Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southwestern Assemblies of God University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is not for everyone. I do not believe there is one school that is right for everyone. This school will help you become more of a servant, and will challenge your ability to submit to authority.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any one looking at this school, come in with a positive attitude ready to take the bull by it's horns. College can be overwhelming to anyone. Let your peers and your professors help you, they want to.

    Bang for the buck

    Now, I do believe honesty is the best policy, and unfortunately I cannot give this area a five start rating. However, I do feel other ares make up for the lack of here. At times I have felt ripped off in certain areas. Let it be known, my experiences and friends at the school have completely made me forget about those times when I did feel ripped off. Life is not always going to be fair, and sometimes it is important to weigh out situations. I am willing to sacrifice money for experience. We can never have too many experiences in life that will take us from one to another.

    Am enjoying being here

    For those who prefer a small, easy access, know tons of people campus, this a great one for you, it is exactly that! Many students will ride bikes across campus, however, even that is not necessary. There are only three main buildings where classes are held, and if you are not involved with music, there are only two for you. We have a bookstore on campus with all sorts of supplies, goodies, decorations and SAGU clothing for all ages. Apart from textbooks, the book store provides reading books as well. The cafeteria has delicious food with seven different lines to chose from. They are building a new workout center that is said to have a swimming lap pool and new weight equipment, for all of those heath/exercise junkies. My school have fabulous hangouts such as the Student Center, where there is a game room with pool tables and arcade games. In the student center there is also a grill, called the Lions Den if you want a hardy burger. There is also an easy access mail center located in the Student Center, as well as study pods and a wide open area for fun games and hang out space.

    Am learning a lot

    SAGU is a place with marvelous educators. Because it is a small school, it allows for a more personal relationship with professors and also more one on one time with the professor weather it be for personal, academic, or simple small talk. Never have I felt diminished as a student or inadequate from a professor or my peer. At Southwestern Assemblies of God, it is not looked down upon to ask question, it is encouraged. This school is teaching me so much about my self, my learning style, my beliefs, the way I handle situations, and it is teaching me about others as well. This school providing me more than I expected!

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This University is great for students who believe in God the Father, Jesus Christ the Son, and the Holy Spirit. Also for those students who are seeking God's direction in what He wants for their lives and just want to encounter Him.

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage students to apply for as much scholarships possible and for grants. Loans will always have to be paid in return. I encourage students to talk with the University advisor to make sure that is all that they are looking for.

    Bang for the buck

    The University is expensive. However, there is student loans, grants, and financial aid for students. Along with school scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being on oncampus classes. I learn better on campus. People are friendly and helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    Southwestern Assemblies of God University is a great Christian Faith based University. I am majoring in Children and Family Ministries and I have learned so much in the past year from my professors and also have been involved in outreach opportunities that minister to children in the area. I live off campus as a graduate student, however I have been able to have on-campus classes in which I have met wonderful people in the classrooms and around the campus. The campus is located in Waxahachie, Texas which is a calm city where a student can live with the enough resources around them such as grocery stores, clothing stores, restaurants, and so much more. The university also has chapel weekly where students during the day go to hear a sermon and worship God. These chapel times have been a great spiritual experience outside the classroom in getting to know more about God. Campus days are also offered for students who are looking for colleges to come and spend a weekend and explore the campus and classes. The University offers other professional studies along with church ministerial studies.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is so pretty and peaceful!

    Clubs and Activities

    Late-Night Worship Sports Ministries to the community English, History Student Government And More!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who believes in the work of the Holy Spirit and is looking to go into ministry should definitely consider this school.

    Food and Dining

    The student center has snacks you can purchase with your Munch Money and there are vending machines in the dorm. The new cafeteria is a bit crowded, but there is a good variety, about 5 different choices and a huge salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a bit crowded, but the good part is that it is like family, and there are dorm or hall devotions every week. There is an all-girls dorm. The others are split--girls on one side, guys on the other. No one of the opposite sex is allowed in your room, but lobbies are open for visitation. Every residence hall even has its own dorm pastor!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are at a good pace and grounded in the Bible. The professors aren't there to force their own opinions on you; they are there to help you grow in your field, and most importantly, your relationship with God.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage prospective students to begin looking for scholoarships early. Also, be preparing to sacrifice anything that God may ask you to turn over for His sake. Know that just because a college is Christian doesn't mean that everyone there is saved. Don't be afraid to share your testimony, whether it is how you accepted Christ, or what the Spirit is doing in you life now. Make sure to follow the example of the Bereans and measure everything against Scripture.

    In three sentences

    SAGU is wonderful because the Spirit of God shines on this campus. Ministry and Spiritual growth are priorities. The love of Christ holds the student body and faculty together.

  • 04/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SAGU, like i said above, is great for those who are called into the ministry or just seeking God's direction for their life. The Christian atmosphere is amazing. The professors here are very experienced and great communicators. They have a lot of wisdom.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think SAGU is a great school if your seeking God's direction for your life and/or plan on being in the ministry. If you don't feel called to ministry and just want a general education, then I would not suggest coming here.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe the experience you get here is incredible, but I do think personally that the price is kind of steep. The food at the cafe isn't the greatest and the dorms are decent, except for bridges and teeter of course because those two are new.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here and I believe it is like a family here. The wellness center helps me enjoy being here also. I spend lots of time there.

