

    In three sentences

    Very good on pricing and very awesome teachers. Small class sizes and the teacher cares for your questions or concerns.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to read.

    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    none. live at home off campus

    Academic Rigor

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as much help from the counselors that are available. Do not take any course load that you can not handle.

    In three sentences

    Great with one on one student teacher ratio. Faculty and staff have been helpful and resourceful.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cop guarding the campus and cameras posted around campus ensure safety. Lots of good 'ol folks go here, not much to worry about!

    Clubs and Activities

    A few orginizations to join, but they're lacking.

    Great for these types of students

    First time college students and financially disadvantaged persons.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap tuition offers two years of college level education at this junior college, readying students for a transfer to a university.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the library and study!

    Food and Dining

    Best western offers food services. It's no fine dining, but it's still good food!

    Dorm Life

    Antiquated and too much brown wood, but acceptable!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers comport the subject material in the easiest ways to understand and learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting into this college will be no daunting task, but as it is in Texas it still applies to Texas entrance rules. In other words, if you achieve or remain top of your class, automatic acceptance will be granted and easy scholarship money will be awarded.

    In three sentences

    Although South Plains College may not be the most pristine and innovative institution in the country, i have so far enjoyed my studies at this school. With small, flexible classes and truly caring and knowledgeable teachers, It gives the familiar feeling of a high school atmosphere with college level work; a perfect start to entering college on the way to transferring to a major university.

  • 07/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    lots of campus police

    Great for these types of students

    People wanting to transfer to tech or Lubbock Christian college

    Bang for the buck

    Good price

    What to do for fun

    Join different clubs

    Food and Dining

    Never ate the food here

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure about dorm life. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Great school

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get your financial aid done as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    Classes are small, more one on one teaching. The cost is reasonable. Easy to register.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They provide a one dollar lunch once a week! Take advantage of it because the host are super sweet and the food super yummy!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at South Plains College Reese Center.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic program is very beneficial if you work better in small class room settings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of the financial aid office. There was a lot of confusion in my first years of going to SPC. Do not rely on them to get your loan money in on time.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a great student center with ping pong and pool. And basketball games.

    Food and Dining

    The snack bar is awesome!! And there is a cafeteria, too.

    Dorm Life

    Never stayed in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers that will help you whenever needed. Nursing programs have excellent pass rates on boards and all programs that I know of are successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your FASFA early and visit with counselors and financial aid advisors.

    In three sentences

    South Plains College is a great place to get your prerequisites done and your associate degree on a budget. It's affordable and flexible. They offer online classes, night classes, and of course day classes.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would consider the campus safety good there has not been bad things happening not that I know of.

    Greek Life

    I don�t know what this is�

    Clubs and Activities

    Hispanic club SPC Dance Team LGSA club Math club Start Center club Etc�¢���¦

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students is a very good place to star college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Science building has a lot of dead animal and a lot of animals that are alive is very cool. They also have like this hidden garden behind the Science building is nice to go and chill there.

    What to do for fun

    Go and hang out with friends at the different restaurants they have, they sometimes have little concerts going on almost every Thursday, hang out in the game room, or just go to Lubbock.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, you really have different options: You can either eat at the Cafeteria, the snack bar center, or go eat for 50 cents in a building across SPC.

    Dorm Life

    I can�¢����t really say I don�¢����t live in the dorms; I�¢����m filling up paper work to join one.

    Academic Rigor

    Like all colleges there are some great professor and other that don�t care, but for the most part the professor that I have had they do care about you passing your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to live on the dorms you better do that like the semester before because they are gone fast. Join some organization from college. The students are all right, don�¢����t be shy. Go see the music people sing, they have a great music department. The Dance Team is a new organization so check it out.

    In three sentences

    South Plains College is a nice place to start college. Classes are small so is one-on-one; you don�¢����t have to fight for attention. It provides some great programs, especially in nursing.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure because I did not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It is easy to do well in this college if you apply yourself and do what you need to do. Grades aren't just handed out, you have to work for them.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is to enter the Applied Rehabilitation Psychology Program, because it is amazing.

    In three sentences

    South Plains is an excellent school. The program I am in right now is wonderful. I am very happy I decided to attend this school.

