Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southeastern Oklahoma State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student who wants a great education with the advantage of a small town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid and admissions as soon as you can. Stay in the dorms and join an activity.

    Bang for the buck

    You will get your money's worth. It is relatively inexpensive, especially for a university, and has a lot to offer.

    Am enjoying being here

    Southeastern offers a ton of extra-curricular activities and organizations, such as: Springfest, fraternities and sororities, SGA, Student Ambassadors, SSL Leaders, etc.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are very knowledgeable. They are willing to help students outside of the classroom. The class sizes are small and give you a better one-on-one experience with the professor.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small school, so there is not a lot of violence.

    Greek Life

    They are extremely embracing.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't been apart of any

    Great for these types of students

    It has an aviation program, unlike most schools

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any. Sadly I haven't been there long enough.

    Bang for the buck

    It is the cheapest college in the state. It has a top of the line aviation program.

    What to do for fun

    The town is small but there is always something to do with the school, such as sporting events clubs.

    Food and Dining

    They serve really good food

    Dorm Life

    All freshmen have to stay in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't been in class yet, but a few of my teachers at my high school have and the said that they learned a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Reach out to anyone at the school and they will help you with anything that they can.

    In three sentences

    the school has been extremely helpful in getting my set for next year. They have been open and honest with what it will take for me to stay in the cores and the cost. this is a excellent school to become more then just some-body's pay check.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't heard of much ignorance in the area. The occasional argument you hear but nothing much else.

    Greek Life

    they have it but im not.

    Clubs and Activities

    Just keep watch about the news and you will find out most of the things you can do.

    Bang for the buck

    I do not pay a lot of my account due to the service in the army. They pay most of my account so I end up spending only $1,000 a semester for the privilege of attending this school.

    What to do for fun

    I stay in my room and pretty much play on the internet.

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of communication with the students on summer semester. You pay for a meal plan or have to have one to stay in dorms and when you go to eat one day you find out you have no more money to eat. Be careful what you as for and keep tabs on your account.

    Dorm Life

    Lots you can do but not really that much interesting depending on your personal feelings.

    Academic Rigor

    Nice professors that want you to learn and some are tough so you learn more. Decent classroom sizes and plenty of interaction with most of the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you do more reseach. Average cost per regular semester is about $6,000 if you stay on campus. If you are a veteran be sure you get plenty of information. For instance, the VA does not pay all your money you owe. I ended up paying $1,000 a semester to live in dorm and go to college here.

    In three sentences

    Communication is pretty poor around the food service industry. Classes are tough, but you will learn plenty from the experienced personell. Classes are decent and office hours are generally adhered to.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't think there very few if any issues or situations. Very safe campus and community.

    Greek Life

    Unsure, I am not a member of any.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a large amount of clubs and activities to join. You have to seek them out and it can be difficult to learn about all that are offered.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that the cost of tuition is extremely expensive and their additional fees always very, depending on how much you are awarded in financial aid.

    Food and Dining

    I've heard that the food on campus is pretty good, but I have never tried it. The city is limited as to dining options.

    In three sentences

    Be prepared for little to no assistance. Many personnel member are not very helpful and do not strive to help others. Some of the classes are also limited and are often not available every semester.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all kind of students.

    Bang for the buck

    comes in handy

    What to do for fun

    go to different event that are held.

    Food and Dining

    food is good many different options.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class on time. Meet new people. Introduce your self to all your professors.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice friendly school with helpful people.There are many resources and ways for you to further your education in the best possible way. Teachers who are there for you and not just for a paycheck.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police is always driving around. We also have emergency buttons all around campus, in the parking lots, in the lawn, by the buildings, just in case of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    I am a member of the Alpha Sigma Tau sorority and it is a blast. We also have another sorority as well as a few fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a small school where you can get to know everyone and make lots of friends as well as get the academic help you need from teachers, this is a good college for you. The class sizes are usually around 20 people and everyone is so friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditions on campus include: The Kissing Circle Block parties

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in Sororities/Fraternities Join many groups on campus. We have everything you could possibly think of. Play in the gym or workout. Start a game of volleyball in the sand.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent in the caf. It gets a little old sometimes having the same choices over and over but at least its good food!