    Am learning a lot

    I can definitely say that I am learning a lot. Even from the time I got here until now at the end of my first year, I definitely think there is a big difference. However, I don't think it's just a place to learn academically, but a place to learn general life lessons and to grow not just physically, but mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Waxahachie is the perfect distance from Dallas. It is close enough to go and have fun, but far enough to be away from the craziness.

    Tips for prospective students

    Finances is one of the reoccurring obstacles that students face, so I recommend, if you can, go to a community college to get the basics out of the way. If you do this, AND make sure that the classes transfer into the school you want to go to, it will save you a lot of money.

    In three sentences

    I love this University! The teachers are amazing, and truly show an interest in the students learning. I've transferred between three different Colleges/Universities, and this is definitely the best!

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Praise God, campus safety is improving and most of the officers are very nice and helpful!

    Greek Life

    None!

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Congress puts on most of the activities and there are sub groups within Congress. Some of which are Women of Ministry, Men of Integrity, History Society, Gold Jackets, music groups, education groups, and a support Isreal group.

    Great for these types of students

    Christians and anyone who wants to know GOD and be in HIS love and presence.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have TWIRP week (the woman is required to pay), homecoming traditions, friendship chapel, battle of the dorms, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    The atmosphere is like one big family where everyone is friends with someone and they are not afraid to pray for you. The president is awesome and follows God's will. He likes to hang with the students too.

    What to do for fun

    Prayer and Bible study! Campus groups, Student Congress, student events, media projects, sports, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has recently been remodeled and the food is healthier with omlets and salads, but you can also get fried chicken and pizza.

    Academic Rigor

    You will work hard in almost every class, but it is worth it and almost every teacher will help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pray and seek God's will first. Be prepared to have an ecounter like never before. Get involved within the first year and know that your teachers care about you and can provide assistance.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful Spiritual and academic atmosphere. The teachers care about you and will pray for you! Wonderful Spiritual and academic experiences with the degree plans as well.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Play sports and get involve in different ministries.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready, because God will do amazing things in thier lives.

    In three sentences

    It has helped me grown spiritually and my walk with God. I love the fact they have sports and I play soccer there. The education program is great as well.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at this school.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any Christian who moves with the Holy Spirit and is seeking to spiritually grow.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the prayer walk which people walk around to either pray or if you are dating it is said that if you walk around it 3 times, you will end up marrying the person.

    What to do for fun

    There's always some kind of ministry group going on to be involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is small and has different types of food. I didn't have a meal plan but the grill in the student center was okay.

    Dorm Life

    Every dorm is different. You just have to find the right one for you. There are some really nice ones that are up to date.

    Academic Rigor

    The school offers many bible classes so if you are going into a major with that area it is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are open to the idea of rules. This school has to fit your religion.

    In three sentences

    This school is a small campus that gives a very close family environment. Each person, class, and ministry involvement is great. This school is a very spiritually involved school.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always open and patrols the campus every day.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Most of the clubs and activities are outreach or involved with StuCo. So there aren't many interest-based groups. But there are plenty of ways to get involved!

    Great for these types of students

    Christians who want to make an impact in their world and improve their education through the many classes offered at SAGU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sneaking up to the Prayer Tower, Teeter Coffeehouse, Bridges Pancake Mondays and Music in the Courtyard, Kendrick and Savell block party, and many more!

    Bang for the buck

    You get a desk, mini fridge, and microwave in your room as part of tuition! And free laundry!

    What to do for fun

    Hm. In Waxachie? Get creative. Go to the park, hang out at the lake, go see a movie, drive over to Cedar Hill and go shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the food is downright nasty. Other times it's pretty good. It just depends. It won't be as good as a home-cooked meal, but it's all right. They give you healthy and non healthy options. There's even a vegetarian option.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Teeter, which is the best dorm! My floor is very open and friendly, and a lot of people from our dorm hang out together! We have Taco Tuesdays and dorm parties, which help everyone get together.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, and that can depend heavily on the professor that teaches the class. Overall, the classes push you academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go crazy your first semester. Be outgoing, hang out with people you like, don't ignore your classes, and have fun! Take responsibility for yourself and you'll be golden!

    In three sentences

    SAGU is a very small, close-knit campus, full of people who want to serve God the best that they can in their chosen profession. Most students are very friendly, and the professors take an interest in each student and their progress. The rules are strict, especially the dress code, but if you don't mind that, then you're good to go!

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SAGU has campus security that patrols 24/7 so you can feel safe and secure when you are on campus. There is even a security line available to call if you just need to be walked to your car or to your dorm when it is late.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At SAGU, one of the weird traditions that we have on campus has to do with the prayer walk at the very front of the campus. There's kind of a legend that if you walk around the prayer walk 3 times while holding hands with someone, then you will marry that person. It's a goofy tradition but its funny and its fun to pick on the couples that go walking around it.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as money goes, I think that you definitely get your money's worth out of Southwestern. The Christian based education and environment that they offer is priceless in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    When it comes to having fun, most SAGU students like to go to downtown Waxahachie where they have all the old timey restaurants and shops, and some even go to Lake Waxahachie to have fun. There are many hot spots fairly close to Waxahachie such as The Galleria Mall, The Dallas Zoo, and The Dallas Aquarium. Chances are as long as you have some of your Southwestern buddies, you are sure to have a great time.

