Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southwestern Illinois College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/17/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Southwestern Illinois College has a great price of tuition, and is the best choice for starting out your college career, and their education is of the same caliber of the more expensive universities.

    Will enjoy being here

    Southwestern Illinois College has a great campus, with a library and full internet access, which is great for your downtime between classes. Also they are next to a great strip mall, so you will definitely have fun between classes as well as during your classes with their great staff.

    Will learn a lot

    Southwestern Illinois College has a great faculty and staff, and the counselors there are very helpful in getting you what you need to be successful in college.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police EVERYWHERE

    Greek Life

    None that I am aware of.

    Great for these types of students

    Slackers.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheap and easy so I am just doing my Gen. Eds.

    Food and Dining

    Its a small cafeteria in one building. Reminds me of high school lunch room.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Exceedingly easy hardly any effort on my part.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good for Gen. Eds. Not much else.

    In three sentences

    I give Southwestern Illinois College a C. It's a low cost junior college but I am not challenged and the classes are way to easy.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Waiting months and months for your refund check is always fun especially when its only half of the refund money.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Don't come here! 2. If you like getting your refund money in a timely manner, DONT COME HERE! 3. If you're rich, this is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    I'm highly pissed off at the fact that SWIC wants to put random holds on my account as well as delaying my freaking refund check almost 2 months! Then on top of that, SWIC decides that I only get to receive half of my refund money (whenever that arrives smh) then I get the other half at the end of the semester. Very unprofessional with this issue being resolved especially on the phone. On top of that, I have to wait for some random check that I never wrote to clear which takes a whopping 14 days, so that's more time added until I can receive my refund.

  • 01/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I cannot just start naming out types of students that Southwestern Illinois College is great for because this college is simply great for everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    The only problem I have ever faced at Southwestern Illinois College is parking. More students attend school in the late moring to early afternoon hours so parking can get tough so make sure to get there early enough to find a spot.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Southwestern College is deffinantly worth the money! With the great teachers that are always helpful and really know what they are doing to the library that is always friendly and easy to get around to the FREE tutoring! How many colleges offer free tutoring? Not many that's a fact.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Southwestern Illinois College a lot. The library has plenty of computers and plenty of chairs if you want to read or tables if you want to study. It is always a pleasure to be at school where everything is close by. The college has three buildings and they are very close to each other which makes it easy to get to your class on time.

    Am learning a lot

    Southwestern Illinois College has employed very smart and accredited teachers that really know their material. They offer a lot of different resources and learning strategies for the hundreds of students.

  • 05/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone trying to get there degree or GED.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just have to watch how many classes you take because you have a limit amount of loans you can get for the whole year, so if you are transferring from another school in the middle of the school year then you need to know how much those previous classes were and subtract it from the loan amount you are able to get here. The financial aid office will tell you how much that is though. Pass the placement test in all parts so you dont have to take the basic classes, but if you take the Math 97 class you will most likely get into a higher math class in other schools if you plan to transfer to a 4year college, but you have to pass the class. Make sure you look into what programs they have if you plane on trying to get your degree here they might not have all of them. Thats all I have for now.

    Bang for the buck

    Its cheaper which is good.

    Am enjoying being here

    I know many students that I went to high school with. I am getting along with everyone and meeting new people.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned how to study many different types of art work and get feelings and things out of it. I know how to put my own meaning to it.

  • 08/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have families Students who are easily distracted and shouldn't live on dorm. Student's who can't afford an expensive college. Student's who want a good education!

    Tips for prospective students

    Dear senior high school students, As many new freshmen students begin their classes in college they are beginning to learn the truth about college. It is NOT all about parties and hanging out with friends. As fun as all of that sounds it is not what college is all about. True college students get up early in the morning and go to class instead of sleeping in late because they went to a party the night before. A good student will not procrastinate to do their homework and will always be prepared for their classes. Students have to learn when to say no to partying and yes to success. When all of your friends are out parting and you are at home studying you will feel as if you're being stupid and wasting your time, but in reality you are not only saving money and time, you are one step closer to achieving your dream. The rate of students that drop out of college is alarming and it is continuing to rise. Don't let you be another statistic! Finish college first and then party on your breaks! Be smart, be safe and take care of your priorities first! Good luck!

