Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southern University and A & M College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 out of 25 people found this review useful. 1 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your mind on what you came here to do and make your college experience one that you will never forget.

    Bang for the buck

    There is plenty of money/scholarships available. You just have to find them and apply for them. Don't let it all go to waste.

    Am enjoying being here

    Try not to get too caught up in the parties. Stay focused on what's important. The scene is wonderful and there are a lot of interesting places on campus. There are also a lot of organizations to get involved in.

    Am learning a lot

    You get out of this experience whatever you put into it. It is your choice to go to class everyday because noone is going to hold your hand. The teachers are great and there are several tutoring programs on campus.

  • 01/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 out of 18 people found this review useful. 2 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SU is great for students seeking independence, assets that will prepare them for the professional world, students who seek great education quality, African Americans, students seeking degree in law-wonderful law school, and students who want to explore something different.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prompt! Attend class-attendance is everything! Focus! Ask for help-it's one thing to be ignorant, it's another to remain ignorant, never be too prideful to ask for help, ask questions, it benefits you, and you may help someone else by doing so.

    Bang for the buck

    Get your money's worth. Some students may get frustrated and overwhelmed with college, but if you actually do the math, you're being paid to go to college and in the end you'll be the one getting paid for your skills acquired from college. Don't waste time, a lazy hand is for a poor man, a diligent hand holds wealth.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy SU! Its a very comfortable environment, like home. There are special events like homecoming and the never ending parties, but if you're not comforable there are also more relaxing places like the library or the bluff.

    Am learning a lot

    Southern University offers a variety of majors and potential career fields. I must say the quality of the education is great and worth while. The Professors, students, and others have been very helpful.

  • 06/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 22 people found this review useful. 3 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared. College is serious.

  • 12/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 4 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students lookingfor the African American experience, Students who enjoy Louisiana cooking, Nursng students, Biology majors, and students interested in band.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make copies of all papers and correspondence just for your own records. Invest in a good umbrella and rainboots!

    Bang for the buck

    Southern in Cheap!!! lol. Compared to most other schools, the fees are not excessive, although there are many including myself who cannot pay out of pocket.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have so much fun! The Greek Life is great and there are programs and activities goin on every week.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are challenging and they prepare you for your field.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 52

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i have very high hopes on becoming a student at southern. i have experienced the college life here and think it is a nice college for people seeking careers in the engineering field.

  • 05/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all students!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep copies of all of your official documents that you send to the school as well as those that they send to you!

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely worth it to come and get an education while having fun as well!

    Am enjoying being here

    The school as well as the students offer a great atmosphere for education. The scenery is great as well as the social life.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are challenging but the professors work with the students that they are comprehending all of the material.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety has increased over the last few years, there are lights everywhere at night campus police are always on patrol and they have services that can pick you up at night and take you where you need to go on campus at night even if you are not fully comfortable walking alone.

    Greek Life

    there are so many greek organizations to chose from everybody can feel like they are a part of a group.

    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs are amazing, starting from community service organizations, greeks, religious based groups, singing, dancing, modeling, sports and band there is a lot to offer.

    Great for these types of students

    southern university is great for anybody who wants to be a part group but still a individual. if you love to learn and have fun and be an active student on and off campus southern is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have alot of traditions on campus, some consist of bon fires, parties to raise money for cancer, pageants, concerts, crawfish days, barbecues, and pretty wednesday's which is where students dress up for school every wednesday. unusual locations would be the bluff (mississippi river) it sits right on our campus and is beautiful.

    Bang for the buck

    i love southern university and i wouldn't attend any other school!

    What to do for fun

    there are tons of organizations to join for fun while teaching you basic skills that you will need later in life. there are campus events every week and there is a bowling ally and game room on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food is okay sometimes its a hit and miss situation. one day its the best food ever and the next its just regular food.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are just regular college dorms i have nothing negative to say about the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses at southern are very manageable some more rigorous then others but anything is attainable if you want it.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard, enjoy your time while your here and make sure you get all of your pre school stuff done ahead each semester.

    In three sentences

    southern university is a great school. on a scale of one to ten i give them a eight. southern is helping pave the way for me to have a successful future.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police patrol the University all hours of the day.

    Greek Life

    The greeks hold programs very often. The programs are based on situations that college students experience on a daily basis.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not very healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. Every college student shoulf try to stay on campus at least one semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should take the ACT and forward there scores to the University as soon as possible. They should also do online FAFSA and registration early to avoid long financal aid lines.

    In three sentences

    Southern University A&M College is a well respected HBCU. The faculty and staff are outstanding. The students are very friendly.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Is pretty comfortable and have space to rest and relax on your time free.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to study hard but you learn every day something different that help you in school and also in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Is a beautiful campus, with threes, a lot of space and comfort places to rest and study.

    In three sentences

    Southern University is a program in which you feel free and able to achieve everything you want. This University offers a lot of courses in which you can develop your skills. If you wanna succeed in life and be a productive person attend Southern University.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security Check Points and officer patrol the ground 24/7

    Greek Life

    All Divine Nine greeks are active on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Sociable,Friendly, and Active

    What to do for fun

    Lots of thing to do BBQ,pageants,parties,greek show,talent shows just so many things never a dull moment at SU!

