Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southwestern Oklahoma State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/12/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to balance academics with the social aspects of college life. Students looking for a campus with friendly people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus! The HS Relations staff is fantastic. Make friends with people that live in the dorms -- they are on the ones that know about the fun stuff going on. Even if you live off campus, consider getting a campus meal plan. Find ways to show the faculty that you are there to learn. Ask questions in class, take advantage of office hours to ask in-depth questions. The key at SWOSU is to separate yourself from some of the other students who are kind of coasting. Join a club -- any club -- just to get plugged-in to meet new people. If you're not sure what's best for you, stop by the VP of Student Affairs' office for help. As it gets closer to graduation, you need to take charge of your own job search. When I was there (in the mid-90s) virtually no recruiters came to campus and the office wasn't much help.

    Bang for the buck

    Has to be one of the best values out there.

    Did enjoy being here

    LOVED it here. If you are respectful and demonstrate that you are there to learn, the faculty and staff bend-over-backwards to help you. Loved living in Jefferson Hall. Moved off campus and hated it -- moved back to Jefferson.

    Did learn a lot

    What you learn is very dependent on what you put into it. If you're really eager to learn, there are a ton of great faculty that are eager to share their knowledge.

  • 01/08/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They have great academic programs, and even the one of the top pharmacy schools in the nation. Tuition is not outrageous, so it is affordable to get a great education.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone that I came in contact with while I was visiting the campus was extremely friendly. They also said that Weatherford loves its college students! I really enjoyed the atmosphere, and you will too if you like the small town feel.

  • 01/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SWOSU is known for its pharmacy and nursing school. It has great science programs and great teachers. Also, it offers music therapy,something many universities do not have. SWOSU is the school for people who like small campuses and like the idea of teachers getting to know their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if it is for a year, live in the dorm. Also, join activities. You will meet new people and have the wonderful college experience. Every teacher has office hours therefore take advantage of that. Your grades will improve.

    Bang for the buck

    SWOSU is one of the cheapest schools. For one year the total comes out to be around $8,000. Meal plans are not that expensive, and you can rent books.

    Am enjoying being here

    I live in Oklahoma Hall and have met many kind people. I have made so many friends either in my dorm or in the activities I participate in. There are so many activities one can join depending on their majors or interests. You love music then join band. Love leadership then think about student government. There are many religious activities if you love your religion. No matter who you are,you can belong here with SWOSU`s variety of activities.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers here love what they are doing and are eager to teach. There are many good and wise teachers especially in any science department. Students can find professors in any subject that teach the way they learn. Teachers are always available to help ,and if not there are help or tutoring centers. Not only do you learn about your major, but you are also being taught how to become responsible adult with the help of professors and peers.

  • 01/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SWOSU is great for students who are from small towns and want the college experience but don't want to go way out of their norm. Weatherford has a very small town feeling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to others who have gone here. There are many tricks I've learned about free printing or free copies that I never would have known unless I talked to other students around the campus. Also, get to know as many people as you can. This way you will always have someone to eat with and you will recognize many faces around campus. Get your homework done as soon as possible. Staying ahead of the game with your work makes everything much easier and causes a lot less stress. Definitely visit the campus. Ask questions. Live in the dorms the first year, you will meet lots of people. The meal plan isn't always good if you like making your own food, there aren't a whole lot of choices to choose from in the cafeteria or university grill.

    Bang for the buck

    SWOSU is one of the more affordable schools around which is why I attended here. You still get a quality education without emptying your pockets.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone on campus is very kind and friendly. Everyone of my professors I've had has been easy to work with and willing to help out in any way they can. They all make it very easy to ask questions and if you still don't understand to go and talk to them in their office for more information on the subject. There isn't a whole lot to do around the campus so that is probably it's biggest fault. Most students go home on the weekends.

    Am learning a lot

    At SWOSU I have had many great teachers. What helps a lot in finding good teachers is searching them first at ratemyprofessor.com. This site has helped me find teachers that aren't too difficult but still teach great. It always helps to find people who have had the professor before also. Those students will have notes and maybe even the book with highlighted material directly from that specific professor. It's all about using your resources.