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to all of the schools I was looking at SWIC has AMAZING prices for classes. Books on the other hand, I would research some websites that sell textbooks!

    Am enjoying being here

    Being at SWIC is quite enjoyable. It is close to home and I don't live on campus. Living on campus is a good experience, but I do believe it can lead to bad consequences and habits. It's more distracting when you are living in a dorm with other people and it's easier to put off homework. Plus the people at SWIC are usually very helpful and nice!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot more than I expected. Just because SWIC is a local college does not mean it is a bad place to go. For one, SWIC is very cheap compared to all the other colleges. I know it is not smart to base what school you will go to based solely on finances, but it is great fact to know. On top of that, SWIC has great programs and extracurriculars and so far my experiences with teachers have been great. You just have to make sure you speak up and ask a question whenever you have one because they won't know if you need help if you don't say something and someone else probably has the same question as you do!

  • 09/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SWIC is a great school for all. as long as you are looking for a school to learn and understand your major you will be fine there. and SWIC have a campus close by everyone. I have been to Belleville and Granite City and loved them all and they even have classes in the local high schools. There is alwasy something going on at SWIC if it games or family nights or anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is a one time and a life time so dont sit around, get up and do something with your self. SWIC has a lot of classes for everyone. Here you will meet people from all over, classes are small so everyone has a chance to learn better. Teachers are more hands on then anything. I have not had a bad experience at SWIC and it only my second year. All I can say be on time, dont miss class , and always have your materials. I hope you enjoy SWIC as much as I have.

    Bang for the buck

    class are fair in price, and if you have trouble with money they are willing to help you out with something

    Am enjoying being here

    I have enjoyed my time there, everyone really nice and willing to learn

    Am learning a lot

    lesson are really all hands on, teachers will make sure everyone understands before going on.

  • 12/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make study GROUPS! very important in the first few week to grab some people from each class to improve yours and their grades.

    Bang for the buck

    Inexpensive, although make sure you actual NEED the books for a class before you buy them. I used previous year math books and didn't buy some English books because i didn't need them. (I got A's in all my classes.)

    Am enjoying being here

    It is a nice campus, but I have had a major hiccup in my being here. The main problem being with the metro running through the campus it can bring in people who are not meant to be there. I myself have gotten my book-bag stolen when i had it right next to me, much to my despair. So watch your crap when you go here.

    Am learning a lot

    Currently I am an Engineer student who plans on transferring next fall semester. But so far the first semester in terms of learning has been great. A lot of the teachers are friendly and willing to work with you if you show them you want to learn.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    they have a whole listing of clubs offered, which college activities should supply for you.

    Food and Dining

    good, expensive, but convenient. they will frequently have a taco bar or fajita bar set up. in the fall and spring the college activities office holds a free lunch for all students (as long as they present their photo id). it consists of hot dog or hamburger, chips, a drink, and a cookie.

    Dorm Life

    no on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the classes one takes, the rigor varies. however, each class i've taken requires at least 3 hours of study time during the week.

    Tips for prospective students

    register as early as possible and make an appointment with an advisor instead of waiting for the walk in list. go to office hours of professors if you need help. take advantage of the success center and tutoring options offered.

    In three sentences

    i have had my eyes opened to community college through attending swic, which offers a variety of courses in many departments. my classes have been no larger than 30 people and i am known by name by my professors. everyone i've interacted with, from the success center, to registration, to the library, bookstore, cafeteria, and my teachers have all been very pleasant.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the student activities board at swic holds a wide array of things to do on campus. there are movie nights where the school shows movies that are still in theaters and there are plenty of other fun activities that take place throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria at swic is small with very few selections but there are many fast food and other restaurants only blocks away.

    Dorm Life

    i give swic only one star for dorm life because there are no dorms. swic is a commuter school with plenty of apartments close by to rent.

    Academic Rigor

    there are plenty of classes that can be taken at swic with the level of difficulty based upon the teacher that the student chooses. there are classes that are hard but with the right teacher can be a breeze.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are going to see a councilor at swic make sure you arrive before the councilors offices open up because they have a tendency to become packed quickly. a 2 hour wait is not uncommon.