    Dorm Life

    I recommend living in the dorms at least the first year of college. You meet many people and it is easier to get involved in many activities. It helped me to become more independent. Its a good bridge from living at home to living on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are straight and to the point. The homework assignments are hard and the test are exactly what they say during lectures.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in many activities because the experience is worth it. Also, get to know all your professors well because you will need them to write you good letters of recommendations in the future!

    In three sentences

    Great college. It is small so you can get to know all of your professors. Its not too expensive.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not yet tasted but I've heard excellent things. The have several meal plans to choose from. The meal plans have a variety of choices.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are spacious and very clean. I love how big the closet is and the bed. There is a common room in the middle for everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great. They have a wide variety of majors to choose from. The staff is great.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern Oklahoma State University's campus exceeds all expectations that I had. Before I attended the campus, I assumed that the school's campus would be small, the staff would be rude as they were at the community college I attended, and the dorms would be older than at other schools. I was very surprised though to find that the staff was very friendly, the dorms were modern day and the school was very spacious. Excited is the emotion that I am feeling right now as I say that I can not wait to attend this fine school.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are very effective on campus. They have alarms set up all around the campus to push a button that will send a signal to them if we are ever in immediate danger.

    Greek Life

    I love Greek Life. I gained 30 new best friends who I now call my sisters.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many things to do at this university. It's always something to keep you involved in what's going on on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students that want to learn and also make a lot of new friends on their college journey.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When there are football games they set up Tailgate Alley. They block off an entire section of the road next to the football field where people can park and sit on their tailgates and watch the games and talk to everybody.

    Bang for the buck

    Southeastern is definitely worth every penny I spend on tuition. I love the environment and my fellow students.

    What to do for fun

    There are sororities and fraternities to become involved in. The ball games are a lot of fun as well. Southeastern also puts on many theatre shows that are magnificent to watch.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always fantastic in the school cafeteria. There is always a large variety.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms so I cannot give them a good or bad rating.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are very tough and require a lot of studying while other classes are simple and only require a small amount of studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid and scholarships early. I would take morning classes because it helps to finish the classes early and then have all day to work and do your homework.

    In three sentences

    This University is a small close-knit community of students. It has small classrooms which make it an excellent learning experience. All of the professors that I have come into contact with have been very intelligent in their field and cared about educating us and helping when we needed it.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Variety

    What to do for fun

    Not much in Durant to do but shopping and activities at the school.

    Food and Dining

    Wide variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to participate in the fun activities the school offers.

    In three sentences

    It is well rounded. This school has professors that really care about the students. Southeastern is a great school.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt threathen by anything on campus. The police are here to help us and we can count on them to continue to protect and serve.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs that appeal to all people. The groups are fun and exciting for the studnets.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that I am recieving an education that will be worthy for the work force. I feel that the instructors and counselors are very helpful in assisting one to the road of success.

    What to do for fun

    There are several groups that are available to join. One of the funnest activities I like to do is attend athletic events. There is also intermurel activities for students to play.

    Food and Dining

    Food at Southeastern is good. The food court has several choices to choose from. If you do not feel like eating in the caferita than you can take your meal to your room.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun and exciting. I have meet several of my friends at the dorm. There are activities planned for the studnet to be participate in.

    Academic Rigor

    Southeastern State challenges students in course work; but at the same time the teachers want students to succeed. There are groups assigned to help students who may need assistence in course work. I have found out that going to class and communicating with the teacher will help a student to succeed far beyond what he expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Southeastern State has several options for a degree. If you can not find the degree of interest, the counselors will assist you in finding what you need. The student body is very supportive and helpful in assisting the incoming freshmen.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern is a great place for me to obtain my education. I feel that they are active in getting students involved into activities. Southeastern also supports their athletics in all endevours.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education majors

    What to do for fun

    Make friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class and respect your instructors.

    In three sentences

    This school is full of great instructors that truly care about the students. The campus is easy to walk from one side to the other.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very very safe feeling top notch

    Clubs and Activities

    All kinds to many to name.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting the rock! On campus a rock where students organizations paint with their colors.

