Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

South Puget Sound Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students need to realize that they have to actually open a book to learn the information and succeed! The professor's I have had here at SPSCC expect you to learn from both the book and from lectures so always attend lectures and always read your book and you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Most of my friends always said that SPSCC is a crummy school that doesn't teach you anything. At first, I felt like I should be embarrassed to go here but I now know that there's no reason for that! Obviously, some of the lower level classes are easy-- Art 101 is going to be easy anywhere you go. Taking harder classes like Anatomy and Physiology, or Microbiology and you will definitely learn a lot and be very impressed with the knowledge that your professors hold.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is ridiculously cheap compared to the education you can actually get here. Don't buy the books at the bookstore and then your only fee is tuition- but they have payment plants and are really helpful and lenient!

    Am enjoying being here

    SPSCC has a beautiful campus. There really isn't a prettier community college in the whole state and I can say that I'm proud to go to school here. It's exceptionally nice when it's sunny outside and you can study in the grass or at a picnic table and read! The people are friendly, the teachers are nice and actually learn your name!

    Am learning a lot

    This is my 4th quarter at SPSCC and I think the majority of the classes I have taken are really interesting and informative. The professors are very intelligent and know a lot about their subject. The only down-side is when you get a professor who just writes notes on the board which you copy and study for later. This is not teaching! Luckily, this has only happened to me once! Overall, I feel much more informed on the touch subjects the professors are teaching.

  • 02/26/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I recommend SPSCC to anyone. Whether you're a junior in high school, just graduated from high school, or continuing your education after 30 years out of the education system, SPSCC is great at plugging you in and making you fit. They have wonderful resources to help you study and know your material, and the teachers are accommodating for all types of students. Especially if you're working a part-time job on top of going to school! There are some classes that are only two or three days a week, and they have hybrid classes (two days in class, the rest of the work online), as well as online courses. The staff at SPSCC will team up to help you however they can so you can be a success.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend taking Running Start. Even if you can't enter in your junior year, at least take it senior year. That's $3,000 you save right off the bat, and it's a very refreshing jumpstart into college life. They have a ton of options there to get you plugged in, so don't be afraid to get involved. Also, there are lot of opportunities at SPSCC for community service, so grab hold of those, get letters of recommendation from your supervisors, and apply for the scholarships SPSCC offers pertaining to community service. Get involved with student life and make a difference. The atmosphere is open and warm, and you won't regret getting involved. It'll look really good on a resume and on applications for pursuing your education later.

    Bang for the buck

    If you enter into SPSCC doing Running Start your junior or senior year of high school, the only expense you have will be your books. All your classes are completely free, and you get to take some great classes to complete otherwise boring credit requirements for high school graduation. For example, I needed five credits of a P.E. class for my high school graduation requirements, and I was able to take Rebecca Johnson's Lifetime Wellness class. It was the best class I have ever taken in my life. Fun, informative, and way more enjoyable than a PE class--and free! I was also able to take Introduction to Formal Logic by Andrew Sergienko in place of a 5-credit math class, and I had a ton of fun in that class. SPSCC opens up a lot of options for free that you would later have to pay hundreds of dollars for once you graduate. And even if you enter SPSCC after graduation, they have a ton of scholarships available. I was able to get an entire year's tuition covered from scholarships offered just from SPSCC alone. They like to honor diversity and passions in the arts, as well as in horticulture, mechanics, academic commitment, heritage--the possibilities are endless, and the list of scholarships offered specifically from SPSCC grows each year. It's definitely cheaper to pursue an AA from a Community College before entering into a university, because you're really only paying $6,000 for two years of classes, plus maybe $1,000 in books--compared to $60,000 at Seattle Pacific University, plus several more thousand for books, that's a really good deal.

