Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southern Maine Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking to get the most out of your money. A two year school. Some of the best teachers in the New England area.

    Tips for prospective students

    SMCC has a great cost and has an agreement with Maine colleges to help transfer credits to a four year school.

    Bang for the buck

    How can you go wrong with SMCC! You get what you pay for and more. SMCC gives your great opportunity to take advantage of different programs that allow the students to save even more money and enjoy the extra cash.

    Am enjoying being here

    SMCC is a great campus to go to school at with the history and the surrounding ocean views. Fort Preble gives the campus a old time feel with the protection for South Portland. although the aging fort is slowly falling apart, it is apart of the focal point for photographer's to take pictures. The beach provides a escape from all the learning and gives you time to clear your thoughts with the beauty of Portland Head Light. SMCC provides great views at every corner of the campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here at SMCC give a real life prospective on what you are going to see out in the field. At times they will throw a lot of valuable information at you, but it is well needed information for your success at SMCC.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students that have a lot going on, provides a lot of flexability.

    What to do for fun

    main campus is set on beach.

    Tips for prospective students

    figure out what interests you and go for it. apply today.

    In three sentences

    this college is great. its really helped me have a brighter future. i would recommend it to all my friends.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a 24 hour 7 days a week security office on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a good place for the money you get everything that you would in a university for half the cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun, we are right on the ocean, with a large beach, many on campus activities there is a full exercise room with a huge open gym above. There is a huge open field with soccer nets and a large baseball diamond open to use. As well as we are less than 10 minutes away from many awesome places in downtown Portland including the Maine Mall.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall makes wonderful food that is definitely worth the money,

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is a great way to interact and get involved in many things you normally wouldn't living off campus. They rooms are nice, roomy and offer great heat and central air.

    Academic Rigor

    Strive for the best and nothing less.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure on the day of class sign ups you are on the ball and do it asap that day. Do not procrastinate on your homework and enjoy yourself college is a great experience.

    In three sentences

    SMCC is a friendly environment with many pluses as to why you should attend. They have a wide variety of degrees and jobs on campus. They are also located on the scenic Maine ocean and it is a very clean environment.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say the security is pretty good since I have never felt harmed or scared for my safety.

    Greek Life

    no Greek Life at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus that have activities going on almost everyday. The only thing I would change is I would like more sport options.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, involved students looking for a way to find themselves and go to college with little debt.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located directly on the waterfront and in the center of South Portland which makes it beautiful and resourceful.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is worth it because the financial aid/scholarships are good and the tuition is cheap. However, I think the books are a rip-off. I bought $750.00 worth of books and only got $35.00 back.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of fun activities as SMCC like sports and clubs. The school is also very centrally located to there is a lot to do around the school in Portland. The week long festivals are entertaining also.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious and I love all of the options. My only suggestion here would be to find a way to let people take food to go since some students don't want to sit in the cafe to eat.

    Dorm Life

    I am neutral here because I did not dorm, however I have seen the rooms and they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel I have learned A lot in this school and grown as a person. The teachers really know the material well and give ample opportunity to be creative as well as insightful.

    Tips for prospective students

    One major tip I would suggest to future students is to check the SMCC portal and e-mail often. All events, information, and bills can be found here as well as scholarship opportunities. I would also suggest future students keep organized and try not to procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Southern Maine Community College is a great opportunity to save money and step into college. The education is excellent as well as the teachers and staff who run the school. I believe going to community college before going to a four year school is the smartest thing I have every done because I have a good 2 year education and little debt.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around on campus, and their office is right in the center of campus. The professors are also very aware of making sure that students feel safe in between classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs around campus for students will all types of interests. It's rather easy to get one going as well if the club you want isn't already offered.

    Bang for the buck

    SMCC is definitely one of the most affordable schools in Maine. For tuition, meals, and room and board, you will find yourself paying a fraction of the tuition at bigger Maine schools.

    What to do for fun

    There is a beach right on campus, and a 5 minute walk or drive into town will have you at all of the local stores. The Maine Mall is only a few minutes away by car, and the Old Port (even closer to campus) is filled with shopping and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    I've only been on campus at breakfast time, but I can tell you from that meal that the staff are incredibly friendly and the food is fresh and made specifically the way that you would like it.

    Dorm Life

    I personally live off-campus, but I've seen the dorms and talked to people who live in them and I've only heard good things about them.

