Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Spring Arbor University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/18/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 out of 17 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 1 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a friendly, loving, and personal environment. A place were they can develop internally and see the world in a Christian perspective.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to connect with other students. Also do not worry about tuition costs, SAU provides huge amount of financial aid support.

  • 01/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 14 people found this review useful. 2 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who like close-knit community, liberal arts education, Christianity,attending chapel/church, or just want a safe and nurturing college environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Senior Expedition visit days are extremely fun, but for a more accurate view of the school visit campus another time.

    Bang for the buck

    It seems SO expensive - but they really do provide some great scholarships. Some parts of attending here are less of a bang for the buck than others; such as the meal plan.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is so friendly here; it is easy to get involved with any group of friends or any activity. There is not a lot of diversity religiously speaking, but that is great for many people. With Jackson so close there are many opportunities for volunteerism.

    Am learning a lot

    Many classes freshman year were not intellectually challenging. However, once you get into classes for your major there is a lot more to be learned.

  • 12/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 3 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who really want to integrate their faith in their lifestyles. Those who want to grow in their walk with Christ and grow in fellowship with others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to do what you love and to try new things. There are so many different clubs and activities at Spring Arbor. Interacting with the great community here is not hard to do- so go out and live it up!

    Bang for the buck

    No matter what your interests are, Spring Arbor University allows you to be a part of a fun-loving community. Spring Arbor has the small community atmosphere that allows you to have strong connections with others, yet has a vast amount of opportunities to keep you busy and involved. At other universities you might spend less, but get half of the college experience. This is really the best time of your life, and you do not want it to be wasted with trivial opportunities, do you?

    Am enjoying being here

    The community of believers is so amazing. The Christian atmosphere not only makes me feel safe and loved, but it is so fun to be around others who have the same drives as me. I have made the best friends I have ever had here, the classes activate me, and I am never bored with all of the activities that are going on.

    Am learning a lot

    The liberal arts emphasis allows you to really get a thorough knowledge of many different subjects. The professors relate the classes that are not in your major to life in general, so that you at least take one thing away from the class at the end of the semester.

  • 12/02/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 4 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to grow closer to God, be super social, and get an overall amazing college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't decide on a different college just because of tuition! We have tons of visit days. Come see for yourself why SAU is worth it.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is high, but every dollar is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    SAU has the best community atmosphere you could ask for. there's always something going on :)

    Am learning a lot

    At SAU, you get a liberal arts degree; so not only do you learn about your field of study, but more! All the professors are really interactive, you can talk to any of them about anything.

  • 06/11/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 11 people found this review useful. 5 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian; those who want a community feel; interested in a liberal arts degree

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be worried about the cost; SAU provides a lot of financial aid.

  • 02/22/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 6 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are a Christian and are willing to work hard to meet your academic goals, then Spring Arbor University would probably be a good place for you. It still might not be, but you should definitely check it out. Go Cougars!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not think of attending SAU if you don't love Christ! Everything here is centered around God and the Bible. You would probably be miserable if you weren't a Christian.

    Bang for the buck

    SAU looks like it is going to be EXTREMELY expensive, but the admissions counselors work very hard to get you the most money they can. The yearly cost at SAU (including tuition, books, and meals) is about 30k. For me right now, everything is covered except for about 10k. (but I am applying for a music scholarship this week)

    Will enjoy being here

    I have made many great friends already. For the most part, they are friendly christian people that are easy to get along with. I've eaten at the Dining Commons many times and the food really is wonderful. My absolute favorite part of SAU is the chapel services. For an entire year I went to every chapel service. The music is something that really lifts me up and makes my day start out right.

    Will learn a lot

    I was duel-enrolled and earned 15 college credits. I learned so very much. The professors are very friendly and helpful. All the ones I've studied under have been more than willing to work around sick days, or days I couldn't get to class because of the weather.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 7 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't have a problem with rules. This is a Christian school so there are a lot of rules here including no drinking, smoking, drugs, or premarital sex. So if you have trouble with following rules and adhering to authority than this probably isn't the school for you. This school is great for students who are interested in not only growing mentally but also spiritually and for students who want a smaller more intimate setting. Most of all this school is great for students who want a Christ centered education.

    Tips for prospective students

    As I said apply for scholarships. Also, a lot of people have trouble transferring credits here so if you are transferring stay on top of things and make sure you know what credits will and will not transfer. Finally, visit the campus and ask questions. A lot of students end up leaving here after the first semester because it wasn't what they expected. So save yourself a lot of time and money by getting to know the school before you decide to attend the school. The more you know about it the less likely you are to make the wrong decision.

