Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southwestern Oregon Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/01/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    6 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    from what i herd it is great for everyone!

    Bang for the buck

    it is a great price to go to college you pay for the apt. and food and classes all in one payment cool!

    Will enjoy being here

    i have a friend going there and she says she loves it!

  • 02/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SWOCC is great for basketball and soccer players, art majors, and frankly anyone who loves to attend college in a beautiful rural setting. SWOCC is also perfect for anyone planning to transfer to a four year university with one of the many transfer degrees offered here.

    Tips for prospective students

    SWOCC is a community college, and therefore it's very easy to get accepted into their programs. You should call or visit the First Stop center (located at the entrance to the campus) to inquire about any career or degree questions you may have. The staff is very friendly and willing to answer all your questions.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of attendance at SWOCC is very reasonable compared to four year universities. For that reason, it's a very frugal idea to complete a two year transfer degree at SWOCC, and subsequently transfer to your favorite university (which is what i plan to do).

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the friendly and helpful attitude of the students and faculty here. The location feels very rural, and there is a beautiful lake right on the campus grounds. The weather is very mild all year round, and the dorms are comfortable and clean. Any and all required shopping and eating can be done within walking distance.

    Am learning a lot

    My first major at SWOCC was Network Administration, and I have to say, this is not a great college for computer related courses. The computer hardware is very outdated and the material is not always current, especially in the more technical courses. However, I have heard some other majors are very high quality at this college, such as sports and art.

  • 12/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Must be okay with a small school setting. North Bend/ Coos Bay is a very small yet friendly community. Just be able to keep yourself busy and basically you just need to love the outdoors, even if its raining because it rains a lot in the winter here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend your classes regularly and do your work and SOCC will be a breeze for you. If you like your instructors to take an interest in the students then you will like it here. Classes are valuable as long as you are in class. Lots of online opportunity as well.

    Bang for the buck

    For a community college you can't find any better. Right across the street from Wal-mart so who needs to travel. It is in a small town so you don't have to worry about gas much. Living is relatively cheap and so is the school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy being here but that is to say because I am living at home and I know the town but the campus is open and inviting.

    Am learning a lot

    I am taking worthwhile classes and with great instructors who care about you as a person and not a paycheck.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are undecidedin major, who are looking for a cost effective way to get general education and core classes taken care of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that SOCC has the classes you need to pursue your future 4 year major. Many colleges I'm interested in require pre-major classes not offered at SOCC.

    Bang for the buck

    The school has an obvious advantage here over universities, being a community college. The cost of classes is very reasonable, and there are a decent amount of classes to choose from.

    Am enjoying being here

    I would prefer to attend college in a more urban setting. I would like to have the option of exploring more community activities and hobbies, and that is limited by the location of my school.

    Am learning a lot

    While this college does offer a broad range of classes, it lacks some of the more varied, eccentric, if you will, class choices that exist in universities. It suffers slightly from faculty apathy, in my opinion, and the teachers I've had don't seem to enjoy teaching.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    at swocc, there is one patrol car for security with two security guards patrolling at all hours of the day. they are not very good at their jobs and never seem to be in the right place.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    swocc has very few clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    swocc is great for student athletes. the school is really geared for molding and shaping athletes in preparation for universities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are no unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    southwestern oregon community college is definitely not worth the money. you will be paying for a four year college at a two year one if you attend swocc.

    What to do for fun

    one can do various things for fun, such as: attending sporting events, go to events held at the school, go to the beach, etc. coos bay is a beautiful place, but if you don't have a car, don't expect to get anywhere.

    Food and Dining

    oregon coast culinary institute provides the food for the cafeteria at swocc. the food is downright disgusting and most of the time, it's cold and has been sitting out for hours.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life exists, but because the college is so small, it really feels like high school and everyone is in each other's business. the apartments are spacious and very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    many of the classes offered at swocc are actually quite rigorous. the teachers are passionate and really care about the students succeeding and moving into the next step of higher education.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking at southwestern oregon community college, i suggest looking elsewhere, unless you enjoy small and boring. if you are interested in playing sports, however, swocc is the place to go.

    In three sentences

    southwestern oregon community college is a disappointing college. the sports here are valued more than the education. if i had the last year to do over, i would not have attended swocc.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is a lot of different things depending on what your fancy is.

    Food and Dining

    across the street from a burger king and a mcdonald's (located in walmart)

    Dorm Life

    beautiful view over looking the lake.

    In three sentences

    it is perfectly located. lots of course choices. great school all around.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    3 stars I felt very safe while on campus. It's a very nice, quiet campus to live in and the location is amazing.