    Academic Rigor

    You will definitely get your fair share of work while here, and your professors are going to make you think. Almost all of the professors, however, are incredibly willing to work with you and help you to keep up and challenge yourself appropriately.

    Tips for prospective students

    Play around with different majors if you aren't quite sure of which one is for you Talk to other students about professor recommendations Take classes that may not be a part of your major Take time to enjoy the beachfront view and explore the surrounding area

    In three sentences

    Attending SMCC is a great way to receive a wonderful college education in a friendly, dedicated atmosphere. Apart from the beautiful campus, there are an endless number of classes to choose from with some of the most professional and amazing professors. I recommend this school to any student who is looking for a degree in a place that is there to guide you, without financially breaking you.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's so small not much can go wrong. There are call boxes all over the place and only two dorm buildings, so you really can't get lost.

    Clubs and Activities

    SMCC has many sports teams and a club for about anything you could want to do. My personal favorite is the Business club. They raise money by posting a flier above all the urinals (and I assume in the ladies' stalls) called Dirty Business with interesting facts about businesses and businessmen/women.

    Great for these types of students

    SMCC is great for a student looking to do it right. You can take your time and actually learn here. The tuition is so low that you can afford to take an extra semester or two to ensure all the information sinks in.

    Bang for the buck

    All my classes are covered under the FAFSA and I'll be transferring to the UMaine system in a year so, yeah, you get a good bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    You're right on the beach. Go down to the lighthouse and hang out watching the waves. If you're old enough, the old port isn't too far to have a good night out.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always good. The School has a Culinary program on campus that will occasionally practice on you at the commons.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm's have never really been my favorite part. The rooms are small and you share a bathroom with three other people.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a community college but it's no walk in the park. SMCC has transfer agreements with every school in the University of Maine system, so the courses you take there are just as thorough as the ones you'd have at UMO, USM, or UMF.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your schoolwork. It's a pain but if you stay ahead of your workload you're more likely to get better grades.

    In three sentences

    SMCC is a great school. It's a small enough campus where you won't get lost, but big enough where you'll never see it all. Best part... It's on the beach!

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 security on campus. Call boxes and it is a dry campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs to choose from. Or even make up your own. That's what I did!

    Great for these types of students

    Out-going, college ready students looking for friends that want to help you succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have tons of old graveyards and forts on campus that are pretty cool to check out.

    Bang for the buck

    YESSSS!

    What to do for fun

    Sports events! Clubs! They typically had an activity to engage the students quite often. You'd literally never would have to leave campus! And did I mention the beach? The school sits right on the Atlantic Ocean!

    Food and Dining

    FIVE BUCKS all you can eat lunch! Amazing place to grab lunch. The dinning hall was pretty awesome and convenient.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say, I was an off campus student.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a community college, yes but classes were really easy. I appreciate the fact the professors actually worked in the career of the course they taught. That was so helpful for long term thinking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with an open heart to learn and meet some really cool people. Try to live on campus and join clubs and activities! Don't miss the home basketball games!

    In three sentences

    After this semester I am leaving SMCC and I am a little upset to depart. Since I moved to Maine SMCC has been an awesome place to make friends from all over and get a good education! Out of state tuition was even cheaper than my instate tuition back at home!

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None other than the Greek society that is made up of honor students.

    Bang for the buck

    Is a great education at an affordable cost.

    What to do for fun

    SMCC is located on a beach, what more could you ask for?!

    Food and Dining

    There is a nice little cafeteria that serves meals as well as a little snack shack in the student center. What is really great about the school is the culinary arts program and their gourmet meals that you can attend for a fraction of the price of a restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    One hall is gorgeous and the other is a bit older.

    Academic Rigor

    I've been in some very challenging courses; however, I've been in some class in which the professor wants to see the students succeed so badly that they become very easy and unchallenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to school early because parking is sparse.

    In three sentences

    It is a very affordable college, being the least expensive in New England. The transfer agreements between SMCC and four year college is amazing and you know that you will not be wasting time in a class that will not transfer. The trade programs are well known in the area.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who haven't quite decided what they want to do, this is a perfect chance for them to experience college life&think.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This school is the #5 most haunted school on the east coast according to some websites. If you are ever bored at night... go GHOST HUNTING!

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of Clubs to go to such as Anime Club, Gaming Club, Student Council, and many more. Don't forget sports!