    What to do for fun

    Volleyball, flag football, mud volleyball, softball.

    Food and Dining

    Several different types of food choices. The Student Union itself have different variety of grills.

    Dorm Life

    Very active 5 stars always something going on.

    Academic Rigor

    Top notch! 5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a campus tour. Bring your parents so they can ask the questions you won't.

    In three sentences

    SE is a place where you have small town feel. Rated number 4 in world for their Safety Program. Campus is a close nit comradery.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    BCM, Football, Corvettes Dance, Softball, Baseball. Always something going on at Student Union

    Great for these types of students

    Who are looking for the University setting and experiances, who are not wanting to pay a high price. Looking for asmall welcoming college.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the University Experiance at a lower cost.

    What to do for fun

    Sherman Tx, is not far from Durant. You can go to Sherman to eat or to nbowl, to the movies, and shopping. It is as fun as you make it.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten at the cafeteria one since being at college,but the food was great.

    Dorm Life

    I am a student who commutes from school to my home.

    Academic Rigor

    Great Professors are at this University. The Professors are well educated and are willing to goto any extream to help a student be all that they can be, and make the best grades taht they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be eager to learn,and show up to class with a good additude. If you have an assignment, do not get behind on it and do not make excuses for not doing your work, Professors HAVE heard it all.

    In three sentences

    Southeeastern has great Professors who are eager to teach new and continuing students. It is a school where you feel welcome by other students and professors. If you are having a problem with anything you are sure to know that they will help you.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Undergraduate. They have more undergraduate degrees than you could reasonably ask for with a small campus- but its graduate program is quite lacking.

    Bang for the buck

    Incredibly affordable, and they even gave me an in state price thanks to my over 3.5 GPA.

    What to do for fun

    I spent way too much time on the computer my first semester for a campus where there's lots to do. They have a very good gym, plenty of activities, and lots of extracurricular stuff.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. There is even the famous freshman fifteen at our campus, where incoming freshman gain fifteen pounds their first semester living on campus. I was a junior my first semester and despite having ate like a king, I didn't gain any weight. Perhaps it only works with freshman?

    Dorm Life

    My alpha male suite mate was quite fond of his girlfriend, and the walls were quite thin. Other than that, no real complaints. There was an issue involving a rude guest that my roommate invited into my dorm, but the RA resolved it quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    Uneven. My history class literally took up half my load and the other three were rather easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your professors will actually help you outside of class. Don't be afraid to ask.

    In three sentences

    Usually friendly and warm. Small enough classes for intimate talking with your professors. A good amount of activities for a small campus.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a rec center and outside basketball and sand volleyball pit that generally draws a crowd in for a good time.

    Food and Dining

    The staff in the cafeteria are more than family. They are always open to new ideas and are always there to better serve and satisfy the students.

    Dorm Life

    The residence life is always trying to stay invloved with the residents, which make living on campus fun due to the activities that they have setup throughout the semester.

    Academic Rigor

    The music building has a welcoming anf warming feeling, that when you walk in you feel at home. The staff in the building are helpful and welcoming.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern is currently under going many changing to improve the campus for more handicap access for students and visitors on campus. The environment is very humble and house warming. When you walk into a building you are generously greeted by professors and welcomed in like family.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police drive around constantly making sure everything is okay and safe for the students and teachers. There are alerts sent out when bad weather is in the area or if someone dangerous is lurking around the town. Campus police are willing to help with anything they can, like unlocking your car with the keys inside.

    Great for these types of students

    SOSU is great for students who want to enjoy the college life but at a lower cost and with the comfort of a small town feel.

    What to do for fun

    There is block parties that are fun to attend as well as sporting events and christian based events on campus usually all the time. I am a full time student and work full time so I am not able to attend many events but I know there is always something available.