  • 05/18/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper than several other colleges and you have the same education

    Will enjoy being here

    not overcrowded good class sizes for leraning and getting along with each other

    Will learn a lot

    several different class choices

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police 24/7. SWOSU is a completely smoke-free campus which is extremely rare. I can't think of a safer, or cleaner campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities that its hard to not want to be in all of them. Each area of study pretty much has their own clubs, and if the impossible happens and you can't find a good club, it is extremely easy to make one. There over a hundred clubs that I know of and I haven't even tried looking up all of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Students going into Pharmacy, Nursing, Engineering, and almost any other major area you can think of. It's a great school for anyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Take the price of most schools in Oklahoma, and cut it in half to get the affordable SWOSU price with the same or better education provided. They also give out tons of scholarships. You get more for less.

    What to do for fun

    Each dorm has a lounge to hang with friends at and play pool, ping pong, watch movies, and frequently have fun nights with all sorts of activities. The Wellness Center has exercise equiptment, a rock wall, basketball courts, and loads more. Weatherford has a movie theatre, the YMCA, bowling, SWOSU and local pools, and is close to Oklahoma City.

    Food and Dining

    SWOSU has an awesome concession area at the Wellness Center, and the Student Union is conviently located right in the middle of campus. There are so many choices for food, dessert, and much more. They even have a Starbucks in the Student Union.

    Dorm Life

    Having a dorm on campus can be life saver. You have almost 24/7 access to computers, exercise equiptment, free laundry, free internet connection, free cable, and the different dorms are always having fun nights where they get everyone together for fun activities. From any dorm you can walk to where you need to be on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    SWOSU is at the top of the Pharmacy schools, and has amazing Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) programs. The teachers are really friendly and care about their students success which helps a lot when you need help with your work. They have a very high graduation rate compared to most schools in Oklahoma.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus may seem small, but looks can be deceiving. Go to the campus, look at all the departments your interested in, talk to the teachers (they are always willing to give you a summary of the class and are really friendly), and talk to some of the students in the departments building to get a better perspective of the area of your interest. SWOSU is an awesome campus, don't rule it out until you check it out.

    In three sentences

    SWOSU is an amazing campus. It's is affordable, clean, well-displayed, friendly, and has close nit community. On top of all that SWOSU has a fast growing Engineering department, and has been working with Oklahoma high schoolers with the First Tech Challenge which is high school level robotics competitions.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    any!

    Tips for prospective students

    be on top of all of your classes and make sure you are always on time for test, class, workshops, meetings, etc

    Bang for the buck

    cheapest school around oklahoma yet!

    Am enjoying being here

    Phi beta lambda has been a huge part of me enjoying SWOSU along with the staff, students and instructors

    Am learning a lot

    Great school, best college I been to so far. this school has a lot of instructor to student time unlike a lot of other college's where instructors really don't teach. great clubs to get involved with plus great staff, instructors, students, athletics and coaches to meet!

  • 08/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I went to a small school, and so it was an easy transition.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. I love it.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap tuition, smaller class sizes as it's a smaller institution.

  • 09/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you go for pre-pharmacy/pharmacy, definitely make sure you get the right science teachers because some are suuuppperr super harder than others (especially the chemistry teachers) so it would be a good idea to ask around. GOOD LUCK FOR ANY!

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely think SWOSU is worth it. Because OU is the only other pharmacy school in Oklahoma and it is more expensive and isn't as good of a program as SWOSU (what I heard everywhere and looked up). So SWOSU is like 5X cheaper for better or same education! =)

    Am enjoying being here

    It is super fun and friendly! The teachers are great and actually want to help their students and the class room sizes aren't big at all, of course because it isn't a huge school, which I like. But the chemistry teachers realllllyyyyyy push all their students mainly becuase they want to push the pharmacy students to their limits!

    Am learning a lot

    This semester as a freshman has been good and my classes are just normal general ed. so it is pretty easy so far but the teachers are awesome! I am in pre-pharmacy now so it definitely will get harder if anyone plans to become a pharmacist but it will be worth it.

