Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Southwest Baptist University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Being a Christian college, SBU is a wonderful school for students wishing to deepen their relationships with God, and see how everything they learned in church applies to real life. If you are interested in missions or ministry, this is also and excellent school for you! SBU is not limited to only Christian students, however. It also has excellent programs in education, business and accounting, and biology and physical therapy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study, but also to have the time of your life! Don't be afraid to make new friends, because the friendships I've made here have been very deep, and have developed quickly.

    Bang for the buck

    For a private college, SBU offers great programs for a relatively small price, which is why it has been named in America’s 100 Best College Buys® and schools with Americas Best College Scholarships®. I personally think SBU is still fairly expensive, at $22,000 per year for tuition, fees, room and board; however, if you bear in mind that it is a private school, this is a very affordable price.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love it at SBU!! Both students and staff are wonderful and tons of fun! There is a higher concentration of warm, friendly and caring people here, than I have ever seen anywhere else. It's summer vacation right now, and I have never missed being in school so much in my entire life because it's so wonderful there!

    Am learning a lot

    I have been able to learn quite a bit in the past year that I have attended here. The wonderful thing about SBU is that the faculty care about you learning about life, and not just their subjects.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all types. There's something here for everyone. There's a friend here for everyone. It's a small school so you get that community feel without having to know every single person on the campus. Everyone fits in somewhere and some people fit in everywhere. It's wonderful! I love the atmosphere. I'm sure you will too.

    Tips for prospective students

    I only have a few tips for prospective students: 1) Bring rain boots and a large umbrella. You wouldn't believe how much it rains in the spring. I thought I was living in Seattle there for a while! 2) You may want to allot some money for you to buy staple food items to keep in your dorm room. SBU does a pretty good job with their food at Mellars (the cafeteria) but it is cafeteria food and you get bored with it after a while. Don't rely on the wide variety of fast food restaurants that are conveniently nearby. Make use of the kitchen available in every dorm. 3) Get to know your professors outside of class. They are wonderful people and have lots of things to teach you within and outside of the classroom walls. 4) You don't need to bring your whole closet with you the first day. You've got time to go home and get the things you discover you still need before the weather becomes too dramatic to handle. I learned this the hard way. 5) Don't date anyone the first couple of months. This is the time to make friends. 6) Bring a bike/longboard/skateboard/rollerskates(?) because there will be mornings you run late. 7) Keep your grades up. You don't want to lose your scholarships. 8) Second semester is tougher than first semester in every single way possible. 9) Call whoever helped you make it to college, at least once a week that first semester. They REALLY want to hear how you are. 10) You are about to get a whole ton of freedom with your time. Don't abuse it. Don't sleep in until 2pm (missing your first three classes). Don't be stupid.

    Bang for the buck

    Southwest Baptist University is a private university and therefore the price to go there looks steeper than your average state school. Coming in as a freshman last fall, the price tag was a whopping $23,000. But amazingly, the cost of my education was far less than that of some of my friends at state schools! SBU has fantastic scholarship programs. The scholarships you get for your high school academics alone make a huge dent. On top of that, I had a church matching scholarship, a dependent of minister scholarship, and music scholarship for both flute and voice. By the time it was all said and done, I only had a couple thousand more to come up with on my own. I'm so glad I was able to come here! I'm getting a great education and having a wonderful college experience and its very affordable too!

    Am enjoying being here

    Part of Southwest Baptist University's credo is that they are caring. This is a completely true statement. I am a rather shy person at first and I always felt welcome every time I came to visit before school started last year. The students waved to me. The ambassadors were warm and friendly. Several times, doors were opened for me by gentlemanly students here. The teachers make you feel comfortable and are very engaging. Yes it is a small school and yes it is in a tiny community, but the education and the social experiences you have here are worth it! I'm making memories and gaining to knowledge to last a life time! I love the chapel services. I love the Thursday night worship service in the tiny chapel in the middle of campus. Assassins week was a blast! And all of the student faculty (RA's, etc.) really make an effort to make you feel like you're a part of a family. By the way, they have an amazing city park in Bolivar. Seriously, it's gorgeous in summer and they decorate it up really well in the winter. You are going to enjoy it a lot.

