Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Southwestern College (SWC) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are active, hard workers, innovators, willing and ready to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to participate in some of the campus activities but know when to say no... because you can easily overwhelm your-self.

  • 11/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who is willing to put themselves out there and meet people is going to do well here. When you start hiding yourself, you begin to see this school in a negative view because of how small it is.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoy a small town atmosphere, and enjoy being in a good local setting, then Southwestern College is your school to come to. You can have everything you want, with just a few hours of socializing, you will find yourself being in the middle of everything at this school.

    Bang for the buck

    The education you get at this school is affordable and well worth it. The teachers and professors here help with all questions and issues that you may have with a class. All you have to do is show up at the door and you can get help with anything you desire.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like being in Winfield, KS, this schools location is in a small town that allows you to be in several areas. Being about 30 minutes from Wichita, KS, you have the ability to do several things. The people here in this town are warming and welcoming to all students who apply or ultimately attend Southwestern College.

    Am learning a lot

    This school has several faculty members who are here for the soul purpose of helping your get your desired degree. My favorite thing about these staff members is that even if one person can't help you, then you always have another staff member to help you out.

  • 08/27/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 13 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Get a Job.

    Will enjoy being here

    I would enloy being there.

    Will learn a lot

    I hope i do learn a lot.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We never had any issues!

    Greek Life

    We were the first group of Deltas on campus. We had to travel to Wochita to pledge.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have more to offer now.

    Great for these types of students

    Well discipline students that can handle not having parents on their back. Ethnic students that don't mind being a for sure minority on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know if they still do it but we use to meet on the steps of the big gym to hang out and catch up. We also use to go Trick or Treat after all the little kids went in for the night. We played pick up flag football and softball in the field down from the little gym.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you must know what is happening on campus and make yourself become a part of it. Take advantage of all the movie nights, bowl night, and other wonderful activities take place on and off campus. Visit the interesting places within the city and join some clubs and organizations!

    Food and Dining

    The dining facility was awesome. The food is really good and I enjoyed being able to have a place to eat after hours. Some of the food was cooked to order and there were a variety to suit all desire. The snack bar was the first place that I had tried cheese fries and I am still eating them!

    Dorm Life

    There were activities offered during my tenure, but there should have been more. The dorms are filled with athletes and when teams are away competing it can get boring. The dorm life will be what you make it!

    Academic Rigor

    It is imperative that you stay on top of the assignments at SC. The professors are very professional and late/tardy work is not acceptable. Make sure you are mindful of your syllabus and don't get caught up in the party life like the upperclassmen, they have earned that!

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is to make sure you get involved with the activities that are offered. Don't take the education for granted because the faculty on that campus are excellent. Don't be afraid to mix and mingle with the other students because it makes the semesters pass much quicker.

    In three sentences

    SC is a great place to receive a quality education. The faculty is well equipped to educate the students and I liked the open door policy. The campus life was flourishing and the student bond is one you will never forget!

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A lot of the organizations host activities around campus, all year long. There is always something to do!

    Food and Dining

    For it to be cafeteria food, it isn't bad. There is always a variety to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The freshamn and senior dorms are the best! Although, the other ones are great, too. They all have something special about them.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a Biochemistry major, so I am probably biased to rigorous studies. The amount and difficulty of work depends on your major. Either way, you are guaranteed to be prepared for the world after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved!! Find something you like outside of your studies and go for it!

    In three sentences

    Southwestern College is small, historic, and involved. Everyone loves making Southwestern better; the students try to get involved in other organizations and activities. If they are not a member of an organization, they will support it to their best ability.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing really but bars

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your work. Remember you don't just get a grade, you have to earn it!

    In three sentences

    Southwestern College is a great college. It offers several opportunities for students to achieve their goals.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It appears to be a nice college the faculty that I visited with were real friendly and very helpful in making it one of my top school considerations.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is the school for the working/professional student.

    Bang for the buck

    The courses are a little expensive, but you get what you pay for here.

    What to do for fun

    I do a lot of hunting and fishing, but I am not located on campus. I am negotiating the online campus for my degree.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses require a decent amount of reading, and writing. Not to much, but definetely not to little. You get a good understanding of the information conveyed in the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a program that will work for you. Understand your requirements, and fullfil them. Contact a counselor as speak to them. They are a wealth of knowledge.

    In three sentences

    Outstanding educational experience. Course offered are a length, and offered at times that are most advantageous to the working/professional student. Counselors and teacher offer advice and mentorship that make this school worth attending.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Moundbuilding cermony.

    What to do for fun

    Southwestern College is always putting on some type of events. Movies nights, games, and holiday events.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern College in a great college. The college is located in a small town and a great location. The student-teacher ratio is very small, the teachers care about their students and they know they are a name not a number.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria was not bad at all, a better school caf than I am used too!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms were not too bad but I think I would live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    On my tour they explained how imperative classes and academics were at the school and I really liked that.

    In three sentences

    I loved the campus atmosphere. I adored the new Psychology professor, Dr. Carrie Lane. Coach Good, head softball coach, was awesome!

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had any problems. Like I said, it's a pretty quiet campus so nothing ever really happens.

    Greek Life

    There is one fraternity...and that's it. Oh, and a few honor fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Majority of people here are on a activity scholarship, like football or theatre, so those kind of activities will definitely take up any free time you might possibly have. There are a few other clubs like STUFU (Student Foundation...basically student activities council) and Pride Builders (GSA-Gay Straight Alliance type of club), so if you have time, just check some of those out as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious. Hardworking. Studious. Quiet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The moundbuilding ceremony is pretty much the highlight of the whole school year...everyone on campus paints a rock and throws it into this big pile that's located on campus. The pile itself has been there for years, so you're basically adding a bit of yourself to a part of history.

