Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southwest Minnesota State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/16/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want a sense of belonging, ready to re-create themselves and people who want to meet other people!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus!! It's so incredibly important! You will have so much fun here, everybody is super nice!

    Bang for the buck

    Yup! A lot cheaper but better education! The banded credits works out great!

    Will enjoy being here

    You bet! I love love love it here! Im kind of a homebody, and was afraid I was going to get homesick, but i know i wont because SMSU will keep you busy with all the different things they have going on! You won't have time to be homesick! You'll be having tooooo much fun!!!

    Will learn a lot

    yes i have sat in on a few classes and they are a lot harder than high school! Don't listen to the Dustin guy right above my review!

  • 08/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Southwest State is a great college for students who want a small college with small classes and fair pricing. If you like the rural feel this college is also definitely for you. If you also like friendly people, very cooperative teachers, and the extremely friendly faculty/employees this college is also for you

    Tips for prospective students

    This is basic college tips and they apply to any college student. Study hard, have fun, and find a college that gives you that feel good feeling when you visit it. It is hard to explain, but you will know what I am talking about when you feel it.

    Bang for the buck

    Southwest State is one of the cheapest MnScu schools out there. You get a quality four year education for a very reasonable price. My teachers tell me that they consider Southwest State a private college at a public school price. I would have to agree with them.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is located kind of in the middle of nowhere and the winters are harsh but the people you meet are some of the most friendly people you will ever meet. The term Minnesota nice definitely applies to this campus. I love the small campus feel and you always feel involved in the campus and decisions that the campus makes.

    Am learning a lot

    Southwest Minnesota State is no different from any other division 2 college. The teachers are extremely good and extremely friendly. I have learned a great deal from all of them. Small classes allow every student to learn a great deal. The biology program lacks a little bit of technology, but funding from the government is changing that.

  • 07/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone from this area looking for a cheap school with low education standards or parents graduated from here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a better school. The education here is not worth your time or money. If you do come here be prepared for High School drama like no other and tons of essays even if it is a 1 credit class.

    Bang for the buck

    Same education you could get at an ITT Tech School or another online university but for cheaper. Departments are merging together, great teachers are bieng fired (lack of funding).

    Am enjoying being here

    This campus is buit in the middle of farm land with harsh winters and no night life besides drinking beer (which is not allowed on campus). No greek system exists on campus just really old Residence buildings. Food is really bad it comes from Aramark.

    Am learning a lot

    Easy classes, no real learning going on. Small class sizes, teachers are willing to help you and are easy to reach. The only place to try to get an internship is at Schwans Food Company if you are extremely lucky.

  • 07/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are okay with a smaller campus. It might be a bit of a drive out there, but there's still plenty to do. The movie theater even has 3D, if you're big on that. SMSU doesn't cost a lot if you're looking for a cheaper 4-year school. And everyone, staff and students, are so friendly, you'll never feel alone or left out or bored. There's always something going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    You don't need to bring so much with you. Unless you like being a recluse, you'll be out and about so much, people will wonder if someone actually lives in your room. It's mostly quiet on campus. Not a huge party school. Thirsty Thursdays are about the only thing you have to worry about when people get loud. Last year the campus voted to be tobacco free but the ruling changes every year.

    Bang for the buck

    SMSU is one of the cheaper schools and it's kind of the reason I chose it. Plus everyone is so friendly, you really do matter here. Not to mention they have the only planetarium in southwest MN. Closest one is the Twin Cities or Fargo/Moorhead, that I know of. Marshall is great about discounts for students as well. Carry your ID with you always, you don't know what you might be saving!

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like the small campus feel. Winters are a bit harsh but it's only a small sprint from the dorms to the rest of the buildings. Otherwise everything is connected by hallways so you don't even have to go outside! Unless you want to go to Walmart or a movie. There's always something to do here, activities, clubs, whatever you feel like doing.

