Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southeastern University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/06/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 out of 23 people found this review useful. 1 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People that are looking to use their degrees in a Christian ministry and making a difference in the world

    Tips for prospective students

    Do visit and see for yourself how much is going on and how beautiful the campus is

    Bang for the buck

    This is my first time going to a college but I think so.

    Will enjoy being here

    It is a beautiful, Christian campus. Small and unique. I felt very comfortable and active when I visited

    Will learn a lot

    I think the academic program there is rated highly

  • 11/17/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 out of 17 people found this review useful. 2 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the college if you can!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little pricey but it seems worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    Southeastern has a Beautiful campus, a cafeteria that looks like a restaurant, and dorms that are new and gorgeous! All rooms have room cleaning service for free. Laundry is also free. Everyone I met was friendly and eager to help. The students were cheerful and nice. It was one of the most welcoming schools I have visited. It had a pleasant Christian Atmosphere and felt safe and home-like. The campus is a beautiful area surrounded by lakes and huge oak trees and fountains. Southeastern is planning to build a new Preforming arts center and Library to math the Mediterranean style of their new buildings.

    Will learn a lot

    All the professors seemed very knowledgeable and are dedicated to their work. They have a passions for helping students grow.

  • 10/25/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 out of 15 people found this review useful. 3 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is a great school but it is very expensive. Luckily, they have great scholarship opportunities.

    Will enjoy being here

    I immediately felt at home here.

    Will learn a lot

    I know I will grow in Christ a lot here. The professors, students, and counselors all seem really educated.

  • 02/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 4 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students who really want to learn and learn in a Christ-centered environment. The teachers will go out of their way to help you understand the material and they bring Christian-views into the curriculum in a unique way that is not overbearing nor discrediting to our maker.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should absolutely go to preview days if you have the opportunity. It is a great chance to stay on campus and experience what life is like at Southeastern. Its a beautiful environment and the people are warm and friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is really expensive, but I think the quality of the education is worth the cost. Your not going to get the interaction and one on one time with other schools like you can here.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are hundreds, literally hundreds of opportunities to get involved here. They have programs and clubs for pretty much anyone and it is so easy to connect.

    Am learning a lot

    I truly enjoy going to class everyday; the professors use many tools for teaching and are very helpful if you do not understand something. They definitely don't just throw up a PowerPoint presentation and read from it word for word.

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 5 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to go to a school that offers Christian values will feel right at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you double check where all your paperwork is being sent. There are a lot of different departments and paperwork can get lost in the shuffle so make copies of everything including letters of recommendation.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of tuition is well worth the education one receives.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment and student activities make this university a great place to live and learn.

    Am learning a lot

    Each class a student takes at Southeastern is designed to cater to all the learning styles so no student is left in the dark.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At Southeastern University we have constant 24 hour suveilance. With video cameras monitering the surroundings, and security staff always on hand. I promise you Southeastern is safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life per say. We do however offer many clubs that are open to everyone. Come as you are!

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are numerous and encouraged at Southeastern. There is no better way to get plugged in. No selectivity, all are welcome.

    Great for these types of students

    Southeastern is great for all types of students reguardless of walks of life. Diversity is welcome and encouraged. Plus students are encouraged to travel to countries worldwide.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Southeastern has awesome events such as concerts and parties. This May we are even being visited by Tim Tebow of the Denver Broncos! Always be on the lookout for exciting events!

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private school, Southeastern may be a bit pricey. However, many scholarships are offered as well as financial aid. It is definately worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    Lakeland is full of interesting eats and gorgeous scenery. I highly reccomend down town Lakeland for a fun afternoon. On the plus side we are only 45 minutes from the beach and an hour from Disney!

    Food and Dining

    Chartwell's is the name of Southeastern's cafeteria. Offering a buffet style dining experience, any picky eater will be satisfied. Other food services such as Mi Casa Cafe, a student can never go hungry!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are magnificient. With a variety of living decisions, buildings with inspirational meanings, like esperanza (Hope) ,and breathetaking landscape, Southeastern University is in prestine condition. All it's missing is you.

    Academic Rigor

    Students are definately challenged here at SEU. With professors who have actual real world expirience in their fields, learning goes beyond the classroom. I promise you will be well equipped when graduation rolls around the corner.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind and an open heart. You reap what you sow. So if you invest in friendships or whatever you set your mind to, you will succeed.

    In three sentences

    Christ-centered at heart, Southeastern University truely lives out what it preaches. Offering outlets in sports, academic clubs, and community service organizations: our influence goes beyond the campus. Through our mission of being salt to the earth, Southeastern helps you grow academically as well as spiritually.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    southeastern is a great place for the above-average student that wants to excel in his/her academic studies as well as grow towards god. if you want to go to a college with the best professors around, come to seu!

    Bang for the buck

    it is expensive, but there isn't another place like it. one of the best qualities of southeastern is the chapel services, which are uncontested among rival christian schools.

    What to do for fun

    orlando and tampa are less than an hour drive away and lakeland has many hot spots as well. many of the local places offer discounts and such for southeastern students because of our great reputation around town.

    Food and Dining

    it tastes just like momma cooked it!

    Dorm Life

    in my dorm, everyone is really close to each other and there is a sense of community among us. it is something special that i don't feel i could get anywhere else.

    Academic Rigor

    there are some classes that challenge each person to step up, while some of the more introductory classes are simpler.

    Tips for prospective students

    i want to encourage you to come to lakeland fl for a preview day! they will be a great experience!

    In three sentences

    southeastern is an amazing experience no matter where you are in your life. it seems as though every professor and administrator are on your side and are truly trying their hardest to give you the most.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    at seu campus safety is taken very seriously here.

    Great for these types of students

    seu is adaptable to every prospective student there could be.

    Bang for the buck

    the best bang for your bucks at seu is the knowledge you will gain from each individual you will encounter there.

    What to do for fun

    there is always something going on at seu to get involved in or you can just hang in your dorm or meet up with your new found friends.

    Food and Dining

    the food at southeastern university is outstanding! no matter what you like or want, it is here.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life for me has been amazing. you meet people from all across the united states and find out that even though you are from different places, you have a lot in common.

    Academic Rigor

    5 star

    Tips for prospective students

    come ready to get a true blessing from southeastern university and a very good higher education from them.

    In three sentences

    southeastern university is the best choice that any prospective student could ever make. this university is well equipped for the higher education you are trying to achieve. it's a university that you can be very proud to say that you attended.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Southeastern always puts on events, from black and white dances to sand volleyball tournaments. If you do decide you need to be off campus, you have to get creative. However, bigger cities like Tampa and Orlando are under an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is cafeteria food, you will always grow tiresome. However, compared to most schools the food is top notch, and you have no worry of gaining the infamous freshman fifth-teen.

    Dorm Life

    Best experience ever, rules are set up, but the R.A's allow you to have plenty of fun without imposing their power.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class you are humbled, realizing you do not know everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go with an open mind and do not let the price tag discourage you. You only go to college once, One wants to learn and have a great experience, Southeastern definitely delivers on that.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern University is an enriching atmosphere, they focus on the person as a whole, not just one aspect. The professors who work there, are there only because they love young people and want to see them succeed. There is something there for everyone!

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well lighted at night and there are several security officers around.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities at this school.