    Clubs and Activities

    1 star I wasn't able to participate in any college activities, however, my best friend & dorm mate was a cheerleader and I went with her to a lot of events.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is perfect for students who need to get their basic courses completed. Once that's done, you have a choice of staying with SWOCC or transferring to a University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the nursing teaching area because they have robotic patients in the hospital wing set up and its fun to be able to learn on the robots.

    Bang for the buck

    3 stars I feel that for the size of our community, this college provides exactly what the people in my age range need.

    What to do for fun

    The rec room has many things available for students. We always have pool tournaments, which is fun.

    Food and Dining

    3 stars I found that the food was better than I had anticipated.

    Dorm Life

    3 stars Living in the dorms is a great experience. I now have life-long friends after my first semester in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    3 stars The classes are designed to challenge students, and also to keep them interested in what they are learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get your scholarships applied for early and listen to your college advisor to plan your college plan.

    In three sentences

    This is a great community college. They care about their students because they just built a new facility in Brookings, OR. It has state of the art equipment necessary for teaching at a high level.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Dunes....need i say more?

    Food and Dining

    out in town. Suimins, medateranian cafe, sharke bites, blue moon for B&G

    Dorm Life

    dorms are nice for what they are.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24 HR security and it is very well organized, they really focus on making saftey a big thing at this college.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs I don't even know where to start. we have dozens upon dozens of clubs, you can even make your own club, and its quite easy too.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is good for any student i think, they have a little bit of everything, the only thing i would say is if you dont like the rain i wouldnt choose this college it raines 6-7 days a week in fall -spring, sometimes even in the summer.

    What to do for fun

    Well we have a lake on the college property and you can rent a canoe for i think 3 bucks an HR and its gorgious. you can also go fishing on the lake, they stock it with fish as well... and the RA's and staff put on event a few times a month.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food isnt bad actually, there are culinary students that work in there, they have pretty decent food when i go with my friends.

    Dorm Life

    i dont live in dorms but all my friends do and they say the dorms are very new and are nice, but the dormies are who you watch out for, sometimes you get put in a dorm with very dramatic roomies and its not nice.

    Academic Rigor

    As I said earlier the teachers care about you, you pay for there job, so they should care. We have a great tutoring center with help available almost any time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be respectful to everyone, people come from all around the world with a different lifestyle and act and socialize with people differently.

    In three sentences

    I love Southwestern, it is very beautiful. The teachers in my culinary program are very nice, and help you any time you need it. It also isn't very expensive to get a degree.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is perfect campus security, the officers are polite and generally easy going if no one is really disturbed, mostly they just have to tell people to turn their music down at 2 in the morning.

    Clubs and Activities

    Event planning, Rotaract and Geology are the only ones I really know about because those are the ones I am active in. But there is a club rush, which is a gathering of all the clubs for each term to show students what there is to offer!

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone! The library is super quiet at all hours if you need a study space, and you can request dorm mates that are also quiet (or also loud!) And everyone here acts like a small community. If you don't want to get to know some awesome people, or you don't like having friends.... This college is not for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Community college is usually super cheap and you can tell why, but this one is for sure worth it. Culinary masterpieces, some crazy dorm setups, and new people to meet around every corner means you wont worry about eating right or having fun. Classes are fun and engaging, and the professors are just as well trained as any university. Definitely worth the money it takes to go here, seeing as it costs about half of university price.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said before, every week there is some crazy thing going on, but especially during holiday seasons... I have only missed a couple events, but I am disappointed! Also, the mall is about 2 miles away, and the movie theatre is right there with it.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary students work in the kitchens, and create amazing dishes that can be vegetarian or gluten free if need be, in fact they always have one or more of each. And they cook for a living, so the quality control is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone on campus has the opportunity to do some crazy things. We have played fun games every week since I've been here, and I still have two terms left. Honestly it's the greatest place to start if you're looking for a small town feel with the experience of moving out.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what you want to take, all of the classes are interesting and challenging, but you have to test into the right classes. But if not, that's ok! The administration will help you fix your schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for housing! You pay a $30 fee at the beginning of each term, but you go bowling, go to plays, ballroom dancing, and all of it is paid for! plus it makes getting to class super easy because everyone is really helpful.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to start. The student life is fun and exciting, and the food is excellent! I'm super happy that i saved money and am still attending a great school.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are great art classes, sports, a movie theatre, and outdoor activities. Though this is a slow small town and you won't find things like you would in a big city. And you can't always expect things to just fall into your lap, activities and fun here sometimes require you searching.