    Bang for the buck

    This is an expensive school and I will probably be in debt up to my ears when I graduate but so far I think I'm getting what I paid for, which is a healthy Christian atmosphere and higher learning. However, if you are considering coming here be prepared to apply for a lot of scholarships and financial aid, unless you are made out of money that is. Thankfully Spring Arbor does offer a lot of aid and they will work with you to find the best possible payment plan so don't let the money issue stop you.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the atmosphere here. I have made so many friends and everyone for the most part is friendly. Spring Arbor really works hard to get you involved in campus a life, especially as a freshman. I was so busy my first semester that my head was spinning. There are plenty of campus groups to join and activities to take part in. The key is to keep an open mind and try a little bit of everything even if you don't think you will like it. The more involved you are the more friends you will make and the more memorable your experience here will be :)

    Am learning a lot

    For the most part the Professors at Spring Arbor University really care about the students and want them to succeed. Of course as always there are those few who no one really like but that’s the case with almost every school. The professors make an effort to ensure that everyone in the class is excelling. The class sizes are small so the Professor is able to focus on individual students more. If the student is proactive about his or her learning and stays on top of things he or she will definitely learn a lot. If a student is falling behind the most Professors will work with them and even give them special assignments to help them pass, at least that’s been my experience. The fact the Professors are so invested in the students really facilitates learning which why I have learned so much.

  • 05/17/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 8 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    My brother really enjoyed the student life here and I've been to a few parties myself, they were well controlled and there was no drinking. Just a gathering of friends.

    Will learn a lot

    My brother went here and he learns a good bit. He was in Computer science.

  • 08/19/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian students looking for an environment where their faith will thrive as they work toward their degree from a Christian perspective.

    Bang for the buck

    Christian college has is sticker price, but the education received at SAU seems to be worth it.

    Will enjoy being here

    Great Christian atmosphere.

  • 10/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's awesome for students who are looking for schools that tie in Christianity with studies, but at the same time learn about the worldly views, too. It's also awesome for students who are looking for ways to have a deeper relationship with God.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm enjoying myself here, and there are a lot of things going on. People are also very nice.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much in Spring Arbor University right now, and I love it because it's challenging me, and I love challenges. I'm getting to learn not only through books but by hands-on experiences. The professors also don't mind if we ask questions.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They make sure every rule is followed, yes. I know that can seem annoying, but they will also drive you from the parking lot to your dorm in the middle of the night.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    People who take their studies and faith seriously. Or people who are seriously trying to get into faith in Jesus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are tons of things this campus does that I doubt any other college does. Arbor games, campus golf, Cedar Bend, and so much more.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't really much in Spring Arbor to do for fun, nor in Jackson. You basically have to know someone with a car and go to East Lansing or Ann Arbor.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't all that bad but it gets boring.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone on the floor gets to know each other very quickly. If your door isn't locked chances are someone is coming in. Most doors are propped open anyway.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of these classes are easy. There are however hard classes where that one class can give you up to six hours of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    You really are just thrown into groups of people from your core group to your hall floor. Don't take the classes lightly.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    playing sports, hang out with friends, chapel, activities that go on throughout the year, dances and many more!

    Tips for prospective students

    be willing to look for all the possible outcomes that could happen. sau is an awesome school to attend.

    In three sentences

    spring arbor is an amazing place to learn and grow spiritually. everyone is so loving and always willing to help. it's a perfect place to find out who you are.

  • 01/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 8 people found this review useful. 13 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every type of student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Spring Arbor University.

    Bang for the buck

    I get a college education and I get to make life long friends.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy making new friends and meeting the professors.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm at school, of course I'm learning a lot.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    at night the doors are locked and you have to have the key fob to get in.

    Clubs and Activities

    if i weren't so far from main campus, i would know more about the activities.

    Great for these types of students

    mothers, fathers, people with more than one job, or all kinds of busy people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    prayer before we start class for anyone that may be in the need for a little extra prayer.

    Bang for the buck

    great school!

    What to do for fun

    since i'm not on the main campus, there is very little to do. inside the class room group projects and discussions are always fun.

    Food and Dining

    vending machines is all we have here, but we do often bring in potlucks.

    Dorm Life

    i currently go to the battle creek site and there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    the is weekly reading that allows you to make time within your schedule. big university centered essays and research papers due often. there is plenty of time for lecture weekly.

