Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Southern Virginia University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that need or want small class sizes. This school is great for students who want to get to know your professor and be comfortable with them. Southern Virginia University is great for students that don't want to feel like sardines in their dorm rooms. This school is also great for students that don't mind having friends everywhere they go and making friends all over campus as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can pretty much walk to all your classes, they are not far from all the dorms and other housing. Check to see if Southern Virginia University has your desired major, and don't judge this school by its cover, come take a look, meet some people so you really get to know what the school is like.

    Bang for the buck

    Southern Virginia University is a private school and is worth the tuition. The school has great professors who will teach you what you need to know and you couldn't feel safer or be safer in the town. The campus isn't the newest thing on the block, but there are a few new buildings, such as the female dorms and cafe, and new facilities are being planned for around campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    Southern Virginia University is a great place to learn. There are plenty of school events to keep you busy. The nearest mall is about a hour away, but there are plenty of historical sites to see. The people on campus and in the community are nice and welcoming. Southern Virginia University is a nice, fun, safe place to gain a quality education.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are amazing. They love working with students and love teaching. They are always willing to meet and give you the extra help you need. Teachers know what they are teaching and want you to succeed in their classroom and in life.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Southern Virginia has an honor code and enforces the values of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. The honor code is strict, but it's not too strict. There is a dress code and no alcohol is allowed. If that is appealing to you, I highly suggest you attend. You'll grow spiritually and educationally.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering Southern Virginia I highly suggest you go. The education, location, and people are amazing. Be prepared to study a lot. It's definitely hard work but pays off.

    Bang for the buck

    Southern Virginia is a Liberal Arts school which is a total different approach to college. I absolutely love it. There is more class room discussion, more papers, and critical analyze. It's more expensive then State colleges, but it's totally worth it. Not to mention Southern Virginia is generous with scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Virginia. Campus is beautiful, the state is beautiful, not to mention it's a quick trip to Washington D.C. and lots of other states. The people are great and friendly, Buena Vista is a great city and I enjoy being here.

    Am learning a lot

    Southern Virginia is an amazing experience. The teachers are all amazing. Because the school is small, you have very small class sizes, which is so nice. The teachers know you by name and are very willing to work with you.

  • 07/22/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are serious about learning will have a great time here.

    Will enjoy being here

    The enviroment is amazing and there is a lot of US history to immerse youself in.

    Will learn a lot

    This school has every major and minor possible. There are so many things to do.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for a creative student whose priority is good communication between teachers and students.

    Bang for the buck

    This is an expensive school, which is the only reason I'm not going there my first year. However, the quality of education will, hopefully, make it worth it for me.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful, and the teaching system seems good, though I haven't actually taken any classes there yet.

    Will learn a lot

    SVU's small class, liberal arts format should increase my learning in my chosen subject. Great system.

  • 05/29/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Liberal Arts and History

    Bang for the buck

    They offered quite a generous scholarship.

    Will enjoy being here

    I would feel sick so far away from home.

    Will learn a lot

    I realize it this college has great potential in the majors it touches into.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The catch with this college seems to be it's price. It is quite expensive, but I think it will be worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    It is a beautiful campus with lot's of nice people. There are plenty of other LDS, so I am expecting lot's of good, clean fun.

    Will learn a lot

    The small class size will help me learn a lot. There are travel study opportunities as well, which will be cool and educational.

  • 08/14/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great place to increase/gain a testimony and also receive a quality education. There are great missionary opportunities here (not all students are members). Do not hesitate to talk to your teacher after class.

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers are wonderful. Do not be afraid to talk to your teacher after class, they are willing to help you. If you do not understand anything, please go to them. Get to know your classmates (you will see them all of the time). Bring a car or have means of transportation to make your own fun. Off campus housing is the best option.

    Bang for the buck

    The education and small class sizes are worth the amount of money; however, the school is still growing and learning in noneducational matters.

    Did enjoy being here

    I gave it 4/5 stars because their is a Spirit like no other that I have known at this school. The teachers are wonderful. I loved that some of my teachers were also my bishops. I enjoyed meeting new students; however, there is not much culture here. It was difficult for me to deal with the lack of culture.

