Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southwestern Michigan College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Haven't decided on a career, looking to save money on college, wanting to be close to home (but not too close), wanting to live in a new housing facility.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do what the instructor asks, they usually aren't that hard on their students. The most important part of going to college is actually going to class. It's tempting to skip class because you won't get in trouble, but it will hurt you in the end.

  • 06/30/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its a community college and its close to home but not too close, its a smaller school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your paper work done as soon as possible and living on campus is always a plus...

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus security and safety. I never have to worry.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great student life complete with many student clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Open minded and hard-working students

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable and worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    So much! They have everything from student clubs, rock climbing, dance, fitness pools, and intramural sports.

    Food and Dining

    They have sufficient food services available.

    Dorm Life

    Super new, clean, and very friendly. They are safe with high tech security and always have staff available to students.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very determined to prepare us for our future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a tour to check us out. It really is a great place and you will get that one-on-one instruction that is always nice to have. From the dorms to the roadrunner trails, it is a wonderful place to consider. It is a beautiful campus and always growing.

    In three sentences

    It is a great 2 year college with the full 4 year experience. They have an amazing student life and a perfect balance of academics. SMC is a great place to start your college experience/career.

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a retired police officer who is head of security. The campus is very safe and there are dowagiac cops that roll through campus every couple of hours.

    What to do for fun

    The student activity center (SAC as it is known) is a great place to hang out with friends. There is so much to do there, video games, fitness center, gymnasium, rock climbing, they even have lap pools.

    Food and Dining

    The birdfeeder cafe is a great place to grab a great and cheap lunch on your way to class or just to hang out with friends.

    Dorm Life

    I did not personally live in the dorms, but I have a ton of friends that do, and they have a blast in the dorms. But the one problem that I see is that kids skip class to sleep because they were up all night playing video games.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors know what they are doing in the classroom. There are a few that you may want to ask around before signing up for their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure that you go to class, most the classes as long as you show up to class, the instructors are willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    Its a great place for kids fresh out of high school to come and learn and make great friends in the process. There are also people that came back to school due to growing families loss of jobs etc. to get a degree here. Overall its a truly great college!

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun around campus. Southwestern has extensive hiking paths located in the woods around campus. These trails are kept safe and spacious with easily understandable signs. Inside the recreation building is a gym, fitness center, rock climbing room, endless pools, racquetball rooms, a theater, and a room filled with monitors and video game consoles. I am sure I did not include everything available and there is already a long list of activities for every kind of student.

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining areas on campus. One is located in the college services building while the other is located in the recreation building, also known as the Student Activity Center. Each place has a healthy and affordable selection of foods for every taste.

    Dorm Life

    SMC just established dorms on campus about two years ago. For a community college this is almost unheard of. What is even more impressive is the dorms are better than most four year colleges. Every student gets a room to themselves, a living area, a bathroom for every two bedrooms, and a kitchen. Besides the normal 2 room or 4 room dorm there are also suites with larger floor spacing and beautiful furniture. The security is also impressive as there are locks even on the individual doors for the students. There will always be someone at the help desk that can assist you if need be.

    Academic Rigor

    Southwestern Michigan College is a great place to start for your educational career. As a community college they prepare you for a great career or further education at a four year college. Though it is not an intensely rigorous college they give you a great edge when entering a four year college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Those wishing to enroll in Southwestern Michigan College are creating a great start to their educational experience and career. If you decide to enroll here there will be plenty of staff waiting to attend to your needs. Actually, students are not allowed to register until each of them has talked to an advisor and received proper guidance for starting their career goals. If you ever need help simply visit the advising office or call to make an appointment. Also, if you ever find yourself stuck in a class there are tutors for just about every class offered.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Michigan College is an excellent community college for those students wishing to gain a marketable degree or for those who intend to transfer. Southwestern's affordable tuition and convenient location does not sacrifice the college experience. SMC sports many amenities for all kinds of students, this includes a recreation center, learning center with capable tutors always available, and a well equipped library.

  • 07/22/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    SMC has a beautiful campus that really gives the college feeling, even though it is a community college.

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused. Learn different study habits to help you figure out what works best for you. It is good to know to help to achieve the best grades possible.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    my college has security and the parking lot is well lite.

    Bang for the buck

    buy used books or rent them.

    What to do for fun

    after a dedicated week of homework, lectures and studying; reward yourself by going to a movie with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    a lot of fast food, but most places have healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    i live at home, but others say they like it.

    Academic Rigor

    the more quality time you put in the better student you will become.

