Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Southwestern University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 15 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, personable, ambitious, expansive world view, right-brained, better with reading/essays, need close professor relationships, well-spoken

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for scholarships online, stick with a work study job if you get one, be prepared to read, & don't worry- this school is extremely balanced in terms of work/fun.

    Bang for the buck

    The Business Office can be extremely difficult and scholarships are not always consistent or reasonable. Work Study can be very difficult to obtain. The school is worth the money, but prices are very steep. Connections with staff will get you far- they'll do the dirty lobbyist work for you so you can focus on your studies.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have been characterized as an typical SU student by upperclassmen, professors, alumni & staff in that I am outgoing, eager to learn, well-spoken, and ambitious on a global level. I enjoy being around other students who share those characteristics with me very much. Facilities are wonderful, campus is beautiful, and help is always available.

    Am learning a lot

    This school is extremely informative- classes are small, reading is crucial, student-professor relationships are personal. In such a class setting, it is difficult to let the information slide past you. Also, attendance policy is strict- you can be forcibly dropped from the course if you miss a certain amount of classes. You're there to learn, you do so, & mostly, you'll enjoy it.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone can find a place at Southwestern. We have brilliant theater and art students, all of whom are dedicated and fun to be around. For the more athletic students, we have excellent sports teams. I am a member of the inaugural softball team and we won our side of the conference and made it to the conference tournament. The volleyball team made it to regionals as well as the men's basketball team. The baseball team played well in our conference as well as our men's and women's soccer team and women's basketball team. Tennis plays hard and we are lucky enough to have the opportunity to add on a men's lacrosse program and hopefully women's lacrosse will soon follow. A lot of the athletes major in kinesiology or some sort of science. Our science program is very academically challenging. I am positive that any student who attends this school will find their place here.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending Southwestern, I would suggest you have an idea of what you want to accomplish. You don't have to pick your major until your junior year, but it's ideal to have a general direction on which you would like to travel. Join academic clubs, play sports, and participate in intramurals, for these things can help you decide where you want to go in your life and aide in making life-long friendships. Southwestern is a very small school but the experiences you have here will be better than most any other college. As a small school, students are able to have strong one-on-one relationships with professors, easy access to career services, and many friends who will stick by you through thick and thin. If I had to pick one valuable life lesson that I have learned while attending my first year at this University, it would be that who you know out reaches what you know. Don't hesitate to talk to career services or to alumni; they know most about how to succeed in what they do. And most of all, students at Southwestern party hard, play hard, and study hard. We know that stress is not the only key to success.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a pretty expensive school. However, the facilities are nice and the professors are excellent.

    Am learning a lot

    Southwestern University is an academically challenging school. One of the great things about attending this University is its size. Your professors know you by name which makes it easier to schedule extra tutoring.

  • 12/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Well-rounded, ambitious students. Any student wiling to work. Any student who doesn't know exactly what their major is just yet, but wants to feel around and figure out what is best for them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to earn as many outside scholarships as possible. Always be friendly to the staff, and try to get to know them as well. They can help when problems come up. Listen to the tour of the library at the beginning of the year; that place is priceless during midterms and finals.

    Bang for the buck

    It can be very expensive, but their scholarship program is very helpful. AP classes and class rank play into curriculum for scholarship money, as well as financial need and any additional scholarships such as music or athletics. On the downside, dorms are mandatory for freshmen, and with that comes an expensive meal plan.

    Am enjoying being here

    Southwestern employs a reasonable balance of work and play. The students have the same attitude of getting the job done and then celebrating when finished. The staff, especially the janitors, are wonderful and truly care about the students. The campus itself is scenic and peaceful, easy to navigate, and always bustling with activity, usually some form of extreme frisbee or students playing instruments.

    Am learning a lot

    Southwestern has a vigorous academic workload. Be prepared to study and write more than all high school years combined. It's worth it, however, because at the end of the semester/year, you will be able to look back with a sense of accomplishment at how much you learned and how much you matured in writing skills, studying skills, etc.

  • 11/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    You need to be really interested in learning. We have our parties, but you will not get away with daily hangovers here. If you love to learn and can work hard, this school is perfect for you. Bonus if you like reading and writing - there will be a lot of both.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware of your money. People come out of this school with a LOT of loans if they're not careful. Be on the lookout for scholarships at all times, and work study is a great idea (depending on where you get it). I would suggest relying as little as possible on financial aid - pay as much out of pocket as you can for books, supplies, food, etc., and leave the fin aid for tuition and housing. This will save you money in the long run. Also, breaking any procrastination habits would be very helpful to your workload, and learn to cook - the cafeteria staff are awesome, but the food... not so much.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a REALLY expensive school. I think it's well worth it, but you will be struggling with financial aid while here, and heads up: the business office is not at all friendly. Every other staff person, though, is cheerful and helpful, the campus is beautiful, and your degree will be hard-earned and well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Lifelong friends with similar interests, fun classes, and always something to do, whether you're into parties, Greek life, volunteer work/philanthropy, theater and art... There's something for everyone here.

    Am learning a lot

    Small class sizes and good professors. You will have your work cut out for you at all times - this is not an easy school! - but you will definitely learn. If you talk directly to your professors, you get that much more out of the class: information more pertinent to your interests, and more than likely a higher grade.

  • 12/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Southwestern is great for students who want a personalize education which includes one-on-one time with professors, meetings and study sessions with students and academic advisors, and chances for discussion in the classroom. With less than 1400 students and the average class size of 12, those chances are abundant. The sincere care and concern that abides on this campus is incomparable!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have support and have fun!!! Feel free find me on Facebook for more tips.

    Bang for the buck

    As a worker in Southwestern University's Gift Programming Office and student interviewed about how scholarships have impacted my Southwestern experience, I discovered firsthand the effort Southwestern and its donors put forth to offer scholarship for their students. Here at SU, as it is affectionately known as, 92% of students receive aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    I came all the way from New York City to Texas! Although I love New York, I knew some drastic decisions had to be made. When I arrived on Southwestern's campus, as corny as this may sound, I felt the love and genuine concern the everyone has for each other. Although I was offered better opportunities finanically and knew I would experience moments of doubt because of the distance from home, I knew coming to Southwestern was the right move. I now can say, it was the best decision I ever made!