    Did learn a lot

    Because of the small classes, I was able to work closely with my teachers. All of the teachers that I had were very knowledgeable about their subject area and were willing to spend out of class time helping their students. They recommended other teachers to take specific classes from.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With the campus being so small, there's not much to worry about, and even if you still feel uncomfortable, there is a 24 hour campus police group that is right on campus. They will give you a ride to your dorm if you need, too.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are an abundance of clubs and activities starting anywhere from a stand up comedy group to an a capella singing group called Fading Point. Along with almost every sport you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who like the small feel will enjoy it here.

    What to do for fun

    There is an event going on almost every weekend and periodically throughout the week. Most everything is put on by the school and they do everything they can to make it fun and worth while.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is open everyday for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. They keep it open all day for random snaking. There is also a little cafe that you can eat at. It is also open 7 days a week.

    Dorm Life

    There are no co-ed dorms, but you get to be pretty close to the people you room with and those that just live down the hall. My best friend here lives four doors down.

    Academic Rigor

    Like most universities, academics always come first. There may be homework every night, but it's not enough to make you hate everything. It stays evened out throughout the semesters.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to leave home. I moved across the country to come to this school and I'm so glad I did. I always thought I wanted to go to a big school, but after starting here, I realized that the small classes are what I need.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small, making it easy to get personal help and to understand things a little easier. The professors and other students are extremely kind. And the campus and the school itself are small and make life easier so you don't have to drive everywhere and you know almost everyone.

  • 08/30/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Latter-day Saint environment of the university promotes wholesome learning and activities. If you are a hard-working student with high values, SVU is a great place for you to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering SVU, be prepared to participate in class. The small class sizes means that your professors will actually care if you come to class regularly. Become involved with the community. Buena Vista is a small town but it's people have a lot to offer. Find opportunities to be a leader-servant. That is what SVU is all about.

    Bang for the buck

    As a private liberal arts institution on the east coast, SVU's tuition is superb. It is not cheap by any means, but it is a lot cheaper than other schools of the same caliber. All of the things that I learned were well worth the cost of attending this school.

    Did enjoy being here

    The people are what make SVU such a great institution. I came nearly 2,000 miles from home to start college, but the friends I made at SVU made it feel like home. We became a family.

    Did learn a lot

    SVU is a liberal arts university and as such the education here is astounding. The liberal approach to education allows students to have a well-rounded learning experience in every sense of the word.

  • 09/14/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the campus. It's a great place to be, but it totally changed my perspective.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Southern Virginia is a little expensive, but they do offer many scholarships.

    Will enjoy being here

    I love the new dorms for girls! They are so big and nice. It would be a great place to stay. Southern Virginia seems like a tight knit community with fun activities to strengthen friendships with other students.

    Will learn a lot

    I like how Southern Virginia advertises to have small class sizes. This will help you get to know your teachers and they will be able to help you better understand the subjects.

  • 11/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    LDS students that want to be around a lot of other LDS students. Also, students that like service and small class sizes. But most of all, students that want a good education, because this is going to be the most unique learning experience of your life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be intimidated by coming here. We often joke that this is the BYU of the east, except it's much smaller. Just be prepared to have someone there for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Because it is a private, small college, it is expensive to go to, but completely worth it. Most classes have less than 20 students, which means that the professors get to know their students very well. There are also no T.A.s. Every class is taught by a qualified professor. Which is what I feel is the most important. I came here to learn from the best, and that is what I'm given.

    Am enjoying being here

    I came here knowing no one. Once I got here, everyone was super friendly because most of them were in my shoes. And it's still like this now that we're almost done with the first semester; everyone's still super friendly. And all the professors care about their students.

    Am learning a lot

    Because I am a freshman in college, I have to take a lot of classes I just took in high school, but the teachers do their job very well in explaining everything. In some of my classes, I don't feel like I'm learning, so when I go to take tests, I don't feel prepared until I actually take the test and realize that the professor did their job extremely well.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are social activities going on all year. you have to be kept updated

    Food and Dining

    it's not the best food but you can live off it.

    Dorm Life

    depends where you live. the girls dorms are newer and better than the boys but the boys dorms are historical buildings. it's nice to live here.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are kind of difficult but the small sizes allow you more one on one time with professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to get involved in religion.