    Tips for prospective students

    Start financial aid process as easy as possible

    In three sentences

    Southern University is a wonderful historically black college. Lots of school pride, interesting classes and beautiful campus. The only HBCU system in the U.S!

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are numerous police check points on campus, there is also a police station located on campus, each dormitory has a dorm mother or dorm father, and each hall has five residential assistants.

    Greek Life

    Southern University is home to the nine African American based sororities and fraternities. Each organization plays an active role at Southern.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life, poetry club, Student government Associations, Mens Federation, Womens Awareness, business fraternities and sororities, band, Gold n Bluez dance team, bowling team, women and men's basketball team, baseball, volleyball, soccer, track and field, class queens, and many many more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Wedensday all students dress in their best. Hence the term pretty Wedensday.

    What to do for fun

    Campus life is ALWAYS booming at Southern University. there are always numerous activities and programs. Tailgating before each home football game is a MUST. There is a dj on campus every wedensday, there is always a party going on.

    Food and Dining

    Southern University has two dining halls, a Burger king, Sub Way, Popeyes, smoothie stand, and southern cuisine mini restaurant all located on campus. Although there are numerous food options, they do all began to become repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    Southern University has nine dormitories on its campus, while some more modern than others each facility is kept in tip top shape. Room sizes are small and quaint with limited closet space. however you learn to make due. In the summer months the facility is freezing conversely in the winter it is quite warm. I suggest to invest in a fan and a heater for your personal preference.

    Academic Rigor

    At Southern University academics is key and always is the first priority. The difficulty of a course is dependent on the Professor, the course itself, and the level of the course you are taking. With that being said, my University does not give away degrees, therefore no course will be extremely easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Handle all financial aid business before you begin your semester. Also take the time to handle all financial issues in person and not over the phone. 2) Stray away from rooming with someone that you already know. Many friendships are ruined by doing so. 3) Although classroom sizes at Southern University are small professors may still forget your name. Make sure your instructor knows who you are and that you are trying in their class. 4) There are numerous versatile organizations at Southern University, choose one that suits you and become active. 5) Purchase books for your classes as soon as possible! 6) Learn how to balance both school and social life. There is always something to do at Southern.

    In three sentences

    Southern University A&M College is the top Historical Black College and University located in Baton Rouge, Louisianna. My University obtains the number one nursing school in the state of Louisianna, has a premire Engerneering program, and also produces the most lawyers in state from its thriving Law program. Not only is Southern University reigning in academics, but student intercation and social activities on campus is another reason why my university is the number one choice.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Southern University has the top chapters of every greek letter organizations in the Pan Hellenic Council. The Beta Psi chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha is the premier sorority on the yard. ;)

    Bang for the buck

    Southern University tried and true. The Jaguar nation screams loud for the gold and blue

    What to do for fun

    Just being outside in the Circle is the time of your life. Everyone on campus mixes and mingles there. The student union has Pretty Wednesday every week for entertainment. Downtown is only 10 minutes away if you just HAVE to get off campus though.

    Food and Dining

    EVERY Monday is red beans and rice with fried chicken!!! best meal of the week.

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms and apartments on campus. Its a must for at least your freshman year. You'll have a blast and meet so many new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Like every university there are bird courses but eventually you will have to pick up a book and go to class. Teachers are almost available 24/7 especially if you show true interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Respect all deadlines and you will succeed without a problem.

    In three sentences

    The Jaguar Nation is the ultimate college experience. Southern has everything a student could image from the top acedemics to the best social life. If you can make it at SU you can make it any where.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Football Football Football!

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging and rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be persistent. Don't give up. Help out as many fellow students as you can.

    In three sentences

    The nursing school at Southern is one of the best in state. The hands-on learning in lab as well as the classroom instruction is top notch. They really care about their students.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Southern University has 50+ organizations that you could join such as fraternities, sororities, sports activities, and our world famous marching band.

    Food and Dining

    There are two cafeterias with plenty of places to eat in the food court in the student union.

    Dorm Life

    They have just built new apartment style dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are very intense but there are always people there to help when help is wanted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for small learning classes. Degrees in Humanites and Sciences. Extra help for students that need it.

    In three sentences

    Southern University is an instiution first opened to help African Americans to further their education. Now people of all ethnicities, races, and all religious backgrounds attend Southern University. This institution is a great place to start your educational career or even earn higher degrees such as your Masters, Doctoral or Jurors Doctorate.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police make sure you are protected. At checkpoint, they check for student ids and personal ids for non-students. They do round to round campus checks throughout the dormitories.

    Greek Life

    There is a variety of Greek Sororities and Fraternities. They have many fun gatherings that keep you wanting to come to the next one. They all are friendly and if you join, you are taking away a great friendship and a sense of sisterhood or brotherhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always different activities that are fun and exciting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One thing I love is Pretty Wednesday. I love seeing students dress professional.