    Did enjoy being here

    The students are extremely friendly, and it's easy to make friends in your classes and in the commons area in the Student Union Building. There are several vendors at the school that hire students (The Percival Review art & literary publication, the Sounds newspaper, the Student Life desk, the student bookstore, the Clipper Cafe and the bakery), so there are tons of opportunities for employment and to get to know the students at your school better. The Diversity and Equity Center really puts effort into celebrating the wide diversity of students at SPSCC, and the Campus Activities Board is always thinking up new ways to entertain and educate students, from the Lunar New Year festival to the showing of Ghostbusters with popcorn on Halloween. BRICK is great at raising awareness of local and global issues that I wouldn't have been exposed to in high school. And the campus is very beautiful and accessible; it's fairly easy to cross campus to get from one class to another.

    Did learn a lot

    The professors are all highly qualified and have an apparent passion for their subject. They have a way of making you excited for the class, and they're all very flexible and accommodating to your schedule and your needs as a student. There are several resources available to help you learn, from student study groups to tutoring, to the Math and Writing Centers, to NoteTakers by Jane Showalter at the Student Disability Services. It was a very smooth transition from high school to the college atmosphere, and while the curriculum was challenging, it wasn't impossible.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    Awesome clubs! and easy to start your own if you don't see one you like

    Great for these types of students

    Minorities! As an African American going to predominately white schools all my life, this is the first school i attended that has a great support system for minorities and really helped me through school.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, Diversity programs, campus activities, tons of student rub clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    GET INVOLVED! Seriously you will do so much better, you will meet people and get a support system right away. Ask fellow students about teachers before you register.

    In three sentences

    As a minority student, it is a predominantly white school, but has a GREAT diversity program which is the only way i survived. Academics are good, however administration is terrible due to under-staffing in my opinion. Overall it is great for a 2 year school if you get involved.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes offered are similar to those offered at Universities that charge more so it's definitely worth it to complete the first two years of a B.A. degree at SPSCC if that is your goal.

    What to do for fun

    SPSCC is located near Olympia, WA. There are many fun things to do in the city, some for little cost, some for free. There is a choir at SPSCC that is fun to participate in. You can attend the quarterly choir recitals, or watch a performance from the drama theater. These usually cost some money to attend, and students usually get a discounted rate.

    Food and Dining

    SPSCC has excellent dining services at The Percival Dining Room. Students enrolled in the Culinary Arts Program are the ones who prepare the meals for this campus dining. I've always enjoyed my meals there. The food is great.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at SPSCC. There are many apartments with reasonable rents near SPSCC. For students who move here from other states or countries, I would recommend the Heritage Park Apartments near SPSCC because they're near the college campus and all utilities are included and the rents are reasonable. They're not luxury apartments by any means but they're livable, functional, and would serve the purpose of an easy commute and less hassles with paying multiple bills because the utilities are included.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offered at SPSCC are great! Some of them are challenging, even more so than at other Universities. The standards are high at SPSCC for classes needed to complete certain degrees, such as Nursing. They require you to complete more classes and have higher GPA than some other Community Colleges and Universities. I like this about SPSCC because the students who complete their degrees here have had more education and training which can result in better knowledge in their career fields and better job performance.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to attend if you're planning on completing your A.A. degree, or want to complete your A.A. degree and transfer to a University. There are also degrees that you can work toward and transfer over to Evergreen State College or University of Washington. There are great certificate programs you can complete at SPSCC as well. If you choose SPSCC, just pay attention in your classes and do your assignments and you will most likely be very successful at achieving your intended educational goals at this school!

    In three sentences

    SPSCC is a great school to attend. The staff are excellent, the classes are fun and the campus is large and open. The online classes are also great!

  • 04/09/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anybody, really. It's a community college, therefore, it's commuter campus. Olympia is a very liberal area.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's huge for its capacity. Imagine 6,000 students fighting for parking (and the school thinks it's a great idea to keep taking more parking lots away). But parking isn't the only problem. Classes literally fill up within minutes. If you're farther away from receiving your degree, the chances of you getting the classes you want are low.

    Did enjoy being here

    I was a running start student.

    Did learn a lot

    Teachers are hit or miss.

  • 05/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is better than a four-year college.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love working at the library. The staff there is friendly and helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are a hit and miss, mostly a miss so far.

  • 11/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Basically anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good school if you're just trying for your Associates' degree.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty decent for a community college. This school has a payment plan that is available for everyone, so it really helps when you don't have all the tuition just yet.