    Tips for prospective students

    they make it impossible not to graduate. structured for busy people. college work at today's speeds.

    In three sentences

    spring arbor is flexible. i love that the teachings are christ centered. small class sizes more one on one with instructors and other students.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There were many times this year where I needed their help with a dead battery. They were nice and helpful. They can also give you rides late at night if you don't feel safe walking back alone from Freshman parking lot.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many clubs or activities, but if you get involved in the ones they offer, it is super fun! They have movie nights, and open mic nights and other things.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students who want a Christian university with Christian faculty and staff. This is also for those who want to be pushed in their faith and go to the next level.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At Christmas time, the guys run through the girl's dorms singing Christmas carols with only boxers on.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is expensive, but they work well with finding scholarships, grants and money for everyone.

    What to do for fun

    Me and my friends usually do sidewalk chalk and meet new people. In Jackson there is a great ice cream place called The Parlor that everyone goes to. Campus activities are fun, or having a bonfire at Lime Lake is also fun as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be both good and bad. Some days you just eat cereal or salad, yet other days they have great food. They are currently making the cafeteria bigger, so there will be more seating and food options. They sometimes have special days for Thanksgiving or Christmas and those days are super fun!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. There aren't very many activities planned, but if your floor wants to, they can make the year super fun! Community bathrooms are fun because you get to know people while getting ready in the morning.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect college level work and they push for excellence. Expect on average 20 hours of homework a week.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter which college you go to, the first two months is difficult because you are meeting so many people and trying to find the group of friends you want. Hang in there and don't give up because everything eventually falls into place. Get involved in the student activities and intramurals. Lastly, if possible, do not take a night class. Most people hang out during this time and you can miss out on some fun stuff.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor University is a great Christian college with faculty and staff devoted to God and your success. Most of the students are in love with God and genuinely own their own faith. Even though it is in a small town, in Jackson, there is much to do.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Intramurals is a good way to meet new people and they go all year round. Different halls will post special events that they run. There are also block parties, porchfest, and plaza ball that happen at different times of the year.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria food is almost completely processed food, though they do have a salad bar and Mongolian grill. The upside is that the staff is very friendly and tries to get know the students at a personal level.

    Dorm Life

    Some of my closets friends are guys from my old floor. Between Core 100 and Intramurals I got to know some guys on my floor really well. There is also quiet hours at night that allow you to get some much needed sleep or studying done. There were a few things that bothered me. The printer in the computer lab usually did not work, maintenance was slow on some issues, and the phones cannot call out.

    Academic Rigor

    Spring Arbor has found the right balance between Academics and fun. There is always people who are studing for an exam or writing a paper, but there are also activities that allow you to enjoy some free time as well. You just got to remember to get back to studying afterwords.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you go in for registration ask how to find an audit sheet for your intended major. I have had and heard of some problems Admissions has caused by giving people wrong or to many classes/electives.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor is a wonderful College. The focus of the college in on Christ and on Community. This allowed me to make a lot of new friends who have the similar ethics as me.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are trained professionals on campus at all times. If you do not feel safe, you are encouraged to notify them and they will walk with you to your car or dorm. They even have a texting system so that you can get help fast and they can notify you of alerts.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs for all types of people. If you don't see a club that you want to join, then you are encouraged to start a club of your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletic and artsy. That sounds like a strange combination for a campus, but Spring Arbor has strong sports teams that win championships and titles. Music, drama, and art are also encouraged. There are several musical groups and ensembles, an art gallery specially designed for students, and theatrical productions every year. Last year's spring play was written, directed, and performed entirely by students!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have this thing called Octoberfest where different dorms prepare and perform skits and comedy acts while everyone just sits on the lawn and watches. It is now a well-known event that is looked forward to each year!

    Bang for the buck

    Spring Arbor has incredible study abroad programs with schoarships and other ways to finance your trip. You can basically go anywhere you want as long as it is not on the U.S. list of dangerous countries. They also offer internships during your study abroad.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of neat ways to hang out, including plenty of educational clubs as well as intermural sports. The school also offers tons of social events each month and encourages students to plan their own events!

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing with lots of choices at every meal. It's way better than what you expect from a college dining commons!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but not overwhelming. They offer several programs for students with special needs or students who are just struggling with a class. They even have a program to proofread your essays and give you writing tips on how to improve your essay before you turn it in. The professors and staff are dedicated to making sure that you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check out all of their programs! Spring Arbor has so much to offer and they have great staff and programs to make sure that you get the most out of your education and developement at college.