    Am learning a lot

    There are so many classes at SMSU that weren't offered in high school. I'm really excited to take so many courses. But I can't fit them all into my schedule. The professors are easy to understand and are great about answering questions.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are the lesbian and gay club, the math club, the science club, emsp, hmong student organization, the international student organization, and many more!

    What to do for fun

    there are theaters, swimming pool, a tv room, and many student activities going on.

    Food and Dining

    the food in my college are awesome!

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in dorm because i'm married, but i heard my friends said that it was very cool.

    Academic Rigor

    i'm not sure, but i love all the academic opportunities given from this college. i just haven't had a chance to join some of them because of my busy life.

    Tips for prospective students

    look at maps in the hallway will help you find your way to your classes. go to the math center if you need help with your math homework because it is free!

    In three sentences

    i love it here! everyone is very kind and helpful. i really recommend other students to come here for education.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    intramural sports, church, dances.

    Dorm Life

    dorms are a blast!

    Academic Rigor

    class difficulty depends on the classes you take, but professors are generally willing to help you whenever you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    southwest is a great place!

    In three sentences

    smsu is a great school! it has small class sizes which means lower student-teacher ratio. it offers many extracurricular activities.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many events in the dorms as well as in clubs and events through the school. there are also a number of activities outside of the school. there is bowling, movies, maurices, wal-mart, and many lakes around.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining are good. most of the food is cooked in front of you and you can always find a place to sit.

    Dorm Life

    i lived in the dorms for one year and it was tons of fun. the dorms are nice to get to know people and make new friends. all of the dorms are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    all of the courses that i have taken are challenging, but fun at the same time. you will learn a lot in the courses that you take.

    In three sentences

    southwest minnesota state university is an amazing school, and has many majors to choose from. smsu has professors that are all very knowledgeable in more than just there specialties. there are many clubs and opportunities to get active in the school.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is not the best. It takes them a long time to get anywhere. Sometimes they don't show up.

    Greek Life

    I don't think we have a greek life...

    Clubs and Activities

    There's clubs for everything (I'm in Anime Club and English Club) and the dining likes to have random free deserts and there is usually something going on in the open field in the front of the dorms.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students that like small towns and getting a good education and meeting really nice people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are lots of traditions that are really fun but my favorite place is the Comfy Couches. They're just a bunch of couches within the student center and right below those are Java Hut. The dining area looks like a coffee house rather than a cafeteria.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't know much about the tuition prices but I do know its easy not to spend money here. There's not a lot to do and a lot to do is free. I spent most of my money at Walmart and Applebees.

    What to do for fun

    It's a small town so there isn't too much to do, but parks, bowling, stores, main street, and ice skating in winter are some fun things to do in town.

    Food and Dining

    The first year I went the food was great, this year the food was terrible. It's a toss up but I recommend the pasta bar!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms aren't air conditioned (other than Sweetland) but they are large, comfortable, and the environment is usually really fun :)

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you try, you'll succeed at this school. Everyone is pretty relaxed and the teachers are very understanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for friends just go to one of the many hangout areas such as the comfy couches, movie theater, or Java Hut. Don't live in Sweetland Hall, it may seem nice but it's been very damaged the last few years.

    In three sentences

    It's a small town college with beautiful buildings, a great staff, and wonderfully nice people everywhere. The small classes and great teachers makes it really easy to love the school. Also, all the buildings are connected (not to the dorms) so getting around in winter and rain is really easy!

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel comfortable walking around campus no matter the time of day.

    Greek Life

    They don't have a lot in this area but they make up for it in other areas.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are will to help you find or create a club that attract you.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for people who want smaller class sizes and are looking to save some money while getting a great education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is one spirit week that the entire school gets into.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is really cheap compared to other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    They have plenty of clubs or they can help you find things around town.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but I wish they had more stores thou out the campus.

    Dorm Life

    The people I have met in my dorm are really helpful and kind.

    Academic Rigor

    If you try for the harder classes you will get more out of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait till the last Minuit to get things done.