    Bang for the buck

    I hate the fact that for doing one's laundry one has $20 every week on your card. If its not used its gone, not rolled over to the next week. Each wash load is a dollar and so is each dryer load but no one does 20 loads of laundry a week, so that's wasted money that I'm paying tuition for.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of sports to participate in, the pool is almost always open along with the weight room but if that isn't your thing the cafe is always open so one can go there to study or make friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't too bad, there's always something to find that one will enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in a dorm and my roommate is great; my suit mates however, are not so considerate of their volume especially at night.

    Academic Rigor

    The ministry classes are the hardest. (EX: theology.)

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important thing I would suggest is attending a college-preview day. I didn't do this but i wish i had.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern University is a great Christ-based school. If ministry is your major this school is for you. However, Southeastern also offers many more majors than just ministry.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards always on duty and roaming the campus. It's a really safe place, and everyone looks out for each other.

    Greek Life

    I don't know anything about greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are intermurals, mission trips, and numerous clubs to get involved with. There is always something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love the Lord. This is a Christian school, and God is active in every aspect of life here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ring by Spring. The running joke is to get as many people hooked up as possible, so student, teachers, and everyone on campus is constantly setting people up on dates or introducing people. It's hilarious.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is definitely a bit pricey, but so worth it. And the financial aid office really works with students to get them there without leaving in heaps of debt.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do. Year around there are intermural sports you can join, and always little events or get togethers happeneing around campus. There is a pool, multiple fields, two gyms, and a beach volleyball court.

    Food and Dining

    There is a café, Mi Casa, and a coffee house, Portico. Both have great food and drinks. The main place to dine is our cafeteria, catered by Chartwells. They offer a wide variety of foods buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm halls are very involved with each other. The room size is great, it's not a scary, small, dark room. Plus there is different options for location and size of dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are very rigorous, but it is very worth it in the end. You learn so much in such a short period of time. The difficulty level makes you feel more accomplished and you gain a lot of confidence and knowledge you would not have otherwise.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come expecting to be blown away by how friendly everyone is. There is feeling of home on campus and everyone is genuinely caring.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern has an incredible staff of teachers, coaches, and advisors. The courses taught really help prepare the students for what they want to do after graduation. There is a lot of school spirit and activities.

  • 06/04/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. They have security 24/7 and also give you updates on your phone if anything happens and also weather reports. I am happy that I was accepted and I can not wait to attend SEU!

    Greek Life

    They have none.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a couple of clubs around campus but we didn't go check any out on the tour.

    Great for these types of students

    People that want to be in a Christian environment and want to learn and become a closer child of God.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I didn't see any traditions. I don't know if they have any yet.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is super expensive so make sure you get scholarships and I'm pretty sure most students take out loans. But the school does give out grants and scholarships as well. I'm told that about 91% of students get scholarships from the school.

    What to do for fun

    I saw a lot of students playing games and just hanging out. On our way to the school there were ALOT of restaurants and I think I saw a bar or two. I don't know about any clubs, but the area around the school is nice with huge houses and a big lake. I saw people jogging too.

    Food and Dining

    When I went on the tour, my family and I were in awe. The cafeteria was like a fancy restaurant. It was gorgeous! The food was amazing also. All you can eat and everything was fresh. They have some amazing pizza and cheese bread.

    Dorm Life

    I went on a tour of the school in March and the campus was beautiful. It looked like we were on a resort or a fancy mall in Italy. Everything was gorgeous. Bethany hall is where most freshman reside but after I saw how small the dorms where I knew that I would not be staying there. Don't get me wrong, it was a beautiful building but the dorms where very tiny. You have to share a small closet with your roommate so you won't be able to bring as much stuff as you would like. I felt claustrophobic. Esperanza hall was like a Italian hotel. It was beautiful. It also had more than enough space for me. You get your own closet and the room is big. The closets aren't tiny either.

    Academic Rigor

    I have no idea personally since I have just been accepted. I will be attending and moving into dorms August 16. But I do hear that the premed program is topnotch which I am happy about seeing as that will be my major and focus point.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay positive and be outgoing. Work hard and be sincere when applying and writing your essay. They really do read them. I know some students who had top grades but they didn't get accepted because their essay was so generic.

    In three sentences

    Welcoming atmosphere. Come as you are and you will make lifelong friends.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    being close to orlando. not only do you have things on campus but you can run down the road to disney world or universal studios!

    Food and Dining

    great variety!

    Tips for prospective students

    get everything done early so you don't have to worry about rushing.

    In three sentences

    one of the best schools i've ever visited. the classes i visited were top notch. i am looking forward to finishing my degree at southeastern.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun, i go to the three dollar movie theater or the outdoor mall. clearwater beach, disney world, universal studios, and epcot are all only an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    the food is ok here. on campus, there is a restuarant, a cafe, and a starbucks. the cafe has two parts- one part is set up like a convenience store with snacks, drinks, frozen food and treats. the second part is almost like a grill where the food is prepared for you. the restaurant has good food with six different stations including pizza, sandwiches, ethnic, and even a dessert station.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life here is great. i live in a room with one roommate and i share a bathroom with another room. it is the most spacious dorm i've ever been in and there is plenty of room for each roommate. each hall has a resident assistant that holds meetings a few times every semester. it is fun living here too because the ra's hold events for the students to attend and get to know each other.

    Academic Rigor

    most programs here expect a lot out of the students but i don't think it's too much. the professors here push the students to be the best they can be and perform to the best of their ability.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are always alerts going out about things happening not only on campus but also in the surrounding area so the students are up to date and safe.

    Bang for the buck

    it is expensive as it is a private school. but online classes are cheaper and they still give the same rigor as traditional classes. but either way it is worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    there are always events going on around campus that are really fun. tim tebow just visited for a dinner recently.

    Food and Dining

    during my preview stay i ate there and the food was amazing!!

    Dorm Life

    i'm and online student and i've only spent one night there, on preview visit, but based on that one night (which is not a whole lot) it's pretty good.

    Tips for prospective students

    register early! classes go quick.

    In three sentences

    i love southeastern university! the people (counselors, technical support, ect.) are super friendly! and i've never had a issue with any professor or counselor helping me with classes.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    lots of people go wooooop wooop instead of clapping and clap for people when they drop stuff in the cafeteria.

    What to do for fun

    Tons of events all the time that are usually free. Movies. close to downtown Lakeland and lots of stores.

    Food and Dining

    Depends on what day. Our cafeteria is also open to the public as a resturant and lots of the elderly come. We have great desserts, terrible fruit, and good food with many options. It all depends on what day.

    Dorm Life

    You have many options of where to live. You can live in the apartment like buildings without kitchens, South Pointe and Valencia, or Buttercup, and you have a lot of privacy there and quiet. Bethany and Bauer are very friendly dorms with a lot of community, lots of fun, it's noisy, and you have community bathrooms. Aventura, Esperanza, and Destino are the perfect inbetween of those two dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of mercy and wiggle room you will have in your classes all depends on your teacher. Most of my teachers have really challanged me, some have completely changed my life, and others I learned very little in their class because I didn't really need to. Some teachers care if your late, others don't. Some teacher's accept late work, others grade harshly and don't accept late work. All of my science classes and English class have kept me really engaged and helped me to learn a lot. Those were my most demanding classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    SouthEastern has a great social atmosphere with a lot of fun and temptation when you have to study. But it also has great teachers who will make classes like English or math, meaningful and spiritually uplifting. Sometimes the room checks, ladies cleaning your rooms you have to work around, and only select open dorm times can be tedious...but I think if you go here you will find it worth it. Also, it can be financially overwhelming.