    Am enjoying being here

    Not a lot of campus activities, since I started school here, i haven't really done anything besides studying.

    Am learning a lot

    Only my first quarter here, but I do enjoy the teachers that I have had so far. I am very comfortable with asking them for help if I ever need it.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that care less about the social aspect of school and more about the earning your degree in a timely fashion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure and sign up for classes when you are supposed to. This is a crowded community college and there are only a curtain amount of seats in each class. If you don't get into the classes that you want, get on the wait list and you have a very good chance of getting into the class before the beginning of the quarter.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that the tuition and costs of this school are just ok. Online classes cost more, which seems silly to me.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love attending this college because it is close to home and the classes are of a reasonable size. This allows me to learn in an environment in which I am comfortable. Having smaller sized classes also allows for more discussions.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn a lot at South Puget Sound Community College. At this community college one could expect to learn more than just textbook information. The school is a great environment where one can learn about life, morals and about themselves while attending the school.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the best

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Movies

    What to do for fun

    Movies

    Food and Dining

    Great

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy and enbrace.

    In three sentences

    The best diversity college ever. Great communication with all staff and students. Teachers are a blessing.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    as far as ive seen i havent ever seen a fight or confrontations. the campus security are always around to help out. even for small stuff if you lock your keys in your car

    Great for these types of students

    this school is perfect for nature lovers. they have a lot of natural all around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    it is a community college so it is cheaper then a university or state college and you can take your general classes and get them out of the way instead of paying so much for the classes at a university

    What to do for fun

    the student union building is full of people studying, talking, getting a bite to eat or drink, and they also play ping pong! they have tons of clubs and sports

    Food and Dining

    honestly have only had there coffee and the coffee is good. there are 2 stands on both sides of campus. from what i have heard the food is good too.

    Dorm Life

    there arent any dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you get registered and have all your paperwork in early just in case you have to bring in more papers later.

    In three sentences

    is a very tight community. they value their students. classes so far are not that hard and if you need help there is a lot of help out there.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Join Clubs!

    Bang for the buck

    great education for less

    What to do for fun

    Always be in the SUB on Thursdays - they have great events going on.

    Food and Dining

    Great coffee shops as well as culinary arts program's cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get into studding a lot. Enjoy every lecture and don't miss classes.

    In three sentences

    Great college for those who don't know what they want to do in their future yet as well as those who are sure in their careers. The instructors are incredible and helpful. The staff creates the best workshops and assistance.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do a good job. Just do not pick a fight. Other people do get offended as much as you would. There are a few, but only a few.

    Greek Life

    We could use more Greeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    Veteran Club, Anthopology,B.I.M.,Horticuture, Nerds Club, and more.

    Great for these types of students

    Active Minded Individual

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    International Students hold evens in the Student Union Building. Get some free food and win a prise.

    Bang for the buck

    Save Money per showing student I.D. for free bus rides. Helps you when your car brakes down.

    What to do for fun

    Get invovled in the clubs and go on a trip. I joined up on two clubs and it is a lot of fun. Plus you make yourself current in the world of knowledge and technologies, I recommend the B.I.M. club. It is Building Information Modelling-Club. Engineering student get to show skills here.

    Food and Dining

    Great food, chiefs on this campus really teach good cooking.

    Academic Rigor

    Best plan to buckle down and dig in. Seriously apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your books on line. 3 sites I recommend are, abebooks.com Amozon.com and textbook.com and get the books early so you can read something before the quarter starts. 2 weeks of reading before hand can boost your GPA.

    In three sentences

    Excellent place to learn. We have a clean campus. It is like walking in a park. Trails to explore between classes. Great group of people to help out.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are sports teams and clubs on campus and since it is a community college and there is no housing on campus; you have to look for fun where you live and around the school.

    Food and Dining

    They have one dining area/cafeteria that is a daily for students. I like it for the most part but it totally depended on who was cooking.

    Academic Rigor

    It totally depends on what classes you take. If you stick with all higher level classes, you could definitely experience a challenge (in regards to community college) but it all depends on what you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to keep your goals in mind and don't slack off. It could definitely bite you in the end. Have fun but stay studious.