    In three sentences

    svu is a unique experience. it is in a small town. if you want something out of the norm, come here.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never felt in danger here. it feels safe and, like i said before, it feels like a home.

    Greek Life

    none really.

    Clubs and Activities

    if there isn't a club for what you want to do, you can make a club for what you want to do.

    Great for these types of students

    if you like small schools, and are willing to live by high moral standards, this place is for you. the rewards are immense.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are lots of rumors about haunted places around -- like they say the tower in main hall is haunted, and that there are hidden tunnels beneath it. it's really cool.

    Bang for the buck

    it's so expensive, which is why i'm applying for so many scholarships, but it is so worth it. i love this school and can't picture myself anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    if there's one thing we do know how to do, it's have fun. we make it ourselves since it's a small town and a small school. there are lots of outdoor things to do, and lots of school sponsored activities. if you're bored, it's because you're sitting in your dorm room.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall food is cafeteria food; not really anything to write home about. jonzzeys cafe is good, serving sandwiches and wraps. there are lots of food places in buena vista within walking distance. we're a small town so there's nothing too gourmet, but it's all yummy.

    Dorm Life

    students are required to live by a set of moral standards, so the people you live and associate with are high quality individuals. the housing is varied. there are some new dorms designed by the marriotts, so they feel like living in a nice hotel, and some older dorms that feel like you just bought your first home -- humble, but very comfortable. svu feels like a home, and the people here feel like family.

    Academic Rigor

    it's pretty tough. professors expect a lot, but they're also willing to give a lot of help. you actually have to go to and participate in class. you learn so much, and it's so fulfilling.

    Tips for prospective students

    come and see the school. as soon as you step foot on the gorgeous campus, meet some of the friendly people and feel the love here, you'll know whether or not you should put your education in svu's hands.

    In three sentences

    svu is a small school refuge for those lost in a sea of people. it brings back the ear in learn as your professors listen to your thoughts in the small class sizes. it sets the standards that will lift you higher for the rest of your life.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never heard of any bad incident on campus and the security guys are really nice and will take you up to your dorm if you every feel unsafe walking alone.

    Greek Life

    none!

    Clubs and Activities

    there a lot to choice from :)

    Bang for the buck

    it's a private school so its not the cheapest but there are lots of scholarship and grants. what you pay for is truly a great education.

    What to do for fun

    jump the local bridge, wax museum, drive in zoo....

    Food and Dining

    food is usually good and if you don't like whats being served there's alway the salade and cereal bar and the grill to make something. there's also jonezzy's and some local restaurant. only negative is that its not open at late hours.

    Dorm Life

    the women have better dorms than the guys since they have newer facilities. so if your a girl, the lofts are great but a little more to walk than the guys dorm. there's off campus living but im a freshman and unable to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    classes keep you busy but the teacher are very helpful and willing to do alot to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    -be prepared for living in a small town. - do the school trip like snowboarding, plays or bush garden trips -don't skip, attendants counts

    In three sentences

    a great environment for growth and the ability to try new thing and find your passion. small classes allow you to have more one on one with the teachers.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it depends on how much scholarship money they choose to give you.

    What to do for fun

    lots of hiking and outdoors things.

    In three sentences

    small, but a close knit student body. the town can be a bit small. get involved, there is a lot to do.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs at this university are very diverse and the university encourages students to come up with new clubs that allow them to share their talents and bring students closer together.

    Great for these types of students

    i would recommend southern virginia university to students who like a smaller school atmosphere, students who want to play a sport but may not be good enough for more competitive colleges, and students who are interested in the fine arts.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    traditions that are kept on campus include dances usually hosted every other month that have their own individual themes, honor week that celebrates the honor code, svu idol and battle of the bands which always students to display their musical talents, and forums every friday that each feature a different speaker.

    What to do for fun

    at southern virginia university, there is always an activity going on. inter-mural sports, late night movies, jumping off of a bridge, the activities are wide ranging. located in a small town, it can be hard to find things to do if the university is not hosting anything, but once you tap into your creative mind, anything and everything suddenly becomes an option.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall is small and has specific dining hours which can sometimes be hard to fit into certain schedules. luckily there is jonzzey's, a small cafe, that is always open for meals and snacks between classes. the dining hall provides different food for each meal but other choices such as cereal, salad, and sandwiches are always available.