    Food and Dining

    In all honesty, the dining facilities at SAGU have improved a lot in the past year. They remodeled the whole cafeteria. With that said, there is still room to improve the actual food. Sometimes it can be really yummy, but other times you really wish you had some home cookin'.

    Dorm Life

    The Southwestern campus is always vibrant and thriving. Student Congress always has fun events planned for the student body and there are always basketball, baseball, or football games to go to. There are also nights of worship in the Full Life Center along with Revival Prayer. The students are great and it feels like you just have a big family away from home. Even some of the professors get involved in the fun events and campus life. Dorm life is always fun. Each dorm kind of does there own thing and plans there own events just to bond as residents. There's one event that everyone always looks forward to and it is called Battle of the Dorms. Everyone goes all out to compete in games and competitions to see which dorm will be the champs. I highly recommend Southwestern cause it always keeps you involved.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic level at SAGU is held to a high standard. The faculty and staff truly want us to be successful in everything that we do, so they set the bar high. If your grades start slipping you get put on academic probation and are required to take tutoring in the student center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Southwestern is quite expensive so one tip that I would give to prospective students is to apply for as many scholarships as you can. Also, if you decide to go to SAGU get involved in the ministry teams because you will not regret it.

    In three sentences

    I give Southwestern a 10 out of 10. SAGU is an amazing school where you can really connect with other students and grow closer to God. The environment there is spectacular and from a student's standpoint, you can see that the professors truly care about you and want you to succeed.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great. Not once have I seen anyone on campus, or anything on campus seem dangerous

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Great amount of clubs to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    People looking to be in any form of ministry. Whether that is on staff at a church, overseas, or in a cubicle somewhere. It is for students looking to serve God in any vocation

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little over priced, but i wouldn't want to pay for any other college.

    What to do for fun

    The great thing about Waxahachie, TX is that it is very close to dallas, arlington, and fort worth. If you can't find something fun to do your not looking hard enough

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a great place to grab a bite. It really helps you save on money, and still get a great meal. We also have an on-campus grill where you can get burgers, salads, and smoothies. It is so convenient

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Southwestern create an authentic atmosphere of community. They instill a family like atmosphere, and create friendships to last a lifetime

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is a great part of Southwestern. It is taken very seriously, but taught with the utmost love. It is truly something that draws you in and keeps you

    Tips for prospective students

    Take every opportunity to get involved. Make friends, get connected with professors, and get involved with local churches. Also stay on top of your studies

    In three sentences

    A great college to learn to mold your giftings. It is a place with community is active, learning is fun, and God is present. I recommend it to all people wanting to be in any form of ministry

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was alright. I don't remember much about what I ate while I was there, so I can't speak much about it.

    Dorm Life

    I only visited Bridges, one of the newest halls, but I enjoyed it. It seems very comfortable and family-like with everyone being right there together. Some dorms are co-ed (split on each side of the building; girls have a wing and guys have a wing on each floor) and then there is an all girls dorm. Some dorms have community bathrooms, while others have a joint bathroom between suits, and one has a private bath.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been taking Dual Credit classes online through this school, and from the classes I have taken, I would say that they are challenging, but not impossible to excel in. It's all about hard work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit for Campus Days! You get to stay in a dorm, attend two classes for free, go to a chapel service, and experience what campus life is like, as well as getting to meet your prospective friends and professors before you are enrolled!

    In three sentences

    From the time I have spent visiting campus at Campus Days, I loved it! There is definitely a sense of community and worship that fills the campus. I can't wait to attend!

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I Love SAGU!!! Walking onto the campus, it's like home to me. I feel so welcome and accepted. The atmosphere, in every part of the campus is so peaceful. The chapel services are Incredible and everyone seems so genuine. The classes were so awesome, too! I loved sitting in on a class where not only was the professor Christian, but every aspect of the class revolved around Christ, but they taught you how to apply it to your life. I greatly enjoyed visiting Southwestern, and hope to attend there soon!

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go watch the sports teams and support the lions!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep on top of your admissions process. Once you have all of your documents for admissions get in contact with your academic scheduler. This is an awsome feature that most schools do not have.

    In three sentences

    This has been the best college expierence I have had so far. The application process was tedious but well worth it. The Distance Education program is very indepth and perfect for the students that are in need of a non traditional education option.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security team is active and always there to help. Never once have I felt afraid or scared on campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of organizations on campus that are good for people of all interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who care about education and desire to be in a place where they can grow as people and make life long relationships.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have TWIRP week where the girls ask out the guys.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for and so much more.

    What to do for fun

    Being in the Dallas area their are plenty of unique places to go along with malls, movie theaters, sporting events and concerts. And being in Texas you can always find great country things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually very good. Plenty of variety and the menu is always changing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be quiet at times but the RA's are awesome and the dorms are gorgeous.

    Academic Rigor

    They put a high value on academics and help you accomplish those goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Teachers and faculty will always work with you to help you succeed. Life on campus is fun and you will learn so much more than just out of books.