    In three sentences

    southwestern illinois college is a great college because it is cheap and is in close range from the st. louis area. if someone is trying to get their general education classes out of the way without paying extra at a four year university southwestern illinois college would be a good choice for them. many universities accept classes taken at southwestern illinois college for full credit.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    st. louis is only a metro link ride away. students are entitled to ride public transportation for free!

    Tips for prospective students

    use all the available resources the college has to offer. ask questions. read everything you can.

    In three sentences

    great education for a great price. faculty and staff have a strong desire for students to succeed. educated, helpful professors.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is slightly overpriced, but it is always well-prepared.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the classes you take, you can find some excellent instructors who will challenge your academic abilities to the max. there are also several classes that can be treated as easy a classes if you don't invest any time or effort into them, but they are also valuable learning sources if you spend time trying to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    there are excellent tutors available in the success centers, if you ever need help drop by and one of them will be more than happy to help you. the student tutors are knowledgeable, friendly, and always helpful.

    In three sentences

    excellent tutoring services. knowledgeable and personable instructors. very affordable.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus does have a strong public safety presence at all times. You don't have to worry about any safety issues.

    Great for these types of students

    First time students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus has an excellent book store.

    What to do for fun

    They have a college activitiy center that all students have access to. With everything from theater, to drama club, even to group bible studies.

    Food and Dining

    They have a very diverse selection of food with very affordable prices. They also have different varieties of snacks such as potato chips, fruit cups, pudding cups, as well as a healthy choice of soups, salads, and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You are required to keep an average grade of at least a C average. The academic rigor is very demanding. The instructors expect you to do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with a counselor before choosing your major. Don't major in anything you won't enjoy. Plan your schedule wisely. Don't bite off more than you can chew.

    In three sentences

    This is one of the best two year institutions a beginning college student can attend. They have excellent instructors and inavaluable resources that you won't find anywhere else.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety does their best to keep the campus secure and students safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer an array of clubs an activities including but not limited to; Phi Theta Kappa, Student Leadership Group, College Activities Board, Peer mentors, TRIO Student Support Services, Mathematics Club, Anime Club and Astronomy Club.

    Great for these types of students

    SWIC is great for all types of students; from traditional to non traditional returning students.

    Bang for the buck

    SWIC is a great option for those wanting to invest in their education without accruing debt.

    What to do for fun

    Since there are multiple campuses in different cities, there is something for everyone. One campus is close to a mall and another is by movie theaters. SWIC is also close to St. Louis which provides for lots of entertainment!

    Food and Dining

    Not every campus has a cafeteria, but they do make up for that by having local restaurants provide food options throughout the week.

    Academic Rigor

    When taking the non basic courses like Organic Chemistry or Calculus, the classes are harder, which I expect they would be at any institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early, if classes are not full they are closed quickly so make sure you register as soon as possible. Also fill out any financial aid forms right away and complete your FAFSA asap!

    In three sentences

    SWIC is a great value to the many students that attend. I have gotten a high quality education at a cost that I can afford without going into debt. SWIC goes above and beyond to help its students succeed.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is to sustain your integrity in any college.

    In three sentences

    This college is inexpensive, but liberal. This college is able to earn the general credits necessary for a transfer towards a four-year university. This college is also great for the person who is desiring an academic education.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Student Activities Board holds weekly activities.

    Food and Dining

    During the lunch hours, occasionally, the school will bring in a catering restaurant. And there are vending machines and a coffee shop on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Southwestern Illinois college hold to the standards of Academic Rigor for the state.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Illinois College is a great college to attend for completing general studies in one's college plan. Students and teachers alike are there to accomplish all of the learning goals without extra hassle. The campus is small/medium size with a comfortable feel.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems to be very secure even at the back of the parking lot I usually see them patrolling.

    Clubs and Activities

    We do have sports and a gym here but the only club that I know of is Phi Theta Kappa which is an honor society for students who maintain a 3.5 cummulative GPA or better. Phi Theta Kappa is great especially for students planning to transfer because it helps students get scholarships.