  • 12/05/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely talk to a professor. They are extremely gracious and helpful. Don't judge this college by it small size, take a trip around the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    By far the cheapest university that I looked at. Not overly large, but still looks like it is a good choice

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone I met was really friendly.

    Will learn a lot

    From reading, it looks like there are many different majors here, especially in science.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Rarely hear of any incidents so I think the campus is pretty safe and I see the campus police on patrol quite regularly.

    Greek Life

    Many Greek organizations on campus, not part of one personally though.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 120 clubs so there's something something for everyone, Shameless plug for my own club, we have a College Robotics Club go RoboDawgs!

    Great for these types of students

    Great campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a creepy looking doll in the window on the east side of the Old Science Building. No one knows why they have it there positioned looking out the window, gives everyone the creeps.

    Bang for the buck

    One of the cheapest schools in the area and they have very competent professors.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, surf the internet, and watch some tv. Don't get too much free time after homework but it will be worth it in the end.

    Food and Dining

    The Turkey Burger is excellent in their cafeteria. They have many other great foods. The Duke Diner is sometimes hit and miss but has a lot of variety to make up for it.

    Dorm Life

    The people are friendly but sometimes noisy at night.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors will push you hard but so will real life. Some are harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved, the professors will bend over backward for students that are willing to put out the effort.

    In three sentences

    Its a very nice college for its size, some people may underestimate it for its size. The professors are very knowledgeable and friendly. They're a very tight knit group and very affordable.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a very low crime rate on campus, and campus police will help with whatever you need help with

    Bang for the buck

    I'm going there out of state, and it's pretty easy to get a waiver so you only have to pay in state tuition. Even with out of state tuition, it's cheaper than most college tuition

    What to do for fun

    In town, there is pretty much nothing to do other than shopping and eating, which doesn't typically agree with a college student's budget, but get involved and there will be all kinds of things to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I wasn't a big fan of the food provided since it was so unhealthy and gross, but some people like it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are old and dull looking, but there is always something going on, so it can be fun if you make friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, especially if you are a pharmacy or education major, but the teachers are wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus for at least one year, and get involved or you will get sick of the dorms really fast.

    In three sentences

    SWOSU is awesome! I just finished my first year there, and it was one of the best years of my life.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have strict policies and they keep getting stricter so it is actually good. They also have security patrolling around

    Great for these types of students

    Who are claustrophobic. Who hate big classes and are viewed as a number.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They are crazy about the bulldogs. It is good to see people have pride for their school.

    What to do for fun

    I talk to my fiance the majority of time, be on the computer, or play games.

    Food and Dining

    They have an all you can eat buffet, salad, and many varieties of foods. They have a coffee shop, yogurt shop, and a bit of a restaurant so it is good no matter what your choice is.

    Dorm Life

    You can live in halls that have seperate sexs or mixed in together. Has guest hours and quiet hours so no worries of loud music.

    Academic Rigor

    I plan on Majoring in Pharmacy; which swosu has a good pharmacy program.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a college that will see you as the person you are this is one of them. It is good for if you want to save gas it is small but it has a lot of opportunities. I would recomend this college to anyone who would like a small college that is good.

    In three sentences

    It is a good campus for me. It is small and they see you as a person not just a number. Something i would want to graduate and my children to graduate at.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On campus police department, they do their job and they're a bunch of nice guys.

    Greek Life

    Rush TKE!

    Great for these types of students

    All types. Its a small yet populated university and hundreds of place for the hard time studier, and parties and social events for the party animals.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap tuition and many great Masters, and even Doctorate agrees to obtain.

    What to do for fun

    Eat at the Grill/Cafe. Block Party! Go to the Wellness Center (Basketball, Weight room, Rock climbing wall, and much more.)

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors, they are always willing to help out.

    In three sentences

    The college is small but there is plenty of adequate help for students. Students get to know there professors on a more personal level. The professors are great.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    You should deffinately check this school out, its a small university but large at heart, very peaceful small town feel but big town buisnesses, a amazing medical degree program and a amazing art degree program, If I were you I would take a chance and visit the wonderfull campus of Southwestern Oklahoma State University in Weatherford Oklahoma.