    Bang for the buck

    When coming down to comparing tuition, SU's was one of the cheapest or lower priced choices. Books are a little inexpensive, too.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities to do in Southern University's Student Union, like bowling and a pool room. There are many social gatherings. Every week, there may be a posting for movie nights or other gatherings in the dorm halls or around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is AMAZING! Every Monday is red beans and rice and chicken day. Every Friday is fish day, fried and baked. If you don't want the choices for the main dish, then you have different stations for hamburgers and hot dogs, pizza, stir fry, and a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are nice and spacious. Nice closet size and spacious bathrooms. It gets noisy at times but it eventually goes unnoticed.

    Academic Rigor

    SU provides a good education and the teachers allow a good, professional relationship that help you advance in your educational pursuits.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Make sure the intended major you choose is something you can and will enjoy. 2. Study hard and stay focused. 3. When a subject gets hard, ask for help. Take advantage of tutoring programs and student help aids offered at your school. 4. Always remember when you work hard and succeed at something, the reward at the end is fulfilling.

    In three sentences

    Southern University has a rich history and background that is beneficial to current and future students. Coming to Southern has made me a stronger student that keeps my head on straight and in the books. I believe that Southern will give me the necessary essentials to further pursue my career choice.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is pretty tight. Campus police rides around in their cars routinely throughout the day and night. You will feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is fun but serious on campus. The key to enjoying greek life at Southern is RESPECT. If you give it, then you will get it. Simple as that.

    Clubs and Activities

    Southern is big on music and sports! If you are a singer then Southern is your college. If you are a very artistic person then Southern is your college! If you play any sport and want to make a family bond with a District A team then Southern is your college! And especially if you love to play music or dance to it in any kind of way then SOUTHERN IS DEFINITELY YOUR COLLEGE!

    Bang for the buck

    Scholarship opportunities vary greatly at SU! For each major there are either generous scholarships or grand internships! Take advantage of any money that is being GIVEN to you! A free education is way better than no education!

    What to do for fun

    Stay involved. There are many clubs and auxiliaries to join or try out for. Meet people and explore the wonderful city of Baton Rouge.

    Food and Dining

    Just like a creole home, Southern offers wonderful food from the Cajun perspective.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. Not too big and not too small. The renovations being made to the dorms are even better.

    Academic Rigor

    Southern University is the only historically black college or university (HBCU) to have different branches throughout a state. By branching out, it has become one the most diverse HBCUs in America.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay involved and study. These are the two things that will keep you on a positive note. By being involved many opportunities may open for you and also by studying your education will come easier.

    In three sentences

    Southern University is outstanding. Its academic history an current academic status is one of the best in America for HBCUs. Also the new renovation to the campus is very welcoming to the oncoming freshmen.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are out there because they love to give Parking tickets, but we have had issues where the safety on the student was at risk

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They say we use to have a Jaguar, the school mascot housed on campus, now we only have an empty cage - Lol

    Bang for the buck

    The cost to attend SU (like most HBCU) far exceed the value of what you receive in living arrangements, food, campus settings, up keep of University, quality of staff.

    What to do for fun

    Attend Sport events Hang with friends Play video games

    Food and Dining

    SU can use major improvement in this area. Most College students miss their mom's cooking any way, so SU could at least make the food look and taste good some of the time. Oh I forgot Prospective Students bring money to eat out.

    Dorm Life

    We have very nice new dorms and apartments in the back of the campus, but if you are not lucky enough to stay in one of those all the other dorms are not the best living arrangements.

    Academic Rigor

    SU gives you the option to take on line or classroom setting classes, tutors are available, and if the class is just not for you, SU give you ample time to withdraw. But you have remember, this is not High School and you have to be self motivated to get your work done.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will need to have the patience of Job (Bible reference) to deal with things at SU. You might also want to bring a car

    In three sentences

    SU needs a lot of help in bring the staff and processes up to date. We need to work on taking care of the low hanging fruit first (i.e remove vacant building, paint doors). There in a need to improve the facuilty and student relationship

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Baton Rouge night life is a wonderful way for students to socialize or party outside of campus life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should come to Southern University ready to learn and work hard because college is not a Walk in the Park.

    In three sentences

    Southern University is ethical. Southern University is a Historically Black College University. Southern University has many different extra-curricular activities that over 50% of students join.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 52

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Southern University is a wonderful growing experience. I would rate Southern a 6/10. I love being a Jaguar!!

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greek life is the best. Southern offers them all.

    Great for these types of students

    social and nursing program students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During spring fest you get free crawfish.

    What to do for fun

    Football games. Lots of parties. Support all of the sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to each and every class because you are the one paying to take those classes. Do not wait until last minute to start studying or reviewing your work, do it every day for every class.

    In three sentences

    Southern University and A&M college is a very school spirited university. There are tons of activities and majors that this school has to offer. However, the admission, financial aid, and registrar's offices may misplace your paper work due to them being organized so I would recommend that anyone that attends or plans to attend keeps each and every document that they are given or need.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Like I said, I learned more than I thought I had...and it was a fraction of what it cost my graduate school classmates!

    Dorm Life

    Didn't experience

    Academic Rigor

    Learned more than I thought I did...realized this once I moved out of state and started graduate school!