    Great for these types of students

    This location is great for all types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has a success center which offers free tutors for any subject. We have a lot of computers for the students to use located in the success center, library and cyber lounge. The Belleville campus also offers discounted daycare for children 3 years and older who are potty trained. They also have a program called OWL where you enter any written assignments that you get assigned and can get help making your paper better. I feel that $95.00 per credit hour is not too much when all this comes with it too.

    What to do for fun

    I can't really rate my school in this area. I mainly go to school and come home and do homework or go to work.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a lot to chose from when it comes to dining aside from fast food and one chinese restaurant which is pretty good. The campus does have a cafeteria however, the food is not the best and the price is more than I would like to pay for mediocre food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here it is a small two year college.

    Academic Rigor

    Most courses are academically rigorous but, the workload is not too much. Definately read the description of all of your courses if you plan on taking on a lot of classes to make sure that you will be able to handle the work from all classes before enrolling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a guidance councelor when you apply to have them help with making your first schedule and get your fafsa filled out as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    I would give this college five stars out of five. The campus is easy to find your way around, students and faculty are friendly. Above all I believe the course work is just right, not too much nor too little.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has it's own security force.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    I think they have them, but I don't participate.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for transfer students, nursing students, and students looking for certain certificates.

    Bang for the buck

    I recommend this school to anyone looking to save money and get a good education.

    What to do for fun

    They offer many activities for students throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and cafe that can be a bit pricey. Walmart and several food establishments are a crossed the street, but it is a busy four lane highway to cross.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too bad!

    Tips for prospective students

    Go here before transferring.

    In three sentences

    This is a great overall school to attend before transferring to a university. I've had great teachers and overall experience in my classes face-to-face and online. The cost of tuition is affordable.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    officers on duty, except Red Bud campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Diverse choices

    Great for these types of students

    Starting out, poor financial situation, not sure where you're going

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is still really expensive.

    What to do for fun

    CAB, holds events on a regular basis along other student organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Could be worse, but certainly room for improvement, more options, cheaper, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    As expected of community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to the school's counselor for which you plan to transfer, if applicable. Consider car pooling and joining student organizations like CAB to lower tuition.

    In three sentences

    An ideal to start your secondary education. The counselors could be improved. The atmosphere is overall pleasant.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty inexpensive and you get such a high quality of education.

    What to do for fun

    The College Activities Center keeps the whole campus updated for events, and A LOT of them are super fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and there's a decent variety. The prices are just a little questioning.

    Dorm Life

    It's a small campus, so there aren't any dorms that I know of...

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is based upon the classes you take. Some classes are downright easy while others require an extensive amount of time outside of class to just pass the course. Be aware and you'll be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn where your classes are, stay vigilant in class, and talk to the professors if you need any help.

    In three sentences

    SWIC is a comfortable and friendly campus where it's easy to navigate and the faculty is ready to help. Professors are kind and are more than willing to set aside time for a student if the need arises. Every kind of student attends here and it's a great place to hang out with friends.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Anything

    Food and Dining

    The food is a little bit over priced, but the sitting and dinning portion of it is awesome I can go here to get homework done if needed.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just have fun and they will be willing to make sure that you strive to be your best.

    In three sentences

    I think the collage is amazing, they have everything and all the classes i need to get me started. The food is a little bit overpriced, but i don't mind. Lastly they are very concerned about my needs to succeed.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Saw someone arrested so i feel safe with the campus security.

    Great for these types of students

    any student who is paying for college themself and wants a good education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Jimmy Johns and Easy's chinese buffet are across the street. sooo worth it!

    Bang for the buck

    Not too expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Cyber lounge has an Xbox. Some days they have activites for the students such as a real life angry birds game.

    Food and Dining

    Little pricey.

    Academic Rigor

    Little more challenging than high school but not much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your lunch, cafe is a bit pricey.

    In three sentences

    I have had a wonderful education so far. The teachers are super awesome, and sometimes easy. They will help you whenever you need it. Great atmosphere.

  • 01/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many different clubs and activities that college student could get involved in. All these activities are a great way to get to know many different people and make friends.

    Food and Dining

    Southwestern Illinois College has a coffee shop and a newly addition is an amazingly, beautiful new Starbucks. It is college student friendly and is a very nice addition for a quick caffeine stop before a long class period.

