Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southwestern Adventist University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs, lots of activities

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Vegetarian and pretty good!

    Dorm Life

    Fun!

    Academic Rigor

    Alright

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in school

    In three sentences

    It is awesome. I like it. Good Christian environment.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    Each department has a club.

    Great for these types of students

    its great for all kinds of students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have worship everyday, vespers on Friday, and church on Saturday.

    Bang for the buck

    The friends you make there will be your friends for ever.

    What to do for fun

    The Student Association department has Saturday night activities every night of the year so you wont have to worry about what to do.

    Food and Dining

    If you like vegetarian food then its a good place. The food has a home-cooked feeling.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, not spectacular, but roomy and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to study hard because teachers wont give you a free A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Inform yourself on what major you want before you apply to school.

    In three sentences

    Its an awesome school. The people there are really nice and the teachers there are really helpful.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Conservative. Christian. Self-starters (willing to invest personal effort into learning).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    handshake - current students welcome incoming freshmen and transfer students

    What to do for fun

    Go to Fort Worth. Student center. Saturday night activities.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is okay, fast food located relatively close to campus if you have a car.

    Academic Rigor

    It could have been more challenging, but you get what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to arrange to live off campus.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern is a good place for conservative students who want a God-focused school. The Accounting program is pretty good based on current professors. Good fit for students who are wanting an undergrad degree based on Christian principles.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is nothing to do in Keene, but every Saturday night there is a outing usually either includes skating, a movie at the campus, intervals (sports) such as basketball and many more. If you go early enough you could visit downtown Fort Worth or Dallas.

    Food and Dining

    Like I said before the food is awesome even though it's vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    If you are a girl, and you live in one of the dorms Dean Ann and Dean Janelle are very nice and they really care about you.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say four stars, because some people may or may not find their major here, but everything that is academic is really good.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should get to know all the faculty, because you might end up in their classroom if they're not a teacher. You should at least try the vegetarian food if you are not a vegetarian it is really good.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern is a wonderful school to attend, because the student to teacher ratio is 13:1 so you get to know your teachers on a personal level. You get wonderful vegetarian food, which is in a buffet style so you can get a variety. I would rate my school a 10, because i love it so much.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you're interested in sport there are many intramural sports. They also have a nice workout place.

    Food and Dining

    If you're into vegetarian you'll find this place ideal and honestly even if you're not you'll be surprised how tasty the food easy.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms kind of small but warm. Not much space which is a downer but its okay.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a very good nursing program. The process to get in their program may be hard but they also dont have many applicants.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to have completed all the available scholarship. The admission is kind of expensive but they do work with you. The application is easy to fill out and all you need to send to them is your transcript and FAFSA.

    In three sentences

    When I first got there I was nervous but the faculty made me feel wanted and they were very polite. I visited the Student Financial Advisor who was very helpful. The campus also was very tranquil and seemed calmed and easygoing.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't really anything to do for fun here because its set up to be that way.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is terrible.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is boring because you can't bring girls in the room and you have a curfew if you are under 21.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic here can be intense but its not hard if you just try.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this school have the major you are looking for, don't expect to see a lot of school spirit, and don't expect the cafe food to taste good.

    In three sentences

    Great academics, few popular activities, and very religious.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has security, but only so much. The employees do look pretty intimidating when they're on the job. For that I give them their props.

    Bang for the buck

    I must say there's a lot of great things on campus. That includes the academic and the spiritual features as well as the entertainment. There's a new building on campus and also a fully renovated and modernized student center.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot you can do. For the game freaks (video game or board game) there are many groups of people to play with. For swimmers there's a pool. For athletes there's a football/soccer field and a basketball/volley ball court and weight room. There's the movies and restaurants, but almost every week the school has a Saturday night activity for all students.

    Food and Dining

    For vegetarian food this isn't The Best, but it's really good! The chef is a gourmet chef. He doesn't cook all of the food, but he trains the people that do. I have to say, for that reason, the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    For the bookworm, party animal, slob, clean freak or spiritual, this is great. If you need silence the deans can match you up with someone very similar. If you want someone opposite they can do that too (respecting the other individual of course).

    Academic Rigor

    The professors will do a lot to get you to do your work, but at the same rate they give you space and let you make your own decisions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to learn. Don't fool around the first week: Jump right into your studies and get ahead. Study more than you are assigned. Unless you have money laying around get a job and work no less than 10 hours.