    Food and Dining

    THE FOOD IS AMAZING. Seriously buffet style food, actually fully cooked, vegan options, vegetarian options, and most of all most of it is LOCAL.

    Dorm Life

    Barely any partying, you start to know everyone's faces though, and it is really nice. There is bingas nearby for all the clubgoers, and Styxx as well!

    Academic Rigor

    This all depends on how you balance your schedule. My schedule has 5 classes, two on monday&wednesday, two on tuesday&thursday, and a big one on friday!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to someone who is in the college about their experience, including the application process, financial aid process, and much more. This will help you greatly!

    In three sentences

    Southern Maine Community College should actually be called a coastal college out of irony! It is right on the coast, but there is no way you can coast by. Even though it is a community college, you still have to apply yourself like any higher up college, and everyone here wants you to do just that.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The gym is perfect for someone who wants to work out but taking a walk along the beach is quite relaxing. You can always find people that want to go out and do things.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten in the dining hall a few times and I like the food. Then again, I'm not a picky eater but the dining all will fix most cravings.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived at the dorms, but I have visited my friends that live there. The dorm life seems quite relaxed and people respect one another. If you're trying to study, you wont have problems.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers follow the a certain work criteria that they have to meet. The teachers are also very welcoming and understanding if a personal problem arises. These teachers will work with people so they will not fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a class and you have to drive to another campus for it, don't sweat it. The campuses are only a half hour to forty-five minutes apart and it's well worth the drive.

    In three sentences

    A well rounded college with multiple campuses meet students needs. The school has fabulous teachers that will take time out of their lives to help students if they do not understand something in class. The students that attend the college are social and are also helpful in classes.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have light boxes on campus that glow at night plus security is always around.

    Clubs and Activities

    I dont participate in activities but there are some awesome teams.

    Great for these types of students

    Any students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a lot of people believe their is a little girl ghost in the lighthouse down the road.

    Bang for the buck

    Southern Maine Community College is amazing for the price. I have friends that are spending 20,000 a year for the same classes. Plus the view is unbelievable.

    What to do for fun

    There is a great little cafe down the street for a more personal hang out spot.

    Food and Dining

    The campus center cafe is perfect for grab and go. if you want all you can eat definitely head to the other cafe.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but I have heard from friends that it is nice but crowded.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes they can be very challenging. You definitely need to stay on top of your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to class early if you are commuting because parking can be horrible the first couple of weeks also sign up for classes the second you get the chance, the longer you wait the less classes available.

    In three sentences

    For the price and the view Southern Maine Community College is great. The teachers and students are awesome.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ALL STUDENTS! Any student who wants a great education, a breadth of opportunities, and many options for majors, all wrapped into a great price tag, should look into SMCC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We're located next to a marina, which is on the ocean, so we have a gorgeous view of the water front unlike any other school in the northeast

    Bang for the buck

    The professors here are amazing! Most of them are part time at SMCC and part time at other institutions, so we get the same quality of education as private system students do, at a community college price.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends in the learning commons, or on the beautiful ocean front campus, grab some lunch, or join a club and volunteer!

    Food and Dining

    The food is high quality and the dining staff cares about the students enjoyment. The dining hall has great events to get students involved too.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but from what I've seen of the dorms they look good.

    Academic Rigor

    It's college people. Be prepared to put in the work that you would anywhere else. Just because it's community college doesn't mean you'll have low quality learning or an easy way out. Most of the professors are also staff at big ticket private institutions, and they use the same course work. We just get it at a discount :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to trying new things. There are so many clubs and activites to partake in that there's no way you'll ever be bored if you're willing to step outside of your comfort zone!

    In three sentences

    SMCC is all about education and expanding your mind. The professors care immensely about their students success, and strive to make every lesson interesting and meaningful. The students are all committed to learning and making their experiences great, as well as making friends and helping their classmates.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can usually find security around every corner. It's a smaller campus so there are always plenty of people around and it feels more secure.

    Clubs and Activities

    It's all personal for me. Nothing of my interests. But there are many clubs though such as anime, pastry club, game club, international club.

    Great for these types of students

    Quiet. Unique. Looking for a slower, not very fast paced education. Likes one on one time with teachers. Really focused on studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Beach with the light house. View of another lighthouse off in the distance. Walking path along the shore.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say so. The education is great and the professors are good quality. Wish there were more things to do on campus, but I think it's a personal issue. Every person will have a different opinion based on their interests.