    In three sentences

    SouthEastern University is an excellent University. It has many welcoming, friendly people, sincere Christians, caring teachers, and a beautiful campus. SouthEastern also is a lot of fun with many events going on all the time and opportunities to meet people.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security guards all across campus 24/7. I feel extremely safe here, even at night.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love the arts, then you will love Southeastern's Communication and Music departments. We always put on spectacular performances.

    Bang for the buck

    One thing about being at a private collage is that it can be pretty expensive. It does take a lot of work searching for scholarships and other aid to continue my education.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities to do on campus and many clubs and organizations to get involved with. We are all about community, so we are constantly putting together events for students to enjoy themselves.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and getting better. The cafeteria is set up like an all-you-can-eat buffet and you have tons of items to choose from. At times it can be hit or miss but for the most part, it is very satisfying. Also on campus, we have a small cafe called Mi Casa where you can buy snacks and drinks or order from the grill station a fresh cooked meal.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life. You have many options of where and how you want to live, from sharing a home with four other people to being in a single room by yourself. The freshman dorms are great to. They have a community aspect to them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I have taken so far are amazing. The professors really have a passion for what they teach. You do have to put in your fair share of work to make the grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not wait until the last minute to check the school out. We have preview days just for prospective students and they are a blast. You get to tour the campus, eat at Tuscana Restorante for free, and enjoy a huge campus wide event that night. Also we have preview day hosts who will house you for the night in their dorm if you have traveled far.

    In three sentences

    Being at Southeastern is such an amazing experience. I have made great friends and the faculty/staff are so encouraging and supportive. The atmosphere here is like no other and I am excited for the next two years of my college career.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Southeastern is completely fenced in except for 3 entrances which are monitored for safety purposes. We have an emergency text alert system and security personnel are always available by phone of in person.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our school has a huge assortment of clubs, and they all recruit at a big kick off event called club rush. Clubs range from academic, to volunteer, to political, to athletic in focus. There is something for just about every need or desire.

    Great for these types of students

    Southeastern is especially a good school for musicians and athletes. i played soccer at the school, and our athletic programs are excellent for building up excellent athletes with solid character.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a fountain that has Jesus washing a disciple's feet at the center, and our school really embodies that concept. We place a lot of focus on serving.

    Bang for the buck

    Our campus is beautiful! Also, they do chapel services every week that are modern and inventive which is a nice atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    Southeastern puts on a lot of events: dance showcases, improv, concerts, game nights, worship nights, ect. We also have a large intermeural field where people play flag football, soccer, and frisbee. There is a sand vollyball court, a gym for basketball and volleyball, and a weight room. Our campus just put in cemented fire pits and hammocks for leisure. Around town there is the mall, lots of makes and parks, and a nice movie theatre. It's also about 45 minutes from Orlando and Tampa, so a lot of students make trips there.

    Food and Dining

    Southeastern serves great food for a school cafeteria. It looks like a really classy restaurant, and they really take care of the students. There is also 2 cafes on campus that also serve great food and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    We have a great living set up. You can live in a hall, in a 8-man suite, in a 4-man suite, or in a campus house. The dorms have cleaning services, access to washers and dyers, and are fairly spacious. the dorms also have community areas called living rooms for hanging out in large groups, there's a sand volleyball court, hammocks, and cemented fire pits for entertainment purposes.

    Academic Rigor

    I was a Psychology major, and I speak very highly of that program. They really teach you what you need to know, and they challenge students through assignments and critical thinking. However, though they expect a lot, they are always available to assist students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school! it is so beautiful that you will definitely fall in love. Also, talk to some of the teachers in your prospective major; they always make the time for people and they love talking about their programs. Also, visit on a open house day because they have many options that will show you what it's like to be on campus; you can attend classes, eat in our top-of-the-line restaurant, and even stay in a dorm with current students.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern is very Christ-centered and is one of the most loving, serving, family-like communities I have ever been in. The teachers and staff are all willing to help students and build bonds with them that foster success. You'll learn a lot at this school because they are focused on academic excellence and character development.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Though Southeastern University is located in the middle of some rough neighborhoods, the campus is a safe place to be. Our security office works hard to send out any emergency texts and emails to all students and to keep the campus safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Southeastern University.

    Clubs and Activities

    At Southeastern there are a lot of clubs and activities to keep you busy and if there isn't one for you, it's easy to make your own!

    Bang for the buck

    Let's be honest, private schools are expensive and Southeastern University isn't an exception. However, I have heard countless times from friends and even experienced it myself, when you're pinching pennies to pay for school, the professors, the friends, the atmosphere, the chapel, and everything else, makes it all entirely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Southeastern University has been doing its best to make campus life fun, especially for those who can't get off campus. With sand volleyball courts, intramural teams, fire pits, and so much more there is always a good time waiting to happen. If you're able to get off campus, Lakeland is located in between Orlando and Tampa, so there is always something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    Everyone makes jokes about the food at Chartwells (the restaurant) but the truth is, we eat better than most college students do elsewhere. You can be sure that you will never go hungry at Southeastern University, with a variety of options for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, every day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is definitely amazing. Dorm are nice, safe, and clean. Living in Bethany or Bauer Hall your freshman year ensure that you'll meet plenty of new freshman just like yourself, and help you to make those lifelong connections.

    Academic Rigor

    It's no surprise that Southeastern University isn't the most academic school around. It's a private, christian, college. Nevertheless, there are opportunities to ensure that you get the academic rigor, if you're looking for it. Southeastern University offers an Honors Program for a select few incoming freshman every year. By the time you graduate, through the Honors Program, you will have a published thesis. If that's not academic rigor, I don't know what is!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. It really isn't until you visit the campus can you begin to realize what Southeastern University has to offer. You don't even feel like you're at college at Southeastern but rather a five-star resort. Attend classes given by current students favorite professors to get an idea of the academic nature. Southeastern University has an opportunity for every student to challenge their gifts and talents and to use them to further God's kingdom.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern University is a school focused on giving each student the opportunity to develop and expand in the areas God has placed their talents. It offers an inviting, family, atmosphere among the student body, the professors, and the staff. At Southeastern University you can learn about your degree in a safe environment, all the while maintaining and strengthening your relationship with God.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do a great job letting us know what is going on via text/email, and you can always call and have security drive you back to your room at night. Not to mention the guard gate with 24/7 surveillance.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are SO many clubs to choose from and club rush is an anticipated event every semester.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on like sports games, improvisation shows, music nights, and socials.

    Food and Dining

    The 24 hour cafe is one of my fav. places on campus. The food in the cafeteria is usually pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I live in a suite and my roommates have become some of my best friends. The res. life team is awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging but almost never overbearing. I feel great about my education.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern is the best college experience I could ask for. The sense of community is astronomical. Everyone is there to learn, grow, and have A LOT of fun!

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    *****#1. Security guards are evrywhere. They are quick and at the same time very polite and professionals.