    Dorm Life

    most of the dorms are all up to date and renovated and those that are not, will be in the near future. the dorms are a great way to make new friends and, once friends are made, easy to sign up and room together.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are all informative and the required general education classes allow well rounded access to all of the different majors so students can figure out what interests them. the professors are helpful and all very skilled in their own teaching degrees.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would encourage any prospective student to visit the campus first. smaller schools are not for everyone but if you visit and love what you see then it's most likely you will truly enjoy attending this university.

    In three sentences

    southern virginia university has helped to inspire me to reach my goals. the small school atmosphere allows me a closer relationship with my professors who are willing to work with students and help them in any way that they can. the students are friendly, have a natural glow about them, and are all here for the same reason: to succeed.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love how helpful the school administration has been in giving me more information about the school in general, and how they can help me with my individual educational goals!

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Southern Virginia is located on a hill in the depths of the Shenandoah Mountains in a little town called Buena Vista. There is almost no crime here and we have a campus security office with people working around the clock to make sure we are safe.

    Greek Life

    We actually don't have sororities or fraternities at Southern Virginia University, and we don't really miss it, either! There are tons of other clubs you can join.

    Clubs and Activities

    It is really easy to start, join, and attend clubs here. We have so many clubs, ranging from a running club, an art club, and even a doctor who club! There's a club for just about everything here. As mentioned before, there are always university activities on weekends that the student body leaders plan for us, which are usually pretty fun and definitely worth going to.

    Great for these types of students

    Southern Virginia University is a great fit for these students: -Students who want to get away from the partying schools -Students who want to have a fun, clean college experience -Students who want one-on-one time with their professors, if needed -Students who want to go to a smaller university -Students who want to leave the school better than when they entered

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our school hosts something called the Honor Ball. In the spring, after we all get back from winter break, we all dress up in floor length gowns and tuxes (or suits) and dance the night away in our own ballroom. This dance is not just any dance, though. It's equipped with a live jazz band, courtesy of Virginia Military Institute. The jazz music is upbeat and professional. It is always a blast to waltz, ballroom, or swing dance with your friends at the honor ball. It's one night away from the modern world that every college student with homework, stress, and a busy, busy, life.

    Bang for the buck

    Southern Virginia University is, indeed, a private school. That means that the school is a little bit more expensive than public, in-state schools. However, the school does all it can to make it affordable. The pay is totally worth it, too. I've talked to students and friends at other schools and let me just tell you, the more I hear about other schools, the more happy I feel that I chose this school! Every penny you spend is well worth it because the classes are amazing, the professors and extremely talented, and the atmosphere is unforgettable.

    What to do for fun

    Even though Southern Virginia University is in the small town of Buena Vista, there is a bunch to do. Buena Vista has a really cool downtown vibe that is really fun to walk in during the fall and spring. There's a karaoke night on weekends, which is always an experience. The campus also provides activities every weekend like movie nights, dances, or concerts. I honestly don't have a lot of time on weekends to think I have nothing to do!

    Food and Dining

    Southern Virginia University offers a dining hall and a campus cafe called Jonzzey's. The dining hall is great because if you don't like the hot food they serve, there is a salad bar, a deli bar, and a grill to make eggs or a grilled cheese sandwich. Jonzzeys is a cafe that serves sandwiches, paninis, pretzals, and so much more. Both are ideal options for any meal on any day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm I stay at is called The Lofts, which is a beautiful building. The room can fill up to four girls, but usually it has two to three. Each room has its own bathroom (including a shower!!) and a/c and heating unit (it may not seem like it would be particularly useful, but trust me, when it gets super hot or cold, it is VERY nice). There are three floors and each floor has a lobby with a nice tv, couches, chairs, and tables that you can use to lounge, do homework, or have birthday parties.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes make you work hard, but they are not impossible. The professors are understanding and are willing to help you, which makes the work a little less difficult. At Southern Virginia University, when you earn an A in a class, you REALLY do earn an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would do anything you could to check out the awesome scholarships and grants Southern Virginia offers. There are talent grants, academic scholarships, extra-curricular scholarships, you name it! This school tries really hard to make sure you can afford it.