    Bang for the buck

    Southwestern is a private college, so it's EXTREMELY expensive. Just tuition alone is over 20,000 a year. That doesn't include books or dorm fees, etc... With most of my teachers I feel that I'm learning a lot, but it also makes me think that it's possible to take the same classes for a bit cheaper some where else.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really...most people (if they have the opportunity) go home or go to Wichita for the weekend. If you're over 21, there's a few bars to go to. But otherwise...you better join a club or get involved with something.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is decent most days. They always have a hot line, sandwich bar, salad bar, pizza, hamburgers and fries, and some days they will have a person that cooks stir fry and other things. The quality of the food is just okay. On the weekends, they don't have dinner. Just brunch 11:15-1:00, so it's a little annoying when you have to go out around town to get something to eat on the weekend.

    Dorm Life

    Lots of buildings to choose from. The upperclassman apartments and newer freshman female dorm is really nice, but all the others are kind of small and old. I live by myself in Broadhurst because it's one of the smallest, cheapest dorms on campus. But my RA's are SUPER nice and do whatever they can to help out and make sure everything is taken care of.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors make sure you do what's expected of you. You have to do the work to get the grade you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off. Make sure you go to classes and do all your homework. If possible, get involved in at least one activity or club, because if you don't, you're going to be extremely bored.

    In three sentences

    Really quiet campus about 45 minutes away from Wichita. Beautiful campus. Lots of activities and clubs.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are the only moundbuilder in the country!

    What to do for fun

    There are parks! A lake! A big town with lots to do is not far at all!

    Food and Dining

    It is not the best but with our new management it is getting better.

    Dorm Life

    Clean dorms! Girls dorm is new; boys is nice as well. Small town but lots of people to meet!

    Academic Rigor

    It is definitely a challenge, but any private school is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to go up and make friends with your professors they are very willing to help in any way possible!

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus with a wonderful community. The professors, especially in the math and science department, have an open door policy and are always willing to help.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of active clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mound building ceremony.

    Bang for the buck

    Lot of scholarships available. Stress 4 year graduation.

    What to do for fun

    Soccer. Hang out with friends. Campus has a lot of events.

    Food and Dining

    Great food. Hours not always great.

    Dorm Life

    Nice dorms. Internet little slow.

    Academic Rigor

    Professor very involved. Small classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Not the big city. Semi-rural feel.

    In three sentences

    Great atmosphere. Medium size town with very supportive staff and community. Great learning atmosphere.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Winfield is a very safe place and don't have too many problems to worry about.

    Greek Life

    There is only one Fraternity on Campus Phi Delta Theta, it is a great place to join a make life long brotherhood with other men. It is small and has its ups and downs, but gives amazing opportunities to advance yourself. Unfortunately, there are not any Sororities anymore.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are 16+ official organizations and a few more uprising, they are great and give you something to do here. They can also give you a little experience for the future.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Buider camp: meet othr Fr. and some transfers and older people that help lead you through the experiance and give you some heads up of what is to come. Building of the mound the such an amazing experience. We put rock in a mound and as simple as it sounds it really means a lot when you do it.

    Bang for the buck

    Private School Price Tag:$$$$$ - 36,000 - kind of higher than it really is. This is with the Max payments. Most people get around 11,000-15,000 a year in scholarships from the school. You get an education that you'll appreciate.

    What to do for fun

    There is a good amount of drinking that goes on at parties. And is some what of an older town. You can usually find something to do if you look, there is a theater close, bowling close, and clubs in Witchita.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there is The Cafe (cafeteria) and The Jinx (A little on campus store) the food in these places is good at best on some days. Off campus there are some great home grown places to eat and then the main fast-food chains and is always something open.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorms are decent. Girls(Cole) are a little better than guy(Wallingford), but a little more fun happens in Wally the guys dorm. The upperclass Dorm are a little rough, but are alright.

    Academic Rigor

    There are several degrees that seem to put a lot of time restrains on people, but it's fairly easy to go talk to a teacher and get help when you're struggling. They accept most other schools credits when transferring

    Tips for prospective students

    Freshmen Retention Rate around 65% 4 year graduation rate is around 40% Not a lot of things to do in town, but there are a few good things. (Bars, Restaurant, Fast-food, and parks)

    In three sentences

    Southwestern is a great school if you're coming from a small school and need a bit of 1-1 as you learn. It may say the size is 1400-1700, but it's around 500 Full-time undergraduate. Average of 150 freshmen per year. Most people are athlete, so everyone stays busy.

  • 04/24/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food was alright, I'm not really use to it. I did get to enjoy it as if I was at a fancy restaurant though, so I give props to that. At the end of the day, I was able to enjoy a nice view of the snow and laugh with my future classmates.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't moved in yet, but based on what I've been told, I heard that it'll be very fun and exciting. I heard that move in day is a day that'll be full of trips. I will reveal more details on how dorm life is at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    My professor gave me tips on how to better myself in my performance which helped me achieve pure satisfaction. I was proud of how well I did, I thought I was going to struggle and surprisingly, I didn't. My acting even helped me achieve a scholarship that I didn't even dream of getting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take this journey that I am about to take and use it to benefit yourself. Use it to your advantage to reach your goals, make it into something better than it already is. Live and learn from this, become the person you see yourself as in your vision.

    In three sentences

    The school makes me feel like I'm at home and treated me like if I was part of a family instead of just another student. The professors were very nice and generous in helping me understand some objectives that I was not able to comprehend myself. Exploring the school felt like a field trip, the inside of the school brought a smile to my face, I'm very eager and excited to start attending.