Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Spokane Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for small classroom sizes and the ability to approach a professors easily without too many people waiting in line.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and really get to know the transfer councilors. Make an appointment with them immediately and plan out your future courses at SCC so you have a plan on what to do in your future. Also, buy your text books early so you do not have to wait in line for 2 to 3 hours at the book store!

    Bang for the buck

    SCC is a community college, so the tuition is not as high as universities. It provides students with a good education without having to pay as much.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here because SCC offers many programs to help students in their academic studies. For example, the tutoring center program is a great addition to the college because many students receive extra help from student tutors. The working environment is comfortable and the tutors are full of information on their specific subjects. This really helps when you do not understand what the professor or book is saying!

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot at SCC. I have been lucky enough to receive teachers who do well at teaching and have the ability to lecture on a course without me becoming completely bored. The course work allows me to become more independent and learn how to manage my time wisely.

  • 12/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For people who want to have fun while getting an education! There are so many different people here! I have people in my class that are in their 60's and 70's, but a majority are under 40. Teachers are extremely understanding to those with children as well!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid in early!!! There are a lot of students who apply so it takes the financial aid office a while to process them all. And make sure you talk with a counselor from the program that you're interested in because pre-reqs for courses and transfers can sometimes differ.

    Bang for the buck

    It's community college so it's cheaper than a four year!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is awesome! The cafe makes superb food, and there's plenty of places to chill, study, or have fun. This campus has everything from programs to resources!

    Am learning a lot

    A majority of the professors are great and really enjoy what they do, but there's always those that seem like they love making your life hell.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    for the most part, our school is very safe. there may have been one or two incidences that i have heard reported of this year, but overall, there really isn't much to fear here. we're in a good part of town, security is pretty tight, and everyone is usually quite friendly and welcoming.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many, many clubs to enroll in throughout the school. they are always recruiting new people throughout the quarters. once a new quarter starts up, you'll find that club recruitment is in full swing at every angle.

    Bang for the buck

    the classes i am taking have definitely been worth the $1200 i am paying in tuition. the school's tuition is definitely a lot cheaper than a standard university or college. i would rather pay $4800 per year in tuition as opposed to $30,000 like other major colleges charge.

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends in the cafeteria, walk around the campus, see what the student government is offering for activites on certain days. we do have face painting days, karakoe days in the coffee shop, and many more activities to keep us entertained.

    Food and Dining

    the food could be better. while there is a broad selection of food to choose from in the cafeteria, it is generally very expensive. it is very difficult to get a whole meal for less than $5, unless you want to eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and milk everyday. there are hamburgers, chicken strips, fries, sub salads, rice, pizza, and a variety of other things, but as i said, it is rather expensive. we do have a restaurant in building 1 that is reputed to have good food, but it is by reservation only. i have not eaten there.

    Dorm Life

    the school does not have dorms. people either live on their own, with parents, or with friends and roommates somewhere in town.

    Academic Rigor

    this school definitely has some high-caliber classes that may prove difficult for some students. but if you apply yourself, you should be just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    always turn in your homework on time. study everything, even when you think you already know the content. keep up with your current coursework so you don't get behind or feel confused. if you feel like you are struggling with a class, seek help immediately. if you cannot find satisfactory help with a class, drop it as soon as possible. you may be able to get a small portion of your tuition back if you trop the class quickly.

    In three sentences

    spokane community college is a great school with a diversity of classes to offer across the spectrum. the food is good, though a lttle on the expensive side of things. the professors are generally nice and the classes are easy as long as you apply yourself and put forth a good effort.

  • 11/09/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I have already toured Spokane Community College. I toured this college my sophomore year of high school and I am now a senior in high school and have been interested since I learned they have a Baking and Pastry Arts program.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    spokane community college has a lot of great activities, they have a huge game room, every week there are new things to do.

    Food and Dining

    the food is always fresh, there are great choices, and the food taste great.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    academics are not that difficult, academics require time to study, academics shouldn't be put off.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared, don't get frustrated, keep trying.

