Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Southern Crescent Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its great if your looking for a lower tuition school and not into the hole college life of dorms and party's.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study!

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great school for those considering education as a major!

    Tips for prospective students

    I have found that I get more out of on campus classes that those online.

    Am enjoying being here

    Love this school. Very hands on, small class sizes. Instructors are knowledgeable and passionate about the subjects they teach.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It feels really safe and there is a fire station right in front of the school. The police station is less than 50 miles away from the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are just starting or are returning to school.

    Bang for the buck

    It offers great classes for those who are a little short on funds.

    Food and Dining

    It has a cafeteria on campus, and access to a hundred resturants within a 20 mile radius.

    Dorm Life

    It does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a little tough, but they offer tutoring for those who need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid to ask teachers for help with an assignment.

    In three sentences

    It's a very good school to go to for first timmers or returning to schoolers. It offers alot of great programs and is really easy to get help if needed. It offers tutoring and great access to teachers.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has campus police who do a great job at keeping the school secure. They keep us safer while at school.

    Bang for the buck

    Southern Crescent is great for anyone on a budget, and wanting to take some CORE classes. It is in the middle of Griffin, GA which isn't far from other cities. Tuition is a good price for the education you get in return.

    What to do for fun

    After school, right across from the back parking lot there is a soccer field. I play soccer at Volunteer Park with a large group to get soome great anaerobic exercise.

    Food and Dining

    Southern Crescent has a great Culinary Arts program. I haven't eaten much food at the school, but I've heard the food is very good.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm is a great idea for anyone attending college. Living on campus can help out financially while earning a degree. Southern Crescent doesn't have dorms, and I have never lived in a dorm. The school is 10 minutes away from my house.

    Academic Rigor

    When in college, schoolwork is a big responsibility, but stress factors have some correlation with keeping up. Every student should be aware that school is beneficial to being successful, and it is worth going through with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would be to enroll and start their college experiences here. Future students about to be in college should be prepared with good grades, recommendations, and extracurricular activities play a vital role with their college experience. Also, high school academic preparation and set of extracurricular activities and past school experiences form the basis of college.

    In three sentences

    Southern Crescent Technical College is an up and growing college for anyone aspiring to earn a degree. The school has more discussion and brainstorming in my past and current classes than when I attended Gordon State College. The school has a lot of potential to keep enrolling new students, and be beneficial to be successful to the students and alumni.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have on site campus security

    Bang for the buck

    It is an affordable campus for what they offer

    What to do for fun

    They have a basketball and baseball team

    Food and Dining

    They have a very nice cafe that is ran by the culinary department

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    The school depending on the degree you choose is very competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early there are a few steps that you have to go through that will take a couple of weeks to complete.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good school as far as offering a variety of programs. It is very friendly and inviting and warm campus. The staff is very professional.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students willing to do anything to obtain their degree and work hard for it.

    What to do for fun

    Many events on campus and many people to mingle with

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely check more into this school. I love it and would recommend to anyone trying to pursue a degree.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school to attend. I started at another major university and found that it did not fulfill my schooling needs. Here you are actually more than just a number, your an actual student, with people and administrators that actually care about you and your success.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Follow all safety guidelines to keeping yourself safe on and off campus. It is important to know your surrounding and the people around you. I give a 10 plus safety first.

    Greek Life

    Great parties and outdoor activities will amuse you.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tennis, Volleyball, Soccer were my favorite activities. I give and 8 because not everyone will stay active but if so try out these sports you will like them.

    Great for these types of students

    Wanting to better your education for future purposes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Noodles will be your best friend. Most of the restaurants around your school will be the ones you eat at the most.

    Bang for the buck

    Student Support Services and any other scholarship that is being awarded by the school to help students will be great. You definitely have to check to see what is out there. I give a 10 scholorships are always best.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, music, drama, theatre, sorority, fraternity.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of food and dining areas that are beautiful to the eye. Enjoy your surrounding and keep it clean as you would your own home. There will be a lot of students you get to meet from different fields and you will enjoy his or her company. I give a 10 for new and delicious foods.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good for doing and work and keeping up with your work. Yet there are rules and regulations that need to be followed to guarantee your safety. I give a 9 depending on other students cleanliness.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure you understand the work and become comfortable with the work you are doing. What you enjoy will show in your ending results. A are an excellent look when it is time to go out on a job search. I give it a 10 for academic excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you start a diploma or degree field give it your all. Hard work and dedication pays off. It is a great start for your future and future generation.

