Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southern Arkansas University Main Campus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 9 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Psych and Soc majors are abundant here. These are probably the easiest degrees to squeeze out of this militant, tyrannical, overpriced apartment complex for people looking to get out from under mom and dad's roof, but with the same pesky limitations. Honestly, I wondered if somebody paid people to write those awesome reviews. I'm telling you, just talk to any serious student on campus. If that's not enough, there are plenty of other *student reviews* sites (hint, hint) that will give you an idea of some heinous personal experiences. I plan to get out of here as soon as I can UPROOT my family and FIND WORK near a WORTHY institution on higher education. After all, what the professors say here is true...sacrifices have to be made to succeed academically; and I choose to me a mom, wife, student, and employee that succeeds without ungodly debt.

    Tips for prospective students

    Think seriously beyond the aesthetics of the campus and hyped-up, jovial advertisements before you apply....then run before it's too late. If you decide to come anyway, there are a few things you need to know. It will probably be a good idea to get your gen-ed requirements elsewhere. At least that will ease your pains. Do keep this in mind though: a huge selling point around here is their accepting transfer credits from SAU Tech. Yes, they do, and you will see them on your transcript. However, if you are going to be under the Sci or Ag department, they probably won't accept your old sci classes toward your new degree. You will end up repeating courses because they feel theirs is a much higher level, even if classified the same. Fresh-out-of-school students will have a much easier time here than the non-trad. That's just a hard-learned fact. If you're 18, live on campus, and have no job, it should be gravy. (A big class scolding was about deciding if you were a student or an employee. Basically, they told us if you're going to be a student, you need to quit your job and forget about family obligations because sacrifices had to be made to do well here, in just near those words.) Also, you should know that they treat you very much like children here. Some professors have admitted that they are told to treat students this way, apparently because we don't have sense enough to manage day to day life. They will make seating charts and post them, don't deviate. They will take roll everyday, don't miss. They will lock you out of the classroom if you are late and in if you're on time. Yes, lock the door. Just hope you don't have to urinate or there's no chance of fire! And no the cafeteria is not wonderful. They do have a multitude of options, but given a choice, students go elsewhere...anywhere else. The meal plan is high and so if the pay per meal option. If you're going to live here, get a bike and take yourself out to eat if possible. Yes we do have lots of internationals. The are wonderful people. I'd much rather associate with them than the natives. The international office is great but it only works one way. If you want to study abroad, even short term, they will tell you they don't know anything about it because they only see to it internationals come here. Typical of this campus for an office not to know how to do its job.

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah, you get bang for the buck, but not in the good sense. It's true that this is a lower cost institution, but you can get much more for your money, even at the Tech. So what bang you ask...if you like to pay big bucks for a hard time and for people to be jerks to you, you get your money's worth. If you attend full time, you will see that, once all those sneaky little fees are in there, you're going to pay close to $3500.00 per semester. That doesn't include your books. I saw a review that said you get free health care. Actually that is included in those fees they don't like to itemize...a flat rate every semester whether you use it or not. But remember, if you need an injection, you will pay for that. You're also paying for the use of computers on campus whether you use them or not (a separate fee for each class that might* require them. Oh and you're paying for that new science building as well, even if you're not a major under them. (Those $20,000.00 each marker boards are worth bragging rights and fee increases.) I thought public institutions got grants for those construction projects...hmmm. At any rate, get an itemization. Some of those fees really don't make sense, about $500-$600.00 of no sense. The bottom line is this: You can get quality education at many other colleges for about the same, or even a lot less, money and you'll actually enjoy your time there without the aid and scheduling fights.