    What to do for fun

    Um, the beach? Unless you're into sports, table tennis, pool, card games, and many other unique clubs, there isn't a whole lot. The gym is a great place to work out your frustrations, but only 2 treadmills so you're always taking your chances.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent! Always a great variety and fun things to try. Halloween meals were very fun and the Thanksgiving feast was phenomenal! The staff is so kind. They make you feel like family and almost always will have a smile on their face.

    Dorm Life

    I'm disappointed that they don't issue surveys for room assignments. My roommate and I couldn't be any more different! Rooms are kind of small especially if it's where you spend most of your time. Otherwise, the a/c and heat make it very comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Reminds me a lot of high school. Maybe I'm just not taking challenging courses yet, but I haven't been stressed to the max or challenged beyond my abilities. It's a very comfortable learning environment though. I feel like I can go to any of my teacher, and they will help me succeed.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very homey. The environment is calming and just walking outside is a great way to de-stress. An even paced education for those who don't want to fly through subjects and really want to focus on material.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Wicked easy to apply and great counselors to help figure out a schedule to best fit you!

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing to worry about hear..You are safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    Large variety of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a beach and its got its own lighthouse.. What more could you ask for..

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable and they will get you ready to find a job after you graduate..

    What to do for fun

    The beach on campus is an awesome hangout during the summer. I just bring my fishing pole and fish in the channel.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plans are affordable and the food is to look forward to!

    Dorm Life

    I don't personally Ive in a dorm but Ive heard good things.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers push you more than others. In the end you will have covered a large variety of subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for homework, homework, homework.Just stay caught up and things will go smoothly.

    In three sentences

    An amazing two year college. The view from anywhere on campus is amazing, Everyone is very friendly!

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt very safe, and the college takes security seriously. I never had any need to do this, but there is a security office (where you go and get your id made) and I'm sure you can stop in or call them if you need assistance. There is public transportation throughout the day and evening, so you can get where you need to go.

    Great for these types of students

    SMCC is great for people going to college for the very first time, and it was great for me as an adult returning to school. Having a diverse student body with a range of ages and backgrounds was important to me. I was able to attend part time and easily arrange things to accommodate my schedule and interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is situated on a former military base, so there are old buildings from the 1900's as well as a stone wall looking out over the sea that has the openings for weapons - you can look through to sea the nearby islands. I think there is a resident osprey family (sea hawk) who raise their young in a nearby nest every year.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat the cost. Remember if you take a class at another area college through GPACU, you will pay the SMCC price for your tuition (and sometimes a small fee). In my case, this meant taking private college courses for a tenth of the price it would cost at that school!

    What to do for fun

    If you are tired of the dining hall, you can go to the 158 cafe down the street for excellent bagels, or Scratch Baking in Willard Square for baked goods.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is an excellent value - you can eat in as much as you need and there is a wide variety of healthy choices - lunch was $5.00 all-inclusive. We always had salad, international selections, and there was often seafood. There's pizza and ice cream for the people who like that as well!

    Dorm Life

    I cannot rate this well as I was living off campus. However, the school and dorm are situated adjacent to a small ocean beach and it's a short bus ride into the City of Portland. It's quite a beautiful area in the summer.

    Academic Rigor

    The school provides something for people at every level, whether you need help or you want to challenge yourself - in either case you have to take the initiative. I found it rewarding to take extra courses at outside institutions and to do an honors project the last semester. I think the workshops on using bibliography tools are helpful for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use your time here to explore as many things as you can; take a foreign cultural experience travel course, or enroll in the honors program - it will look great on your transcript! Many people don't take advantage of being able to take courses at other area colleges through GPACU - this was one of my favorite parts of my education.

    In three sentences

    SMCC provides an excellent value with what they say is the most affordable tuition in New England. You can learn new skills and gain valuable transfer credit for your Bachelor's degree. The faculty is friendly, helpful, and committed.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's the beach! It's close to the Old Port, and there are all kinds of activities on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    GO here! It's a great school and the price is even better!

    In three sentences

    SMCC is an awesome school. Great location, great teachers, and great programs! Couldn't have been happier with my first semester of college!

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus has some clubs that you can join. Overall there is not a lot to do on campus other than go to the gym or the nearby beach. There are dances on occasion and other functions that you can participate . If you have transportation Portland is a fun place to go.