    In three sentences

    spokane community college is a great school. the spokane community college resources can sometimes be disorganized, spokane community college is pretty easy to go to.

  • 02/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    so far there seems to be pretty good security. there were some problems with security issues a few months ago.

    Great for these types of students

    students completing aa degree. 2 year degree.

    Bang for the buck

    scc is definitely a great price for what they offer. they offer a wide range of classes and times and it is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    i'm a new mom so all i do is study and take care of my little love. sorry. scc does have quite a bit of activities that students can join.

    Food and Dining

    scc has a range of food items and they are reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    not for me.

    Academic Rigor

    i think scc is fairly rigorous when it comes to expectations of students and deadlines. i am happy so far with the education the teachers provide.

    Tips for prospective students

    see a counselor before you sign up for classes. make sure you are taking the right classes for your degree. check teachers on ratemyprofessor.com.

    In three sentences

    spokane community college is great to get your prerequisites out of the way and also completing your aa degree. i have so far enjoyed scc for the most part. they have a wide range of classes available.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is equipped with emergency campus security phones at all of the parking lots and has security stationed in the main building on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    the science building has been recently built and its facilities are very nice. for anyone wanting to take science classes of any kind this is the place to get inexpensive courses that teach all of the basics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i call it little stonehenge, it is a small amphitheater in the middle of the campus where speeches, plays, and rallies are located in the summer months.

    Bang for the buck

    many of the classes are taught by teachers that could or would be employed by universities of higher calibers, but these teachers choose spokane community college because it is a wonderful place to work. the facilities have recently been upgraded for many of the courses and some of my professors are doctorate level (ph.d) certified in their field.

    What to do for fun

    there is a game room in the lair student building that is a source of fun. other than that i'm uncertain.

    Food and Dining

    orlando's and the spokane community college bakery are run by culinary arts students and is one of the perks of the school. they also have a wide selection of food at the main cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    spokane community college doesn't have dorms that i know of.

    Academic Rigor

    depending upon the teacher and class the academic rigor varies. some classes are simple and others are very intensive, especially the writing intensive classes and diversities.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that if you attend spokane community college you maintain a good communication line to your instructors and ask as many questions as you can.

    In three sentences

    from my experience at spokane community college it is a well rounded community college with some of the best teachers i have had the pleasure of learning from. some teachers there are under-par but the vast majority are fun and easy to talk to. i would rate spokane community college as an a- school to attend based on previous learning experiences.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Look for what you want and you will find it here :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    GU is right around the corner

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you put into it

    What to do for fun

    Many different activities.

    Food and Dining

    Good selection

    Dorm Life

    I live at home

    Academic Rigor

    Always room for improvement

    Tips for prospective students

    Look forward and always ask questions

    In three sentences

    SCC is a great way to get ready for a four year college. I am very pleased to be apart of this college.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is provided at all times, which makes all students feel more at ease for protection.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 50 clubs and activies to enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    Students will be able to intermingle with other students of different backgrounds and will form life long relationships through this process.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs are offered, and students have the oppurtunity to start a club of their own interests.

    Food and Dining

    There are a wide variety of foods to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Exceptional

    Tips for prospective students

    I you are unsure of what you would like to major in, attend a community college to get your footing which will enable you to find your path.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Community College is the first stepping stone to a great future. Their resources and faculty are highly regarded by many students as exceptional.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At Spokane Community College, there are lot's of fun things that you can try. You can sit in comfortable chairs in the cafe area, eating while listening to small music bands play their music. You can play tennis or go swimming in the College's swimming pool. Or if the weather is nice, you can sit outside in and admire what beauty the school has attempted to make with it's trees and flowers. There are also clubs and activities that you can sign up for if it strikes your fancy. There are plenty of things to do, the question is, does the school have what you want?