    Tips for prospective students

    GO TO CLASS...when it's time to do registration for the next semester, DO IT...interact with your professors (they have the experience and education you are seeking)...go to the career fairs and take the opportunity to do internships and whatnot...and have fun!

    In three sentences

    I got a great education from here.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing that I heard of ever happened on the campus where someone was unprotected. The security guards are 24 hrs.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is very influencing and always very entertaining.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for just about everything, and activities for days.

    Great for these types of students

    Fun, Outgoing, and upbeat. If you aren't any of these adjectives then you sure will become them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any yet. I will be an incoming freshman, come Fall 2012.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that you honestly get what you paid for. One thing I can say about Southern is that: what you see is what you get, and I absolutely love it.

    What to do for fun

    The question is: What is there not to do for fun? But i have to say the football games are the most enjoyable.

    Food and Dining

    The lunch and dinner are to die for.

    Dorm Life

    All the past students have seemed to all say the same thing about the dorm; Dorm life was one of my most memorable times on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I rated it a 5 due to my schedule but i haven't yet taken the classes physically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused while on campus, because it is easy to get distracted due to all the activities offered. Have your mind on one thing and that is to graduate and receive your diploma and degree.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus with beautiful people. The atmosphere/ enviroment seems to be very pleasant. The school spirit from all the students is very remarkable.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I myself am an track and field athlete so I am always involved in athletic events. Also pagents, student-life parties, as well as hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great especially on certain days. There are different lines and you can eat as much as you want. Also there is a great student union filled with restaurants that can also satisfy your needs!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has its ups and downs like every school. You have to get used to it and make the most of it. Southerns Ra's are very helpful and dorm life isn't bad at all.

    Academic Rigor

    Like every school Southern has great fields for study. I myself choice the criminal justice program and after I will attend the great law school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students that plan on attending. Make smart decisions, stay on top of your classes, and stay involved!

    In three sentences

    Southern University has been a great environment for me. I just completed my first year and I have truly became a better person so far. Its nothing but excitement, school spirit, and eye opening experiences.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I felt very safe when I stayed in the dorm room's on campus.

    Greek Life

    Great greek life they have almost every greek fraternity and sorority.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who need one on one with their teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    They really work with you to make sure you can pay for what you need.

    What to do for fun

    Club's and organizations, Bowling

    Food and Dining

    The food was so good I wanted to stay there and get 3rd's

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective student to go and visit and not to be nerves because the people are really helpful with everything

    In three sentences

    Southern University was and still is an amazing college when I attended my freshmen orientation. The people there were so helpful and understanding they made me feel right at home and very comfortable with asking any questions I need to ask.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well I am in their band so i really don't have time to actually go to all the events Southern has every now and then, but they are always having pageants, dances, and even movie night. Southern is a great place to be to meet new people from all around the world. It is really a great place to be.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, i love having different choices to eat all the time, and Louisiana cooking is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are roomy, very comfortable, and if you get home sick you can always organize the room the way you want it. You have a room mate that shares a room with you, and you never know who you might meet, maybe they even will become your best friend.

    Academic Rigor

    Southern has the best Nursing program, and Honors College. We are always recognized for all our academic success and we also recently got a reward for being the best HBCU school!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be productive with your time!

    In three sentences

    Southern University is a great school, full of different opportunities and so much more. The teachers are great and help you any way they can to make sure you understand what the class is about and the work they have assigned you to. Its a place where you can meet new people from everywhere, and it is also a great place to start a great path for your future.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24 hour campus police and in the dorms there are dorm mothers who monitor the halls.

    Greek Life

    There are many open and active fraternities and sororities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Bluff is a great place for students to sit outside and relax and enjoy the scenery. We also have a great art museum that is open to the public and is very remarkable.

    What to do for fun

    You can enjoy a game of basketball or football. You could also head to the union for a game of pool or table tennis.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very delicious it reminds me of home.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice even though i am not a fan of sharing a room you can always pay for a private room.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors demand a lot of their students because they know the students can give a lot. They push us hard to mold us and make us into model students and become pillars in our communities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind. College is what you make it. If you make it hard and boring then thats how it will remain. You get out what you put in.

    In three sentences

    Southern University is a great learning institution. They are always willing to help someone who is in need of help. The campus isn't very big so you won't feel as though you are lost in the crowd of students.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe to walk at night. It is very peaceful. Their are always police man on patrol, as well as a police station on campus. If you feel endangered their are emergency buttons for assistance.

    Greek Life

    Freshmen are not allowed to pledge, but I am looking forward to it. I know a lot of people that do and they love it.

    Bang for the buck

    I have not started my freshman year yet, but from what I experienced at orientation Southern is for me.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is the best. Monday is red beans and rice day; everyone is in the cafeteria on Monday. Students have a variety to choose from everyday. From pizza to hot meals to sandwiches etc.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the best because your close to class and the action. Students get to experience college life better. But be warned it is very cold in the dorms, so bring heaters and blankets.

    Academic Rigor

    Southern is very active with academics. The students support every academic event their is. I am very academic therefore, I give it five stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise prospective students to get any financial aid or anything that needs processing done. Waiting the week school starts or even a week before is not a good idea. Their are a lot of students at Southern and being at the back of the financial aid line is not fun.