    Food and Dining

    The food is average cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    I currently live in the dorms and have found that this has been a good experience which I would recommend. If you have a roommate conflict the staff will work hard to help resolve the problem.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found that courses are of medium difficulty. There are some instructors that require more work than others but you can succeed if you do the required work and attend classes as required. I have found that the instructors are willing to work with you to insure your success if you put in the required effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend attending one of the Open Houses that are offered. This will give you a chance to see what the campus has to offer and will answer many of the questions you may have.

    In three sentences

    Southern Maine Community College is a great college for students who want a small college environment . I am happy here because the college class sizes are small and I have the opportunity to get to know my teachers. It is also located in a great location near the ocean and there is lots in the nearby city of Portland.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor activity

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ocean view ....

    What to do for fun

    Ocean side campus.Very close to beautiful down town Portland.

    Tips for prospective students

    To meet with an advisor before enrolling into any classes. Study your curriculum to know exactly what courses to take first. Be the first to sign up for courses as the spaces for enrollment are very limited.

    In three sentences

    Has a beautiful campus. Seems to be growing in attendance. Over all great atmosphere.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security guards right down the road from our dorms.

    Greek Life

    Off campus

    Clubs and Activities

    I didn't join any, but they are there if you want them!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that need to increase their GPA, and students who like small classes.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    It is really close to downtown which has plenty of clubs and is a great city to find great food.

    Food and Dining

    I HATE THEIR FOOD.

    Dorm Life

    You get your own bathroom and the people are great!

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are too easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for the teachers that are rated highly on ratemyprofessor.com and you will not be disappointed! The science teachers are amazing.

    In three sentences

    SMCC has an amazing staff of teachers who genuinely care about your future. The science program is incredible, it's easy to learn and the teachers are interesting and fun to learn with. Everyone on this campus has a smile, is warm and friendly.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun there are lots of sports and clubs you can participate in. There is also a gym and an inside basketball court where you can work out and have fun with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awesome. It's prepared by chef and students alike. You cant go wrong with the food or the price.

    Dorm Life

    Both of the dorms here are great! Each building grows to become a family and people really watch out for each other.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic Rigor is great! You learn a lot and you feel excited about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If You are a new student going to SMCC I would Definitely do my research and figure out how the classes work, especially The Culinary classes, those can get confusing.

    In three sentences

    SMCC has an amazing campus and the environment creates a great experience for learning. It has teachers that care about their students and want them to learn. Not only does it provide learning experience but they also provide hands-on learning experience, which is just awesome.

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take walks on the beach and close by water fronts. Enjoy the scenery and everything that the college has to offer. Use the gym for workout and playing basketball with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely a great campus. I recommend others taking classes here!

    In three sentences

    It's a friendly and positive campus. Really enjoy taking classes here as the professor really care about their students. Very positive, energetic and amazing campus and environment.

  • 11/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never gotten mugged or my car broken into, however I have had my car scratched a few times and in some parking lots theirs no cameras so they couldn't find out who did it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and if we don't have what you want it's easy to make a club. I'm the president of the astronomy and cosmology club. Alls it takes to start a club is a teacher to back you and a constitution with by laws. It's good to make new clubs so we all can share what we know, enjoy and are passionate about.

    What to do for fun

    At SMCC we love Halloween! We spent over 5 thousand to celebrate this holiday on campus (it is the most celebrated holiday on campus) this year we had a Zombie run, a dance, movie night, flash mob and so much more. With the students activity the school is trying to make sure we don't get bored.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe where you can pick up sandwiches, chips, shakes, coffees and salads. The cafeteria has AMAZING flat bread pizza, variety of food at the salad bar and two stations were you have choices for your entree. Oh and don't forget the ice cream bar.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately I have not lived in the dorms. But I have lived in Willard square and loved the community also being so close to the school I could bike was a plus too.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone has their own concept of hard. There is always the learning center (located 2nd floor in the student center, it's also where the library is), you tube is a great resource if your having a hard time grasping a concept and the staff in the library is awesome for helping find resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will need a good attitude, be organized, eat healthy and get plenty of rest. Get folders to keep your papers together, 3x5 cards to study vocab and a dry erase board if you are trying to learn a lot of information at once.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus always have security guards watching camera's and walking around making sure everything is safe.

    What to do for fun

    Most people play pool or ping pong

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is decent, it isn't the best or the worst and the food schedule gets annoying.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small but the people you meet are all nice.

