Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Southwest Florida College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Career oriented, mature and looking for a career not just to go to college collect student loans and mess around.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but you have to look at the college and the success rate for this college, great placing rate.

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok and if you don't like it then many places around the campus to go eat at.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They challenge you and you must know your studies, they put you into the field that you study so you get hands on experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider all your avenues when considering a college many colleges want you to take alot of elective credits that you really don't need. If you can find a college or university that handles your degree and they are a career college don't hesitate check them out even though they maybe alittle more expensive.

    In three sentences

    Best college ever, they have small class sizes and are able to adhere to each individual student. Career college you have a externship which many colleges do not offer. Professors and staff very professional and very helpful with any issues you may have. Great college!

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Criminal Justice Club SAHA Club

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs that you can attend, and they always have monthly things for students to attend also. like dinners, games, softball tournaments, special Olympics, and soo much more.

    Food and Dining

    This school only has snack and soda machines, but they are always doing student dinners and appreciation dinners for the students.

    Dorm Life

    This is not a dorm school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If a student chooses this school they will not have regrets. This school is by far, according to me the best school out there.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Florida College is an amazing school. They have amazing teachers and tutors. The classes are never too crowded. They also attend to a students needs, they have clubs for all sorts of things.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    College students paying for their own eduction.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always choose a school that you've researched; never jump into anything you are not completely aware of.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 4 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very safe and secure.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there are plenty of clubs and on/off campus activities to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    career orientated students.

    Bang for the buck

    all classes offered are relevant to success and training in your profession, college life and personal growth.

    Food and Dining

    no on campus dining. vending machines and a microwave are provided. sitting area for eating and relaxing is also provided. plenty of local eateries.

    Dorm Life

    no on campus housing

    Academic Rigor

    most of the curriculum consists of core classes geared towards my profession of choice. classes that are not core to my profession are geared towards being successful in college, my profession and my life.

    Tips for prospective students

    form study groups with fellow classmates, be open and communicate with your instructors.

    In three sentences

    southwest florida is an a+ school. all instructors and staff are caring, supportive and invested in our success. after carefully investigating all options in my area, i found this college to be the best.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Trough be told I don't have time for fun, but on the other hand I have fun just from thought that I am in college and I get As.

    Food and Dining

    We have good Lunch area, but this about it.

    Dorm Life

    I leave at home.

    Academic Rigor

    I take four classes each term, but if I have few more hours in the day I would take more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate! It is never to late to go to college.

    In three sentences

    It is small campus, but very clean and full of the electronic equipment to satisfy every need. Tutoring program are awesome!

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No real dangers.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    All majors have their own clubs and they hold activities at least once a month.

    Great for these types of students

    Career oriented

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Small classes

    Bang for the buck

    5 star-great use of money

    What to do for fun

    I like to write poetry and watch movies with the dogs.

    Food and Dining

    1 Star

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life!!! 5 star

    Academic Rigor

    4 star rating

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Come prepared and know what you would like to study. 2. Research the school to ensure a good fit. 3. Take advantage of the help offered and given.

    In three sentences

    My first mini-term was great! I really liked the focus from the professors and the one on one atmosphere. I do believe the smaller classes do well.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security staff on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    there is usually always some sort of outside activity going on but less than a typial university

    Great for these types of students

    students with families, working students

    Bang for the buck

    i see it as reasonable. I love how all the extras,(i.e books,printing,uniforms) are included in the tuition price. The work study program is great!! It gives you a chance to pay off a portion of your tuition while obtaining experience at the same time

    What to do for fun

    we are located in Ft Myers there is lots to do the closest attraction is a water park and a mall close by

    Food and Dining

    It would be nice to have a cafeteria with healthy options

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life here

    Academic Rigor

    i feel challenged but at the same time not overly stressed

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend dealing with Teresa when you are in the admissions process she is very polite, knowledgeable, and helpful

    In three sentences

    I love the student/professer ratio. I have generally enjoied my time here. The staff is very tactful

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    sometimes things seem impossible but if you dont give up you can make your dreams and goals come true.

    In three sentences

    Theyve worked with me to try to get everything set for me to start school. Everyone is so nice and caring. I think its a great school and im looking forward to start.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    NA on Port Charlotte Campus

    Dorm Life

    NA on Port Charlotte Campus

    Academic Rigor

    NA on Port Charlotte Campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Southwest Florida College carriers a kind and compassionate atmosphere. If you are passionate about your future this is the right place, don't be surprised if some of the staff seem even more excited about it then you!

    In three sentences

    Southwest Florida College is full of friendly and helpfull staff. Southwest Florida College is clean safe campus. Southwest Florida College offers many unique programs during and after your school life.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's in the worst part of town.