    Food and Dining

    The Food and Dining section of Spokane Community College is not bad actually. They have a snack bar where you can buy food on the go if you have a busy schedule. They sell sandwiches and desserts and all sorts of delicious food. Oh, they also have a small restaurant called Orlando's where you actually get food that comes straight out of the oven. The food is all fresh and pretty delicious. They also sell fresh bread and desserts where you can just wait and watch them make the food.

    Dorm Life

    First, Spokane Community doesn't have any dormitories. It's a community college, not a university. The location where the school is at kinda makes it difficult to have a place where students can stay. So that is why I gave it a 1 star, because there are dormitories, plus the school is not big enough for that.

    Academic Rigor

    At Spokane Community College, the teachers want you to actually succeed and to achieve your dreams. They are thorough in their teachings and they try to push you so that you will become ambitious and determined in your quest for the ultimate dream job. On the other hand, they treat you like an adult and they don't stand over you every 5 seconds to see if you are doing your work. They make it clear that it is your responsibility to be organized and do your work, so that you will be ready for your career. The teachers here at the school are always willingly to help you if you have any questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    First, future students, get your FAFSA application done as soon as possible. It will mean less trouble in the future. It is very important that to know that the dates and times for applying for FAFSA, Work study, and other stuff like that. Also, I would suggest that you should take the FYI program before starting school, it was very helpful and you get to know the details of the school.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Community College is a cool place to start your education. It's cheaper than other schools and there is always something going on. You will feel comfortable walking around the campus.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own police station right on campus, with giant blue and red buttons and a com system. We also have a criminal justice system. Many of my fellow students are in the criminal justice system. I feel very safe. It is very friendly here.

    Bang for the buck

    I am recieving a great education and learning things that others or myself could not teach me.

    What to do for fun

    We have a great gym and a large park right in the middle of the college.

    Food and Dining

    We have our own grill and cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life; however, there is student housing right off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Closed mouths do not get fed.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Community College is great. They have really good teachers and friendly students. They are very informative and helpful.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has had personal safety problems, but no more than is common to the area. Be wise about being in a public place and you will be fine. Workout in designated areas, lock your vehicles, and stay where there are other students. The campus has a security training program so all in all it is a safe campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the college that will give you the best bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    Be sure to enjoy your experience. In addition to being a beautifully organized campus there are many special niches to discover. Go to the lair or library to relax or study. Take time to walk through the buildings and see all the academia. The college is a diverse place with diverse people so for fun, participate in something you have never done somewhere you have never seen.

    Food and Dining

    There are snacks available in the bookstore, a dining hall, and several unique options. The dining facility has several restaurant facilities and often you will find live entertainment as clubs or artist perform in the hall. My personal favorite is the recent addition of the coffee bar complete with fireplace and cozy seating. Also, when it comes to dining you will not want to miss is the culinary departments gourmet restaurant and bakery located in building one.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms offered at Spokane Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Success is completely reliant on the individual student. While it is a Community College the professors are very qualified and expect university quality work. You will be able to work around personal obligations and conflicts to maintain a good grade, but it is college. To complete your studies or transfer to your next step you must have academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to attend here be prepared to keep focused. You will need to take time to work with counselors to design a good schedule and be prepared to show up early for parking (or take the bus as it is much easier). You will be able to enjoy all the opportunities presented on campus with out stress if you follow these simple steps.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Community College is a wonderful place to get things started. The Faculty and Staff have always answered my questions. I have participated in their clubs, online classes, and received an Associates of Applied Science from here with ease.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They always have a security guard wandering around as well as well lighted parking lots with a build in security button to push if you need help.

