Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

South Suburban College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great types for students would be: to always write down your assignments down so you won't forget, bring all materials to class, always take notes,do all your work, turn in all your work on time, don't procrastinate, study, read, and don't be tardy or late for class, be on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. be on time. 2. do all your work. 3. turn your work in on time.

    Bang for the buck

    Your money is well spent on your classes. If you want to learn it does cost a price. You will learn what you payed for you classes and your books. So your money is well spent on everything.

    Am enjoying being here

    Because it is no way like high school. When you present in front of the class the class is more quiet and the attention is on you so you can present away. Students take the work more seriously and the material being taught is taken seriously. And if you have any free time in between this is the many things you can do here: And the good thing about being here also is if you have computer work they have computer labs so you can do your work. And if you want a quiet place to do your work you can go to the student lounge. And if you are hungry go down to the cafeteria and get something to eat.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great, they explain in detail the topic being discussed in that matter. Work is given so that the topic being worked on is understood before taking a test.

  • 01/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The most important fact i've learned about this college is complete all of your homework and assignments, and be on task. Study for exams and do not wait for the last moment to want to complete your homework or study for an exam. Take it from me i know and I've learn from my mistakes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important tips is to be on time, do as your professor ask of you and if you are not sure ask the professor. Even if you need more time, most profesors have office hours. Some professors are even nice enough to take time away from there busy schedule just to help you out. Otherwise, if there office hours time doesn't fit your schedule, hey they even have a tutoring center that opens from 8am to 8pm from Mondays to Thursdays and Friday and Saturday have varies of times.

    Bang for the buck

    yes i feel like this school is great, especially for students like me, who are trying to persuade there career or need a second chance out in the academic life like i did.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at this college. I feel safe and secure but i feel like some of the outside peers need to be a little more maturity.

    Am learning a lot

    i have learn a lot from this college. I have learn how to a be successful college student. Not only that, but I've learn something I have never had a chance to learn in high school an that's studying.

  • 10/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and you will be out of here in no time.

    Bang for the buck

    It could be a little cheaper but that's just my opinion.

    Am enjoying being here

    They always have something planned and it's never a dull moment.

    Am learning a lot

    The teacher are very good. They love it when you ask questions.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty safe no fights i seen or other things

    Greek Life

    only 1 i think kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    they got alot never was part of one tho

    Great for these types of students

    motived , low cost need

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    n/a

    Bang for the buck

    cheap

    What to do for fun

    sports

    Food and Dining

    ok not the best

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    what you make it

    Tips for prospective students

    go in with a clean and open mind stop at nothing to succeed

    In three sentences

    College is small and very diverse. The teacher are great. A good Communtity college.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    you set your own pace so be careful to not overload yourself on too many difficult classes at once.

    Tips for prospective students

    read all of the information that is available on line for the college. enroll and purchase your books early, take great notes, exchange phone numbers with other class mates in case you need clarification on a subject and interact with the instructor.

    In three sentences

    the instructors are great. purchasing books, signing up for classes and interacting with the business office are uncomplicated. i enjoy this college so much!

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    No loans and my grants covered my tuition and books

    Food and Dining

    Very little healthy food. Expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't talk to the guidance counselors, they don't know much and they are always giving out wrong information. See the program faculty advisors for what you need.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the teachers that I have. However, I'm disappointed that South Suburban is not taking any more applicants for their nursing programs for a few years. I feel like I've wasted my time here.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can try out for a play, or join one of the sports.

    Food and Dining

    great food in the cafeteria

    Tips for prospective students

    The classroom size is small so you get more one on one with the teacher. I highly suggest going to South Suburban

    In three sentences

    I love going to South Suburban. I think the teachers are great and are extremely helpful.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    They have a gym on-site. Otherwise, not a lot to do outside of taking classes.