    In three sentences

    I have never been to a place where teachers and professors care so much about a students grade and well being. The campus is beautiful and lively. This is a great place to receive an education and become a better person.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has not had any dangerous incidents occur in the years and provided many services of security for both males and females.

    Clubs and Activities

    SAGU is alive through its clubs and activities. they make us a big amount of the activities that one could do for fun. They are very social and always welcome new members into their clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The SAGU campus provides the Prayer Walk which runs around the entirety of the campus. The campus tradition here is if you walk around the Prayer Walk three times with your loved one, you have a guaranteed wedding in the future!

    Food and Dining

    The food and meal plans that are provided her are a splendid. The cafeteria has a good set up with different good meals everyday, as well as a coffee shop where student are eligible for meal exchange and extra money that could be provided in the meal plan. Well worth the money.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms wherever you go are well kept and maintained and the social life of the dorms themselves are alive and keep healthy relationships. There isn't anywhere that you could possibly feel unwelcome.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here care about their students; they care about whether the material is being understood and maintain the proper balance of transitioning from a high school student to a college student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your dorm: some people really do want to get to know you! Don't be shy to burst your bubble, be open and warm. Also, it helps to know where everything is in the campus beforehand. Don't be caught the day of classes not knowing where anything is!

    In three sentences

    The rating I give this university is a solid 5 star. The quality and attention that is given to you here is so much more than expected and the environment is peaceful and loving. This campus is an amazing place that can really give you what you're looking for.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For a private university it is cheap!

    What to do for fun

    Besides campus activities SAGU is located just south of Dallas/Fort Worth which has MANY things for students to do. As long as students don't lock themselves in their room there is no reason for them to not have fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are days when the cafeteria is amazing and other days when you just have to go somewhere else. They have a wide variety of items available to students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms (though some are in need of a little maintenance here and there) are great! All rooms come equipped with the same furnishings. They have great dorm pastors and bring in quality RAs.

    Academic Rigor

    I only gave 4 stars do to the fact that some professors (very very few) are there for a paycheck (so it seems). But other than a few bad apples SAGU is a great academic institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to not over pack (especially out of state students). SAGU has a lot to offer, including trips and events. Be sure to take Hayes and Daugherty classes.

    In three sentences

    The professors are amazing and always willing to help out students. The campus is located in a great neighborhood and the community is very welcoming to the students here. Activities and events are always happening on and off campus allowing students to connect with many people.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security patrol here is magnificent! Because SAGU is an open campus, hundreds of cameras have been installed around campus to ensure the safety of all persons on campus. The security guards are so precise in their work that the license plate numbers of each student and faculty member are known, and each vehicle entering and leaving the campus is strictly monitored.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a plethora of opportunities and clubs with which to get involved! There are organizations that are relative to your major, sports interests, and even outside activities. Plus, one can always find a sponsor to start his own organization, if a current one does not appeal to his interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There a little saying the students here at SAGU like to throw around at the beginning of each school year: Get a Ring by Spring! Because majority of the students here on campus are adults, finding a life-long partner is a great priority for them. Of course, being married or having a ring by spring is a little dramatic, but it has happened and is not uncommon on our campus!

    Bang for the buck

    There are some wonderful thrift stores nearby for those eager bargainers! A colleague of mine bought couch for his dorm for $6! Not the most sanitary option, but it was well worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    Luckily, Waxahachie has its very own Walmart! There is a movie theatre about 3 minutes from the SAGU campus and there is also a small shopping center about 2 minutes away. The more extravagant shopping centers and sources of entertainment are in Dallas, about 45 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of foods to choose from. Compared to high school cafeteria food, the cafe here at SAGU is commendable! The great thing about the city of Waxahachie is that your favorite restaurant is most likely just around the corner, in case you have a taste for something different.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is EXCELLENT! The newer dorms, Bridges and Teeter, are pricier, but very nice. However, no matter what residence hall is chosen, the Resident Assistants and Dorm Pastors are incredibly inviting and apt to make you feel at home!

    Academic Rigor

    SAGU's academic programs are not the greatest, but they are not the worst!! Academic rigor truly depends on your studying habits and your ability to balance work with play. Fifteen credit hours might be a burden for some, but a breeze for others!

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose the smallest meal plan to save money! I thought I was going to eat a lot of food, but after 3-4 classes, a Hot Pocket does just fine. Get a small meal plan and stack up on Ramen noodles for your dorm!

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Assemblies of God University is an Assemblies of God university where the students are striving to live a life in full display of God's love for mankind. The campus is small, but beautiful, and is currently being expanded. There is no better place to gain knowledge in both spiritual and academic fields.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is on frequent patrols through out the day and night.

    Greek Life

    Non Existant but dorm communities are so good Greek life isn't needed

    Great for these types of students

    Religious, Artistic, Musicians, Scholars, anyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ring By Spring- Everyone wants to get married haha!

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of the life lessons you're gaining are worth every penny

    What to do for fun

    There's always something to do whether its playing ultimate frisbee or talking to new friends in the lions den. SAGU has something for everyone

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is better than most but still a cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    Community is encouraged!

