Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Spokane Falls Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/09/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who grew up in a small town and want a two year transition period between a small town and a giant city. Spokane is right in between. It's a large city with a small town feel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and you should have no issues getting in. Study for the placement tests because they aren't easy.

  • 11/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student who wants to save money and transfer to a four year College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, register for classes as soon as you can, and try to get good teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    Way cheaper then four year colleges by far and you find the exact same classes you would get at a four year school. Totally worth spending your first few years of college here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am not too involved with extra stuff going on at the school. There is a wide array of people here though, so your bound to find people you will get along with which will make your experience here more enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    There are some really good teachers here if you get the right one. If you go onto ratemyprofessor.com and look up the teachers it is really helpful in choosing a good one. Also, try to talk to the people around campus about which one's they like. I've learned a lot from some of the teachers here and barely anything from others, so try to get a good one!

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are new emergency booths set up around the campus that are linked to security.

    Greek Life

    Does not apply that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities for students including those for athletes, political views, religion, and even sexual preferences. I have attended one that was for my major which is engineering. I went for the free pizza.

    Great for these types of students

    As with any community college it is great for those who want to transfer to a four year university, like myself.

    Bang for the buck

    Better than starting at a four year university and you get more one-on-one time with the nutty professors,

    What to do for fun

    There is a bowling alley and arcade on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Just the Bigfoot cafeteria. Not very big, but reasonably priced. I normally get a PB and J because I am cheap, but they have Starbucks for the caffeine addicts.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the Engineering program and thus I take Calculus and physics. I have heard that the Calculus program is harder than some four year universities. It is difficult, but doable if you put in the time and effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is a policy that newer students must meet with a counselor before registering for classes. I have found this to be very helpful in planning and scheduling the classes I need to take for my transfer program. The counselors at Spokane Falls Community College are much nicer than the ones on the other side of town at Spokane Community College. Also, go to new student orientation. I helps you not feel so lost.

    In three sentences

    I have had a good experience at this college. I have attended another community college in Spokane and the experience was not pleasant. The counselors were rude and acted as if they were better than you. Let's just say that I drive across town to attend Spokane Falls Community College, while the other community college is only 5 minutes away from home.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is everywhere. i see them all the time. i feel safe all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs and activities. there is always things to do if you look.

    Great for these types of students

    creative, young, and motivated students that just want to learn and grow.

    Bang for the buck

    it's a community college so it is cheaper than a university. with the graphic design program, we take more awards home from the addys than any other competing school. we learn well and it's cheaper than other schools.

    What to do for fun

    there are always events going on in the student union building. there is a calendar for events and activities. there are a lot of clubs, programs and things to do.

    Food and Dining

    the bookstore has cheap food and there are all types of food in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    it's hard and puts a toll on me but i wouldn't be as talented, motivated, or willing to learn more if it wasn't the way it is.

    Tips for prospective students

    take the program. it's fun, challenging, and you see projects and works in the making. there are opportunities presented all the time and it is a great program to go to.

    In three sentences

    in my graphic design program, the professors are honest, challenging, and strict. but they have taught me a lot and i am thankful to have them as my professors. the program and school is well done and i am so glad to have been able to go through this program.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i haven't heard anything that goes on around school that's in a bad way. we also have high campus security so there is nothing to worry about.

    Clubs and Activities

    sfcc offers many clubs and activities as well as intramural activities also. so anybody can sign up and be in.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for any type of students. i've seen all students of different types and offers many fields of study and transfer studies also.

    Bang for the buck

    sfcc is very easy to pay for as in-state tuition is a little more than $1,300. so it's very cheap to afford.

    What to do for fun

    what you can do for fun at spokane falls community college is you can attend sporting events and plays of all sorts throughout the entire year.

    Food and Dining

    they have quick and easy snacks, as well as gourmet food that you can order. we also have a starbucks inside the food lounge which is really great.

    Dorm Life

    i myself do not live on campus but from what i've heard is that living there is very inexpensive and fulfills needs to the fullest.

    Academic Rigor

    it really all depends on the classes you're taking but the classes definitely push you to your limits and achieve your goals to the highest.

    Tips for prospective students

    my tips for prospective students is that to apply to this school and attend. the setting is great and the staff and everyone is very helpful to in-coming students.

    In three sentences

    spokane falls community college has been a great first experience of college for myself. the staff and students are very friendly. the teachers aren't afraid to help you when you need help or are struggling in class. the location around the school is great as its wide open and have very nice buildings.

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students to other Washington colleges and universities, students who plan on moving from rural areas to cities and are looking for extra time to adjust and transition.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for your classes each quarter ASAP! Classes can be confusing to register for as a new student. Also, you may find yourself in a class that isn't exactly what you expected as far as curriculum goes. Be prepared for flexibility and don't wait to drop a class that does not work with your schedule or help with your program of study.

    Bang for the buck

    Great deal. Be sure to meet required deadlines for the best opportunities in financial aid and work study awards.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm in my second year at SFCC and have had a very pleasant experience. Teachers and administrators are willing to work with me and answer my questions as best they can, as long as I'm on top of what I need as a student.

    Am learning a lot

    Latin American History with Professor Youmans was outstanding! Check into the Learning Communities as well which help you knock out several required credits at once as well as the Writing/Diversity intensive requirements.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Excellent for students who are returning to enter a different field of work with many good two year degrees. Also good as a first step towards a four year college

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on top of registration, get registered as early as you can, classes fill up quickly,and so do good time slots. If you take math, go to the math learning center they can help a lot.

