Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southwest Tennessee Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/19/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who plan to go to school for an Allied Health career, Southwest is the Best!

    Tips for prospective students

    Southwest is not only a good choice, it's the best choice. They have at least several locations and they have a diverse student population which stands out as an example saying that everyone from whatever background, is welcome! Most people start off at community colleges and Southwest is one of the best college choices. Most graduates work for many health agencies and you could too if you take the chance!

    Will learn a lot

    I believe I can learn alot at this school. There's alot of hands-on trainning as well as small size classes that will benefit in personal assistance from instructors.

  • 01/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    WHEN YOU MAKE THIS DECISION DO IT FOR YOURSELF.... STICK TO YOUR GOAL WHAT YOU REALLY WANT CAME TO SOUTHWEST FOR AND EVERYTHING WILL BE FINE

    Bang for the buck

    VERY AFFORDABLE...GREAT PRICES FOR FOOD, BOOKS, AND ALMOST EVERYTHING U NEED FOR SCHOOL...VERY AFFORDABLE..LOL

    Am enjoying being here

    THE TEACHERS ARE NICE AND I THINK THEY REALLY PUT FOWARD EFFORT..

    Am learning a lot

    I LOVE SOUTHWEST I THINK ITS VERY AFFORDABLE... THIS IS MY SECOND SEMESTER AND I MUST SAY THAT I'VE LEARNED A LOT...

  • 07/14/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take notes, get to class on time and communicate with your professors.

    Bang for the buck

    you will get the bang for your buck

    Did enjoy being here

    I enjoyed southwest a lot, southwest have many activities to do, they have movie day and cookouts. every other month.

    Did learn a lot

    This school was tougher than i thought. I got to know many of my teachers and learned there style of teaching.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Southwest Tennessee Community College is always working to improve safety procedures on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am part of the Alpha Beta Gamma Honor Society and I recommend this club to anyone working to achieve scholar goals.

    Bang for the buck

    You can take great classes at very affordable prices. I really can't afford much so I am very blessed to go to a college like Southwest Tennessee Community College.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty activities held on campus weekly to remind the students that School is fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining are exceptional.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here, however the campus life is exceptional!

    Academic Rigor

    Exceptional!

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for any prospective students would be to work hard and put in the effort that you would want your loved one to put in for you.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Tennessee Community College has great teachers that help you one on one if needed. They have a Great faculty that assists you in any situation that needs attention. The library staff members are very helpful when it comes to any librarian needs.

  • 04/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Southwest is great for students for all varieties. Whether just getting out of high school, full time workers, older people striving to come back to school, people wanting to get their Associates degree, a stepping stool to a four year, or just someone who is looking to gain more knowledge. The teachers are very understanding if you are needing to work around certain schedules. As a softball player my teachers help me plan when I take tests, make up work, and work around my games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should take use of the work facilities provided by southwest. They have tutors on call, computer labs, and libraries all to help with your education. They should also participate in the activities such as poetry, movie night, game tournaments, and guess speakers.

    Bang for the buck

    Southwest is low and affordable. They provide financial aid and fasfa.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy many things Southwest has to offer. The small classrooms are good in a more one on one learning experience. The campuses are great. They provide computer labs, libraries, game rooms, and sitting areas that help me relax and do work.

    Am learning a lot

    I've learned many things from the classes I've taken at Southwest. For two semesters I have been here and gained a broad amount of information to help me further my education to a four year college.

  • 07/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at the campus I go to (the Macon campus) really take the time to let you figure out what you are doing wrong but they give you enough respect and room to get things done your way. I really like the pace and the style of many of the teachers here.

  • 01/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Vocational Students

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria was average. Not good, not bad. There are several food places around each campus though.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Class feel sub-par if you did well in high school, unless you are in a career specific program.

    In three sentences

    This school is perfect for a specific training programs, but I don't recommend it for a general education. If you want to save some money you can take your General Education credits here, but make sure they transfer to your intended school!

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    officers are very noticible on campus.

    What to do for fun

    i work so don't have much time after class but to get to my job.

    Food and Dining

    don't eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    live in own housing

    Academic Rigor

    nursing classes are tough so you have to stay on top of studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    southwest is a great school to reach your career goals.

    In three sentences

    southwest has provided me with an opportunity to pursue my goals. i love the class choices and availability of campuses to take pre-requisite courses. i am really learning alot from my current nursing courses.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 55

