Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with a genuine desire to learn and succeed. It is a two year associates degree community college and they are allied with Marshall University.

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you bring yourself and a desire to learn this school can help you. The staff will do everything humanly possible to help you succeed.

  • 05/19/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you need to talk to someone in the school, its best to go in, as they do not return phone calls. That is the biggest downfall I have witnessed so far. I could not tell you how many messages and emails I have left that have never received a response.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I highly recommend Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College to anyone who is going to major in an Allied Health field. I love going to college there, and everyone is very helpful and very knowledgable. I am proud to say I go to Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Always somewhere to eat and hangout between classes!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are unavailable through this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the best professors in the world to learn from! They are down to earth and get on your level. They are always willing to go above and beyond in their classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into the campuses ,don't call, or e-mail, depending on who you e-mail you will get a great response!

    In three sentences

    This rural community college is awesome for any student! Single Moms, Full time workers, first college choice, or even going back to school? Southern is great for everyone!

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Have not ate there food yet, but heard it was good

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on the Williamson campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check the prices of book online first before getting them from the bookstore

    In three sentences

    The teachers i have meet so far are all pretty nice, but the most of the staff that work in offices do not really know what they are doing. I find it easier and faster just to do the work myself.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    good food around and in the college

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms you stay at home and drive.

    Academic Rigor

    Great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your nose in the books, you will need it.

    In three sentences

    Southern West Virginia and Community and Technical College has helped me open my eyes. This is a great cheap college where you can receive all the knowledge to pursue your future dreams and goals.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Five stars

    What to do for fun

    They have a membership to a gym and recreational area as well as a pool table in one location and numerous televisions.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining area is great !

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Four stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your counselor regularly. Don't be afraid to ask questions or for help they're always willing to help all they can

    In three sentences

    It is a good starting point for those going for a four year degree and good school for two year degrees. They have great staff also. As well as great and functioning classes.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    During Christmas break the school usually has drawings for students to win many different prizes. They also sometimes have singing competitions just to have fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Southern is great for students who just graduated and don't want to move to a huge university. It is also good for students who don't want to live on a campus at all.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are four locations of Southern WV Community and Technical College.

    Bang for the buck

    Southern is a great place to learn, do homework, make friends, and hangout. It's a more relaxed environment, and the teachers are great!

    What to do for fun

    In the college they have a pool table, a cafeteria, and a fitness center close by. It is all fun, but where you don't stay on campus you don't have as much time to do those activities.

    Food and Dining

    Southern has a coffee shop at the Logan campus that also sells food and snacks. If you don't want to go there to eat you are really close to a lot of nice restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this two-year college.

    Academic Rigor

    Southern is not too hard, but not easy either. They provide you with prepared teachers who really care about teaching, and it's a wonderful experience to be there.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in going to Southern Community and Technical College apply as soon as you can. It is a great school and depending on where you live, there are four campuses to choose from.

    In three sentences

    Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College has very educated teachers who will help you when you don't understand something. The college is very clean and the students are great! I would recommend Southern to you because it's a great way to start out furthering your education and you will learn a lot there.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lounge around doing homework, goof off outside when the weather permits, etc.

    Food and Dining

    this campus does not have a cafeteria but there are local options that are wonderful to eat at

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    depending on how well you are in the subject will show how difficult the classes will be. if you enjoy the subject, you will find the class easy and interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    ask any staff a question if you have one, they are more than willing to help you with anything they can

    In three sentences

    I would give the Boone Campus a five out of five stars! i love this campus of the Southern West Virginia Community and Technical college branch, they are a wonderful staff and are always willing to help me with any issues i have. I will be sad when i have to leave the campus.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play WOW in the library. That's about it.

    Food and Dining

    Very few options.

    Dorm Life

    Nonexistent.

    Academic Rigor

    Not very hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go.

    In three sentences

    Absolutely terrible. Dealing with the financial aid office is a nightmare. Going to this school was the worst decision I have ever made.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campuses are very safe! My campus has a police officer that lives on the peremesis!

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a more student based academic program!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are multiple campuses for this college! My campus is located in our local high school!

    Bang for the buck

    This school was my top pick because I'm from a low income family and they met my needs not only academically, but financially also! My tuition for a year was less then my pell grant. I was a full time student.

    What to do for fun

    Spending time with your friends having lunch or dinner when you have late classes!

    Food and Dining

    The schools are located in areas that have various restaurants and eateries.

    Dorm Life

    This school doesn't offer on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are amazing! Smaller classes than normal colleges and universities! The teacher : student ratio is amazing and was very helpful to me!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work, always attend classes! They will work with you the best they can! Multiple campuses help for having a flexible class schedule!

    In three sentences

    The school is awesome! The tuition is completely affordable and they're very flexible with scheduling! The staff is so helpful, they are very student based!