    Dorm Life

    At Southwestern Illinois College they are newly making a dorm life for the students. Having a place to be away from home but still be on campus will be a great addition to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Southwestern Illinois College has the top of the line teachers working at the Belleville campus. They are there to help students achieve their goals and see them progress in life. We have very friendly teachers here at Southwestern Illinois College.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would give tips to students to always have some time of communication skill with your teachers, even if you are not the type to ask questions or might be shy and quiet. Allowing yourself to talk to all your teachers is a great way to keep track of grades and assignments.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Illinois College is a great place to learn and to earn your degree. They have amazing teachers that take time out of their day to help the students directly with anything they are having trouble with. The staff and college itself is a great place to be and meet new people.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt threatened while on campus, and it is a Community College so it gets all walks of life.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    It's clubs and activities are growing, and seem to be trying to do more on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Budget Concious

    Bang for the buck

    Can not beat the price of $104 a credit hour including some of the fees.

    Food and Dining

    It has a Starbucks now!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great for those who may have struggled in High School, but for those academically gifted class may seem dull and boring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Begin at Southwestern Illinois College to save money, then move on to another University.

    In three sentences

    Great education for the price. Some teachers are not up to par, while others are amazing. Seems to be improving on all grounds though.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Cyber Lounge Cafeteria Star Bucks

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school. Professors are well educated, very nice and helpful. Best of all its cheap.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Security can be seen easily walking/driving around campus and checking up on situations.

    Greek Life

    I am a member of Pi-Theta-Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not associated with clubs or activities on campus, but the main student association provides food and drinks to students occasionally and they have monthly or weekly events.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those who want an inexpensive education in a midsized town and small class sizes. Almost all of my classes have 10 to 15 students. Very few classes have over 20 - those are classes in halls or large class rooms.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know of any, although, the parking lots were not designed for easy access to doors; one always has to walk a slight distance to get to a door.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are CHEAP. About 100$ per credit hour.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Belleville. Also, there is the Metro-Link train station on campus which links you to St. Louis instantly. Free train pass is included with classes.

    Food and Dining

    Fairly expensive on campus. There is a Starbucks and cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Liberal Arts classes are easy, while maths and especially sciences are more challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to apply for graduation on time, and do not wait till the last minuet for counseling for any issues at all. Double check and triple check to make sure your classes can/will transfer as you want them to.

    In three sentences

    The classes are fairly easy and teachers are understanding of student needs. The facilities are very nice; they have a brand new edition to their Liberal Arts building which is impressive.

  • 07/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a public safety office where you can go for the lost and found. You can call them anywhere on campus if there is suspicious activity or if you need someone to walk you to your car or the metro station after dark. They can also provide small bits of auto help, like jumping your car if the battery is dead.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a wide range of clubs, but some are on different campuses. However, there isn't much advertising for them. It can be hard to find if you're looking for it.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who needs somewhere a bit cheaper and doesn't need a place to stay.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of sculpture on campus and a lot of artwork inside the main campus building. They have an art gallery on campus where a lot of the work is from students or teachers. The art club recently made a mural for the walls of the student lounge, and they let students help paint it.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great value, and tuition doesn't cost much per semester. Books are a little pricey, but it's a Barnes and Noble bookstore.

    What to do for fun

    The student activity board always has things planned to do, so there's not much downtime if you don't have a job and like to stay on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There's a Cafe and a Starbucks on campus. The Cafe has a fairly broad range, but prices are a tad high. Most of the hot food is usually fairly fresh, and they do have meals every day for a good price.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at SWIC, yet.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are all fairly standard, although some are easier than others. Always do your coursework and don't fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get up in your class, if you can. There's a top ten percent scholarship that pays for your tuition if you were in the top ten percent of your class. Do your FAFSA and get all the necessary papers in ON TIME OR EARLY to avoid waiting on financial aid for your tuition or books. Use the FAFSA IRS Data Retrieval Tool, it makes things faster. If you don't have financial aid to use in the bookstore, get your books elsewhere, they're much cheaper.