    In three sentences

    Southern University and A&M College is one of the best rounded colleges I've visited. Their students are friendly and the welcome committee made me feel at home. I look forward to studying in their science program, which is #1.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is no fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is usually mediocre.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is too noisy. Constant radios, yelling, screaming and partying, marijuana use, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    The school needs a higher academic rating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, and efficiently. Stay away from parties and dating. Do well in all your subjects.

    In three sentences

    Southern needs to become more academically competitive. The graduation rate is only 30%. The kids need more academic assistance.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pretty Wednesday.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in totty and it was pretty cool.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is to always make and keep every paper you give or receive from them. Also if possible its always better to go in person to get things done rather than on the phone.

    In three sentences

    I love Southern. It has its problems but its all about what you make of your college experience.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Campus rovides round the clock dining with two cafeterias and several on campus restaraunts, which range from Popeyes to Bene's Pasta.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are crisp, clean and affordable. Living life on campus os a huge part of the college exprience.

    Academic Rigor

    The school has one of the nation's finest Nursing Programs and is one of the only HBCU's with degree programs in all fields of business including an international program.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on studying in any field and actually coming out with not just a degree but experience and several occupational options, then you plan on coming to Southern University and A & M College

    In three sentences

    It is an extremely live place to be. Great academics, competing athletic department, historic frats and sororities, and an exciting atmosphere provide a once in a lifetime college experience.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Southern University is guarded well with police and security there to protect the students and faculty on campus.

    Greek Life

    The Divine 9! Southern offers all the the nine social fraternities and sororities right on campus. These different Greek clubs have great events to attend and make the college experience so much more enjoyable

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of different organizations and clubs ranging from the social side to the academic to the athletic side. It all just depends on what the student wants to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student is welcome and will feel comfortable

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bluff! Southern University sits right off the Mississippi River which gives off quite an amazing view.

    Bang for the buck

    Southern University is very reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do! From the organizations' functions and events to homecoming, you can be rest assured that you will have a life outside of class.

    Food and Dining

    Food at Southern is wonderful. If you love a variety of foods then this is it. In the cafeteria they offer several different varieties of foods such as pizza, gumbo and cheeseburgers to choose from. If you prefer something else they have fast food chains in the Student Union which gives the student the freedom of what they choose to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is cool. There are the freshman dorms and the upperclassman dorms and in each of them the rooms are pretty spacious, quiet and a great environment to relax in. They also have different events to allow students to mix and mingle with each other and to provide a sociable atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of the academics here at Southern University all lies on the student. Every class is at a good student - teacher ratio and is a great learning environment to focus in.

    Tips for prospective students

    Out of states students should be aware to keep your GPA and ACT/SAT scores high so that the fee may be waived which means more money in your pockets!

    In three sentences

    Southern University and A&M College, home of the jaguars ,is a wonderful historically black college/ university to attend with many great majors and fields to choose from. It is has the top nursing school program in Louisiana and is a great campus for endless opportunities. Located in Baton Rouge, Louisiana it is a great place to attend to build a great education and make many friends doing so.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    All Divine 9 or on campus amongst business and other organizations.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pretty Wedneseday: participants would wear a more business or casual attire other then t shirts and shorts.

    What to do for fun

    Sit by the Bluff or enjoy the different campus activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your potential department and department faculty.

    In three sentences

    Great campus and everything is not difficult to find. Student Activities is a plus. Strong Alumni presence.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    GREAT FOOD!

    Dorm Life

    Southern could update their dorms. It seems that they are still stuck in the early 70's.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard. Regardless to what others may say...there are long lines at every university when it comes to financial aid. ALWAYS REMAIN CALM AND PATIENT.

    In three sentences

    Southern University is a great HBCU. Southern is committed to providing students with the knowledge needed to go to the next level in life. Some of the instructors a great role models and will make sure you work hard to acheive all your educational goals.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus events are always exciting. Some of the most fun you will ever have.

    Food and Dining

    Campus dining isn't the best but it's okay.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are what you make of them depending on if you make any good friends. Because the friends you make in college will be your friends for life

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do all the your paper work for Southern in advance. Keep a copy of all paper work. Never take no for a answer.

    In three sentences

    Southern University is very prosperous campus. The programs at SU are growing and getting better every day. It has one the best nursing, engineering, and law programs in the nation.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    One of the best things about Southern University is its Greek life. There are the social Greek as well as the professional Greek organizations. Theses organizations support and help student throughout their college careers.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can think of it there is a club or an organization for it.

    Great for these types of students

    Southern University and A&M has one of the nations best law school. I would recommend anyone who is interested in law to gather information about the law school as well as other colleges of the Southern University System.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the end of the football games Southern University has its Fifth Quarter . The Fifth Quarter is where our critically acclaimed band, The Human Jukebox, preforms for their fans' enjoyment. The students and fans stay until the last note is played and the band has returned to the band room. It really is something to see.