    Academic Rigor

    SAGU expects excellence in all you do because it not only blesses you it is also a for of worship unto the lord!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay teachable, you're learning from some of the most qualified professors who only want to see you succeed. Waisting your time by turning class into just a grade will only hurt you in the long run Manage your time responsibly. This goes both ways homework is very important but can become stressful taking time off to not think about work will do wonders. Meet as many people as possible. Life long friendships are worth swallowing your shyness for a few moments.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Assemblies of God University is a perfect school for students looking for a quality degree and a positive environment. It's emphasis on spiritual growth as well as educational make it nearly impossible to walk away with out becoming a better person. I would recommend Southwestern to anyone looking for a new place to call home.

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is excellent. They are trained and certified for the job. Security is on campus 24/7/365!

    Bang for the buck

    Southwestern is an amazing school! It is pricy, but totally worth it!!!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of clubs, intramural teams, and organizations for students to plug into! If you have a desire, there is a place for you!

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better, but I have definitely had worse. Overall, it isn't that bad.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing! The people are like family! You will make long-lasting relationships!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are willing to work with you and help you make a good grade. There are on campus tutors that will help you in any area you may struggle in!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, pick the schedule you desire and and make the best out of the college experience!

    In three sentences

    Southwestern is a wonderful place to attend school! If you are looking for a great Christian college, you have found the place! Don't let the price keep you from coming. The Lord will provide!

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    TWIRP week (The Woman Is Required to Pay)

    What to do for fun

    There are constant activities at SAGU. We have battle of the dorms every year and every dorm has a special event night every month. The only way not to have fun is to not get involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't even hesitate if you feel the calling on your heart to attend. God will provide a way as he did for me. Just pray and trust his call on your life.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Assemblies of God University is by far an eleven out of ten school. The atmosphere is unlike any other college because of the small community feel. I have grown in faith, learned so much, and made so many friends just in this first semester. I am looking forward to the next semesters to come.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not present at SAGU

    Clubs and Activities

    There's tons of opportunities with local ministries and various other outlets.

    Great for these types of students

    Highly motivated, devout Christians who are ready to make an impact in their world. A lot of schools prepare and equip you to go out into the world, but Southwestern equips you to change the world!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    3rd Floor Teeter is an unusual location =)

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school, and you pay for it. The education and experience you get here is well worth the price

    What to do for fun

    Most of the fun at Southwestern is had on campus, Waxahachie is a small town (30 min away from Dallas) but there is always something going on here, basketball games are the best! Southwestern really is a special place.

    Dorm Life

    This is the best aspect of Southwestern

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough but professors are willing to bend over backwards to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Southwestern isn't an easy school to attend, there is plenty of rules to abide by, be sure that you are ready to commit to the SAGU lifestyle before coming here.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern is better than I envisioned it being. I love the professors here and the staff and administration is incredible. SAGU is the best decision I have ever made!

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always alert! Tickets are on widows every morning.

    Clubs and Activities

    From personal clubs to missions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Guynes Grilled Cheese nights.

    Bang for the buck

    SAGU is AMAZING.

    What to do for fun

    Residential life has something for students to do every weekend. They also have tons of clubs and activities during the week.

    Food and Dining

    On Campus there is the cafeteria and Lions Den. The cafeteria isn't horrible and isn't the best, but it's a place where you make tons of new friends and enjoy a break from studying. The Lions Den is a fun place where you can grab something to drink or have a meal with you man...very yummy.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a very big part of SAGU! Dorms are always active in decorating and competing for different titles. You defiantly don't want to miss dorm life!

    Academic Rigor

    Very intense on studying. I'm an education major and everything is done with excellence. Very Intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself for a ton of fun! Buy your books from Amazon. & make your college experience what you want it to be.

    In three sentences

    I Love Southwestern Assemblies of God University. If you're looking for a college where the staff treats you like family, fellow students pray for you in high and low times, and the friends you will make last a life time.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SAGU offers an incredible team of round the clock campus security who serve and protect our students with great caution and care. Personally, I have never felt uncomfortable, unsafe, or alone because the security team makes their presence constantly known to any threats. The individuals of the SAGU security team are filled with strong character and a knowledge of safety that they frequently use in order to make the students of SAGU feel completely safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many ways an individual is able to get involved at SAGU. From filming short films, acting in a play, singing in choir, playing in the jazz band, to helping the homeless, volunteering in the community, and teaching a younger generation, SAGU offers countless opportunities for a student to get involved with either a desired area or their major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Once a year SAGU celebrates a strange and hilarious tradition called TWIRP dates (The Woman Is Required To Pay). In this week-long tradition, a girl secretly peruses a boy, leaving clues all over campus, wherein the boy must comply in the hilarious challenges and dares given directly to him. After the boy has been properly tortured with silly obstacles, the girl reveals herself and takes the boy on a nice date, paying for the entire event.

    Bang for the buck

    You defiantly get your money's worth when attending SAGU. With the best academic curriculum and staff, a beautiful campus, and friendly atmosphere, a student would without-question enjoy every experience the school has to offer.

    What to do for fun

    In a small town, one might think there is nothing do, however, that is a widely mistaken though. SAGU not only has a wonderful campus, complete with a fully-loaded gym, campus activities and a beautiful park, but there are also many areas to visit where shopping, horseback riding, paintballing, city-cruising, drive-in movie theater, and so much more are available near by (and usually with a college discount too).