    Am learning a lot

    As a double major I began taking the maximum load possible my second semester of freshman year. One of my majors is Graphic Design and the other is General Music. Both require a rather large number of pre-requisites and I was kind of overwhelmed by the road ahead of me. To tell you the truth, it still seems overwhelming at times because I'm only one year into school and about to start my second and two majors can really take it out of you. I'm even taking summer courses so that I can try to complete both degree programs within four years. But every single teacher I have there is understanding of what I'm trying to accomplish. Every single class I have taken here has been informative and relevant to the degree program to which it applied and up to date! I ended the year with a 3.7 GPA and I know that the knowledge I gained from the year will carry over into the next three years and inevitably into my career!

  • 06/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Because SBU is a Christian institution, students of that faith may feel most comfortable there. Also, there are many opportunities for those who would like to major in Biblical studies or similar disciplines. However, SBU is a great school for those interested in other fields of study as each department has excellent professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of SBU's events for prospective students, namely Bearcat Days and Fall Visitation. This will give you an opportunity to meet with faculty and determine if the atmosphere fits your particular needs and preferences.

    Bang for the buck

    SBU is a private school, and therefore can be very expensive. However, the financial aid has been very generous and the scholarships requirements have recently been changed to allow more students to become eligible.

    Am enjoying being here

    The faculty and students are very friendly and encouraging. I have been able to excel in my studies due to their willingness to help and genuine concern for the success of their students.

    Am learning a lot

    As a biology/pre-med major at SBU, I have been taught by excellent professors both in my field of study as well as the general education courses I have taken. I have learned life lessons as well as a great deal of knowledge from my classes.

  • 11/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SBU is good for Christian students who want to be grown spiritually and academically. The school will challenge them as it prepares them for their career. However, it’s not only Christians that come here because the school is welcome for anyone to come.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be excited about starting college because it is a wonderful time of transition and personal growth. Don’t sweat the small things before you get there. On the more practical side, if you are living in a dorm, you might want to invest in some under-the-bed storage units. Those really come in handy.

    Bang for the buck

    SBU is a private Christian school. It has quality academics paired with fun activities, Christian development, and nice dorms. That being said, its sticker price is going to a bit higher than an in-state public school. However, it offers many types of merit scholarships, both for freshmen and transfer students. These scholarships can bring down the expected cost. Even if you are not sure about paying for the school’s cost, apply anyway and see how the scholarships come out.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy SBU, and the dorm life is great. While we do not have fraternities and sororities, people in each dorm building become very close. I have made some very good friendships with other girls who live in my hall. One thing that we do together as a dorm is we have dorm activities such as joining a coffee house night or watching a movie. Each year at Homecoming, we show off our dorm pride by participating in the dorm competitions. My favorite of the dorm competitions is the Bed Races. That is an event in which each dorm building has a representative team. The team pushes one of its members on a wheeled bed as quickly as they can. The winning team gets points, and the team with the most points after all of the Homecoming events are over gets bragging rights and a prize.

    Am learning a lot

    There are many academic opportunities at Southwest Baptist. Specifically, I want to talk about the Dutile Honors Program, which has provided me personally with many opportunities. As part of the honors program, I have to upgrade a certain amount of my general education courses into an honors version. For example, instead of taking Introduction to Economics, I will be taking Honors Economics. These honors courses are not designed to be filled with busywork to make them seem more difficult. Rather, they encourage us to think critically about the subject.

  • 02/06/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SBU is great for kids who want to be treated as kids, hard core Christians, non partiers, students who want to learn all about God and Jesus, those who want to attend every class, and do homework most of the time. SBU has a very strict attendance policy, as well as Chapel attendance policy.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to still be treated like a highschool or middle school kid, checked up on where ever you are going, be unable to have fun, be expected to be a perfect rold model, then SBU is your school. They have very very high Christan expectation, and have next to impossible rules to follow. The staff are rude and arrogant. You are forced to attend Chapel twice a week, so if Christianity being stuffed down your throat doesnt intrest you, SBU isn't the school for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Horribly expensive, and there are better, cheaper Christian schools

    Did enjoy being here

    I hated the atomosphere. Bolivar is boring, and the SBU campus offers nothing to do. Honestly, Bolivar is pretty much a ghost town aside from the kids on campus. There is also tendancies for students to be treated like children.