    Bang for the buck

    Although tuition has increase it is still very affordable and there are many scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. Between greek and SGA organization parties and program, and all of the sporting events there is never a dull moment on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage students to get involve. There are so many organization on campus, which help students learn outside of the classrooms. Getting involved also helps with building networking skills that cane be used in the future.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Southern University and A&M College a 9. I became a student in 2008, where I met students and teachers alike who were caring and uplifting. Southern University has taught me so much, I am sure that I am prepared for my future.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Around campus there is always something to do. On Wednesday's ever one dresses up and listen to music by the union. Also there's always a greek show or party.

    Food and Dining

    I think the food places are awesome . You have a little taste of everything. Some people miss there moms cooking in the south all you have to do is go to the cafe and you'll feel right at home.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on campus but from what i hear from friends it nice ,your free but just like any other campus there are rules.

    Academic Rigor

    I think southern has good academics ,the graduation rate is high.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have fun while learning and there is always someone to talk to about anything going on.

    In three sentences

    I think its a great school ,also they have great programs.You also have fun while learning and there's lots to do. Last you always meet different kind of people.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is on the fore front for every student.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is full of festivities. There are Greek competitions and events are really fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for all students who want to experience all of the diverse culturally rich events and foods.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bowling alley in the union, hair Solon and barbershop.

    Bang for the buck

    The education that you will receive and the culturally rich environment as well as the intense curriculums are well worth the tuition cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many different events that take place on campus that accommodates traditional and nontraditional students. There are Christians clubs, fraternities, sororities and department organizations and the infamous event Southern is known for Bayou Classic.

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining facilities, a food court with six different restaurants. The food is home cook meals that are missed from mom. There are many meals prepared at a serving you can choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome! There are weekly meetings to discuss what type of gatherings are next such as movie night, pizza night, bowling etc.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs are very intense so therefore, you must pay attention, study and complete all assignments and turn them by the deadlines or before.

    Tips for prospective students

    Develop your writing. Increase study habits Be sure to read daily Be punctual and make sure you are present in class every session

    In three sentences

    Southern University is a culturally rich university. They are known for their awesome programs such as : Social Work, Nursing, Law and Dietetic Nutrition and diversity. Southern has an awesome relationship with the surrounding community and give back frequently to their community.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is on Point. Police are everywhere and ready for command.

    Greek Life

    Excellent Greek Life. Taken Very Seriously.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Clubs and Activities are always well planned, have a great turn out rate.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for All African American Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Southern University has the Bayou Classic, where Southern battles with Grambling in football, located in New Orleans very year. Southern also has a tradition called Pretty Wednesday where people dress up professionally to show off.

    Bang for the buck

    Southern is a HBCU. Theres advantages and a few disadvantages, but believe me the advantages are worth coming here.

    What to do for fun

    You can join sports and clubs. There is a gym. Baton Rouge is a college town, so theres tons more to do.

    Food and Dining

    Fried Chicken every Mondays!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is pretty nice. Gives you the opportunity to meet a lot people.

    Academic Rigor

    Constant work will be given to you, but the work can be done.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is not joke. Your first classes of college are your easiest.

    In three sentences

    Southern University is great school. The culture of this school allows African Americans to fit right in. Teachers are here help and want to see their students succeed.

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is slowly but surely improving.

    Greek Life

    We have all of the divine nine as well as educational fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    To attend any clubs you will need to have a car or a friend with a car. none are in walking distance.

    Great for these types of students

    For female athletes we have: basketball, softball, track and field, bowling, tennis, cheerleading, soccer, and two dance teams. For male athletes we have: football, basketball, track and field, and baseball.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bluff is a nice spot on the Mississippi River where students go to do homework, eat crawfish, hang out with friends, and free their minds for midterm and final exams.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is feasible, especially for in state students. You get what you pay for that's for sure.

    What to do for fun

    The student union is the only form of fun to do on campus. There is a mediocre bowling alley, pool tables, and various televisions. We also have a Burger King and Popeye's.

    Food and Dining

    Both dining halls are not the best choices and some of the staff is rude. Red beans and fried chicken Monday, along with fried fish Friday, are the best days to eat in the cafe. Breakfast is really delicious but for lunch and dinner you will have a choice from mystery meat or chicken from earlier that day.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is rather boring. Freshmen do not have visitation rights. The freshmen are required to stay in the all female or all male dorms. Upperclassmen get a choice between two co-ed dorms and the campus apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fairly easy. Majority of the professors are lenient but you have to do your work and go to class in order to be noticed as a good student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Southern University is a school that gets you ready for the real world. The employees will not baby you and it is up to you whether your business is taken care of. It's best to get all of your business handled face to face and in a timely manner.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from 1 to 10, I give Southern University a 6. It is vital to have patience, be persistent, and keep your cool. Only the strong and willing survive.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always around if you need them. There isn't a lot of problems reported about items being stolen.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of clubs and activities to join. Some are just for women, some are just for men, and the rest are for both. Most clubs deal with volunteering and serving the community around us.