    In three sentences

    The campus is well layed out and kept up through yearly improvement projects. The programs are state of the art with professional tools to enhance learning. The professors are personable and highly educated in their fields and well as classroom management.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is almost too good at sau. spring arbor is a very safe town, but in addition to that, we have many officers that are on patrol 24-7.

    Great for these types of students

    sau is a great university for christians, students interested in education, psychology, social work, business, or ministry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    sau has a few traditions that may be unusual, we have chapel every monday and wednesday for an hour when we get together to worship god and hear a guest speaker. for the most part, everyone on campus loves chapel!

    What to do for fun

    the town of spring arbor is very small, but just 5 or 10 minutes away is jackson, mi where there is a lot to do! there are many coffee shops, two movie theaters, target, two malls, lots of strip mall shopping, and downtown jackson. there are lots of restaurants, parks, light shows on the weekends, live music, and vintage shops.

    Food and Dining

    the food at sau is constantly improving. we have a mongolian bbq that cooks stir fry, quesadillas, omelets, and pasta to order as well as different dining options like a panera bread type option and a burgers and chicken place. we are currently under construction with a new student center including the dining commons!

    Dorm Life

    dorm life at sau is very unique to most schools, there are no co-ed dorm buildings, but opposite genders are able to be in girls/guys rooms 4 days out of the week. you will make so many friends through dorm life, a lot of students at sau choose to stay in dorms even through their upperclassmen years. we think it's the best part of college!

    Academic Rigor

    the academics at sau are for the most part phenomenal. depending on what major you're going into, sau has some of the most amazing and dedicated teachers. not only do they care about your success, but they all care about you as a person. the academics at sau have been known for being top in the country.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're a prospective student, come visit! the best days to come are during the week monday or wednesday so that you can sit in on a class, talk with students, and experience chapel! current students love visitors, and tons of them offer to house visitors in their room so that you can experience dorm life as well!

    In three sentences

    if you ask any student that attends spring arbor university, they will all tell you the same thing, the community of people is amazing. sau made me feel at home the moment i started two years ago, they have an outstanding academic record, and the professors truly care about your success. people genuinely care about your life, and they invest time into getting to know you.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    watch television, play video games

    Dorm Life

    quiet and clean new building called u-hall

    In three sentences

    i think spring arbor is conservative this place is probably a 5 or 6 out of 10 the food rating is 5

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 56

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    spring arbor is a very friendly place. there are a lot of activities to get involved in. the campus is beautiful.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    spring arbor community proclaims that are the safest community in america.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life, but the people you live with become like family.

    Clubs and Activities

    at the beginning of the year, they have a event called down low. this is where you can find out about every club on campus. events and other activities will be announced at chapel or fliers will be hung around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    spring arbor is great for students who look to seek god on a more personal level.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    spring arbor has a place full of unusual traditions. it depends where you will be living. most of the different dorms have different events that people look forward to every year. ormston has the most unusual traditions in my opinion; they do nerf gun fights and porch fest.

    Bang for the buck

    well, it is a private institution so you're going to be paying a ton right off the bat. any college you go to is going to bleed you dry. spring arbor does offer really good scholarships to offset the cost.

    What to do for fun

    there are intramural sports, floor events, and concerts that get put on by students and musicians.

    Food and Dining

    eh, it's typical college food. the dining common isn't as bad as people make it out to be. ada's kitchen is pretty kick butt.

    Dorm Life

    i live in a village. it is really nice for many reasons. it is a quieter setting and people act more mature. the down side to this is that coming in as a transfer i felt that most girls here already new each other and were not as warming to me.

    Academic Rigor

    i transferred to spring arbor university from a community college. i had to learn to prioritize my time better. there was more reading that teachers expected you to do. all the work is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to know the right people on campus; don't be afraid to ask for help. take advantage of all the opportunities provided by the school (mission trips, cross-culturals, workshops). actively participate in the community.

    In three sentences

    spring arbor university that is strong in faith. at the core, this school carries respectable morals. in my opinion, the label, christian, clouds their sense of judgment.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    spring arbor is very safe. there are campus safety officers patrolling and ready to serve the community every minute of the day.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs and activities for everyone at spring arbor university. whether your passion be acting, dancing, or even ultimate frisbee, there is a club for you to join.