    Am learning a lot

    Southwestern University, although a school small in size and unheard of across the country, is a powerhouse in terms of challenging their students. Southwestern believes that a liberal arts education of its caliber should be something that is accessible to all students, but one must work hard to have. What I love most is the academic learning coupled with the other forms of learning one cannot receive in the classroom.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SUPD is wonderful, and are very concerned with students safety, as well as very conscious of student social life.

    Greek Life

    There are four fraternities and four sororities. The sororities do not have houses, but the four frat houses lie together on campus. They are the hub of social life, and there's a house for most types of people to fit in.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot, and they're active. But, often times you have to choose between clubs and holding down a job.

    Great for these types of students

    artsy, intellectual types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The church courtyard is beautiful, and most students build a relationship with the Story Tree, and old, large knotted tree right next to the soccer fields.

    Bang for the buck

    It is steep in prices, but I do believe it is worth it. I just wish there was more scholastic help for a middle class family with an okay GPA.

    What to do for fun

    Go for nature walks around campus and the nearby woods and graveyard. Go to the local natural Blue Hole. Or, if you're feeling particularly adventurous, you can hop into a car for the 30 minute drive to Austin.

    Food and Dining

    It's okay. There are at least always standard ways of making food you like with healthy options. There is a panini press and salad bar and common stations that you can often rely on.

    Dorm Life

    Almost all the freshman dorms are quite nice for common dorms. As you move up in grade level they become significantly nicer, however also significantly more expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    My first semester of my freshman year, I had to write a 15-page paper. It's intensive, but the classes are quite small, and your professors always offer office hours and one-on-one attention during class time to ensure concepts are understood.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management skills are absolutely necessary. There is time for job, school and friends, but only if you can manage your studies in your off time and understand your learning well enough to know how many hours of continuous writing or studying you need to accomplish before a due date or testing date. Also, have a study place that you really enjoy, but can usually be gentle and without distraction. A place outside can be really good. Fresh air helps you to enjoy your studies, and nature can either be a beautiful background image or a way for your mind to rest when you get stuck.

    In three sentences

    The incredibly beautiful campus does a lot to help de-stress during the rigorous academic year. Though, rigorous as it is, I am constantly engaged in curiosity, learning and discovery. My intellect is always challenged, and I remain confident that I picked the perfect school for me.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is SUPD always making rounds day and night.

    Greek Life

    I'm not much into this part of college but the frats are nice, and have good parties. The sororities are nice as well and they are very structured.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone! I am in 6! What ever you like there is a club for it!

    Great for these types of students

    People that like one on one time with the professor for questions or explanations and examples or even tutoring. Also people who like small classes and getting to know everyone on campus instead of being just a number. If you don't show up to class your professors will worry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an observatory so when there are clear nights they have viewings.

    Bang for the buck

    You will definitely get what you pay for. Good education, professors always willing to talk things over who are very understanding and accommodating.

    What to do for fun

    The cove has pool tables and there are cove concerts every Friday. The frats have parties basically every weekend, and Austin is 30 minutes away! Also there are performances in the theater musical and performing arts. The park is also right by campus!

    Food and Dining

    Unlike most universities we do not have fast food places; the food is what ever you want to make it to be. You can have what you like from any line and its buffet style so eat and drink all you like ( just be careful not to do that too often). They even have an ice cream machine! There is another place with a restaurant type feel it's called the cove and you can order food from there and they have name brand drinks and ice cream.

    Dorm Life

    The living areas here are in great shape. When you room here the first year they match you with someone they feel you would be compatible with, then the years after that you will more than likely have friends that you will want to room with!

    Academic Rigor

    The Course work is heavy there is no lie there, but you do not have to bite off more than you can chew. You have to take up to a minimum of 12 hours/3 four credit classes to be considered a full time student. Also the course work is manageable just don't procrastinate too much and you will be fine. I always like a challenge so it suits me I like keeping busy so I do course work and then do what I love to do as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    When moving in be sure to communicate with your roommate to figure out what you are going to bring and what you will need. Don't over pack because moving each year will become hectic. When applying for a job on campus make sure to go and talk with the bosses early because a lot of students want jobs on campus. If you have bike you should bring it with you because even though the campus has Pirate Bikes they are not always around, and it allows you to jet to class if you need to (I'm not a morning person).

    In three sentences

    Southwestern has a small town feel but it has everything you could need nearby. Austin is thirty minutes away for a more city feel, but there is what people call the square; its walking distance from campus and it's basically like a small city. The atmosphere and people are great; they are always willing to help!

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    georgetown is full of fun and awesome places to go to for fun. the square is walkable distance and it has a lot of little shops.

    Food and Dining

    the food is not necessarily as bad as people think. all of the employees in the commons are wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    i love living in my dorm. there is so much camaraderie.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor at southwestern is intense. there is a lot of reading to do but it is worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask questions. ask any question that you want to be answered.

    In three sentences

    southwestern is a phenomenal university. it provides every student with great resources to be successful. attending southwestern university was the best choice i ever made.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The Greek life thrives with four fraternity houses and a number of sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a very diverse group of clubs and activities available at Southwestern. Just about everyone is able to find one they like.

    Food and Dining

    Everyone always complains about the commons, but it really isn't that bad, especially compared to other schools.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good, the rooms aren't too small and they are kept clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough, but professors are ready and willing to help. The work definitely is doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be dedicated to staying caught up on work and reading.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern is a difficult school, but it is worth the amount of work, both for the future and learning opportunities. It has a friendly community of faculty and staff, as well as students.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every campus has drinking, but Southwestern has an excellent campus police. Southwestern policy leans towards safe drinking in an effort to keep students from driving to other locations to party, taking a significant amount of danger out of the picture. In addition, the campus police are always easy to contact and keep everything from cars to Pirate Bikes in order. The entire campus is notoriously safe because of the intimate nature of such a small campus. When there is any semblance of disorder, police notifications via email and texts instantly alert students of the situation and how to stay safe.

    Greek Life

    Sorority life at Southwestern is slightly handicapped because of a grant restriction not allowing for Sorority houses, but the Sororities are still loud and proud. More notorious are the Fraternities with 4 houses. They dominate the campus night life mainly on Fridays and Saturdays but also on Wednesday nights for Study Break. As opposed to many universities, our Greeks are significantly nicer and open to outsiders. They focus more on having fun but still manage to keep some excellent grades.