    Food and Dining

    The few times I have eatin on campus the food has been great. I have never eatin anything that was bad. They have multiple snack options available.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms but I have heard from friends and fellow classmates that the dorms were comfortable to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    SOSU is just like any other college, the teachers expect you, as a student, to come to class and make the grades but they will not hunt you down to make sure you are in their class. They expect you to keep your grades up and at an acceptable level and have multiple tutoring services to help you do that.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students I recommend to tour the campus and each building as much as possible before classes start so that you are comfortable with campus. Get to know your teachers and faculty they will be life savers for even the smallest tragedies.

    In three sentences

    I love attending Southeastern Oklahoma State University because the campus is small but still has a number of fun activities to keep the students involved. The teachers and advisors are great at what they do and get to know their students to help with school and personal issues. Its a small town school with a big town attitude.

  • 09/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus!

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Great price!

    What to do for fun

    Join in on student activities!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask your advisor any questions you have, do not hesitate. Ask other students how to get to a class across campus the quickest. Have fun!

    In three sentences

    It is a great business school. The professors and advisors are very hands on and get to know you. They have wonderful classes.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always an athletic event to go watch. Or arts oriented events such as concerts and plays.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should get involved with any of the many clubs and organizations on campus.

    In three sentences

    This is a beautiful and friendly college. The academics and teachers are wonderful.This university should be a top consideration.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Constant patrolling by campus security officers. With visits from Tribal Police. SOSU has a large number of native american students.

    Greek Life

    Abundant. National Fraternities and Sororities. Including, Sigma Tau Gamma, Tau Kappa Epsilon, and Sigma Sigma Sigma. There are others.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek, Honor, and local Intramural, There are also Baptist and Wesleyan centers located on or near campus.

    Great for these types of students

    All. Safety is one of the premier programs. Although, Southeastern has a rich heritage of training educators.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting the rock is a tradition for the local greek organizations. It is located on the North side of campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Fantastic. SOSU is an accredited school. The work will be tough, and, rewarding.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations on campus. You may find that many of the other students are interested in the same things you are. Intramural sports are popular.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY. Go to class. Ask questions.

    In three sentences

    SOSU is a progressive, dynamic school. Faculty is well educated and very helpful. Students are the focus at SOSU.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college offers many different intramural sports on campus. They also have a gym and offers different theater productions for students to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The college has very good dining facilities. The food is a little over priced.

    Dorm Life

    I don't currently live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The college offers a high amount of tough classes. Very good at challenging students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check your student email. It is vital to succeeding in college. Also, make sure to follow your professor's instructions. They are always very helpful.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern is a very good college. It has top of the line professors and a great administration. The college also gives you plenty of opportunities to get involved on campus.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SEOSU has never had any major safety issues. With being a good size school campus police to mandatory searches and patrols. Cameras are placed in almost every corner including parking lots giving students/parents a sense of security.

    Greek Life

    3 Sororities and 3 Fraternities. Go Greek!

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek organizations. I am part of the greatest brotherhood of all time Lambda Chi Alpha and the BCM.

    Great for these types of students

    This is very unexplainable. If you want an affordable college experience with having a large choice of really any degree plan this is a place for anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SEOSU has been around since the early 1900's which calls for having many traditions old and new. SEOSU is a firm believer in Greek life through may organizations which is a great experience.

    Bang for the buck

    SEOSU is very affordable, if this wasn't the case I wouldn't be attending here. Classes are very affordable along with degree plans. Mainly anything on campus is pretty reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    Fraternity life on campus is a great experience. I also take part in all intramural sports with my buddies and fraternity brothers. On campus activities also take place just about every day/night which makes a great experience. Great opportunities for having a great Christian/social life which you can find this by the amount of great Christian people who attend here and by joining the BCM on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Great dining hall which offers a variety of meals.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms which offer a great style of college living. Friendly faculty and resident life student workers which are helpful in any situation you may have.

    Academic Rigor

    Offering many degree plans that students can choose from without having to transfer to larger graduate schools which makes it easier for students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place that offers many opportunities. Southeastern Oklahoma State has many degree plans from nursing to OSHA. Faculty offers a family like environment helping new and or current students feel comfortable with the college environment.

    In three sentences

    Great experience offering many opportunities. Great degree plans with helpful services. Awesome people including both students and faculty.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Goal oriented.