    Great for these types of students

    Southern is a great school for you to learn more about the career you're seeking and life. Coming to SU really helps a lot of people grow and mature in their own way. It basically prepares you for life after college. This experience teaches you how to be independent and shows you what to expect after college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bluff looks over the Mississippi River , so it's nice to just sit there and think about things or admire how everything looks.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, people just hang out and have get togethers in the residential circle, or you could also go to the bluff.

    Food and Dining

    There's always a variety of food choices to pick from. They have pizza, burgers, and some days are just for fish and red beans & rice.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good. There are washers, dryers, snack, and soda machines located in each dorm so you wouldn't have to leave your dorm to go to another one.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are challenging, but it isn't hard if you study and pay attention to what you're suppose to be doing. If the work wasn't challenging, we wouldn't be able to expand our minds to learn new things.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be make sure you come prepared and focus on your grades first. Don't worry about partying too much because there would always be a chance to do that, but there won't always be a chance to make up your work.

    In three sentences

    Southern University and A & M College is a great school. The professors actually care about you learning and are always there to help you if needed. The students are friendly, and it feels like one big family.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always activities around campus to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The food is healthy and always great tasting.

    Dorm Life

    You make long lasting friendships here.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have a great experience in excelling here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all of your resources availble to you.

    In three sentences

    i would rate my school a 10! There are many opportunities available here. my school provides you with all kinds of resources.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety has improve tremendously in the Spring semester.

    Greek Life

    Greeks are normal students that just wear a certain color. Some are treated higher than regular students.

    Clubs and Activities

    FYE-First year experience for Freshman. SGA-Student Government Association. The Southern Digest-school newspaper. The Ego-school magazine.

    Great for these types of students

    Southern has a varity of students. If you come to Southern You will find a place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Death walks take place before a pledge crosses a fraternity or sorority.

    Bang for the buck

    Best thing about Southern is the unity of the students.

    What to do for fun

    Perkins Rowe off campus and FYE...Find your group

    Food and Dining

    Students say that Mayberry dining hall is best. However, Dunn workers are the cleanest.

    Dorm Life

    Don't stay in the dorms. Its cheaper to move off campus. If you must stay on campus and like me, stay in Boley its the cheapest and you get your own room so you don't worry about your stuff. If you want quality, then go to the campus apartments

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers care. Others don't.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find the Right people to hang out with. People who match your interest goals because you are who you hang out with and people know you as such.

    In three sentences

    Some at Southern University is hardworking. Others are lazy. The last group of people are the ones who do not care.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SUPD is always around campus, we are very safe

    Greek Life

    Our Greeks are very involved, and they seem like a lot of fun to be in.

    What to do for fun

    There's all kinds of organizations to join and there's always a party somewhere

    Food and Dining

    The food here is good especially Red bean Monday.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun, there is always something to do.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not to hard. Sizes vary, but they are mostly small decent sized classes. No auditorium like class rooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid fixed wayyyy before school starts. if not you will be in lines for hours out of the day.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school to attend once you get past the mandatory things that need to be done. The campus is beautiful. The people are really friendly once you get talking to some people.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    activity clubs, parties, extracurricular activites

    Food and Dining

    the dining facility are okay, but the food gets nasty after a while.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is cool, you get to meet new people and new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors are great , you should really get to know your professor as a student .

    In three sentences

    The school is great. Prepares you for the life after college. helps and meets your need as a college student.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always riding around making sure everyone is safe and nothing illegal is not going on.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is so great and cool. Everyone really look up to the Greeks at this university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The circle is the hangout spot by the dorms. Now we have a workout center that just recently open.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot parties, Greek shows, and promotion things around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and awesome!

    Dorm Life

    Make sure you know your roommate and bring a lock for closet and a shower curtain.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors you will have to get know them. They do not play about how they teach. Getting to know them will help you in the long run.

    In three sentences

    One of the best HBCU ever! I love it here and not planning on to leave. I love my track team as well.

  • 12/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You will have a bunch of programs to do at the school. These programs include: cheerleading, ROTC, marching band, track, football, basketball, soccer, tennis, and so many more that will keep you entertained.

    Tips for prospective students

    Those that want to enter the college life should be prepared for anything, especially if you are an out-of-state student. You won't always have your mother and father there with you to look over your shoulder. Be sure to come with a certain mindset, because of the fact that many students flunk out, transfer, or get put out of school for not being ready for the big step from high school to college.

    In three sentences

    The system of education at Southern is intense, but is very easy to understand and helps to better understand the meaning of living independently. The student life is entertaining, you get along with people real easy and will be ensured to make a life-time bond. Southern has plenty of extracurricular activities that keep you busy and entertained and will be sure to be fun at the same time.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    47 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Plenty of scholarships...just look for them.

    What to do for fun

    Everything is fun.

    Food and Dining

    Soul food. Need I say more.

    Dorm Life

    Almost like u never left home.

    Academic Rigor

    You will learn a lot here at SU.

    In three sentences

    A great university for anyone.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Greek Life, games, open mic nights...

    Food and Dining

    Food is very healthy.

    Academic Rigor

    Keep an updated catalog at all times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always prepare for the unexpected.

