Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southeast Arkansas College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    just show you want to do it to your teachers and they are love you

    Tips for prospective students

    i highly recommend yes it is a small school but you have great one on one time if you need it and it helpful

    Bang for the buck

    cheapest college in arkansas and would chose no other because you get more than what you pay for

    Am enjoying being here

    love it.. i have great fiends in my program

    Am learning a lot

    I love there programs.. Most of it is hands-on and you will learn what you need to learn plus a lil more. the teachers are great advisors and will try to help you out in any way possible.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have more than enough security guards and Medal detectors.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life, SADLY.... not that I know of anyways...I keep my head in the books.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in the STEM club which is a great opportunity to travel and learn about minority majors. Their is also Alpha Mu Gamma,APPLES,Arkansas Licensed Practical Nursing Association (ALPNA-PN),Arkansas Society of Radiologic Technologists (ArSRT),Arkansas Student Nurses Association (ASNA),Association for Surgical Technologist,Arkansas Society of Radiologic Technologists (ArSRT),Phi Beta Lambda (PBL),Phi Theta Kappa (PTK),SEARK College Student Ambassadors, and SEARK College Student Senate

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the buck? I'm assuming that means opportunities to receive money. There are more than enough scholarships, career opportunities, and not to mention work-study positions.

    What to do for fun

    SEARK has a softball team and has frequent campus events.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is wonderful. The cafe has food cooked by Tastesetters Eatery Too!. I love to eat there, and I'm pretty sure everyone else thinks the same. If only they could cook in my home!!

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms just yet, but people around campus are saying that they are working on funding for becoming a larger college and later work on dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The standards for students are high at S.E.A.R.K. When someone achieves high, they are recognized, not just at the school but locally.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should not let the out side world affect their college experience. They should not let love or out side issues and distraction affect their decision to continue/complete their college education.

    In three sentences

    Southeast Arkansas College feels like home. A place where you can get to know your instructors and your instructors have an interest in each individual. I have to believe that it is one of the many great community colleges in the United States.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have your payment plan in order or financial aid. Have it together or they will drop you. If you apply yourself, you cannot fail.

    In three sentences

    A nice friendly community college located in the middle of town. Has a decent staff with a pretty good student to teacher ratio.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe because they have security at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who dont like a big campus or a lot people. It also is good or students who like an enviroment for school academics only.

    Bang for the buck

    You get your moneys worth at SeArk, Tuition is reasonable and affordable.

    Food and Dining

    No food or dining.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Southeast Arkansas college are very well rounded. They give you many options of courses and most are difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should prepare for this college the same as any other. You have to be prepared to have all different types of students and teachers and be opened minded to everything in your class.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very intelligent and can help you with any and everything. The campus is clean and very safe with a security guard at all times. There is a wide variety of classes to choose from being only a two year college.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SEARK has a school softball team that competes in tournaments and games all over the state. A gospel choir is new to campus. There is also a school domino tournament, spades tournament, and also a gaming club.

    Tips for prospective students

    SEARK college is an accredited two year college that can give any student the education and academic requirements to complete any field of study.

    In three sentences

    The perfect school for nontraditional students who have families and jobs. The campus has plenty of parking and continuous campus security. The campus is sitting in a convenient and safe part of town that is not difficult to find.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Their are a few clubs and posters all around school for activites.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with jobs, children or other responsibilities! Non-traditional!

    Bang for the buck

    I believe it is well worth every penny!

    What to do for fun

    SEARK has a fall festival and a Spring Bash, they also have small career fairs!

    Food and Dining

    Food is good just kind of expensive just like any other college!

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms but I believe they may try to achieve this in the future.

    Academic Rigor

    If you can not get a lot of hard classes together, you can pass with effort

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask your advisers what classes need to be done and in what order

    In three sentences

    I like SEARK teachers and their availability to help you. Advisers are very helpful and will help lead you in the direction. I give all A's all around, just ask around and they'll tell you all about it.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is top priority at SEARK. There are campus police 24/7. The campus police patrol the school parking lot and building to ensure safety and order to all.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs such as student council, student ambassadors, and student advisers. Activities for the college depend on the month.

    Great for these types of students

    SEARK is perfect for students that want to further their education on a flexible schedule. Also, students that have decided to go back to school after having a family and career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SEARK has a new mascot, SEARK the Shark.

    Bang for the buck

    As a community college, it offers more than most. It does not offer as much as a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of things to do for fun. Holidays, special occasions and fairs are going on often at SEARK. Weekly news letters keep you up to date on any activities.

    Food and Dining

    Tastesetters is an excellent place to sit down and eat a good meal at a reasonable cost. Students receive a discount. It is also a place to sit and study.

    Dorm Life

    SEARK does not have dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    SEARK is academically up to date with other colleges. But SEARK puts a personal stamp on each course. There is a wide variety of academics available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Southeast Arkansas College goes out of their way to help you further your education. SEARK makes transition to student easy. SEARK offers a variety of courses and schedules to fit anyone's needs.

    In three sentences

    Personally, I think SEARK is a ten. Up to date technology, fantastic teachers, and excellent counselors to help you succeed. It is the perfect solution to furthering your education one course at a time or for a full time student.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are safety officers patrol constantly and are always watching which makes you feel that much safer.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    There is really a pretty good diversity at our school.

    Bang for the buck

    Southeast Arkansas College is a small college but is quickly growing. The faculty and students are friendly and there to help one another. If your just starting out or even been out a while, don't be afraid just ask questions.