    Clubs and Activities

    Southwestern has lots of prestigious clubs and you can't navigate the campus without encountering the constant activities and fundraisers for various interest groups and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who want an intimate education. You will learn so much but you will get the best for the price if you build relationships with your peer and professors because these networks are PRICELESS. Independent and responsible students will thrive in this kind of environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We ride Pirate Bikes around campus! These are bright yellow campus bikes that you can just grab and ride anywhere around the school. We also have a new addition of a horse skull statue, but already this had become an integral part of the university as students have taken to offering sacrifices of fruits and sodas to the horse statue every time exams come around.

    Bang for the buck

    Southwestern is very expensive but the education that you receive makes it all worth it. In certain departments (such as Psychology) you will receive skills on par with graduate school.

    What to do for fun

    Georgetown in general is a very quiet, conservative suburb town, therefore there is not much in the immediate area. However, being so close to Austin, it is really easy to drive or carpool down to the capital for entertainment, especially 6th Street. If you are more of a homebody, there are still lots of fun things to do on campus such as Wednesday and Friday night live events, monthly movie nights, dances and the annual mega concert.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on campus: The Commons and the Cove. The Commons is a buffet style cafeteria with a lot of food to choose from. However, it is general campus knowledge that the food is not particularly good, but you can always get by with a burger, a salad (which are quite good), the rare vegetarian lasagna, and a tasty desert bar. The Cove, on the other hand, has a very delicious grill and coffee bar (I love their smoothies and shakes) but it tends to be more pricy.

    Dorm Life

    While the dorms themselves are not of the highest quality (largely due to the age of the buildings) and certain aspects such as internet speed and sound proofing are not always the best, in general, living in the dorms is something that I would recommend to everyone. The interactions with people daily and the comfortable, homey spaces make up for the size and age. They can be rather pricey though.

    Academic Rigor

    I took the hardest classes I could in a public high school and didn't expect it to be too much harder in college. I was definitely surprised when I had to relearn how to study and write essays. The course work is very challenging and really pushes you to the limit, but in the process you will not only learn the material, but become a pro at managing your time, coping with stress, and writing an effective thesis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as much college credit as possible in high school because not only will this affect what classes you'll have to take for your degree, but in addition, the number of credits you have will also determine your order in choosing your classes and dorms. Also, don't procrastinate in your application process so you have as much time as possible for the unexpected. But, in general, Southwestern is spectacular about taking care of your needs.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern University is a spectacular university largely because of its size and close-knit community. You will feel at home knowing that not only your fellow students are there to support you, but the superbly talented and intelligent faculty are eager to help you with your academic and career goals. Despite its general obscurity, Southwestern is a very prestigious university and has a very challenging but valuable course-load.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe. There are few instances, but when they happen the police are very responsive. The RAs are good at dealing with any dorm disputes. Also, if a fire alarm goes off, whether it be for an actual fire or someone burning a cookie, the fire department is there within minutes.

    Greek Life

    It is both crazy and friendly. It is not extreme like UT or LSU and there are only 4 fraternity houses. There are no sorority houses. One universal recommendation: Do not prioritize the Greek life over everything else. I have seen too many of my peers fall into that hole. It is extremely difficult to get out.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many clubs to list them. You will almost certainly find a club that interests you, but if you don't, you can submit a proposal to start your own. This is a really good way to take charge. Just be prepared for the effort and time it takes to manage a club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have a natural curiosity for the world and are willing to take advantage of everything offered them. They have an interest in exploring things that are not their primary interest. They want an experience that intermingles the Sciences and the Humanities even if they are focusing on one specifically.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know about any campus wide traditions, but there is a nice little eclectic joint called the Korouva Milk Bar. There is also the Pirate Bike program. There are free bikes that you can ride anywhere on campus. It is really convenient.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive ride, but the generous initial scholarships cushion the costs quite a bit. That does not take into account the scholarships offered during the years there. It still is expensive, but I will say it is worth it. But, you have to look around and take advantage of all the services offered. There are grants for research projects, summer research, work-study positions, as well as internship fairs. Definitely spend time with the Career Services department. If you just focus on your major, the experience is not worth the money. But, if you talk to the different departments and inquire just a little you find programs and internships everywhere.

    What to do for fun

    Southwestern is located a mile from Georgetown's town square. There is a nice park and river nearby and a Blue Hole for swimming. The SIRA program at SU offers many programs including Tango, Yoga, MMA,and many other fitness classes for extremely affordable prices. They also host the intramural sports tournaments. Every Friday night there is a Friday Night Live event. They invite musicians, comedians, slam poets, etc. There are many clubs and organizations always doing something fun. (e.g. - the Physics Club goes paintballing). There is also the Greek life. Southwestern is one of the few colleges that guys are let into the houses free even if they do not bring a girl. There are many plays and concerts that students get in for free throughout the semesters. Also, the RAs host events throughout the year for their residents.

    Food and Dining

    I personally like the food; I was pleasantly surprised at the quality when I arrived. I will admit that it gets a little tiring from time to time, especially since there is only one main dining area. However, the food and dining staff are very responsive and there is a focus on green recycling.

    Dorm Life

    Most everyone likes their arrangements here, and the university is very accommodating if issues arise. The RAs are excellent, and there is a definite sense of community instilled from the very first day. The dorms differ a lot, and I would recommend visiting them if possible to get a sense of which fits your social style best.

    Academic Rigor

    I have no studies to support my claim, but I have heard that it is one of the most academically rigorous programs in Texas. Some have said it is the second-most, only behind Rice University. I can say that the introductory courses are pretty demanding but nothing to sweat over as long as you do your work. The upper level courses are certainly more demanding, and if you plan on doing well you really need to set aside time for academics. Many students are involved in multiple organizations and they still find time to do well. This suggests that the curriculum is not so demanding as to take away from your other interests, which is exactly what Southwestern is about: the liberal arts experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend taking a tour of the campus and talk with the professors from various departments if possible. The professors are not trying to recruit you, so you won't get a sales pitch from them. Definitely get more than one student opinion and visit the different dorms. You can find your own niche at Southwestern, but I recommend not getting too tightly wedged into it. If you put the blinders on for your whole stay you will have spent the not small amount of money on an experience you could have found at a community college. Remember that although the bare price tag may seem daunting, Southwestern is quite generous with scholarships both during the application and while you study there.