    Greek Life

    Uknown to me

    Clubs and Activities

    ***# 1. Ministry is awesome.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like music are going to have a ball. There is a great recording studio and lots of professional people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is very pretty everywhere. The gym and the soccer fields are very popular.

    Bang for the buck

    ***#1. Excellent. They are very considerate.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in sports. Is a great option to have lots of fun. There is also the church ministry that goes out to minister in differents areas of the city.

    Food and Dining

    ****#1. Good choices and excellent food. Variety is the best and you will never get discouraged about eating good.

    Dorm Life

    *****Its challenging. Is up to you to develope your inner circle everywhere you go. I believe is the best option in this hard times.

    Academic Rigor

    *****Very attainable. Its hard working athmosphere, but peacefull and very reliable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sincere with yourselves. Open your spirit and minds to what God has for you and determine yourselves to follow Gods leading on your purpose on life.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern University is an excellent college. It has change my life and given me an outstanding insight of the Holy Scriptures. I believe is the best option available for a student to be able to learn and study.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports teams, swimming pool, workout club, tennis, volleyball, plays.

    Food and Dining

    Many food choices. Nice cafeteria. Also has a cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life helps you get to know your peers so definitely stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very knowledgeable and will take time out of their schedule to meet with you if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't afraid to get involved. You will meet people and gain friendships.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern University has a beautiful campus. Their teachers are very helpful and care about you and help you. The classes challenge you to work toward your academic goals.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security 24/7

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, determined, and those looking for a great college experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has homecoming events. Also there is a sand beach volleyball net and hammocks to lay out when you just want to get away from it all.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a beautiful campus with great services.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs one could join. Enjoy the sporting events. Have professor who listen and support you. Intramural sports. A building with fun games and activities.

    Food and Dining

    Great food with a gorgeous restaurant style atmosphere.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms feel like you're living in a hotel. You got your floors moped and cleaned with bathroom/sink cleaned every week.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors truly want to prepare you for your future career(s). Therefore, some course work may seem a bit much at times but in the long run it makes you learn so much more than you expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded and it is what you make out of the experience at the school. Take the opportunities offered.

    In three sentences

    Provides excellent rounded education to their students. The professors truly care about their students education and future careers. The University stands by its morals on being able to make bright educated students.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Central Florida and Lakeland have tons of fun and entertaining opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with financial aid and an advisor every semester. It is important to stay on track with your four year plan.

    In three sentences

    I really love attending Southeastern. It is a peaceful campus and my peers all are positive, engaging, and are focused. It is a great place for students who take their education seriously.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If something unsafe has been spotted on campus, a silent alarm text message will be sent to you to stay in your dorms instead of a campus-wide alarm that could be harmful. There is always security watching who comes and goes from campus as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many things to choose from and get involved in!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student will love this place!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely. It's a little on the expensive side, but totally worth it as far as dorms, food, laundry, education and quality of people and campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is ALWAYS something to do on campus. This college makes their second highest point to help students be involved. They have great clubs and activities to participate in. There is a pool, volleyball court, gym, sporting equipment that you can check out, and different things that the school does for the students. For example, there is an activity they hold called Mystery Bus Ride. The student pays a flat small fee before and gets on a bus without knowing where they're going! They arrive at a destination that consists of fun places like lazer tag and other field trip destinations. This helps the students interact with each other.

    Food and Dining

    The food is outstanding! They have so much to choose from in the cafeteria from a salad bar and soups, to burgers and pizza! They have different stations with different genres of food and you will never find something you don't like. The desserts are to die for too!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are GORGEOUS! I've never seen a dorm room on a college campus that look quite like the housing at this campus. They're lovely, clean, spacious, and comfy!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very dedicated and love what they do. They take extra time to help you understand and won't let you leave the class if you're lost. They want you to succeed and look at you as a student with a name and a goal, not a number in a classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions! Don't be afraid to visit more than once and get as much information as you possibly can. Speak with the current students. You will never go up a student that isn't completely willing to help you around campus, give you tips, or help you be where you need to be as far as being a prospective student and getting around.

    In three sentences

    The cleanest and most beautiful campus I've ever visited. Dedicated to the comfort of visitors and the success of its students. Has the nicest and most willing staff to answer any questions you have; little or big.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe! There is staff on campus to keep everything safe, in a good neighborhood, and there's people in the front gate to check everyone who comes in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Different programs on campus. If there's isn't something your interested in, you can make one!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out on a beautiful campus! Biggest Assemblies of God university in the country! There's great people all around!

    Food and Dining

    I personally think that the food is great, but I hear from a lot of the students there that after eating it for so long it's not so great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms look nice. Good variety of buildings. Rooms are a tad on the small side but still livable.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't been to any of the classes but I talked to some of the professors and they are very intelligent and excited to meet some students that love God.

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out who you admission counselor is and keep in contact with them. He/she will let you know everything you need to get done before you arrive on campus and they will help you in every way they can!

    In three sentences

    The campus is absolutely beautiful! My admission counselor is awesome and helps me with everything, including finding the money I need. I stayed on campus during visit days and loved every minute of it!

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SEU seemed very safe; security personnel ride around in golf carts.

    Clubs and Activities

    I did not partake, however many are offered.

    Great for these types of students

    SEU is an excellent school, for christian students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At SEU, christian students will enjoy corporate prayer at the start of every class.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is reasonable, for in-state students.

    What to do for fun

    You can frequent the on-campus cafe, or hang out in the library.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food rocks! The cafeteria good is good also.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm; I was an off-campus, adult continuing education student; however the on-campus students really seemed to enjoy their living environments. Nice decor!

    Academic Rigor

    SEU's courses are appropriate and challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    None.

    In three sentences

    SEU is an A+ school.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go TO DISNEYYYYYYY! and SEA WORLDDDDD! and UNIVERSALLLLL!!!!! BEACH TRIPSSSS!!!! WOOT!!!!

    Food and Dining

    Food is unbelievably GREAT!!!!! Good priced plans but its all you can eat so got to keep up the exercising and become good at self control. YOU CAN DO IT :)

    Dorm Life

    Well I have never lived in a dorm before but during the first part of summer I found out who my room mate is and we have been talking since then. That has been such a blessing cause we are getting to know each other and she reminds me a lot of myself. They did good with assignment planning.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic strictness of this school is not harsh. Its not a school that if you fail....you fail, no matter what you'll get something out of it. They push you in a good way to maintain your grades and if you do fail a test I'v heard they pray over each test that students didn't pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is about going deeper into your faith as well as engaging you for a changing world. (so if you are wanting to help Gods Kingdom come it is just a place where God will lead you to a better you) and by the way don't let your parents push you into something if thats not where your heart is.

    In three sentences

    From the first visit I fell in love with this school. Nobody is smoking or doing any type of drug on campus. The students and teachers are super friendly and they put effort at trying to get to know you better to help you achieve your dreams.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very secure. Even some of our own peers are security guards!

    Greek Life

    huh?

    Clubs and Activities

    Battle of the dorms! and Humans vs Zombies.

    Great for these types of students

    Social.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have random firepits set up on campus to chill by at nightime.