    Did learn a lot

    The academics at SBU are very good. I learnt alot, and while the expecations for homework are high, it's still very good.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cars patrol the campus 24/7 and security takes their job seriously.

    Greek Life

    Not applicable

    Clubs and Activities

    The University Activities Council and Student Government Association provide weekly activities for students. There are many clubs to be involved with in each respective college. The SIFE program and Forensics clubs are notably prestigious.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During our school's Welcome Week, we have a man on staff at the school who leads the hundreds of new students down the forum playing the bagpipes in epic fashion for all the parents to see.

    Bang for the buck

    Southwest Baptist is a private college; therefore, it is considerably pricey. However, it is a well-respected and affordable school that offers extensive financial aid to all students.

    What to do for fun

    The campus contains raquetball courts and a climbing and bouldering wall, a student field for football or soccer, and a game room with ping pong, foosball, and pool tables. There are lots of fun things to do in the Springfield area (25 minutes away) and there are lots of unused bridges and creeks in the area as well as a park. Get creative :)

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is quite acceptable and favorable. There are few things off-limits.

    Dorm Life

    Most at Southwest Baptist are Christians and are therefore pretty friendly people. Many will leave their doors open and are open for socializing and having new faces in their rooms. In addition, the dorm staff usually put on several social events a semester.

    Academic Rigor

    Programs are not impossible but still stretching, challenging, and time consuming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Continue to apply for scholarships in college during breaks and when you have downtime in your schoolwork.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Baptist University is a great private school with reasonable tuition and plenty of scholarship opportunities. More importantly, the professors are first-class with high degrees of education and also caring personalities that desire to see you succeed. The campus life and students are mostly positive as it is a private Christian institution with many opportunities for social, physical, and spiritual growth.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has school security guards

    Greek Life

    Unknown and not interested

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide variety

    Great for these types of students

    Don't know yet

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't know yet

    Bang for the buck

    I feel this University is very competitive for the money

    What to do for fun

    There are many academic clubs and sports

    Food and Dining

    available however not interested

    Dorm Life

    available however not for me

    Academic Rigor

    Very good

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to ask questions. Knowledge is power!

    In three sentences

    My overall impression of this University is amazing. The staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. I am very excited to begin my program of choice at Southwest Baptist University!

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I know their is security at both campus's.

    Greek Life

    Unknown, possibly at the main campus in Bolivar.

    Clubs and Activities

    SNA- Student Nurses Association at the Springfield Campus. Bolivar has many more clubs and activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I go to the affiliate campus in Springfield so unsure what the main campus has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    I am really glad I chose SBU. Class sizes are smaller and instructors are hands on.

    What to do for fun

    Many things that one is accustomed to in larger cities.

    Food and Dining

    Unknown, I live local and not on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not know, I live local. Dorm rooms are offered though to those in need.

    Academic Rigor

    SBU's curriculum is challenging, you earn what you put forth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like any college or school, you have to study to get good grades.

    In three sentences

    I recently completed my first semester at SBU. The instructors take an interest in your learning, they don't act like teaching is just a job. I would recommend SBU to anyone looking to further his education.

  • 04/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SBU is great for students who are looking to be challenged academically and who have the determination to put in the work to pursue their career or life dream.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are debating whether or not to come to SBU I highly suggest visiting the school.It will really give you a feel for the type of environment and even people that you would possibly encounter here.

    Bang for the buck

    Some say the school is a bit pricey,but I think it's well worth its cost.There are so many different aspects that make this school worth investing in.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here.Everyone is friendly which you won't find at a lot of schools.The environment is very comforting as well,especially having fellow believers surrounding you.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot in the classroom as well as outside of the classroom.From the in depth lectures to chapel twice a week,this school has really enabled me to expand my mind and be more successful in what I do.

  • 10/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    SBU-Salem is affordable for any student, traditional or non-traditional.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like the facility that they have at SBU-Salem. It has the up to date technology along with great teachers and office staff.