    Greek Life

    I do not know much about the Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer a wide variety of clubs as well as activities. It seems they have a new activity going almost everyday. My favorite club is the parent club the school gives the club money so parents can meet up with their children and do fun activities.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that want to go to technical school. Most students that complete their technical program our guaranteed a job.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school offers a big foot card for rapid easy refunds. You can the card just like a debit card without having to have good credit. In fact it will help build your credit. Your financial aid is uploaded directly onto the card days before most people get their checks. They also have ATM's around the school to get cash out if needed.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to go into a specific technical field this is the place to go. You can get your technical degree in two-years at a low cost and have an almost guaranteed job when you are completed.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers a variety of activities put on by the student body they also offer a wide variety of clubs. The school has a swimming pool and exercise room. They also have a game room for your entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The school offers a variety of different cafe's and dinning halls. You will not go hungry or thirsty here.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    They are great in this department. Very fair and willing to help if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an admissions counselor before trying to do it all on your own they are their to help you and do a good job at it. Research all the college has to offer you will be surprised by all the available resources they have for students from a food bank to multiple scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Community College is a great school because it offers a wide variety of technical programs that most colleges do not offer. Spokane Community College has great professors that are always willing to go the extra mile. Spokane Community College is a great way to start your college career.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is pretty good.

    What to do for fun

    Movies and shopping are the only real options in Spokane.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm here.

    Academic Rigor

    Math and Science is top notch.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice campus with a varied group of students. The math and science departments provide a quality education. I've generally received positive assistance.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a large security presence. There was a rape in the parking lot last fall, but the incident was not random. I believe that the woman knew her attacker.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Communications club. Drama club.

    Great for these types of students

    Culinary arts. Mechanics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school for such low tuition costs.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different clubs and groups that meet on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food quality is fair. The bakery associated with the Culinary Arts program that is in Building 1 is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on or near the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers I have had a very serious about academic success.

    Tips for prospective students

    The online learning and teacher/student resource program ANGEL is very temperamental. It is often down and will shut down during quizzes or tests. Takes your tests and online quizzes before the deadline, just in case you run out of time, that way the teacher can help you or fix the problem before the deadline.

    In three sentences

    I have had very good experiences at Spokane Community College. All of my classes have been beneficial. However, working with the Registration office and staff was difficult at times.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This really is a very safe campus. very little crime happens on campus and the crimes that do occur or crimes of opportunity, such as stealing an unattended bike or laptop.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at this college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are very little intramural sports or clubs making it very difficult to get involved actively with the college.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking for a more career oriented and focused education. They offer a lot of two year programs that will get you a technical degree in a much faster and more affordable way.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The entire campus is situated around a large mall or circular courtyard. many students use this large open space for studying and many professors will hold class out there on a nice day.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is pretty cheap. It really is the way to go financially. Going here for two years and then transferring to a four year school would save and extreme amount of money.

    What to do for fun

    It is a pretty small commuter campus so there really are not a lot of activities to do.

    Food and Dining

    I honestly have never eaten at the cafes in or around campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a community college, so the the classes are obviously not as rigorous as a four year institution. However it is a good transition school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch out for the data processing form that you have to fill out for financial aid in addition to the FAFSA. Otherwise, you may not get financial aid in time for when tuition is due. This happened to me, and they failed to mention the data processing form until it was too late.

    In three sentences

    The class I am currently taking is very laid back yet still challenging, which is good. Dealing with financial is an extremely frustrating and difficult process. However, admissions went very smoothly.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Not too bad

    In three sentences

    The aviation maintenance & avionics program are fantastic.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of recreational areas surrounding Spokane Community College. If I had to choose it would be the great camping areas nearby. Group camping with other students is always a blast.

    Food and Dining

    I did stop for a bite to eat and it was pretty good. But be sure to look out for Sasquatch at the Bigfoot cafe!!!

    Dorm Life

    Not really sure on this one.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors here mean BUSINESS! Which means you have a good chance at a promising career later. If you're willing to do your part that is...

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to Susan Morgado if you have ANY questions at all. She is the best and I don't know what I would have done without her.

    In three sentences

    Very friendly atmosphere. Fun, welcoming, and very helpful staff. Totally cool mascot!