    What to do for fun

    Go to downtown Lakeland. Also go to Evolution Records every Friday for great live music.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! Especially on Fridays.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very interesting, but its not as bad as people make it out to be.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, classes can be pretty tough. Gen Ed classes are easy though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early! Make

    In three sentences

    Southeastern is a fantastic school. It's great environment and hands on teaching is perfect for my style of learning. I highly recommend people attending this school.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Department of Spiritual formation Students in free enterprise SEU Cheerleaders and many more

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Battle of the dorms is a tradition at SEU where the various dorms battle it out to win the golden lion. We also have PepRallies and various sporting events.

    Bang for the buck

    SEU has hammocks to enjoy and soak in the Florida sunshine.

    What to do for fun

    Lakeland has various theaters including a drive-in. For fun most student go out to the city of Orlando and Tampa where they can soak up the sun or joyriding in downtown Disney. Did I mention Southeastern is near to Disney theme parks and Busch Gardens.

    Food and Dining

    Its preety good, with a chef and everything. The Tuscana restaurante is open to all of the student with various foods that will help you get through the semster.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love the resident life team! They are students just like you who are intrested in getting to know each student and sharing life with you as your Resident assistant, community leader and Resident director.

    Academic Rigor

    You are challenged in the classes academically, but the professors are always willing to help and work with you to pass the class and excel in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come expecting great things at SEU , that will help you in all areas of your life, academically, spiritually and emotionally. If you are looking for a Christ- centered school this is it! Plus you are in Florida!

    In three sentences

    A Christ - centered university. Where professors and students are willing to help and serve the students at SEU, in a Christ like way. SEU is the best and greatest university I am in, I get the help, and encouragement to continue my studies here.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hours camera surveillance

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Battle of the dorms

    In three sentences

    Southeastern university is a very good school. They have wonderful professors that are ready to help the students succeed.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of clubs to join, and sports as well.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria was amazing! It's design had a homey feeling to it, and every possible food was available.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are quite nice.

    In three sentences

    The campus is absolutely gorgeous! I took a tour and was stunned by the friendliness of everyone.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Friendly people. Students who don't mind engaging in spiritual conversations almost everyday. High spirited Christ loving students!!

    Bang for the buck

    Private school so it is a bit expensive. Apply for scholarships!!!!!

    What to do for fun

    Student life often hosts activities or you can always lay in the hammocks in the beautiful Florida weather and read a book.

    Food and Dining

    If you live on campus you are required to have a meal plan. The meals in the restaurant are usually pretty good. There's is also a cafe open 24hrs that serves really great food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is really great. You have different housing choices such as the traditional dorms or suites with eight and four people sharing a bathroom. Housekeeping comes around once a week to clean the bathrooms so you don't have to. Get to know your roommates or suite-mates and it will be a fun experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of preview days and visit the campus before planning on attending. Ask about your major to gain a prior knowledge of what to expect. Stay on task with deadlines and apply for as many scholarships possible!!!

    In three sentences

    Great and beautiful campus. Ideal for friendly people. Staff and faculty are great and engage with students.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    What to do for fun

    There's never a dull moment on campus. There's always so many events to get involved. You should never have nothing to do.

    Food and Dining

    Compared to most schools we have such an amazing variety of food. Always very tasteful and so many options.

    Dorm Life

    I feel like I'm on vacation sometimes.

    Academic Rigor

    I love all of my professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself, share YOUR story, get involved: you won't regret it.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern University is such an amazing, God-centered school. The professors really do care for their students and so do the staff. The way of living here is amazing as well.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun to do at Southeastern. Almost every week there is some type of activity going on, weather its a SEU athletic game, intramural game, an unplanned improve show, or simply an event that is hosted by our very own SBLC team, there is always something you can get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Southeastern is phenomenal. There is a huge dinning hall that everyone including the staff dines at. At the dinning hall, there is always huge variety of food to choose from. Also, just in case you get hungry between the opening hours of the main dinning hall, there is an amazing cafe that you also get very tasty food from.

    Dorm Life

    There are may dorms to choose from, all of the dorm halls has it's own special perks. The residential directors are amazing and is always willing to help. Another amazing thing is that the university is blessed to have cleaning ladies to clean the dorms once a week.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are amazing. Yes they are there to teach you, but they also take it upon themselves to be your friend as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do Be optimistic Get involved Enjoy the joys of being in college Be proactive

    In three sentences

    Southeastern is a school that not only challenges you intellectually but also spiritually. At this university, there are many opportunities for any individual to become more diverse in their studies as well as in their social life. Southeastern not only builds a great a solid academic foundation but they also help build each student's character.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THere are security guards everywhere in the daytime and in the nighttime patrolling in their little golfcarts. But dont be fooled by the miniscule automobiles; they can go prettty fast!

    Great for these types of students

    If you love God and worshipping and studying, this school is for you. if you love meeting new people and helping out others, this school is for you. If you need a safe haven away from home where people teachers, students, even staff members care for you, then this is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I forgot to mention: ZOMBIES. yes, the undead. for a week I got ran off sidewalks and walkways because of the humans were chasing zombies or vice versa. It was crazy but it was also really fun and amusing to watch

    What to do for fun

    since SEU is right between tampa and Orlando, it is easy to travel to downtown disney or even Busch Gardens. on campus, there are musical concerts, awesome sport games and even a Christmas Decorating day, where the whole campus is decorated in ribbons and lights. Bible study groups are pretty fun too!

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good. sometimes the chartwells gets a little creative and it can be goood or badbadbad! there is a 24/7 salad bar, breakfast corner, and all you can eat everything. now I see how the freshmen 15 came about.. lol

    Dorm Life

    There are a couple dormitories to choose from, and they are differences. Choose wisely, some are quiet and chill, while others can be loud and crazy. overall the rooms are nice and lightly cleaned bi-weekly.

    Academic Rigor

    STUDY STUDY STUDY! Your grades are mainly papers and tests, theres no worksheet or fluff work. your teachers don't baby you or tell you what you're missing or lacking. You have to keep track of that yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's very easy to get lazy and miss a couple of chapel services but they are worth it! no one wants to pay $50 fees for something that could have been easily done. like any other college, parties are fun and who doesnt want to hang out past bedtime? But keep in mind that your grades will reflect how much time you put into studying.

    In three sentences

    SEU is a great learning and growing experience. I learned alot about God, myself, and the study of life (I'm a biology major :P ). It's mad expensive but they give out alot of scholarships and grants as well.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Worship God, play sports, play instruments and longboard.

    Food and Dining

    AMAZING Food!!!

    Dorm Life

    Great distance from dorm to class.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and let your spirit be free and used by the Holy Spirit.

    In three sentences

    This school is an amazing school for believers to be free and learn all about the word of God. Little by little as you attend class your eyes are opened up to the great power that God has and his love and mercy. And the environment is the type of environment in which you can just be yourself no matter what.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sports

    Food and Dining

    5 The cafeteria is state of the art. You feel like you are at Disney world or a 5 star restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    5 The dorms are very appealing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time and enjoy lunch or dinner on campus.

    In three sentences

    The campus is absolutely beautiful. Everyone is very friendly and courteous. The dorms and cafeteria facilities are state of the art.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus security is top notch and security guards are always around to ensure that saftey.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are dozens and dozens of clubs to choose from and plenty of intramural sports and activities to choose from. These events and groups help you to meet new people and build relationships.