    Great for these types of students

    spring arbor is great for students interested in growing closer to god and those who follow him.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one unusual thing about spring arbor is that it requires a cross culture experience. each student is required to go to a foreign county with a group of students and staff and learn about that culture. i think that this is a wonderful experience that every school should offer.

    Bang for the buck

    through spring arbor is expensive, it is a wonderful place to that helps you to grow not only academically but spiritually as well. spring arbor challenges students to look outside themselves and learn about others, which is part of the reason why we have such a great community.

    What to do for fun

    the town of spring arbor is very small, so we find things to do around campus. usually student hang out and watch movies or join intermural sports teams or clubs to participate in. also, there are usually campus wide activities on weekends to partake in.

    Food and Dining

    the dinning commons (dc) is a great place to eat and hang out. there is always a wide variety of foods to choose from and it is also one of the most popular places on campus to hang out.

    Dorm Life

    there is a great sense of community in the dorms of spring arbor. the people on your floor quickly become your family and a wonderful support group. dorm life is probably one of my favorite aspects of spring arbor.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging but if you pay attention and apply yourself it is easy to succeed. also, it's more rewarding to do well in a class that challenged you then to slide by in a class that doesn't require much effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    spring arbor may be expensive and seems pretty small compared to other colleges, but if you are looking for a place where you can learn and grow not only in academics but in christ; spring arbor is the place to be.

    In three sentences

    spring arbor university is a wonderful place to be. it is a filled with amazing teachers who genuinely care about their students and teaching to the best of their abilities. also, it is a great christian based community.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    AWESOME

    Great for these types of students

    That are looking for a God centered College

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I was denied by another college and Spring Arbor Opened their arms to me and I plan to share my experience with everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    I would recommend this Spring Arbor to anyone. I feel like I am at home. The advisors walk you through everything.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities on and off the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the Dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    This University is for that person that has a hectic schedule. The classes are one day a week and you still get fulltime status. The classes are usually 5 weeks long. Anyone can do anything for 5 weeks.

    In three sentences

    This is the best college if you are a Christian person. I am able to praise God and study without being judged.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is a very safe place. No drinking, smoking or sexual activities are allowed. Our student leaders on campus enforce these rules, as well as out staff.

    Greek Life

    We do not have Fraternities/ Sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    We have intramural sports and different clubs on campus. If there is something we don't have, someone could start there own club.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are series about the education and growing closer to the Lord.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have so many different traditions and they are to unique and difficult for me to explain.

    Bang for the buck

    Spring Arbor is a small family oriented school. Everyone knows everyone. The professors work with you and everyone gets a peer advisor to help you through out your years. I am glad I chose this school because it fits me so well.

    What to do for fun

    We have sports events and sometimes we have events on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Spring Arbor gives us a variety of different choices everyday and we are allowed to recommend something. The chef will make it for you.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. It can get boring at times but it is exactly what the students need.

    Academic Rigor

    Spring Arbor has some of the top ranked academics programs. Ex: Psychology, Education, and Social Work

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind and appreciate everything that comes your way.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor is an excellent school that makes sure students receive the best of the best of everything from education to life lessons. they complete all this while helping students to grow closer to the Lord.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extrememly secure campus in a small community in Michigan

    Clubs and Activities

    All freshman are placed ina core group which builds relationships. There are numerous activities to partcipate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are looking for a Christian University that will assist them in every aspect of life.

    Bang for the buck

    Spring Arbor University is a private University the cost is 29,00 however there are many scholarships and grants available. The money is well spent as it will change your whole life.

    What to do for fun

    Numerous activities, concerts, core activities. Opportunities to partcipate in many sports as well.

    Food and Dining

    There are variety of food selections that are available from pizza,c hinese to healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was great. Formed friendships and built strong relationships. Had opportunities to partcipate in daily devotions and experience growth.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses were challenging and required a honest effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved and get dialed in. Take advantage of the many opportunities to participate. Take advantage of the many different advisors both academic and life.

    In three sentences

    Christian University that provides an excellent experience and opportunities for personal, spiritual and educational growth. There are many opportunities to become involved in student activities and sports. Spring Arbor will prepare you to be successful in life and a career.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go play basketball, tennis, go to the library and hang out, go to the music building, movie night in the residence halls, and concerts.