    Bang for the buck

    Given the very reasonable prices for tuition and parking and the quality of the teaching I think that the bang for the buck aspect is actually quite high, the classes are challenging and the teachers generally make you work for your grade, but that's good because you learn a lot and that's what I'm there for. Also the facilities have good computer technology and that is very helpful as well.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being there a lot, The campus is pleasant the students well behaved, the teachers as a rule good at what they do. Not all of their restrooms are the greatest and the food in the cafeteria could stand to be upgraded just a bit and the parking is kind of rough, still it is a pleasant environment overall.

    Am learning a lot

    Four Stars, the teachers at the college are generally very knowledgeable of the subjects about which they teach. For instance I took a course in basic computer science from a lady who has been working in the field for 30 plus years and continues to do so even while she teaches. Their math department is very good with good instructors and tutors and computer aids. They are constantly upgrading the school grounds and buildings.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    nearly everywhere you go, or every building you enter, you will see some sort of security near by. you will see campus security cars roll by constantly to make you feel at ease if any form of danger was to ever cross your pass. including officers in buildings to handle any situation that might get out of hand. security is a must in such an environment, and spokane falls community college provides some of the best.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for students of all ages. whether you've been out of school for several years or if you're fresh out of high school, you will be set into an environment that is welcoming to all.

    Bang for the buck

    for the price, you can not beat this community college. paying nearly a fraction of what full scale universities charge for some of the same classes that offer some of the most intelligent professors in the area, is an unbeatable opportunity for students. this school is easily one of the best ways to get the best bang for your buck.

    What to do for fun

    the main source of entertainment at this school is the lounge. there is a bowling alley with several lanes for minimal waiting time as well as pool tables and arcade games for those who just need to pass time between classes. the school also offers several after school clubs for those who are looking to be more involved in their school.

    Food and Dining

    the dining experience at spokane falls community college is adequate. there are chefs at the grill during peak hours to make fresh food and baristas near by for those in need of caffeine. an a la carte section is available for students who are just interested in a sandwich or yogurt as well, and everything is run by the students, for the students.

    Dorm Life

    spokane falls community college offers apartments directly off the campus for quick access to the school for either morning or night classes. i personally live in a house a few miles away from campus that provides short transportation to and from school but would be very interested in living in an apartment associated with this school.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are slightly more intriguing than the classes you have previously taken in high school. the work load is slightly more demanding, and deadlines can be very strict. it is essential to be proficient in time management and to set a side an allotted amount of time for study each evening to maintain your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    spokane falls community college is a great transition from high school to the college scene. classes are represented very similarly amongst high school classes providing a welcoming experience. for prospective students, i would advise to attend the welcoming ceremony that the college has to offer every quarter for new students. walking the campus and introducing yourself to professors of classes you inspire to take will give you a great insight on what to expect when you start attending this school as well.

    In three sentences

    spokane falls community college is a great school to get you into the college environment. it is a very welcoming atmosphere for students directly out of high school or even a seasoned veteran in the work field. with enhancements added to this campus nearly every year, i would recommend this college to anyone.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there is no greek life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are about 40 clubs on campus who all meet regularily and are really active both on campus and in the community. there is pretty much a club for every interest! it seems like almost everyday there is an event or activity put on by one of the many clubs, and its really great to see so many students get involved beyond just taking classes.

    Bang for the buck

    the cost of tuition is going up in 4 year universities, community colleges, and technical/vocational schools alike. however, for the quality of education that i have received and the amount of student services that are available to me and every other student to make sure that we are successful in our endeavors, i believe that i have spent my money well. i don't think that i would have received the same quality of education and services if i had attended a 4 year university right of high school. there are less students here than there are at a 4 year, which means a smaller student to teacher ratio. more help for less money? thats a deal!

    What to do for fun

    sfcc happens to be the only community college in spokane with a bowling alley that is free for all students. there is a recreation center with pool tables and arcade games. this recreation center is also in line for some renovations and up dates in the variety of games that it offers. there are pretty regular events put on in the student union building by various clubs and groups which include concerts, movies, guest speakers, and much more. a lot of events include free food for participants-which is always a bonus!

    Food and Dining

    i am not going to lie-while i commend our dining facility for the excellent work they have done in spite of budget cuts, if food and dining is going to make or break your decision of whether or not you go to a school, this is not the place for you. while there are many options including pizza, burgers, premade sandwiches and wraps, soup, and tacos a lot of the food is spendy (especially for college students on a budget) and there are no meal plans.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on this campus. however, there are appartment complexes right next to the campus and across the street. many students live in these complexes making the trip to class a short walk across campus.

    Academic Rigor

    it really depends on the class you take. the hard sciences (biology, chemistry, etc.) and the higher math classes are very rigorous courses and require a lot of time and investment if one is to succeed. that also depends on whether or not a student is more mathematically/scientifically to begin with, but generally these classes are meant to be challenging. there are great professors who teach them however, so you are in good hands! as far as the humanities/arts/soft sciences go, they may be a bit conceptually easier to understand but do not be fooled. if you think that you will be able to skip class frequently or not do the work on your part, you probably wont do well at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    it's a great place! i have yet to encounter a bad professor, and there is always something going on on the campus (almost always free!). for your first time of campus, i would recommend printing and bringing a campus map-the buildings can be a little confusing at first.