    In three sentences

    It is a small liberal arts school with a tight-knit community of students and faculty located on a beautiful campus. I can attest from personal experience, and I am sure many of my peers would agree with me, that the professors care about you, remember you and are interested in bringing your ideas to life. The best way to take advantage of what Southwestern has to offer is to NOT go through the motions or put blinders on, but reach out and explore the side trails as you go down your path.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would like to give this a 10 star. My best friend's sister at UT laughed when THE bike thief hit the front news of our school paper...bike theft is petty news at UT, but we're all pretty proud that 6 stolen bikes are big news to us. With our honour pledge here, people just don't mess with others' things, period. Our campus police are our dream-come-true law enforcement unit who ensure that personal safety here at school doesn't even NEED to cross anybody's mind, and if it does, they're already on their way.

    Greek Life

    I'm not personally in a sorority, but the sorority girls here are all really sweet and super involved. There's also several frats and service sororities/fraternities. A lot of people who are in frats/sororities still have time for awesome grades and other organizations if they want, too.

    Clubs and Activities

    My personal favorite part of SU. The organizations here are stellar, very student-driven, and the students are all very driven too! If you don't find it, you can make it, and there's tons of resources to do so, even with budget cuts in our economy. There's too many awesome clubs to cover them all, just check out the student life section of SU's webpage.

    Great for these types of students

    Nerdy-cool kids. Friendly people. People who really enjoy stepping outside their comfort zone. We know how to study hard, but we can still set the book down and soaking up sun, shop/jam in Austin, or even party hard when we want. We're Dr. Who fans, tumblr fangirls/guys, fabulous people, lumberjacks, models....... I'm playing into the stereotype of the SU student with that last sentence, but I promise everyone is welcome and would enjoy it here; there's a really great niche for everyone and yet we're all friends with each other due to the small size (all at the same time!!!).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of us agree here, we're mostly those kids in HS who didn't really follow a lot of traditions, and that's how most of us like it! :) But even we can't resist getting into Midnight Breakfast during midterm/finals week, or the Barcus Society starting random dance-offs in the middle of the Commons. We're also pretty sentimental about yellow bikes and squirrels (you just have to see that one for yourself!). People believe superstitiously that the university seal in front of the chapel, if stepped upon, will doom your finals. There's also this really odd horse-skull statue in front of the library-- nobody is really sure why it's there, but people always weirdly leave food and flowers in front of it regardless. The best annual thing isn't really a tradition at all, but it's the way the campus is decorated during the holiday season-- I'm no Harry Potter fan but even I can agree that it feels like Hogwarts, and I'm not going to lie: it's pretty damned awesome.

    Bang for the buck

    Southwestern is EXTREMELY expensive, there's no doubt about it, and many of us go through really tough times making sure our tuition gets paid...But along with having a financial aid office that really does help us out any way they can, we all stay for a reason: Southwestern is tough in the very best of ways, with the very best and most loving people you could possibly imagine. I have learned more and come to a better place in my personal and scholarly life than I ever thought possible in an undergraduate program.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Austin. :) No, but more seriously, while Austin is awesome, the university really does have fun events on weekends (Friday Night Live, Cinematic Saturday). There are also 4 fraternity houses on campus that typically trade off hosting parties 3 weekends a month. Try checking the campus calendar near the cafeteria exit, as well as the kiosks around campus for other events! But really, have you BEEN to Austin? :)

    Food and Dining

    The dining service on campus is generally awful, with the exception of days when prospective/new students, alumni, or board of trustees members are in attendance. (Thankfully, though, their catering service is better-- student organizations are able to order this for their events.) For regular dining, I'd advise saving money and starting off with the lowest meal plan available: you can always increase it later if you find you need more meals, but you'll never get back that money you lost with a bigger plan!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here really are phenomenal compared to other universities, but the residence life policies almost drive us nuts. Also, while it is definitely a blessing your first year to have room service (we're one of the few universities spoiled in that way!), by sophomore and junior year privacy becomes something you crave...enough to make most of us move off campus. If you can live with it, though, you won't find a better dorms and university apartments in Texas' private schools!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect a lot, but are also aware of SU students' high level of participation in learning OUTSIDE the classroom. I've also never found a professor who wouldn't work with a student who was honestly struggling, sick, etc. They're all really genial people with immense amounts of knowledge and connections, and if they don't know an answer, the campus is small enough they know all the other professors who can give you one! Use their open door policies, some of the best things my friends and I have gotten opportunities to do came out of those (conferences, internships, scholarships, etc.)!

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into student organizations on under ALL the different student life organizations section on the website before you get to orientation week-- you can meet them right away rather than at the end of the year. Have the courage to go talk to ALL your professors after you have been in classes for a few weeks-- that helps more than all of us can ever say. If you need a job, don't waste any time in going to Career Services-- they're some of the friendliest people on campus and they have an amazing track record for finding jobs for students pronto. Take advantage of tutoring and the Writing Center-- we all have to, and it always helps!!

    In three sentences

    Progressive-- and when it realizes it isn't, it always aims to redress that. You'd be hard-pressed to find a mean or disingenuous person working on this campus; faculty and staff are very enthusiastic about helping you toward your personal ideas of successful learning. All students here, while individuals with their own tastes, respect one another greatly as equal peers and fellow human beings.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police take good care of the students, and again, the school is located in a very small town. The campus is well-lit at night and students are trained from day one to be vigilant and how to get help if they need it.

    Greek Life

    There are four fraternities and four sororities on campus. The fraternities all have houses, but the sororities are historically not allowed to have houses, though they have a building on campus with large storage and meeting room space. They all seem to be very inviting of prospective members and none have bad reputations. Greek life does not impede one from being a hardworking student.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of well-established groups on campus. Also very easy to start your own up. Most students get involved in several. In 2013, Southwestern will also be reviving its football team ('Undefeated Since 1950'), which should be an exciting opportunity for anyone interested in becoming involved with the team or booster club, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone but those who are not willing to work hard to earn their education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many...come visit and we'll tell you!

