Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Spartanburg Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/07/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This college will be a great start to starting your career and you can transfer to a four year college.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Excellent tutors and learning center helpers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college, look around and talk to current students. Compare Spartanburg Community College with other colleges and chose the one you like the best.

    In three sentences

    The best most affordable college in the upstate. All of the personnel are very helppful.

  • 12/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The rate for classes is comparatively very low, so I think the saved money is worth any loss of any preferred aspects.

    Will enjoy being here

    I eventually want to go to a bigger school but the campus is nice and the people are courteous, so I think it is a good idea to begin my college life here, then transfer to my four-year college.

    Will learn a lot

    My long-term goal is to go to medical school, and this college does not offer any sort of pre-med counseling for transferring students. However, the curriculum seems well rounded.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SCC is a wonderful college for all types of students. There are a great number of programs to choose from. You can also transfer to a 4 year school after completeing your program without any problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research SCC's programs. Talk to some of the staff and students. You will find that this is a great college and it has a lot to offer any student.

    Bang for the buck

    SCC is a very affordable school to attend. I feel that I have gotten a great education for the money that has been spent.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Spartanburg Community College. It has been a wonderful experience for me.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a great deal since enrolling at Spartanburg Community College. I have had to take some refresher classes and it has been challenging but I have done very well.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it has a good number of safety police on campus that watch, cover, and help students receive a normal campus lifestyle while on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    it has alot of clubs and organizations that help the students, counselors, teachers, and parents of the dependant students.

    Great for these types of students

    online type, campus type, career chasing, vocational, educational

    Bang for the buck

    it is a school that has the lowest tuition rate in the state of south carolina while others have higher rates that do not help with other finances or benefits like my scc(spartanburg community college) school.

    What to do for fun

    it is fun to sit at the campus and get help from other classmates or relatives who may be enrolled at the college with similar or the same course. if an online student their you can have fun getting work done sooner than the campus course may take on coursework/homework.

    Food and Dining

    it is a school that has school soda and snack/food machines in it all around it. plus it has other food areas of sale for students in the library area where the main english courses are taken.

    Dorm Life

    it doesn't have any dorms on campus, but instead, all students mostly get to receive financial aid benefits due to not having to pay for living on campus as well as other expenses or fees.

    Academic Rigor

    it has different academic courses for each degree, certificate, or diploma, which are courses for associate, bachelor, or master's degrees that each student may want to pursue.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would choose this college as a great start off college to get to the futuristic university or career fields/employment jobs.

    In three sentences

    it helps students financially and educationally. it has representatives that help with tutoring/studying, enrollments, scholarships/grants, and bus rides to the campus. it is a college that gives the students choices on how they want to handle their class schedules whether it's online or on campus for their education.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    great education for the cost

    Food and Dining

    did not try

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    teachers want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up for classes fast they fill up. talk to advisers, they are very knowledgeable and friendly.

    In three sentences

    small but very good school. class sizes are small enough the teachers know your names and are there to help. my experiences there have been all positive

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety is amazing. the on campus police try very hard to stay in contact and keep students updated on what is going on.

    What to do for fun

    keep in touch with the outdoor activities club to see what events they have coming up.

    In three sentences

    spartanburg community college is a great school. small classes give me the attention i need. financial aid is very helpful and the schedules work out wonderfully.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    again, this is for nursing program only.

    What to do for fun

    there are things to do in spartanburg, sc which is not far from the school.

    Food and Dining

    chick-fil-a comes 2 days a week.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    this only applies to the nursing program. i have not attended any other classes at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early. lots of kids in upstate south carolina attend this school.

    In three sentences

    i think spartanburg communtiy college is a wonderful nursing school. the staff gives you oppurtunities for great experiences, and really wants the students to learn.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is usually one officer on the Cherokee County campus during the days classes. I do not know about the evening classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not attended any of the activities and I do not know if they have any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that don't want to pay a lot for an education, also for returning students or students that have had trouble with other institutions.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the education you need for the amount you pay. It is cheap, but have nice classes

    What to do for fun

    They have many events that occur on the main campus, but not many on the Cherokee County one. Yet, they still have one at the Cherokee County Campus every once in a while and are involved with the other colleges around the Upstate.