    In three sentences

    spokane falls community college is a school that most underestimate. it really puts the 'community' aspect into a community college and represents a place where students can grow and learn in a great environment dedicated to helping them succeed. you really can't go wrong going here.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are Emergency Alert Posts in the parking lot so that if you ever need help or are in an emergency you can get help. The campus security is on foot and patrolling the parking lots keeping you and your car safe. There are security alerts that can be sent to your phone and email alerting you when there are emergencies and snow closures.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at SFCC but, I find that this can be a benefit because at SFCC there is a main and primary focus on academics and earning degrees.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are great! There is a club for everything! There is drama, music, biking, art, photography, English, psychology, and every other subject. Also diversity clubs such as Asian, Black Union, LGBTQ, Latino, and Indian Clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    SFCC is great of ALL types of students. The diversity at SFCC is great. You meet so many different types of people at different parts of their life. Running-start student can earn their AA degree while also earning their high school diploma. Transfer students can earn their AA degree from SFCC and transfer to a 4 year university. Older student or people looking to change careers can earn certificate and enter programs for a new career or continue their education in their field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On Wednesday afternoons there is always a student activity going on for all student to part take in. The Farmers Market comes every quarter. There are movie nights and drive-in movie nights!

    Bang for the buck

    Spokane Falls Community College is the best deal I ever invested in. Tuition is around $3,000 for a year depending on how many credits you are taking. You get the best education for your money and you save so much by attending community college rather than the state university.

    What to do for fun

    Spokane Falls Community College has many clubs and sports that you can be a part of for fun or competitively. There are bike clubs, art clubs, photo clubs, tennis teams, baseball teams, track teams. Also the Rec. Room has pool, bowling, ping pong and an assortment of arcade games.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria on campus offers a variety of choices for breakfast, lunch or an early dinner. Also they serve great coffee and hot drinks anytime of the day. There are quick lunch options for those rushing between classes. Healthy options include a fantastic salad bar and soup choices along with fruits and vegetables.

    Dorm Life

    There are apartments for college student off campus but within walking distance of Spokane Falls Community College. There is a main bus route that makes commuting from apartments located downtown a great idea. There is not much of the regular dorm life that you would get at another University. At SFCC your focus is entirely academic and you can avoid the negative effects of the regular dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor of the courses at Spokane Falls Community College vary from course to course and by what your strengths or weaknesses are. No matter if sciences are your favorite or English, you will always learn and grow in a course at Spokane Falls. The instructors help you anyway they can to guide you and help you learn and reach your potential in every course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out all the possible programs you maybe interested in and if there is any doubt or uncertainty of a major then I would suggest to start with an AA degree. Make sure all you classes are transferable to the college you are planning to transfer to. Also plan out quarters in advance what classes you would need or like to take. So classes start only in Fall Quarter. Also, do your math courses first. Take the math placement test before you start at the Falls. If you are not happy with your score take it as many times as you need to raise you to a level of math class that you are comfortable with. Use the math resources on campus such as the Math Learning Center to assist you.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Falls Community College is wonderful school with a great campus with helpful instructors and staff. There are a wide variety of courses, programs, and degree available for students. The staff and faculty of Spokane Falls are there to assist you on campus and off campus through online support anytime you need it.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do there for fun, but there are a lot of groups to join.

    Food and Dining

    The only dining available is the cafeteria/cafe. It's not great but there are a lot of healthful options.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found all of my professors to be extremely knowledgeable in their prospective fields. I have felt challenged in all of my classes except for a few.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you get your data pack in at the right time. They are not that clear in telling you when to get it in but go on the website and download it and send it before the priority deadline for financial aid otherwise you won't see your financial aid check for months.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Falls is a great small school to start a college. I have found that they are fairly organized and the students there really take initiative there. The faculty are very helpful, flexible, and overall relaxed although the quality that I have seen has been really high.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    want to work at funeral home love walking at cemetary heavy metal music

    Food and Dining

    dont eat here. all we have is vending machines

    Dorm Life

    dont have a dorm here at Colville

    Academic Rigor

    great classes ad great teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    Homework in groups works great never procrastinate go for the gold

    In three sentences

    Great help from staff incredible resources flexible hours

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very reasonable, that is comparable to other community colleges in Washington. The book stores are a little expensive compared to online sites.

    What to do for fun

    I am a distance learner online so I can't really address the fun in Spokane :-)

    Food and Dining

    I can't say, as I am a distance learner and have not eaten at the school.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes are challenging but the teachers are more than willing to help with questions and to find tutoring when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you register early and look all over the web site. Submitting your information accurately and on time is extremely helpful.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Falls has been able to meet my needs as an on-line student. They have worked willingly to accommodate all my specific questions and requirements.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SFCC's campus is secure and well lit.

    Clubs and Activities

    SFCC has many differents activities both on and off campus and they have a wall full of 30+ clubs which you can be a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    Distance learning, AA degrees and Certificate programs

    Bang for the buck

    Good value dollar to education attained.

    What to do for fun

    Spokane has a wealth of things to do ranging from night life, outdoor life and school related activities.

    Food and Dining

    Good food, reasonably priced and clean cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Good professors and great class opportunities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research: do not rely on entrance counseling to make sure your education goals are on track, double check all of your requirements.

    In three sentences

    Great location. Fun atmosphere. Good teachers.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is awesome. They even send out safety tips through email!

    Clubs and Activities

    As Astronomy Club president, I endorse this rating!!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who care about their education will do very well here. As I mentioned before, there are many programs and resources to help every type of student succeed if they choose to.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Foucault Pendulum in the Math Building.... It is quite amazing! Students can actually observe the effect of Earth's rotation.

    Bang for the buck

    Unfortunately, tuition in Spokane is very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    The clubs and events are usually academically centered, but fun. I am in the Astronomy Club and love every minute of it. We have access to the Planetarium, telescopes, and have loads of fun with Cosmic Bowling parties and Sidewalk Stargazing. There is literally something for everyone at The Falls, no matter what you like to nerd-out on!

