Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southern Wesleyan University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want a smaller tight-knit community. Religion and Education Majors

    Tips for prospective students

    I know parents say it all the time, but they are actually right on this one... Keep you grades up! I never realized how important it was to work hard in High School until I started applying for colleges. Better grades get you money and a lot of respect!

    Bang for the buck

    SWU is a small private college, which automatically makes it more expensive than a public school. However they offer many academic scholarships and on-campus work-study to help with the costs.

    Am enjoying being here

    I Love SWU! I came from a very large high school, where my graduating class was just under 700 students. SWU has 900 of the nicest, caring people in the world. It is affiliated with the Wesleyan Church, but I am not Christian and still love every bit about SWU.

    Am learning a lot

    Because SWU is a smaller school, the professors really care about what you are learning. My Biology Professor told me that as long as you put in the effort, the professors will be there to get you where you need to go. I am a Pre-Med major (the hardest on campus) and have learned more about biology, chemistry, and my self in just the 1 semester that I have attended SWU.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    program is only for 21 years and older. perfect for someone that has a family, full-time job, goes to church, kids have activities, it will be challenging but you will make it through!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    central is the main campus but most ags students do not see the campus until graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    quite expensive but the success rate is high, it a private school so scholarships are really not available.

    Academic Rigor

    this is fast track courses, so you looking at one subject every five weeks. got to stay on top of all assignments. there's only five classes for the tougher subjects there's 9 classes. you can only miss 1/5 of all class hours, meaning just one for five weeks and 1 1/2 for 9 weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    i'm in the ags program, make sure to come in serious for the duration of your student career. you will have study groups and they after time will be life-time friends if you a strong one subject let your group know and the assignments will be much easier to achieve.

    In three sentences

    prayer starts the class. never alone in any class, study groups of 5 or less move through to graduation. never see a book store, a yellow bag is brought to the class with your books in it.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    you may wish to buy your own food and just buy the smallest meal plan

    Dorm Life

    good you will have a roommate unless you want to pay extra

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are not hard but challenging and make you think.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't expect the professors to baby you they expect you to be an adult and to make sure you keep up with your work.

    In three sentences

    a good university for someone who wants a positive environment to study in. the professors are kind and understanding as a whole and are willing to help students. students activities are also plentiful and help to make the college fun for the students.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe environment.

    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    There are always tons of activities going on at any given place on campus. Sadly, most of these happen at night so, if you are a commuter, they can be difficult to fit in when you have to consider the time it takes you to drive home (after your homework is all done, of course).

    Food and Dining

    The food is....alright. Some stuff is really good, but most of it is just average. Aramark does what they can, but of course, it's nothing like home-cooked meals.

    Dorm Life

    I really don't know much about the dorms because I'm a commuter. But, from what I have seen, the Stu-B dorms are....well, they could use a facelift, for sure. Mullinax seems like your average, decent dorm. And the apartments are pretty nice too.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a music major, so it's pretty hectic as far as homework/practicing goes- but that's a good thing. The teachers are willing to help if you don't understand something about your work, and all the homework helps you practice and get good at it. I'd say that SWU has the best music program of any school around the upstate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a planner, USE IT, and CHECK mycampus.

    In three sentences

    SWU is an amazing place to attend college. They have their foundation firm in the Lord and the teachers exhibit their faith by how they treat the students with care and respect. All of the teachers are amazing, and the environment on this campus is safe, friendly, God-centered, relaxed, and fun.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When AGS students have occasion to attend the main campus, it is a very safe environment. The campus police keep a presence and the town is small and quiet.

    Greek Life

    Not aware of any for AGS students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an Honor Society for AGS students to join with a GPA of 3.5 or higher. There are lots of activities on the main campus AGS students can attend during the year. There are several activities held at the AGS sites that encourage students to attend.

    Great for these types of students

    The AGS program is for working adults who want to return to school, but have so much going on in their lives they can't attend three or four nights of class. Attending class one night a week is an ideal situation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At graduation you are surrounded by the faculty who prays for you, then you march down the road to the chapel accompanied by bagpipes. The faculty lines both sides of the street as you march in. It is so beautiful and moving. You feel the solemness of the occasion and the beauty of knowing you have accomplished your goal and your dream.

    Bang for the buck

    You do get your money's worth at SWU. It is a great college to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Central is a small town, but Greenville, SC is right next door and is full of places to explore. There are art museums, cultural centers, music, parks, recreation, fishing, hunting, and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    Does not apply to AGS students.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply to AGS students.

    Academic Rigor

    SWU is a very rigorous program and when you complete a class, you feel you have accomplished something major. You really do learn current strategies and management techniques for the business world. Your professors work with you to make sure you understand the material. Your materials and books are provided for you. There is an online tutor and the library services are available online also.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you work full time and want to return to college, SWU AGS program is for you. Apply as soon as possible. A class starts in May, 2012. They are a very professional school, small classes, meet once a week and they work with you. Financial aid is available and the counselors work with you to find what best meets your needs. You are treated with respect and with recognition of your abilities as a college student. The professors are very knowledgeable and work with you on making sure you learned the materials. Your books are included and provided to you by the first night of class. It makes learning easy. You are so proud when you get that degree because you earned it!