    Bang for the buck

    Southwestern University provides a lot of scholarship money for hardworking students. In terms of the academic expectations of the school versus the amount of attention you get from professors (classes are not taught by student aids), there is really no better place you can go. Yes, we are a small school and you will get frustrated trying to explain to people where you go, but you are receiving a true quality education that will take you places in the future (especially if you are applying for medical/law/graduate school).

    What to do for fun

    There are a LOT of activities on campus-besides club events, every Friday there's a live musical act, comedian, movie or other entertainment provided by Student Life, as well as parties hosted by the fraternities and other groups. We also have our own music festival, Clusterfest, every spring (past headliners include Sleigh Bells and Matt & Kim). Georgetown is a small town-lots of families with small children, and a huge retirement community as well. There are still fun things to do in town-there's a community market/fair every second Saturday, fairly large festivals for Christmas and in the spring, fun runs/races throughout the year, etc. There is also a huge outlet mall less than ten minutes from campus. Also, Austin is close! LOTS of fun stuff to do there.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't great-some days it's downright terrible. There's a meal of the day, a salad and sandwich bar, and your typical pizza and burgers everyday (and a few other options such as a waffle machine-the waffles are great, but you can only get them in the morning). The meal plan here leaves a lot to be desired. Fortunately there is a grocery store and a few places to eat nearby. First year students and upperclassmen are required to a point to have a meal plan (for the Commons, or cafeteria-there is only one) consisting of a certain number of meals, and the other location on campus that serves food (the Cove) is rather expensive. The meal plan is changing a bit to make it easier to eat off campus using part of your meal plan (dining dollars), so hopefully this will make things better.

    Dorm Life

    There are co-ed and male/female only dorms for first years, sophomore dorms, and on-campus apartments. You are required to live on campus for two years, which helps you stay involved in school activities (or at least getting to class). The dorms are overall excellent; at least in the co-ed dorms, which are part of a special Living-Learning program, people become really close and have a lot of fun. The single-gender dorms are a bit different, but in general are also really nice places to live (though the boys' dorm definitely has a certain odor to it).

    Academic Rigor

    If you're looking to skate through four years, this is not the school for you and you will probably be miserable. If you want to do something with your education, you will definitely have to work hard here, but it is very much worth it. You will learn A LOT.

    Tips for prospective students

    Participate in a Campus Overnight visit (Typically start in November). You get to sit in on classes (related to your major if you have one) and really get a feel for what it might be like to be a student at Southwestern. You also have the opportunity to talk candidly with students at the university, an experience which really made me decided that I wanted to attend the university.

    In three sentences

    Challenging but fun

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police on duty 24/7. Aside from the occasional missing bike, no real problems.

    Greek Life

    We have four social sororities, ADPi, ZTA, Tri Delt and AXD and four social fraternities, Sig, Pike, Phi and KA, as well as a number of academic and service fraternities. A large percentage of the student population is involved in Greek Life, but you don't need to join a greek organization to have a good time.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a ton of clubs and sports, both NCAA and intramural. There is at least one club for everyone, and if there isn't, you can always start one.

    Great for these types of students

    We have all kinds of people here, because its a smaller school, you'll always be able to find someone to befriend. That being said, you'll have to be willing to study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't step on the seal! Or you'll fail your finals that semester. We also have a statue that we leave offerings to for help on finals.

    Bang for the buck

    SU can be expensive, but they're usually willing to help you out financially. That being said, it is worth every penny. I've just finished my freshman year and I've already had an independent study and every single one of my professors has had their PhD.

    What to do for fun

    We're 30 minutes away from Austin, Tx, live music capital of the world.

    Food and Dining

    Amazingly good for college food.

    Dorm Life

    The Freshmen dorms are HUGE.

    Academic Rigor

    SU has a rigorous course load, but it is worth every second.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to college ready to work. You don't need to know what your major is going to be, you have time to figure it out.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are amazing. The school grounds are beautiful. The people are fantastic.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SUPD is available on campus whenever needed.

    Greek Life

    I personally enjoy Greek Life at Southwestern. We have four sororities, which all have great girls. There is no rivalry between the sororities, and I have some friends in the ones outside of my own. However, there are no sorority houses. The men in the fraternities are genuine guys for the most part, and throw fun parties for the students on campus. They are usually very open about who attends their parties.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are NCAA and intramural sports for students to participate in. NCAA will have a football team and a women's lacrosse team added in 2013. As for clubs, there is something for every student, ranging from academic to personal interests, including the option of starting new clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Pirate Bikes available for students on campus, which are very effective for traveling from one side of campus to another, although facilities are easily within walking distance from one another.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fairly good for a college campus and the dining hall staff is very friendly. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served on weekdays. Brunch is served on Saturday and Sunday, which is a very popular meal for students.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are very friendly. There are two coed dorms, which are both Living-Learning Communities, as well as a dorm exclusively for women, and one for men. There are also coed dorms for sophomores, which are also popular of students. Juniors and Seniors have the option of living off campus or in any of the apartments on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Southwestern has a challenging and rigorous academic environment. Many students spend a lot of their time studying, but the effort is worth it. Students learn a great deal in each of their courses.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We always have security officers walking around and we can always count on them to keep us informed of any unusual behavior going on around campus. Updates happen all the time on our emails.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, clubs, etc...

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYTHING. Attend all sporting events and support each other.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Get involved with the soroities and frat clubs around campus because they are great. They always do things together which keeps a great atmosphere for the entire campus.

    Bang for the buck

    When you get registered for school you have the option of using your Pirate Bucs card which is a great way to use for all sorts of activities around Georgetown.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling, movies, Austin, and Casa Ole.

    Food and Dining

    Great places to eat and enjoy times with your friends.

    Dorm Life

    Well let's just say hopefully you get a great roommate. You can create great friendships as long as you stay open and honest with each other and be considerate to them and do not take advantage of any kind of situations.