    In three sentences

    Southern Virginia University is unlike any liberal arts university because it embraces Christian standards and promotes a LDS atmosphere. The campus is just the right size and more beautiful than I would have ever imagined. The professors know who you are and would do anything to help you in their classes.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent safety, campus rests above a police station and/ore fire station.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs at this school, some of which include: Dr. Who, Dance company, Family & Child Development Student Association, Ultimate Frisbee, and many others.

    Great for these types of students

    This school will be great for any student who is willing to work hard and have fun while doing it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Religion classes, I believe, are held daily. This school participates in a Family Home Evening night where students get together to have fun and hang out with one-another.

    Bang for the buck

    Education gained here will serve you throughout your entire life. Friendships are made, and there is always something fun to do.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun, Institute classes weekly, trips to Washington. Games, sports, and clubs that you can participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Great food, and great facility. Very well-kept and clean environment.

    Dorm Life

    Excellent. Friendships made within days of knowing new people.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor at this school is pretty self explanatory, if you're doing thing that you are supposed to then you need not worry. If, by chance, you get yourself into any trouble the rules will be enforced and the appropriate actions will be taken to correct anything that needs correcting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan to work hard if accepted here. Follow the counsel of others. Expect to be in a strong family environment.

    In three sentences

    Overall a great school. I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to pursue a greater education.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Choir, Sports, clubs, look on the SVU website for more. www.svu.edu

    Great for these types of students

    Religious students. Students who want to know a lot of people. Students who are active in many different things.

    What to do for fun

    The places where most SVU students go for fun is the Institute building, Glen Maury Park, Walmart in nearby Lexington, VA, as well as Sweet Frog (frozen yogurt place) and the drive in theatre.

    Food and Dining

    SVU has many different options for food. There is the dining hall, and a little cafe as well as having housing opportunities for students to cook their own meals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work. Even though SVU may be a small school it is just as a valuable education as if you went to a prestigious name school. Get involved. There are so many things to do on campus and so many opportunities grab onto those opportunities and learn and grow from them. Ask for help if you need it. SVU is a place where NO ONE should feel ashamed to ask for help. Professors, faculty, and other students will gladly help you, you just need to ask.

    In three sentences

    Southern Virginia University is safe, warm, and a beautiful place. The liberal arts education that one receives there prepares them for life in this country. One learns how to be a leader and how to serve others which is so important in today's economy.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Bridge jumping, cliff jumping, running, sight seeing, swimming in the river, etc. There's always stuff to find and create in small towns.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Hall is probably just as good as any of the others but it's still cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were very nice. The rules were a little overboard sometimes though.

    Academic Rigor

    Since it's a liberal arts school, the classes are hard. The teachers expect a lot from you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend time in the library. It's hard to get all your homework done when there's so much going on and people wanting to do something fun. Don't forget why you're there and don't get caught up in the drama. Enjoy it!

    In three sentences

    Southern Virginia University has amazing teachers that really know what they're talking about. The small campus is great but it also has it's disadvantages. The environment here is amazing though and the people are genuinely nice.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SVU is a great school for students who want a well rounded college experience. The university supports and upholds an honor code, a set of living standards. The honor code includes rules on dress and appearance, drinking, smoking, and sexual purity. The standards are well enforced and are based on the teachings of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, the Mormon Church.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive but the cost is well worth it if you like to learn from amazing professors, one of which is Orson Scott Card, who is invited to speak regularly.

    What to do for fun

    Buena Vista supports a outdoors community, as it is located in the Blue Ridge region. The university is located near several other historical locations such as Lexington and Washington DC. The town of Buena Vista also features movies, libraries, and several other activities.

    Food and Dining

    The university offers a great dining plan to all students. There are also restaurants and cafes for students, visitors and towns people.

    Dorm Life

    In a small university and community it is easy to get to know the students in your dorm and on campus. Freshman students are required to live on campus. Dorms are located on the campus which allow easy access to the university facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    Southern Virginia is considered a Liberal Arts College, but that doesn't mean its an easy school. The professors at the university are some of the best in their fields, and there are intense expectations placed on the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are a well rounded student with plenty of extracurricular activities and plenty of volunteer work. Keep your GPA and test scores up, and to cut costs, take AP and dual enrollment classes. Get as many college credits as you can while you are still in high school.