    Am enjoying being here

    God help the poor soul that gets tricked into coming to this university. The administration here is the most incompetant, ingnorant, rude, condescending, haughty, shiftless, lazy, uneducated bunch of people I have ever met in my life. Have a talk with most any current student and they will agree. The Financial Aid department is by far the worst. They will lose your paperwork, including transcripts, deny you the financial aid you've received (so screwed up for some it renders them ineligible in the future), advise students to take out all the loans humanly possible, and have the nerve to scold you if you point out their descrepancies. There is a good reason the retention rate is only about 33%. Most can't handle the stressful fight required EVERY semester just to stay in college on top of the demands of being a student in general. I've seen lots of out-of state freshman go back home after the first semester and plenty of non-trads give up a life long dream. They are quick to inform you to just deal with it because it's like this everywhere you go. Until you are a Sophomore, you are doomed to the Advising Center for making a schedule. These people have no idea what you need for your degree, don't have any idea what these classes are actually about, will enroll you in anything that rings a good bell for them at that moment, and waste your time and money. You have to file a degree plan when you come here, but it really is pointless. IF it gets put in the system, it won't be correct. The billing office, poor things, end up doing their job and that of the other pathetic offices. The problem is, since nobody seems to want to post your aid or payments, they will send you all sorts of threatening, intimidating, nasty letters about how they will not save, and even drop, your schedule if you don't pay now. This happens, then chances are you can't re-enter class and will be obliged to pay for nothing or attend junk that doesn't pertain to you at all, still nothing. Among the threats are them saying they will not update your transcript for what you have already earned. And no, this advertised payment plan does not exist. No aid is available for summer and if you enroll in one of these short sessions you have about a month to come up with the money in full. This college makes a big deal out of advertising itself as totally friendly to non-trad students and the wonders of distance learning. Compared to what? Nothing about this school is geared in a way that helps non-trads and nothing is convenient about their online learning, for what short supply exists. Apparently, the horrors of non-trad existance here is across the board. Make sure you talk to a few of them. Bonus points are awarded to living-on-campus slackers just for attending tutoring sessions. While you work you tail off, some failing kid can pass with a D just off these sessions, just show up. If you're really a non-trad, then you have a job, family, and live off campus. These tutoring sessions are set for the craziest times, which you won't be able to attend. They reserve need-to-know information for these sessions that you are not allowed to know unless you go to these sessions and it will be on tests. They say it's designed that way on purpose to boost attendance. If you just attend lectures, most of your education will come about as a result of your own doing outside the college. It's like a little scavenger hunt for knowlegde all semester long. Also, this is supposed to be a public university with no religious affiliation. Wrong! Most of your classes will envolve discussion and comparison regarding the Bible and Christianity...down to cited quotes of Biblical verses IN THE TEXT for the most unrelated subject areas. (My economics text actually states that the first economist in the world was a well know, dream interpreting character from the Bible.) How ridiculous! In fact, I just got an e-mail addressed to all students last week about applying for a scholarship. Right up top, the first line of the requirements...must be a Christian to apply and receive this aid. A little further down you see that you also must have a recommendation from your minister. So basically, as long as you're Christian, you'll receive a degree of indoctrination nearly free. The other thing is the quality of the student body. These people are so immature for college students, some even engage in play wrestling in the classroom. And I swear if I hear the term facebook drama once more, I'll vomit! Oh, and don't forget, it's all about the look. Prissy, primpy, preppie....clothes, hair, and make-up all the way. How else could you convince those professors to go ahead and give you that glorious D when you're failing? (I've heard these requests.)