    In three sentences

    SPSCC has a faculty that is willing to work with its students when effort is put in on their part. SPSCC also is a good stepping stone for students moving up towards a higher education. This is a great place to make friends and work towards their goals.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many clubs and organizations. There is a hiking trail going through campus and there is also a bridge.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten at the cafeteria once and the food tasted very good..

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. It's only a 2 year community college.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to actually go to class to understand what's going on. Some classes go through a textbook chapter every other day, so if you skip a day or what not, you also miss out on the knowledge your professors would have given you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate and be early to your classes.

    In three sentences

    SPSCC is a great college to go to get your associate's degree. There a some career programs you can go into suck as dentistry and nursing. The professors here know what they are talking about so I felt like I was in good hands.

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Patrols by gaurds as well as the location create an atmosphere of safety that leaves you care free to walk alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many to choose from its hard to decide!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that need a flexible schedule and informative teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a community college that prepares you for university. It encourages critical thinking at every turn.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and study groups everywhere. If you want ping pong they have that too! Comfortable chairs in the student union to relax and plenty of people to conversate with.

    Food and Dining

    Between the expressly stands and the cafeteria there is something for everyone. There are more options for coffee than food in most buildings though.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college. There are no campus housing opportunities.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a challenging but fun place to learn. Be prepared to take lots of notes!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always get your books the minute the lists are released. The book store cant carry enough for all students.

    In three sentences

    This school caters to those who need a more relaxed enviornment. You cant help but learn new things everyday. Between the atmosphere and the teachers its a great place to be.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very reasonable and they recently made parking free!

    What to do for fun

    The SUB has lots of fun things to do.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come to school here the parking is really bad so you want to make sure you leave time to find parking!

    In three sentences

    It has the most beautiful campus. Awesome teachers that really care. Nice new classrooms!

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security that has their own vehicles and they do make you fill safe and I haven't had my car broken into or heard of anyone who has and there is zero tolerance against fights or physical confrontations so overall being a women here at spscc I do feel safe even at night

    Greek Life

    If we don't we will get one if brought up to the actives director

    Clubs and Activities

    pretty much anything your in to we have a club or group for and there is always a party or big event for all students so we know we are appreciated

    Great for these types of students

    We have great diversity program for any sex,creed,race,or religion and they really make sure you feel welcomed and they have super nice students willing to listen and help or be a friend

    Bang for the buck

    This college Rocks and I mean that!

    What to do for fun

    Check out our diversity room located in the dinning hall and get discounts on movie tickets and there is always a event going on that any current student can get involved in we have a great gym and work out equipment and we have a soccer and basket ball teams and games held on campus

    Food and Dining

    The cooks hear are student chef, I think the food is good and the prices are even better. and its very comfy to hang and check up with friends or school work or just take a nap or watch a movie on your tech devices. And if your a active person we have 4 ping pong tables.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure I don't live on campus and I don't know anyone who dose.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a great hands on college that takes pride in leader ship and provides every opportunity to succeed in life then this is the college for you.

    In three sentences

    This college made it easy for me to go back to school. And has given me a great opportunity to excel in my learning to become a R.N.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college would be great for those who want to get their AA degree by paying a lot less money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get everything signed and handled as soon as possible. Also, make sure you register, add, drop, or withdraw a class quickly, because the general classes fill up in almost a day. So when you get your registration time, register at that time or else you might be too late for a class.

    Bang for the buck

    The money spent for this college was definitely worth it to me. I have learned so much these past two years. I did not have a lot of money my first year starting, so when I talked to my counselor to discuss my options, she, along with plenty of other members of a board, did everything they could to keep me going there.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a pretty nice college here overall. It takes about seven minutes to walk from one end of the campus to the other end and the people who go there are usually really nice. The Student Union Building is in the very middle of the campus along with the library right beside it so that is extremely helpful to me. I think the best part for me would be all of the events the college holds. They celebrate almost every holiday and while celebrating they bring in food and give out raffle-prizes. The only disappointing thing for me was that they only had two resources for food, which were snack dispensers and a restaurant run by the culinary arts program. Both of those are pretty expensive, especially when you are a college student.