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Southwest is a good college, the teachers communicate with you and take their time. Southwest give you a great opportunity to become what you what to be, because they have great ad visors. They are very friend and well detail oriented.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is hard to miss! The Campus Safety office is located in the Perrish Building (library) and the officers there are easy to approach and do not play around with bullying, theft or threats. The officers are readily available and extremely approachable. It will be very easy to know that you are safe and secure and in an atmosphere where there is no gay bashing or judgement of others, fighting or cursing loud so that it disturbs others. College is all about networking and helping others to help yourself. The Campus Safety team at Southwest is truly amazing. If there was anything going on dealing with campus security, these officers are the first to email a warning to make the student body aware. Also, students can volunteer to work as a safety officer for work study and get paid; maybe this is something to think about.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is the best choice that I have made since I have been enrolled in school. I have been allotted numerous scholarship opportunities as well as being scouted by at least twenty universities across America. There is $37 billion dollars in scholarship opportunities awarded to those who qualify. As a member of Phi Theta Kappa, I have scholarships just for being a member because the Honor's Society is that of the elite of the student body. I have been inducted and received quite a few honors and awards at Southwest that I can present to recruiters as well as use for higher educational opportunities. I have a 4.0 GPA and have made it to the honor's awards ceremony as well as receiving the John P. Bacon award in addition to the induction to the Upsilon Delta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa. PTK has made my transition to a university one-hundred times easier and now I have the confidence that I need to pursue higher education.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is the Honors Society, Book Club, Basketball, Volleyball, Tennis, Raquetball, Weight Lifting, Chess Club, Student President and many more opportunities to be accounted for, however; I do not want to spoil the surprise! There are literally so many things that you can do on campus, you will never find yourself bored. The only thing is not to place these activities above your educational goals because it is very easy to become distracted with school events. There are several trips that are available for students who apply through the study abroad program. Depending on your major determines whether or not you can qualify.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student seeking a Doctoral Degree or Master's Degree might be interested in the transfer program. If a student wanted to have the experience of a lifetime there is the Study Abroad Program where students can visit other countries for a month at a time. There is also the factor of athleticism and playing sports for the college, not just a class but to actually be on the team and have the opportunity to be scouted and sought after. Scholoarships are very important to apply for and will help you through the bulk of your studies. Do not be ashamed to ask for help as it solitifies that we are a family and need to exert ourselves for others, especially freshman students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a couple of unusual locations on campus like the Child Care Unit and the Theatre and Academic Support. Although they are not too unusual we also have a roof top that students hang out on and study or smoke cigarettes or just hang out and catch up with friends. As far as unusual traditions, I believe that the staff have an annual tradition of staff appreciation as well as student appreciation. There are countless ceremonies pertaining to achievement and higher education.

    Bang for the buck

    Southwest Tennessee Community College offers classes starting at $147 dollars per 3 credit hours which is relatively inexpensive; probably the best deal for a community college. Unlike starting at a university, the tuition alone is large enough to choke a horse so be economically aware of your options. Not only is Southwest more economically friendly for yours or your parents/guardians pockets, it will keep you from spending your life savings for one degree. It is wise to get into a transfer program that will eleviate the bulk of the university of your choice's costs and keep them at a minimum.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is always events going on around campus with DJ booths and live music all the way to plays and concerts. There is the opportunity to play sports which there are very many offered. The Southwest Tennessee Community College squad's name is Saluqui. There is dance and cheerleading as well as volleyball, weight lifting and basketball; these are just a few things students' around campus do for fun! There is events with guest speakers and motivational mentors; this school has a lot of fun to offer. Somedays there is free lunch like chicken wings and pizza; other days there are dance battles in the heart of the campus, it all depends on what day it is!

    Food and Dining

    Southwest Tennesse Community College has a cafeteria on site and has an open kitchen for breakfast and lunch. Also, there is about four or five resaurants including McDonald's, Tasty Sub, Dominos Pizza, Burger King and Arby's. I love to go to the cafeteria on taco Thursdays because you can eat like a pig for about five bucks off of one plate. Southwest Tennessee Community College has employed very good chefs and workers and these ladies and gentlemen grow on you very easily. I love the whole atmosphere of the cafeteria as well as the dining hall where you can be yourself and no one will complain! There is also snack machines and soda machines throughout every building so it is easy to have a bite to eat almost anywhere on campus.

    Dorm Life

    One can live on or off campus. I lived off campus so I cannot elaborate on dorm life. I can elaborate on living off campus and that is a struggle in itself but lucky for you if you choose Southwest, they offer weekly bus passes! They usually go fast but everyone is advised of when and where so no student can steal them. Conveniently, there is a bus stop directly in front of the school with at least seven bus routes heading to different locations throughout the Greater Memphis area and Memphis' suburbs. Living off campus is actually tougher because of the travelling expenses like gas and then you have to pay for books and food. It can add up pretty quickly if you do not balance a budget.

    Academic Rigor

    There is the Honors Society of Phi Theta Kappa which requires a GPA of 3.5 or higher, there is many awards like the pretigious John P. Bacon Award through the Behavioral and Social Psychology Department; it all depends on what your major concentration or study entails. The higher your GPA, the better opportunities for you as a student to be sought after by prestigious colleges in and out of state; also, there are at least $37 billion dollars in scholarship opportunities so it is wise to complete your courses to the best of your ability and you will thrive without a doubt. Remember first things first and make sure to prioritize your goals and tasks otherwise, you will find yourself overwhelmed and stressed out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get yourself into high gear and pass all of your classes the first time so you do not have repeat a course that financial aid may not cover. Get involved in the school and with community and through volunteer work. Keep your GPA high so more opportunities will be awarded to you and the possibility of special higher educational scholarships as well as financial opportutnities will arise. It is great to have fun, meet new people and hang out however; like high school, not everyone you hang out with wants to see you succeed. Be well-prepared and do not waste time. Also, take your required General Education credits here instead of at a university because there is a transfer program that will save you over $20,000 dollars compared to the university.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Tennessee Community College is a campus that feels like home away from home with great leadership and one on one tutoring, Southwest has made my 2-year degree easier to obtain then I could have ever imagined. With several classes and majors to choose from and staff, tutor and mentor availability, I would recommend that all 2-year degree seeking students living in Tennessee consider this school to create a firm foundation with unlimited options and careers for their success in higher education. Southwest, in my opinion, is rated ten out of ten and would love to refer anyone with the mindset of success, leadership and scholar to attend.