    Am learning a lot

    I attend SBU-Salem Campus and one thing that suprised me is that it is very challenging for a small campus.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While for guys it is not a problem, the girls who live in Memorial have quite a walk through the neighborhood. Part of this goes through a somewhat dark street with only one side being lit, sadly this is something the school can do nothing about but ensure campus security patrols the area often. Bolivar is not exactly the cleanest place to live, but it needs good people found in Christ to reach out to them, and escort the ladies back to their dorms at night. If this is done there are no issues.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent. The only thing close would be Maupin and Memorial Hall.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Maupin is by far the strangest, but rewarding men's dorm to be in. No other dorm has a truly integrated open door policy and dorm events are always done on the fly and long-standing traditions make it worth being apart of the dorm and watching it.

    Bang for the buck

    Again a little pricey, but I wouldn't want to go anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Being in a small town, there is not a lot to do. Thankfully Springfield is nearby and always has something fun to do, but if you don't have a car this is where you have to be creative. Building fire pits in the local countryside, swimming in lakes or just having fun in the local walmart at night are always recipes for a good time.

    Food and Dining

    This is the only part of SBU that I believe is sub-par. Fresh Ideas (the company that SBU hires) does not take suggestions seriously and has a monopoly over what the school can do about events that include food...so it is not often we get a change of pace. It's only when, but the selection day to day is more often than not leftovers from previous weeks made to look freshly made. Now when there are special events or holidays Fresh Ideas steps up their game -usually- but it'd be nice to see it more often. Also for $6 a meal and the quality we're given, you're better off buying groceries.

    Dorm Life

    While the style of dorms changes from location to location, each one has it's perks. What makes the experience is not only pursuing community in your own dorm, but the small size of the student body allows you to know everyone in one form or another.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fairly tough, but the professors and students are more than willing to help students out. While some professors demand more than others you will never find more quality in what you learn, especially in the Theology Department. As an added plus everything is conveyed honestly and we're pushed to see the world in light of morality and truth.

    Tips for prospective students

    SBU is a little pricey, but take advantage of the NUMEROUS private scholarships that are available. I would not be able to continue attending if it was not for the overwhelming generosity of the alumni.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Baptist University is one of the finest schools that I've ever been to. I travel on the Speech and Debate team and have seen many schools, but the quality of teachers and facilities hardly match SBU. I would not be content going to any other school.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security can always be seen driving around campus. never had any sort of problem.

    Great for these types of students

    any!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    twirp. the woman is required to pay. kind of like a sadie hawkins kind of thing. the girl asks, plans, and pays for the date.

    Bang for the buck

    the price of going to sbu can be a little steep, but they have great academic scholarships and other scholarships that you can apply for. sure, you can pay thousands less at a community college or state university, but you get what you pay for. you're paying for a christian-based education and it is totally worth it.

    What to do for fun

    in bolivar... not too much. there is a wal-mart a few minutes from campus, and also a park, but mostly you have to find your own source of entertainment. playing wallyball is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    food in meller's should definitely improve. it's not the best, but there is always the option of pizza, sandwiches, or cereal if you don't like the main choices.

    Dorm Life

    halls can be a bit noisy, depending on where you are living and who your ra is. overall, dorm life is great.

    Academic Rigor

    old testament and new testament history classes are ones that are going to take a little more studying than the rest, but you learn a lot and it pays off.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to step outside of your dorm room when you have down time. talk to other students in your classes, especially ones in your same major.

    In three sentences

    the professors at sbu are so friendly and really do want to get to know you on a personal level. there's always student activities going on so you can get to know others, and it's a great atmosphere to be in.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would consider this a high priority for SBU. There is always security driving around and you have to have a card to get into any of the dorm, you also must have a card to get into most any of the buildings after 1800. Security is always willing to come and help or escort you somewhere if you feel uncomfortable.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not involved in many but I do know they have a lot and there are some pretty cool clubs, I just haven't had time to join them.

    Great for these types of students

    Studious Ready to have fun Creative Willing to try new things Out doors??

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rabbit hunting, at night when its dark we go hunting on campus for rabbits, they come out and night and we chase them. During homecoming week we have midnight battles against the other dorms. We do some crazy stuff.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pricey but I do believe the education you get is just about worth what you pay, food maybe not so much but for the most part everything else seems to be a good deal.

    What to do for fun

    Bolivar is a small town but we enjoy during the summers going down to the creeks, streams and lakes and doing bonfires and swimming. Riding bikes and hiking. Springfield is only 30 minutes away and there is a lot more to do there. We have a little bowling alley and a small theater. We also like to play game like Ransom.