    Am learning a lot

    The science department has been wonderful and challenging, especially the higher level chemistry. The professors, for the most part, are really warm and just beg you to let them help you succeed. The labs are wonderful for reinforcing the lectures. Of course if you are majoring under this department, expect to WORK. While the rest of the campus could probably get by just breathing (just needing a 2.75), which a vegetable could accomplish in other departments, this won't be the case with these more difficult degrees. These guys are great for the stubbornly over driven, academically oriented student. The brand new building is beautiful, conducive to learning, and designed to be enviro-friendly; truly the pride of the campus! The Ag folks are all extremely nice and down to earth. This department also holds students to a high standard if you're working on an Ag Sci degree. (Falling in line 2nd to the previously discussed department.) The other Ag degrees are not quite as hard, but they are still challenging. There's plenty of opportunity for hands on with their ENORMOUS farm and work study in this department seems to create a very satisfied student. Like most universities I've seen, this poor department is last on the list for building funds. It's really rundown and the second floor is only accessible by stairs. Handicapped-forgettable! The computers are pathetically slow, if they work at all, and temp-wise you WILL be uncomfortable since they can't manage to make the heat or air work properly or even at all most of the time. Not the greatest learning environment. The Language and Liberal Arts portion of the school leaves much to be desired. Though you will find a few (a very few) professors enjoying their job while doing a good job, most of them in these departments are rude and couldn't care less about you and what you're doing. With some, it takes an act of congress just to get them to tell you what they actually want from you on assignments...no topic given, but whatever you do, it won't be on subject and won't be right. The buildings are mostly older, but some have gone through some renovations, so it's still better than the Ag building. I have to warn about this for Lang and Lib Arts. It doesn't matter what grade you actually make. In literature for instance, A's are just not awarded even if earned point wise. At least that's what the professor told me when I complained about my final grade being bumped down over 10 points. Apparently that's what he told the others with the same problem for the last several semesters. Beware, you won't learn much, the textbooks are useless unless you personally enjoy the reading, and these people will KILL your GPA. Don't even think about trying to fight this one. The further up the chain you go, the more back side they cover on the way down. Fortunately, I've managed to stay in the 3.75 range, but it would be 4.0 if A's were actually allowed! I'm not under the Nursing department, however these students say this is the most god-awful experience of their lives! There's got to be something to it; there are pending lawsuits right now against that department from senior nursing students. The students say it's hard to learn and grasp new concepts because some of the instructors are terrible teachers and will not help or further explain whatsoever. The library is awesome! There are plenty of resources available including PCs galore, rentable laptops, study rooms to reserve with televisions and marker boards, a writing center, etc. This place is packed with students on every floor every time you go. Yes, I'm learning a great deal, but I'm fortunate to be under the better departments. Most of my gen-ed was finished before I came, but the few I had to drag myself through were enough to turn anybody away. To be fair in this review, all the pros and cons need to come out. There wouldn't even be three stars here if it weren't for the Science and Ag guys.

  • 12/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    International students are always welcome at SAU! We have an entire department here that is dedicated to Internationals, which helps organize event's for them to make their stay at SAU as comfortable as possible. Also, if you are looking for a mid-sized town with a school with a mid-sized student population, that crams fun, learning and great memories all into one, then SAU is the school for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to future students is for you to check out SAU. Whether it's the website or a visit on campus, I guarantee you'll want to consider SAU as one of your future college option's. At SAU, the food in the cafe` in excellent, providing a fresh salad bar and fruit daily! The many frat's and sororities we have on campus always welcome new SAU students (as well as current students) by providing free cook-out's and playing music. If you are looking for a school with a mid-sized student population, that provides fun, learning, new friendships and everlasting memories all into one, then SAU is the right school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    SAU is definitely worth your money! My spring 2011 tuition is around $2,800, which is not bad. SAU offers you everything you will need in your tuition! With your student ID, your can attend just about all campus activities for free! That includes football games, basketball games, baseball games, volleyball tournaments, several of the campus cook-out's and even the annual spring concert's they have each year! Need to see a nurse about a sore throat or small injury? SAU has you covered, with free University Health Services! You can go as many times as you would like, all for free! (With your student ID, of course)

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love SAU! It was my first choice after visiting the campus on preview day. Not only is SAU a beautiful campus, but it is also in the heart of the South West. I chose SAU because when I first came here, the campus and everyone here made me feel right at home, which was exactly what I was looking for.

    Am learning a lot

    Here at SAU, the professor's take pride in teaching! I love the fact that SAU professor's know you by name and actually take the time out to help you when you need it the most. Your definitely CANNOT go wrong at SAU!

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Greek Life

    AMAZING greek life! RUSH TRI SIG or PHI LAMBDA CHI!

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap for the amout of fun we have here at SAU!

    What to do for fun

    PARTY!:)

    Food and Dining

    Food is awful! Dining is great though!

    Dorm Life

    Amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Love love. Alwasy the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all your homework and G0 to class! Don't have too much fun on Thursday night!

    In three sentences

    This is the most helpful place I have ever been. Wether I am getting good news, or bad news SAU is always there to answer any question I may have. There are no waiting lists and no phone wait tone. I love being a student at Southern Arkansas University!