  • 08/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Once you decide on your major, stick with it and the staff will not only encourage you but they will help you better yourself as much as possibly.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of security on campus and you can interact with them very easily.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am affiliated with two Honor Societies for having a good GPA.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students that are uncertain about going to college and you can get your feet wet there. So if you want to transfer to another school it is a good stepping stone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a couple of free pizza days that everybody always enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that the tutition maybe the main reason for my decision to enrolled here, because the cost is about a third of other institutions.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of school related activites scheduled for the students.

    Food and Dining

    I do not recommend the food. Maybe the snacks from the gift shop.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of clubs and affiliations to get involved in at this school so your time there passes quickly. You can also be enrolled in more than one club or association. Just like high school. It looks very good on your resume and gives you the opportunity to do a lot of networking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research thoroughly. Everything starts online, whether you like it or not. If you drive to the campus to ask a question the first thing they are going to ask is,Have you being online yet? Save your gas or that of a family member.

    In three sentences

    Deciding to go to Southwest Community College has been a life altering situation. The access to classes that you need and the ones that are offered are not to far off, as far as the campuses you have to choose from are concerned. Some of the classes are now being offered more online, for the people that like that sort of thing.

  • 01/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Never have I ate at Southwest.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college so therefore there is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are excellent. They will take time out before and after class if you need help with anything. It seem as if they want you to succeed as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're on top of your financial aid. Stay in contact with your adviser. If you don not have one you should get one.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Tennessee Community College is really a great school. It helps you and give you opportunities that will help you in life. I'm glad I chose Southwest.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel Campus Safety has a wonderful selections of individuals to work with. I was selected into a program with Campus Safety called Campus Safety Tech and this was a wonderful program and experience for me. I also gained many skills with them and my major is Criminal Justice Corrections. The CST program is awarded through the federal government for work study and only selected candidates are chosen for this program. Campus Safety also patrols the school and make sure everything is up to part for our safety as well as students.

    Clubs and Activities

    I tries to participate in all the activities on the Union campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that Southwest Tn Community College has been a wonderful choice and the more I attends the more I finds out about other funds that can be available if you qualify and apply. I also felt that day that I was nominated for the Who'S Who Among Students In American Universities and Colleges that certificate made me feel wonderful to know that someone recognized my achievements at school and I was elected. This was a day I would never forget and I should graduate Spring 2013.

    What to do for fun

    We have a Campus Activity Board which is called CAB.. I like the way the activities are planned at some of them campus.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria serves food on the campus just in case you don't have time to grab something to eat. I thinks its convenience and the vending machines that are available as well.

    Dorm Life

    We have no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I totally acknowledge their academics policies and academic offices as a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    A school with no loans but there are scholarships and grants available.

    In three sentences

    An excellent school that I would recommend to other students. I also think that the program for the high school students before entering college is wonderful as well. I also feel that this school has made a big change in my life even though I walks to school everyday as a single mother because its paying off.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    STCC has security at each of our locations and security is monitored very closely. Students are provided with I.D. badges that must be worn while on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is never a dull moment at STCC with all the organizations at the school, there are organizations for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    There are various organizations at STCC such as Phi Theta Kappa (STCC honors society), and SGA (student government association).

    Bang for the buck

    STCC offers affordable classes with financial aid available for those who qualify.

    What to do for fun

    The SGA (Student Government Association) sponsor a wide selection of activity throughout the school year. The talent show is the highlighted event for SGA of the the year.

    Food and Dining

    STCC community has a cafeteria available at two main locations the Macon campus and the Union Avenue Campus. The food is awesome and the staff is great.

    Academic Rigor

    At STCC you have a variety of academic honors classes which challenge your academic ability. STCC is defintely rated 5 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    SWTCC provides an array of degrees both technical and academic. STCC also provides tutoring and an international study program. STCC is the right choice for academic excellence.

    In three sentences

    STCC is an excellent starting point if you have been out of the college or school scene for a great deal of time. The classes are small and the teacher are excellent. Day and night classess are available for the the working student.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have events often, like free food, games and music.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus before but I hear the food is very good.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms. I am not sure the campus I attend even has dorms.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always around and active.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life, other than the Phi Theta Kappa honor society,

    What to do for fun

    The student activities department always does something fun each month.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers delicious fresh food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any prospective students should go online to the Southwest Tennessee Community College website at www.southwest.tn.edu. It offers a vast amount of information regarding the school and classes.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Tennessee Community College has everything a two-year college needs. It offers wonderful teachers and great classes. There are major choices for everyone.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Technically this school is extremely affordable in terms of the quality of education you will receive.