    Food and Dining

    The kitchen is powered by Sodexo, and they offer healthy, low cost meals and snacks as well as cheeseburgers. The only downside is their early afternoon closing times, so for students who stay on campus late in the afternoon or have evening classes, I advise to pack a lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are really challenging but there are free tutors available, and the instructors are easy to communicate with and make expectations very clear. I wouldn't say the classes are a walk in the park, but the amount of resources available to help students succeed makes learning less overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of any services offered, including Peer Mentoring and campus activities. I have learned so much about myself and my educational goals from the people I have met through campus-sponsored programs.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Falls is a welcoming, encouraging, supportive environment. I have had zero complaints about the instructors or curriculum, and I feel privileged to attend such a beautiful college!

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a fairly safe school.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who hasn't attended college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Buy books on Amazon.com

    What to do for fun

    I read and read more.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    This college offers you the chance to be taught by professors who are amazing. The college is fairly inexpensive compared to others. Overall, this college will allow a student to stretch their brain.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is taken very seriously. Spokane Falls offers an emergency call system all over campus and security patrols are done all day and night. If you lock keys in your car, feel uncomfortable walking to your car after night classes, or need a jump start you can also call for their help and they will be happy to help you with your problem.

    Clubs and Activities

    Spokane Falls offers many oppertunites to join a variety of clubs and intermural teams. This is also a great way to meet people on campus and get involved with the campus life.

    Bang for the buck

    Though it is only a two year college, I would say that Spokane Falls is a great 'bang for your buck'. It is a great way to get your first two years of classes and requirements out of the way, then transfer to a four year school.

    What to do for fun

    Spokane is a very fun community. The atmosphere is somewhat rural with hints of urban combined. For outdoorsy people, there are many mountains within close distances for skiing, snowboarding, and snow shoeing in the winter months. As far as spring, summer and fall months, many opportunities for fishing, hiking, biking, golfing, Frisbee golfing, and other outdoor recreation is nearby. For those who don't like outdoor life as much, there are movie opportunities, a beautiful riverfront park downtown, and many community celebrations and events year round that make Spokane a hub for interesting and fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    Spokane Falls campus has a cafeteria and a coffee shop that are quite nice. The food is more like deli style items but the coffee shop serves Starbucks coffee every morning and offers a punch card for regulars. It's a nice way to save some cash by not making trips to Starbucks every morning and not paying the outrageous prices of their coffee.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms or on campus housing but about 200 yards away from campus are some apartment complexes that could serve as 'dorm life'. Many students live in this area and it is a great way to get more of a college feel. But if you are more interested in living away from campus and somewhat on your own, there are many different housing options within the city of Spokane.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes I was enrolled in weren't too terrible. If you are a studious person and you stay on top of your work you won't have issues. There are a few classes that were rather demanding but with communitcation and teamwork, you can have your instructor help you out quite a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect a university feel. I was expecting more than Spokane had to offer so I think that left me a little disappointed at first. This is a small community college but a successful one at that. Get to know your classmates and instructors. Take all that the college has to offer and you will go far!

    In three sentences

    Spokane Falls is a great place for people who don't want a large college. If you are looking for a small classroom size and interaction between your instructors this is a great college for you. The campus is beautiful and the cost isn't as high as most universities, so it is a nice way to get some of your first class requirements out of the way without paying too much.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    As living in a small town and having a small college to go to the most fun that I have is when we have our ASB meetings and plan for fun events.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining are not provided

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here at this site.

    Academic Rigor

    The site that I attend both online and classroom courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    The instuctors here make it a priority to be there for you whenever you need the help.

    In three sentences

    I have ahd a great experience here so far. I am looking forward to continuing my education here. The instructors are very helpful and involved with the students.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always around

    Clubs and Activities

    too clickish,

    Great for these types of students

    well versed

    Bang for the buck

    You dont even get what you pay for

    What to do for fun

    Hit up the gym under the stadium for a killer workout with Travis and Ryan

    Food and Dining

    Over priced

    Academic Rigor

    Its ok, some teachers are poor at helping/accommodating students

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, and use the resources that are provided for you at school. Also ratemyprofessor.com is going to be your best friend when choosing your classes

    In three sentences

    Its a decent school, but I highly recommend if you have alternate means of paying for school other then financial aid, use them. The financial program there is horrible, the counselors/financial aid deans have poor time management, lack of knowledge of the new financial aid laws, and are inefficient along with poor communication.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The town is small so there isn't much to do here for fun. You have to travel to the next town, which is an hour away both directions out of town.

    Food and Dining

    We have a student lounge lunch room, but you supply your own food. We have an occasional feast day that our ASB puts on for the whole student body which is nice.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is for people who like the small town feeling. Its just a small building in the middle of a small town. For people who can't travel or afford to move to a college campus. This is the first college that I've been to and I think that it's pretty nice.

    In three sentences

    The teachers and employees that work here are very nice and helpful. I like the small community atmosphere. Everything is easy to find and easy to use.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are great with keeping kids safe and secure. You can't think of any other place in Spokane that looks out for their students better than Spokane Falls Community College.

    Greek Life

    The have sororities that can transfer to other colleges and can help lead kids to fantastic scholarships and job opportunities.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have sports, plays, and groups that can bring in just about anybody.

    Great for these types of students

    Just about any student who is willing to get a great education and is willing to make friends that are always there to help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are some great landmarks where you can see the history of the town and where you can have great fun with your friends.

    Bang for the buck

    It is nice and cheap, with the teachers always being there to help you and support you.