  • 10/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Pick a school to your liking and whether or not you like being close to home. Base your decision on your education and the affordability of the university.

    Bang for the buck

    Southern Arkansas University is a GREAT school for its price. The tuition isn't outrageous at all and there are scholarships that you can apply for you area of study.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love the fact that I can schedule my classes how I want to and with the teachers that I want. The food here isn't bad they mix it up but nothing will ever be better than momma's home cooking!

    Am learning a lot

    Here at Southern Arkansas University you have the ability to learn in many different ways. There are a variety of classes and also a variety of students who live both here on campus and off-campus.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking Challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Overall the college is great and i would recommend anyone looking for a nice, peaceful, learning environment to go there.

    Bang for the buck

    They have numerous scholarships to offer you and are very helpful in making sure you have apllied for financial aid and loans.

    Am enjoying being here

    They have a variety of activites to attend from greek show to student plays and free movies nights.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are well oriented. The student teacher ratio is 25:1 which makes it easy for the teacher to teach the class while helping every student in the class. It is more easier for a student to learn also because there are less distractions by fellow students.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all kind of students because you can come out with alot under your belt

    Will learn a lot

    yes because there is a lot of help on and off campus

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great tasting food. It's just easier to go to the cafe rather than spend more money off campus, depending on what they serve.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, but I hear it's good depending on which dorm you live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Really good.

    In three sentences

    It is an interesting college to go to. The teachers and staff there are helpful and friendly, and they are happy to take in anyone qualified for the college. This college really knows how to show you the college experience.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only concern I have is that desk workers are NEVER where they are supposed to be or doing what they're supposed to be doing and this could cause unwanted people to get into the dorms.

    Greek Life

    Greek life on campus is awesome.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club or organization for everything and if there's not one for what you want there are plenty of people willing to help get your organization started.

    Great for these types of students

    ANYONE!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Heartbeat during homecoming week is pretty cool.

    Bang for the buck

    Walmart and the Dollar Tree WILL be your best friend by the first week you're living on your own.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on on campus. SAB does a really good job of having an event at least once or twice a week. The weekends are pretty boring but I guess that's why that's when I always did my homework or laundry.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, the dining hall hours are good and fit my schedule very well. They need to do a better job at keeping silverware, cups, plates, and bowls out because there were numerous times where I didn't have one or more of these items available when I needed them.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in Greene Hall and it was awful. The washers and dryers were always full, broken or dirty and people in Greene had no respect for others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get everything turned in ON TIME!!! This is crucial, professors will not take late work and they don't remind you when something is due. When applying and trying to get everything sorted out you've got to stay on top of things. Just go to class and do your work, no exceptions.

    In three sentences

    SAU has a very down home kind of feel to it and everybody is really friendly. The professors and staff are all very helpful when it comes to problems you're having in your personal life or problems dealing with school and everything that goes on while you're at college. The dorms could be a whole lot nicer but I've seen worse

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety couldn't be better they have good security awareness and if you ever feel scared they'll even walk you to your car to make sure that your safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of clubs and activities from gospel choirs, to student governments.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is great they have a lot of variety of different foods from pizza to vegetarian food to an awesome salad bar and amazingly drinks.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. I would consider the dorms like mini apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically its a great school.

    In three sentences

    Southern Arkansas University is a great school. They have amazing professors and tutors ready to help you succeed in whatever your major is and they have a lot of student activities going on as well. All around its a great school.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are actually police officers (not just plain old campus security) everywhere. There is one for your dorm too that you get to know and you can get their phone numbers in case you ever need their help. They help you with anything from escorting you back to your dorm if you don't feel safe, to unlocking your car in the Wal-Mart parking lot. It's great.

    Greek Life

    There are a ton of sororities and fraternities! One for every type of person, and they are all such great people!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many things to do. You'll NEVER be bored.

    Great for these types of students

    Every type of student!!!

    Bang for the buck

    It's affordable and the number one business school in the South!

    What to do for fun

    There are over a 100 student activities. There is so much to do. There's Greek life, Fine Arts, religious groups, sports, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is amazing for being well. . . a cafeteria. There's always difference choices, and the facility is clean and very nice.