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus. You get to know the teachers and kids around you. All the buildings are connected.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Feel safe most of the time except for when I hear that there's an assault on campus or something, then I get a little nervous when I'm walking.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of student! Not only one type, because this university fills the needs of many, many different types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Java city every Tuesday/Thursday before class with a friend

    Bang for the buck

    The price for college, and the experience I have received so far, It is DEFINITELY worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    Go to res. life and borrow some games, or game systems. Have movie nights, go to sporting events, go to a movie have dinner with friends. Movies that are played in the cinema in lower CC

    Food and Dining

    Food is great! Just enough options- not too few and not too many. Love that the pasta bar is back!

    Dorm Life

    TALK TO YOUR ROOMMATE BEFORE MOVE IN DAY COMES!!! I cannot stress that enough, because if you talk to them only a few times before college, they could be a completely different person once you move in with them.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the professors are very strict about their teaching styles and do not take input from students when they question their ways of teaching. However, all the professors are nice once you have a couple classes with them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come on a college visit, get to know your way around here a little bit.

    In three sentences

    Been a great experience thus far and I am excited to continue my college education here. Have referred SMSU to other people I know because it is so great.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want a small-town atmosphere and want to get a great education for a reasonable price. The people and professors here are so friendly that I feel like I am really part of the Mustang family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hawaiian weekend is in January and I know it will be a blast! The basketball teams play and everyone dresses up in Hawaiian themed clothing, seems like a fun time!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a quality education for the price you are paying! I won't be in terrible debt after I graduate, which is always comforting.

    What to do for fun

    I just enjoy hanging out with my friends at different places or on campus. There is a movie theater, bowling alley, and a variety of restaurants. There also is Pappy's which is fun to go to on Thursday nights because it's 18 plus and they have a dance floor!

    Food and Dining

    Definitely could be better, I get sick of the food. I would recommend getting more flex money to purchase different meals through out the week.

    Dorm Life

    If you live in Sweetland you would enjoy your dorm experience more. The older dorms get the job done, and it is nice that they are closer to the campus building.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't taken any extremely hard classes but I know this semester will be tougher; but the professors all are very helpful!

    Tips for prospective students

    I am sure you have already heard this but just study and manage your time-especially if you want to do a sport. Make sure to get involved on campus and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    I'm used to living in a smaller town so I really like the atmosphere of Marshall; wish it was prettier though! The people here are genuine and friendly, and they definitely add to the whole college experience. I like it here, but sometimes it would be nice to be closer to a bigger city.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Outstanding. Marshall is a small town so one of the stereotypes is that nothing ever happens; making campus securities lives a lot easier. The campus is a smoking free campus to top it off and not once have I seen anyone smoking here.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student will fit in here. There is a vast variety of people here at this school and a place for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For Hawiian night (basketball game) some of the students always try to sneak in a baby carriage with a keg in it, it never works.

    Bang for the buck

    While Marshall is a small town and the people in it a little eccentric; the school has much to offer in culture and education. Majors from education to social work and culinology to geology there is a place for you to fit in here at this school.

    What to do for fun

    There is always activities going on on campus, the boards posted all around the school are plastered with information. While the actual town of Marshall might be tiny there are a mutitude of things to do. Shopping downtown, movie theater, bike trails, concerts at the local churches, relaxing at the park, eating at the local restaurants, taking a trip up to Canada on the weekend, visiting on of the many lakes in the area on the weekend, and bowling.

    Food and Dining

    The food leaves much to be desired. While they have a multitude of choices most of the time it lacks in flavor or just never seems to have what you want to eat that day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very well maintained and you hardly every have something break. They are extremely close to campus so walking to school in the winter is not that big of a deal. The student parking lot is kind of small though and can be difficult to find a spot in most of the time, in the winter it is icy so beware.