    What to do for fun

    There are movie theaters, library, playhouse, and nice parks to hangout with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great with their pizza, burgers, and veggies for students who do not like the taste of meat.

    Dorm Life

    Excellent apartments that are near the college and great restaurants.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics there help you with your life after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to ask plenty of questions because the staff can't help you if you don't ask for help

    In three sentences

    I very much like the school that i am currently attending. The staff there is excellent and nice and they are great with helping students with their work. I can't think of a greater college to be attending right now.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say the campus is fairly safe. There are on duty security guards that patrol parking lots and such along with emergency help buttons on campus. The school is close to the city so there is a little question in regards to that but the campus its self is pretty safe. It is still advised obviously to keep your car doors locked and hide valuables. Theft is the main concern here as likely seen at any school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is almost always something to do on campus. There are constantly things going on in the Student Union Building. There are guest speakers, clubs, presentations, and so much more. The list of clubs goes on and on. There are cultural, academic, community service, tutoring, language and sport clubs to join along with student government.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like creating their own schedule and working at their own pace are best found here. This is a school where you can learn however you learn best and can develop a schedule to best fit your needs with day and night classes. It has a lot of pretty landscape and is peaceful place to be doing studies of any sort.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a giant pendulum in the math building and there is an awesome fitness center and weight room in the PE building.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes often delve into the material through discussion and class views. Professors are more than willing to help outside of class and in most cases are very easy to get in touch with.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of places to hang out with friends on campus whether studying or just chatting. They have a bowling ally in the rec center along with pool tables and air hockey tables. They also have continuous presentations, performances, and guest speakers in the Student Union Building. This school also offers many clubs to fit your taste. If you are into running there is a beautiful running trail along the river by the school which is great to run with some friends. Professors do a very good job keeping students up to date on what fun events are going on and when and where to be for them.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe in the Student Union Building that offers great food and a nice coffee shop. Plus there are plenty of fast food places within ten minutes of campus. The food in the cafe is good for on the go but can be a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on-campus dorms but there are a few options for apartment living just walking distance from the campus. That being said the apartments are quite nice and they are close by.

    Academic Rigor

    If you challenge yourself to do well then you can do great. You will get out what you put into these classes. Come to class and put forth effort and you will love the experience and will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure if attending Spokane Falls that you register for classes early because their classes fill up quickly. Also be sure to stay on top of financial aid and such because there are very long lines if you wait.

    In three sentences

    This college has a beautiful campus that is right on the Spokane river. The professors are awesome and class sizes are not too big. They offer a variety of programs to get you started where ever you plan to go and they have many clubs to keep you involved.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A very safe school. Friendly security guards that make the campus a safe environment for new students.

    What to do for fun

    On my free time during the summer I love to go out and swim in the rivers that are really close to the school. And if its the winter me and my friends enjoy the 45min drive up to Mt Spokane to snowboard.

    Food and Dining

    My school has a great cafeteria and friendly staff members who work there. They are very sanitary and cook up some delicious food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm because my school doesn't have any, but they do give great advise on different apartment buildings that are affordable for living.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I have been taking are pretty vigorous because of the major that I am getting into. My classes include a lot of science (biology, chemistry, physics), and some math classes. The homework is tough but manageable if you take the time to do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I could give any advice for a prospective students I would tell them to go to a college that they think is comfortable for them. Remember to always take advantage of the help teachers and other students have for you and don't be afraid to ask questions about something that you need help on.

    In three sentences

    If I would rate this college on a scale from 1-5, I would give it a 5. The teachers are great and they are always open to help there students. I'm glad to have found this college.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because this is a community college, many students don't have to worry about traveling across campus late at night. However, there are car thefts and break-ins, and the occasional spotting of questionable people.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are friendly and tight-knit, but there aren't very many.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students on a budget, students who haven't settled on a major, bussers, drivers, smokers and non-smokers, and especially artists.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many haunted locations on campus. Last year a ghost hunter came to the school and gave a lecture and tour. The surrounding area is beautiful and has many trails for the public.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a great way to get your pre-requisites out of the way. I'm saving anywhere between $5,000 and $20,000 a year just by going here. The teachers are truly concerned with your learning, and the financial is only a big stress at the beginning of the quarter.

    What to do for fun

    There are many non credit classes that are cheap and fun. Also check out the free bowling, and cheap billiards and ping pong. Clubs are popular on campus, and you can even start your own. New to the school is the planetarium, open to students and the public.

    Food and Dining

    It's food! So that is good. But it's overpriced and not very good. It'll get you through the day, and there are a few gems, like the chicken Cesar wrap.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    You can either challenge yourself with teachers and classes which are rigorous, or fly by with easier classes. A combination of both with leave you feeling challenged, but not overwhelmed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use rate my professor to ensure you have a well reviewed teacher. Plan ahead for anything to do financially or with a counselor-- often the lines are long and unhelpful. Parking rules are taken very seriously by our security!

    In three sentences

    The faculty at Spokane Falls is committed to the university level education of its students. However, the financial aspect of Spokane Falls Community college is frustrating, confusing, and time consuming for new and returning students. Clubs are present, though sparse.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to transfer to a 4-year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is neat that there is a pool hall on the main campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all your ducks in order before you start school, the offices aren't very good at keeping you informed with that you need or have left to turn in.

    In three sentences

    It is a decent community college. The financial aid office seems to be difficult to work with. However the education quality is satisfactory.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is spot on. if there is anything wrong, they are their to help and keep you safe if you feel uncomfortable at night, or at any time.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are about 70 clubs. to many too name.