    Food and Dining

    Typical high-school style cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Would have 5 stars if the nursing department did not just lose accreditation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you brush up on your stuff before taking the Compass test.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes. Really good teachers. Teachers are willing to work with you in any problems you face.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The building counts with a great security team, inside and outside the building, the security team is wonderful specialty when students are taking night classes, they make sure the students get to their cars safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    SSC counts with the Latino club, Honor of Society, National Society, African American Club, and other sport clubs as Golf club, and others that I can't mentioned at this time.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like sports will enjoy it for all the areas that the school counts. The social students will have a wonderful time by the cafeteria where all can count with a nice chat time. The quiet and calm students will have a perfect space for study. Students are friendly, academic, and the variable of different cultures make it feel a nice atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school counts by fourth floor with an study area, and first floor the dinning room where all students gather for fun or study.

    Bang for the buck

    The many doesn't speak how good the environment of South Suburban College is.

    What to do for fun

    Something that you can do for fun is getting involve in sports, which the school count with many areas as basket-ball, base-ball, soccer, foot-ball, cross-country, golf, and others, with the participation of men, and women.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria counts with a friendly staff, is very clean, and the prices are very reasonable. The food is delicious, and count with a extended menu, and outside by the dining counts with all kinds of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Does not have dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The school counts with a wonderful group of enthusiastic instructors that will give you all they have to make you feel comfortable in obtain all the knowledge with the materials.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommended to those students who can't not afford a four year college, because everything deepen from the student in how much input he or she puts on taking the best out of.

    In three sentences

    I loved the school's environment, where all the staff is so friendly, and the students very cooperative. The school's security is excellent inside and outside the building. The instructors are very cooperative with the student's needs.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always get to know the student before you hang out with him or her.

    Greek Life

    Enjoy democracy by listening to your favorite celebrity music.

    Clubs and Activities

    Be creative with your mind, South Suburban does assist with it.

    Great for these types of students

    South Suburban is great for students who are exploring creativity.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The entrance of the school brings a spiritual invitation to discover your spirituality.

    Bang for the buck

    Money is not an issue at South Suburban College.

    What to do for fun

    Have a picnic on the school campus (in the summer time). View the art through out the school hall ways. Hang out in the lunch room.

    Food and Dining

    Bring your own food, it much healthier!

    Dorm Life

    Make it a habit to keep your apartment clean to learn how to organize effectively.

    Academic Rigor

    Success must drive you to strive or you won't be an excellent student at South Suburban. South Suburban Professors are known to motivate their students to obtain excellent grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask the teachers for help.

    In three sentences

    South Suburban College is trendy. South Suburban College is unique. South Suburban College is a comfortable academic environment.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    None.

    Food and Dining

    None.

    Dorm Life

    None.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been to several colleges and i would rate this a 3 out of 5.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great place to start your theory and get several classes in but i would transfer later on.

    In three sentences

    There are only three schools in illinois that offer my major, court reporting. I am greatful that this school is local in this part of the state and isn't difficult to get into and is decently cheap for the classes. I go to an off campus and the building is understaffed for teachers to teach court reporting classes and we are also underfunded, in my opinion. The only thing holding this program together is the dedication to the students from the teachers to keep them going in the program.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a functioning, fully enforced Police headquarters on campus. They have the full right and backing of the local and state police. DO NOT ATTEMPT TO TEST THIS STATMENT< YOU WILL GET ARRESTED FOR BEING STUPID!

    Food and Dining

    Eat at the local places, and there is a grocery store right across the street will be cheaper and much more satisfying. there is a Wendy's, and a pluthera of little eateries.

    Dorm Life

    NOOOOO DORRRMMMSSSS!!!!!! :) Either live with your parents, a roomie or rent an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    All classes you take depent on the teacher you have and the type of class you are taking. Do not let the community college sub-title fool you. These classes will keep you on your toes, and even the most basic of classes will keep you studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    For Maximum results, Bring ALL the information asked of you, and register AHEAD of the semester start date. You have to be a very vocal self advocate for yourself, and keep asking questions about anything that concerns you.