    What to do for fun

    On-campus fitness facility, student union hang-out building, sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save all of your extra money!

    In three sentences

    Southeastern has very hands-on courses. The professors are very approachable. The workload can be rigorous, but manageable.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest campuses in Oklahoma

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    playing ball, listen to music, hang out with friends.

    Great for these types of students

    volleyball, basketball, baseball, nursing, aviation,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nothing here seems unusual to me.

    Bang for the buck

    I have 3 children and hardly any source of income. So im trying to make the most out of this experiance.

    What to do for fun

    Play basketball, shoot pool, listen to music.

    Food and Dining

    i dont eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    ok, but i commute

    Academic Rigor

    good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting an education could open up many doors or opportunities for you.

    In three sentences

    it's a great place to learn and get an education. It's not far from where i live. It also has some of the friendliest people here.

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    If you are an accounting or finance major you should join the accounting and finance club.

    What to do for fun

    I have no free time.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten anything from school yet.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum is tough! Be prepared to spend a lot of time on homework and studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you apply early enough so that you do not miss any of the deadlines, such as scholarships. Always be prepared for class. Read your material ahead of time and do all of your homework. Make a good study plan. You will have to spend several hours outside of class for each class studying if you want to do well.

    In three sentences

    This is my first semester here, but so far it has been a good experience. The professors are all well educated in their field of study and most of them are good at teaching the material. Most of the teachers are using a Learnsmart program which I find very helpful in learning the material.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's volleyball, basketball, baseball, football, softball, Frisbee, swimming etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take morning classes.

    In three sentences

    It's a great college with great, friendly professors. It's affordable. It's not too big so you can become close with your professors.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    SOSU is a great college. The instructors are very helpful and caring. All staff are always courteous as well.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe, they have installed nice lighting around the campus and they have also installed emergency call buttons around the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unfortunately the town of Durant does not have any clubs or nice bars around, you have to venture at the very least ten to fifteen miles away from the town to find a decent bar/cafe.

    What to do for fun

    The student union is packed with a ton of activities. The pool, basketball gym, among other things. You also get emailed updates about other student activities that may be available for you to join!

    Food and Dining

    This is one thing about the college that is unfortunately not on par with the academics. The food is horrible. The school is in a contract with a company that sells terrible food and will not allow to have any other food joint around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms but I hear they are quite lively at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get classes that work well with your schedule. Everyone is really easy to work with and very friendly, do not be afraid to explore the campus and talk with anyone you meet.

    In three sentences

    I rate SOSU, on a scale from one to ten, a nine. The teachers are very personable and very likable, they get to know you and really care about your education. Also the school is reasonably priced.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    in the city of Durant, Oklahoma, there is not a lot to do. during the weekends, a majority of the students and Southeastern will return to their homes due to a large sum of the students live around the city and, or outside of it.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dinner is quite diverse. there are five stations: a sand-which station, a Mexican food station, a stir-fry station, a salad station, and a southern cooking station. although the food will get old after a month or two, the staff in the kitchen try to mix each week up with adding and removing different foods to see how the students will react to it.

    Dorm Life

    with the edition of the new residence hall, Sheer Hall, the quality of the dorm life is average college campus. you will have your interactive halls, and then you will have your halls that will seem like just your average apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    for the size and area of the university, it has quality academics. all the degrees that are included in the curriculum are specifically designed to benefit the city of Durant and the surrounding cities. the most prized degree that students go to Southeastern for is Safety, which involves monitoring all construction projects and etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    get close with your professors, as that ultimately determine how your intra and post college experience will be. write your name on all the materials that you would think of needing. bring ALOT of quarters, laundry can get expensive.

    In three sentences

    Overall, this university is a good school specifically for athletes looking to compete at the division two level. this college is a closely knit place that has faculty that looks out for all there students.at this university, be prepared to meet people that you will remain in contact with for the rest of your life.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police patrol all the time making sure that we are alright. They also have security buttons throughout the campus that if your in trouble you can hit and the police will be there. Durant is a friendly place to be and low crime rates.