    Food and Dining

    When I did eat here it was better than most college cafeterias in my opinion.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in a dorm, I'm a local. But what I saw and heard from friends was good. I liked that the dorms are more like apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Obviously this depends on what your major is and the classes you take. I majored in baking and pastry and there for most of my classes were related to that, you get what you put into it and it can be tough and stressful but it's totally worth it. The classes I took outside of baking were a good challenge but not so hard it was unfair.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions, everyone here is super helpful even if you aren't sure what you want(or who to ask).

    In three sentences

    A good starter college, SWOCC has classes for most intended majors and good instructors. It won't cost an arm and a leg and the people here are really helpful and friendly. The culinary institute here is amazing and the fact that it's at a community college shouldn't deter you.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You are most at risk of a branch falling on you in a wind storm. It is a quiet town and they have a patrol car on campus most of the time.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I you live on campus their are lots of scheduled activities. The student government is very involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to go to a Four Year program at a big school but can't afford all 4 years.

    Bang for the buck

    It is cheap but choices are limited and you are forced to take pointless classes to fill 12 credits.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do. Coos Bay/North Bend is a small area about 2 hours away from the nearest city. Campus is beautiful but their isn't a ton to do.

    Food and Dining

    I am a rather picky eater so I don't usually eat on campus but they have great breakfast.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the Dorms but I hear they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    SOCC is glorified high school that you pay for. If you want it to be hard then take hard classes. Most of the teachers want their students to succeed and are available to work with students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that they have the classes you want before commiting yourself to this school.

    In three sentences

    A good cheap option for people who can't afford a bigger school. It is set up mostly for students to be able to transfer after two years to a four year school. While it is cheap and good for transfer students it i rather limited in it's class options.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is a good school for people that don't really know what they want to do yet. Also, it is good for people that want to get their prerequisites done for a more affordable price before moving on to a 4 year school.

    Bang for the buck

    As a full time student living with my mom I was only paying aprox. $1,500 a trimester. (I had tuition waivers which really cut down on my costs)

    What to do for fun

    The campus is located on the beautiful Empire Lakes with lots of trails, and canoeing opportunities. There is also four wheeling on the dunes, tide pooling, surfing, and hiking.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has good food and is decently priced. The daily choices are divers but don't vary much day to day.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus at home to save money but I have heard that the dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not the hardest. The teachers have a you get out what you put in mentality for the most part. If you actually do the work and read the material you will have no problem at all passing with high grades. And the teachers are very good about answering questions etc.

    In three sentences

    SOCC has small intimate classes, with teachers that are invested in their students success. SOCC's class selection is limited, and scheduling classes around each other and/or other activities is difficult. SOCC is located in a small rather dull coastal town, with lots of outdoor opportunities.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can canoe, fish, workout, hang with friends, play volleyball or basketball. the options are really unlimited.

    Food and Dining

    the food is ok. it could be better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice because they are apartment style. There is a kitchen and a bathroom for every two people in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very hands on. Which is the best part about the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take every opportunity you can. It will take you a lot farther than you think.

    In three sentences

    I attend the culinary school and absolutely love it! It has been an amazing experience and I wouldn't trade it for anything.

  • 09/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is always on top of things. They handle any sticky situation that gets out of handle. And they are available whenever you need them, just give them a call.

    Great for these types of students

    Southwestern is great for any student who isn't quite comfortable headed into a university or for students who love the close community feel. Southwestern is diverse and accepts this fact by offering many clubs and activities suitable for anyone.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of events at Southwestern. We have intramural sports, fitness classes, collegiate sports and events, block parties, canoeing, cosmic bowling, movie nights, and other fun things around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The chefs at Southwestern work very hard to meet all of your nutritious needs and it definitely shows. The food is good and the service is friendly. Although it's really good, you may get tired of being in the cafeteria eating three times a day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are actually apartments with about six people in each one. It's really fun and it has a home feeling to it. If you ever get tired of the cafeteria food there is a stove, fridge, and microwave that is included in your dorm. The closet space and rooms are a nice size and the bathrooms are decent as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic work is definitely challenging and fun. The work itself can be confusing and difficult but the professors help you through every complication. The class sizes are small so you get to know your professor better and understand things more as opposed to a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply quickly and send in the housing agreement. If you want a single room for yourself the first year, you must get the housing application in quick! Also, have fun but stay on top of your studies!

