Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Spalding University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    great sports teams all year round.

    Great for these types of students

    students who come from small schools looking for an easy transition.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the mansion is one of the main buildings and has a lot of history to offer. its an extremely beautiful building definitely worth checking out.

    Bang for the buck

    the campus is a little old but they are expanding and making big changes. recently updated with imac computers and are becoming much more technogically advanced.

    What to do for fun

    located in the heart of louisville there is a ton to do. there are lots of clubs and different thngs going on, on campus all the time.

    Food and Dining

    its getting better. they are in the process of building a new dining commons and its going to be awesome!

    Dorm Life

    brand new dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    cramming classes in 6 weeks is not easy but you get alot out of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    come visit. its a great way to transition from high school to college. everyone is very helpful and the 6 week sessions are perfect.

    In three sentences

    spalding is small and friendly. the scheduling is great for anyone. the instructors are incredibl helpful.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    spalding has very good security personnel. they also have a service for anyone who needs an escort to their car at night.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the run for the rodents is pretty unusual. buildings have names like the tlc which stands for the third street learning center, duh!

    Bang for the buck

    quality, quality, quality! if you want a quality education, spalding is the place you need to be. it is small enough that are never just a number.

    What to do for fun

    student government is always planning something. movie nights and other activities are another way to get to know people. this time of year they are starting to prepare for the rat race or the run for the rodents that takes place during the week prior to the kentucky and during the derby festival.

    Food and Dining

    there is a dining hall, i ate there once and it was pretty good. there is also a coffee shop in one of the buildings. red roasters sells coffee drinks and snacks. their claim to fame is that their product is certified organic!

    Dorm Life

    i don't know about dorm life, personally. but i have seem some of the students who do live in the dorms and i would think it is a good way to get to know other students.

    Academic Rigor

    because the classes are set up on a six week format. classes go fairly quickly. you need to keep up with your work and check your email regularly. most professors make use of the system.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to get involved in a school that is laid back, but will be challenging because of the way the classes are set up. but if you have any difficulty with writing or math, they have excellent labs for both subjects. because it's a small school, it's easy to get to know your way around campus. there are lots of organizations to get involved in.

    In three sentences

    spalding is a small school with a long tradition of quality education dating back over 100 years. faculty and staff really care about the students. the small class size makes for an excellent learning environment.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There has been a constant increase in safety on campus. It is obviously a priority of the university.

    Great for these types of students

    Excellent for all levels, but is exceptional for adult learners.

    Bang for the buck

    Spalding University is a private school and not cheap. However, the education is worth the money. The classes are small with access to the professors.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs and organizations. I work full time as well and don't participate much.

    Food and Dining

    Little choice on campus, but the campus is located near good restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Can't speak to dorm life, however, there are new dorms that were just completed within the last year and more to be built.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are equivalent to state schools. They are appropriately challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask any questions that may come up. There is always someone that can help.

    In three sentences

    My experiences with Spalding University have been excellent. All of the staff has been helpful from registration to advising. So far, there have been no negative experiences.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. Security is always near by and numbers for help are posted all around the campus.

    What to do for fun

    I'm not sure what fun is for someone else, so I can't say.

    Food and Dining

    I really don't eat on campus, except from the vendor machines. There are plenty of restaurant's near by and within walking distances and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus so I'm not sure what dorm life is like.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is equal for all students and agreeable.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would really consider Spalding University as your top pick for college schools. Of course, first depending on what your major may be. The staff and professors are very helpful in all areas. The campus and class are small and there is not a lot of partying going on.

    In three sentences

    Spalding University is a really good school. The staff and professors there are really nice and helpful. The classes offered there are flexible and small and that's why I love it. I wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are always there to help you when in need.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is affiliated with University of Louisville.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many options and you can also give your idea to create your own

    Great for these types of students

    Great for fast learners

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Study hours are Monday to Thursday 4pm to 10. Doors need to be locked at 11pm

    Bang for the buck

    Go to the water fountain, there are barbecues at the dorms and other times the school has balls.

    What to do for fun

    Spend time with dorm mates, since everyone gets along

    Food and Dining

    As a student you are given something called dinning dollars which can be used to purchase food at several restaurants that are close to the school

    Dorm Life

    Its blissful, everyone is easy going and easy to talk to. The suites consists of two rooms that are pretty big where each suite has its own refrigerator and stove. In each of the suite there are two complete bathrooms with a living that is fully furnished. Guest are allowed to stay till 1am from Mondays to Thursdays. Weekends have no curfew.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic course is pretty rigid and fast

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard!!!