    Clubs and Activities

    I heard they used to have better clubs, but now not so much going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Low income, non-traditional

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you don't like the teachers, you can make up a lie and they'll fire them! It's a good way to make sure you get good grades.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive and the money is hidden. You never really know what you are paying for. It's a for profit school, which means it is like a money mill.

    What to do for fun

    The school is a joke enough.

    Food and Dining

    We have a microwave and some vending machines.

    Academic Rigor

    It's easy. The goal is to just pass us without making us work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware of schools that advertise so much. REAL schools don't need to advertise; they can stand on their own good reputation. SWFC cannot.

    In three sentences

    Worst school ever. Good if you like constant change, ever higher prices, and a school in the flat-out ghetto. Plus, there not accredited and you won't get a job after.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The campus I attend is the Institute of Design and is a rather small campus site. They do have a lounge area with vending machines or you can store your own food in the fridge. Very convenient. There are also local restaurants/drive thru's near by for other options.

    Academic Rigor

    Class schedule moves quickly but everything is already laid out for you and makes it a lot easier to handle.

    In three sentences

    Although my classes have not started yet, I am extremely pleased with Southwest Florida College. The admissions and financial aid staff were very friendly and made the process of applying to school effortless. I highly recommend this school for future students that want to go somewhere, where they feel they can achieve their education goals with no hiccups.

  • 06/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    THE ONE AND ONLY CLUB ON CAMPUS... ROTARACT IS AWESOME!! GREAT PEOPLE!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    everything is unusual!! which is what makes this a great college!!

    What to do for fun

    JOIN ROTARACT!! help you with volunteer opportunites a great club!!

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are commited!

    In three sentences

    This is a good college to get involed with if you are looking for great opportunities. Friendly staff who look to help you with your degree. Make you look into what you want and make sure they help you achieve your goals.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I haven't started classes yet.

    Food and Dining

    The only food and drinks available are in vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I havent started classes yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    If youre thinking of going here, definitely check it out!

    In three sentences

    I love how friendly the staff is. The application process is so simple. I love how the financial aid is shown to you and broken down by year so there are no surprises.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 17

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Small classes, very diverse in age range and students in general, great staff, advisors, and professors. Good school.

  • 09/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is for fun job fairs that well help many students find a job and hopefully they start working they also do things for the zombie con that they have every year and even a bounce house at a center so people could go and enjoy many things to do just gota get involved

    Food and Dining

    Great place to meet new people and make many friends you see many groups of students there

    Dorm Life

    Its a small school doesn't really have dorms i guess it good in a way you wont have to spend more for a dorm its better because you don't need to walk so far to get to a classroom and maybe be late everything is just there

    Academic Rigor

    No challenges yet since i just started but i do hope to see some in the future since its the beginning of my college career. But im sure to find some challenges in the way of my career

    Tips for prospective students

    keep up the good work and study very hard and you will see at the end of this road your career is waiting for you. Just waiting for you to grab it and do big things in life

    In three sentences

    Its a very lively school, awesome staff crew they help in may ways that you need to could not ask for any better help. Excellent instructors they have tons of information to share to these you citizens.

  • 11/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 17

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All Campuses have security guards and no incidents to report.

    Clubs and Activities

    Rummage Sales, Rotary Club, IT Club

    Great for these types of students

    Information Technology, Nursing/Medical Assistant/ Medical Billing, Criminal Justice, Business, Web Design, Graphic Design and Interior Design. Also provide online classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a career services department that helps students to find jobs, make a resume. There is also a department that will offer tutoring to students that may need some extra help. These services are free.

    Bang for the buck

    About $1500 a semester for three classes which includes books and supplies needed for the classes.

    What to do for fun

    SWFC does have fun activities throughout the year to get students involved and to make going to college a bit more fun! Dressing up to Egg Drop contests.

    Food and Dining

    At all campus sites, there is vending machines and the occasional party to celebrate students.

    Dorm Life

    Southwest Florida College does not have dorms; they do have campuses in Port Charlotte, Tampa, Bonita Springs and Fort Myers which adds convenience for students. Also offer online classes for distant learning.

    Academic Rigor

    Southwest Florida College does prepare students for certification tests and offers them at the campuses at a discounted price!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend Southwest Florida College to students because they are willing to work with individuals to achieve personal goals. If you need a class that they are not offering, they will make it available for you.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Florida College prepares students for the workplace. I have graduated with my Associates Degree in Information Technology Management in 2006 and have worked as an IT Technician since! I enjoyed learning at SWFC and decided to go back for the Bachelors Program and earn my Information Technology and Security Services degree!

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 17

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    See Ms. Fox and she will fill you in.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's easy as long as you attend classes and be responsible.

    In three sentences

    It's a fun and helpful place to be at. The teachers and staff are amazing, very nice and they are always there to help you. The hours are flexible, so no matter what they will find a way to keep you on track.