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is poor; the overall environment of the campus is poor.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs for all

    Great for these types of students

    Spokane Community College is great for students of all ethics, races, and diversities.

    What to do for fun

    I do cross country and track as well as ultimate frisbee for fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is excelent as the college has an incredible culinary program.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at SCC.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are as rigorous as a university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early and before priority deadlines expire.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Community College is a great education for the investment made. Also, the professors prepare you for the workload of the real world. Finally, The counseling staff is very helpful in assisting you on your degree pathway.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This school has many activities to be involved it as well as clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe there has decent food, but it is way overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    SCC is close enough to my house I do not live in dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study! Many of the teachers give out study guides, so do them! They are a huge help when it comes to testing. Also, go to class. Going is way easier than trying to make up work.

    In three sentences

    This college is a great way to save money and get a decent education. Although it has several areas where it could improve, I gave it a gold star. The teachers, for the most part, love their jobs and are much help to us students.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Are campus here is pretty safe. Occasionally we have the annoying pan handlers across the street or single people doing stupid things. Overall, in my opinion, they do a decent job of keeping our campus clean and safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    My favorite club and activity here at SCC is the Woodsman Club. It's my favorite because I started it and have been working on it non-stop for over the last year. I'm finally starting to see it pay off and look forward to looking to compete and continue on. There are a lot of clubs and many of them are very active and have a strong following.

    Great for these types of students

    If your the type of student that likes to work hard, have a high self motivated drive and push yourself over the edge than Spokane Community College is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not sure of any. Only been here one year, but at the Society of American Forestry national convention I learned a few forester chants!

    Bang for the buck

    I deserve the I Don't Want to Pay for College scholarship because I work hard for myself, family, friends, school and community. My time has been highly invested in the Woodsman Club team at my school which I restarted and have started running fresh. It has also been involved with various planting events, ski patrol, thinning and ranch hand work and helping other students with classwork. I enjoy my life and look forward to getting onto work and having an impact on the environment and society! This scholarship would help with that by adding more fund to my aresenal and making it all happen! Thanks for your time!

    What to do for fun

    Spokane is amazing if you are the outdoorsy type of person. I love the outdoors and there is always something to be doing around here. Hiking, camping, skiing, snowmobiling, water sports, disc golf and the list can go on, but if your into that kind of stuff Spokane and surrounding areas is the place for you!

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining on campus sucks but if you go over to the Gonzaga University District or downtown you can find whatever you want in a matter of a few minutes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm and Spokane Community College doesn't really have each of one either.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the teacher and how much you want to get out of it. If you want to learn a lot of things and keep moving forward you have to find the information around here. If your lazy and just going to school, this place may or may not work for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the program and investigate what you want to do. If your fresh out of high school, take a break and learn about you. If you've already takin that break, put your head in the books and never give up.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Community College is an interesting place with interesting people and crazy instructors. People learn here with hands on experience and the teachers have time for you, sometimes. Overall, not a bad school and we're fortunate to have the students and instructors we have.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Lair is a good spot there is always something going on!

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs, and the school puts on a lot of activities

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! Especially in the restaurant for the Culinary students

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus so not to sure.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academic structure, and everyone is willing to explain and help when you need it

    Tips for prospective students

    make friends and use the study time to your advantage Dont be afraid to ask for help

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy how friendly everyone is. The teachers all seem very nice, and willing to help. The campus is Very nice, and the environment is relaxing.

  • 11/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For the amount of money that you would pay at a high-priced University, you get a much better price for the same education. I know many students who go to Gonzaga right down the road and I feel as though my money is better spent at my college.

    What to do for fun

    The campus offers many clubs, and student activities all year long.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe and lunch area, and the food is great.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Spokane Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are just as rigorous as university classes. Some of the professors also work at Gonzaga University and they lend you the same academic knowledge. No class load is impossible, you just have to work hard an study in every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study for thirty more minutes than you think you should. Always keep on top of when assignments are due and listen diligently in class. Your teachers are there to help so never feel silly for asking about a subject that you don't understand.