    Academic Rigor

    You are constantly studying and staying up late. You cannot wait until the last minute to study. You have to prepare yourself way ahead of time. If you are in sports like I am, you have to study more and stay in direct contact with your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early in applying and make sure you stay on top of your grades and just to let you know, high school does not prepare you for college so be ready.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern University has a great atmosphere of students along with professors. I enjoy the scenery as well because it is walking distance from the college. The people around are great and very pleasant to talk to.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food available at the Commons are reasonable but there's other places outside of campus that people can eat and usually do. There is also The Cove which is another option for late night snack.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very nice and most are roomy except for Ruter. The freshmen co ed dorms are very relaxed and a great opportunity to make new friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Very difficult in most majors. However, there are those occasional classes that are easy but most are challenging. It's important to learn how to manage your time wisely. Many of the courses are writing and reading intensive. But there are many resources available if you're struggling. Almost ALL of the professors are helpful and willing to meet during office hours or by appointment. Utilize the professor!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active in your community and participate in extra curricular activities. Southwestern University looks for students who excel and give back. Important to have a great high school transcript including GPA. Also highly suggest to meet with Admissions for an interview so they get a chance to meet you and get to know you personally rather than on paper.

    In three sentences

    Great education for what you paid or are paying for. Convenient small campus so you can have some time to sleep. Helpful faculty.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The SUPD has a priority to ensure the safety of the students at Southwestern. They grow close connections with the students and are usually help them out with anything they need. They are pretty great to talk to too.

    Clubs and Activities

    The number of clubs in this school is ridiculous, the ones I prefer the most probably are SIRA which organizes the intramural events on campus and Friday Night Live, which invites performers, bands, magicians, comedians, etc. to play in the Cove on friday.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are undecided will like this school since it is a liberal arts school, meaning that you can test out different fields you would be interested in and be able to add that towards your major when you declare it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a graveyard that people are struggling to find behind the school.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is pretty expensive (about $45,000 a year), but does offer a lot of scholarships for students. I have to pay $18,061 this semester because I am receiving $8,000 a year from the school. Financial aid is always available if anyone needs it.

    What to do for fun

    In the college, there is plenty of things to do with your dorm mates. They are always doing something, whether it is playing cards, going swimming at the lake, playing basketball, playing pool, etc. The Cove is a usual hangout spot for students and has its own coffee bar, two pool tables and prepares meals too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is in huge variety. They have food prepared for vegetarians and then of course home cooked meal. This is a private university so they make sure they buy good quality ingredients for their students.

    Dorm Life

    So far each dorm varies in how they act with others. They could be extremely friendly, or they could also be anti-social to a point that you have to be the bold one and invite them or talk to them. There are two co-ed freshman dorms and one all male and one all female dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask them about classes. If you need help, your dormmates and classmates and even the professors will help you in whichever situation you need help with.

    In three sentences

    This college has a very warm environment. The staff enjoys talking to their students and loves to help them out. They also allow students to work with them on research and intern under them.

  • 09/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SUPD is constantly patrolling. At night you'll see them particularly in parking lots so that people coming in late know their safe. Also you can call them at any time and they'll make sure you get to your dorm safely. On a side note SUPD will also jump your car battery if it dies. Very Useful.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    This college is good for the driven student who wants to do well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Theres a Horse Head Statue on campus and during finals week students sacrifice apples to it so that they'll get good grades on their finals. That week the Horse is surrounded.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Southwestern is definitely a pricy school they're good about giving out scholarships to help. Also you get what you paid for.

    What to do for fun

    FNL is a weekly event held in the cove. Each week a famous performer (musician, poet, comedian, magician, etc...) comes to The Cove. This is a really fun break from the long school week.

    Food and Dining

    The Commons is good some nights and awful others. It depends on how picky you are. One nice thing is that they provide vegetarian and vegan options at every meal. The Cove provides a nice change when the Commons gets boring. I particularly like their Cesar Salad.

    Dorm Life

    Because it's a small campus you get to know everyone pretty quickly. Freshman and Sophomores have to live on campus. Freshman housing is really nice. Sophomore housing is a little tiny but you get use to it.

    Academic Rigor

    Southwestern is proud of it's academic rigor and the excellence that comes from it. Professors are hard but they are there if you need extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded, there is a little bit of everything on campus.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern is a small school that provides it's student's with the very best. The professors really care about their student's achievements. Also their are many on campus extra curricular activities so there is something for everyone.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do for fun at Southwestern. First off, the Cove has set up different evening activities every week such as Friday Night Live. There is also a variety of clubs to join as well as fraternity/sorority events such as Quidditch.

    Food and Dining

    The Commons provides a variety of different specials and choices each day. All meals are prepared fairly well. The Cove and the Milk Bar also provide other drink and cafe style food choices which are pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I had lived in an LLC, Mabee, before and it's really nice because they offer small study rooms (called fishbowls) where I can escape to to study alone. Southwestern also sends out a form that you fill out before they pair you with your roommate (unless you request a specific person) so that you and your roommate match up fairly well.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you are taking and how well you are at balancing fun and studying, Southwestern's academic rigor is fairly average. Of course the professors expect you to do your best but because most professors are great at what they do, the the coursework tends to make a lot of sense.

    Tips for prospective students

    When selecting your dorm, look into staying in a Living-Learning Center (LLC) it helps a lot when you need people to study with and you really get to know the people in your First Year Seminar.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern is a small and beautiful campus with lots of charm. It is a place to make lots of friends and get to know all of the fun and quirky professors.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    An amazing school with professors who want their students to succeed and students who thrive to succeed.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus. Campus police does an excellent job of achieving safety. The worst thing I have heard of happening is bikes without U-locks being stolen.

    Great for these types of students

    Southwestern is great for academically driven, hard-working students that want a good education without their entire life being about school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Find Story Tree by the soccer fields!

    What to do for fun

    Southwestern tends to collect a certain type of student, making it really easy to make friends, you can go to fraternity parties, go to austin, or just stay in with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    Southwestern only has the commons and the cove, and while neither have bad food, it does get old after a while-- when this happens don't be afraid to try out the restaurants in Georgetown.

