Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Southern Union State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who are very social and want to be in laid back environment. Southern Union is a small school in a small town. It is hard not to know the people in class with you. The student body at Southern Union is more like a family as in a high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    The faculty and staff are very well-rounded and helpful people. If you ever have any questions, contact someone at Southern Union, and they will be happy to help. The website suscc.edu is very easy to manage.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult returning students Students who want a bang for their buck Students who want small classroom instruction Students who want to transfer to a larger university later Students interested in Certificate and 2 year degree programs

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a returning student who has been out of school for a while or if you are right out of high school but didn't get accepted in a major university, this is the place to start. I am glad I went here first.

    Bang for the buck

    The best bang for my buck.

    Did enjoy being here

    I enjoyed my time at Southern Union. It was conveniently located to my home so it only took minutes to get to class. The instructors were excellent. The atmosphere of the school was pleasant and a little more relaxed than a major university.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned a lot and would recommend this college to anyone who learns better in smaller classes or who has been out of school for a while and wishes to return.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe neighborhood as well as a very safe campus. I wont say crime free, but there is security every night and weekend including holidays.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always a little something for everyone here. You can join just about any of the groups on campus, you just have to find a member and ask them. Simple as that!

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great place for any type of student to begin their journey.

    Bang for the buck

    Campus life is pretty solid. No big traditions you might feel obligated to attend or use, no serious rules that might impede your everyday activities, and there are designated areas for those of us who smoke.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang out in the library or student center (student center has free tv, pool tables and table tennis as well as anything you would like to bring), the weight room is available for use of all students and visitors, and there is always a baseball/basketball/or theater event to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Home cooked meals, healthy foods as well as a salad bar and friendly staff. These ladies are the best of the best and make each meal wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is pretty fair, good rules and management as well as conditions and space.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers/professors are easy to get along with and are more than willing to help you, just ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your chin up and make sure you make friends with the administrators as well as other students. Be sure to get your paperwork turned in on time and be friendly with the professors.

    In three sentences

    SUSCC is a great starting place to get your feet wet in the ways of college life. Administrators are wonderful with the current students as well as prospective students. Classes are great and easy to attend.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always come on time. Prepare ahead of time for class.

    In three sentences

    It has a positive atmosphere. There are understanding teachers who are straight forward. It's a clean environment to make friends.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Young students and adult students like myself, a 1st time college student

    Bang for the buck

    Southern Union is not expensive at all, with a quality education

    Dorm Life

    I am an adult student, so I will be living at home with my 2 daughters, 1 a high school jr and a college sophmore

    In three sentences

    I think SUSCC is a great school to attain a degree from. My daughter has attended since her Sr. year in high school and she loves. So it is my time to love it also and get my degree..

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus with on-site security, many local law enforcement officers nearby, and employees that are trained in various safety situations.

    Greek Life

    Unknown.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for ANY type of student, freshman teenager or mature back-to-school worker or for vocational training.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None known yet.

    Bang for the buck

    I can afford to attend Southern Union in all the ways that count: tuition, food/dining, transportation costs, without the extra fees associated with larger schools. I can live and eat at home, or if at Wadley campus enjoy amenities of dorm life.

    What to do for fun

    A local nearby park and eateries in Opelika, churches to visit, and various nightlife in Auburn, whichever is your style.

    Food and Dining

    Many nearby local places to eat, even on campus or bring your own and eat in the Student Union or enjoy the outdoors.

    Dorm Life

    Great for those on the Wadley campus. No dorm on Opelika campus but many local apartments or close enough to commute from many towns.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are intense enough for a great education and can still understand your teacher and ask for assistance, with smaller classes than larger colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether completing basic courses or obtaining one of the many degrees offered, I would highly recommend Southern Union!

    In three sentences

    Southern Union State Community College is terrific for any Freshman, due to a great education for lower costs all-around, convenience, and smaller classes with great teachers. You get more value for your money and time invested.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security on campus daily, security at the dorms at night

    Great for these types of students

    for students who like lower teacher student ratio, family atmosphere

    Bang for the buck

    not really sure how prices compare to other college. but i am sure it is cheaper than going straight to 4 year college.

    What to do for fun

    show chorus at the colloge, drama shows, gym at the school

    Food and Dining

    not much in the way of dining at the school, do have cafe. more places to eat in nearby town Roanoke about 28 mile east of the school

    Dorm Life

    i am not living in the dorms but they are nice,new buildings

    Academic Rigor

    you can take as many classes or as few classes as you like or as your life schedule allows

    Tips for prospective students

    Start your admission to the college, and the meeting with an advisor early. it may take a while to meet with an advisor. Ask some of the student here for some of the best advise on classes as far as the best teachers to take.