    Food and Dining

    SAGU has revamped their entire cafeteria where fresh fruits and vegetables are served deliciously everyday. Countless options are available for any hungry student's pallet in a buffet style to fill the stomach full. Also, the kitchen staff are a blast of fun to mingle with and see everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has always had a label of special experience on any college campus, but SAGU dorm life tends to be one of the most enjoyable experiences. With RA's who actually care about their hall, to nicely kept dorm rooms, SAGU dorm life is one of the most exciting moments of a student's life. I love living in the dorms because your roommates aren't just your friends, but a close sibling that you can totally rely on.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, SAGU is one of the most challenging and yet enjoyable learning environments a student could ask for. The atmosphere of the teachers is in a setting of small classes where they work with you. wanting to see their students achieve their full potential. I have never worked so hard, but felt so good about how far I have grown, looking back at the semester before.

    Tips for prospective students

    To all the students looking at SAGU as a prospective school, I would totally encourage you to go! SAGU offers so many opportunities to get involved with the school and the community! And the best part is, you will always find students and staff who genuinely care about the individual and not another passing paycheck.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Assemblies of God University (SAGU) is such an amazing, life-changing school! In a nutshell, SAGU is built not only on good morals and strong character in an individuals life, but an excellence to strive for the best in a students academic career. From the friendly small-town nature, welcoming campus life, to the encouraging staff and faculty, SAGU is sure to make any student feel part of the family.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone that is Christian, loves God, has a heart for mission trips, wants to be involved in ministry, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    TWIRP week is also known as The Woman Is Required to Pay. If you're a girl and you want to go on a date with a guy that you've had your eye on, you put up a poster with their name on it and they will (usually) accept. After the poster is up, every day the girl leaves a clue for him about who it is that TWIRPed him OR makes him do something ridiculous. At the end of the week the girl finally reveals herself and takes the guy on a date, and, yes, she pays for it. It happens once a semester and is a HUGE deal! Not to mention, the posters are up for everyone to see and sometimes the guys have to dress up in strange costumes or wear silly things.

    Food and Dining

    Currently, there are two dining options on campus: the caf, and the grille. There are a lot of options daily for what you want to eat and it is really nice, especially when you have to eat there every day! The grille also serves Starbucks and really good smoothies. Fall 2013 there will be an Einstein Bagels available in the new state of the art communications building!

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Bridges dorm my first semester and it was very clean and very nice, much like a hotel room. My second semester, however, I moved to Kendrick dorm, the all girls dorm, and I loved it A LOT more. It had a very homey feel to it. Depending on what you like, there is a dorm for you.

    Academic Rigor

    The bible classes require a lot more studying than some of the basics, which seems a little off. However, if you are trying to learn more about the Bible this is definitely the place to gain that knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to go to the professors for help or any questions. They are GREAT at making sure you get the grade that you earn.

    In three sentences

    They provide a lot of financial help. The people that attend are overall very kind. The professors really do care about how you are doing in the classroom.

  • 03/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security team is great!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Stundent congress and Missions Association are great and very inclusive

    Great for these types of students

    Out going and seeking a stronger relationship with God.

    Bang for the buck

    It costs quite a bit but I wouldn't trade it for the world. What you learn and experience is priceless.

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theatre down the road. Only about 20 minutes from Dallas. Several campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is mediocre but the great staff makes it worth it.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm pastors and RAs are the best! Great living environment. Always a family community.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors make sure you learn but help a ton through the process!

    Tips for prospective students

    Really look into financial aid and work hard for scholarships. Come expecting your life to change.

    In three sentences

    There is always a great environment. The professors are always encouraging and pour their knowledge into you life in every aspect. I have made the best friends of my life here.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since Dallas is only about 30 minutes away from campus, you can always go there. There's also a movies theatre with a great student discount and a bowling alley in town.

    Food and Dining

    The food at SAGU is okay. It's not the best but not the worst either. Having to eat the same stuff all the time just gets annoying after a while.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is different with every dorm. It seems like each dorm has a certain kind of people group in each one so make sure you check out your dorm before moving in.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at SAGU are challenging but not impossible. Although the some courses are tough, the professors are more than happy to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a school that is going to help you grow academically and spiritually then this school is perfect.

    In three sentences

    SAGU is a great school with so many opportunities to get involved. The professors are super helpful and want to see you succeed. Also, it seems like everyone cares about you and your growth.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to get out there and experience life and culture as well as beautiful weather.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Southwestern Assembly of God offers battle of the dorms. If explained it won't make sense. When experienced it is second nature.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the more inexpensive private schools you can find.

    Tips for prospective students

    You would miss out on the full Southwestern experience if you didn't jump in head first without any timidity in all they have to offer. Take chances, run from procrastination and make new friends everyday!

    In three sentences

    Southwestern is humming with a contagious atmosphere of community and family life. Its God fearing campus has made for a wonderful experience on any given time. While at Southwestern I learned tools that would not only get me passed the class but through many other areas where life skills need be applied.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great education for a reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things that you can do to have fun on SAGU campus, just keep up with their activity calander and you can find several things that you might like.

    Food and Dining

    Have not experienced this.