    Am learning a lot

    This college has a lot of really talented teachers who are willing to help me. Even though all the professors are really busy, most of my teachers gladly took time out of their days to help me understand better understand the material. During lectures, most of my teachers have been extremely fun. Not only did they cover the material they needed to cover, but they made the lectures more fun by interacting the students.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security roams around all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    brick is the best club at any school i've seen.

    Bang for the buck

    good for technical training and 4-year transfer.

    What to do for fun

    close to downtown olympia.

    Food and Dining

    college has culinary school, which cooks for the cafeteria, and is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    fairly high standards for a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    take sociology classes and botany.

    In three sentences

    some great faculty members. good class options. beautiful campus.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    awsome.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay in school

    In three sentences

    Good college. close to home.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play ping-pong in the SUB. That's about all there is.

    Food and Dining

    EXPENSIVE. And not really worth the money.

    Academic Rigor

    The knowledge you gain their is substantial, but the teachers methods leave much to be desired.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go somewhere else. If you don't, be prepared to NOT get in to most of your classes and to have a lot of stress.

    In three sentences

    While some of the academics are great, most leave much to be desired. I encountered a lot of discrimination against people with conservative beliefs. Kudos about making the campus non-smoking.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hippies are abundant here and at Evergreen

    What to do for fun

    They have a few different activist clubs, but this is more of a go to class and leave type of school.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary students prepare all the food and I've heard good things, but it is expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are none. Finding a room is pretty easy and cheap in Olympia, however.

    Academic Rigor

    I've had some of the best math teachers I've ever had here, other than that some professors gave off a bored demeanor and a not very engaging experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking is a huge hassle. If possible take the bus.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus set in the middle of a forest SPSCC definitely doesn't have a lack of scenery. Besides a few exceptional math and physics teachers there's really nothing out of the average when it comes to the professors. If you're looking to transfer to a four year in a science this would be a good place to start.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Auto club. It's not just for students. We are providing services for our local community too.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in school clubs.

    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious about your chosen path of education. Keep your attendance up and complete the tasks necessary to reach your goals.

    In three sentences

    They have quality people here willing to assist students in all their education needs. The campus is beautiful and well kept. The instructors are highly trained professionals .

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never had any problems in this area.

    Clubs and Activities

    I did not participate in any clubs or activities. In addition to being full-time student, I work full-time.

    Great for these types of students

    I found the school to be great for older returning students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a lot of cool local tribal art on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The library is a great resource. Also, there are a lot of classes, like Career Development that allows a student to take personality assessments at tuition cost instead of private cost.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on in the Center for the Arts.

    Food and Dining

    The facilities are nice. The student coffee shop is nice.

    Dorm Life

    As far as I am aware, SPSCC does not offer dorms, so this isn't applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    It was few and far between that I felt overwhelmed with my course load.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I have is that if proctoring is a requirement of your class, search outside of SPSCC for alternative services. Also, keep your instructor's informed of anything you have going on. They'll usually work with you.

    In three sentences

    SPSCC improves every year. There is a wide variety of classes to choose from. My only complaint about SPSCC is that the proctored testing centers arranged at the school are terribly noisy and difficult to test in.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a varied selection to choose from for everyday dining, including the Percival Dining Room. You can enjoy a 5 star meal for only a few dollars! There is also a full bakery!

    Academic Rigor

    I received all the assistance I needed!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely recommend talking with a counselor to get started especially if your planning on attending a specified program. This will help eliminate taking unnecessary classes for your degree. And one of the most important tasks, is getting all of your FAFSA paperwork filled out in a timely manner.

    In three sentences

    I rate this college as Top Notch I love attending South Puget Sound Community College. I am currently in the Culinary Arts Program. This has been one of my greatest experiences.

  • 02/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    This school has many diverse clubs ranging from what you are majoring in to culture and religion.

    Great for these types of students

    International students will find this college helpful and user friendly.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of activities in the city. Parks, hiking and walking trails, and a busy night life. The school also has numerous clubs for students to join.