    Academic Rigor

    This school offers a lot of free help

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your read your syllabus, live by it because teachers will not remind you when work will be due

    In three sentences

    Southern Maine Community College is a great 2 year school to start with and you can live on campus. This school also give free tutoring and help. Everybody here is very friendly so it easy to get along with people.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around/convenient. Easy access because the campus is not very big. There are call boxes in every parking lot/building for security help. This feature also gets a security guard to walk you to your car/dorm/class at night or if you feel unsafe/scared. Lock your car doors, campus security cant do much about theft, cameras are not very good in the parking lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    Quite a few sports teams for being such a small school. And also many clubs and activities always going on. Every time you turn around there are new clubs. Often emails get sent out to all students informing you of these, so you don't have to go searching for the right one-they come to you!

    Great for these types of students

    Commuter students who just want to get to school and work. Classes are all day long, very convenient to work around. Athletes! The sports scene is small, but the seawolves are very competitive and have earned several awards in the past few years. Artists, this is a very beautiful and calm school, with countless beautiful sceneries nearby.Older and younger students. This is a very diverse school. And SMCC I believe is a great place to start off or go if you know you want a degree, but have no idea what you want yet. Wonderful and affordable place to get your core requirements out of the way.

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable school, and many people receive very nice financial aid packages. credits are easily transferred to many schools, and all University of Maine System schools. If you decide to transfer, this is a much easier and affordable way to earn your bachelors degree!

    What to do for fun

    This school is on a beach! There are always activities going on. There are often frisbee, kickball, wiffle ball tournaments for fun. Also many fun competition weeks(like in the winter there is a build the best snowman contest, and sledding on cardboard boxes!). SMCC offers a few sports for men and women as well as countless clubs to join. There is a gym! nice lounges in the dorms. Very close to the mall and highway-easy access to almost anywhere. Portland also has numerous restaurants that are phenomenal! Portland Sea Dogs/Maine Red Claws games about a 10-15 drive away.

    Food and Dining

    SMCC has a culinary program and there are a few nice places to eat on campus with some pretty decent food.

    Dorm Life

    Failry new dorm building is the only one ive been into, and it is very nice. Has a great lounge with a tv, pool, fooseball tables couch, vending machines. Lots of games and activities in the office to borrow if you get bored. Always something fun going on in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Its not a very hard school. Show up to classes, on time and prepared. Do the work, on time, and you will succeed (and you teachers will like you).

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a commuter, get early classes! SMCC is a fairly easy school, but dont get me wrong there are tough teachers and classes. It can be very fun or really sucky, but if you have time outside of school and work try to join a club or team, it will make things a lot easier for you as a student if you have friends and something to look forward to that will make you proud of being a student here.

    In three sentences

    SMCC is a small school that is growing, and a wonderful place to start your college career. It is a very nice school that has a beautiful campus alongside the ocean. The only downside is parking sucks.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security staff here is great and they know what they're doing. If you have any questions or help they're always there for you.

    Bang for the buck

    It doesn't get much better than SMCC when it comes to paying for credit hour and the education you get.

    What to do for fun

    The gym and workout facilities are open and usable for your convenience and you can form any time of group you want you just need it to be approved and you're all set.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great with many different options. Sometimes the seating isn't always perfect if you're with a group of friends but it's workable.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a lot of fun but there are a lot of rules you must follow. Also, make sure you stay on top of your classes because living in the dorms can become stressful if you get behind due to academic probation and so forth.

    Academic Rigor

    If you study, show up, and participate in class, you'll do great in every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set aside time to study, don't just assume you'll have downtime. Arrive early to class, never be the kid who walks in five minutes late. Build a relationship with your professor.

    In three sentences

    Good student environment with reasonable class sizes to fit personal involvement needs. If you're a commuter make sure you arrive to class early as parking is at a premium. Be active in your community and campus and your student life will be much more fun.

  • 02/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem, and I am a woman, sometimes leaving a building in the dark with no one else around.