    Food and Dining

    It's not the best food I've ever had but I've had worse. During lunch and dinner on weekdays we have a sandwich/grill station, pizza bar, salad bar, and nacho bar. We also have two dinner lines that stay open for lunch and dinner. Breakfast has a hot breakfast line and like cereal, fruit and breads. On weekends they only offer two meals on Saturday and breakfast on Sundays is only served from like 0700 to 0830. On weekdays you also have an option of eating in the Sports Cafe for breakfast and the Cat Snack for lunch and dinner.

    Dorm Life

    They are strict but not as strict as some schools. We can't have anyone of the opposite sex in our dorm rooms unless it is visitation and we only have those once a week and sometimes they are cancelled, you have to check in and it's only for like 5 hours. Your door has to stay open and you can't lay down. On the days we don't have visitation the opposite sex can be in the lobby of your dorm until midnight then they have to leave. You can be fined if you have someone of the opposite sex in the lobby past midnight. First semester freshman have curfew at midnight on school nights and 0200 on weekends. Also first semester freshman have to have an RA or RD approve and sign them out on the weekends. After your first semester it gets better.

    Academic Rigor

    They definitely want to challenge you and hold you to high standards. Like with any school you do have some teachers who aren't quite as hard as the rest, but as an overall view of the university it holds very high standards in academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are serious about your academics and don't mind being challenged this is a college for you. It is definitely a little bit pricey but I think in most every aspect your getting a good deal for your money. Don't come here if you are not ready to be challenged, but at the same time the teachers are always willing to help and walk you through things.

    In three sentences

    It's a college that holds high standards and pushes students to do their best. The staff has a passion for what they are doing and the students. The campus is kept clean and in my opinion not too big, it could stand to be little bit bigger though.

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seemed safe, and seemed to be in a safw ton.

    Greek Life

    See above

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs, but no mention of sororities or fraternities.

    Great for these types of students

    All students seemed welcome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus was located in a small town, and the whole town seemed supportive of the college students.

    Bang for the buck

    The facilites on the campus were wlee maintained.

    What to do for fun

    There was a ;arge variety of clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    They food was excellent. A lot of variety, and all you can eat.

    Dorm Life

    They have several different choices coe dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    They help you transcend to college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus. They offer a lot of majors.

    In three sentences

    I liked the visit very much. The tour guides were very friendly. I liked the way they explained class size, and what you can do if you need academic help.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not a lot of crime happens, and when it does it's not usually violent types

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    They have the typical sports and SIFE, a big business club, and a lot of computer tech-y opportunities

    Great for these types of students

    -Want small classes where teachers generally help you well -Looking for spiritual growth on top of academic and social

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dorms have dance parties every once in a while, although ironically in some places on campus it was contracted with the rule of no dancing allowed. There are bed races for homecoming.

    Bang for the buck

    With scholarships reducing the costs, I believe it has a pretty good value.

    What to do for fun

    Get creative! Small town=limited passive entertainment. Get to know people and make your own fun!

    Food and Dining

    Mellers has a reputations for not great food, but the times I ate there haven't been bad.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old and provide your real basics. Nothing really exciting, and they cut corners. But the dorms have some activities, so that may help with boredom.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are first-rate. They really make the school a quality one. Overall, I've felt they really care.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get scholarships--administration is relentless about getting their money.

    In three sentences

    SBU is located in a small Missouri town. It is a private school with about 3,000 students. They have a lot of personal requirements for your life.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are 20, 15, 10 meal plans. The 20 meal plan includes $50 bearcat bonus bucks.

    Dorm Life

    These are some of the places to live: Beasley, Landen, Leslie, Maupin, Memorial, Meyer, Plaster, Woody/Gott, and Casebolt Apartments (for upperclassmen). They encourage students not to stay locked up in their dorm rooms, but to get involved.

    Academic Rigor

    According to their numbers, 95% of SBU seniors pass the MFAT exam (about business)

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is so important at SBU. The town of Bolivar itself is one of the safest places in Missouri. SBU has campus security who are continually out patrolling the area and making sure that the students are safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always an activity going on at SBU. You can literally be involved in any of the clubs without question! SBU is really focused on making a difference in the community and the world. One of my favorite things about SBU is the mission trips that are available to students.