    Bang for the buck

    Personally I believe that you get what you pay for coming to Southeatern. It is one of the lesser expensive private universities and every facility and opportunity on campus is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus: a sporting event, a campus party, cookouts, battle of the dorms, sand volleyball games, and even chilling by by our new fire pits you will always find something to keep you occupied.

    Food and Dining

    We have one of the best cafeterias around so much so that they call it a restaurant. Many travelers and local people in the community come to our campus to enjoy the cuisine and dining experienece. There is always good and nutritious food to enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    The communtiy within the school is awesome!! There is always something going on on campus and you will have nothing short of a good time. The dorms are updated and convinient enough making resident life simple and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Just doing the work given to you is one thing but going beyond the workload is another. Our professors challenge us every day to build upon the knowldge given in class and grow through discussion and research.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not just research the school but the are that surrounds it. There are a lot of opportunities for community service thaat will also help you grow as a person while you are here at Southeastern. Also be ready to be engaged in the classroom in way you never expected.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern is a Christ centered university that strives to engage its students through learning. The faculty and staff give their all to make sure their students succeed and equip them with the tools to move beyond the classroom and into the community. The experience you get on campus is just as great, being able to build relationships and bonds that will last a lifetime.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is none

    What to do for fun

    There is a swimming pool and Jacuzzi. They also have a decent gym. The machines always seem to be broken though. In lakeland overall they have a good mall and a very good movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    Campus dining is good, it gets over played after the 2nd week of school. They dont have a diverse menu even though its all buffet style

    Dorm Life

    Dorms overall all good, house keeping comes between 1-2 times a week. The only problem I had was that during 2nd semester there was a roach infestation and facilities management did not work with haste. I ended up having my dad come and do their job.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are great and willing to help inside and out of the classroom. They not only are good teachers they are also someone you will be able to trust.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with financial aid and keep up with what they are doing. They are prone to make ALOT of mistakes and they will end up costing you thousands. They are not that through.

    In three sentences

    A Christ-Centered university filled with love and compassion. The teachers are friendly are willing to help outside of the classroom as well. The activities that we have here on campus are always fun.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus throws many events that are free for students so get involved.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells has the best food

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring compact storage. You can never have too much storage and when sharing a dorm room it becomes even more important. Keep in mind that school work is just as important as hanging out with your friends.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern is dedicated to helping its students follow Christ more actively and faithfully. Classes sizes are kept small and communication with professors is made easy. And the on campus cafeteria is amazing, with new choices everyday and a fully stocked salad bar.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is on watch 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    Circle K Student Body Leadership Honors Football Coming!

    Great for these types of students

    Christians Music Communications

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Human VS. Zombies!!!! (If your a nerd)

    Bang for the buck

    The area around the school is beautiful, like the lakes and downtown. Its something worth checking out.

    What to do for fun

    The list is way to long. I would say the local drive in, bowling, on-campus cafe and future coffee shop, and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    You have to be a real picky eater to not like the food.

    Dorm Life

    If you want new brothers or sisters, you will obtain some relatively quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes challenge you and the professor bond with you as they help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you worry about finding you place here, don't. You will merge in real smoothly. You won't even have to try.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern University is an amazing school. The community there is amazing and the people welcome you like your family. You will not have a problem fitting it.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at southeastern is second to none. With multiple security guards patrolling the campus on golf carts I feel safe and secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    Southeastern provides many clubs and activities to get involved in. Also team sports and intramural sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Southeastern is great for Christians who look to further practice their beliefs in an atmosphere where mostly everyone is pursing this goal.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many opportunities at Southeastern University to attend chapel. Southeastern provides chapel/church nearly 4 times a week every week.

    Bang for the buck

    My school is relatively expensive, like any private school this would be the case. Fortunately, there are many scholarships available to apply for.

    What to do for fun

    I long board in downtown Lakeland for fun. Usually at night when the streets are least busy.

    Food and Dining

    The Restaurant or dining area provides a large variety of foods daily. I like how they always seem to be looking out for vegetarians and vegans who have a healthy diet. The dining area at my school ensures this healthy diet, also providing a daily salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is well spent engaging in homework for classes. Other than sleeping and doing homework I am rarely seen in my room.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a high sense of Academic Rigor. Most everyone I have encountered seems to highly succeed in their classes, In pursuit of maintaining good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    A dynamic, Christ-centered university, fosters student success by integrating personal faith and higher learning. It has a beautiful and highly maintained campus filled with beautiful people. I am thankful to attend such a great University.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have campus security with emergency buttons in the parking lots, security is always riding around, there are camera monitors in the parking lots, and a number you can call if there's an emergency. You can hook up your cell phone and email to SEU security and they will alert you of any emergencies that would affect you such as Hurricane Watches/Warnings, Power Outages, and Severe Thunderstorms. I think the main problem they have is people breaking into cars, but I don't know of any break-ins within the past year.

    Greek Life

    We don't have sororities or fraternities as far as I know.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's plenty of stuff to do from mission trips to music to drama to Psi Chi...you name it and they probably have it. If not, it's not hard to get in touch with someone so you can create the club or event you're looking for.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SEU is crazy about coffee!! I don't know what's up with the obsession, but it's there. Also, we're known as a hipster school because the majority of people dress in the hipster style. Everyone fits in though.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're looking for a Christ-centered school with good academics and helpful professors then it's worth the private school tuition. Just to throw it out there, it's $19,986 just for undergrad tuition for one year, but with financial aid, I'm only paying $5330 for one year (Scholarships and grants only). Just make sure you talk to your financial aide person and get as much as you can!

    What to do for fun

    SEU offers several clubs plus the opportunity to pick a mission trip (or multiple) to go on. Outside of the school, Lakeland has many places to go such as Lake Hollingsworth is you like to walk, 2 malls, downtown events, and much more I'm sure. The nearest beach is an hour and a half away.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwell's...so many people give it negative reviews! I ate there during my orientation and I will admit the Pizza was gross. I don't know about their other food, but I would imagine that the food is about the same as any other college considering they all order from the same companies.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter student, so I don't live on campus. Judging from my orientation, the rooms do their job. I've heard the freshman dorms can be kind of loud, but if you can get past that then you're good.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard of one class that several people claim is impossible to pass, but in my personal path nothing has been beyond achievable. Just attend class, do your work, study for your tests and you'll be good to go! ACE is available if you ever need homework help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a Christian input on your career path then SEU is a good place for you to go. The professors integrate God into discussions to help prepare you to continue in your faith through your career. SEU is good for on-campus students as well as commuters and students from out of the country.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern University has friendly professors (especially in the Psychology department!) and a great Christian atmosphere. The professors actually care about you and want to see you succeed. Chapel services are always awesome between the Praise Music and Speakers.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    45 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though it is near a bad neighborhood, safety is fantastic. I've always feat comfortable and never had a bad experience with it.

    Greek Life

    I've personally never participated in Greek life, however there were a lot of students I knew in it and they seemed to really love serving Lakeland as a community.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many options for clubs and activities. However, the clubs and activities provided are ones not to miss!

    Great for these types of students

    Studious, strong faith, easy to make friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You won't be surprised to see a group of students praying on campus randomly.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheaper private school options, but still very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    I'm considered an introvert. So if I wasn't studying, I was usually resting and spending time with myself. When I did do stuff for fun, two major cities, Tampa and Orlando, are only an hour away, so it was very easy to go there for the night life with a group of friends. If you prefer somewhere closer, Lakeland has plenty of options for fun and dining!