    In three sentences

    An Amazing University, close to home, quiet, small but large in a wonderfull array of education an degree programs.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are almost always campus activities going on like volleyball or other get togethers. We also have 3 sororities and 3 fraternites you can choose from and join.

    Food and Dining

    We have a grill with 4 restaurants and a cafeteria. We also have a knock-off starbucks, frozen yogurt restaurant, and a small grocery store that you can spend your meals in. I really like our food and they make it really fast!

    Dorm Life

    I love it! I'm about to begin my third year in them. Our laundry is free which is a plus and all of the RA's are vey friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly, I've heard its easier than OU but it is still top notch education. We all work hard in our classes and our professors are good at pushing us!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't write off the dorms until you try them! Come tour and get a feel for the campus, you'll love it!

    In three sentences

    I love this atmosphere! The campus is the perfect size and everyone is friendly. Our food is really good, too!

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some great places to go eat and hang out with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    Since I lived off campus, I did not eat in their cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus so I did not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    SWOSU has great professors with high academic standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for your books early and have them ordered in time.

    In three sentences

    SWOSU is a great place to obtain a degree!

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a campus officer on duty, and you can call them whenever. Even if it's just night and you want someone to walk you back to your dorm! They're really friendly about it too - they understand.

    Bang for the buck

    With a low, low tuition rate you get small classes, professors that teach their own classes, and some pretty decent facilities. All of this makes it awesome.

    What to do for fun

    There might seem to be not much to do here - but something is always going on. You might have to look harder than at OU or somewhere else, but it's there.

    Food and Dining

    Eat at the grill, it will offer you the most variety. The Caf is good if you're a big eater (it's all you can eat!) but the grill is generally better. The coffee shop on campus is great too, they serve starbucks coffee all day.

    Dorm Life

    The OKRAs here are so sweet and helpful. All the girls are very respectful of each other. There are two dorms on campus - Oklahoma Hall and Stewart Hall. Oklahoma Hall is the newer hall and it has more housing, and Stewart Hall has more of tight atmosphere because it has lass housing. No matter which one you choose, you're still getting a great deal on housing - only 850 with a roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    It's hard, but not too hard. You won't die, but you might sometimes feel as if you aren't being challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly! There are tons of on campus clubs and activities to go to. Also, get in shape. The hills here are killer.

    In three sentences

    SWOSU is a great place of you want active professors, small classes, and the small town experience. Everyone will know you here, no matter how much you keep to yourself.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are constantly around and make it a point to be of service even for the least little thing. They say it breaks up the monotony of a boring day. They are easily available and will register all of your valuables (in case of theft).

    Greek Life

    The have the usual fraternities and sororities, but also clubs for music and pharmacy!

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus tries to bring in local and sometimes big-name entertainers. They also have the Young Republicans and other interest groups such as the Black Students Association.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Dawg Days! Southwestern Oklahoma State University's mascot is a bulldog and he's constantly around. They have Parents Days which have family activities and are fun. The University is the focal point and plays a big part in the livelihood of the town.

    Bang for the buck

    Walk into town for fast food really cheap and the local restaurants are affordable. Usually you can walk most places to save on gas!

    What to do for fun

    Dorm socials are a blast! Also the dorms have recreational facilities and big screen televisions with large sofas to relax. Fraternities and Sororities usually have great socials.

    Food and Dining

    Duke's Diner is the best! Generally the good is OK. They have their own versions of the typical chain restaurants and they're not bad!

    Dorm Life

    Fun with lots of activities. They have seasonal activities and lots of get-to-gethers to keep residents from getting bored. Lobbies on each floor and lots of little nooks and crannies to study quietly.

    Academic Rigor

    The campus is small so the classes are close, therefore it's easy to move around in a minimal amount of time. The teachers are energetic and willing to help because they want the students interested. Heads of departments easy to talk to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a point to get to know your Dean of Students because she/he can be extremely helpful and considerate. Choose your studies thoughtfully, however, you'll get help if you can't decide. Make learning your priority!