    In three sentences

    SVU is a 9 with 10 as the best. It has a small student community, in a small town which seems to be very welcoming. Southern Virginia University has high tuition and is a private school, however the cost is well worth the experiences gained.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    OPPS, campus security, is always nearby if you need them for anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    Three words Doctor Who Club!!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little pricier than some but it is a private school. They understand that students need help paying for school so they offer many scholarships

    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun to do around campus. There are movie nights with the newest movies, theatre productions and dances

    Food and Dining

    At SVU we have the cafeteria with many different choices based on dietary needs. It is buffet style and there's something different everyday. We also have a little restaurant that serves paninis and smoothies and things like that.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life at SVU is pretty awesome. Each room, at least in the girls dorms, has a personal bathroom and air conditioner/heating system. The lobbies have cable great for watching tv with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    SVU is very rigorous academically. This is because your teachers really want you to try your best and succeed. Most teachers are available and willing to help any student at any time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you be yourself while you are here. You will have a much better time than if you were trying to be who you think people want you to be.

    In three sentences

    Southern Virginia University is the most beautiful campus I've ever seen. Everyone here is very nice and wants to be your friend. There is always something fun to do around campus.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Southern Virginia does not have its own police force, but it does have 24 hour security that has the power to write parking tickets. Some of the security guards don't exactly inspire confidence, but that's what the police are for. The Buena Vista Police regularly drive around campus. In addition, the town itself seems very safe with little crime. The campus itself is pretty well lit, but I have noticed a lot of burnt out lights that have not been fixed.

    What to do for fun

    There is always activities on the weekend for students to become involved in. There are dances every few weeks and plenty of service opportunities. In town, there is a public landing along part of the Maury River. In addition, there is a 3 mile river walk along the river. North of town is the George Washington National Forest. The closest town is Lexington (about 6 miles away). There are many stores and a movie theater in Lexington.

    Food and Dining

    The main place of dining is the cafeteria. Students can opt for an unlimited dining plan, or settle with $1,100 per semester. Each meal is between $6 and $7. It is a buffet, with separate fruit and salad bars. The food is pretty decent. There is always a variety, so I am always able to find something that I like to eat. There is also a grill where students can fry eggs or toast bread. The other eating place is Jonzzeys, located in the student center. It serves a variety of food at a variety of prices; typically between $7 and $8.

    Dorm Life

    Men and women have separate housing arrangements. The men can live on campus in one of two dorm buildings. Both buildings have two bathrooms per floor with two showers each. Each room holds two people and has adjustable heating and air. The women live in a very nice building about a block from the main campus. I have never been in one of the rooms, but I know that it is very nice; much nicer than the men's. There are three people to a room in the women's dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offered by Southern Virginia are designed to be challenging. I feel challenged in every one of my classes. However, I look forward to the challenge because I know that I will learn a lot and be prepared to enter the work force. The professors are always happy to help with struggling students and there are tutors for almost every subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to apply early. Southern Virginia only accepts a max of 800 students, so it fills up quickly. Once accepted, be sure to register for classes right away. The class sizes are usually very small (about 20 or so) so they fill up fast, especially the required ones.

    In three sentences

    Southern Virginia University is the perfect university for LDS students who do not want to attend a large school, such as BYU. Southern Virginia's small size, LDS standards, and excellent academics makes it a great choice. Located in Buena Vista, VA, Southern Virginia University is within an easy drive of several natural attractions, such as the George Washington National Forest and the Natural Bridge, and only 3 hours from Washington, D.C.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am just researching Southern Virginia University, but I was wondering what it is like in Virgina? Like is the location of SVU cool?

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is very good at Southern Virginia University. There are many officers and they are always keeping an eye out for you.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Southern Virginia University.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are soooooo many clubs and activities on SVU's campus, its crazy! And if the club you want doesn't exist, YOU CAN MAKE IT! New clubs are formed all the time!

    Great for these types of students

    Theater, music, pre-med students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The people are all very original and fun! You never know what to expect, but there is always something fun going on.

    Bang for the buck

    If this school provides the programs you are looking for than it is very good for the cost you pay.

    What to do for fun

    There are many club, sport, and art (preforming art as well) opportunities on campus. There are also a few cool places to hang out in Buena Vista and the neighboring town of Lexington.