    Tips for prospective students

    i suggest that you study, listen close to your instructor and take notes.

    In three sentences

    my college is dedicated to helping each student learn according to their learning style. the instructors are knowledgeable. the class schedules are flexible.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is always visible but not over powering or threatening in any way.

    Greek Life

    WILD:{0>

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs of every shape and size both on the campus and in the surrounding community.

    Great for these types of students

    All students fit right in with a vast diversity in activities and groups.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The running trails through the forests across from the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    For the money dollar for dollar it compares with any school in the state.

    What to do for fun

    There are an array of activities from the student rec center to inturmural sports.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    There are two new dormatories and ground breaking on a third.

    Academic Rigor

    The challenge is adjustable to the level you can handle be it challenging or laid back.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early the classes fill up faster than you would think. Come prepared the pace is fast and steady.

    In three sentences

    The classes are small enough to provide a very personal feel. The teachers have a chance to know the students. The facilities are perfect in need and service.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many fun clubs and activities to join throughout the year. Dowagiac does not have much within it's city limits but is close to the South Bend, Indiana area.

    Food and Dining

    The Birdfeeder Cafeteria was my favorite place for lunch! The school also provides a smaller Zollar Cafe in the Student Activity Center.

    Dorm Life

    I never experienced living in the dorms myself, as I was living off campus. I do know that the two or four bedroom suites were brand new my first year at SMC in 2009 and came fully furnished with separate locking bedrooms, fully loaded kitchen, central air and heat, free cable and internet. I would highly recommend them if you live far away.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I took have been very challenging. But the instructors have all done their very best in transferring their knowledge into the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its the greatest chance to get a full college experience with a fraction of the cost. Extremely affordable, especially for those who are undecided. It has a stellar Performing Arts department. The college has been growing and improving ever since I learned about it, 5 years ago.

    In three sentences

    Very Affordable! Beautiful Campus. Very qualified and helpful faculty and staff.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When I lived on campus, I always saw security guards driving around campus at night. Security always checked in at the dorms every few hours past midnight. Overall, I felt very safe on campus, and if I ever needed help, I knew where to go.

    Greek Life

    The only Greek affiliation with the college was Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know of Phi Theta Kappa, but other than that I don't really know much about clubs on campus. There were several bands (symphonic, jazz, brass, etc.) and a couple different choirs students could participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are looking to stay close to home and not spend a fortune on general education classes at a university should attend SMC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college was building a clock tower and an alumni plaza, where you could buy a brick to commemorate your time spent at SMC. They didn't have the funding for the clock tower while I was there, but recently I believe they found another person to fund the building.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel it was reasonably priced for a community college. I feel like I paid for classes that were taught by professors that knew what they were doing. I feel like the credit hour was reasonably priced.

    What to do for fun

    The student activities center was always fun; you could rent video game consoles, play pool, climb on the rock wall, use the gym, etc. They had a nice gym facility with a workout room attached to it. I loved using the fitness center; they had very nice equipment. There was also a nice library where you could play games or use computers.

    Food and Dining

    There is no on-campus meal plan, but there is a small cafeteria and a cafe in the student activities center. I loved the cafe; they had the best coffee and lattes. I only ate at the cafeteria a few times, and it was kind of expensive, but the food was good. The food service people were always nice and helpful, and the facilities were always clean.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are more like suites. They are very nice, and fully furnished. I lived on campus my first year there, and I enjoyed it. I liked not having to wake up super early for class and having to drive there and stay all day. I could go back to my dorm between classes and watch TV, hang out with my roommates, or just relax by myself. The only thing I didn't like were the people there. Some of them were just there to get away from home and party. Unfortunately, I got stuck with a roommate that was like that, and my housing manager really did nothing to remedy the situation until it became a huge issue. Other than that, SMC has very nice dorm buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    The upper level classes are always going to be more difficult. Math 131 (precalculus trigonometry) is a tough class, along with all of the calculus classes. General chemistry 1 and 2 are some of the toughest classes SMC offers. I always thought the history, English, and lower level psychology classes were easy if you just did the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you're getting what you paid for. Even though it is a community college, you always need to attend class. If you miss class, you're wasting money. Plus, try to find books online. I didn't really care for the bookstore; they never really seemed to know what they were doing. They have a book buyback at the end of each semester if you bought your books from the bookstore, but honestly it's not worth it. I always bought my books online and save a few hundred dollars each semester.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoyed the layout of the campus. I also liked how maneuverable the buildings were; I never had trouble finding a classroom. I also liked the helpfulness of all the teachers.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not much.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an odd set of obelisks, and they're building a silly clock tower.