    Academic Rigor

    School wouldn't be school without homework. The school has an online system called Desire2Learn that most of the teachers use to update the students on assignments and turning in homework. Overall the workload is very manageable if of course you use your time wisely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to bundle up because the winters here are brutal; the school has a text message service that lets you know when classes are canceled to prevent you from having to wander out needlessly. The meal plans can be a bit pricey so definitely just stick with the cheapest one because nobody ever uses all of the extra food credits from the more expensive plans before they expire. Show up for registration day, its the easiest way to get the classes you want without the hassle of forms and multiple signatures.

    In three sentences

    The layout of the school makes it extremely easy to find you classes and even better is that it is all interconnected so you never have to step outside in the freezing winter. Every faculty member and professor is extremely courteous and prompt with their email response so there is never a moment where you are lost or confused. This school made it easy to feel at home with its many club activities, caring and personable staff, and eager to assist manner.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There aren't any that I know of.

    Great for these types of students

    Atheistic or students in the drama club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is always a homecoming.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater in town, lots of places to eat and a bowling alley.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and pay attention in class.

    In three sentences

    The staff are very friendly. The class sizes are small and easier to learn in. The school is very nice.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Socialize with friends and attend events. There will be so many events you can choose from and you will have a blast!

    Food and Dining

    Food is excellent, there is a wide variety as well. All you can eat so that mean the freshman 15 is more than likely to happen!

    Dorm Life

    You do have to stay in one your freshmen year. The dorm life is quite fun but you do lack privacy. We recently added Sweetland hall which is a very nice dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Since it is a state school the academic standards aren't nearly as tough as it would be at a state school. However, its a great place to learn and is known to have the best programs around here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you like it here and has your major of interest. The people here are great and will help you if in need of help.

    In three sentences

    Very nice campus along with nice facilities. The people there are very friendly and helpful. Small college atmosphere so its nice to know most of the people around you.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While not advised, SMSU feels so safe that you could walk the campus at night and still feel completely safe. Public Safety are always on campus and are readily available if you ever need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you can name a club, SMSU has it. Off the top of my head, clubs and organizations include Karate Club, Tae Kwan Do, Art Club, Graphic Design Club, History Club, Psychology Club, Women on the Move, GLBTA, International Students Organization, and Anime Club. There are over one hundred clubs and organizations on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Southwest Minnesota State University is great for any student wanting to major in Education, Agriculture, Creative Writing, Food Science, Graphic Design, History, English, and Music. Because of it's low cost, low-income students would benefit from SMSU too.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual location on campus is the Nature Museum located right inside the complex. It is filled with interesting things involving environmental science, and is almost always playing Alone in the Wilderness on the TV inside.

    Bang for the buck

    Southwest Minnesota State University is one of the cheaper colleges to attend in Minnesota. The tuition is the same for in and out-of-state students. SMSU is a good option for a student who is looking for a good education at a price they can afford.

    What to do for fun

    Marshall, MN has a movie theater, bowling alley, arcade, and several thrift shops to browse through. On campus there is gym, weight room, movie and game rental, and a nature trail.

    Food and Dining

    Food from the cafeteria is probably better than anything you ate in the lunch line at your old high school. Or, if the cafeteria isn't your thing, the on campus food courts have a variety of other snacks and food that will be more to your liking.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are fairly clean, with a custodian who regularly cleans the halls, kitchens, and bathrooms. You are sure to befriend other members of your dorm complex.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but the professors have time for one on one help if a student is struggling in their class.

    Tips for prospective students

    A few tips for future students is to get your parking pass as soon as you can. No one likes getting their car booted and towed away. Also be sure to check online for your textbooks, as the campus bookstore can be pricey.