    Food and Dining

    They have mobile dining carts that come by, but they are not reliable. They mostly just have vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms that I know of. I am attending the Cherokee County Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It has hard classes, but not so hard that they make sure you cannot pass. You still have to study and do your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of the advisors and make sure you know every little thing you can find out about your major. Talk with your advisor at least once a week to make sure you get into your program.

    In three sentences

    It has amazing instructors and a great sselection of class. It is not, however, effective in it's way of getting students in the program they want. A two year program now takes about four years to get a degree in because of waiting to get in and then they do not inform the students of what is required in a timely manner, plus they seem to be trying to get the older generation trough first instead of the people coming out of high school.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cuppa cobeana

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    unsure

    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you do you school work you should be fine.

    In three sentences

    I give my school an 9

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anybody looking for a place to go to school close to home and it's very convienent

    What to do for fun

    There is a library, with useful tools. Also, scenic areas filled with horticultural work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask questions. Everyone Is willing to help with any questions you have.

    In three sentences

    Teachers as well as office assistants here are very informative and very helpful. I've attended here before and the reason I'm attending again is because I find that the opportunities are endless.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People with social anxiety, non-traditional students, financial need based students, single parents, students who work full time.

    Bang for the buck

    In comparison to other schools, and especially the major four year colleges in the area, I would recommend anyone that is planning on attending school to start here first. The cost is well worth what you are getting for it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of clubs and organizations that are present on campus. Any hobby or interest you have could be found in one of these such programs.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a cafeteria but there is a small canteen in one of the buildings and a coffe shop and snack area in the lobby of the library. I have not personally tried any of the food, so I am unfamiliar with the tastes and reasonability of the prices. Having them here is nice though, if for the convenience alone.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college therefore on compus living is not available.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the courses you are taking there is some fluctuation in difficulty. Classes can easily be labeled as rigorous, but instructors are very up front about what to expect from the class, and what is expected from you. If you come to class and do the work that you are expected to do you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good school for you to go to if you live locally and especially if you are uncertain of your major. There are various programs of study in place and transfer programs as well that are designed to prepare you for a four you institution. The professors do not hawk over you or hunt you down to remind you of late or missed assignments, so be prepared to motivate yourself. The instructors and staff are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    A small, personal, local college where the instructors seem to genuinely care about their students succeeding. Tuition costs are reasonable and help is where you need it. There are a number of programs and people made readily available to you in order to help you reach the goal you are striving for.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police drive around the parking lot's, and I always feel safe when on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities at SCC, and every student will receive e-mail notifications full of opportunity. Keep an eye out! You will have many opportunities to donate blood and participate in March of Dimes, two things to participate in and feel good about. You can become a part of the campus police. There are plenty of get-together's with food.

    Great for these types of students

    Independent students. Students who want to get a degree and have a technical job, and students who want to take their base credits at a smaller school and then transfer to a larger institution.

    Food and Dining

    Though there are not many options for food or dining on campus, it is still provided. There is a coffee/bakery located in the Library Learning Resource Building. This past semester (Spring 2012) there was a mobile grill on Mondays and Wednesday's, and Chick-Fil-A was available on Tuesdays and Thursday's. Off campus there is a Subway and a Cracker Barrel nearby.

    Dorm Life

    Spartanburg Community College does not have dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor's are knowledgeable and willing to work one-on-one with students'. Many of the professor's here are personable and really want to see their students' succeed. This is by far my favorite part of attending this college, and it is very important.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have just about every club you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    Every student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing is really unusual

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheep!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, walk in the gardens, and go to the library.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would attend this school. I would even try to get my doctoral degree if they had it.

    In three sentences

    It is a very good college. I would rank it number one. it is very clean and safe environment.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security were great. They help out in any emergency.

    Bang for the buck

    Ok on price.

    What to do for fun

    There were groups to join.

    Food and Dining

    Had vending machines

    Dorm Life

    No dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It was flexable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure of your schedule.

    In three sentences

    I liked the campus layout, the teachers were great, and they did help me with financial aid. I need have a problem with one class and I am working on a answer.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that need to save a dollar on education while seeking their degree.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm rooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have your financial aid and scholarships in order because you could always go to school for free.