    In three sentences

    It is a school that helps students of all ages achieve a degree. The teachers interact with students in a manor that shows how much they care. I am soon going to attain an AA degree from Spokane Community College, and I am glad I will earn it from such an amazing institution.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent!!

    What to do for fun

    Sports

    In three sentences

    Spokane Community Collage is a great environment to continue my education. The staff are very friendly and ready to help. I know that I will enjoy my time here.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is not a well lit campus and finding a parking space can be challenging.

    What to do for fun

    You will have absolutely no time for fun. Each quarter has a semester worth of information crammed into it.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cooking program at this school with a restaurant on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Harder than it needs to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about going through a program at this school, check your program requirements. You may have to leave the state to do a 3 to 6 month internship. It would be less stressful to have $5,000 in the bank for moving/living expenses before you begin. There is no system in place for affordable housing while away. You are on your own.

    In three sentences

    The sonography programs are not specialty-oriented. There is a great deal of unnecessary book learning unrelated to your field and not enough practical application.

  • 03/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's always open swim hours or there are plenty of fun classes to take along with the sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good and the people no serve it are always so happy and nice.

    Dorm Life

    There is so dorm life in a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    There's a wide range of classes so your able to find easier and harder ones. The programs I've been introduced to are rigorous enough to easily find a job after graduation. My program in particular is one of the best around.

    Tips for prospective students

    To a graduating high school student my tip would be to not over look your community college. The experience prepares you for the real world based on the people you meet and hearing their past life struggles, helps you learn from them. Also the classes are smaller so your able to get more attention from the professors as needed. Lastly, community colleges help you save your hard earned money.

    In three sentences

    I've found Spokane Community College to be a great school in my years here. I love the community college setting because of the diverse people who attend. I've learned so much about ethnicity and even more from the elders who have been through so much, their stories me strive on.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sorry, this campus does have criminals because it is an open campus.

    Greek Life

    I have to be honest I'm not quite sure on this one because I have not joined one.

    Great for these types of students

    Spokane Community college has sports teams that you can go out for if you are interested. Basketball, Volleyball, Soccer, and track. I'm sure there are others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Bigfoot in building 5 which is the Gym. It is behind the tennis courts. some students go there to get their picture taken with it.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to get involved with.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this college, only Spokane falls community college has them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some of the counselors are very inconsistent in their information so be careful who you talk with.

    In three sentences

    The campus should feel welcoming and you don't feel that home away from home feel. I understand that it is a community college but they could liven things up a little bit more.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    a great safety protocol

    Clubs and Activities

    they have many clubs and activities that you can get involved in

    Great for these types of students

    great for students that are trying to start their life over or start te college life slowly.

    Bang for the buck

    I was glad to have gone here, with the low cost of tuition it was nice to have some money in your pocket.

    What to do for fun

    Fun is what is around the Spokane lifestyle, make friends, see movies.

    Food and Dining

    they have a cafeteria that does serve the purpose, but financial aid does not cover food.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Wasn't as complicated as a university and actually a pace you can set your life too.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your planning on entering this school do your research and talk to as many advisers as you can. Also when choosing your teachers try to get other students that have had them and listen to their opinions.

    In three sentences

    A great place to start your career goals. Affordable and easy to navigate the campus. Atmosphere is pleasant.

  • 09/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are safety offices stationed around campus and a response number.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to transfer. Students looking for an AA degree.

    What to do for fun

    There are plays and events year round.

    Food and Dining

    Good cafeteria and food options.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study. Plan out your courses wisely.(Don't take too many math and science classes at once.)

    In three sentences

    Plenty of classes with some very nice teachers. A very good step on the path to university if you aren't ready or able to attend university yet.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 32

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Roam the hallways. School is not supposed to be too much fun it's supposed to be work and education. The fun I have is in getting to know the people I am taking the classes with and in building solid working relationships with the teachers I have.