    In three sentences

    Southwestern Oregon Community College is an excellent school with an amazing staff. The environment is friendly among all the students and staff. Southwestern is definitely the right choice for anyone student wanting to be in a safe yet fun environment.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very very safe campuses in Brookings.

    What to do for fun

    Beach walking Hiking Mountain biking Pretty much any kind of outdoor activity you can think of. Definitely not a school for people who like a lot of night life activites.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of local restaurants in the Brooking and Gold Beach area, although I can not attest to the dining in Coos Bay, I'm sure it would be wonderful as well.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As a first time college student I would say that the classes are definitely college level however some of the instructors are a little lazy, particularly with online learning--so it may feel very easy with some of the assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get ALL your paperwork in on time--this college is unforgiving when it comes to financial aid paperwork and things like that. Get out and see the area whenever you can. SWOCC is on the beautiful Southern Oregon coast, and as such it has a lot of hiking, mountain biking, and other recreational opportunities available. Taking full advantage of them can really add to your enjoyment. This isn't a school for people who like nightlife/club scene. Coos Bay and Brookings are not large communities and as such small local business and restaurants are the main attractions.

    In three sentences

    SWOCC is a good school for new college students. The bureaucracy is a little tough to deal with (financial aid isn't distributed until you are well into your first term) however the staff are polite and efficient. Classes are challenging and there is a wide variety of them considering it is a small community college.

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Security is always on campus and you can call them for anything.

    What to do for fun

    RA's here are required to have activates all year round for anyone to be able to do. Sports games are also something on campus to do. The beach is 15 to 20 minutes away for you to be able to explore or relax. There is also dunes ten minutes away if you want to rent a dune buggy or just have some fun.

    Food and Dining

    They have a culinary institute on campus that makes your cafeteria food. There is always something for you to eat even if you are like me, very picky.

    Dorm Life

    Very relaxed. If you don't like your roommates within the first of second week you can request a room change. They are very flexible here.

    Academic Rigor

    I love all my classes especially American Sign Language. My teacher make you love everything you learn. Don't mistake this for a easy class because its hard to acclimate to no talking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the area first is you have never been to Coos Bay. This made up my mind on whether I should go to the school or not. Be prepared to have everything you need when you move in or plan to buy things from the Wal-Mart across the street.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere and scenery is different than other college I had visited. It keeps me both relaxed and focused on my academics. I am very happy I choice Southwestern Oregon Community College to continue my education.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs to choose from

    Food and Dining

    With a culinary school right on campus, the three meals a day are some of the best in Oregon, with a low flat rate, if you cant afford to buy groceries of your own, this is second best!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are great size with a nice sized shared living space with two couches and two tables, four chairs and a kitchen with a working stove and fridge; with lots of storage for food in the cabinets.

    Academic Rigor

    They are good about making the test worth less for those who don't do well at them. This makes the homework worth more as long as you finish it in a timely mater its easy to get higher grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a good idea for you to ask for help when you don't understand something, the teachers are great but they cant read minds and they are always willing to compromise if you miss a day of class with times that they are in a tutoring hall and some times during their free time

    In three sentences

    The size of this school is wonderful, with lots of trees and wildlife right on campus. The teachers are really wonderful, and class sizes are generally small so there is a lot of one one time with the teachers as well as many tutoring, if you still don't get it. With a superstore walmart right across the street living on campus means never needing a experience taxi drive to get food.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Secure. Campus security is on the clock 24/7. You will always see a patrol car on duty.

    Clubs and Activities

    Don't get me started on this one. There is any kind of club you can imagine!

    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsmen who are willing to be adventurous.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fishing right on campus along with $1.00 canoe rentals.

    Bang for the buck

    If your looking at how much your getting for what your paying for this school is top of the line. Housing is very nice, advising is excellent, and most of all classes will meet your essential needs.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do at this school. You will never find yourself without and event taking place. Very fun school!

    Food and Dining

    Your forced into buying a meal plan, which has the tendency of not fulfilling your daily hours. Quality is hit and miss. Very unhealthy for most students.

    Dorm Life

    Plenty of room for personal belongings, and RA's are very creative when it comes activities to make new acquaintances.

    Academic Rigor

    Not the hardest of classes but they will tend to keep you looking into your books. Be sure to keep your nose in the books.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to scholarships as if it was a full time job, be open to new ideas and make new friends which will last you a life time. Most of all have fun and keep on your studies.

    In three sentences

    A small town college with a lot of heart put into activities. Teachers acknowledge your academic level and help you succeed on it. And has great diversity throughout its campus.