    In three sentences

    I rate this university very highly. The classes are small and the studies are more intimate thereby allowing a good relationship between students and teachers. Lots of dorm campus and activities since it's in a small town.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose from!

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do in the town, but Oklahoma City is less than an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    Not the healthiest selections, but it's not horrible. You can find something no matter what your diet.

    Dorm Life

    I have not personally lived in the dorms, but I have had friends talk about how unideal it truly is at this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It's just challenging enough without being overly stressful and under rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient with the professors and staff, you can always ask to speak to someone else.

    In three sentences

    Overall, SWOSU is a beneficial, affordable college. Sometime professors are more helpful than others, but SWOSU embodies a nice balance between challenging and 'doable'.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Get out there! Make friends! Plenty of clubs/ sororities / frats.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a few good places to eat such as Jerry's, which is open 24/7, so it's great for those late night study sessions. There also really fun little diners and stores where you won't get anywhere else.

    Bang for the buck

    The only location that takes up most of any college student's money is the University Bookstore. There's a location across the street called Ratcliffes, which is a somewhat cheaper option.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs. Mainly you run into the same people every day walking from class to class. Wouldn't it be nice to know their names? Clubs are a great way to start. I'm currently a member of C.A.B., a board that plans events such as the university talent show and numerous other events.

    Food and Dining

    College food usually always the best. Freshmen 15, begins here. There are 3 places in which you can eat. The Grill, which serves a variety of foods such as Mexican, American, Italian. (Reminds me of my high school food). Second is the Cafeteria, which is a buffet of a sort. They usually serve somewhat homemade food and it's all you can eat. The third is the C-Store. It's mainly a convenience store such as 7-11 where you can use meals for Pizza Rolls, Monster drinks, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I've been living in the dorms for 2 years. All of the RA's are really friendly. Visiting hours for both boys and girls dorms are from 10 am - 2 am. Everyone tries to respect each others belongings. There are usually a washer and dryer on each floor, so first come first serve.

    Academic Rigor

    College courses are always difficult. Especially with professors. Sure, there are some here that just lecture and expect you to know everything when it comes to taking the exam. 99.5% of the professors here are really friendly and if you have a question, more than likely they will answer it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always start on you homework early. There are tons of events going on campus daily such as meetings, home athletic events, and even guest speakers.

    In three sentences

    SWOSU is an amazing school that cares about it's students. There are some amazing clubs on campus and some even for specific majors. SWOSU is also where some of your best friends will be made and you couldn't ask for better.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The university police are amazing! They will help you with flat tires and when your car won't start along with their usual jobs. We also have a program called VIPER that fights bullying and domestic abuse.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything! And the RA's in the dorms are great at making activities for us to do, like ice cream socials and cereal parties. And the university puts together lots of social events for us.

    Great for these types of students

    Definitely good for students who don't want big classes. My biggest class has been about 30 people so far.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most everything is pretty run of the mill here. But we do have our own Starbucks on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    SWOSU is one of the most cost efficient schools in OK. Almost every one of the professors has a Doctorate and they are all amazing. They are super giving with the scholarships too!

    What to do for fun

    Well, Weatherford is a small town. However, we like to hang out at the bowling alley or the movies. Also, we have a really awesome wellness center where we can go rock climbing and stuff.

    Food and Dining

    The grill is really good for fast-food type meals, however, Duke's Diner is my favorite with more home-style food choices.

    Dorm Life

    It's never really like home, but you get a lot of control over who you room with and you can pretty much do whatever you like to make the room your own.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the professors will push you as far as they can. However, they teach you in ways you never expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet the professors you will be close to in your field of study. They can be very helpful in deciding what classes to take and how to best approach any situation. Remember, they are there to help you!

    In three sentences

    I love my university! I can't brag enough about all the facilities and faculty! The Dean of Students is absolutely the most wonderful woman ever!