    What to do for fun

    Fun ?

    Tips for prospective students

    Shop Amazon for textbooks.

    In three sentences

    There is a good program in Mechatronics, and Robotics. For transfer students, there is a Chemistry program and Nursing. I would like to see a program in programming for mobile apps, and a signature program in building robots rather than only programming them.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I do like that there is campus security. Taking evening classes and seeing a local police car looking out for the students as they leave is comforting.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and activities available during the day that students can attend between classes. Personally I had an interest/desire to attend, but due to having to work full time was unable.

    Bang for the buck

    I enjoy the on campus library.

    What to do for fun

    There is an exercise and activity center on campus, plus trails. The college is only about an hour from Lake Michigan.

    Food and Dining

    On Campus there is a cafeteria. The closest town has a few fast food and cafe's available. The few times I used the cafeteria, I was satisfied.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, I have never had the opportunity to experience dorm life. I do know the dorms at the campus are new and look appealing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Search out your target goal or degree and work some what backwards. Find out what is needed to accomplish it so time isnt wasted on unnecessary classes.

    In three sentences

    SouthWestern Michigan College is a growing campus that has a very positive atmosphere. The teachers and other staffing personnel are professional. The set up of the campus is visually appealing.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say we are a pretty safe place. There aren't cops crawling everywhere, but its a country thing.

    Greek Life

    Far as I know there is only one and its Christian based, not sure if its co-ed or just for girls? There should be more.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a few fun clubs, lots of good co-ed sports and have a decent campus bash. The dances could be better if people would dance, and there could be a few new clubs, but people haven't seemed to get together on that.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to go to college, but want to feel close to home SMC will work for you and if you don't plan on ever really getting to many places in life. However, if you start there be committed to something. Don't just sit in a class, use government money, take up air and space and then fail. That's useless to everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well I'm not sure about traditions, but we have a rock wall and how many places have that!

    Bang for the buck

    Well even though SMC is an ok place to start, you defiantly get what you pay for and that can be good or bad.

    What to do for fun

    The SAC is a cool place to hang if you like rock climbing and exercise, being with friends and playing games. The trails are pretty cool if your and outdoorsy person. Personally i just like to sit in the grass.

    Food and Dining

    There are two decent places to eat on campus, there should be some better vegetarian choices tho. Less fried food, too.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at SMC are really nice and super convenient, however, a lot of the time students get really distracted by other people there making it hard to focus. Lock yourself in your room if you must.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that there are a lot of things at SMC that should be more challenging and that there are a lot of areas that need work as far as getting really good professors for all classes. If a majority of the class is not doing well or dropping the class there is a problem with the teacher. GET THE NOTE!

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep active and involved in school activities that interest you. Know that sometimes you can't look to your professors for help, pull up your pants and get it done. Don't expect much help from the office aids.

    In three sentences

    Good place to stay in school on a budget. Good for figuring out a bigger plan for your life. Relaxing atmosphere, but don't get stuck relaxing!

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    During my time there in 2003-2005, a police office would drive through the each of the parking lots twice a day and that's it -- once at around noon and once again at around five even though some classes end at ten o'clock at night.

    Greek Life

    None; at least while I attended in 2003-2005 there was no Greek life to speak of.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs I was trying to start always were shut down because the dean at the time didn't encourage any deviation from just classwork.

    Great for these types of students

    People who will be satisfied with a mediocre education in a place where the staff and faculty treat you like a high school student -- without even a modicum of respect.

    Bang for the buck

    Decent options for evening classes, and that's about it.

    Food and Dining

    There was a elementary school-style hot lunch line when I attended with food that was inedible. Safer to stick to bringing your own or hitting up the vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    None when I attended in 2003-2005, it's a community college, not a major university.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors for the classes would select the most up-to-date editions of the textbooks or slap-dash their own versions, and they would be WORTHLESS to sell back because they school put together a new version nearly every semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to go to college to get a 4-year nursing degree and stay in the surrounding area, this is the place you want. If you have dreams of something bigger that isn't nursing outside of southwestern Michigan, look for a different college.

    In three sentences

    Nursing college for the southwestern Michigan crowd. Mediocre education for the price. Not all credits will transfer to big schools -- be warned and don't take what their academic advisors say at face value!

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    On campus cafeteria is called The Birdfeeder. It's pretty small and doesn't offer a wide variety of food. Most people who live on campus make their own food or go out to eat in the few places town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to change your major. Advisors are there to assist you in any questions you have and to help you decide.