    What to do for fun

    There is a recreational area at the school where you can reserve for different events if you want. thats pretty awesome if you ask me.

    Food and Dining

    i havent eaten any of the food their at the school but im going to guess it is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms, but there is housing across the way from the school, where you can stay.

    Academic Rigor

    the schools academics are awesome and there are many to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you need help, ask around? just like i would. there is a lounge where you can study or do homework, why do it at home, when you can get it done at school. enjoy being there.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Falls Community College is a very well clean, kept organized school. i know my way around so far. they have many programs to choose from and so far i know im going to enjoy the school.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very dedicated security staff.

    Greek Life

    Little Greek culture.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports and many clubs in the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    Young and competitive.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Very good diversity.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable, but books are expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Social Clubs and Activities from student body.

    Food and Dining

    Fabulous cafeteria, and dining.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms at SFCC

    Academic Rigor

    Commitment and hard work.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Set a strong goal. 2. Interact with counselors and instructors. 3. Engage in interaction with school activities and other students.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Falls Community college is a fabulous school. The school provides the perfect environment and settings for comfort in education. The instructors and counselors at Spokane Falls Community college do a extraordinary job to help students succeed.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing here. you can set up an agreement where Security will walk you out to your car, especially at night, and there are blue phones everywhere and texting numbers everywhere that are 24hours. I have never felt as safe here as i have anywhere.

    Greek Life

    Spokane falls is a small community college so there isnt any greek life except for maybe a couple clubs.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I said before PLENTY of clubs and many activities going on every week.

    Great for these types of students

    Lots of transferred students from over seas.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on around campus and club-like activities going on. Always plenty to do and not much for dull experiences. Well, maybe except for summer quarter.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a great hands on learning experience and not a place where you feel abandoned, then this is the place for you. Everyone here just wants to help and it feels great! There are a few apartments close to campus, but besides that, there's not much for dorms. Also, they don't have that big of a cafeteria, the food is pretty good, healthy, and they even have a Starbucks in the Cafe

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great here. They are defiantly here to help, not just here for the money it seems. I love the attitude and atmosphere of the campus.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    SFCC has a quick-responding and very aware security team! Get to know them, they are a nice bunch!

    Greek Life

    Not so much, after all, it's a Community College, however, I did watch the movie My Big Fat Greek Wedding in my Anthropological Survey class.

    Clubs and Activities

    Multiple clubs and activities always doing something fun and providing motivation and encouragement!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking for the feel of a friendly high school but the seriousness and sincerity of a university-like academic atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the Piano-Sculpture in back of the Art Building. Very unique!

    Bang for the buck

    If confused or discouraged, stop by Building #1, Admissions Office, and speak with one of the wonderful ladies there in the first office inside the double glass-doors! They are very helpful and encouraging!

    What to do for fun

    Join an SFCC student club and participate in fun activities with new friends!

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria on campus with friendly service!

    Dorm Life

    No comment: I did not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Spokane Falls Community College (SFCC) has provided me with academic opportunities that have asked my best of me and helped me to realize a potential I had thought long lost. SFCC professors have exceeded my expectations of my former view of college professors; furthermore, they have gone above and beyond their professional obligations to be compassionate and personally supportive on many levels.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate with professors before attending your first class. Email them prior to the beginning of the quarter to make an impression. Utilize SFCC's available tutors and peer mentors! CHOOSE to be successful here, and you will be! You can do this!

    In three sentences

    Spokane Falls Community College (SFCC) has met and exceeded every need and want I could hope for as a student. My experience at SFCC has provided me with extraordinary academic, personal, and occupational resources and unexpected opportunities. For example, SFCC has helped me rediscover my love for writing, music, work, and people!

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a lovely set of stairs on campus that leads straight to the centennial trail. Go for a walk! There's nearly always an event going on somewhere, too. Check the website and the many corkboards around the buildings.

    Food and Dining

    The college is pretty secluded, and there's nowhere to eat in walking distance other than the cafeteria and vending machines.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always know registration dates weeks before they come up, and try to have all your classes figured out well in advance. Make sure that the credits of any classes you pick are going to transfer if you plan to go beyond a two-year degree.

    In three sentences

    SFCC is the best option for an associates degree based in Spokane. The tuition is cheap(though I hear it is climbing) and the location is beautiful. Sometimes it'll be pretty comparable to high school but, hey, that's community college.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always there. Their phone number is posted on almost every door to all the buildings to make them easily accessible. If, by chance, you do not feel safe walking to your car at night after an evening class or even during the day, give them a call and they will either pick you up or walk with you to your car. But be careful! Even though they are nice, campus security also is responsible for giving out plenty of parking tickets. Make sure you have your parking permit and park within the lines.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs to get involved with but sometimes they are hard to find. Find something to get involved with and make new friends! There is also a recreation room and bowling alley on campus, free to all students. The bowling alley is great for students with long breaks or those looking to procrastinate before studying for a final.

    Great for these types of students

    Spokane Falls Community College is great for students who are ready to achieve. Surrounded by outdoors and other great entertainment resources, this college is great for students to explore plenty of interests.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the greatest places to find unusual or exciting things is the art building. There is a gallery that is always showing outstanding local and community artists' work. Behind the art building is where they often discard large old or unused projects. One saved project is a playhouse made entirely out old pianos. Also, in several of the buildings, tucked deep in corners, are study nooks. These nooks, often completely undiscovered, are helpful during finals week.