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is lit up fairly well, and the campus police are right across the street from Stewart Hall. I've never had a problem on campus and have never heard of any problems on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is many clubs and activities, for science majors, sororities, and many more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If a student walks under the campus clock its known that they will not graduate.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do here, which allows students to study more or focus on a job. I usually go to the city with friends, which is about one hour and twenty minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of fast food restaurants, as long as a few sit down or dine in restaurants. So far, all the ones I've ate at are delicious, no complaints from me!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun, they usually have some kind of event going on and both dorms seem to be fun. I live in Stewart Hall and its great, its more quite over here whereas, Oklahoma Hall is more of a loud environment Dorm Hall.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is quite hard, this college is known for its math and science classes. Although, they are tough, you actually learn a lot if you pay attention, go to class, and have a good professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what college is best for you. Take in consideration the ability of transportation from your designation, the campus size, the student life, and such.

    In three sentences

    The campus life is great! Although, living on campus is quite the adventure that everyone should have once, I plan on moving off campus to one of the many rental places around town. The class are small, and the people are friendly, the only problem I've had is a couple of bad teachers.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is priced well, and there are lots of choices. The choices get old though, there's not many healthy options, but all in all it usually tastes pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    It's great getting to meet new people in the dorms. The RAs are nice in Stewart Hall, and the rooms are pretty nice too. It's just hard to get used to living with someone else, the shower water isn't alway hot, and the guest policy is pretty strict.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very helpful and always make sure students are getting the help they need. Depending on the kind of class you take, the classes can be a lot of work and challenging. It's worth it though.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    SWOSU offers online classes which are very convenient

    In three sentences

    The staff have been very friendly and helpful every step of the way.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There usually isn't a big need for campus security, but the campus police are constantly watching the entire campus for anything out of the ordinary.

    What to do for fun

    There are many fraternities and sororities that offer the extra curricular activities to fit everyone. Depending on the group, you will usually find yourself being involved in the community. There's a bowling alley in town, along with a small movie theater playing the latest movies.

    Food and Dining

    The grill is an awesome place to eat with an array of choices to meet everyone's picky food-needs. My favorites are the yogurt place and the Bulldog Beanery. I love me some coffey!

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus, but there were never any complaints from friends and other classmates about campus dorms. The outside appearance of the dorms was always professional and well-kept.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors seemed eager enough to make sure you learn about the subject, but not obsessed with making the workload too intense. The professors are always available during their office hours to help students wanting to understand more or for students looking for further academic opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to take the tour of campus before attending, it definitely helps you get acclimated to the buildings on campus.

    In three sentences

    SWOSU has a great campus, with friendly teachers and staff. The professors I've had showed nothing but a desire to teach the subject they are enthused about, class sizes aren't too big, and the cost of tuition is affordable.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus police as well as local police patrolling the campus and dorm halls.

    Greek Life

    There is a huge amount of Greek life on campus, from social to professional fraternity's/ sorority's.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an immense amount of clubs on campus! There is a club for every type of person!

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for those interested in: pharmacy, nursing, psychology, history, business, and accounting majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a yearly oozeball game; which is basically volleyball in a huge mud pit! We also have rodeos and a great rodeo team!

    Bang for the buck

    This college is relatively cheep compared what you get out of it. The is a very prestige college that will look great on job applications and it is reasonably priced.

    What to do for fun

    Join organizations! They also have a huge new wellness center with: basket ball courts, a huge rock wall, a inside track, a great workout room, zumba and aerobics classes! There is also a pool on campus which offers scuba lessons!

    Food and Dining

    There is multiple restaurant choices here on campus and they are all very reasonably priced and delicious!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great! They throw a huge amount of fun events every semester and it is a great way to make new friends!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are pretty hard compared to the other colleges I've been to, but that is why it is such a prestige college. The professors are great about helping you with any struggles you might have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become active as soon as you get to college! Join as many organizations as you can handle! If you are shy, join an organization and take a leadership role; it will break you from your shell easily! Study hard and praise God for everything!