    Food and Dining

    The Student Union Building has a bakery and kitchen where students from the culinary arts program bake and cook. The food is alright and prices are decent. There is also a formal dining room that is open for lunch. I have not had the opportunity to dine there.

    Academic Rigor

    South Puget Sound Community College goes above and beyond for it's students. There are numerous clubs, activities, performances and it even its own newspaper. There is always somewhere to look for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check ratemyprofessor.com before you register for a class. If you have morning classes make sure you arrive early because parking can be difficult. Don't buy your books at the book store, buy them used and online, it's much cheaper.

    In three sentences

    My experience at South Puget Sound Community College has been extremely pleasant. For the most part the staff is friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and they care about the success of their students. The campus is beautiful and easy to get around and the website is very user friendly.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have an Office and Bar Grill Restaurant across the street from the college. Their is also a corner gasoline station store 2 minutes from the college. Other than that, the other food places would be 5 minutes away by vehicle.

    Dorm Life

    They have Dorm Rooms and Apartments near the school so the students can have a closer distance to the college. This is a plus school for their closest student housing plan.

    Academic Rigor

    I rate this a 5 star for its academic courses. They have a good art class program as well as their GIS, Surveying and Engineering programs. This is a very educational school and the courses are up to date so the students can learn the latest skills and information.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good college to transfer to if you live in the area and plan to attend a college. The school is helpful in finding the job you are studying for. They also have good internship jobs.

    In three sentences

    This is the closest community college from where I live and it is a good college to attend. It also has the class I need for my GIS Certificate. The teachers are very instructional and very educated on what they teach.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a security force that constantly drives around the campus perimeter and officers that walk around the buildings and grounds. I always feel safe. There are plans in effect for emergencies, and all students can participate in security measures.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities that may be participated in. Contests, miscellaneous presentations and events are daily offered. I can always find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    South Puget Sound Community College has a dining area that always smells good, along with a student store with meals and snacks. There are also various vending machines scattered around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent. It is a Community College, so everybody lives off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor largely depends upon the teacher and subject. Each teacher has his or her own way to teach, and the multitude of styles will not all work for any one student, which can cause learning to be more difficult. Aptitude in subject area also greatly effects academic rigor. Overall, however, I believe that each class can be as challenging as each student chooses to make it. If class expectations and guidelines are followed, the classes can be easy, and can be made more difficult with further reading or questions. Every class can be successfully completed by every student in my experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking is horrible, so either take the bus, get early morning classes, or come an hour early to find a parking spot in time for class. Talk to your teachers if you need help, and use the campus resources to your advantage.

    In three sentences

    SPSCC is respectful of the diverse people, views, and opinions that are found in each classroom. The staff and administration understand that the majority of their students work as well, and offer a wide variety of class times accommodate for all work schedules. The environment is friendly and open.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secure feeling, security is always around and there has never been a problem as long as I have been there.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not very well promoted on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students in high school earning duel credits, or students wanting to transfer to a university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of walking trails throughout campus and a few rivers to study by.

    Bang for the buck

    Great bang for the buck if you are trying to transfer to a four year college. Classes are inexpensive and go by quite quickly.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. You can hang out with friends in the student union or see a show at night in their theatre.

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of food options, I think there is a cafe in the student union.

    Academic Rigor

    Very easy coursework if you pay attention. Teachers are very forgiving too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class and you will have a great time. As long as you pay attention, the classes will be very easy.

    In three sentences

    SPSCC is a good starter school to get your general education credits out of the way. The classes are quite boring, but it is worth it in the long run. I take classes here to earn High School credit and it works very well.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had a problem in the 3 years ive been here

    Clubs and Activities

    TONS!

    Great for these types of students

    people who are not sure what they want to do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not really. its pretty straight forward

    What to do for fun

    over 28 student clubs and its easy to start one, you can get hired onto Student Senate or Campus Activities Board. always an event happening. it is a very active campus.

    Food and Dining

    the bakery is fabulous, but the rest of the cafeteria is kind of limited.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm, it is a community and commuter campus

    Tips for prospective students

    GET INVOLVED! Trust me it will make your experience so much more fun. i went from a 4-year college to here and it has been the best 2 year s of my life.

