Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southern University at Shreveport Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety you can depend on because they have sercurity all over campus. the chancellors also be around to make sure that everything is ok. but you can always depend on the campus sercurity.

    Greek Life

    we don't have a greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    the sga club( student government association) is the most popular club. they participate in alot of community service projects. they are also the voice when it comes to school activites.

    Great for these types of students

    students that don't want to be far away from home. also for students who like to be around a small but large type of group

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there aren't any.

    Bang for the buck

    over all when it comes down to getting your education and not having the money to pay for it, the financial aid office sends out e-mails to students telling them about scholarships that students will be eligible for. a great way to help struggling students.

    What to do for fun

    for fun we work out and play basketball. we have sports and clubs that people can participate in for fun. we also have other activities that people may have interest in like dance or theatre

    Food and Dining

    the food dining is ok. it can more varieties of food during lunch and dinner. there should be a change in the menu.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is ok...i myself don't stay on campus but i have friends that do. i think dorm life is pretty boring because they have nothing to do. they rarely have activities to participate in.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors will work with you just incase you are falling behind on an assignment. they have tutoring for all courses from math to science. nice way to help out during school hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    students must be aware of the career field that they will be studying for. they must follow their curriculum so that they will be taking the right classes. always be prepared

    In three sentences

    i would give this school a rating from 1-5(5 being the highest a 3. reason being is because it's a 2 year college. but it has alot to offer.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    First time, first generation students and for nontraditional students.

    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten on campus. The dining hall just opened last year.

    Dorm Life

    I only know what I have heard from other students. Everyone I have spoken to likes the Jaguar Court.

    Academic Rigor

    Southern is not as difficult as a major 4 yr. school. They offer free tutoring to students in Math, English, and science.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have all your paperwork completed by the deadline. Be polite and the respectful of the people who are helping through the admissions process. Ask questions!

    In three sentences

    The faculty at Southern University at Shreveport truly cares about the success of it's students. All classes are taught by the professors themselves, not by their assistants. This makes Southern a wonderful place to learn.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun and interesting to get to meet new people and have possible have long life-long friendships. It's also a gated dormitories with surveillance cameras to make you feel protected nad your cars are too.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for future students are to join many activities that Southern has to offer. Participate and get some taste of an college experience.

    In three sentences

    Southern University in Shreveport is an interesting school filled with many activities. Even though they don't have sororities or fraternities the most important thing is getting an education. I feel Southern is a fast school to get a degree from.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety not only protects the students, faculty and staff, but your property as well. No matter what time of day, there are officers walking as well as patrolling the area to ensure our safety.

    Food and Dining

    Although the food and dining offer a small range of traditional deli choices, regrettably, you will not find any hot meals on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, I do not have familiarity in dorm life. I am on off campus student.

    Academic Rigor

    In just a few short months, I have obtain skills that took me beyond the classroom setting. Fundamentals were established, and utilized in both individual and group efforts projecting me beyond the limitations of a mediocre student.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage everyone to take a moment to view the website and venture to the campus.

    In three sentences

    I have found Southern University at Shreveport to be both warm and inviting. Enrollment into the School of Nursing led me to friendly advisors and detail oriented instructors who are genuinely concerned with ensuring that their students receive the essential skills required to accomplish their future goals.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Neighboring schools accept students because there are no Greek affiliations here

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not ready academically/ mentally to attend a four year university

    What to do for fun

    The school has a variety of events for students throughout the year.

    In three sentences

    Southern University is the perfect school for students who are looking to create a bridge from high school to a four year university.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus police office on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Southern Have many clubs and activities for all interests

    Bang for the buck

    I think that Southern University have a affordable tuition

    What to do for fun

    southern university have many on campus events and programs

    Food and Dining

    never had the food on campus

    Dorm Life

    never stayed on campus but the dorm look nice

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are always willing to work with you to achieve your degree

    In three sentences

    Southern University is a great place to obtain a associate degree. The professor are friendly and passionate. There are many different degree choices.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I havent been there that long.

    Dorm Life

    im not staying on-campus. I lIve off-campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything before the last minutes. Do not wait for everything to come to you.