    In three sentences

    South Suburban is a decent starter school for stdents who are unsure of what they want to do, or do not want to go to a four-year university. SSC is also an excellent school in obtaining transfer credits at a cheaper rate and still recieve the education and credits required. Also, because of SSC's location, it is a good college to start off with for students who are unsure of leaving home for college or just want to stay close.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    To have fun South Suburban has basketball courts open for anyone who plays. They have mic night where students come at have poetry, music, and stories. The girls and boys basketball game is always exciting.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, its always something to drink. The cafe' is always open with fresh food snd drinks. the students can eat through out the day.

    Dorm Life

    Their is no dorms at south Suburban college. Students come home from all over to go to school their. Dorms should be on the next big things to do

    Academic Rigor

    Students who attend South Suburban college will learn so much no doubt about it. Their is always help in the homework center if you need it. Finally Being late to class can lower your grade so be on time

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into your classes focused on your work. Try not to ditch classes so much because you will lose a lot of information. Try your best to get pass your classes and get into a university.

    In three sentences

    South Suburban college is a normal community college. The professors could do a better job on helping the students understanding the material. The school should do better to help students get into universities.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are officers and security guards all around the campus. Of course you get those students that try to be violent, but the security guards always get rid of them quickly.

    Great for these types of students

    South Suburban College is great for students who want to get their prerequisite classes before transferring to a university. You will save yourself a lot of money starting off here.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of classes here are a lot cheaper than those at a university. You also can get a lot of help at the Financial Aid Office.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten the cafeteria food too many times. But the few meals I've had from there were pretty good. And the prices weren't bad.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you can spell your name right in your classes, you probably get an A. Just like with any school, there are some good teachers, some bad. I took an Oral Communications class here and it was really fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get everything in writing. Be prepared to schedule out a full day for registration. You will be doing a lot of running in circles and everyone that works in admissions will give you different information.

    In three sentences

    It's what you would expect out of a community college. The classes are not very challenging. It is a good place to get your prerequisite classes before transferring to a university.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking to save money!

    Bang for the buck

    You will have a hard time struggling with the financial aid office and student counseling center.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is super overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here feel very much like high school classes. Small class sizes, easy-going environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    South Suburban College is a great way to save money! Take your prerequisites here before you transfer to a four year university. Scholarships and financial aid are available (I got two years of college for free!)

    In three sentences

    I would give South Suburban College 2 out of five stars. Although I have had a good educational experience here, the offices tend to be poorly run and finding student counciling is rough. The best thing about this school is the teachers.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everywhere including the parking lots.

    Bang for the buck

    I truly enjoy learning here. It is a great experience. I am truly blessed by being here.

    What to do for fun

    Here they have sports and theater that you could take. It could be a help and great for relieving stress.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life available

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to major in. This will save you a lot of time and money. Do not be late for what you miss sometimes cannot be made up.

    In three sentences

    I feel that South Suburban College is giving me an excellent education. The teachers explain the courses well and take time to explain any problem one may have. This experience allows me to better myself in the business world and i would refer this school to any one.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The performing arts center is a place to go to see performers and art. the art galleries are nice places to go to check out some nice art pieces.

    What to do for fun

    Going to the Art Gallery and performing arts center.

    Food and Dining

    Caferteria food is very nasty.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm Life

    Academic Rigor

    Set high expectations for all students, Depth over breadth, Cross-curricular integration, Curriculum mapping, and Stated outcomes, built-in supports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set guidelines for yourself before you come here. Know your limits. It is easy to get carried away by the party scene. It is harder, though, if you know your priorities and boundaries. Get to know your profs. They can help you. Go to departmental lectures. Try to get people to recognize your name and face in your department as early as possible. Getting involved in research is good, too.

    In three sentences

    South suburban is not a bad school at all. When people first hear about south suburban from their former high school friends they tell them they are not going there because its like high school or you do not learn anything. That's not true, its what you make it. why worry about what others thinks, its your education and life. Think smart.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i never felt in danger there.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty

    Great for these types of students

    students who work part time jobs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    in the gym if you play sports.