    Dorm Life

    The Residence staff are so helpful, dependable, informative, and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The syllabus for the courses prove to be challenging and helpful toward your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the full college experience.

    In three sentences

    Southern Arkansas University has excellent facilities and a phenomenal staff. They are so willing to help you in every way possible to further your education. SAU earns 5 stars in every aspect!

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play basketball in the gym with friends.

    Food and Dining

    They need more options to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    They dorms was very fun to live it , it's fun when you interact with other students, otherwise it's boring.

    Academic Rigor

    Great opportunity for learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on your work.

    In three sentences

    It is a outstanding college .It has great academic opportunities .my only fault I found in the college is it's buildings such as it's dorms and living space .

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Parties, hanging out on the yard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all that SAU has to offer you

    In three sentences

    SAU is a great place for any student to learn themselves. SAU is a great place to go and get your first taste of college. For the big city kids, this school may not be a best fit for you.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    State of the Art. You will be and feel safe at SAU

    Greek Life

    All of them

    Clubs and Activities

    All religious organizations

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to get away from home, but is intimidated by the big school atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Being a part of BAM (becoming a Mulerider) is so fun and your parents even get to participate. It is also part of the admissions process, which is the most organized process I have seen. Also check out Molly the live SAU mascot and the Bed Race the town of Magnolia really embraces the university and the traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    This is where SAU out scores all other universities. SAU offers smaller class size and personalized service you might find only at a small private school at state school prices!

    What to do for fun

    Being around the other students and making life long relationships is part of what makes SAU special. Attending football, volleyball etc...

    Food and Dining

    Check out the cafeteria at SAU. IT IS CRAZY NICE and the food is great. There is a Chik-Fil-A and also a Subway on campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice and the RAs very professional.

    Academic Rigor

    Smaller class size means personalized relationships.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give SAU a try before accepting at the much larger Universities. They have so much more to offer.

    In three sentences

    Southern Arkansas is a small hidden jewel in South Arkansas. For your college dollar you get personal relationships with admissions, professors and housing. You are not just another number and class size is much smaller.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is available at all times even if the city police is around too.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is outstanding. The Greeks stay busy and always willing to help someone out.

    Clubs and Activities

    Southern Arkansas University is filled with plenty of clubs and different activities. Once you get use to environment you'll begin to open up and want to be apart of something.

    Great for these types of students

    We have plenty of different other races if someone may feel left out. Majority of the foreigners are tutors to whatever subject you may need help with.

    What to do for fun

    I work out, attend parties, go to the games of the athletic department, but there are also a lot of different things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food consists of the cafe and there's two other food sources chik-fil-a and subway, but you can also order pizza which will be delivered.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good, there are about three co-Ed dorms, one dorm specifically for football players, and one for female athletics and nurse majors. Then there's the village which is more like apartments on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    staying on top of your grades is a must because if not will regret it later.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your research before attending and if you do decide to enroll please stay on top of your grades.

    In three sentences

    Sau is a very good college. The students, staff, and other administration are very welcoming and nice. They are also hands on.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At the beginning of the year they talked non-stop about campus safety and well informed us about the precautions to take, what to do in emergency situations, who to go to for help, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's is a good amount of activities and clubs to join for all different times of people.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on to attend and have fun at.

    Food and Dining

    I've eaten at the Cafe a couple of time and the food was great. I've heard from others that it wasn't great but I haven't had any bad experiences.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but from what I've heard from other students the dorms are exactly what they expected them to be. Everyone respects each others space. There's not a lot of noise when there shouldn't be.

    Academic Rigor

    This is my first semester but so far my classes have been great. Challenging just as I expected but my teachers are so easy to talk to and there's so many opportunities to get extra help outside of the classroom.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always policmen walking around campus during day and night. To even enter the dorms you have to slide your student ID. Every visitor must check.

    Greek Life

    They do many activities on campus. Not apart of one so I can't say much on this.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their is a club for every student of any major on this campus. They post group meetings up everywhere, there is no reason a student should not be apart of a group.