    What to do for fun

    We have a student activity center, plenty of events, and a game room.

    Food and Dining

    Dining is awful, but there are a lot of nice places near by.

    Academic Rigor

    I suggest checking out your professors' ratings on some rating site if you wish to be challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be demanding about what you need and want from advising and financial aid, but expect to learn how to do most of the work yourself.

    In three sentences

    The professors truly try to help students, and the staff is pretty friendly. However, advising and financial aid are two departments that are terribly difficult. My overall experience has been mediocre.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sports, clubs, you name it, so many different options, just get involved.

    Food and Dining

    food is truly delicious, salads, grilled, whatever you want.

    Dorm Life

    i stay at home with family

    Academic Rigor

    great rigor, broad studying

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved in the schools activities.

    In three sentences

    a great diverse environment, small easy to learn in classes, and easily fit to you budget.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Average

    Dorm Life

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry it's alot of help and guidance here

    In three sentences

    Thisma a very big place, ideal for a good social life. You need help, everyone is here to help. Bored? Well thes a ton to do!

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is patrolling, but they sometimes just leave their cruisers sitting in the parking lot (supposedly to deter break-ins, but is ineffective.) However, I never felt unsafe unless visiting the Union Campus.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa and Alpha Beta Gamma are the two Honors Societies along with the Honors Academy.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are only a few.

    Great for these types of students

    Low income

    Bang for the buck

    Best overall value for your dollar. Classes are about $177 per credit hour, as opposed to three times that amount for a 4-year college.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few organizations for Honors Students, however, nothing I consider fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a centrally-located cafeteria on the Macon Campus and it is quite adequate. However, you may experience sticker-shock when your salad is weighed and you are charged for the weight of the meal instead of what is expected to pay for a salad.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes were good, for the most part. However, there are a few instructors who have outlived their usefulness, i.e., don't follow the college rules for handing back paperwork in a timely manner (or at all). Just because this is what they have been doing for years is no reason to keep them on if they are not benefiting the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take only pre-req's and gen ed's here. Do not go into your concentration. Your concentration may change, or the credits earned may not transfer to a degree at a 4-year college.

    In three sentences

    Southwest is a good place to start, however, I recommend taking only pre-req's and gen ed's here. The reason is that the credits earned in an AAS may or may not transfer to a 4-year school. Also, the school is disorganized and discriminates against the better students for prized programs.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No major criminal instances that I know of at campus, besides the usual risks at any school anywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activities to take advantage of.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone trying to find somewhere to start, and anyone trying to just get father in life. Great flexibility in schedule for those that are working.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty good bang, really depends on what campus you attend class at. Union and Macon are the top campuses in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    Go to basketball games, some good afterschool activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Sometimes challeging, depends on your instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not overload yourself, pick a class schedule that works best you. Stay committed, it will get hard at times, but hang in there it is worth the effort.

    In three sentences

    STCC is a great place to start your academic journey. It is a fun, active, and engaging place to learn. The teachers really try to help students get moving in the right direction in life.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Student who want to raise their GPA and pay less for their core classes will enjoy Southwest. Also, for students that might feel overwhelmed by the entire college experience will benefit from pace of Southwest's courses.

    Bang for the buck

    Southwest, as a community college, is cheaper than most four-year universities. Students who go to Southwest before transferring to a four-year college such as the University of Memphis will save hundreds (sometimes thousands) of dollars.

    Food and Dining

    I don't think that Southwest has a formal dining hall, but there are many eateries and fast food restaurants in or near most, if not all, of the campuses.

    Dorm Life

    Southwest does not offer dorms or collegiate housing. If you want to attend this school, and you are from out of town, you will have to find an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    I know that this will be harder than high school, but I heard that the teachers are wonderful and the courses are well paced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Southwest does not accept loans. If you want to go to this school, be sure that you have all the necessary funds before you enroll.

    In three sentences

    Southwest seems like a good school. I like the campuses that I have seen, and they have the programs I am looking to study. I can't wait to start school.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs, and activities that do not require fees that you can get involved in that are tons of fun.

    Food and Dining

    If you are hungry you can always find something to eat and drink at school.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is friendly and does not mind helping one another out.

    Academic Rigor

    I have a 4.0 but I have worked really hard to get it and maintain it. Ask lots of questions because someone else probably doesn't know the answer either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone and everything you need to know if you run into a problem is in the college catalogue and the free yearly agenda book located in almost every hallway. Grab one of each they will help you out tons!

    In three sentences

    I would give Southwest Tennessee Community College an A rating. The first thing would be because of the low cost to attend. Another would be the small class sizes.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    25 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I did not live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Every professor at Southwest is great. Don't believe everything you read on the professor rating websites. They are not always true.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Tennessee Community College is a great school, whether taking summer classes to get ahead or seeking a career. The professors are very helpful and willing to set aside time for any student in need. With their many locations there is always one close to you.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have plays, they have activity room, sports, job fairs, and field trips.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but a little overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm so I can't answer that question.