    Bang for the buck

    Because Spokane Falls is a community college students save themselves or their parents a lot of money as opposed to a regular 4-year university. Many advisors are helpful in finding ways to save the students the same amount of money when they transfer to their next school. Financial Aid is good and usually covers more than enough for tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Spokane is a lively city, filled with history but also great to accommodate the interests of college students. You can go running or walking along the Spokane river, play Frisbee in a park, go shopping downtown or catch a movie with friends. Within an hour drive are even more exciting things to do including skiing on nearby Mt. Spokane or swimming and enjoying the sun by a lake.

    Food and Dining

    The food is adequate but expensive. Students are far better off either bringing a lunch from home or leaving campus to find food. Within a couple minutes drive are plenty of restaurants and grocery stores making it easy and convenient to find better alternatives to the food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Spokane Falls Community College is a commuter school and there are no dorms. This makes it hard to meet people outside of class. There are, however, many apartment buildings right around campus that usually house students from the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the classes are easily comparable to regular 4- year university courses and the professors are equally qualified. Be prepared to study hard and show up to classes. All of the teachers want to see their students succeed so reach out to them for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Seek out a club or activity to be a part of to get yourself connected with the student body, if you cannot find one, start your own club!

    In three sentences

    There are numerous helpful and personable teachers and staff willing to help their students succeed. With plenty of clubs and activities it can be easy to get involved on this commuter campus. Situated in an exciting city, this college has a lot to offer both on- and off- campus.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for here. Its just a mediocre education. But the degree I will soon receive will be good for a transfer to a four year institution.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling is the funnest thing the campus offers for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria. The food is basic but good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms that I know of. I lived off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It really is a hit or miss. I have taken classes that were marked as intensive and they were extremely easy, and I have taken easy classes that became extremely hard. The classes are not regulated the way they should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay your tuition as early as possible and register on the first day available. See a counselor before registration opens to make sure you are taking the classes you need.

    In three sentences

    It is a hit or miss with the instructors. They do not seem to have the knowledge and background they need for the job. The campus itself is clean, professional, and growing.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Due to this being a community college there are some people and security risks. I don't think they are any greater than any other community college.

    Greek Life

    There is one academic Greek Club.

    Clubs and Activities

    Name it and there is a club for that.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that truly want to be successful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the buildings is a working pendulum clock tower.

    Bang for the buck

    There are good instructors that teach students a lot.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of on campus activities and clubs for students to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay.

    Dorm Life

    The isn't any dorms. There is off campus housing with in walking distance.

    Academic Rigor

    Even the classes that look easy on paper are a challenge. This is due to the depth of content and high expectations of instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the system for signing up for classes and how their financial aid system works right away. The sooner you know this the less circles you will run. Don't skip classes!

    In three sentences

    For the most part the instructors are dedicated to teaching their students and invested in their students' success. I have yet to interact with an instructor that didn't know how to teach at a level that students really grasp the material. There is a diverse choice of classes to attend.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There a few things going on during the year. One of the main events they have is a free trip to Silverwood.

    Food and Dining

    They have a nice lounge room. It has snacks, coffee, and tables to sit at.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know because I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depend on the teachers. Sometimes you get an easy teacher and other times you get a hard one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to take new classes.

    In three sentences

    It is a good place to get a start on an education. This is what I am doint and like it so far.

  • 06/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly reccomend this school. it's very clean and well taken care of. It offers a wide range of classes as well.

    In three sentences

    This is great school! Very very friendly students and staff. A very georgous campus as well.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our Campus Safety is constantly patrolling the grounds. You cannot go five minutes without seeing one of the officers. I have never felt unsafe while attending school here.

    Great for these types of students

    SFCC is very welcoming to Foreign Exchange Students and has a wonderful support system for LGBTQ!

    What to do for fun

    The Campus grounds are beautiful and often I take my lunch out and do homework beneath the trees. The Library is open after 2 for use of everything that is not school work. Many awesome things are usually scheduled in the SUB building. The Science Building has a wonderful Planetarium full of shows to choose from and watch. The School often puts on free Movies on Fridays in the P9 parking.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad. They have a choice from healthy to not so healthy. A bit for everyone's palate.

    Dorm Life

    I am living off campus and cannot say to the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The Instructors are very enthusiastic and involved. Often points are awarded for our travels to extra curricular activities and community services.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest getting your Financial Aid filled out as soon as possible. When in doubt go directly to the Financial Aid Office as they are always available to help you understand. No question is too silly. When going to the Financial Aid Office do not put it off, go in early. Not just be on time, but half an hour early at least.

    In three sentences

    SFCC is a wonderfully diverse Campus that welcomes all types. They have succeeded in making it a safe environment that is bully free. They have many Resources available and wonderful people to help you understand what is at your finger tips.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Spokane itself is not the safest city, especially for car owners, but just don't go out alone at night. Be smart.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't engaged in any clubs, but what I see and hear there are a plethora of them and they're very active.

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The large pendulum in the math building that is constantly moving, and there is also the Anime club that can very unusual... and of the course the planetarium!

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap since it's a community college, but has master and doctor level teachers.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game room with many types of entertainment, clubs for almost everything, a gym and multiple sports, but best of all is the Riverside park that is located just north of the campus! It connects to the Centennial trail and leads to Nine Mile and Bowl and Pitcher park.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo isn't the greatest food provider, but the access is nice and so are the large facilities for eating or study.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, just affordable apartments near by!

    Academic Rigor

    Like any school, it depends on the professor. However, since many of the professors are Masters or Doctors trying to get research done, there is a good chance of having a solid class.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are a lot of cheap apartments very close to this school, allowing for easy access. Also, SFCC is close to Northwest Boulevard and the Shadle shopping center, so there are jobs and shopping opportunities near by.