    Great for these types of students

    SBU is a great place for students who are looking towards academics and getting a great education. There are rules to follow but because of those rules we as students are able to stay focused on our goals and not get caught up distractions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite traditions is homecoming and Christmas week. SBU goes all out for both of these! It is a week jam packed with activities and fun.

    Bang for the buck

    The experience at SBU is unlike that of a public university and because of that the price is different. SBU does give a hefty amount of scholarship funding and financial aid. I believe the cost is worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Bolivar is a great little town to live in. Although it sucks at first you soon realize that there is a lot to do around the area. There are lakes, bike trails, parks, etc. And the best part, Springfield is close by!

    Food and Dining

    Like any school the cafeteria is a place that can be cherished and criticized all at the same time. I've had other schools food and have thought to myself that Meller's Dining Hall was a great place to eat in comparison. There are the good days and bad days but all of the staff at the cafeteria care about the students and are continually making changes to better the food they are providing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at SBU is great! There are quiet hours which really help for studying. The atmosphere in the lobby is always fantastic and throughout the year we do dorm traditions that are always a blast.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at SBU can be tough at times. There is an attendance policy and because of that you are expected to show up (outside of sickness or emergency) and take the class seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective student I would definitely suggest going to see the university. As soon as I saw the campus, met some of my professors and adviser, I knew it was the place I wanted to be.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Baptist University is a great place to get an education. So far in my two years at SBU I have learned so much and have been challenged by every single one of my professors. I believe this university is preparing me to be a better person and future educator.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a vehicle driving around to watch the campus 24/7. It's in a town that feels pretty small and safe, not at all like a big city. The campus is spread out over some beautiful and open land. I've never really felt scared for my safety, though I wouldn't venture out into the surrounding neighborhoods alone, especially at night.

    Greek Life

    Not at this school

    Clubs and Activities

    I participate in music groups on campus, and they are some very fun groups.

    Bang for the buck

    It's moderately priced for a private institution, but they offer a lot of scholarship opportunities. I've found it to be worth my money.

    What to do for fun

    Drive 30 miles south to Springfield, MO, where there are all of the shopping and dining choices you could want, plus a minor league baseball team. There is a really nice park in Bolivar. The town is notorious among college students for its slow pace and we jokingly call the local Walmart the Bolivar Mall.

    Food and Dining

    Everyone seems to complain about the food in college, even at schools with good food. It's something that seems to unite college students. The food here is not great, but it's not terrible. There are options to choose from, but just don't expect it to be the same as when you visit. They put the good stuff out for that. Breakfast is their most successful meal.

    Dorm Life

    There are all kinds of options for dorms. The dorm I stayed in for two years is suite-style (2 bedroom with two girls each share a bathroom in the middle). It was a pretty typical dorm. There are two other options for girls' dorms on campus. The one is 4 stories high and also suite-style, and the other is community bath-style and is joined with a guys dorm on the other side of the lobby. The more outgoing girls tend to live there. They all have air conditioning!

    Academic Rigor

    I have had some extremely impressive professors during my time here. The gen eds aren't too much to handle, and the specialized classes seem to be challenging in content without being too overwhelming in work load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come see what it's like on a normal day, not a group visit day. Talk with faculty and come on either a Monday or Wednesday to see what Chapel is like.

    In three sentences

    There are a lot of missions opportunities here. There are some of the most genuine people you can find. It is a great balance of smaller size (approx. 1500 students) and excellent academics.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Stick to pizza

    Dorm Life

    Good dorm-mates and great cleaning staff.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be hard but the teachers care about your education

    Tips for prospective students

    They have some great scholarships but you should apply for outside help. Beware the food though.

    In three sentences

    They have some of the best teachers around. The music department is superb.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This needs to be improved with all the car break-ins last semester

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing students or Radiology students

    Bang for the buck

    The prices aren't as high at Mercy as other private schools but still enough to break you. With nursing school at around $6,000.00 a semester, that's enough to have you paying it off the rest of your life.

    What to do for fun

    The school has a few clubs that you can join. Also student nurses can volunteer at shot clinics throughout some of the semesters.

    Food and Dining

    We aren't provided any food at Mercy, only vending machines. They have a fridge where you can store your lunches or you have to drive off campus to eat.