    In three sentences

    i rate this college with high marks concerning the teaching staff. Most of the teachers here are helpful and concerned that their students are doing well.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I attend the Opelika, Alabama campus. There is only one area for purchasing food and dining. However, there are plenty of fast food restaurants and a grocery store nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus. The Opelika campus does not have dorms. However, the Wadley, Alabama campus does.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to study. However, the professors are willing to help and work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are in the area, please consider SUSCC. Even if you are thinking of pursuing a four-year degree, attend SUSCC for two-years and transfer. The tuition is great and the professors are the best. Get in touch with admissions and an academic advisor early. The advisor can help you layout your plan of study in order to be prepared.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from one to ten, I would give SUSCC an 9. A nine because, there is always room for growth. However, I have encountered some of the best professors, learned a lot and had fun in the process.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I am not on a meal plan nor do I visit the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in a dorm myself, but from what I hear the dorms on the Wadley campus are nice as long as you get a dorm close to the main buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are all concerned about the quality of the education they provide.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before starting classes make sure to take a tour of the campus. That way when you start your first day you will not spend time walking around being lost. Pay very close attention to everything and present yourself in a professional way.

    In three sentences

    SUSCC is an amazing college experience. Teachers and staff are friendly and willing to lend a hand in both academic areas and day to day college life. College courses at SUSCC are affordable and class sizes are small providing the opportunity for one-on-one with your teacher.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Secure and safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to attend college without attending a four year collage, they offer small classes. Classes where proffessor know who you are and can provide one on one attention when needed.

    Bang for the buck

    I am looking for a scholarship to aid my financial bank to allow me to acheive my dreams.

    What to do for fun

    Auburn offers many fun activities for students.

    Food and Dining

    Small on campus eating area.

    Academic Rigor

    Attend classes to obtain nursing degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose a community school like Southern Union, they offer options that allow one to achieve their dreams.

    In three sentences

    Southern Union is a great community college that has allowed me to expand my educational opportunities. The school is providing me a path to achieve my goals and a future that will enable me to give back to others.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students looking to transfer to a 4 year college.

    Dorm Life

    not going to be living on campus

    In three sentences

    i love it! everyone on campus is friendly. very nice cc campus. southern union has awesome educational programs! love the campus in opelika, only about 10 minutes from auburn university which i will be transfer to. so an ideal college for transfer students looking to attend au or to just get a great education! love it! cant wait for fall!!!

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    older adults wanting to obtain a college degree. also a very good transition from high school for graduating seniors.

    Bang for the buck

    very economical.

    Tips for prospective students

    always do your best work and maintain a high gpa.

    In three sentences

    southern union is very student friendly. southern union is very reasonably priced. southern union is a very good stepping stone from the high school atmosphere to a four year college.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    I really just attend classes. There's plenty to do in nearby Auburn--sporting events, movie theatre, bowling, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is a place on campus to get fast food. It's edible, but not great.

    Dorm Life

    I am commuting from home.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not plan to study, don't enroll. If you are willing to work, you can be successful here.

    In three sentences

    Most of the professors at Southern Union are good teachers. I have enjoyed many of my classes, although I have had to work to make high grades. It's a good way to get most of the core classes behind you without spending a lot of money before transferring to a four-year university.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for freshmen and anyone who has a hard time learning like I do.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is great for anyone going into the medical field.

    What to do for fun

    Draw, hang with friends, and play video games.

    Dorm Life

    I'm in Opelika campus and they do not have any dormitories.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do your work and study for your test then you will be fine in school.

    In three sentences

    Southern Union is a great school for freshmen. Classes are small enough that the teachers can answer any questions compared to a university type class.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Local police are nice . The school is located in a quite town.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you would like to go to a club or something you will have to drive 40 minutes to auburn .

    Great for these types of students

    Low-budget , small town, country type of people .

    Bang for the buck

    The prices are very good your getting your moneys worth .

    What to do for fun

    They 2 basketball gyms , a weight room, sauna ,hot tub, pool(which is inaccessible) a baseball field, a dance room, a library and a lake to go fishing.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a wide variety to choose from , you get what they server or nothing at all. They offer deserts , the food is good when they are hosting or recruiting people to come to the school. The staff are very nice people. On the weekends they feed you breakfast and that's it until the weekdays.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have the necessity of college life, like a desk, bed , closet , sink ,3 dresser to large in size and one small one. The floor are pretty scratched up and the showers have a little mold but nevertheless its doable .

    Academic Rigor

    Giving southern union 4 stars is a little generous. I found it easy to exceed in my classes but I also over heard from other students that there academics could be rather challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure they have your major that your hoping to pursue.

    In three sentences

    A great place to start whether its beginning school or training to become a better athlete. They will help you with your career choice but options are limited. I'm grateful to be at southern union

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun at a community college

    Food and Dining

    excellent lunch room and break area.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Staff is friendly, they prepare you for bigger universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Cheap and high quality learning.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school if planning to transfer to a bigger university. The staff is friendly. There are plenty of courses to take both on campus and online, and there is also free tutoring.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems very safe and friendly. There is always a guard on patrol in a security house in the center of campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life that I know of.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for locals who are unsure of what they want to do and not going to a four-year school. It is good for students who want an associates or technical degree.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very good deal for the education I'm getting.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun on campus besides socializing with friends in the commons or cafeteria. There is not much life on the campus other than students walking to class and back.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is good with soul food cooked fresh daily. The prices for food is normal too. There is a Starbucks in the bookstore that is really good but pricey.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing here.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is not very hard because of small class sizes and great professors. Having small classes allows you to ask questions and get help on a personal level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to meet local students and commuting students from Georgia. Take advantage of the small school atmosphere to meet everyone. Get to know your professors well so you can ask them any questions.