    Great for these types of students

    If your a nursing major, SAU has the best nursing program. Students that are interested in rodeo would be able to express themselves in this activity. Science major as well/

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This college has a farm near its campus.

    What to do for fun

    They have all kinds of groups for anyone to be apart of. Sororities and fraternities. Rodeo club, golf club, and your basic sports such as; volleyball, football, softball, and basketball.

    Food and Dining

    Like any school does, they have their good days and bad days.

    In three sentences

    This college has a lot to offer no matter what major it is your going into. SAU puts in a lot to their school so that their students will be able to go into the world knowing what their up against. This is probably one of the best schools in Arkansas.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a fairly inexpensive college, and is a good deal for athletes who get scholarships. The academics are hit or miss, but for the price it is a good school

    What to do for fun

    There are athletic events to go to, and the student organizations sometimes have events and activities to do. But, other than that there is not much else to do because Magnolia is such a small town.

    Food and Dining

    Before this year, the food was sub-par because there was only cafeteria food and Quiznos. But, this year Chick-fil-a, Subway, and a grill place opened, which made the dining experience much better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that a small town is the feel for you. There is not much to do in the city of Magnolia, so I would recommend being very involved on campus, whether it is student activities or athletics.

    In three sentences

    Southern Arkansas University is a college that is in the process of becoming better. There are several academic programs that are on the rise, including Science and Business. There are some programs, however, that could be improved quite a bit.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    awesome the campus PD is always on call and they can even help you if you have car trouble

    Greek Life

    its good but there really isn't a lot to offer

    Clubs and Activities

    there are some amazing clubs at SAU for instance Student Activities Board which is a clubs that manages all the activities that go on at school

    Great for these types of students

    if you are interested in agriculture or farming this would be the perfect school for you

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    first off our mascot is the Muleriders and during homecoming week they get an old drum and beat it to resemble the heartbeat of the muleriders until the big football game

    Bang for the buck

    SAU is a very affordable school, most colleges would cost you thousands more that what SAU's tuition is

    What to do for fun

    we have a skating rink just for students we have all types of intramural sports, the sky is the limit

    Food and Dining

    the food in the cafeteria is so so i mean you have your good days and bad but we do have a Subway, Chick Fillet, and Grill Works just in case you don't want cafeteria food

    Dorm Life

    I live in a dorm and I love I have a great roommate and great friends who live rite down the hall from me

    Academic Rigor

    I love the academics here its very easy to pick up because who have a lot of people who have been paid to help you

    Tips for prospective students

    if you plan on going here I would suggest you get ready to have the learning experience of a lifetime

    In three sentences

    Its a great school with a great staff, everybody that attends the school is very friendly,and it in the south so it is a fun school to attend

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always there to help. There are emergency phones allover all of the parking lots for you to use to call the police, and they patrol constantly. They will escort you if you don't feel safe walking from somewhere. They will also unlock your car if you have locked your keys in it, among other things they can do.

    Greek Life

    Though I am not participating in Greek Life myself, those that I am friends that have participated love it. You gain friends and family for life. SAU is very involved in Greek Life and doesn't allow unlawful activities to happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for almost every Major on SAU's campus. Students pursuing a certain major are encouraged to be part of those clubs and get to know other people in their same major. SAU offers several activities for students to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Southern Arkansas University is great for Agriculture Majors, Business Majors, and Athletic Training Majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SAU has the 'tallest candle in the world'- at Christmas, the SAU belltower is lit up to look like a candle. The homecoming bon fire is always a fun tradition, as well as the homecoming activities during the week. There is a Family Weekend, where dorms compete in a Bed Race and there are other events for the family to observe.

    What to do for fun

    There are always Intramural Sports going on, there is the Mulerider Activity Center that has a full gym, track, and basketball court. On certain days there are Zumba and Yoga classes. There are usually plays being performed at the theater, and there's always some athletic event to go to.