    In three sentences

    SMC, in my opinion, is a great college to start your education career at. Instead of spending $20,000+ a year, you pay an affordable amount and have great learning opportunities. It's a comfortable place to learn and figure out what you want to do with your future.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are some security officers that are varied throughout.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs, just not a gaming club yet.

    Great for these types of students

    Pre-nursing, business and fine arts students.

    Bang for the buck

    University life-style at a community college price.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the Student Activity Center and find something. Video games, exercise, sports and movies.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, the selection is varied and the prices are affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I have no comments, as I live in town. I hear it's good.

    Academic Rigor

    Good academic program. Plenty of options of classes to take. Classes are not too hard. The material is not super easy either.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be nice to others and you'll have a good time in college. Also passing your classes is another way too.

    In three sentences

    This community college is almost like a university. It has all the benefits of a university level college. But it also has the affordability of a Community College.

  • 06/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Patrol cars go around all hours of the day and night.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to get out of their house but dont want to share a tiny dorm room where your bed is across the room from someone elses. Also for people who like to cook because we have a full kitchen, as opposed to most places where youre forced to buy a meal plan and can only have a microwave in your room.

    Bang for the buck

    All in all SMC is pretty cheap and I think it's worth it. The housing is what really makes it what it is. Youre very independent and its fun to live with 4 people, but be able to have your own room so you dont get annoyed with them.

    What to do for fun

    Get to know everyone on campus, people are really cool! There arent many parties here though, so a lot of people leave on the weekends to go to a club in Kalamzoo (about 45 min away) or go party at bigger schools like Western or MSU.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a cafeteria on campus where you buy a meal plan. There are two cafes on campus that are open throughout the day where you can buy sandwiches,wraps,fried crap, etc. About 8 minutes, into town, there is Taco Bell,Subway,Little Caesers, a Chinese buffet, Pizza Hut, Mcdonalds, Burger King and a bunch of other little sit-down restaurants. Pretty good selection but this town doesn't stay up very late.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty fun, the rooms are awesome because theyre apartment-style so you live with 3 other people and everyone gets their own bedroom, and there are two bathrooms. There is a full living room and kitchen.

    In three sentences

    Better than a typical community college, but with that said, a lot of the teachers are not very good. Campus life is pretty fun but theyre strict on drinking.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SMC is very safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and activities to be part of everybody is welcome to join!

    Great for these types of students

    SMC target market is young people freshly out of high school but, not limited to them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A very popular event at SMC is the Mud Run. An event create to raise funds for scholarships in which students and staff have fun doing a 5 mile run with military based obstacles for a very affordable fee. This event really excites everyone!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do for fun. For example, during the fall and spring you can go for a hike or bike ride down the trails behind campus a great way to stay in touch with nature. But, if you're not really the outdoor type you can always get your friends together and have a movie day at the movie theater located at the SAC. you can also just have fun at the SAC with the many entertaining facilities there.

    Food and Dining

    I do have lunch and dinner in campus and so far the food has been good. My favorite are is the cheeseburgers and the cheese fries are a great snack during break.

    Dorm Life

    I actually live close to campus, so I don't have to live in a dorm. However, I've heard from friend that the dorms are very safe and very comfortable to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The well qualified professors are always willing to help you out and work one on one with you to help you understand the material if needed. Therefore, courses become manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    My number one tip is to not by shy about meeting other people everyone here is so helpful and friendly! Also, make sure to spend some time at our rock climbing wall it's a great way to release some stress and calories.

    In three sentences

    SMC is very affordable with a great campus. The staff is friendly and helpful at all times making you feel comfortable and confident. SMC is a great opportunity for students to be able to reach their dreams.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SMC is a very safe place to be. There are campus security and the local police department is seen on campus patrolling everyday. In the dorms, you cannot get in without a key card and there is someone working the front desk in each dorm, 24/7. SMC is a very safe and comfortable place to be.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life at SMC does not exist.

    Clubs and Activities

    SMC offers many different types of clubs for everyone and all clubs are open to everyone on the campus. There is a photography club, business club, english club, criminal justice club, and other various clubs. If a club is not offered, you can create your own club at anytime. Also, on campus intramural sports are offered every season. Various types of activities are offered all through the week and on the weekends, many students who live on campus participate in activities.