    In three sentences

    Southern University is an institution that prepares you for the real world. You have to have drive and determination to come out on top. It has been a eye opening experience that I would not trade for the world.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Being that I'm a life-long resident of Baton Rouge, there are plenty of places you can enjoy yourself. Bowling, skating, movies, out to eat are just a few.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure that you are really focused and determined to do your best. There are plenty of people that will help you with anything you need help with. If I can do it you can!!

    In three sentences

    The staff and students are friendly. My instructors help me when I need the help. Great atmosphere.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is not stressed enough, nevertheless, it remains safe. It seems like the officers at the checkpoints are just getting a paycheck. I have heard of a student getting passed by showing a credit card.

    Greek Life

    Greek life at the college i attend is over hyped. Most people want to join because they are great resume builder's or because they want to 'stroll' with them. I do not hear much about community service involving Greek life and even so I am not persuaded towards Greek life because I do not see a need for it into my life. Hazing still goes on in the Greek life and I do not believe in hazing, especially physically touching the applicants.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not many wholesome clubs or activities on campus, although, My brother, a few friends, and I are starting an organization based on class, etiquette, and the overall goal of excellency. We believe that students should be educated on what's politically correct and what's not. We have no excuse for ignorance.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a humble person that loves the feeling like you are at home you will love Southern University and A&M College. If you love to have fun there is always something going on around campus. You will find your niche here regardless of what type of person you are.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Southern University student and alumni participate in pointing into the air as our school song is played. The bluff overlooking the Mississippi river is a special location on campus. There is also a place called The Circle which is the main social location on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Due to a great amount of budget cuts Southern University is underfunded but for what it is worth it is made up the quality of its education. The view of the bluff is the best sight on campus. Somehow mostly everyone who attends or has attended Southern University loves it dearly as if it were their second home.

    What to do for fun

    I usually study my bible, watch sermons, or play video games for fun. I am not much of a partying person. I find joy in interpreting Holy Scriptures.

    Food and Dining

    The food that is provided is nice but not grand. Customer service is not enforced and often not even available. The dining halls could use some improving.

    Dorm Life

    The residents assistants are not at all jolly and they are anxious to fine you for various things. My overall accommodations are nice. My roommate is the best thing about my dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Southern University does not have a large selection of major but they are very focused on the ones they do have. One of the best fields we have to offer is the nursing program. Quality is guaranteed with a degree from Southern University and A&M College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your payments to the school as soon as possible. Do not wait till the week or month before to get your business situated. Constantly call and inquire about your enrollment.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Southern University and A&M College 3 stars out of 5 because a majority of the school is disorganized. It is largely due to being under employed. One of the best thing's that Southern has to offer is its great athletic department.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 52

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend sports events and parties duh!

    Food and Dining

    Food tends to be really good but the service is a little ify

    Dorm Life

    Its Pretty normal depending on where you stay. The newer dorms are preferable like toddy for girls Jones for boys or shade for co-ed. Boley in so many words is run down, but it has single rooms. So theres a trade off for your privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are hit and miss. Just stay involved with every teacher you come across

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with extra curricular activities it makes your experience more enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    Be prepared, they are very disorganized especially when it comes to financial aid. Keep EVERY document EVER that you receive. School work, paper work, announcements, trust me you will need it,

  • 06/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 52

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I persoanlly feel very safe on campus, even at night. We have checkpoints with police and once it gets dark there is no way in or out of campus without passing them. I've never heard or saw anything I'd deem unsafe, either.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Red Stick that Sieur d'Iberville found when he first came to Baton Rouge (hense the name) is located on our campus. We're located on Scott's Bluff and we have views or Lakke Kernan and the Mississippi River. Wednesday's are Pretty Wednesday so you should dress accordingly.

    Bang for the buck

    I think you definitely get all of the bang for your bucks. You get inumerable experience inside and outside of the classroom at a historic and unique institution, it doesn't get any better than that!

    What to do for fun

    It not hard to find ways to have a good time a be social. Wednesday's are Pretty Wednesday is basically a DJ, frats and sororities step, good music plays and it's a good time. Sporting events are fun especially tailgating for football season. Resident Life throws parties, movie nights, puts on a Haunted house for Halloween, gives away free tickets to movie premieres (the back is just fun altogether). Then there's Homecoming week, Bayou Classic, Boombox Classic, Mardi Gras, Springfest, probates and Miss Southern Revue.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the caf' is surprisingly really good! Red beans and rice and fried chicken, not sure about the more healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    I honestly can't speak on dorm life because I've never lived in the dorms. I was a transfer student so I bypassed dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    You do have to bust your butt for you grades. Most teachers are really good at making time to help you understand, they really go out of thier way to help you get it. Teachers don't give you anything, though. You work real hard for those A's. Students take their education very seriously so it's good to be around likeminded people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should look foward to a great year academically and socially. I might be a little hard finding cool people to be around but that definitely gets easier the longer you're there. Prospective students should get ready for turnt up step show and parties, crazy weather and extra curricular activities galore!

    In three sentences

    I'd give Southern an 8 on a scale from 1-10. It's a really diificult social climate, at first, but students tend to band together to help eachother study for tests. Pretty Wednesday is always turnt up and plenty of extra-curriculars to learn leadership.