    Food and Dining

    We have a very wide food selection. I loo forward to something new to eat everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is excellent. The community is so great and cheerful.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be a struggle if you do not apply yourself to the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to SAU with an open mind ready to try and learn new things.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor is a great school if you are trying to build your walk with Christ. The community is outstanding and I am glad I am apart of it. The students and faculty make it their business to make everyone feel loved.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christians (every class has God in it) Outgoing Social work/ ministry majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ring my Spring (engaged) Porchfest (show your talent in an amusing way) P-Loop (future relationship starts there w/ a simple walk) Movie on the Lawn (wings, popcorn, plaza and movie) A LOT

    Bang for the buck

    Though I can hardly afford SAU as it is, I would not want to go anywhere else. The education, opportunities, and people that go there make SAU the prefect choice for every Christian looking for an education where Christ is centered.

    What to do for fun

    Watch movies in the movies theaters found in 3/5 dorm building. Grab a drink from Sacred Grounds (Starbucks) in the library. Go to the beach(lake/pond) about 5 minutes from campus. Steak and Shake (at Midnight of course) Go to a game

    Food and Dining

    At any college you always get tired of the food. However, the food is not bad at all; salad bar is huge, Mongolian grill, cereal is always an option, gluten free section, and grab and go. Recently, with construction, the DC/Student Center will be expanded to aid the growing student population.

    Dorm Life

    Though there are some large dorms that are twice the size of the others what ever place you stay in your freshman year is where you would love to stay the next year. The community in each bluiding is great, you will most likely know everyone on your floor to the whole building by the end of your first semester. Though if you live in Lowell, Gainey (both girls) be prepared to here volleyball games and basketball games because the courts are right outside the building. Besides that dorms are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Freshman year is always the easiest; however, the classes and the teacher do not take slacking off. So be prepared to take notes, read, study and be in the library drinking coffee til Midnight to get your assignments done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to meet with your professor they are very understand people and know you by name. If you don't like chapel, then this is not the school for you, it is mandatory to attend two chapels a week. Bring a car, it gets really boring on the weekends.

    In three sentences

    Great community aspect. DC food is great, always something new. Very small teacher-student ratio.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The P-loop! Ring by Spring! Porchfest! Running to save the theater! Shoe in the door.

    Bang for the buck

    I get a bang every time I pay a buck!! However, in the middle of the semester when your having coffee with your professor, sitting in the plaza watching a movie, running around solving a puzzle, laughing in the theater, or studying in one of the lounges you forget about everything and just fall deeper in love with SAU.

    What to do for fun

    GO AWAY! I have to say that there are activities on campus but on the weekends it gets kinda boring and lame. Some students will go to the club, bowling, or to Ann Arbor.

    Food and Dining

    I can't really compare but I do believe we have the best college food from what I've heard. We always have an open salad and cereal (so when in doubt!). For those people that don't do gluten then there is always a gluten free option of the meal. The food is mostly always good. You will see the same meal every time throughout the semester but you will always get a surprise here or there. The dining is good (in Fall 2012 the new DC will be revealed). With the new DC there is going to be a lot of options of where to eat. What I find nice is that professor come and eat with us along with there families. It's always nice to see the theology department start a debate and students start crowding around.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life, there is usually one activity if not two that is happening in each dorm every month. However if you plan on living in Beta or Gamma you will hear people planning volleyball or basketball right outside your window, that can get old. All around, dorm life is great and you really get to know the girls on your floor if not on two other floors.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't be certain but I do believe being a liberal arts college they really want you to push way hard, then being private the academic rigor is already set high and, well, being a christian university you will always need a prayer or three to pass your exam.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to throw down some dough. Don't spend all your money at the coffee shop in the library. Stay in Lowell your first year (girls) or Ormston (guys). The library is your best friend; however, stay off the main floor if you actually want to get your work done. Go to the games.

    In three sentences

    All about community. Always willing to help; professors. Great DC food.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a non traditional student so I do have a very active life outside of attending school.

    Food and Dining

    I did not take advantage of any food services.

    Dorm Life

    I did not need to use the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You do have to put some effort into completing the assigned work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all scheduled classes and pay attention to the lectures and open discussions and you will do well.

    In three sentences

    This is a very good school to attend where I received my bachelor degree and now returning for my master degree. The staff is very helful and friendly with a real interest in helping each student to succeed. I have referred numerous friends and family members to Spring Arbor since I had such a good experience there.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is a wonderful feature at Spring Arbor University. They are available 24/7 and are trained to help in any situation.