    Great for these types of students

    -Students who are looking to have a full college experience at an affordable price. -Students who are looking to transfer with little debt. -Anyone looking for a great education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    SMC helps financially long term, because it does not cost an arm and a leg.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in clubs Intramural sports Social events Student Activity Center Activities that are offered in the dorms

    Food and Dining

    There are two places that you can eat at on campus. One is called the Birdfeeder Cafe and the other one is the Zollar Cafe. Both places have limited hours, but they are very affordable for a college student. SMC does not offer a meal plan, but if you live in the dorms, you have a full-size kitchen in each room.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great, I love living on campus. Everyone who lives on campus is very into getting their education. There is always some kind of activity going on to get all of the students living in the dorms connected with each other.

    Academic Rigor

    There are not many difficulties or challenges in the academics at SMC, the faculty are always there to help you and there are always different study groups being formed. In the library, there are tutors available all through the day and tutors specialize in certain subjects. If an assignment seems to be a challenge for you, you can always ask a classmate and they are always willing to lend a helping hand. There is a resource called EXCEL and there is a tutor in every building in the dorms that offer study sessions in the lobbies various times a week.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Look and see if your degree is offered through the bigger name school while paying community college prices. -Come into the school with an open mind. -Try to adjust to change prior to coming to college, it makes things a lot easier. -Learn time management before coming to school, it will make your college experience much more enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Michigan College is a great school to go to for a two or four year degree, some degrees available are from bigger name schools like Bethel and Ferris State University. SMC has a very fun and friendly environment and everyone always welcomes each other with a smile and a hello no matter where you are on campus. The faculty are also great, each and every teacher that I have had so far are willing to spend additional time with every student outside of the classroom setting.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Way too much.

    Food and Dining

    I dont eat alot i make my own food

    Dorm Life

    Awesome

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    Best of both worlds

    In three sentences

    It is an expierence like no other. I love it here. Lots of stuff to do.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Southwestern Michigan College have intermurual sports from basketball to flag football and lots of other sports such as rock climbing.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafe called the zollar cafe where its only open during campus hours monday-friday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are set up as apartments with 4 rooms, common area, kitchen, 2 bathrooms parallel from each other.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here can be very challenging depending on the major, but most of the classes that are past a 100 level will be credible and will transfer to the 4 year college of your choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come here expecting to do a lot of partying, lots of the students here are here to bring up there G.P.A., and to move on to bigger 4 year colleges.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Michigan College is a low and affordable community college that is mainly focused on academics and not sports compared to many community colleges.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem with safety or stealing. I do have night classes, and sometimes I have to walk to my car at night, but the parking lot is well lit and a short walk from the buildings.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of different clubs SMC offers, such as rock climbing club and business club. The rock climbing club takes a field trip to go rock climbing on real cliffs and mountains!

    Bang for the buck

    I highly recommend SMC. I've never had a negative experience with any teacher or adviser here. They hold student dances and parties frequently, the cost of attending SMC is low, and it's generally a great college for anybody who wants to get that college experience and attain a degree without breaking the bank.

    What to do for fun

    SMC offers lots of free activities for students! There is the Student Activity Center, where you can go rock climbing, work out, play video games, watch movies, or read a book next to the fire place! There are also miles of trails that you can jog, walk, or even rent a bike on!

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and a cafe on campus. Both serve excellent food, however I wish there were more options. If you want something else, like Taco Bell or Burger King, it's about a 5-10 minute drive, so it's not too bad.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms since I live only a half hour away, but I've heard only good things about them!

    Academic Rigor

    At the beginning of the accounting program, classes were easier. But now, in my second year things are starting to get a little harder. The teachers are always there for you if you ever need help or have any questions though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely make a schedule of classes you're going to take every semester from when you start until you graduate. This is so you know you have taken any prerequisites needed for other classes.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Michigan College really cares about their students - they offer lots of fun activities. The classes are small, and the teachers care about their students and the advisers and beyond helpful! It is also cheap compared to larger universities, but that doesn't mean that the quality of education is less!

  • 06/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Easily distracted. Poor.

    What to do for fun

    Haha! Depends on how one defines fun. The fun that I have never takes place on campus.

    Food and Dining

    They have this little tiny cafe that reminds me of high school... only the food is way more expensive for the same yuck.

    In three sentences

    SMC is all the schoolwork of college, less the excitement and partying. It is a great place to attend if you plan to transfer and move beyond SMC. It is cheap, and easy to stay focused.

  • 06/27/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Will be attending SMC in the fall. I love everything about this school! The campus, programs, people, dorms are all a perfect fit for me AND it's not too far from home!