    Food and Dining

    The Blue and Gold Cafeteria has wonderful food all the time. There are also Grille Works, Chic-Fil-A and Subway that taste great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great- it gives you an opportunity to meet new people and make new friends. The dorms are nice, plenty of room, clean, etc. It's nice to see a familiar face in a new class because you know that person from your dorm. The commons areas are nice in all the dorms, and the desk workers and RAs are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but not so hard you can't understand. Teachers are always willing to help you with any problems you may be facing.

    Tips for prospective students

    It isn't and overwhelmingly big campus, which is good for students that don't want classes too large or too many people. Everyone is friendly, including the professors. The smaller teacher-to-student ratio helps a lot for those that want a closer relationship to professors.

    In three sentences

    Southern Arkansas University has a wonderful campus with friendly people. It's faculty truly cares about helping students with whatever they need. The Athletic Training Program is wonderful, also.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I was glad to know that the campus has adaquate lighting at night and campus security available 24/7. That is very important to me and my parents as well.

    Bang for the buck

    I just didn't realize how great I felt on campus at SAU. It is a clean environment, great campus security and the professors really do care about your experience and education at SAU.

    What to do for fun

    I look forward to movie nights, girls night and just spending time with new friends. Whether it's study groups or just hanging out in the game room. I am ready for the experience.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining will definitely be like home cooking. I am very excited about my future at SAU.

    Dorm Life

    Visiting the dorms, I felt right at home and saw how easy it will be to gain new friendships as well as being involved in student life on campus that will prepare me for my career after graduation.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors and students I met helped me realize the importance in maintaining my grades and encouraged me to keep up the over-achiever attitude. Once again, it was a very encouraging experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open-minded. SAU isn't just a campus for students involved in agriculture. I realized that SAU is one of the top universities in the state in the accounting field. I was extremely impressed with the campus, professors and the demenor of the students I met during my tour.

    In three sentences

    My experience touring the campus of SAU opened my eyes to the opportunities available to me close to home. The Presidential Ambassadors were extremely helpful in introducing me to professors, dorm life and explaining the benefits of campus life preparing me for life after graduating from SAU. I felt more than comfortable and am very excited about attending SAU.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    So many Greeks on campus, they're so much fun and all very nice!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't like big cities, it's a little country slice of heaven. You'll enjoy it!

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on around campus. Greek's are always doing something, and the SAB just doesn't stop planning. Plus, people are always getting together in the residence halls to play games or to just hang out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study, before coming to college get study habits that will stick with you. You don't want to cram all night before!

    In three sentences

    SAU is a wonderful environment and keeps me busy. You'll never be bored here, and you make friends instantly. This is a great place!

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because the campus is so small and most people know each other there isn't much issue with campus safety. Once a year or so you may hear a report of a small robbery but instances like this are very few and far between at SAU's community!

    Greek Life

    On campus we have Alpha Sigma Alpha, Phi Mu, Tri Sigma, Sigma Alpha, and Sigma Phi Lambda for the ladies who want to be Greek. For the gentlemen who are interested in becoming Greek we have Sigma Pi, Alpha Kappa Lambda, Beta Upsilon Chi, Alpha Gamma Rho, and Phi Lambda Chi.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and groups to get involved in! Between the Greek Life on campus, the Student Activities Board, the Residence Hall Association and the hundreds of clubs that are centered around certain majors there is a place for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    SAU is great for students who want to get out and be involved with on campus organizations. There isn't too much to do around SAU so you sometimes have to resort to making your own fun. If you are someone who needs to be entertained by someone else constantly, SAU may not be the place for you. It is also difficult for people without cars to get around Magnolia.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are plenty of unusual traditions around SAU! That's what makes us so special! To start off, our mascot is the Mulerider, definitely one of a kind! At each football game our Mulerider, accompanied with Molly, our mule, ride back and forth on the sidelines proudly waving the SAU flag with each touchdown that is made. We also have Family Day every fall so that students (especially Freshmen), can bring their families to campus and show them what a great time they are having at SAU. Each year at family day, we have the Annual Bed Race. Each organization takes a twin sized bed on wheels, decorates it, and races against another organization. The beds are judged on overall creativity, best decorated and of course which one is the fastest. At family day we also have the Great Greek Canoe Race. There is a small 'duck pond' in the middle of our campus. Each Greek organization has two members in a canoe and they race across the pond and back to determine the winner!