    In three sentences

    The six weeks sessions are great. The classes give you more detailed and knowledgeable information to use. Your input as a student is taken into great consideration.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is big on safety and will walk or escort anyone to their car if they feel they need it. Multiple security people on the clock all day and night.

    Greek Life

    Some but not familiar with which ones.

    Clubs and Activities

    Quite a few fraternities and sororities as well as clubs and groups. Sports teams are quite entertaining.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students, late bloomers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a Rat Race every year that is a little peculiar :)

    Bang for the buck

    The financial aid packages are generous and have personally enabled me to go back to school.

    What to do for fun

    Check out Louisville at the Muhammad Ali Center or Churchhill Downs, watch the Spalding basketball team, or chill out by the waterfront. There is a lot to do in Louisville.

    Food and Dining

    I have had the pleasure of dining in the cafeteria and the food is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and you cover a lot of material in a short time in the Adult Accelerated Program at night and on the weekends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in touch with your adviser to ensure that you are on target with class selections and graduation requirements. Develop a good relationship with your professors, they are future recommendation writers (and really nice people, too). Work ahead using your syllabus to ensure you do not work from behind or at the last minute.

    In three sentences

    Spalding University is a wonderful college with a campus location in downtown Louisville, KY. It is perfect for the atypical student such as myself who is returning to school after a brief hiatus from higher education. You can take one class at a time and still be considered full time.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have are always there to help you out.

    Greek Life

    Its very good. If you come you wont be disappointed

    Clubs and Activities

    All are sporting teams are very fun to watch

    Great for these types of students

    Variety

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    its great location because its right downtown louisville

    Bang for the buck

    its very cheap and reasonable

    What to do for fun

    I play basketball there and workout

    Food and Dining

    They have a variety of foods at the cafe for many different races.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus heard they were really nice

    Academic Rigor

    Very good and working with you to help you excell

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a small school with a great community around it check out Spalding.

    In three sentences

    I rate it a 9 out of 10 because the small is small and everybody gets to know each other like a family which I find very good.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good. They come when you need them or whenever there is a problem.

    Greek Life

    Spalding does not have a Greek Life set up. But I do believe you can join Greek Life through U of L.

    Clubs and Activities

    From my knowledge there are plenty of good and fun clubs and activities that are offered at Spalding.

    Great for these types of students

    Spalding is pretty much great of any type of student. I came from city life and going to Spalding the only thing I really needed to get use to was the weather.

    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun really depends on a lot of things. Say for instance if you have a car then you can drive across the bridge to Indiana and go to the water parks. Or if you enjoy walking you can walk down to the water front were many of the people go to play football, Frisbee, go skateboarding or just to walk around. You can even walk down to the U of L campus and enjoy the scenery there and enjoy the food places they have there.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining here is okay. We have a cafeteria in which we could go to, to get breakfast, lunch and dinner and we pay for that with the money on our ID cards. We always get what are called dining dollars to use at the different restaurants downtown, however the variety we can choose from isn't all that good. You get tired of having the same thing over and over again.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. You tend to make a lot of new friends. Mostly everybody gets along and has fun together. It's like living in your own two bedroom apartment and having the feeling of independence.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are good. They offer a lot of variety so the students have different fields they can choose from if they do not know what they want to do in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and make sure that you do pay attention during class, because even though the classes are small they do go by quickly and you may be subjected to loose focus and not be prepared for the upcoming agenda.

    In three sentences

    It has a lot of offer from educational to living experiences. The classes here go fast but they are small. There are always someone there to help you if you need it.

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    Unsure.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons!

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a rat race every year!

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of groups to be involved in where the teachers as well as the dean and president get involved! Great fun!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria on campus!

    Dorm Life

    I am unsure because I do not stay in a dorm. They just built awesome suites for students tho so I can only imagine that it is great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Spalding is expensive but worth the money! I wouldn't want to be a student anywhere else!

    In three sentences

    I think that Spalding University is an awesome school. It has small class sizes and there are tons of resources to help you do your very best.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities and you can keep up with everything through email.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and do your assignments!

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy the 6 week classes. Fast enough to learn the material and not get bored. Professors really care about you passing and learning the material.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You are located in Downtown Louisville, so the options are unlimited.

    Food and Dining

    New food options have recently been added.

    Dorm Life

    The suites were just recently renovated.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the professors are easy going. Many of them are willing to help you out in any way possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save up before you attend, tuition is expensive.