    Greek Life

    If you want to get involved in Greek Life, there are two main fraternities. There isn't hazing and they do a lot together. You really start to make bonds with your brothers and it keeps you busy having fun. There are two sister sororities to these two fraternities and they also do a lot together and create sister bonds. There are plenty of other fraternities and sororities throughout the campus, you just have to look around and join.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch of clubs that you can join. As long as you want to get out there and be a part of something you will be alright. There is a wide variety of groups, so it fits all types of peoples wants.

    Great for these types of students

    The type of students that it is best fit for are the ones that are serious about getting their education. The also want to have fun, but don't want to around too many people. If you can't afford the expensive colleges than this is the place to be. It's really affordable and just an all around good college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a bonfire before homecoming every year which is always fun. A lot of people come around and get together to celebrate homecoming.

    Bang for the buck

    I was a little overwhelmed at first by the difference from high school. Everyone here at the SOSU are really friendly and willing to help. The classes aren't super hard but you cant treat it like high school. If you get your work done first and then go have a good time with the many thing there are to do on campus, you will be fine. You also get into all the sporting events at the college for free and get to be involved.

    What to do for fun

    I myself love to play sports so I'm always in the gym playing basketball.There are a lot of intramural sports that go on too. We have pool table, sand volleyball courts and other things that you can do to entertain yourself.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is really good and when your in the dinning room you start to meet new people. Everyone that works in the dinning room are really nice people. You have a wide variety of choices in food and you can come back and get as much as you want.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is something new to you because you now on your own. Don't be afraid because everyone is in the same boat and you will make plenty of friends. You are pretty much forced to meet new people and make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    College is a lot harder than high school, but don't be afraid if your struggling, just work harder. Keep on top of your work and you will be alright. Make sure to go see your professor in his office because it shows you dedication to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to SOSU because its really affordable and friendly. Make sure to get involved and have a good time while your in college. Don't be afraid to ask questions and let people know if you need help. Stay on top of your work, this isn't high school.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern Oklahoma State University is for student that want to focus on their education. SOSU is a small college and makes you feel comfortable. The teachers really care and it makes it easy to adjust to after high school.

  • 10/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is on campus and is just a call or yell away. There are call buttons all over campus that call the police and make a load sound.

    Greek Life

    There are only two sororities and 3 fraternities and two co-ed fraternities.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for. Tuition is very reasonable compared to other 4 year colleges.

    What to do for fun

    Having a job not only puts money in your account it keeps you from dying of boredom. Sports City is a big thing for college students on Thursday night but lines can get long and $10 for 21 and under. Lake Texoma is a 10 minute drive and is nice to go to during spring and summer- can float, kayak, boating, watch sunrise/sunset. Intermural sports are a great way to get involved with the school and to meet new people

    Food and Dining

    There is only one cafeteria and it doesn't have the best options for someone who is trying to be healthy. There are no coffee machines on campus. Breakfast stops serving at 9 when it closes t 10.

    Dorm Life

    Shearer hall is the newer halls, they are pretty nice for a dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are okay if you do the work and study, if you don't do either than classes are going to be extremely hard and the professor will not be happy and not as willing to help you if you haven't tried.

    Tips for prospective students

    All classes require work so don't wait last minute to do an assignment. Get a decent meal plan so you don't have to go out to eat all the time. Try to make friends with your roommates and set some rules. Get a job that works with your school schedule.

    In three sentences

    I am use to big schools so it was a shock to come to such a small school but classes are small and teachers are involved more with the students. People on campus are very friendly and faculty and students are always willing to help. The campus is nice the only downsides are there is only one cafeteria and there is not much to do outside of campus.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus and very friendly.

    Greek Life

    Not a member but my friends enjoy it.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs to suit your needs.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for many variety of students, there are many different classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming week is awesome!!

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable and worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of different clubs to join on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not magnificent but it is college.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great, I have been here two years and have enjoyed all of my different roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very informative and you learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources that are available, most of the departments are very helpful. If you run into any obstacles, use student services.

    In three sentences

    Very good school, the instructors really help out if you need it. The instructors give you their personal information so you can get in touch with them if needed.