    Greek Life

    I don't think there is one.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am the wrong person to ask about this. They force me to pay for activities I don't participate in, like dances. It makes me angry when I pay an activity fee and someone else gets a free t-shirt but I can't get one because I'm not going to their stupid dance. There is an art club, a film club, gamers' club, and I don't know what else. Sports. Student government. This is a BIG community college.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to save money on student loans. This is a good school. I was surprised at how challenging it is, and I have been to two other community colleges and two state colleges previously. The only people it won't work for are those who are easily shamed by their friends for going to community college. ART STUDENTS!!! Many of the instructors here also teach at Maine College of Art, where the tuition is $40,000 more per YEAR (if you live in the dorms). Save your loot! Take your core classes here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The South Portland campus is amazing. It is tiny, but has it's own little lighthouse, beach and old bunker built into a hill. It is on the water. You can leave your classroom and walk into the ocean. You can watch ships, sailboats and tugboats go to and from the busiest harbor in the northeast all day long. This chunk of land is worth a fortune. Wear super warm clothes in the winter because you get all of the wind off the ocean.

    Bang for the buck

    The first 3 credit class and fees cost $436. Each one you add on after that costs $386. The school is fully accredited, and all of your credits will transfer to USM, MECCA and U Maine system. I'm not sure if all of them transfer to other schools, but your chances are good.

    What to do for fun

    The administration, staff, instructors and students are working hard to make this a fun place to be. We recently had poetry readings and a student art show. Next week, there will be games and festivities on Tuesday and next year, the new student center will be open.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad! They say it's won awards. You can get ready made, stuff off the grill, salad, there is always cereal and soft serve ice cream. The best part is that the dining room is dead on the ocean and you can watch people on the school's own beach while you eat (in South Portland). In Brunswick, they are remodeling a building to be the student center and I am looking forward to seeing what they do with it. At that campus, the choices are currently freshly made popcorn, coffee from the Keurig, and vending machines. It's a new campus. Rumors report that a café/bakery from downtown will be opening a second location within a short walk, and we want that, because that café is AMAZING and always crowded. Think, three times as good as Panera Bread. The sandwiches are stuffed with ingredients, the baking is genuinely fresh, not just baked fresh from frozen, and all of the cookies, cakes and pastries are original recipes and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms, but I have my own place. The campus has its own beach and lighthouse. You can watch boats and ships go by if you need to clear your head. You will want a car. There are only two restaurants close by, and nothing else.

    Academic Rigor

    This is not a slacker school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need information, call the Brunswick campus. The lines are always tied up in South Portland. You always get bounced around and end up at email. They do call you back, but you can get an immediate answer from Brunswick.

    In three sentences

    The students are friendly and rarely stuck up, and the dean is a guy you can talk to. The instructors are approachable and are some of the nicest people I have ever met. I have taken eight classes here, and they range from casual to very challenging and not one was a joke class - one that seemed hastily thrown together and wasn't taken seriously, as I have experienced at state universities.

  • 04/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security officers on staff everyday. Security is run by students and the college hires a security company to help make sure the school is safe. There are emergency call boxes placed on campus as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a softball team, a baseball team, men's and women's basketball and soccer. The games are extremely fun to go watch and cheer on SMCC.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for Culinary Arts majors and Business majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a haunted building on campus that used to be a dorm building. Also, the whole campus except for new buildings was once used as a fort for the military.

    Bang for the buck

    SMCC is a very cheap school to go to. I payed about $13,000 dollars approximately to go their and live on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun at SMCC. You can go to the gym and use the basketball court as long as one of the basketball teams is not using it or until 10 pm you can use the open gym downstairs. There are plenty of sports games being held and a big rivalry with Central Maine Community College. It is always fun to go support the different sports teams. Also, the school is totally open to people making their own clubs as long as the minimum required people can start it.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the dining hall is actually very bad. It shocked me the first time I went because a big chunk of students at the college are Culinary Arts students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at SMCC is alright. There are obnoxious people just like at any college, but the dorm staff really cares about the people living there. They are there to help you no matter what time of day it is. There is a Residence Director that lives in each of the dorms. They will help you out no matter what time of day it is.

    Academic Rigor

    The core classes are SMCC, Math, English, Science, ect..., are fairly easy, but for me the Culinary Arts classes were actually very challenging. They make you do your best and want to do even better every single day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into SMCC with a positive attitude. Everyone there will give you respect as long as you are also respectful. Make sure to go to school events. Half of the fun of SMCC is the events that the school puts on. They really try to make it the most fun atmosphere possible

    In three sentences

    Southern Maine Community College is the best Culinary Arts college in the state of Maine. Not only are the Chef/Professors knowledgeable, but they are really there to help you learn and grow as a student. The dorm life is also very nice, there are plenty of possible friends and people that you will love to meet!