    Academic Rigor

    It has an academics center for students to do their homework, get help with tutoring or just surf on the internet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should focus on their goals and keep their head in the game.

    In three sentences

    Southwest is great for a trade. It is good to learn skills. It is good to pursuit a career you will love.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The women's basketball team, rocks!

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria and bookstore snacks.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    What one puts into the work, determines the grade that they will get!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard!

    In three sentences

    Southwest has the best Academic Support available to students. The teachers care deeply for the well being of their students. It was one of the best decisions that I've made in my life and I'd would recommend this community to anyone.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When it comes to safety they are strict. They have a police office in the school and patrol cars ride around 24/7.

    What to do for fun

    They have a gameroom and many clubs and organizations to attend not to mention the monthly events that are posted around school and on the website.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. You can choose between a snack and a meal at an affordable price. Most foods are what you would find at a concession stand.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories available for students. But they give information to students about the apartments around/near the campus that provide housing for students. (optional)

    Academic Rigor

    GO TO CLASS. Grades are very important and if you dont maintain an average you can be removed from your program. The academic department is dedicated to what they do. They have tutors and advisers to help with school and future career ideas.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do things early instead of waiting til the last minute. I've learned this the hard way. APPLY FOR CLASSES AS SOON AS POSSIBLE because some majors require the same prerequisite requirement courses as others.

    In three sentences

    Southwest is a good start for most high school graduates. Their class sizes are small so you can better understand the lesson. However patience and responsibility are two things you must have while attending this school. They let you know that your education matters.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All campuses have security.

    Great for these types of students

    Working Parents, High school grads that need finacial assistance, single parents, and working adults.

    What to do for fun

    Walk on the river, grab a cup of coffee from the republic, dine at places that take you out of the box like Dish or Blue Monkey.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself for your future and make the tough decisions now. For example, go ahead decide on your major, decide which classes are best for you to take. Your advisor can only do so much and the outlined curriculum may not be comfortable for you. So take the courses you are good at first , take the unfamiliar classes , then take the easy classes GPA is very important so maintain a good GPA and protect it with your life because it is your life, no one tells you that part. You have to know where you are headed, understand how to get there, and take action. Remember, no one wants average so separate yourself from the bunch.

    In three sentences

    Southwest is a good start for those looking to advance themselves in today's society. Although the classes are challenging, the sizes of classes allow for everyone to experience a one on one teacher/student experience. I look forward to obtaining my degree at Southwest,and I am confident that my added education will propel me into a prominent future in which I will have the luxury of financial security.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I don't have one

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many different types of Clubs, and Activities that you can join.

    Great for these types of students

    We have free tutoring for student that need help.

    Bang for the buck

    We can use our ID to get discounts at different places.

    What to do for fun

    Go to job fairs, we have a game room, and we also have flag football game that i attend.

    Food and Dining

    They have great food.

    Dorm Life

    The South West that i attend doesn't have dorms, but there are other that do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are in class on time. Buy your books a hide of time.

    In three sentences

    South West Tennessee Community College is a great school. I would have to rate my school as a 10. I've been there for a year and things aren't always easy, but they have great teachers to help you.

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security Everywhere!

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Ambassadors,intramural sports,basketball,choir,cheerleaders

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library,the gym, the cafeteria and the fun room.

    Bang for the buck

    So affordable than any college anywhere!!!

    What to do for fun

    extracurricular activities,the programs and special guests.

    Food and Dining

    Ok if your hungry everything is good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms or housing

    Academic Rigor

    Keep it simple and it will be simple.Tutors are available for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find the time to study,stay positive,take classes you can handle,use your financial aid for all your school necessities,focus on getting a good gpa and graduate.

    In three sentences

    The school is affordable.The staff at Southwest are very helpful.The professors help you if you help yourself.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They safety on this campus is great.

    What to do for fun

    They have sports. Different types of clubs like chest. They have all types of plays and talent shows.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really great. Most of all the food is created by the students in Canary Art class. There are no fast foods on campus and there are snack machines in every building.

    Dorm Life

    Nun available

    Academic Rigor

    They are very firm on attendance because if you do not show up you can not learn. They are firm on you learning the material before you move on to the next curricular. They are also firm about helping you achieve you goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions. Never listen to other students about the classes you need to take ask you personal advisor only. Never be ashamed to ask for help because they offer free one on one tutoring.

    In three sentences

    They are great when it comes to small class sizes and teaching techniques. The financial Aid office is always slow about processing information and getting you your financial Aid on time. Over all as a whole it is great and tuition is not high at all.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I advise you to always pay attention to where you are going. Get familiar with the different buildings. Other than that we have a good school police safety team that is quick to calls and always available.

    Greek Life

    There are a variety of Greek groups. When you come here if you are interested in them give them a shot.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many social clubs here. I am in the Criminal Justice club. You just have to pick your right club fit.