    Food and Dining

    There are two choices to get your food on campus, which is not all that great, but the food is pretty good! The cafeteria is kind of a hit and miss, but Jonzzey's, the campus cafe, is very dependable for having great food!

    Dorm Life

    The on-campus living at Southern Virginia University is very nice. There are three boys dorms that are old but dependable and right in the middle of campus. The girls dorm are very new and even have individual bathrooms. They are very spacious and all around wonderful! The only down side is the walk up the hill to get to them, but it helps to keep the freshmen 15 off!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Southern Virginia University are hard, but well worth it. Professors push their students to become the best they can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to attend a small school to major in music, theater or pre-med, this is the school for you!

    In three sentences

    If I were to rate Southern Virginia University, I would give it an 8 of 10. SVU is a very good school for anyone looking for a small school that is dedicated to education, service, and leadership. The religious atmosphere at SVU helps to make anyone feel welcomed on this campus.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't have to worry about my safety here. These school has a strict honor code and as such most people here come from strong religious or moral backgrounds.

    Greek Life

    This school has a strong emphasis on Greek culture. Most every class I have taken so far has made reference to classical tradition.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs at this school, from dancing to singing, and from writing to singing. There is something here for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students interesting in the arts. One will walk away from this school armed with a rich knowledge of ancient history, culture, and philosophy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every week there are forums where individuals of respectful status come to our school. There speak on a range of topics, but overall the messages deal with success in any aspect of life.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is expensive but you really get a lot out of it. Many of the teachers here are top notch.

    What to do for fun

    This week offers several fun activities despite it being in a small town. There are service projects, hiking trips, and travel studies.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better, however it satisfies my hunger.

    Dorm Life

    I can't say it is perfect but overall all the quality of Dorm life is suitable for one's needs.

    Academic Rigor

    This school demands hard work, and most classes assign about 5 hours of homework outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    College isn't High School. One is often away from home and on his or her own. In that sense college is far more challenging and requires emotional preparation in addition to academic.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed my time attending Southern Virginia University. I have learned invaluable lessons from my professors and hope to be able to afford to continuing my stay here at this school. This school has been worth my time.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many ways to become active on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is your basic cafeteria. It isn't bad, but you will want a kitchen when you are an upper classman.

    Dorm Life

    The girl's dorms are great. I have never been in the boy's dorms so I do not know how they are.

    Academic Rigor

    You get a great education if you do your work. Slacking off does not get you anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great university to keep into consideration.

    In three sentences

    Southern Virginia University offers a wonderful liberal arts education. It has a great LDS atmosphere and you have a feeling of belonging because everyone knows one another.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The activities for fun depend on you a lot. If you want to, you can find things to do. There a frequent activities, but when there aren't activities, the town has little to offer. In these moments you'll have to invent something, but there's plenty of potential.

    Food and Dining

    I personally don't like eating cafeteria style, but for who likes it, the price is reasonable and the location is close to everything on campus. The food is what you would expect in a cafeteria, and sometimes the workers even go above and beyond to provide something special.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you would hope. If you're socially inclined and don't mind a little noise, it's perfect. Much calmer than dorms in many universities, and with facilities adequate for your needs.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are well organized and useful. Who wants to learn can, and who learns manages a good GPA. The professors look for ways to help you, and in general your grade reflects what you learned, not just how much you crammed for finals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. You'll be able to feel quickly if it's what you want. Don't be scared by the facilities: many are still being updated, but they started with the most important.

    In three sentences

    Southern Virginia University is exactly what it proposes to be. The small classes help to ensure a quality, individual education. The atmosphere is very close and feels like a community.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go with an alumni from previous years; I got to have more of an in-depth introduction to the school. It was fantastic!

    In three sentences

    The professors and the students are really close, and if you are looking for a place for well educated professors, this is the place. I have met some of the smartest men in the country here, teaching at this little school. I sat in at a class, and I honestly was mind blown by how amazing the education is. I LOVE THIS SCHOOL

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a small campus, and the security people are always friendly and willing to respond and help out with many things. I have personally never had any problems regarding safety in my three years here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of wonderful clubs, and there are always activities planned by student organizations going on! How well they are attended depends on the interests of the years' students, though.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who love learning, who are willing to put effort into their education, and those who enjoy talking with their classmates and teachers on a regular basis. Also wonderful for those who appreciate a religious atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Main Hall has been around for at least 100 years, and its towers are said to be haunted. Some classes are held on the top floor, but most of the rooms are unused, and the tops of the towers are often left alone except at Halloween. There are numerous ghost stories concerning the building, and there are even underground tunnels within.