    Dorm Life

    As I am not an on campus student I can not truly review this, but I have heard from friends that their dorm life is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you keep in touch with your advisor, they are there to help you and really can make your enrollment easy.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Assemblies of God University is a great christian university that gives students a chance to really find out what they want to become. SAGU helps each student leave their mark on the world and trains them up in the direction that they desire. SAGU is great with communicating to their students and understand that it is hard to pay for college on your own, so they give a large amount of financial aid opportunities.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It is close to Dallas, Cedar Hill, and Forth Worth. Also, in Waxahachie has the old town Waxahachie with historical sites and little shops to visit.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is all you can eat has a variety and a grill that you can use a meal replacement for it.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm is set up differently but most are tight fitting but if you know how to organize you can make it work.

    Academic Rigor

    At least one essay per course and the course are each challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set aside time to study. Plan ahead for classes. Be ready to learn the different formats of writing.

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere and community. Provides a safe environment to learn. The teachers are personable and are all extremely knowledgeable in each of their given field.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have the best security officers on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mission TEN offers students to travel the world and help people learn more about Jesus. There are clubs/organizations for everything. Alot of ministries like homeless, muslim outreach, homosexual outreach, childrens outreach, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Individuals pursuing to go into ministry, music, and business. SAGU offeres a wide variety of options to help you further in your career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They say if you walk around the prayer walk three times hand in hand with someone, you are bound to get married. :)

    Bang for the buck

    Even though it is a little expensive, the quality of information you receive is incredible. You get to meet great leaders and learn from them. I really enjoy meeting leaders who have made a huge impact on the world.

    What to do for fun

    Dallas metroplex is only 45mins away. There is the local theatere and we get tickets for only $6!!! We have a huge outdoor mall 30mins away. However, Dallas is so big i could go on forever of all the activities.

    Food and Dining

    College food is college food. Nothing spectactular. By day 7 you are ready to go to the local Chic-Fila to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms! People are very friendly! Love the drom life. I enojy it and it is what keeps me here

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Plan ahead 2. Pray 3. Pursue

    In three sentences

    Very high in academics. Great atmosphere. Jesus is present on the campus

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Dallas and Fort Worth are not far at all! Head over there on the weekend with friends and find so many things to do.

    Food and Dining

    What is nice about the cafeteria is you don't have to cook! It is there ready for you. Not to mention waffles and ice cream all day!

    Dorm Life

    My first time ever living in a dorm, I did not know what to expect. But it was great! Some of my dorm mates have become some of my best friends!

    Academic Rigor

    I have already learned so much in my first year. I really enjoy the Bible classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for every possible scholarship that you can! Save money for things to do when you get there! Get involved in on campus groups and ministries!

    In three sentences

    SAGU is an amazing Christ-centered school. The faculty and staff are like none other - they care about you, pray for you, and are there for you. The education is outstanding.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people wanting relationships with professors, for students who want to be surrounded by people who will encourage them, for a students seeking a safe environment, and students who want to see growth in their spiritual life!

    What to do for fun

    Go to Dallas, get the free game of Bowling from Fuzzy's Tacos or Discount Tires, go swim the lake, make the most of every moment, just watch movies with your friends, go out to eat, and make memories!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, even though it is a Christian school make sure you make time for Jesus, and meet new people, the more people you know the more fun your experience at SAGU is!

    In three sentences

    SAGU is a phenomenal place to learn, grow and become the person God has created us to be. It is a healthy environment where you are able to do life with the life long friends you meet. SAGU has many avenues to get involved!

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian students who wish to grow spiritually in prayer and studying of the Bible.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities! Plays, sport games (we're #2 in the nation in Basketball), Battle of the dorms, Coffee House, Open Dorms, Parties for every season, etc. Waxahachie is small, there's just a movie theater and restaurants, but we're 30 minutes from Dallas, a huge city with a lot to offer.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty good. It could be open more hours, but it's alright. We also have a snack grill with a Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are like family. There are hall or dorm devos every Monday.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are willing to work with you if you try your best.

    In three sentences

    The greatest school if you wish to grow spiritually, and mature as a person and as a student. It's also fun. The location is great as well!

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    DE students must take a GES course called Strategies for Successful Students. IT HELPS!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Private education at reasonable rates as opposed to other private colleges. Nice add-on for Christian school.

    Dorm Life

    NA I am a Distance Education student.

    Academic Rigor

    University level courses even online. Professors are fair but very good at stretching your knowledge and ability.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study how to be an online student before you do DE at SAGU it will help. Find a way to learn how to manage your time and stick to it. If you fall behind your work load will double and it will show in your grades.

    In three sentences

    Absolutely professional college. Courteous and sympathetic to the working class person who wishes to further their education. Knowledgeable staff who go the extra mile to help you.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several theaters near Waxahachie and many different eating venues. We're 20 minutes south of downtown Dallas and about 40 minutes from Grapevine.

    Food and Dining

    Everyone loves the Lion's Den. The cafeteria is known better for it's culture of being a place for unity.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is honestly what you make it.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like any other place of education, you get out what you put in. You have to study and work to get the grade. Nothing in college is handed to you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pray about it. I can't say it enough. There will be rules and regulations that are a bit more strict than most universities. Keep in mind that this is a private Christian school. Everything that is cool at a public school may not be cool at SAGU.