    In three sentences

    SWIC is a great place to start for any student in the area. It's not too expensive and the classes have a great range. However, the counseling is hit or miss, depending on who you see, and the same class can be very different depending on the teacher.

  • 07/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No matter the day you will always see the patrol car roaming the campus and safety officers on duty. They are very handy for a dead battery.

    Greek Life

    The only Greek life I saw was a program called Phi Theta Kappa which is offered to community college students across the globe. You have to have a certain grade point average to be invited to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    Whatever your interest, you are likely to find a club for it. For example there is poetry club, martial arts clubs, anime club, ecology club, horticulture club, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a quality education, but do not want to spend the rest of their life in debt. It is an perfect leap into the college life for new students and older students who are trying to back into the swing of things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They just opened a Starbucks in the liberal arts building which is a cool hangout for students.

    Bang for the buck

    It is completely affordable. They also offer financial aid like it's going out of style. There is a scholarship which gives you a free ride, not including books, if you're in the top ten percent of your high school class. The money is defiantly worth the education. There were many stimulating classes and quality teachers.

    What to do for fun

    There are an abundance of clubs to choose from. Also Belleville is fairly big, so the scene on Main Street can be fun if your over 21. If not there are bowling alleys, movie theaters, and cafes with live music on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    SWIC is located in the Belleville Area. It is very close to great food places in all directions. Across the street, there is a Chick Fillets, a Jimmy Johns, a Chinese Buffet, and a Subway in the Wal-Mart. There are a variety of restaurant 10 minutes away in the Ofallon area such as Crazy Bowls and Wraps, Bread Co., Quedoba, 54th Street grill, and etc. Also 10 minutes away is Main Street which also contains a variety of Restaurants. If your into exotic foods, two places you would enjoy, which are fairly close, are India's Oven and Sushi Thai by Samaran.

    Dorm Life

    This is simple because there isn't a dorm life. The are apartments near SWIC that you can receive a discount on. Usually many of the athletes stay here.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what classes you are taking and what teachers you have. With my experience the higher level math and science classes require a significant amount of effort. If you invest your time, it will pay off. There are some teachers who care more about the experience of the class and less about the workload, which are pretty fun classes. It's always a good idea to try to balance your schedule, so as not to become overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    The number one tip I would offer would be to go see a counselor and form a game plan for your education. I've seen many people take a bunch of classes that they thought they needed only to find that they still needed another semesters to graduate. Also it's never a bad idea to get involved in a few clubs. This helps you to make friends and stay productive.

    In three sentences

    As far as community colleges go Southwestern Illinois College, known as SWIC, is one of the better ones. The staff is knowledgeable and aren't afraid to push you to achieve your best. The small size allows for closer knit classrooms with more teacher to student interactions. Your not going to find the the crazy four year university experience, but you'll be able to earn a degree inexpensively from qualified teachers.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs that you can join.

    Food and Dining

    We are near everything literally. Walmart and plenty of restaurants are across the street.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone commutes to school we do not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    We are on top of our academics. No games being played. The teachers and students are very serious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please come here to gain that two year experience. It will be one of the best experiences ever.

    In three sentences

    Fun and very loveable campus. A real live college experience.

  • 09/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Public Safety on campus is wonderful. They are constantly patrolling around the campus, in their cars in the parking lot, and also on foot throughout the buildings. Anytime there is an issue, they are there immediately to dissolve whatever is happening.

    Greek Life

    SWIC offers one fraternity, Phi Theta Kappa, a national honor society. PTK hosts several events through the year, mostly fundraisers for local charities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Southwestern Illinois College has an endless amount of clubs and organizations. If there isn't one that suits you, you can simply petition to make your own! You can check out all of the options available to you during the Activities Fair held every fall and spring semester.

    Great for these types of students

    I would recommend SWIC to anyone who wants to receive a quality education, while saving money in the process.

    Bang for the buck

    Financially, choosing to attend a community college for my first two years of higher education was genius. I received several scholarships, and ended up going free of charge- textbooks and all! SWIC offers so many scholarships, and it is so easy to apply- why wouldn't you check it out?

    What to do for fun

    The College Activities Board on campus ALWAYS has fun activities planned for the students; the best part about it is that they are always FREE. From laser tag on the Quad to barbeque lunches, Southwestern Illinois College makes sure your experience at a 2-year school is comparable to that of a 4-year institution.