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very strict about visitation hours, you have to be with your company at all times (if it's a guy), a police officer roams through the dorms at certain times, and they have wing advisers in case you get locked out of your room and cameras every where. There is no reason for you not to feel safe but if you don't then you can tell someone and they'll help figure things out.. Good luck:)

    Clubs and Activities

    The Star Center is for first time generation students and they can help you out a lot. They allow you to rent laptops if you can't afford one, recorders, and they can help you set up your classes and much more. I was in a Weight lifting, there's dance organizations and many more. Just jump in and get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    They provide tutoring for those of us who need help. If you do need tutoring it doesn't make you dumb, it makes you smart for trying to solve the problem!!We

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i don't really celebrate things here at the college. I go home to my family so I wouldn't know.

    Bang for the buck

    I would recommend walking as much as you can it saves a lot of gas money and the buildings are all so close that you can just walk. Roman noodles go good with pretty much anything:) If your broke they have a food bank at the South Plains Rural Health clinic.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the Baker Center lobby and watch movies, play games and pool, or sometimes I go out with friends, and occasionally I just read and do homework. They also have a game room with pool, video games, ping pong etc. It all depends on what you consider fun!

    Food and Dining

    I give the food 4 whole stars because it love to eat!! They have so many options here that sometimes I don't know what to get and they have a variety of drinks that you can get. I love having a meal plan because I don't have to cook or buy food. My boyfriend doesn't have a meal plan and he struggles to get buy food because his schedule is so demanding that he doesn't have time to get a job so i would recommend getting a meal plan if you have the money.

    Dorm Life

    I don't really like living in the dorms but it's probably because i didn't bring my t.v. or games which was a bad idea it makes it so much better if you get a roommate that you like and cleans up after herself. We share bathrooms with another room and the chick next to us was filthy and I finally got tired of it, i asked her to please clean up her stuff but she got snotty and said no so I threw her junk away. She was so mad but she kept clean after that.

    Academic Rigor

    Everything that I've had to deal with was pretty easy but take care of business and do assignments as early as possible so if you do need help your not rushing at the last minute. Study and you'll do well. It's best if you study a couple days a head of time instead of the night before.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate because most teachers won't take late work and don't be late because you WILL get dropped from our class and that'd be a complete waste of money!! Meal plans are great to have but are optional. Get involved with the school, they can give you scholarships and the more money you get the better.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from 1-10, I would rate this school and 8 at least. The teachers here are so friendly and everyone is willing you help you out with anything you need. They have many organizations that can keep you occupied because usually everyone leaves on the weekend.

  • 01/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions about anything. There is on campus counseling. They are here to help you!

    In three sentences

    South Plains College is a great College with great teachers! Just because it is a small school doesn't mean it isn't the best education, because it's a great place to get started. All they really want to do here is help their students succeed.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There aren't any sororities or fraternities on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the beginning of each school year they have a Back to School Bash outside and provide food and a free t-shirt. They also have fun activities like zip-lining.

    Bang for the buck

    SPC is very affordable and the professor's are great!

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good in the cafeteria and they always have a giant salad bar!

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are older, but living in the dorms helps you meet a lot of cool people!

    Academic Rigor

    If you go to class and pay attention you should do great. If you plan on skipping a lot and not doing your work, you won't do well.

    In three sentences

    South Plains College is a great school to get your introductory/core classes out of the way. The class sizes are small and you get to know your professor's, which makes it a great place to learn and do well.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great cheap cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    5 points

    Tips for prospective students

    Come on broad and join in the success to a better future.

    In three sentences

    It's a very great school if you don't want to be just a check off. My teachers know me by first name bases and is very eager to help if you want and need it. I also enjoy that it is diversity, to help everyone no matter age, race, or disability.

  • 03/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    South Plains College is an excellent choice for those students that want to have an education opportunity at a low cost and a flexible class schedule.

    What to do for fun

    We play pool, ping-pong and we also have different music bands.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Choose carefully your final career. -Do research about the core classes you need to take. -If you plan to transfer credits, you may have to check first with the final University what credits they will take from South Plains College. -Enroll in those classes that will suit your career. -Make an appointment with an advisor before registration, and let (her or him) know what your career plan looks like.

    In three sentences

    South Plains College is an excellent community college to start with. Classes at South Plains College are small and the cost of tuition is affordable if you want either obtain an Associate degree or transfer to another University.

  • 05/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    SPC is a great place for first time students. The class size is perfect, and the professors are very kind and personal. I would definitely recommend it.