    In three sentences

    I love SAGU. It's an awesome place to grow spiritually and academically. If you're meant to be there you will be there. Don't go unless you know it's where you need to be.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    in the den we have the pool tables and the ping pong table, there is also the lake which is about 5 minutes away from the school

    Food and Dining

    we have three different places to eat on campus the cafeteria, which is good but I would not eat there everyday, the den the food there is a lot better but you only have 3 meal substitutions per week then after that you have to use munch money, then Einstein's Brothers where the food is great but it is a little pricy..

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is awesome Guynes is the best Dorm by far it is truly a family like dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    never stay in savell hall a couple days before classes start take a walk around campus when in doubt just use the library for the bible software instead of paying 350 for it on your laptop if you do not freely have 350 to spend

    In three sentences

    Southwestern is a spirit filled school able to challenge you to place your mark. Southwestern is a family like environment it is truly a home away from home. Southwestern students are the most amazing people you will ever meet

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life at sagu.

    Great for these types of students

    All students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Prayer Walk it is said that if you walk around it three times with a significant other that you will get engaged. Ring by Spring.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go shopping, go to the movies, join a club at school, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you feel you are called to this school, set up a time to come and visit or come to campus days! Just sign up for campus days on the Sagu website @ sagu.edu.

    In three sentences

    SAGU is a school where the professors interact, talk to, and invest in their students. SAGU is a university that strives for excellence in every avenue it embarks on. SAGU is a university where the student will be challenged spiritually as well as academically.

  • 04/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Good amount of on campus security officers. 24/7 365 security!

    Bang for the buck

    Each class is definitely worth the money. You learn so much and leave wanting more.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities going on all the time. Sporting events and plays. Dorm life fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright, its college.

    Dorm Life

    New dorms that are clean and modern. Each room comes with fridge, microwave, and shared bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Great classes that are challenging and thought provoking. You definitely get your money's worth at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared for a great Christian college experience.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school that has stayed dedicated to its bible based beliefs. I have only great things to say about this university and i love it here! I am so glad to be apart of this great school that teaches students how to be prepared for life.

  • 05/08/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you want the University feel but yet a closer classroom feels this would be the university to attend. If you want to strength you relationship with God while living a college life, this would be the place to be.

    In three sentences

    It's a really nice University. Professors and student were very friendly and it looks as if I am really going to enjoy my years at Southwestern. I believe my relationship with God will continue to grow at this University.

  • 06/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is great and always around. The lighting is decent for when you're walking the campus at night, and the people in and around the school are very trust worthy and always look out for each other.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any.

    Clubs and Activities

    SAGU has so much to offer and the leaders of the clubs are always so welcoming.

    Great for these types of students

    SAGU is great for those who want to get the best education possible while growing in their relationship with Christ.

    Bang for the buck

    SAGU is an expensive school, but it's worth every penny. You get a great education, create great memories, and make friends that will last a lifetime.

    What to do for fun

    With Dallas only 15 miles away, there's plenty for us students to do. If you don't want to go to Dallas, there's parks, lake and other outdoorsy things nearby. SAGU offers many clubs, organizations and events throughout the year as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great at first, but just like any college, it gets old after awhile. The price of the mandatory meal plans are a little high for what you get, but they do have some good food to offer.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so great at SAGU. The atmosphere is so loving, and fun. There's always something to do and you're constantly making friends with others in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here can be challenging, but the professors are always there to help and they have a great tutoring center available. The difficulty level of the academics is enough for you to keep up AND leave the class knowing way more than when you walked in. The things you learn at SAGU not only make it to the test, but in the outside world, way after the tests are over.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to talk to your professors, advisers and other faculty members. They are willing to help you grow in every way possible and will do just that if you let them.

    In three sentences

    In three sentences, I would give SAGU an A. They are an all around amazing university. They truly love every single student on and off campus. The education they provide is not only effective, but priceless.

  • 07/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    'Tis very safe. We have our own police officers, and the security station is open 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    Really artsy people would fit in here perfectly; we have mathematics for you nerds (jk I am one also), criminal justice, and a killer master's program (literally, it will kill you).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ring before Spring. Third time's the charm around the prayer walk. #IamSecond #Topshelf #Teetercoffeehouse

    What to do for fun

    Anything, really! Long board, swim, play basketball, volleyball in the sand courts, play music, watch a theatre production, edit film, hang with friends, binge watch Doctor Who, hang out in downtown Waxahachie, whatever you like to do! ;)

    Food and Dining

    The caf food is...eh. Pretty good, considering. We have the den, which serves unhealthy, fattening, but ridiculously tasty food, and the Einstein's is pretty much the best place to eat on campus. Save your munch money!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are awesome; I kind of Teeter from Bridges.... ;) And Guynes is a party dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of these Digital Media classes I am taking are tough! I made my first B in 5 years in one of those classes; it definitely pushes you!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like a small school, this is it. If you love the Holy Spirit, this is it. If you are hipster, nerdy, funny, or anything else, this is it. If you love missions, this is it.

    In three sentences

    SAGU is an amazing, innovative university; there is so much potential in that small little school! We have an amazing music program and the digital media arts program has just exploded! We just filmed our first feature length film in 2014, and it's going to be awesome!