    Great for these types of students

    The video game den is great for students who love video games and have a little extra time to burn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The mascot runs up and down the halls at any time during the year. This is very hilarious to many students.

    Bang for the buck

    They have a great library. Unlike many colleges who computer labs and libraries almost require you to fight to get time on the computer, at Southwest it is easily accessible.

    What to do for fun

    Their are a variety of fun social clubs here. I am in the pep club. Also, they have a hangout den where you can play pool watch T.V. and enjoy yourself. Also, there are many other activities you can do here.

    Food and Dining

    The food they serve at Southwest is good. They have basically about every thing you could find at a restaurant buffet. I love their Philly Cheese steaks.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm rooms at Southwest. Although we do have a resting lounge. They are very comfortable. I go there all the time and chill when I don't have anything to do.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic standards here are not hard. You basically just follow all class instructions and be aware of school policies. The classwork is basically the same. Study and meet tutors when needed and you will be okay.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. I guarantee you will pass. Also, always communicate with teachers and adviser's if it is something you don't understand. This will help you out always.

    In three sentences

    It is a great experience for up coming college students. They have great professors. No need to fail here everyone works together as a team to help you succeed.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Whitehaven campus pops popcorn at least 3 times a week.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, good education for reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    Campus have concerts, and speakers to perform for students.

    Food and Dining

    Main campus have good dining area, but off site campus only have vending machines (need healthy selections)

    Academic Rigor

    4.5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete FASA and visit financial aid office before deadline. Meet with advisor to get required classes. Visit computer labs and library great resources.

    In three sentences

    A+ for instructor to student ratio. Faculty has a great concern for students achievements. Resources available for students needs.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a full security staff. They are a very present force and will cite you if you park in a restricted area. I have not heard of any disturbances or illegal activity at any of the campuses.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have basketball programs available and they host several events. There is a student government body.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at this school is not overly expensive but there is financial aid available for those who qualify. You should begin this process early as funds are usually limited.

    What to do for fun

    There is a club on the corner from the Macon campus that offers a variety of music to enjoy. Also there is a bowling alley and movie theater within 5 miles of the school. The Union campus offers a variety of activities because it is within walking distance of downtown Memphis. That is where the famous Beale Street is nestled.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria at each location. I am familiar with the one at the Macon campus. The prices are a bit pricey but the food is good. It is open most of the day beginning early with breakfast. I haven't eaten there after 5p.m. but, I don't think they're open after that. There are fast food restaurants within walking distance of the campus. There are also convenient stores that are within walking distance as well.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life associated with this school.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are adequate for the most part however different instructors use different methods. They do all use what the college supplies for that course but the amount you are actually use depends on the instructor. For example, some tests might have a test bank of 20 questions, 50 questions or even 100 questions, your instructor has a choice of which one your class gets.

    Tips for prospective students

    Southwest is the perfect school for students wanting to change or advance their careers. There are plenty of locations throughout Memphis, so they are easily accessible. They offer on campus tutoring that's available extended hours. There are a variety of teaching methods available as well. Parking is somewhat of a problem at the Macon and Union campus but, they did make a little more parking at the Macon campus. Usually someone is leaving as you are arriving unless you are late. Hint: Be on time

    In three sentences

    This school has a diverse curriculum that met or exceeded my expectations. The instructors I interacted with were a positive impact on my learning experience. I particularly enjoyed my on-line classes because I could get my work done anytime.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I'm not a member.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    All ethnic groups. Very diversified,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Allied Health Building is not located on campus, it is about a block over.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many different extracurricular activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Five stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in to Southwest with a positive attitude and stay focused.

    In three sentences

    This college is a community college and I am very impressed. I started at Southwest in the Fall of 2012. I have been accepted into the Pharmacy Tech Program for the Spring 2013 semester. I am looking forward to it.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police on campus all the time, but they don't seem very vigilant. There are phones in all the buildings that dial directly to the campus police, and there are email alerts if any crimes take place.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Honors Academy is a nice club, although not many people seem to participate since most students have jobs, etc. taking up their time.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a very affordable school, but the education isn't great. I guess it's about what you'd expect from a community college, but I was hoping for more.

    What to do for fun

    There aren't many campus activities, but there's usually something going on in Memphis, like plays, concerts, movies, even ballets or operas.

    Food and Dining

    No meal plan, but there are a couple of vending machines around campus and several restaurants in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are very easy and the teachers don't expect much from you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get there early, parking is a nightmare. Get any financial aid issues or admission problems dealt with as soon as possible or you'll have to wait forever. Also, register early as well or you may not get all the classes you want

    In three sentences

    A good starter school if you're looking to get a quick degree or just your basics and then transfer to a four year. The teachers are fine, and courses are very flexible, with night classes, Saturday classes, and all throughout the day. It seems like most of the students are unmotivated though, and the teachers see that and tend to expect less of everyone.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They sent out an email last week that a girl was robbed of her iPad on the main campus --they caught the thugs but I'm sure she's still pretty wigged out about it!

    Greek Life

    NONE--not interested in this anyway!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots offered but have not checked them out. They keep you informed via your email account.