    Dorm Life

    This is Mercy College of Nursing through Southwest Baptist University, and there are no dorms at Mercy.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is tough when it comes to nursing school. Of course we want our nurses to have a good education though. Nursing school takes a lot of time and a lot of money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and get help when you need it. There are many people to help you.

    In three sentences

    I am a nursing student at the Southwest Baptist Univesity- Mercy College of Nursing in Springfield, Mo and I loved this college for the most part. I had a really good advisor do all she could to help me succeed. That's important when looking for a school!!

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition starts at about $19,000, but if you have a decent GPA and ACT score, you can easily get $9,000 off. With their other scholarships, it really cuts the price down a lot.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't had any food there yet, either.

    Academic Rigor

    Well, from what I can tell it doesn't seem to be a really challenging atmosphere...but since I'm not a student yet I can't say for sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    I haven't actually started college yet, so I don't think I'm really qualified to give advice. Once I've been there for a while I might offer some suggestions, but for right now I really don't have anything to offer.

    In three sentences

    I like that it is a Christian University. I'm looking forward to attending.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always exciting things to do! Just be careful, and make good decisions.

    Food and Dining

    If you pay for your meal plan eat the food, so your money doesn't go to waste. The food isn't horrible, but it is a little different.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorm is not like living at home. Follow the rules, and try to adjust as much as possible.

    Academic Rigor

    College and high school are very different. Homework is a very important part of college, you cannot slack off in college. You will fail if you aren't focused and aren't doing your best. If tutoring is offered, take it even if you don't need it. Group/individual tutoring helps immensely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that all of your financial aid is updated. Be organized, the transition from high scholl to college is not as easy as it seems. Do your homework in advanced, review all notes/study materials within 24 hours of getting/taking them; you automatically forget 50% of material learned after 24 hours. Make sure to schedule time for friends/fun activities around school, work, homework, sports etc.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is amazing! The teachers, students, and faculty are very helpful and friendly. You grow academically and socially as a student at Southwest Baptist University.

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Highly safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    SO MANY!!

    Great for these types of students

    Christians and fun people.

    What to do for fun

    Hit the city and join clubs. SBU has a rock-climbing wall, zumba class, and a martial arts class!

    Food and Dining

    Many choices and the frappes are excellent!

    Dorm Life

    Spacious and great roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent professors

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and be friendly.

    In three sentences

    This school has an excellent program for almost any major wanted. Also, it has a beautiful scenery and atmosphere. The professors and counselors are extremely nice as well.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The University Activities Council is constantly planning fun events and activities for students to do. There's always plenty to do!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come on a visit; I bet you'll like it!

    In three sentences

    SBU is a great place to grow. I've been challenged mentally, emotionally, and spiritually since being here. It's a great environment for learning, both inside and outside the classroom!

  • 03/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships! They can help you so much! g

    In three sentences

    I really enjoyed my visit, the faculty was really nice, and the campus was beautiful. I cannot wait to attend!

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but high pass rate on NCLEX

    Academic Rigor

    Difficult but worth it

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and it will pay off!

    In three sentences

    An amazing school and faculty. I am very lucky to be able to pray before each class.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is an open campus but it says safe. Safety and Security drives around 24/7 checking windows for our SBU stickers to see if we are allowed there or not. If it is at night the boys are really good at walking girls back to their dorms instead of sending them out alone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well there are two gazebos located towards the front of the campus. One is a proposal and one is a break up one. No one knows which is which so whenever you see a couple in there you just question what is going on. We have a Twerp week where the girl takes the boy out and pays. We have homecoming with a parade, activities, and a spirit chapel where every dorm make a dance and song to perform.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs to join on campus. Fencing, SMSTA (State Missouri Student Teacher Association, Disk golf, Student council, ect. There are also many activities to do such as swimming, rock climbing, tennis, racquetball, frisbee golf, ect. There are also many sports to choose from: football (males only), basketball, golf, softball, baseball, volleyball, cheer, track, ect.

    Food and Dining

    They have good service at Mellers, but the food is not always the best. Its like High School when you have to feed a mass amount of people then it gets that way. Do not get me wrong though, some of it is good. They make good omelets and tater tots. There is and ice cream machine which I love. If you do not want to go to breakfast at Mellers, the sports cafe offers breakfast meals for the meal plan. You can also buy other food there not on your meal plan. There is also a coffee shop, Kaldi's, in the student union. They make really great hot chocolate.