    Great for these types of students

    Spring Arbor is made especially for those students who want to study in Christ centered environment and who don't mind attending weekly bible studies and chapel. Spring Arbor is also for those students who want to gain a devoted education with a safe, christian education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Arbor Games, SAU Lowdown, Lowell lauwa, Cedar Bend, Chapel, and so much more

    What to do for fun

    When it comes to fun, Spring Arbor is the definition. The campus has many different facilities for students to enjoy themselves during down time such as; the field house, game room in the student center, beach volley ball courts, dorm lobbies, and much much more. Jackson, MI is just a few miles up the road which makes finding things to do more convenient.

    Food and Dining

    Spring Arbor is currently finishing of a new student center with brand new student dining commons. The dinning experience at Spring Arbor is a positive on because the staff is willing to work with students allergies and heath issues that may affect ones food choices. The dinning commons has a large selection of food for students to choose from, and there is also a student lounge/ dining, called the Cougar Den and Adas Kitchen, where students can grab a fast bite to eat between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Spring Arbor University is one of a kind and is very homey and heart warming. Every dorm has a resident director who devotes his/ her time to those who reside in the building. Every floor has a resident director that makes each and every floor feel like home. Families, friendships, and memories are made while experiencing dorm life at Spring Arbor. There are also designated times where the opposite sex can be in a dorm room, which is very useful so that students can have time to devote to God instead of being bombarded with the opposite sex in their rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Spring Arbor is very strict when it comes to academics. There is a set 0% tolerance for cheating and plagiarism. The University issues one warning about the academic tolerance when students arrive first time on campus. Every student is accountable for their own work and everything else is set to a fair warning.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to devote yourself to prayer and to never let your educational goals out of sight. If you continue to study and pray, Spring Arbor University will a wonderful milestone in any students life. Make sure to participate in as much campus activities and events as possible; they make the experience worth even more enjoyable and memorable.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor is a great University that is build on a foundation that is supported my God. While attending Spring Arbor, you are introduced a community of Christians that are devoted to God and their academic studies. Spring Arbor is home away from home surrounded by helpful staff and students.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safely watched over by the amazing security staff that has even made 4-6 trips around halls a night. They are willing to help you with whatever you may need.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is all types of activities on Campus for new and returning students. The Core experience is definitely one of the life changing activities that will be offered at S.A.U.

    Bang for the buck

    I absolutely love the Chapel services that are offered through the year. The worship team is very devoted and committed to shining light towards the songs chosen. I think people have changed perspectives and hearts every time they leave chapel.

    What to do for fun

    There is always many activities on campus to spend your time in and meet new people. From salsa dancing to movie showings. There is always something to do and people to have fun with.

    Food and Dining

    We have three different dining options (if selecting meal plans) the DC, Ada's Kitchen, and the new and amazing Cougar Den where it has a modern yet healthy vibe to the area.

    Dorm Life

    I love it here, the muffit hall is especially very welcoming and offers a very loving environment.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not the type of home work assignments you can not do if you had a bad day but enough that it gets into your brain and daily life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships as there is an abundance.

    In three sentences

    This school has been a very accepting and has offered a growing community. The campus is small enough for everyone you meet to be seen again. The professors truly care about each student and the spiritual growth.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a blessing, they're only a phone call away, and ready to help!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a BUNCH of clubs, and when you come in as a freshman they have a whole event for the incoming student to see all the school has to offer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spring Arbor has many werid traditions, but they're amazing and fun! I don't want to spoil any of them because it ruins the fun.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a ton of free things to do which is always amazing. As college students free is our favorite word. They have concerts that cost nothing-this spring Relient K is coming and it's not costing a thing for us

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of things to do during the week, and on the weekend. Although a lot of the students go home for the weekend there are a ton of concerts (for free!), and games. There are tons of opportunities to increase you spiritual life.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, my favor place to eat for lunch is Ada's kitchen, they serve soup, and sandwitchs and it's lovely tasting! The food at the Dinning commons is pretty good, but sometimes interesting.

    Dorm Life

    There are three girl dorms and two guy dorms and the community is so wonderful! A Lot of the doors are open and you can walk in and talking to the students living there. They have so many opportunities for you and your building to bond, and even more for you and your floor to bond!

    Academic Rigor

    I've only been here for a semester but the professors are wonderful, and they know their information in the class that they are teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although it is a Christian college, don't get overwhelmed by that. The students here are so kind, and wonderful, and the adults are so helpful, and if you ask they are willing to invest their time and energy in your life!