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a police station right on campus and there are constantly police monitoring the campus and making routine checks one everything.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities to do one campus. If we don't have one that you like then you can start it here on campus, it is very easy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the kissing circle here on campus between the Library and the Math building. It was donated by a graduating class from the 80's.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go play sports in our Student Union. We have all kinds of different sports you can play in it. My most favorite one is the basketball court outside of the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe here on campus is definitely one of the best. It is all you can eat and they always have different foods to eat. There is also the grill where you can order just about any type of food you want at any time.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are the best thing to live in while you are attending college. It gives you so many chances to meet different people. Meet all of the people who live on your floor and you can have a lot of friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great here and very helpful to people who might be struggling in the class. The classes get harder as you advance in your major but there are many different places on campus to get help or a tutor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always attend class it is the best thing to do for you. If there is a reason you will not make it to class let your teacher know. Then figure out what you missed in that class on the day that you missed.

    In three sentences

    The college is an amazing one; everyone here is so friednly and helpful. There is a different activity or organization for everyone on this campus, one that will truly fit you. I do and would recommend this college to anyone that is looking at colleges.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have multiple spots on campus to alert security if need be.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who likes to build better connections with many people within a specific school. Students who like smaller class sizes and more available professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They like to color the school blue on Fridays for school spirit!

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to a the previous university I attended, money is definitely being saved.

    What to do for fun

    Right now fun consists of being with family and friends. You learn through life that you only get one good shot at it. Spending time and having fun with those closest to you is what makes life worth living.

    Food and Dining

    I can not comment on the dining because I have never used their services.

    Dorm Life

    I can not comment on the dorm life at this school because I did not stay at these dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The tests I have taken are by no means easy but, as long as you study and do not slack off good grades should follow. In my opinion tests are straight forward. Even tricky questions can be figured out if you truly understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips would be to get to know others in your class and get to know your instructors. Also, get to know the support staff. You never know what information they have gained throughout the years. Through the years I have learned asking questions rather in the classroom or through email doesn't matter. Just ask it. You are not helping yourself by staying in the dark.

    In three sentences

    This school feels like an over sized high school to me. It is easy to stay in touch with professors and in my opinion, encourages student participation due to class size. I enjoy how much easier it is to learn and ask questions when in a smaller size classroom rather than a class with approximately 200 students.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sherman, TX is only 25 minutes away if you like shopping, cinema, and more places to eat. There are a few places in Durant to entertain yourself: Choctaw Casino, Lake Texoma, a few bars, and a few boutiques.

    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants in Durant to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but have friends that live on campus. They say that they are fairlynice for being dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Apply yourself and you will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you are willing to help yourself your professors will too.

    In three sentences

    Dedicated professors willing to help at any cost. I love it here. It is a great school!

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports, anything that is outdoors as Oklahoma has great weather most days of the year to enjoy.

    Academic Rigor

    Perfect! There is a lot of things to do for the classes but it is manageable. Focus and do your best, it will happen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn and experience the activities offered for an Education student.

    In three sentences

    SOSU is a great college for someone majoring in Elementary Education. There are so many things that you learn from the instructors, making it important to attend. I would encourage anyone looking for to be a teacher to attend Southeastern!

  • 02/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved as much as you can. Don't seclude yourself to one group of people. Embrace diversity- you will not regret it.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern is a place I would come home. The campus is not too big and not to small and there are a lot of clubs and organizations to become involved in. I'm really glad to be a student here!

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for adult learners who just want to get back into school and find a new career. The campus is low-key and very mixed.

    Bang for the buck

    Relatively inexpensive, even for out-of-state students with the out-of-state tuition waiver! That has saved me so much money.

    What to do for fun

    Get out of Durant! But the casino is cool if you like throwing your money away.

    Food and Dining

    It's college.

    Dorm Life

    Your social life will swell but don't get too caught up on partying!

    Academic Rigor

    There could be some better professors, but overall it's not bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Financial aid processing takes a WHILE! Don't sweat it if there's road bumps, but if you try and help the office get the forms they need, it'll run smoothly.

    In three sentences

    School spirit lacks a bit, but it's a pretty campus and I truly enjoy my time spent here.