    In three sentences

    It is spiritually centered and focuses most classes on God. It's a good place to meet Adventists. It has small classes and one on one help in assignments.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe place. The Keene police department is located in the school and respond promptly when you need them.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life everyone is equal.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are very various clubs in the school both academic and spiritual clubs

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for spiritual students and those seeking spiritual needs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is located in a very rural location in the middle of nowhere the only stores around here are Dollar General and Family Dollar

    What to do for fun

    There is a student center that has various indoor games to play, the dorms have a pool which is warmed during the cold season as well as a jacuzi.

    Food and Dining

    The food in Southwestern is completely vegan prepared in a very clean environment. There is a variety of food prepared the best part is you can propose what you want the chef to prepare. The dining is a cosy place,very warm environment to socialize

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is both fun and the rules there are very conservative. There are fun activities in the dorms including a heated pool during bad weather. Opposite sex are not allowed in the dorms hence providing a very safe environment full of privacy

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor is excellent. You are well rounded academically teachers challenge you to think for yourself and when stuck they help you out. Their a tutoring center for extra help in your school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to Southwestern and you will not regret joining the school. Be ready to study, have fun spiritually and being a blessing to another person. If you are easily distracted by parties this is a good place to be its in the country far from most party cities hence will be easy to sit own and study

    In three sentences

    Southwestern is just not a school that builds you academically but spiritually and morally too. The professors here are ready to work with you to ensure you are all rounded and make sure you have a firm foundation academically. Besides the teachers, the faculty and students are very friendly they make the school feel at home.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know people, it's not a huge school so you can get to know people.

    In three sentences

    I like how diverse the school is and there is a sense of belonging. I feel safe there and I feel I can accomplish great things there. Need some improvement but that goes with time.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe and small. During the day there are always Grounds workers making rounds around campus on gold carts. During the night the parking lots could use a little but more lighting but its alright. right next to the campus is a fire station and police station so if there is any emergency there is no waiting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Thursday there is assembly for everyone! Sometimes there is a guest speaker, or a presentation by clubs or a specific major department and sometimes classes play games against each other. Every Friday after vespers there is Afterglow where students can eat and socialize with each other or watch a Sabbath video.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs (SIFE, Missions, Biology...) to choose from. Many have to do with majors but they are open to everyone. Every Saturday night there is an outing activity (bowling, ice skating....) that is open to everyone as well, but first come first serve!

    Food and Dining

    Since I personally worked at the cafeteria, I think the options are excellent. The cafeteria is buffet style and all vegetarian with about 5-6 dishes to choose from which will also satisfy the needs of vegans. In addition to this there are salad and sandwich bars set up. Rusty Bucket (fast food) is also available for students if they are not satisfied with the prepared meal.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.... but it seems great to me from what I've heard. Curfew is 12 AM!!

    Academic Rigor

    General studies classes are pretty easy but with specific majors a hard work ethic is needed. Professors are available during their conference hours. and in the evenings tutors are available at the library.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a love for God if you want to come to SWAU not only becasue it is a Christian school but because I don't know of any professor who starts class before having worship, devotion or prayer.

    In three sentences

    Everyone on campus is friendly so there is a family feeling. The campus is located in a small town and is safe. Every weekend there is an off campus activity sponsored by the Students Association.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Center and there is an activities for all students.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone will get together for Assembly on Thursday afternoon. Students must take a bible class.

    Bang for the buck

    I can not wait to start on the 27th of August. I am looking forward to it. I feel like it is a great opportunity for me to go to college here.

    What to do for fun

    I hear that there is something to do on the weekends for the students to get together. There is a nice student center with games and place to sit, and talk with fellow students.

    Food and Dining

    Has a home cook feel to it. The food is awesome and I am not vegetarian.

    Dorm Life

    I get to live off campus, since the University is six miles from my home. I am thankful for that. I hear it is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Staff, Administration, Teacher are all wonderful and are there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    This University has a good christian belief. The students that are there welcomes in coming freshmen with a smile and a hello or a hand shake then a hello. Everyone has been super helpful getting me in to this University. I Feel every welcome there.

    In three sentences

    Great Staff, very friendly and helpful. Campus is open area some trees, but I feel safe. Good Christian environment.