    In three sentences

    The AGS program is great for working students because we meet class one night per week. The classes are five to seven weeks in length. The professors are all qualified in the subject they are teaching. The classes incorporate your Christian values and ethics into the class strategies and lessons. Your books and materials are provided for you. There are hybrid classes which combine online and meeting classes and there are online classes to meet your needs.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Main campus

    Great for these types of students

    The adult program is really for people who only have one night a week that they can give to themselves to attend college. It will give you the opportunity to get a degree to better yourself in business market.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus is located in North Augusta, Columbia, Charleston, and Spartanburg, SC. These locations are the adult program.

    What to do for fun

    Main campus

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a person who works full-time and have a full schedule then this is the college for you because you only have to attend the adult program once a week.

    In three sentences

    It's a great college with loving people who care about your future. I like that it has a lot of opportunity for adults who work full-time hours. You only have to attend one night a week.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have security on campus its great

    What to do for fun

    There are mountains nearby , Anderson is just a short drive away and greenville also has a lot to offer.

    Food and Dining

    From what I've heard the food is great!

    Dorm Life

    I'm commuting

    Academic Rigor

    Haven't started the school year yet

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and talk to some of the staff they are really awesome!

    In three sentences

    I have visited many campuses and Southern Wesleyan is the only campus I enjoy being on. The staff is very helpful and fast to respond to any questions you have. Its not a very large school, In fact it is smaller than my high school.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved in sports and activities on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour all colleges that offer the major of your choice prior to making a final decision on the college you will attend.

    In three sentences

    Small Christian College. Caring Professors. Excellent Athletic Program.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians, athletes and also normal people who enjoy making friends and want to get a good education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is nothing unusual about campus. It is Christian college.

    Bang for the buck

    I would do anything to come back because SWU became my home.

    What to do for fun

    Campus is beautiful and many people love camping around here or longboarding. It is very fun University

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work ahead not on a last minute. Study on a regular base and eat healthy.

    In three sentences

    Southern Wesleyan university became my home. I play basketball here. I love people and education and I would love to finish my degree here.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are dances, sporting events of all different types of sports, local to near by Easley or Clemson for more activities.

    Food and Dining

    I give the food & dining a 4 star, they have the best food around.

    Dorm Life

    I give the dorm life a 4 star, it is a great place to stay.

    Academic Rigor

    I give the school 4 stars in academics

    Tips for prospective students

    Southern Wesleyan is a great christian oriented school, who cares for the students and staff. I would recommend renting your books, unless you plan to keep them for future reference.

    In three sentences

    Southern Wesleyan is a fantastic college. The staff are excellent to work with. Everyone cares about the students.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a great security team on campus and the local authorities drive around our campus several times throughout the day. On top of the protection our campus is in the middle of a very small community that is very safe and friendly!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Southern Wesleyan University's mascot is the warrior and for every sporting event a group of people get painted up and dress up like warriors with spears and everything. For the soccer games they run down a huge hill and charge the field!

    What to do for fun

    Southern Wesleyan is not known for dull moments, there is always something to do and creativity is wanted. On any given weekend you could go to a giant indoor trampoline park, go on a unplanned road trip, hike trials, go camping, go to concerts, go see a movie or have a giant movie party, have a huge dancing foam party, have a paint throwing party, get dressed up and walk around downtown, etc. The possibilities are endless and most of the activities are always free.

    Food and Dining

    No matter what college you go to most everyone complains about the cafeteria food. At SWU that is true most days but there is always something to eat and there is also a Starbucks and grill restaurant on campus that is delicious and does not cost any extra. Another bonus is the local cities around SWU are filled with fast food and inexpensive restaurants that only take you 3 to 10 minutes to get to. This is very convenient on the weekends when there is nothing to do and you do not want to eat in the cafe you can get a group of friends and go to the local places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    There are three dorms and two apartment complexes at SWU. The freshmen stay in Stuart- Bennett and Childs, the best part about living in these dorms is the community that takes place. There is never a dull moment and friendships grow and develop constantly. Dorm life is so great that even the commuters often stay over instead of going home.

    Academic Rigor

    SWU is recognized for sending students out fully prepared to succeed in life. Some of the top programs include education, psychology, religion, and recently criminal justice! Classes at Southern Wesleyan are not always easy but with supportive teachers and small class sizes they are all very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you research and visit the college you are considering. Most students who come to SWU (Southern Wesleyan University) say that as soon as they stepped on campus they knew it was the right match for them. This reaction usually came after researching and making sure that SWU offered their major. No matter what university you go to make sure you research the website, visit the campus, and pray and talk to close family and friends before making your final decision.

    In three sentences

    I rate Southern Wesleyan as a ten out of ten! This university is not perfect but the mistakes are made up for by the incredible community and God filled atmosphere on campus. Southern Wesleyan University quickly becomes your home away from home and offers many different clubs, sports, and friendships on the beautiful and small campus!