    Dorm Life

    At least at my dorm we seem to be pretty open with each other. There are always the clique types of people, but then there are open ones too. Personally my roommate and I leave our dorm room unlocked and people come in all the time to say hi. A lot of people do that. We are so open to sharing with each other and meeting newcomers of the building. Our dorm RA are such a blessing in our lives and I would not trade mine out for the world.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic challenge varies from class to professor. There is always the classes you do not want to take but have to, and there are the fun classes you want to take. Ask other students about professors on which ones you should take for classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not just stay in your dorm all day, there are plenty of activities to keep you active and meeting new people.

    In three sentences

    I really love the caring Christian campus. I love the professors and how they actually care for the students as individuals and not as a job or a pay check. I love attending here and hope that it helps me grow stronger as a Christian.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top notch. I accidentally ran a stop sign once and got a ticket about five seconds later. They're on top of their game.

    Greek Life

    non-existent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many options, you are bound to find something that tickles your fancy.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, not so outgoing, artsy, musical, computer smart, science/math people, business people, Bible people...ANYONE!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bed races.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty expensive, but you really can't put a price on the quality of community you get. Being surrounded by college-age Christians is truly a blessing, and having professors that pray before class and who are willing to pray for you as a student is priceless.

    What to do for fun

    There is usually always something going on around campus, whether it's a game of sand volleyball or disc golf, or something put on by the student association. As long as you stay informed, there will always be fun things to do! Also, taking road trips to Springfield with your friends is fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is only decent, but there are always a lot of choices in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great, as long as you get to know the people on your hall and get involved with dorm activities and such.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect a lot out of their students academically, but it is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to as many visit days as you can. Participate in Bearcat Days. Come to at least one home basketball game.

    In three sentences

    It is truly a Christ-centered, caring, academic community. It is a beautiful campus, always striving to be better. Professors truly care about you as a person.

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good here. People like to complain about it a lot, but I personally think it's delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I love all the girls in my dorm! They are so supportive and sweet. Whenever I have a problem or am overwhelmed with something, I know I will have someone to talk to and listen to me.

    Academic Rigor

    They have lots of majors to choose from.

    In three sentences

    I think it's great! Southwest Baptist University is a beautiful college with great teachers, fun activities and a good Christian atmosphere.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security always on the lookout and constantly walking and driving the perimeter and throughout the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can think of a club, they probably have it or can make it.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any kind of student that loves God, and wants to have a good time while in college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have spirit chapel where each dorm puts together a skit and acts it out. All of them are usually hilarious.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little pricey but the degree you earn will be put to good use.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of things to do for fun. There are clubs, intramural sports, University sports, and many other events on campus weekly.

    Food and Dining

    Food is also not to bad. It could be a lot better, but it is a school. School lunches anywhere are normally not the best.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a little out of date, but they are not to bad.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging but I guarantee anyone could pass it as long as they applied themselves

    Tips for prospective students

    If you attend, get connected and don't be afraid to get out of your comfort zone.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to meet new people and connect with the community. The courses are challenging but will help you in the long run. They have a variety of majors offered.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fairly good being a very small school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is the Fellowship Of Nursing and Student Nurses Association.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated to becoming exceptional nurses.

    Bang for the buck

    Southwest Baptist is reasonable priced as far as schools go. There are opportunities for tuition reimbursement, scholarships, and grants.

    What to do for fun

    Workout and eat healthy to keep immune system up. I can't afford to miss a day of school or a day of studying. Enjoy the breaks when you get them.

    Academic Rigor

    Nursing school is not easy. It is basically a 24/7 job but the divedends are priceless.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be organized. Utilize your resources including study groups with peers and you tube videos. Don't give up your dream just strive harder.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Baptist University - Mercy School of Nursing in Springfield, MO has been a wonderful learning experience with very dedicated instructors. The nursing program is very organized with hands on training and valuable life-skills. The program has given me an opportunity to grow both scholastically but also personally in my journey.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Southwest Baptist University is a school I do not recommend. The teachers and people-- the community-- are incredible. However, the administration is unbearable.