  • 05/22/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is provided by a webcam system set up in all buildings active 24/7 and campus security workers take nightly shifts checking in all campus sites from 9pm-6am. There is lighting in all parking lots and campus sites throughout the night and campus security workers are willing to walk students and faculty from site to site.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mission's club offers many calls abroad for any student seeking mission-travel opportunities, be it for a summer, year, or several years. The Rough Writer's club gathers a group of aspiring student writers and casual just-for-fun creative individuals to share their literary compilations, and also offers the option of participating in their yearly writing contest. ExpressHim is a spiritual life drama club sponsored by the university's Spiritual Life and Development department spreading Christian values through plays.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Southwestern starts off every year with its student-teacher handshake. SWAU's annual handshake creates a line of mixed students and faculty often filling the middle of the campus. The annual handshake involves other activities suggested by the student association to create a bond for faculty and students at the beginning of the year.

    What to do for fun

    Southwestern's Student Association will offer the student body weekly events ranging from off-campus activities to on-campus gatherings. Outings include skating, bowling, zoo and botanical garden trips. On-campus life will offer intramurals of basketball, floor ball, dodgeball, soccer, among others. There is also an on-campus pool that is open 24/7 except for Saturdays. The natural environment of Keene, Texas generally provides a peaceful atmosphere for any student that just wants to relax in between studies.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a plentiful menu of various ethnic and vegetarian/vegan cuisines ranging from cajun to greek food, based on the week. All three meals of the day are a buffet offering a sandwich and salad bar as an alternative option on the side. Pricing is reasonable according to portions and dishes offered.

    Dorm Life

    There is never a dull moment living in Southwestern dorms, with various activities revolving around entertainment and spiritual life. Campus announcements are posted in dorms and dormitory assistantships are value-based and nurture community.

    Academic Rigor

    Not overlooking major courses, professors provide curriculum that stimulates an intellectual and philosophical edge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keeping a solid informative relationship with faculty and staff is a vital part of student success. Professors at Southwestern show a genuine interest in furthering their students according to student willingness for teamwork. Join all the clubs and meetings you can! Small campus size allows for open discussions about academics and student association.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Adventist University is a close-knit traditional university focused on one-on-one student based learning. A class size of 10-30 can mean a great difference for student-teacher success in education, while the value-based curriculum keys in the fundamentals of the Christian walk. Southwestern's campus is a traditional one kept young by the desire to learn, and its proverbial motivation for harnessing wisdom.

  • 06/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Too safe.

    Greek Life

    HA!

    Clubs and Activities

    some of the departments take trips... not really allot of consistent things that i know of.

    Great for these types of students

    1.) SUPER radical OVER conservatives 2.) Sheep who do what they're told and don't think for themselves 3.) and those who aren't afraid to stand up against wrong in the world no matter what status of power it holds. [in case there is hope for this place]

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oh yeah almost forgot our ANNUAL HUMAN SACRIFICE IN THE SCALES PIT COOKOUT !!! (joke) Nothing unusual except for the FORCED WORSHIP that all the freshmen and students under the age of 21 HAVE to attend unless they wanna be fined legal tender for not worshiping our God. Because that's totally how He works and charging students money for not cooperating is totally a great way to represent Him. =D (Said with sarcasm, but that really is a rule here and you will get fined HONEST)

    Bang for the buck

    The only thing I'd regret going anywhere else is not meeting my friends here. (Honest)

    What to do for fun

    ...................................uuuuuuuhhh Netflix. Video games. Not hanging out in Keene .

    Food and Dining

    It's okay taste wise for veggie, but I've been healthier and lost 15 pounds since I stopped eating there and started eating meat again. enjoy it though because Keene has NO,Jack,ZERO, fresh produce and you'll have to go to Cleburne if you wish to obtain such items.

    Dorm Life

    The guy's dorm is pretty chill and relaxed. The girl's dorms are Strict and you might as well fill your pantie drawer with chastity belts . Honest.

    Academic Rigor

    It could always be worse.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in coming here: (1.)check it out and take a tour 1st. Don't just decide you wanna go here because your parents want you to go or because it's Christian. (2.)If you do decide to attend SWAU, try the 1st semester and then either stay in until the end or get out while you can. It'll save you allot of trouble in the long run. (3.) Have allot of money! (4.) have a vehicle or be a great people person because there is nothing in this town (including produce) (5.) if you don't have #'s 3 and 4, Have a family member that works for the Adventist board. one word DISCOUNT . AND LAST: Care about your education more than you think the teachers will... most of them are great, but there are some that couldn't give a deuce. his initials happen to be BM.

    In three sentences

    1.)The students and faculty are the school's most valuable feature. 2.) The school head(s) place their priorities for this University in almost all the wrong places. 3.) There isn't allot of Christian structure in what takes place here, but rather a need to show off, and catch new students into the cycle.