    Great for these types of students

    LOW ON CASH!!

    Bang for the buck

    You can get started here and then transfer to the University of Memphis. It's A WHOLE LOT CHEAPER to get your core classes out of the way and then go to a 4-yr college for your major concentration!

    Food and Dining

    Haven't checked it out. LOTS OF STUDENTS IN THERE SO IT MUST BE OK.

    Dorm Life

    Don't offer it here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid worked out BEFORE you actually have to start class!!

    In three sentences

    I like the fact that they have a satellite campus closer to my house and it's A LOT easier to find a place to park. All the classes meet in the same building so this is more convenient in inclement weather. They also offer online classes. THE NEGATIVE is their office staff in the Financial Aid office needs A HUGE AMOUNT OF IMPROVEMENT. They must think it's job security to make you wait...wait...and wait. A lady sitting next to me the day of registration, waited 3 hours only to find out that she really needed to be in another office! No telling how long she had to wait there! Either these people are not equipped to do their jobs or they're just lazy!! The staff in the advising dept is AWESOME!!

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Strictly forced.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm a Single Mother.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat in the school cafeteria that often.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 55

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    They have a great Graphic Design program that prepares each student for a work field.

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have security and police officers so its cafe

    Greek Life

    no applicable

    Clubs and Activities

    the schools activities are in good leading force and strong

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the cafateria the location is very small and no food are for sale

    Bang for the buck

    i really don't know anything about bang for the buck

    What to do for fun

    work, read and spend time with my family

    Food and Dining

    the food and dinning is not really that good and not much and no canteen

    Dorm Life

    southwest does not have a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    it not really easy especially when you are new in the campus or school, you face so many challenges.

    Tips for prospective students

    that they should continue the hard work to achieve their desired goal

    In three sentences

    southwest tennesse community college has help and shape me into the person i am. it is also a community college beginners should start up with. and i will rate it 99%

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is about average. The campus downtown is a bit more sketchy but I have never felt threatened.

    Greek Life

    I am unaware if there is greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs and activities. I am unfortunately too busy to be involved in any extra activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students on a budget or adults.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot for what it cost.

    What to do for fun

    I do not spend a lot of extra time on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten at the school. Just seems like a high school cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the actual classes you are taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must go to class.

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful school that is cost efficient. It has day and not class available to work around your schedule. The teachers are supportive and attentive.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is important on campus. You have security walking on campus, riding around in the park lot. Rating is 6.

    Greek Life

    Southwest has many Greek activities to fit your personality.

    Clubs and Activities

    Southwest has activities such as the basketball team, cheerleader team and etc. Rating is a 6.

    Great for these types of students

    The library is a great place for students who like peace and quiet to study, and just to read.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A great place on campus is the computer lab. The computer lab open for you to get help with work, computers open for you to print.

    What to do for fun

    At southwest community college you have many organizations to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    I enjoy the Dining at Southwest. The dining area you have vending machines with reasonable prices. In the dining area you can meet you with class mates after or before class to discuss work. Rating is a 6.

    Academic Rigor

    Southwest has class that helps you academic.Such as development reading, development writiting, and development math. Rating is a 7.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for student interact with other students, ask questions for your understanding, form study groups.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Community is a great school I enjoy it. At Southwest you have hands om experience. Southwest is a small community college to fit your needs in the class room with maximum number of student.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a place to help get you started for a four year university, this is the place to go.

    What to do for fun

    Memphis is a very large city so there is plenty to do here.

    Food and Dining

    I'm a very healthy eater, so their cafe is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    You can not live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I decided to go here because it will help me get on the right track for future four year colleges.

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for a good community college to start at, this is the one. The teachers love their students and if you ask for help, you get help immediately. It's also not too big for a community college so you have more one on one time with your professors.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play softball.

    Tips for prospective students

    you will always have some one there to help you.

    In three sentences

    Southwest i a good school.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Southwest TN Community College care and protect their students because they have emergency stations all over their parking lots besides the securty guard car around the area.

    Food and Dining

    I have never ate in campus before so I am not really sure about the taste of the food.

    Dorm Life

    Southwest TN Community College do not have a dorm life, this community college is more for local students.

    Tips for prospective students

    If students are not able to get a scholarship, I recomend Southwest TN Community College because they won't break your pocket for your clasess.

    In three sentences

    I love southwest because help students to pay lower tuition fees than privite schools or public universities. Southwest TN community college is giving me the opportunity to attend college without breaking my pocket. I rate Southwest TN Community college with a 5 stars because they give me the opportunity to do three payments for my clasess instead of paying in one whole amount.

  • 09/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are multiple campus police phones inside and outside the buildings that dial straight to the police when you need them .Also, when something happens at the campus the students are immediately informed of the incident and give detailed descriptions of it and tips of what to do.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are multiple clubs and lots of activites that you can attend..

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all students.Most times I just sit and take in the scenery around me, and I get to see all types of groups come together and conversate.Students form from classes, past engagements, or by simply saying hello!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Southwest is definitely great to go to for the price as it offers the lowest price of tuition in the region.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of things to do.Student Activities are always having things going on at school.Also, the student lounge is a fun place to hang with friends during breaks .