    In three sentences

    It is a well kept with clean learning facilities. It has professors that know you on a personal level to help you. It is very easy financially and scheduling classes for your schedule.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    Not really

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many that I know of.

    Great for these types of students

    Pretty much anyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really aren't any

    Bang for the buck

    The student center has really great prices.

    What to do for fun

    I mainly hang out with friends in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't too hard, but you definitely have to study and keep on top of your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get to know your professors and study a lot!

    In three sentences

    It is a very good college. It is easy to move ahead and is a great environment to learn. I also enjoy the small classes.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe. Not the best though.

    Greek Life

    None

    Bang for the buck

    It is a bit expensive for my taste, however; compared to 4-year universities, it is quite cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Again, not much to do at all unless you are on the Wadley campus and I have never been.

    Food and Dining

    The availability for food and dining is on every campus. Much less so on the Valley campus.

    Dorm Life

    Did not have a dorm life. The only dorms available are on the Wadley campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Good classes. Small class sizes benefit the students more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to school early if you are on the Opelika campus because there are not that many parking spots for the number of students. You will be able to be more active with the school if you are on the Wadley campus rather than in Opelika and Valley.

    In three sentences

    Teachers at SUSCC are very nice and know what they are teaching. SUSCC is a very clean and kept up school. It is very student oriented.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to orientation.

    In three sentences

    Southern Union is very convenient for local people. An easy way to start college. Cheaper than going straight to a four year college.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think the campus safety is very good! No only is the town police constantly driving through the campus but the campus security is always available.

    Greek Life

    The only greek life at Southern Union would be our academic honors such at Phi Theta Kappa and Mu Alpha Theta.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities at Southern Union. There are sports teams, clubs for learning to play different sports and games, and of course the academic clubs and honors.

    Great for these types of students

    Southern Union is great for the students right out of high school who aren't ready for the big four year universities and 100 student classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I believe it's once a month that the Student Government Association host a movie on the campus's lawn!

    Bang for the buck

    One can definitely get their moneys worth at Southern Union. One year at Southern Union is less than half a semester at Auburn University.

    What to do for fun

    I personally find myself in the student center playing pool or ping pong just for fun in between classes. Many find themselves with a fishing pole in the pond trying to catch a few, and others invest their time in taking tennis lessons and lessons for other sports as well!

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten in the dining hall only a select amount of times and each time the food was actually very good! The chicken fingers and mashed potatoes meal is my favorite! :)

    Dorm Life

    I actually only live 20 minutes from Southern Union so I do not personally live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, I think Southern Union is the best place to start. It allows you to take the same classes you would at a four year school, with smaller classes. So you have a better chance at getting the one on one attention with your teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not just for Southern Union, but any college, look into buying your books online! I found a couple websites such as www.campusbookrentals.com and www.collegebookrenter.com were they sell the same books as the Southern Union book store for less than half the price!

    In three sentences

    Southern Union is a wonderful stepping stone for students who are not ready for the big towns and bigger universities. The teachers are more than willing to go out of their way to help you. The campus is small and it is very easy to learn exactly where you need to go.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, so I can't say how they are.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor that you may face could be balancing time to study for all of your classes.

    In three sentences

    Southern Union has a friendly environment for students. It's a great place to meet new people and make new friends while obtaining an education. The faculty cares about the students, and they help the students to the best of their ability.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well in Wadley there is not much you can do for fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose this school because there are a lot of great teachers, and it's a home-feeling environment.

    In three sentences

    Southern Union is a great place to begin your college career. The teachers work hard to help us learn and also prepare us for four year institutes. Also, the classes are small so you get great one-on-one attention.

  • 03/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I feel this also has a lot to do with each person. I like to go on walks or hikes outside. Lay by the pool or creeks. Go out at night with friends and dance. And many other things that are offered in college.

    Food and Dining

    I have actually never eaten on campus, but many others I know have and always say good things about the food.

    Dorm Life

    I think that dorm life depends on the person. You either love it or hate it. The dorm life was not for me at all and I enjoy living in apartments or other locations better.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that I have been taught and I have learned pretty much everything needed in each class taken at Southern Union.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter how easy you think a class is going to be, it is college and you have to study. Start studying before the class even starts and stay on track through out the semester. Enjoy college because it can be a blast!

    In three sentences

    After transferring to this college after going to a University, I have loved how much smaller the classes are. Because the classes are smaller it seems that the teachers are able to spend more time with each student to help them succeed in the class. Southern Union has offered every class that I need to take for my degree.