    Food and Dining

    Dining is flexible and tasty. People often complained about it, but I've personally never had a bad experience.

    Dorm Life

    I give 2 stars because the housing has very little options. The problem isn't finding trustworthy people to room with, the problem are the rooms itself.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is very laid back when it comes to general academics. When you get focused on your major, it gets harder and the expectation level rises.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to meet as many people as possible. It is small enough to see the people you know every day, but large enough to meet someone new every day.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern University in Lakeland has an absolutely fantastic student body. Everyone who attends is mature and joyful. I've never had a bad experience or quarrel with any other students.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Movies, bowling, skating, eating, dances, campus activities, and other fun things.

    Food and Dining

    Food at the cafeteria (Chartwells) is ok. There are a lot of dinning places around the area to accommodate any eating habits and there is a café and coffee shop on campus

    Dorm Life

    Love the dorm life. It is very homely and community centered. There are lots of activities and games to make staying on campus fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are the same as any secular University. Classes are fairly rigorous depending on the class. Teachers are very helpful and patient in helping students achieve academic success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early. Figure out how you will pay for tuition early.

    In three sentences

    Awesome place it is a really God-centered place! The worship is amazing at Chapel and the classes are small and the teachers are very kind and patient with students. Southeastern University is very community based.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    47 of 60

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus and everyone seems nice.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    48 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Ew.

    Dorm Life

    Ridiculous.

    Academic Rigor

    Terrible

    In three sentences

    As a former student, I feel it is my obligation to warn prospective and future students about how awful and corrupt this school is. There have been several cases of sexual harassment, sexual indiscretion, misuse of money, and hypocrisy in the last 10 year s (many of which I experienced myself) all of which were conveniently swept under the rug and ignored. I was personally sexually harassed by a professor, who pretty much received not much more than a slap on the wrist. The education is a joke. Some of my high school classes were more challenging. As someone who is currently obtaining a masters in a (non-AG) seminary, my professors laugh at the theological education of SEU. I have no doubt there are truly people who love the Lord at SEU, but in my experience, SEU s idea of religion and faith is nothing but hypocrisy and cheap parlor tricks. This is a place more concerned with how short your skirt is that how big your heart is. They are more interested in your money than anything else. I spent many years in therapy and pastoral council to undo all the hurt that was done to me at this school. Please DO NOT send your kids to this school!

  • 09/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security watch is 24/7. There is a campus curfew all students under 21 must be back on campus by 1:00 am.

    Greek Life

    There is None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs related to your intended major

    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to attend a Christian school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The chapel is where we hold church services and where guest speakers come in and talk to students.

    What to do for fun

    Get off campus and explore!

    Food and Dining

    There are a variety of food options.

    Dorm Life

    Nice dorm rooms and bathrooms!

    Academic Rigor

    same as any other college; study your paying for it. Don't pay to fail!

    Tips for prospective students

    keep your options open...

    In three sentences

    The school is located in the middle of no where. Transportation is needed to get around and the campus is very small; which is great. It takes less than 10 minutes to get to class.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security everywhere which is awesome. Nothing can really just get by the staff here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are lacking. Activities are what you make of it.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone involved in the Christian faith

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bush Chapel-you'll grow to love it.

    Bang for the buck

    Don't really know yet how it is worth the buck but we will see. So far so good.

    What to do for fun

    There's many things to do while you are on campus. The primary activities I participate in are: gym, pool, and hanging with the guys from my dorm.

    Food and Dining

    Food is definitely worth. Now, there are a few days that it is just like well there's nothing you can really eat. Overall, it is very good. 4 stars because it's too small for how many students are here.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has never been my thing so I cannot complain too much about it. Just wish there was a little more involvement from the leadership.

    Academic Rigor

    I am challenged academically very well which is good because I have done well in the past and want to continue my education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into your degree. Prepare to work and school while you are here. It is worth it so take a chance.

    In three sentences

    The professors are very knowledgeable and have the desire to help you succeed. The campus is the most beautiful campus I have been to. The food is good!

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    51 of 60

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Southeastern University has a beautiful campus. I can really see and feel how God's presence is there. I am still considering it, but encourage those who are looking for a good, Christ-centered college.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Southeastern Times, Department of Spiritual Disciplines, First Year Experience, FireRadio, National Honors society, Phi Alpha Chi

    Great for these types of students

    Fun, spiritual, quiet, loud, anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We just opened a campus coffees hop where student study and hang out. This is huge for the school. Profits go straight to missions trips!

    Bang for the buck

    It is easy to get involved on campus and enjoyable. I am currently involved in the Department of Spiritual formation that plans events and outings for student. I am also involved in writing and layout for the school newspaper.

    What to do for fun

    There are bonfires, parades, movies and bible studies.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is great! Especially compared to many other school's in Florida. I am very blessed to have the food we do.

    Dorm Life

    There are many different options when it comes to choosing dorms. There is community style or apartment style like most universities.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors want to see you succeed and want to help you in any way they can. Whether it is after class or going to get lunch to discuss the class. They are very personable and encouraging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to learn something new. I know as a Communication major, I had to learn a lot about different software. I did not think it was something I would be interested in, but it turns out, I love it. Go outside your comfort zone and do the best you can.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern University is a Christ-centered assemblies of God school that makes learning enjoyable and exciting. The professors engage and push students to their fullest potential. I would not want to go anywhere else in the world.

  • 11/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24-hour campus security

    Greek Life

    honors program.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone

    Bang for the buck

    You get more than what you pay for if you invest your time into your schoolwork and spiritual growth.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out on campus, play sports on the inter mural field, read in the library or anywhere on the campus, go off campus (Lakeland).

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, and there is always a variety of foods to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. There are several options (different dorms/types) on and off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard enough to make you think and to help you learn and develop your cognitive abilities, but not too hard to pass. The professors also help with any difficulties.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships, the school offers scholarships for good academics, and some for athletics.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school that I would recommend to anyone. There are a number of opportunities to get involved on campus. The environment is welcoming, and vibrant.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    54 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do have a lot of security which is a wonderful thing.

    Clubs and Activities

    They seem to have a lot of activities according to the website.

    Great for these types of students

    For anyone who wants to pursue a life seeking after God.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a very reasonable choice to go because you get what you pay for. This may not be the cheapest but I know it will be worth it.

    Food and Dining

    This has one best college dining experiences as the have an all you can eat buffet restaurant/cafe on campus. When I tried it a few years ago it was wonderful. The food tasted very good.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be able to review here as I will not be staying in the dorms. When I was here a few years ago the dorms looked very well kept.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I understand this is a very tough but very rewarding school in order to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend anyone with a call to work in the ministry to go here as the teachers seem to teach you according to the scriptures of the bible.