    Food and Dining

    SWIC offers a cafeteria on campus with fresh meals throughout the day, and they recently added a Starbucks. You can upload money to your Kashmir Cash Card and use it in the cafeteria as a prepaid card.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus at SWIC. In fact, I am unsure if they offer housing on campus. If so, I believe it may only be for the athletes.

    Academic Rigor

    Though people may degrade SWIC because it is a JuCo, the classes offered here are guaranteed to be as academically rigorous as four-year institutions. The classes offer fair amounts of work. Also, if you ever need any help or if the work is becoming too overwhelming, free assistance is always available through the Success Center and the Disability and Access Center.

    Tips for prospective students

    Though it may be tempting to skip, especially because most students commute, make sure you attend every class. Many of my teachers based final grades on participation and attendance- it can make or break you in the end. Also, the Success Center is a wonderful resource for students; they offer FREE tutoring for nearly every subject and FREE peer-review for the numerous papers you will have to write.

    In three sentences

    Going to SWIC to receive my Associate's Degree was the smartest decision I have made regarding my education. The class sizes are fairly small, and the teachers there genuinely care about their students- assuring they understand the information being presented to them. Because it is a junior college, the tuition rate is much cheaper than a four-year university; if that wasn't enough, Southwestern Illinois College offers TONS of scholarship opportunities for academic excellence and through the foundation office.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Smoking is only allowed in certain outside areas of the school, and there are plenty of staff members always on the watch everywhere.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fraternities and martial art clubs are avaiablle.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who like to start off small and save lots of money before going on to a bigger university, I would suggest starting off here at SWIC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    From time to time, SWIC has annually traditions such as bringing their mascot out, having BBQ's, and free cake and ice cream with music to dance to.

    Bang for the buck

    To get your bang for the buck, try not to use up all of your scholarship and financial expense money because the tuition here is very cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Go off the campus and hang with your friends, or just go across the street to nearby stores to enjoy some free time. There are also many club activities to participate in to get to know new people.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, but can be quite expensive if one is expecting to eat a full course meal during breaks. I'd rather suggest only eating occassionally because your pockets could run low if you eat everyday.

    Dorm Life

    SWIC does not currently have a dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Learning Economics for a first year can be quite of a struggle. Usually, only students who are in English 101 should take this class because it requires a lot of comprehensive skill, and rigorous graph descriptions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should always come to class prepared and on time. A positive attitude should always be demonstrated because no one wants to have a hard time with their instructor. Also, ask for many questions if you cannot understand something.

    In three sentences

    SWIC has a very nice approach to it. The teachers are very helpful and are all ears when it comes to answering questions. The tuition is cheap, and it saves people a lot of money for future college references.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Has an OK cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    Does not have dorms

    In three sentences

    Decent college Small class sizes Teachers actually get to know you by name Easy to ask questions

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security on campus as long as the school is open.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs and sports; however, keeping people involved can be difficult with such a diverse student body.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a good way to get through the first 2 years of a Bachelor's degree with minimal cost, so anyone unsure of what they want to do, with minimal income, and/or not quite ready for being far from home and strict universities.

    What to do for fun

    At the Belleville campus, there is the Schmidt Art Center. Nothing else on campuses, though.

    Food and Dining

    Only the Belleville campus has a cafeteria. There is catering by a local restaurant at the Granite City campus but it definitely leaves something to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    It is a commuter campus. There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the academic rigor depends partially on the teachers, but it is lighter than many universities I've encountered and stricter than most high schools. It's a good intermediate point.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always double-check information from the counseling and financial aid department because some know a lot more than others. Some of the part-time or staff instructors are the best!

    In three sentences

    I've had some great teachers! Equipment within the classrooms could use an upgrade. The Granite City campus needs a cafeteria, or at least more veggie options.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a cyber lounge with a video game lab.

    Food and Dining

    there is a cafeteria and a starbucks both are expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use to get basics out of the was or vocation programs.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Illinois College is a lot like high school without the reminder to finish your homework. I did not find it any more difficult than high school either. However it is a great school if you want to get your basics done.