    In three sentences

    For being in olympia, it is a wonderful school. they really have a lot of opportunities, they are student driven and its super easy to get involved

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The mall is 8 mins away, extra curricular activities, clubs

    Food and Dining

    Has a nice cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Study hard, effort pays off. Ask questions

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to school early!

    In three sentences

    This is an alright school, personally im not to fond of the large classes but that is just my preference. Parking sucks

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs at South Puget Sound Community College are super fun. I take part in the ASL club which is all about American Sign Language and the deaf culture. There are clubs for everything. And what a club says they are about, they mean it. Each club amerces themselves in what the topic of the club is about.

    What to do for fun

    The college has many clubs to join and teams to play on. There is a gym that you can work out at after classes. At certain times of the year they have events put on by clubs or departments.

    Food and Dining

    The student cafe that they have is awesome. It is run by the culinary arts and baking students and there food is to die for. Delicious and savory. They make breakfast and lunch as well as amazing pastries.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here. It is a community college so all students off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    At South Puget Sound Community College there are some teachers that take a highly strict approach to academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not plan for an experience like those of a 4 year expensive university. South Puget Sound Community College is more for those who value a smaller classroom and more of a relationship with their classmates. Even though the school seems more laid back than a larger university, they still value academics so you still need to expect tough classes.

    In three sentences

    South Puget Sound Community College is amazing. I have only been attending for two quarters so far but the teachers and administrators aim for you to succeed. They are helping me be a better student than i was in high school.

  • 08/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends in the SUB

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a group of like-minded people, and attend all your classes.

    In three sentences

    Really a great college to attend. A nice clean campus and excellent social atmosphere. I highly recommend coming here.

  • 09/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police always patrolling and emergency poles around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Christian club, gay straight alliance club, pacific islander club, hip hop club, and much more!

    Bang for the buck

    Super cheap! about 1,600 per quarter

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in student union, join one of the many clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There is a coffee and sandwhich shop in the student union and other places to buy snacks.

    Dorm Life

    There is none

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have class between 8am-5pm arrive at least 25 minutes early to find parking.

    In three sentences

    Some professors are inexperienced. Lots of younger kids for a community college. Fun school and buildings are nice and close, classes are easy to find.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Family like community, you see will see security only when needed. I've personally have not heard of any vehicle break ins or criminal activity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a vast amount of different clubs and activities, from sexual orientation to religious preferences.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who find themselves unsure of their career future, the advisers won't do the job for you, however they are most helpful in showing you resources.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On site child care.

    Bang for the buck

    In state tuition is roughly 600-700 per course.

    What to do for fun

    Take in the summer time weather when you can.

    Food and Dining

    Cant beat made to order meals by aspiring chefs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind, and do not hesitate to be ask questions if ever feeling insecure. Don't forget your umbrella, and respect the courses offered, most are truly unique.

    In three sentences

    SPSCC is extremely diverse, multicultural, and well rounded. You will find people from all backgrounds, never making for a dull classroom. The teaching staff I've had the pleasure of meeting have always been more than helpful and knowledgeable.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has constant patrols by a dedicated security team, staff always has the ability to contact them and I have seen the response time which is was not more than a few minutes.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering the location and the amenities as well as the courses offered and the price, SPSCC is the BEST place in the South Sound area to pursue any kind of degree

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun, you can walk around capitol lake or visit one of the many bars or antique shops in downtown Olympia. You could go to Tumwater falls park, or Capitol Forest for ATV, hunting, mountain biking, or hiking and equestrian activities. There are all kinds of things to keep you occupied, and to help you recharge from a quarter of hard studies

    Food and Dining

    There is a student run cafeteria on campus and the school gives free lunches during finals week, also called stress week, when students might be paying more attention to their books than to their guts.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus, there are many apartment complexes near by that offer incredible deals and many of those properties have enjoyable amenities that make dorm life a breeze.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, the classes can vary from relative ease to studying every second of every day just to get by. The associate of science degree I am pursuing is a rewarding challenge that I welcome every time I go to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an advisor and be sure what program you want to pursue, then pursue it. You should also limit the classes you take so you do not end up with a bunch of electives that you cant use for anything.

