Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southwest Texas Junior College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe around the Del Rio campus, there has been no issues during the time I have attended Southwest Texas Junior College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is the math club,arts club, the newspaper club and many more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Del Rio campus has a diversity in language, many students from Mexico attend this campus.

    What to do for fun

    You can join the Phi Thetta Kappa and be involved in different community events. There are also groups for journalism,math,arts and many more.

    Food and Dining

    Del rio campus has no dorms, so there is no food court. There are several vending machines in which you can buy drinks and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    The Del Rio campus has no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Southwest has some courses in which more dedication is needed than others. But if you do everything as asked you will have a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend to your classes, do your work and you will be successful.

    In three sentences

    It is a small college with many people who are willing to help. Students dedicated to their college by attending classes and participating.But most important, teachers will teach you what you need.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the sports events, attend book clubs, religious groups, and clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors, thet will help you. Form study groups and you'll be sure to pass.

    In three sentences

    The professors work well with their students on a one on one level. The school system is fair. The admissions are helpful and generous.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been no concerns with safety at SWTJC over the past 2 years that I have attending. Campus security assures that students are safe. They monitor everything from parking, dorms, to the classroom.

    Great for these types of students

    SWTJC offers opportunities for all types of students. If you are into sports, they have a great basketball team. If you are into music, there is an outstanding Mariachi department. For the outgoing type to those who are more reserved, and completely focused on their school work, this school offers opportunities for all.

    Bang for the buck

    SWTJC definately is a place to get bang for the buck. Great educational opportunitys without breaking the bank.

    What to do for fun

    If you are like me, between work, school, home, and family, there is not a lot of time for fun. However there are plenty of places around the area to take time to unwind, such as a movie theater, bowling alley, parks, and plenty of great places to eat.

    Food and Dining

    The Sub offers students a place to stop for an energy refill at a reasonable price.

    Dorm Life

    Though I do not live in the dorms, I know plenty that do. They are a suitable place for college students to consider it a home away from home. The campus atmosphere is safe, and has an environment condusive for learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is challenging, especially to those going back to school, particularly those, like me, with a family. Juggling studying, homework, family life, and working is very difficult. Prioritizing is a must. Anyone can advance and build on their skills, it just takes determination. My advice for others, don't give up.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Texas Junior College offers great education with reasonable tuition. Classroom size is small allowing adequate time for student/teacher interaction. I look forward to continue to expand my horizons at SWTJC.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are rarely any altercations to where the security needs to be involved. Campus is very safe and comfortable.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've heard the clubs are fun, but I've never been a part of one.

    Great for these types of students

    Small town students, students that aren't use to big classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's not that many.

    Bang for the buck

    The junior college is good because you're not paying the high price like a university, but you're still getting the same education at the end of the day.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do, go to the movies, go to dances, and hit the gym on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. It's not food form a 5 star restaurant. but it is good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are ok. They could be a little bigger, but hey it is college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are hard enough to where you have to keep your head on straight and pay attention. This isn't a blow off college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and relax. The camus isn't big, so you can make friends easily with a bunch of people.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1-10, SWTJC deserves an 8. The environment is very friendly, and since it is a small campus the teachers no who you are personally.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join honors clubs!

    Dorm Life

    I would not know, i took duel credit courses; 27hrs during high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to learn your proffesor! Online or regardless. Make them remember your name and don't be afraid to ask questions; they like to know you are paying attention.

    In three sentences

    Offers great classes at affordable prices. Very interactive and one on one with you. However, I would not recommend online if you need direct contact to learn. I struggled heavily with procrastination; it's easy to overlook due assignments.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A very secure campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very different clubs to join.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are inexpensive here and still can be transferable to a university.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't many fun activities here but when there is there are fun.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are standard.

    Academic Rigor

    I rated the academic field with three starts because even though some teachers are good, at a university level the teachers would be even better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should not be looking to stay here, students should just be looking to start off and transfer to a better university.

    In three sentences

    Southwest Texas Junior college is an okay college just to start off at. The instructors here do teach good although there are some that are bad. In all, if you are looking to go here it would be okay for your first year.

  • 08/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It is a small town, but I honestly always find something to do. There are lots of places that will hold your horses if you like to ride. For the girls that like to shop there is a town square with lots of small boutique stores. In town there are two parks. Then right up the road is Concan where you can go and float the Guadalupe River.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. The prices are reasonable and everything is homemade. I feel that as a student, we are spoiled. The cafeteria brings me a feeling of home due to how amazing the food is.

    Dorm Life

    I honestly have not lived on campus so can no speak on behalf of this.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very knowledgeable. Study and use your resources wisely. They push you and are there to prepare you for a career. Do not take your course work lightly just because they are a junior college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask questions. College can seem intimidating, however we are all there for the same purpose, to get an education. Introduce yourself to your professors and make use of their office hours. They are more than happy to help you.

    In three sentences

    The professors work hard to provide for my education and prepare me for a University. The campus is beautiful and the environment is friendly and all work together as if one big family. I am proud to attend Southwest Texas Junior College to cover my basics before I transfer over to Texas A&M University.

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much activities going on in this campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are no restaurants or cafeteria in this campus only a snack room and vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms in the del rio campus

    In three sentences

    the community college in del rio, texas is not the best choice. There are little resources and the counselors and administrators are not that effective. I highly recommend the campus in Uvalde.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great food and a large cafeteria for all students to enjoy a meal and socialize.

    Dorm Life

    Cozy living quarters and friendly roommates

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses can be challenging but with free tutoring services and a great staff, it's hard not to be successful here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the free student services and convenient scheduling options.

    In three sentences

    SWTJC is a great place to begin your pursuit of higher education. SWTJC offers classes in almost all fields of study and technical degrees for various pursuits. Great for saving money and transferring to a four year University.