    Food and Dining

    The prices are great and the cafeteria is new and improved!!! The bookstore is awesome and has all of the late-nite or in between class snacks that you love!!!

    Dorm Life

    Although the dorms will not be completed until Spring 2013, I know they will be good!!

    Academic Rigor

    Southwest has tutoring for all classes and programs to help throughout your entire semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Southwest is affordable and a great place to start off college without the worries of your financial needs. Also, when your choosing which college to attend, choose the college that's right for you and bests fits you , which incudes your financial and academic needs.

    In three sentences

    Southwest is a great school to go to if you don't have a lot of funds to attend college.Its a nice size campus that enables you go from from building to the next witth ease.The profesors are highly qualified and have real-world experience that allows them to each you real-world skills.

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    small dining area

    Tips for prospective students

    Start with a few classes.

    In three sentences

    Southwest is a great place to attend college. There are many locations. The teachers are awesome.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are there but not very efficient.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life!

    Bang for the buck

    Class wise it is a cheap and easy way to get a degree.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few fun things to do at Southwest such as the welcome back bash and free games of pool.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is disgusting and loud.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Very easy classes, not challenging at all!

    Tips for prospective students

    Southwest is a good school if you are just trying to get done. I would not recommend it to a person who is looking at being in school for a while.

    In three sentences

    The class size at Southwest is great, majority of classes are small. Most professors are nice and willing to help. The student body is very much like a high school in how they act, very immature.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wonderful.

    Greek Life

    I am not sure about this aspect of STCC.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several just pick some.

    Great for these types of students

    Anykind.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a lake with crazy ducks, geese, and swan at Sycamore View location. Watch out when sightseeing. The birds are not afraid of you and will attack.

    Bang for the buck

    Great staff.

    What to do for fun

    Go to games or attend clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Great food available during the week but not at night and on weekends :(

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school has kept me busy for many years. Be expected to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your books from students in the class before your's. Go to them in the week of finals!

    In three sentences

    Great school. Affordable. Fits into anyone's life.

  • 12/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 55

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I did not participate in any school activities.

    Food and Dining

    I did not eat at the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I did not have experience with this.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be on time to your classes and make sure you understand the assignments given.

    In three sentences

    Attending Southwest really was my best choice. The teachers here actually care about the students. All of the classes I took and will take are all transferable.

  • 04/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is only good about breaking up fights. They are not good about finding stolen even tough there are cameras everywhere. they also take their time to get to certain situations and spend to much time conducting the noise levels.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students you are not exactly ready for the full college atmosphere . It also is good for older people who went back to school. This also wonderful for people who like smaller settings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a ball every in December that most people not attend because it lame to cool students. We raise cancer funds and participate in March for dimes.

    Bang for the buck

    I really need this scholarship badly I am trying to finish up this summer and I do not have the funds. After I finish at southwest at plan to go to a four year university. Please pick me!!!!!

    What to do for fun

    The game is room is a great hang out spot. Also, when it warm it is plenty of space to hang out at school with my friends. I also get board sometimes and run the stairs for exercise or play basketball in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. The lines are really long and the cafeteria gets crowded. The cooks sometimes are skimpy with the food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. The bathrooms lack the proper items daily. The cleanest place to rest is the library.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers do not do their best to help students needs. They also are very bad about keeping up with work. There are a lot of classes to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would not recommend this school. If this is your only hope make sure your finical aid is straight. Also, get on rate your professor.com before picking them.

    In three sentences

    Southwest community college is not a very safe environment. The police spend more time conducting noise than finding stolen objects. It also is not vey clean.

  • 04/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is not so great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students must be self-disciplined and willing to make time to achieve.

    In three sentences

    Overall a small but good school to go to. The classes are small but hands on learning is effective. Southwest Tennessee Community College is an affordable school to attend and I recommend it to future college students.

  • 05/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security and Memphis Police Department on duty at all times.

    Greek Life

    Not so much

    Clubs and Activities

    Plethora of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Music Department, Nursing Building

    Bang for the buck

    They offer things like free massages on the go, free pizza, study abroad, ect.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Memphis is where the best college parties are held, festivals, and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't all that great, but there are a number of resturants and fast food joints in the area.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know.

    Academic Rigor

    Focus, study, plan

    Tips for prospective students

    Wear comfortable shoes. The parking lots are a 10 minute walk from the school.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school. I'd recommend Southwest to anyone who has been out of school for a while or more comfotable in a smaller class setting. I'd give Southwest 3 stars overall.

  • 07/28/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    55 of 55

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is extremely important to me no violence, harassment, bullying I'm all for peace.

    Bang for the buck

    I work hard I love getting things done.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the gym for fun, read book's, and enjoy helping people.

    Food and Dining

    Should be adequate

    Dorm Life

    Should be adequate

    Academic Rigor

    Business management

    In three sentences

    Best overall community college in Tennessee. Great environment to go to school and great people. A college that I want to graduate from.