    In three sentences

    South Puget Sound Community College is constantly building new facilities. This makes it the most attractive school in my opinion in the South Sound area. It shows that the administration is working to provide students with the newest best ways to learn possible.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    No on campus boarding

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are amazing

    In three sentences

    Great teachers, a wonderful atmosphere, and terrific people.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards keep the campus safe they are always buzzin around saying hello holding down the fort.

    Great for these types of students

    Any and All.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The art building has a hallway full of pianos for anyone anytime as long as the school is open. It's a great place to sit back relax and make some music.

    Bang for the buck

    Parking is no longer permit required, show up early for your classes if you drive so you can have ample time to find parking. The are currently remodeling and and adding to the campus which is beautiful!

    What to do for fun

    There are many active clubs at the college to get involved with. There is recently a Grand Piano that has been donated in the SUB. It usually has a young artist sitting at it sharing music. There are sports to play and a library to hangout in as well.

    Food and Dining

    The Culinary program is great and the students and staff working in the kitchen at the Student Union Building are wonderful. Always a great place to meet and greet and have a nice bite to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available for the community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It is what you make it! I would recommend using 'ratemyprofessors.com'. Students typically put enpough information on their to let you know if it's the type of classroom that meets your needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class everyday and show that you care about what you're learning. Your success depends solely upon you.Take classes that will challenge and stretch you and be ready to grow, adapt, learn, and change. This is a great school to look into.

    In three sentences

    South Puget Sound Community College has a very diverse and open classroom environment. Each professor I have had the privilege studying under has been passionate and inspiring. It's a great school that needs a higher budget for their music program.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have security carts that drive around the parking lots checking for people.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for the type of student who is undecided about what they want to do to knowing exactly what to do. Its a college for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    they offer amazing teachers and they really try to connect with you.

    Food and Dining

    the have a lunch room and the food is amazing

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms there

    Academic Rigor

    they are strict about work and expect you to act like an adult and to do the work

    Tips for prospective students

    they are really friendly and don't be afraid to ask question they will help you

    In three sentences

    They treat you like friends and respect you. They want to help you reach your goals.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Since it's a community college SPSCC is much cheaper that any 4 year college, and the education is totally worth it. Especially for Running Start Students

    What to do for fun

    It really depends on who you are. I went to the library or explored the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Culinary Arts run dinning room is a great place to meet and enjoy good food and good company.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes were harder than others, some teachers were more enjoyable thus making the class easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    (Introvert tips) 1. Get involved with clubs as soon as possible. They are a great support and place to meet new friends. 2. If something is wrong with homework submissions, classmates, or really anything don't be afraid to say something. Most things like that can be fixed if addressed early enough. 3. Ask classmates for help if you need it. Classes don't have to be taken in a certain order so some of your classmates probably have more experience than you. 4. Do your homework as soon as possible, then you can just put it in your backpack and forget about it.

    In three sentences

    SPSCC is an excellent place to start getting into the groove of college life. They have amazing teachers and something for everyone. Once one gets going it is simple to move on and there are plenty of people to help along the way.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security go around the campus many times, every day I pass one of their cars at least five times a day.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, it is made by students wanting to become culinary art graduates. I have eaten there multiple times and the food is great in my opinion.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available, it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses in the school can get difficult. For me English is one of the hardest courses, so when the professor gives a four or six page essay for homework, it is a little difficult.

    In three sentences

    A great school to go to, wonderful professors that will help any student that needs aid. Classmates are nice to work with and study with. SPSCC has many activities that involve students in the school, such as, the student senate.

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs for everyone. You can also go over to Evergreen College for more activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the SUB, or cafeteria is really good but expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    They say there is a lot of homework, but there really isn't. Really great for running start if you can, do it. Take your time on everything, don't feel stressed.

    In three sentences

    Some of the classes are very easy, and some are very difficult. The teachers really know what they are teaching and doing. There is a large variety of classes.