    Food and Dining

    Very expensive and heat lamp inspired.

    Dorm Life

    I don't think there are dorms at SCC. I could be wrong. I own a home. Not applicable to this fella.

    Academic Rigor

    Work hard. Ask questions and come in on the days that there is lab days or free days to ask the teacher questions one on one if you need to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early. Do all of your registration paperwork and/or online requirements, FAFSA, etc. otherwise you will end up having to wait to get funded for the first quarter you start. Work hard, show up, do your home work and ask for help if you need it! Don't be surprised if the people who register you or give you info about financial aid come across as uncaring or disinterested in truly helping you to resolve any issue because they will be that way no matter what you do.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Community College is a good place to go for a solid education on the fundamentals of your area of course study. I am not a fan of the financial aide or registration people because they clearly aren't there to give a crud about much more than their lunch breaks it seems but the teachers are good. The parking situation is atrocious at SCC due to most classes being on the main building.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security guard every way you turn! I haven't had any concerns about my safety... Not even after my 8:30pm class when it is pitch dark outside!

    Great for these types of students

    ALL and everyone!! :)

    What to do for fun

    Hit the gym, walk around campus, Silverwood is only about an hour and a half away.. There are tons of things to do in Spokane!

    Food and Dining

    Personally I have never ate on campus. I live not too far from the college so I go home or bring food with me.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    All of my professors have been great! Super understanding and willing to work with you. The courses are average difficulty. Forming a study group with classmates will be extremely beneficial!

    Tips for prospective students

    - Purchase your books as soon as you know what you will be needing for class. The book store is CRAZY the first week. - Same goes for the parking pass. You can purchase parking passes quarterly or you can purchase a yearly one. I opted for the quarterly one. - Meet new people! Mingle! College is as great of an experience as you allow it to be!

    In three sentences

    Spokane Community College is a wonderful school. Everyone is friendly and willing to help you find your way around the campus. It is a big enough place where you will continuously meet new people, but not huge to where you will get lost at every corner you turn.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 32

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have installed many panic buttons around the campus, which are very helpful in any dangerous situation. Also, parking security constantly monitors the premises.

    Greek Life

    Does not exist on this planet, I mean campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I've found two pages of clubs that a student can get involved in, that would be fun and beneficial to the area of study. There are many activities that are brought to the campus by the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have children- there is childcare available right on campus. Evening students- many classes are offered in the evening,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know of any unusual traditions at this campus, but there is a place on campus that is great when an escape is needed. This place is right across the greenhouse by the river. Its a quite place to sit on the grass and watch the water rush by you.

    Bang for the buck

    Unfortunately, unlike in other countries, students do have to pay a lot of money for their tuition. This specific college is very reasonable in that area, which highly appreciated.

    What to do for fun

    As mentioned above, there are many clubs to get involved in, take advantage of those. Also, there are many activities that are brought to campus each quarter. For example, each spring there's a car show at the college. It is not only for students, but for everybody who is interested. There are also plays that are produced by fellow students, comedians that are brought to you by clubs and of course, the free massages during finals.

    Food and Dining

    Disclaimer: the stars do not apply to regular food ratings. You will not find fine dining at this college, but in comparison to other public places, such as other campuses and hospitals, the food is great!

    Dorm Life

    I would rate dorm life as horrible because there is no dorm life. But it is a community college...

    Academic Rigor

    As I have not experienced academic rigor in this particular community college, I cannot truly judge. I've met some wonderful nurses that graduated from this college but I've also met nurses that I wouldn't want in 100 feet of myself or my loved ones. I cannot say whether it is because of the college or the people themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get a parking pass before parking on campus. Find a student who is at least a Sophomore in college to help you get oriented. Get involved in many clubs that the college offers.

    In three sentences

    The college has many fields of study for any type of students. The tuition is somewhat cheaper then competitive colleges. They are constantly updating and renewing classrooms for better learning.