    In three sentences

    Small classes. A lot of one on one instruction with professors. Nice week breaks throuhgout the six week sessions.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It may be more expensive than other schools in the area but there is no price you can set for a place that truly fits the needs of students and that will go out of its way to provide superior service every time.

    Food and Dining

    The pod is great for a quick note in between classes!

    Academic Rigor

    Faculty and staff expect for students to give their all and in return they do the same for students. Every opportunity is provided for students to grow, it is up to the student to utilize those tools.

    In three sentences

    Spalding University has been the best fit for me. I started and stopped a few times at other local institutions but none have been as involved in making sure the needs of students were met like Spalding has been. I am so happy to have found a home at Spalding.

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You're in downtown of a city, it has it's days and nights.

    Greek Life

    I lack much knowledge of this.

    Clubs and Activities

    Decent small clubs and activities if you seek it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this thing call the Rat Race and plenty of opportunity to get involved or get free food.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is quite steep but you pay for small sized classes and more personable professors.

    What to do for fun

    Hangout downtown Louisville or Bardstown Road or Nulu. Go out and explore and meet people.

    Food and Dining

    Currently there are two main locations for food and dinning at decent price with decent options.

    Dorm Life

    Over all, a nice place to live. Clean and organized with a small knit group of community.

    Academic Rigor

    You will definitely will be met with challenging courses and also easier ones too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research to figure out if this college will work with your style of learning.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1-10, I would rate this school a 7. It is designed to be fast pace with sessions rather than semester. It's an overall fine school.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    They have so many of them

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who doesn't want to get lost at a concrete jungle university

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year before the Kentucky Derby they have a rat race. Students love it!

    What to do for fun

    You are downtown so there are plenty of things to do

    Dorm Life

    I have no opinion as I live at home

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont' be afraid to ask for help when needed as the professors are more than willing to help as are those in Admissions, Advising and Financial Aid.

    In three sentences

    I am very impressed with the staff at this university, they all want to help you succeed and reach out to help. They are caring and I am very fortunate to have found a university where the professors learn your name and you are not just a number but a person. I understand why this university has such an incredible reputation because they strive to graduate quality individuals.

  • 05/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety at Spalding is very reliable. There is a security office that over looks the court year and parking lot. Speaking of the parking lots in each are emergency call boxes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities are always available to students. Everyday your emailed what after class activities and games were being sponsored that day. However I work a lot so I did not have time to attend any.

    Great for these types of students

    Spalding is great for students who want one on one attention and like small classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Spalding is much different than other schools. We were the first school in Louisville to become a Compassion University! Were located in beautiful Downtown Louisville. The environment is so awesome, part of our school is modern and the other part is vintage, looks just like a 1900's mansion, furniture and all! Spalding is a catholic school we have a chapel multiple stain glass windows and a prayer book for anyone to write in when they need strength. The most classes you can take a day are 3, we have a session brake down. You go to school for 6 weeks, get a brake for a week, then go back for another round. And did I mention there is never school on Fridays so you get a 3 day weekend!

    What to do for fun

    For fun at Spalding we have free yoga classes on Tuesdays! You can always join a sport there are a variety (golf, boys and girl basketball, volley ball, & etc.) Spalding also host a Rat Race once a year! We have multiple clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    The café at Spalding was not the best. I wish I could say I loved it but the food tasted bland. However the café environment was always clean, customer service was always great, and the line flowed fast.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms while I was a freshmen at Spalding. However I heard they were nice and students enjoyed other students company.

    Academic Rigor

    The teaching at Spalding is overall great. If you did not get something in class the professors make sure you can contact them outside of class for an questions you may have. The small classes really help for students who want one on one attention. I have definitely grown as a student from my first year here at Spalding. Sure there are some professors whose teaching tactics are a little hard to comprehend but if you make sure your voice is heard on any questions, you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you start classes be sure to ask other students who are not new to Spalding advise on how to operate Moddle. Moodle is a website account that professors use communicate with students via internet. They post class assignments and you can also turn in essays due. If I would have known how to operate this site before I started Spalding it would have made it much easier to turn in work! Most professors just assume you have had a crash course on how to work it!

    In three sentences

    Spalding is an amazing companionate school. Each professor I have had the pleasure to meet are truly interested in making sure your learn to your best ability and feel comfortable. Spalding also has an amazing campus and student body that are involved in school clubs, sports teams, and volunteer work!