    In three sentences

    Southern University is a great college. They offer alot of good programs. I plan on fufilling my degree there.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No crimes to report.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult Learners and Continuing Education.

    Bang for the buck

    Southern has a spirit of excitement and Jaguar Pride is awesome!!!

    What to do for fun

    Shreveport is full of culture and festivals. Shopping is at it best. There is also plenty of agencies to volunteer for to give back to the community and have a purpose.

    Food and Dining

    I've never eaten there but have not heard any complaints.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm but have friends that do and they have no complaints.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the campus before school starts. Work with the Student Success office for advisement. Enjoy the attention the teachers give you and accept help.

    In three sentences

    The teachers really care. This school is ideal for adult learners returning to school after a long break. The programs of study are very interesting and almost guarantee employment after graduating.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police do look out for you.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Like for me.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was in Phi Theta kappa honor society and Student Support Service.

    Great for these types of students

    laid back students and high school students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love being in Student Support Service.

    Bang for the buck

    It's is a big bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    I went to a lot of football games and different activity southern had to offer.

    Food and Dining

    The was ok.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I love online courses. I have never had an issue with taking a course online. The instructors are only a fingertip away. I am able to still work my job and take care of my family by taking online courses

    Tips for prospective students

    Campus resources are good. There are student/tutorial labs are there for computer usage along with workers to help you reach your optimal level of learning.

    In three sentences

    My Academic Expeience has been great. Honestly from the receptionist that answers the phone, to the registers, to the instructors, to the students have all been helpful in everything. When a question was needing answered I was pointed in the right direction. I have truly enjoyed SUSLA thus far in my education career.

  • 09/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love my school, I am 59 years young our teachers are so helpful It worth getting up in the morning If I had it to do over I would go here when I was young I started and had to take of an ailing father but I am glad I got the chance to do over.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of clubs that you can get involved that encourage interaction with the students at SUSLA.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to get into the line of work that you choose quick and be equip with the skills you need, then SUSLA is the institution for you.

    In three sentences

    This college is a great college to those who are looking to get in the work force quick. They provide great programs that push to get students out into their field of work in 2 years. They really take action in building and getting better as a two year institution.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions if you have any, everyone is willing to help.

    In three sentences

    The director of the Suno/Susla Connection, Mrs. Cochran is extremely helpful. Each time I have needed help I have been aided professionally and quickly. I enjoy this school very much.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Police are always on patrol. Safety is nothing a prospective student should worry about.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately Greek Life doesn't really reside on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join around campus. The only problem is they won't find you. You have to ask questions and talk to people to find the clubs that fit your needs and interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Its a great place for people who are reserved, like the smaller class sizes, and/or enjoy meeting a variety of people.

    What to do for fun

    As in every city there are movie theaters & shopping but in Shreveport there are other things to do as well. There are plenty of museums to visit, bowling alleys, skating rinks, paintball, and etc.

    Food and Dining

    If you plan to live on campus there is a nice and affordable restaurant directly across the street from the campus. They serve delicious homemade food. There is also a host of fast food restaurants about a 15 minute drive away.

    Dorm Life

    Jaguar Courtyard is a nice place to live. The apartments are spacious and fully equipped. The only things you have to bring are yourself and your belongings.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are patient and willing to assist you if you need extra help. The classroom environments are positive and light.

    Tips for prospective students

    Help doesn't come to those who don't ask. There's a big myth that the Faculty and Staff won't and don't help you. They do, you have to go and talk to them. They will understand and they will work with you.

    In three sentences

    Southern University at Shreveport is a great stepping stone. The faculty and staff are friendly and very helpful. They are set on making sure the students get to next place in their academic careers.

  • 10/16/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    READING,LISTENING TO MUSIC,AND PLAYING GAMES,FOR INSTANCE(SOCCER)

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDENTS MUST UP AND DOING,KNOWLEDGEABLE,RESPONSIBLE,AND ALSO STRICT WITH THE SCHOOL PERFORMANCE ACTIVITY.

    In three sentences

    THE SCHOOL IS ONE OF THE BEST IN ACADEMIC PERFORMANCE AND THEY OFFER THE BEST EDUCATION FOR THEIR STUDENT,AND THE SCHOOL SECURITY IS HIGH.