    Bang for the buck

    SAU is notoriously cheap. It's one of the cheapest schools in Arkansas. You definitely get your money's worth, PLUS some. The best departments on campus are the Business College, Agriculture Department and the Science Department is quickly on the rise. Any of these choices would be great majors here at SAU. Most departments do a great job of educating their students. If you are wanting a degree in Studio art or Graphic design, SAU might not be the place for you right now. We have some amazing teachers in this department, there just simply aren't enough of them or enough resources for them to use to teach the students.

    What to do for fun

    Magnolia isn't a very large town, there isn't much to do here. That's why many students result to drinking and partying so often. The student activities board has been working very hard to make sure there isn't something for students to do at least once, if not twice a week. There are frequently small time singers, comedians, and other entertainers that come to visit SAU. They also host Casino Night, Big Money Bingo and other events where students come out to have fun and can even win prizes.

    Food and Dining

    With Grille Works and Chick-fil-A being added this past year, the dining on SAU's campus has improved greatly. Students have more options now than ever before. The cafeteria is not fine dining by any means but with the new chef, there seems to be some improvement in the food quality. SAU has really been paying attention to what the students have to say about their dining experiences on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms suited for the freshman (Fincher Hall) is a great place for you to live your first year on campus. They are the nicest dorms on campus with semi private bathrooms. Other dorms on campus are okay but haven't been updated since they were built...around the 50s. The University Village is ridiculously expensive if you don't have a scholarship, and it tends to be relatively loud there in the evenings and at night. If you can, be picky about your neighbors or you might become infested with roaches. The upperclassmen don't really take care of their apartments like they should, you might want to consider moving off campus when you are a junior or a senior.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply for financial aid and housing early. These departments are the worst on campus. Consider getting active on campus through community service projects, the Student Activities Board or by going Greek!

    In three sentences

    SAU has a nice community feel about it; everyone knows everyone else. The professors are great and want to make sure you have a great education. Financial aid and housing staff are less than desirable and are slow at processing student information.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Yoga Intramurals, there so many thing to do Random stuff

    Bang for the buck

    It really depends on the amount of hours you take each semester. My major requires many hours, and unfortunetly my major doesnt allow me to graduate in a normal 4 year time frame. No matter what you are going to have to pay for school (sad face).

    What to do for fun

    Working with friends at the MAC its pretty cool

    Food and Dining

    It has improved alot with new food places

    Dorm Life

    ummm... Your smart right? If so you won't having anything to worry about.

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard, but get some rest

    Tips for prospective students

    You can meet alot of fun people here, but make sure you stay focus. It becomes hard when your having too much fun.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is awsome at SAU. They stay involed with the other students and always showing us a good time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The mulerider cafe, and the mall area.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out on the yard it's always filled with exciting people having fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring and umberella it's an outside campus.

    In three sentences

    Southern Arkansas University is a very diversed school. It's big campus makes it very easy to be friendly and meet new people. If I had to rate my school it would be a 9.

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities going on.

    Food and Dining

    So far so good.

    Dorm Life

    Started off rocky but things are starting to get better. Just had to adjust.

    Academic Rigor

    All of my teachers have been great in the classroom except for one who is really boring. I have to really stay focused, if I am tired I have to record the instrutors with my ipad.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take lots of notes and you really need a mentor to help with all the business part of going to college. Try to earn and research all the scholarships you can.

    In three sentences

    I feel the business office as well as other offices do not guide the Freshman like they should. I am totally new to all of the loans and such, I feel they think I should know all the answers, when a question is posed. It is a good school but you have to have your head in it to know what is going on.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus you can run the track, swim, go work out or walk around campus. There's greek parties and the campus does a lot of interactive, fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    Bruce center is a great place to eat when the cafeteria is having an off day.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is crazy. It is like high school but you all live together with one bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers hold you to a high standard. You're not just breezing your way through this one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're ready because SAU can be challenging.

    In three sentences

    Southern Arkansas is a decent school. Teachers are fairly decent at their job, although there is always room for improvement and the campus is nice and small.