    Dorm Life

    First-year dorms are incredibly fun, especially if you live in an Living Learning Community (LLC), I really recommend it!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, however professors are willing to help if you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you either love your major or are incredibly dedicated to it. Southwestern is academically challenging enough that if you don't feel that way about what you are studying, you wil be unhappy for your 4 years. On the flip side, if you love what you are studying, it makes all the difference.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern University is academically challenging with professors that are incredibly eager to help in your education. At Southwestern, your education is a priority. The importance of your education can be seen through professors' eagerness to teach, to meet outside the classroom, and to actually learn your academic goals; professors don't see you as a number, but as a student whom they are helping to achieve their goals.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The SUPD is THE BEST! This school is EXTREMELY safe in where you could be walking back to your dorm at 1 in the morning and not have to worry about anything! There are patrol golf carts that make rounds around the campus all of the time and easy ways to get in touch with the PD. They send out e-mail notifications and truly make you feel protected on campus.

    Greek Life

    Very active sororities and fraternities both! Always an afternoon tea, sports event, etc. Have been very impressed by the kindness of every organization!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are these giant wooden pillar things that have COVERED in flyers and posters of clubs, activities, upcoming events are student news! Easy access to all of this and a very active student life!

    Great for these types of students

    Small school students, students who don't like to walk very far, students who like a one-on-one teaching experience (almost), students who want professors to actually care about you and your college experience, students who want to meet very close, new friends and more!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Releasing of the Pirate Bikes!!! Every year during orientation, several bikes are 'released' from their summer jail for freshman ONLY! The rest are released when upperclassmen arrive on campus. I'm sure there are TONS more, I just have not had the chance to experience them yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive school, but great scholarships and ways to easily fund your journey.

    What to do for fun

    Grab a coffee, go to Friday Night Live, attend a seminar from a guest speaker, play Frisbee at the Mall, do tightrope walking in between two trees, read a book under a tree, take a stroll around the art gallery, go walking on miles worth of trails around Georgetown, go to the lake, go to Austin and catch a concert, go shopping in any one of several shopping centers, go to the gym, take a student exclusive exercise class, and MORE!

    Food and Dining

    WONDERFUL dining services! Huge buffet style cafeteria and large sitting area - feels more like a nice diner than a cafeteria. Breakfast is my favorite! Always good!

    Dorm Life

    Very fun! Nice students all around, dorm events and excitements! Movie night, baking night, people making sweets and leaving them all over the dorm for others. Nice rooms/bathrooms and the SWEETEST cleaning staff! Seriously, they treat us like gold.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging school, but in a good way! You are challenged in a way where you want to learn more, you want to ask questions and you want to do your best on everything in order to see the improvement in your own academic career.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is something for EVERYONE at SU. Schools clubs, sports, Dungeons and Dragons, music, theater, coffee shop, 24 library, you name it! Short walk from historic downtown Georgetown and 25 minutes from the MUSIC CAPITAL OF THE US - AUSTIN!!! Prospective students, do not dilly dally on deadlines and responses to things: the staff loves prompt and responsible students - this will get you FAR! Also, don't be afraid to ask questions!!! They love to help you with anything you need.

    In three sentences

    Small school - big time! Number 2 school in the STATE! Incredible staff, student body and experience!

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely apply early to get the best merit scholarship you can. Don't be put-off by how rigorous the school seems, they balance work and fun perfectly.

    In three sentences

    A wonderful campus with a great atmosphere. Everyone is so kind and helpful. I love how eco-friendly the school is.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police officers everywhere!!!!!!!! Their friendly though. :)

    Greek Life

    Great :) the parties are fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    I wish I could do them all!

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly. On-top-of -things. Good at writing essays. Humble enough to go to tutoring, and teachers office hours to ask for help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a funky statue in front of the library that students place sacrifices (fruit or veggies) on to help them ace their exams. You cant walk on the official SU plaque- the seal- in front of the church. Or else you're doomed for failure.

    Bang for the buck

    It's super expensive tuition. But they give fairly significant scholarships

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with people. The most fun people you will ever meet go to SU. There's almost always an on-campus event taking place.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria staff is social and friendly. The food is great! But like anywhere, it gets kind of monotonous to be eating something prepared in the same place, by the same people every day.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Brown Cody. Co-Ed. Definitely go for Co-Ed. life. You wont regret it.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots and lots of HW assignments...

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate. The homework load is pretty crazy. Don't just stick to a select few friends. Make it your goal to try to get to know everyone on campus.

    In three sentences

    This college is unbelievable. Everyone trusts one another and people are so friendly. It's a genuine oasis in a sometimes chaotic world, and I feel so blessed to be going here.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus police department is very dedicated and determined to keep all residents and off-campus students safe and healthy. The best thing about them is they care more about our safety than they do about arests.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs that are a lot of fun. If the club you want doesn't exist then it's really easy to start your own.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is really expensive. The classes are worth it. The dorm and food however is not. And paying for the dorm and food is manditory.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs and activities here on campus. We have big events sponsered by different organizations every week. Our school works hard to bring the entertainment from Austin to our campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food here would be great except that it's extreamly expensive. Also, it's manditory that all students get a meal plan that's a couple thousand dollars a semster. Also if you don't use all the days on your meal plan every week, you do not get that money back. However, the staff is really nice and the food is good just not worth what we pay for it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, writing intensive and more disscussion based rather than lecture based. However, the school may expect alot from you, but the professors here are very willing to help in and out of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get a fish tank. It will sound like a great idea at first but come thanksgiving and christmas break, it's nothing but a hassel.

    In three sentences

    This schools holds a sort of respectful, peacefull atmosphere that is simply unavoidable. Although this school has high standards in terms of academics, it still is the only place I've ever been too where I felt my education was worth more than grade in the class. Through Southwesterns honor code and Pideia program it promotes quality character along with a quality education.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emails are usually sent out about anything suspicious that maybe going on at or around campus. Campus police officers have made the school to be as safe as possible and to make sure anything out of the ordinary is handled professionally.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities have many things going on. Whether it's an event or whatnot, it can probably be pretty easy to get involved and people will have a really great time being a part of the fun experience.