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful and friendly small town school with very optimistic professors. They have a huge variety of different majors; with a pharmacy program that is known world wide. They have an abundance of positive organizations available to join that would fit anyone's personality.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is really safe here even at midnight people walk around outside without the fear of getting hurt.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus for different types of people ranging from Asian club to Collegiate Activities Board.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for those that are from a small town, want one on one with professors, and are used to a close-knit type of envirionment.

    Bang for the buck

    Out of state tuition is reasonable, it is actually cheaper than most in state tuition charged in some colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much around here but the best place to go for fun is Oklahoma City they have malls, movie theaters, and eatery's.

    Food and Dining

    It is a really small town so there aren't many places to go out to eat. The campus has different places but they aren't open as long as those off campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are good we have wonderful RA's who are always there when you need them. They inform you about different activities on campus, they go over and beyond their job, and you can feel free to talk to them about anything.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more challenging than others the just depends on your major and the professor of the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you choose to attend SWOSU just keep in mind that the staff and faculty are here for you and want to help you to be successful. They are available to assist you in any way you need them.

  • 10/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. We've had a few security issues that I feel the faculty handled very well and I trust them wholly.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price of tuition, SWOSU is a very good choice. Again, the financial department is rude and uncaring, and does not assist in much of anything.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs, dorm events, music department concerts, athletic events, open- mic nights, clubs, and much more. There is also a series of events called SWOSU panorama in which the faculty brings in professional acts or speakers and offers discounted tickets to students.

    Food and Dining

    There are several choices for food, and all of them are of an extremely high quality. The food is one of my favorite things about SWOSU!

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are run down. There is never any hot water, and their conditioning systems break down often. Other than that the dorms are safe, high quality, and sociable.

    Academic Rigor

    As I said, the academics are top- notch, but of course there is always room for improvement.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to your finances: they will not provide any assistance! Watch out for problem teachers; there are a few. Just ask around or find internet reviews on them.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Oklahoma State University is a decent school. I feel that budget could be spent more wisely, and their financial department is horrible. The academics, however, are valuable and comparable to top- rate schools.

  • 11/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police monitor the place frequently and always ready to help. They can escort you back as well if you don't feel safe for any reason.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many sororities and plenty of weekend activities such as tailgating and sport games.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like a smaller school setting and town setting.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities always going on such as sports and games.

    Food and Dining

    Their are many places to eat at and the food is good. Their is a coffee shop as well and several options for dining out in Weatherford.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and the furniture is either movable or not depending upon the dorm your in. You can fridges, microwaves and the dorm has many activities as well for its residents.

    Academic Rigor

    Very well organized and many different career options. The advisers are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun and get involved somehow.

    In three sentences

    Small school with many opportunities to get involved. Easy to walk to all the different places on campus since it is a smaller school. People are nice and the school is helpful.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Once you get here, take a chance and get out of your comfort zone and sign up for activities and clubs. Plus, focus on your studies!

    In three sentences

    SWOSU is a wonderful campus and university for those who like a smaller school setting. Teachers actually care and want to get to know you, which is vital in college. I would recommend SWOSU to anybody because I do not regret coming here.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    RUSH TKE

    What to do for fun

    Make the fun you want to have, dont expect for things to be lined up constantly

    Dorm Life

    Outdated buildings but good chance to meet people

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the best teachers in the region with a Top 5 Pharm program amoung many many others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be discouraged because of the size, go Greek.

    In three sentences

    The people you meet here are really kind and sweet, the town doesn't really have much to offer and the cops think it's a big city.

  • 04/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't walk under the clock tower - it is bad luck.

    Bang for the buck

    VERY AFFORDABLE tuition!

    What to do for fun

    Hangout with friends and have movie nights in the classrooms using the projectors as a screen!

    Food and Dining

    Having a meal plan is OK, but there aren't many variety in the selection of food. Everything starts to taste the same after a while.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms need a little renovating, but they are still livable!

    Academic Rigor

    Relatively challenging in some courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check out the campus before you come, the small town environment might not be for you if you are more of a city person.

    In three sentences

    SWOSU has excellent professors who are passionate about their career. It has a small campus without much to do around town, but it has a quiet neighborhood feel that is attractive to studious students. The students and staff are extremely friendly.