    In three sentences

    SMSU is a college with a small town feel. It is a safe environment and the classes teach you valuable skills for your intended career path. Overall, SMSU is a good college to be at.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports are a big deal here, our women's soccer team is #6 in the nation and our volleyball team is #4 in our division. Many people will go to football games or rugby games here on campus. There are also dances, including a Foam Dance and a Halloween Costume Dance.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone in the dorms get along very well. Dorms organize their own intramural teams to play against each other, and we decorate our dorms for Homecoming contests and for local kids to trick-or-treat in for Halloween. People are really friendly and it's easy to make new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like I can be really successful here. My class sizes are small, about 20 students or less, and my professors all know me by name and make it easy to communicate with them when I need help or have any questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick this school! It really is a great place where you can have a good relationship with your professors, there is a lot of school spirit, and there are a lot of great people to meet.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Minnesota Statue University contains everything I had hoped a college would have. I felt at home here to moment I stepped foot on campus to tour as a Senior in high school, and as a Freshman here in college I haven't had a single regret. It's a smaller college, so professors know me by name, I get to know the people in my dorms and I feel like I can truly be successful here.

  • 05/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe campus. Never felt unsafe at any time. I would stay by myself over breaks and felt perfectly safe. I work late nights sometimes and walking around late a night has never been a worry to me, no matter where I was on campus. The city of Marshall is really safe also.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life. Depends on whether you like that or not. For me, I don't so I loved being at a college without a Greek Colony.

    Clubs and Activities

    SO MANY TO CHOOSE FROM!

    Great for these types of students

    There is so much variety at SMSU it really does suit all types of students. THere's athletics, fine arts, religious groups, karate clubs, and much more!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    MUSTANG MANIACS!! Paint you chest! Wear Brown and Gold overalls and support you mustang athletics. Brown and Gold Fridays! Wear Brown and Gold on fridays and get free stuff plus your picture on the schools website.

    Bang for the buck

    Super cheap tuition but experienced and well educated professors. NO CLASSES ARE TAUGHT BY TA's all classes are taught by licensed professors. 95% of classes are 30 students or less the maximum for general lecture classes if like 95 students. Small class sizes means you get to know your professors.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of club hold events and seminars. There are sporting events and concerts held on campus monthly. Like i said the more involved you are the more fun you will have!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food was good. Lots of options and they take requests. Plus there is Papa Johns!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are dorms. Nothing to special but it's what you make it. Living in Oceans Boulevard was the best decision I made going to SMSU. Get active and get to know your dorm mates!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors push you and expect nothing less than your best. They are willing to go the extra mile to help you succeed, be sure to ask for help!

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs! The more involved you are the more you will enjoy being there! You gain so much knowledge and become very close to many people by being in clubs.

    In three sentences

    SMSU is a great campus, full of life and school pride. It is small enough to feel welcome and homey but big enough to not feel like a small town high school. The professors go above and beyond for you to succeed.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Residential dining can get a bit old, but that's what the food court is for, and all meal plans come with money you can spend in the food court.

    Dorm Life

    Two words: apply early. Otherwise you end up the only sober person in the dorm where drunk guys pound on your door at midnight.

    Academic Rigor

    It varies depending on the professor and the class--some 100 level courses are wicked hard, while some 300 level classes could be done in your sleep. Make sure you look up professors before registering.

    Tips for prospective students

    You probably won't have much trouble getting accepted here, and the school probably has a reputation for being the bottom of the barrel, but like anything, you get what you give. This school can give you a top-level affordable education, or a third-rate education that costs more than it's worth.

    In three sentences

    It's one of those schools that's easy to get into, easy to get out of, and relatively easy to pay for. You can get a great education here, but you have to be willing to work for it--taking 12 credits of easy classes won't teach you anything. We've got great professors and some really outstanding programs, but again, if you want it to be worth your money, you've got to put in the work.

  • 04/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is a terrible school for non-traditional students. There is way too much hand holding and no independence. Working full-time, school full-time and kids does not work well at this university. Professors take attendance and dock points if you don't go (all other colleges I went to never did this) as well as make mandatory outside class activities. For the person who wants to get away from their parents I guess it's fine, for those of you wanting to make more of your life and don't live in the dorms- DON'T GO HERE.