    Food and Dining

    Students usually have their meals in the common, Most students eat there as part of their meal plans and there have been meals that I did enjoy. The cove is a great place to get something at the grill like a fresh burger, a sandwich, or something on the go. But of course when you live off campus like I do, then doing your own cooking is also a challenge but it is rewarding in the end.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty mediocre especially if one is living in Herman Brown/Moody Shearn like I was. I lived in Mabee my first year and I really liked it. The quads were really neat. Now I live off campus which is great for me, but overall dorm life at Southwestern is pretty good but it just depends on which dorm building you live in.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Southwestern can be a bit of a challenge depending on each professor. Remember if you know what's expected, the course work may not be that challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to ask professors for help or anyone in advising about your potential four years there. Make friends that you know can be good role models and make you feel good about yourself. Take things slowly at college with a pace that fits you and make sure homework is done efficiently.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern is a close-knitted community which I enjoy a lot. My professors are super helpful when it comes to questions I may have. There have been a lot of fun activities and events that Southwestern has planned that made my experience there all the more fun.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are almost always frat parties and sorority parties. But unlike most universities, these parties are inclusive and even the uncool kids are welcomed. There are also a lot of local restaurants around. As well as a movie theater and a bowling alley.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club or two to meet new people with your interests. And if you live on campus, bring your bike.

    In three sentences

    Southwestern University was the first university in Texas so it is full of history. The campus is beautiful with state of the art buildings as well as some buildings from the late 1800s. There are also a ton of trees and lots of shady spots to study in or just hang out with friends. The classes are amazing and you can really tell that the professors love what they do.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is like Fort Knox.

    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS of clubs, organizations, and activities to be a part of. Plenty of volunteer opportunities and events happening all year round.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes who don't intend to go pro but still want a campus with a great athletics department. Also great for artists, thespians, and anyone else interested in a liberal arts education.

    Bang for the buck

    Since it's a private school it's a bit more expensive than a public university, but I'm absolutely in love with this campus and I know I'm getting an incredible education here so I think that it's worth it. Plenty of scholarship opportunities as well.

    What to do for fun

    Half an hour away from the MUSIC CAPITOL OF THE WORLD Austin, Texas! Also lots of events on campus such as Friday Night Live where students can catch new movies that have been recently released, see bands perform, in addition to a variety of other performance acts. Southwestern also has CLUSTERFEST in the Spring which is a HUGE music event for the school. Previously acts such as Sleigh Bells, AWOL Nation, and Matt and Kim have performed on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Vegetarian or carnivore, the campus has excellent, satisfying, and healthy dinning choices. Students can either eat in the cafeteria, or the cafe on campus. There are also a number of local and chain businesses nearby to go to as well.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms but I have a few friends that did and they're pretty nice. Some of them are like town homes, others are frat/sorority houses and they're all pretty well furnished and sized. The different bedrooms for roommates looked pretty nice as well - no bunkbeds!

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is pretty intense if you're not used to having readings every night that require a follow-up response. Southwestern is a very academically driven school always pushing students to better themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out where your classes are at before the first day of school. The campus is HUGE and the buildings are pretty far so it can be easy to get lost if you're not familiar with the different building locations.Pirate bikes are highly recommended especially if you need to make a quick trip to the library to print something out! Join clubs, groups, activities, etc. to get affiliated with other students on campus, especially if you don't live in the dorms!

    In three sentences

    Southwestern is a gorgeous campus with friendly staff and students; even people you've never seen before will smile and wave. There's lots of neat old buildings to explore with really interesting historic artifacts in their museum areas of the school. The Pirate Bikes make it MUCH easier to get to class if you're running late!

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police patrolling the campus everyday, so it is a safe environment. SUPD is only one click away if they are needed for an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything on campus, including hobbies like knitting! If there isn't one, it is certainly easy to start one yourself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a secret society on campus, which make special appearances sometimes. They are known as the Barcus society which consists of mysterious masked former President Barcus and his senior posse. They sometimes do comical things at unusual hours...

    What to do for fun

    There are always plenty of fun events on campus during weekdays organized by different organizations, or our famous Friday night live events which happen every Friday.

    Food and Dining

    On campus there is the cafeteria, which serves a large variety of cooked self- serve food, including a constant salad and pizza bars. There is also another place to get food next-door which sells Starbucks as well as burgers and sandwiches. The food has a good variety and students are working towards more sustainable food sources.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very dependent on which dorm you're in, and who the RA is. Some of the dorms are quite old and not as pleasant as the others, but in general it can be a nice environment. Quiet hours are enforced, so there is no worrying about missing sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses here, especially the upper level ones, are very rigorous and come with a heavy work load. The classes are very informative and insightful; they tend to be on really in-depth topics.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are tons of activities for you to get to know people on campus, and people are generally very friendly. Making friends is not an issue!

    In three sentences

    Southwestern is a liberal arts school that reaches out to students and offers a lot of academic help. There are plenty of programs and services which are aimed to benefit students and help them become well-rounded individuals. Aside from the rising cost, it is a great school to attend.

  • 05/06/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Strong and involved. Rush is not until second semester, so watch what you do first semester because they're paying attention. Don't get a bad reputation early on because it will hurt you during rush. Also, the school is cracking down on the fraternities in terms of discipline.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a good amount of options for clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small class sizes, don't like crowds, want to be in a small town, and want to go Greek will like it here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a horse statue outside the library, and students offer food to the statue during finals and before other exams for good luck. It's bad luck to step on the seal outside the chapel.

    Bang for the buck

    SU is extremely expensive if you're not there on scholarships. It's a good school with a good reputation, and if daddy is paying then go ahead and spend his money, but if you're paying for your own education in loans I would strongly suggest finding a less expensive school. The name and quality of education are not worth 200,000 in debt, especially if you decide to go to grad school afterwards.

    What to do for fun

    Party at the frats, Blue hole, go to 6th Street in Austin, and Midnight Rodeo in Austin, and thats about it. Georgetown is pretty boring.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is the food supplier, and it's pretty terrible. They up the quality on family/student visit days, so if you thought it was even remotely good, that's why.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun. Don't try to drink in the dorms though, not a wise decision. It's nice that they're all suite-style, so you have one roommate, 2 suitemates, and one shared bathroom for the four of you. They have housekeeping to come pick of the trash.

    Academic Rigor

    I didn't really have to work hard to get good grades. Bio and other science related majors are very difficult from what I hear, though.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small school, you found it. If you're from a larger area, or somewhere that's not Texas/the South, get ready for a culture shock. There's a lot of drama here because it's so small, like high school.

    In three sentences

    It's very small, so it does not have the diversity you would find at mid-sized or large school. Southwestern social life revolves around Greek Life for most people. SU has a very involved student body.