    Bang for the buck

    It is rather expensive, but it is definitely worth it! Also, there are many scholarships which the school offers to help students, and over half of the student body uses these to continue coming. I am among them. While the price tag may seem intimidating, it is entirely worth it! Always be on the lookout for scholarships, though.

    What to do for fun

    If you know someone with a car, Lexington is a great place to explore, as it has many historical sites and intriguing shops. It's also got some nice scenery around, and it's only 10 minutes or so away with a car. Without a car, just walking around Buena Vista brings some beautiful sites, as there are many wonderful trees and pathways to explore. Also, the town community hosts events that are always open to the students, like the annual Mountain Days Festival, that is lots of fun to pop in on.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is well-stocked, and they always have a wide variety of food options. And if nothing that is set out appeals to you, there is always a salad bar, sandwich bar, and an open grill with eggs and bread, not to mention toasters and cereal constantly available.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are rather well kept up, and problems can be directly addressed on a weekly basis with resident advisers in meetings, or more frequently just by stopping by and talking with them. The maintenance requests have also improved in response time recently, so talk to the resident advisers about the online forms and you can take care of that on your own when necessary. The rooms are also of a fairly good size, although it varies depending on where you live.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the classes push you to do your best work. There are few where only being mediocre will be accepted, and even if you manage to pull it off, you are only doing yourself a severe disservice. If you put in the effort, you will be greatly rewarded!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep a schedule not only for your classes, but for all the extra activities that go on. Plan your time so that you don't neglect your studies, or time with your friends around campus. Also be willing and confident in talking to the teachers about your schoolwork if you need to, or even just on a friendly basis. Maintain a clean-cut appearance, and earn respect by giving it. And take advantage of service opportunities - there are plenty of them!

    In three sentences

    Southern Virginia is a tightly-knit and supportive community for all involved, and welcoming to newcomers.The students and faculty work together on a daily basis, and do so respectfully on both sides. The atmosphere is rich and loving, and always full of exciting activities!

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe! It's a tiny campus in a tiny town. If you do feel uncomfortable, the OPSS guys are very willing to walk with you or give you a ride.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want your professors to know who you are, if you like participating in class discussions, or if you want to be in a school where you are valued, this is the place to be!

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities planned all the time. Go to them-it's a great way to meet new people and get free food.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Hall isn't bad, it's just not really good either...

    Dorm Life

    Well, the girls' dorm is pretty new, but the guys' are a bit questionable. There are no kitchens though!

    Academic Rigor

    This is a liberal arts school, so you will learn how to write well. Most of the professors are really good about connecting their class with other subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get good grades or be involved with athletics/music to get a scholarship.

    In three sentences

    SVU is an awesome school! The professors are very involved with your education and want to work with you. The students are friendly as well.

  • 03/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is a small school with a big personality. I absolutely love the LDS atmosphere here. We have everything from music to sports.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of campus activities to attend from sports activites, theatre performances, and choir and orchestra concerts, to movie knights, dances, and other fun activities that you can be invovled in.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the dining hall isn't all that great unfortunately. They have their moments, but the food isn't the best quality and it doesn't seem as if we have much variety in the menu.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is pretty great. The Lofts are incredibly nice and I love not having to share a bathroom with an enitre floor. We even have exercise equipment so that if you are not one to exercise in front of boys or you don't want to walk down to the fitness center you can come work out on the third floor. I'd say we are basically living the life up here.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging but the professors truly care about you and how you are doing in your studies. If you do the work assigned and put in the effort you will do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get invovled. Your college experience here will be so much more enjoyable if you find something you are interested in and join up. There is something here for everyone, so get invovled and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Southern Virginia is a great school with a close nit community. The school's music and theatre programs are strongly supported and thrive here. With the genius of small you get to know most people on campus, which is totally awesome!!