Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southwestern Community College - North Carolina Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for local students who like environments where they are free to receive one on one help with their teachers, get a good education and save some money by attending a quality school for a bargain.

    Tips for prospective students

    First off, come in ready to work. Though you may be under the impression that school will be easy since it is not a four year university, you will have a good amount of work to do. It is challenging but most defiantly rewarding. If you are planning transferring with an Associate of Arts major, I would recommend you take at least thirteen to fifteen hours each semester so that at the end of your second year your not having to load up on extra hours and possibly over work your self.

    Bang for the buck

    This is where Southwestern Community College excels the most. This school is very affordable, with in-state tuition being about $50 per credit hour. The books are on the expensive side, but this is the case with any school you go to. Once you have 16 credit hours you are no longer charged for extra hours, so if you have the time to take a bigger load of classes your saving yourself a substantial amount of money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Southwestern Community College a lot. With the big age difference in students there, you can always find plenty of new and interesting people to talk to. There are only a few buildings which are located close to each other, so it is easy to find your way around if your new to the school. It is an overall good environment and most of the teachers do a great job in both teaching you the material as well as providing a good, qualitative learning area.

    Am learning a lot

    Going to Southwestern Community College has increased my knowledge on a lot of things. Although many people tend to write off community colleges as being a tier below a four year university, this school really does a good job in teaching you your needed curriculum. Since the class sizes usually tend to be below thirty people per class, teachers are always willing and able to spend one on one time with you and help you if your having trouble with something. There is a learning assistance center which has people who specialize in certain areas of work, so they provide all the help you can ask for. I can honestly say that even though I was an honors student in high school, I learned more in my first year of Southwestern Community College than I did all of my high school.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have activities sometimes outdoors and others in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    No food dining on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a great college for people who are starting off or want to get back into the swing of things.

    In three sentences

    They are helpful in any subject and area. The campus is beautiful and clean. Easy to find classes and where to go.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the safety is really good here.

    Greek Life

    i don't know about this either.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have many organizations to choose from

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have native american dancers the visit the campus sometimes and you learn a little about their heritage.

    Bang for the buck

    Its worth the price because it has a bunch of pretty green trees in the spring time.

    What to do for fun

    play sports or work or even join one of the after school programs

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is average

    Dorm Life

    It doen't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    This school Academic Rigor is average i guess.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just stay positive and do your work.

    In three sentences

    .I would rate this school a 7. It is a lot of fun to go to this school. The classes are not to big. The teachers are very helpful.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a sheriff close by patrolling the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who don't mind doing homework and studying hard.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of great trout fishing around the surrounding areas.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of nearby places to eat. I recommend the Bone Shack.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time and make sure that you do not overdue yourself with too many classes in one semester.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Community College provides an excellent learning environment for the programs that I am taking. The classes are small which allows a more positive learning experience. The teachers are very knowledgeable at their subjects.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Southwestern Community College offers a very good education for an inexpensive tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Southwestern Community College has lot of programs and events that students can get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    The school doesn't have any places to eat on campus but it has many places to eat within a very short driving distance.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of this school is very good. I would give it a five out of five.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip I could give students is not to fall behind in a class. It is very hard to caught back up.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Community College is the first college that I have attended and I have to say Its a great college. The staff at Southwestern have been very helpful with all my needs. All the teachers seem to go out of their way to help the students.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is excellent fo someone just starting out in college or returning after a long time away.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is located just minutes away from Great Smoky Mountains National Park and Cherokee, NC. If you have a couple of days you can travel to Pigeon Forge and Dollywood or Splash Country water park or Gatlinburg, TN for shopping and fun, both only about 1 hour away.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't been to any of the food places on campus but locally there is a plethora of eateries from chains to local establishments. Anything you are craving you will be able to find in just a short drive.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so no on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started classes yet but the staff stays in constant communication with their students. The class sizes are small so you get very individualized attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Having a vehicle will be very beneficial as the area is fairly spread out and public transit is practically non-existent.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful and easy to find campus in one of the best areas of the country. The staff has been incredibly helpful to me, as a first time student, with everything from finding classes and financial aid. It is easy to see why they are ranked as one of the Top 10 community colleges in the US.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Do not want to go to school for a long time and want to get skills quickly to begin working.

    Bang for the buck

    Quick training for actual jobs.

    What to do for fun

    Outdoor opportunities abound in Sylva.

    Food and Dining

    None really available on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the bookstore early in the day to get your supplies.

    In three sentences

    The school has easy access. It is inexpensive. The campus is small and easy to navigate.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I have met people from all walks of life. Everyone is accepted.

    Food and Dining

    No dining.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Community College is an exceptional college. SCC will provide you with everything in order to succeed. I have never met teachers who are so helpful.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security for the parking areas. The local Sheriffs Office patrols the campus as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an Native American club.

    What to do for fun

    Sylva, NC has a movie theatre and several pubs around town. Western Carollina University is a short drive for sports activities. There is a Walmart and Lowe's for shopping.

    Food and Dining

    There are several restaurants/diners near the campus. The school itself has a cafeteria but does not serve unless there is an event. The restaurants are in walking distance or a short dirve from campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough depending on what you choose to study but you apply the effort, SCC provides the components of study. Each student is reponsible for his or her course of study and the student/instructor relationship is fulfilled through accountability. I am a firm believer in the addage that you will get what you put into it, as with anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    New students simply need to take advantage of the smaller school status and not be afraid to ask for help, if needed. The atmosphere and locaton is acceptable for all who want to attend a good place to learn.

    In three sentences

    Because SCC is a small place of higher learning, it has been beneficial for me. I am able to get the one on one attention I need to complete my studies satisfactorily. It is also close to my home town so I can commute back and forth to school with few obstacles.

  • 05/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends in doms or on campus hangouts.

    Food and Dining

    great food from the cullinary classes.

    Dorm Life

    always meeting new people.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers know what they are teaching.

    In three sentences

    it is fun, easy and just enough difficulty to keep you on your toes. fun staff who know the class they are teaching. overall a great school.