    What to do for fun

    join a club or a sport

    Food and Dining

    cafe- prices are expensive

    Dorm Life

    none

    Tips for prospective students

    Great teachers! They can get you where you want to be as long as you push yourself.

    In three sentences

    It's a good community college for the most part. It Definitely has good teachers who care about their students. Good for low income people trying to get and education.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With all schools there i always a danger, but there are always security guards and police officers on duty so you always feel safe no matter what time or day it is.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an affordable school! You get the same education for maybe the third of the price at another school.

    What to do for fun

    There are various events going on and you will never be bored. There is always something to do and can meet great people.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is small and i haven't used it much, but it is a good place to study.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly, there is no dorms which is one of the downsides because it really is a good school and has lots to offer.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not to difficult. You have small class sizes and are able to build relationships with your professors. Help is always provided to you if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have the right classes for what you intend to major in. Sign up and register for classes early because classes fill up quick. It's college now, so pick classes that you like.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to start off after high school especially if your are undecided. You are able to save a lot of money and they offer the classes that you need. I would rate it at 8.5 out of 10.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security are there to help, but they are not overbearing.

    Great for these types of students

    Neighborhood students, student undecided on what their major is currently, a student looking for a reasonable, economical way to get a great education.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are economical and transferable where they meet the standards of high ranked state universities if you want to elevate into specialty majors not given at South Suburban. This is a community college so it is convenient with great transportation options. Shopping and eating facilities are in the area for easy access.

    What to do for fun

    Study groups with my classmates are fun and academically rewarding.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of resteraunts in the area. They are walking or bus route distance.

    Dorm Life

    Im not on camous. it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The school books has the appropriate material for the future in careers. The teachers teaches the material in a understanding manner.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read ahead for classes and be prepared to make new friends.

    In three sentences

    The classes are easy enough to transfer to other schools. Students are interactive in classes. The professors are always open to questions and concerns from their students.

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are sports and clubs you can sign up for

    Food and Dining

    i'm not sure on the food never tried it

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    there are so tuff teacher that will push you to be great

    Tips for prospective students

    if you need any help on anything finding a class, or anything ask its very helpful

    In three sentences

    south suburban college has some very helpful teachers that will help you when you need it most and there as some teachers that push you to you greatest. The school also has very helpful people working there as well.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe

    Great for these types of students

    This school is for everyone and all diverse.

    Food and Dining

    I only eat the pizza puffs which are very good.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to learn and apply all your knowledge to your classes.

    In three sentences

    Very outstanding community college. The Professors are excellent. Great experience.

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Very polite, patient, and helpful

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sometimes radio stations would come to the school and hold contest. We have a great Basketball team and it is always a joy to watch them play. The band is on fire, not just because I am in it, because the school has a great staff that chooses that best music for all the concerts.

    Food and Dining

    They tax on their food.

    Tips for prospective students

    There aren't that many unfriendly teachers, so there is no reason to be scared of any classes.

    In three sentences

    To me it is a good college. It's a place where one can learn with out any distraction, and get all the help one needs. The only down fall is that there aren't that many teachers in the higher sections to make more classes so that one can have the real perfect schedule.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get what you want for the money you spend.

    What to do for fun

    Not be at school!

    Food and Dining

    The food is so so.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is not hard if you stay on top of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just focus on your class. The atmosphere is not the greatest so you really need to get into your course work and not worry about the atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great. The atmosphere isn't quite so great. Overall it is a great place to save money and get a decent start before transferring.

  • 04/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to basketball games and workout in the gym

    Food and Dining

    food was the best

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    the classes were good

    Tips for prospective students

    more mannered students, more diverse environment

    In three sentences

    the teachers where very helpful in teaching. They were very strict on their test and homework policies. Overall the environment of the school can make you feel a little bit undetermined to go to school.