    In three sentences

    The University is very beautiful campus from what I have seen online. The students and faculty have been very helpful as I have applied there and taken so long to get down there. I also enjoy that it is an Assembly of God college so I may learn and grow up in the Lord.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe! Off campus is a little sketchy but you have to be safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    I feel like there are a decent amount of clubs for a small university, however sometimes I feel limited.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody who loves a small community. People who are looking to grow in their faith.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    RedBull is very big on campus! We have first Chapel on Monday nights that many students love going to. We also have a Conference every year where plenty of amazing Leaders come to speak downtown.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great school for those looking to grow in their faith while in a community that encourages them to do so. My teachers really do care about me and do well in teaching their different subjects. I'm not sure that I make as many connections as I would at another bigger school (at least as a Business major).

    What to do for fun

    Go out to eat. Go to the drive in down the street. Go see a movie. Go downtown and walk around. Go to Starbucks. Go to Orlando/Tampa.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells is great in the fact that you get unlimited food--it's literally an all you can eat buffet. The food gets kind of old after having it every single day. They've gotten better with healthier options this year (including gluten free on many days).

    Dorm Life

    There aren't too many options of dorm living on campus. Most are just the typical one room with a shared bathroom set up. Buttercup houses are the closest you get to apartment style on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    For Accounting and Finance, my teachers have been so very helpful. They're always willing to help you and they are considered about your future after school as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take AP's to save money for General Education classes you'll have to take in college. I would have taken more if I had known that they were so great to have now! Also, be prepared for a small community--everyone does know each other. Take your grades seriously during college. Apply for as many scholarships as you can!

    In three sentences

    Southeastern truly helps you grow as a person and in your faith. My teachers have been nothing short of amazing and also extremely encouraging. You have a small community of awesome people who are all very friendly.

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    everyone either goes to the beach or down town disney

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    slurpee challenge go to all of the 7 elevens and buy a slurpee but you have to finish one slurpee before you get to the next 7 eleven

    What to do for fun

    get off campus and go to the beach, visit down town lakeland on a saturday ( they always have festivals there), go to down town Disney with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Get used to feeling loved by others on the campus. We also love hugs :) oh an find friends who own cars. its easier to do fun things off campus.

    In three sentences

    It is a peaceful campus. People are easy to get along with. Like a second family home.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have a great security and everyone feels safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different organizations to get involved with.

    What to do for fun

    Go to chapel, sport games, things to do in the city. We also have a swimming pool on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Great food.

    Dorm Life

    It is an incredible experience of getting to know other people. It is all about community.

    Academic Rigor

    The experience is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know other people. Get involved.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to grow spiritually, academically, physically. The professors are wonderful they care about you.

  • 05/08/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    58 of 60

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and has a home like feel to it. The atmosphere is warm and very welcoming. I would definitely recommend someone to Southeastern.

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and there are security officers and employees that help keep the campus safe. Whether you are actually attending the school or not, you will get updates in your SEU webmail that will notify you of any changes or different kinds of happenings around campus. Southeaster University is always making sure the students are safe and are notified of anything going on.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school holds Chapels which are typically nights where students gather together in fellowship, worship, and in learning about the Bible. It's a great time for students to come together and hear from their leaders. There is a fitness center as well, an aquatic center, and many different social events held throughout the year.

    Great for these types of students

    Southeastern University is great for any student who wants to have a well-rounded college education as well as time to integrate their faith in their learning and activities. There is an athletic department with many sports as well as different clubs and activities to join. All in all it really is a great school, not just in the education department, but also in the campus life, and the upkeep of the school really is beautiful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SEU Conference is another amazing part of this great college. Every year Southeastern University holds a conference for all the students, and they invite public speakers as well as the SEU worship band along with many other artists. It is normally at the beginning of the year in the month of February, and is a time for the students to learn more, be in community more, and just have a fun time.

    Bang for the buck

    Don't be afraid of the cost. It may seem expensive at first, and being that it is a Private school, it may be. However, Southeastern University offers many different scholarships to their on-campus students, as well as discounts in their online, evening, and hybrid classes. Also, don't forget that there are many other options outside of Southeastern University that they will accept as financial aid towards your tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many different options for every student attending Southeastern University. A fitness center, aquatic center, full-sized volleyball court, and many different areas to sit and relax. Southeastern pretty much has everything you can think of. If you want to join clubs and activities, participate in sports and the arts, or just take a walk around campus, it's a great community to be a part of. If I was able to and had the opportunity to, I would physically attend SEU in a heartbeat, because it is just that, a community. However, as I mentioned there are many options for many students, so you can still be a part of the SEU community one way or another.

    Food and Dining

    Southeastern University has many different dining options for their on-campus students. They have many different options for different students. One specific on-campus dining area is the Portico Coffeehouse. It was recently opened in 2013, and all of the money goes to support mission trips around the world.

    Dorm Life

    I have personally never been to the actual school, as I am an online student in the school. However, from what is on the school website, as well as friends of mine who attend or have attended, I have heard nothing but wonderful things about the campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be pretty intense, but nothing out of the norm for a college student. There are degree audits and graduation plans that are available to students so they can follow a plan and know which classes they want to register. As far as the general way the classes are taken, SEU has what are called sessions each semester. 2 sessions to be specific. Obviously there are 16 weeks in a semester, so what SEU does is split that into two, 8 week sessions. You can take as many classes as you want in a given session or semester. For example, I have taken as little as 2 classes in each session, for a total of 4 classes in a semester. Also, I have taken 3 classes in each session, for a total of 6 classes in a semester. Keep in mind that different classes have different kinds of academic rigor, pace, assignments, etc. So you're experience in a particular semester or session may be different than the last. Just remember to not overdo it, and always ask your instructor for anything you may need, they are more than happy to help! Otherwise, it really depends on what kind of classes you take in a given semester or session that will determine how much of an overload you will or won't have. One thing to keep in mind is that there are classes that students are required to take in which they integrate their faith, and learn about theological studies. The Bible and Faith is a big part of Southeastern University and is taken very seriously, therefore the students, or prospective students, are expected to do the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    Southeastern University takes Faith seriously and it is a Christ-centered institution, student focused community. This is really important for prospective students to keep in mind because there will be questions asked regarding your faith and values. However, don't disregard this college, because there is not enough that I could say about the faculty and staff. I am an online student, and even not being physically present, I have felt very welcomed by the staff and professors of the University. They have many flexible options for students such as myself, who are not able to physically attend the school and need a different kind of option whether it be online, evening, or hybrid. The biggest thing is that the faculty and staff are always looking to help you in whatever areas they can. Keep in mind that this is a Christian College, therefore there is a lot of faith integration in the application process and the academic classes.

    In three sentences

    Southeastern University is an accredited Private Christian school in Lakeland, Florida. It's a beautiful school with many different activities for it's students, and the faculty does everything in their power to make sure the students are successful in their endeavors as well as taken care of. This school is perfect for someone who wants to attend a school with many different options and ways to be involved as well as meet new people.

  • 07/26/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    60 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love Jesus, and want a good education this is the place for you! The campus is beautiful and it's in sunny Florida. What's not to love?

    What to do for fun

    Disneyworld and the beach are not very far from this college. It could be really fun to visit both!

    Food and Dining

    The food here was really great! The salad bar was very substantial.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were nice and clean. There are people who come in and mop the floors in your dorm every other week. (Or so I've heard)

    Academic Rigor

    I sat in on a US History class while I visited for Preview Days. The professor opened up class with a prayer. I really loved that. His lecture was excellent! I learned things about Thomas Jefferson that I would never have learned in another class. It was very interesting; he kept the class fun.