    In three sentences

    Southern Crescent has the best program and tutoring around georgia. I give Southern Crescent a 10 up for there academic excellence when it comes to providing for the students.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    young

    What to do for fun

    not much around but a movie theatre

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus on orientation day to complete all paperwork.

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus. Not much parking is available. Friendly staff.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great

    Greek Life

    Not Yet

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Relay for Life Chess Club Girls/Boys Basketball Team Softball Team

    Great for these types of students

    2 year Technical Seniors returning to school

    What to do for fun

    1. Attend Student Government Meetings. 2. Attend school events. 3. Hang out in Cafeteria

    Food and Dining

    Good

    Academic Rigor

    You are out of High School.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Give your all. 2. Attend classes regular. 3. Do your homework and make time to study. 4. Meet new and nice people. 5. Don't expect to have a babysitter.

    In three sentences

    I think Southern Crescent a great place to learn. I have been out of school for 20 years, Southern Crescent got me back on track. The instructors are always willing to lend a hand.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards on every corner. I'm confident that nothing will happen to me during school. Protection is at its finest.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are hungry for knowledge

    Bang for the buck

    You get everything you pay for! The instructors give their all when teaching and preparing. They will not let you down.

    What to do for fun

    Every year there is a student appreciation day in the Spring. It is fun; they have cotton candy, free food, free T-shirts for students and fun outdoor activities. Other than that, there are sports.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria here and culinary art students that prepare meals, but the food they prepare are not as good as you would think. Its not the students fault, the school has a budget. The school needs more funding.

    Dorm Life

    This is a public college. There are no dorm rooms. I think it is better this way.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors are very lenient here. It is very well but in some instances, harder to learn. Be attentive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy and do not take advantage. The teachers will work with you in every way possible. Loyalty is the key.

    In three sentences

    The instructors here are very sweet and very respectable. I have heard about other instructors of other colleges nearby of being very rude and disrespectful. That is not the case here.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is great especially since we're down the street from a police station.

    Greek Life

    There's no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not really involved in clubs here.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who don't have a lot of time but want an education. They will work with you and make you succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm not really sure of any traditions especially since this is a new school. But it's growing.

    Bang for the buck

    Three classes here are the price of one class at a top notch university so the classes are definitely affordable especially if you get HOPE or PELL.

    What to do for fun

    I don't really spend much time here besides for school, but they have a lot of student days they get you really involved.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great here because there are students in a culinary program who cook the food and they know what they're doing!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The schools academics are very rigorous. Considering its a community college, the studies are like any other prestigous univerisity.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Complete all your work in a timely manner so you don't fall behind. 2. Talk to your teachers if you need help because they will help you as much as possible. 3. Get to know your classmates and don't be shy because most of them are very nice and helpful.

    In three sentences

    Southern Crescent Technical College is definitely a great starter school. I been here since my senior year and I have grown to understand the ins and outs of college already. The staff here is very helpful and encouraging.

  • 08/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Very good food and dining

    Dorm Life

    There is not an On-campus living area

    Academic Rigor

    If you study like your supposed to everything will be smoother for you during the academic year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Strongly encourage you to go to the school if you want a good education in an IT field.

    In three sentences

    Very good college with a beatiful campus. The application process was very smooth. The staff helped us with all of our needs during the application process which made everything easier so i can focus on classes sooner.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    This college do have clubs for you to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Hands on, interactive students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want a hands on experience this college is the way.

    What to do for fun

    I do activities like clubs, sports to have fun and meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    Have not tried their food, but heard it is good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, but I heard it is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Good college for academics at times it is a lot of work combined with other things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a college that will benefit you.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school to really learn about your career. This college showed me that college is not all about book work. I would rate this college at 3 out of 5 stars.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is the only college I have ever attended, but I have had great experiences. I never thought college was for everyone but I have changed my outlook on college's.

    What to do for fun

    There is all different clubs available to join.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe is really good and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    They dont have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic standard is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I would suggest is to make sure you register for you classes as soon as you can, don't wait until the last minute. I would also suggest that everyone does their research on what ever career they choose.

    In three sentences

    I would have to rate Southern Crescent at a 9 out of 10. They have plenty of resources for all ages. I would recommend people to attend Southern Crescent Technical College.