    In three sentences

    Even though it's not a four-year university, SFCC has very intelligent and helpful faculty members. The quality of education is superior for the price paid here. Also, the culture is surprisingly diverse because of the Mukogawa culture center.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    To study while being a student is best fun ever!

    Dorm Life

    Do not have

    Academic Rigor

    Perfect

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all of the support services they provide

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Horrible! If you drive expect your car to be broken into! There are security guards that all ways seem to be around but they will only write you tickets (Sometimes even if you paid for day pass [Seriously! It's really annoying!]).

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs, pretty much everything I would expect except a debate club and a chess club.

    Great for these types of students

    High school students that haven't quite figured out what they want to do or they want to get their required classes done cheaply

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a pretty cool broken piano/shed combo behind the Art building next to the Mural Wall

    What to do for fun

    Basically unless you like pool, ping pong, or you're in a sport, there's nothing to do here as far as fun goes. There was a bowling alley but it got shut down. Pretty good pool table set up though.

    Food and Dining

    Food is really good, but expensive

    Dorm Life

    I don't think there are any Dorms.... at least not that I'm aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are tough, but most you can get by with only about 3 hours of studying (If that even) a week.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Look up you prof. before you join the class! -If you're going into an entry level Biology class and don't want to buy a Spokane Falls edition you can just buy a normal Campbell edition for a fraction of the cost. -If you are interested in Anthropology, take your class from Sarah Martin! -Great bus access, so if you don't have a car it's still pretty easy to get to school.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful place to get started! Check out your Professors before you sign up for a class, there are a lot of Bad ones. But the ones that are good are amazing!

  • 02/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hangout rooms and areas create for a friendly environment.

    Food and Dining

    Normal Cafe food for a college.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on site.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers ad most definitely great learning!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet your instructor prior to class!

    In three sentences

    The falls is a great college full of many wonderful kids. It offers many programs and has many wonderful instructors to guide the way. It can be a career path that you may never forget!

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The coffee shop in the cafeteria is decent and the staff there is nice.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so there are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do a lot on your own, and to wait on the phone and/or in person if you are trying to get something done. They seemed to be understaffed or something, lots of lacking when it comes to one on one needs.

    In three sentences

    Hard to communicate with. Online programs hardly work. Nice staff.

  • 03/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Concerts Outdoor movies

    Tips for prospective students

    Get financial aid done as soon as possible If you don't hear anything back for a while, go in and see what the hold up is

    In three sentences

    Good professors Horrible experience with financial aid

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    As cafes go, theirs is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Major specific programs are great! Some of the general education classes go a little wonky though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Housing isn't provided so be prepared to find an apartment.

    In three sentences

    Inexpensive for residents, great social life for a little school, love the location.

  • 04/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent security and well lighted.

    Clubs and Activities

    All lot to chose from: Photography, LGBT, Japanese, Anime, Gamers, Graphic Design, Choral, Astronomy, Jazz, Lit, Dance, and too many more to mention. On site bowling alley, pool tables and a gym with pool.

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal Arts, Music, Languages, multicultural

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    New Astronomy Lab. Sister city to a Japanese city so lots of oriental themed events. Bloomsday Run sponsored by the city. A massive basketball event held by the city.

    What to do for fun

    Don't really have time for it right now. There are lots of parks. A theme park is only 2 hours away called Silverwood in Sandpoint, ID. There's a smaller fun park called Wonderland with miniature golf, go carts, and other similar venues. Laser Quest downtown with discounts for students. Really fun Halloween events at the local farms. Many skating rinks and bowling alleys too.

    Food and Dining

    Don't go out. Live at home.

    Dorm Life

    Don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only attended one month but it hasn't been too difficult to keep up. That doesn't mean it wont become more intense soon enough but there's plenty of help on hand to keep you on track.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your financials are in order long before you step foot on campus. It will save you a lot of grief. Always make the orientation offered, it helps you through registration and informs you of everything else you need to know about your chosen school.

    In three sentences

    Love it here! The teachers are great and if I need help there is plenty on hand from counselors to office personal to onsite tutors.

  • 07/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've had to call security once. They weren't too on the ball, but they still got to the scene pretty quick. Security is active.

    Great for these types of students

    Mostly those looking to move on to a 4-year. Also those looking to shine (I have a 4.0. I'm not that smart, but it didn't take much effort really). It's an easy school for sure. If you can't do well here then there's definitely a character flaw you should work on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is well maintained and looks mostly new. There are a lot of places to study or chill out.

    Bang for the buck

    A bit expensive for my out of state students. Selling back books is a joke. But other than that it's not bad.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends, join a club, go home. Depends on what you're into. I'm a music student so fun for me would include staying after class and tracking some vocals if available or working on instrumental technique.

    Food and Dining

    Fair. The on-campus cafeteria is available to all students and is located in the Student Union building.

    Dorm Life

    I have no idea. But I would imagine that it's pretty plain jane.

    Academic Rigor

    Seemingly decent. Some instructors are just not very good (which is probably why they're not at a university), while others are just fantastic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Good for prospective students within the Spokane area who wish to get a 2-year degree, wish to transfer from a 2-year degree to a 4-year school, or are unable or unwilling to go to a 4 year school. Acceptance is easy, but getting financial aid in order is confusing. You really have to be on the ball otherwise they won't inform you of anything until it's too late.

    In three sentences

    Spokane Falls Community College is part of the Community Colleges of Spokane network which includes Spokane Community College as well. Many programs are offered between the schools. It's very easy to be accepted into the school.