    What to do for fun

    We have many computer labs and study areas around campus or there are plenty of museums and arts and science center.

    Food and Dining

    There is a place to eat inside the college or plenty of places not far away to eat, all types of food like chinease, american, mongolian, pizza, burger, or just about anything.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms, it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I do not believe there are any rigors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a small class size so that you may get more interaction with your instructors, the Southeast Arkansas College is right for you!

    In three sentences

    Southeast Arkansas College is a small but close knit college. The instuctors there are very concerned with you doing your very best. They want you to set your goals and accomplish them.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I DON'T EAT AT SCHOOL.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY, STUDY, STUDY AND MORE STUDYING

    In three sentences

    It is a ok school for a two year college.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The students at SEARK vary all ages. The classes have a mixture of students. That is probably the biggest downfall to me about attending a community college. I'm a freshman, eighteen years old, and men of ages like thirty and forty have the audacity to approach me asking for my number. I do not like that at all. I feel like I cant even be a teenager, dress like a teenager, or express myself in any way as a teenager because I have to worry about old men approaching me.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities because it is a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are activities on campus. Everyone is given the opportunity to participate, since they pay activity fees. However, not many seem to actually get involved, but that is expected of a community college. Most of the students are just there to get their education.

    Great for these types of students

    SEARK is great for the type of student that wants to concentrate on school. I'm not that interested in sororities and Greek shows. My main concern is having the opportunity to receive an education. I most admire the idea that I don't have to be a number in class. My instructors remember my name. I feel like if I were to revisit one of my instructors at SEARK for a letter of recommendation, they would be able to write an accurate and precise description of the type of student I am.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Wednesday there are Bible meetings in a select room. In these meetings they provide snacks and other refreshments. They discuss biblical events and to some are life savers. A lot of times, people have never been introduced to the bible. These meetings could be the first place they have the opportunity to explore the religious aspects of life.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus security roams the parking lots all throughout the day. I feel like my truck is safe. I don't have to worry about it being broken into or trashed because there is always someone on patrol. Most campuses only have security cameras, which allows the burglar to do as pleased and eventually be looked up on the camera.

    What to do for fun

    Many events are held at SEARK. I cannot say I participate in too many because my reasons for attending a community college over a university for my first few years is so I could avoid distractions. Although, I have attended a few. The Back to School Bash served as an icebreaker and assured me that college life was not just a pressure tank.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria area at SEARK is very welcoming and the staff's hospitality is great. I feel comfortable enough in the cafeteria to complete assignments for my classes instead of having to go to the library. I prefer a more live but relaxed environment for my studies, so the library would be too quiet for me. The food itself is decent. It seems like they serve a lot less food than they did when the semester first started.

    Dorm Life

    My college doesn't provide dorms because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't really have too much to say about the academic rigor of SEARK. It is my first year and I feel like one of my teachers could have put more of an effort into making the class assignments a bit more understandable. As the result I chose to drop his class and pick it back up for next semester with another teacher. I seen failure when I first walked into his class. When I When I asked him for help, Go see a tutor, he replied.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise students not only seeking to attend at SEARK, but students who are attending college in general, to go ahead and enroll in classes when the opportunity first presents itself. Procrastinating will definitely increase the chances of you not being able to take the required courses because they would be to full.

    In three sentences

    Southeast Arkansas Community College gives me the opportunity to have one on one communication with my instructors. I am very satisfied with my advisor, Mrs. Tracy Cobbs, who is also my upcoming Math instructor, because when I had problems with my schedule she went out of her way to get things in order so I would be able to attend the classes I had chosen preferably.

  • 04/18/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-Traditional Students, Technical Field Students, Students not ready to leave Pine Bluff just yet.

    Bang for the buck

    For what I had to pay I don't think I could have gotten better knowledge anywhere else. This includes the four-year university I'm moving on to.

    What to do for fun

    If you enjoy being around computers I guess you can have some fun. But really there is a location to work out, there are some sport activities, but if you really want to have outside of school fun then the advise you would probably get is to fun up to Little Rock because Pine Bluff is a little low on the fun and excitement factor.

    Food and Dining

    I personally haven't ate in the commons at SEARK but everyone I know usually has positive things to say about it. Once upon a time it was all too hot but they've been constantly improving and that's great steps in my books. If you don't want to give it a chance there are all kinds of places to eat in the area that I'm sure you would enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms sadly.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachings are hard enough for people that don't understand the subject, but easy enough for someone that really want's to obtain the knowledge. If your at least a good student in class, the teacher will work with you most of the time to keep you from failing, but beyond that your going to have to put some work in if you want a good GPA once your done there.

    Tips for prospective students

    There isn't a whole lot that you need to be weary of outside of the normal things like apply early, follow the admission instructions well, and make sure that you are as college ready as you can be. One tip I guess is make sure to stay on your adviser's good side, they can make or break your experience there.

    In three sentences

    SEARK is the go to college in Pine Bluff for the adult that wishes to gain a little more knowledge in their life. It's also the go to school when your looking for a degree in the more technical fields such as nursing, drafting and design, or HVAC work. It is definitely a great springboard school for those wanting to continue their education into a B.S.

  • 05/28/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Student senate Student Ambassadors PTK STEM Program BCM

    In three sentences

    I had a great experience with this university. I became a member of Phi Theta Kappa,and made the dean's list. I also graduated wish special honors on May 16,2014.