    In three sentences

    Classes are very small and the teachers are friendly. Ive been going here for two years now and I really enjoy the atmosphere. I would recommend this school to new comers.

  • 01/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are some of the best deals around. Rates are typically much lower than public universities and the same is true for SCC. If you're planning to attend a four year university, they have good articulation agreements (transfer of credits) which will allow you to save a lot of money in the long run by knocking out general education courses before transferring to a more expensive university.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs to join on the campus depending on your career plans or interests.

    Food and Dining

    They don't have a cafeteria but they do have a little cafe run by students and vending machines with microwaveable products that are convenient if you can't get food off campus between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Thus far, the courses aren't too difficult. It does require some time management but that's a good life skill in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and be sure all financial aid information is submitted as soon as possible so you don't risk being disenrolled from your courses for non-payment.

    In three sentences

    It's a good career college/community college to attend. They offer great tutoring services free of charge. Class sizes are small and manageable, allowing for greater interaction with teachers.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    College is very safe overall. Police are always on duty and ready to help

    Clubs and Activities

    Library club, book club, after school clubs, etc

    Great for these types of students

    All types. Everyone is always welcome here.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid helps out a lot. Very reasonable cost to attend this college

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities and clubs to be part of at Spartanburg Community college

    Food and Dining

    Delicious

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to learn and have fun. Very peaceful and stress free place.

    In three sentences

    Spartanburg Community college is perfect for students who want to go to college but don't want to go to a big university. Very friendly environment, staff is also very helpful. Very clean facility as well.

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus has security guards.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school has a diverse variety of clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to adjust to college. This is a great school for that. If you want a associates degree it is great for that as well. If you have problems financially its great for that to because the tuition is at a great price

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition price here is amazing, it is about the best you can get.

    What to do for fun

    Socialize with other students, the school comes up with events as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is good.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    What you put in, is what you get out. What all that is saying is if you put in alot of hard work and effort, you will get out positive results

    In three sentences

    Spartanburg Community College is great. The school has all you need for you to be successful. The teachers work with you one on one if you need it.

  • 02/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are seen routinely

    Great for these types of students

    Older students who have not been in school for many years.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to local university the price is very economical.

    What to do for fun

    I am a parent so my fun is centered around my child's extra curricular sporting activities.

    Food and Dining

    There are no dining facilites on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor seems to be mid range and geared toward entering a work environment prepared with hands on experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Compare training programs between other universities before enrollment.

    In three sentences

    Excellent technical school providing hands on instruction. Provides the latest technical equipment for training. Small in size offering close relationships with instructors.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are no clubs, classes or activities specifically geared toward greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not belong to any but I know that there are clubs and activities for all types of students.

    Great for these types of students

    any types of students really. no matter if you are just starting out or returning after many years of being out of school. This school is also great to start out in and build your way up.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that I know of

    What to do for fun

    SCC is always coordinating activities for students.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of good food choices on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    This is my freshman year so I can't really say how difficult academics are. I know for me I have had a hard time personally but I think that is because of my many years of being out of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest doing some research on what type of degree you are aiming for. The academic counselors at SCC are great at helping you figure these things out but the decision comes down to how you feel. Also the staff in the financial aide office are all knowledgeable and willing to help.

    In three sentences

    The staff have all been very supportive and knowledgeable. I returned to college after 13 years of being in the work force and a devoted mother. Everyone at SCC has made the transition so easy.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Groups and organizations to join. Take classes online.

    Food and Dining

    None

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are slightly demanding

    Tips for prospective students

    Access to the teachers is usually good through school email system.

    In three sentences

    Is a good school to go to to get your generic classes from to transfer to a 4 year school. Be sure to get to school early for class as parking can be an issue. School uses professors from all different schools in the area.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Spartanburg Community College holds events from time to time .

    Food and Dining

    There are a few vending machines, Chic fila on certain days , and a canteen.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Spartanburg Community College are great. The professors are usually always willing to help and the TLC is there for additional help.

    In three sentences

    Spartanburg Community College is a great school to attend especially just to start off your academic venture. They provide great classes both online and on campus. Very nice and helpful people with good attitudes and longlasting connections.