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor is a wonderful place for thriving christian college students. The environment is filled with encouraging students and faculty that are ready to invest in your academic life, social life, physical life, and spiritual life. The college feels like home, and the people truly care.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of events on campus all the time. And if you need some more entertainment than that you could always find a carpool buddy and go into Jackson for a good time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. If you don't ask now, people won't be as kind to answer them later.

    In three sentences

    The community here is amazing and I love how involved the professors are with students. I feel accepted here in a way I have never before and I can seen God is definitely at work here.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe, and if I didn't... all you have to do is call them and they will escort you to where you wish to go!

    Bang for the buck

    I think it is completely worth my money to go here. I wouldn't have picked a better place because the professors are so understanding and want to help you do your best!

    What to do for fun

    You hang out with your friends. There is not much close by that you can do, but there is stuff in the next town over.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great when there are visitors, but when it gets near to break, the food isn't as good.

    Dorm Life

    Living in Muffitt is great! You are really close to the people around you but I can't tell you how it is in the other dorms. There are open hours that guys can come to the girls dorms and the girls can go to the guys dorms!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are filling out scholarships. Spring Arbor is an expensive school but they want to help you financially if they can. Stay on your game for the first semester. By the end, you will want to slack a lot and but you still have a lot of work to do in the last couple weeks.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor has a great community of students. It is so spiritual and the professors are so understanding. I am giving this college an A because it is so great.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 56

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor is a great college for those who want to grow closer to God. It has a small town atmosphere. It is also a perfect place to make new friends.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many events that the University hosts. They include bowling, ice skating, concerts, movie events, and intramural sports. If they don't host it you can also go to non university events that students put on.

    Food and Dining

    There are many great options for food, There are three different places to eat on campus. First is Ada's which is a place where you can get a combo meal for when you are in a hurry to get to class. The Cougar Den is a dining area in the student center that is also for quick meals but you can also buy food after the hours of the Dining Commons. The Dining Commons is where they serve the main meals, it has a very large variety of foods and it also has gluten free and lactose free meals too. Chartwells also leaves a board up for recommendations so you can ask them to have a certain type of food for the next day's meals.

    Dorm Life

    In the dorms there is a great sense of community, you really bond with the guys/girls on your floor and it is a great experience. There are tons of events the floors do that are a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not extremely tough, and the work load is not too much to handle. If you struggle with any thing in a class there are many staff members that will help you with your assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    A perspective student should really check out living in a dorm to see what the living areas are like. Also a perspective student should meet with a Professor that teaches what they are interested in studying.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor University is a great place for students to get a great education and have great relationships with your peers. It is a place where the staff focus on helping you as a student succeed. They also provide you with many options for you to help you succeed in your future career.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are really serious about getting a good, solid, education in a Christian environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is always the unusual tradition of The boxer carolers which is when guys go to all the dorms floors and carol in their boxers.

    Bang for the buck

    The close friendships you create, and the focused education you receive, plus the overall environment that encourages growth in all aspects, is worth the monetary price it costs.

    What to do for fun

    Go to campus events! Especially the ones that get off campus like Bombastic Bowling or 80's Skate Night. Get together with friends and play euchre, make midnight McDonald's runs, or watch movies in the lobbies. There is also the mall in Jackson and cute coffee shops.

    Food and Dining

    There is usually a pretty good variety of food at SAU. There are always healthy choices to choose from and with the new D.C opening, there is going to be more space and choices than ever.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is probably the best decision you can make to really feel like they belong to the community. It allows you to meet more people and spend more time with them. Each dorm has a unique personality and community that comes along with it.

    Academic Rigor

    SAU is really passionate about preparing its students for their future careers and lives, and the classes and faculty/staff reflect that. The professors are committed to excellence and usually go above and beyond what is required of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come ready to open yourself up and experience new things. Your professor can be your best friend. They are here for YOU. Learn to balance your time. You will get out what you pour into your academics, spiritual, and friend time.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor University is a tight-knit, friendly community dedicated to its students and their futures. The faculty and staff focus their attentions on really getting to know each student individually so that they can serve them and their future to the best of their ability. SAU is a place of positive growth--spiritually, academically, and emotionally.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is one of the main goals here at Spring Arbor. There is always officers on duty to attend to the needs of the students. They can be called at any hour for any reason and they are always happy to help the students with any trouble that they come across.

    Clubs and Activities

    It is so easy to get involved in school clubs and activities here. In the first week of freshman year, the school throws a fair that represents all the many activities that the students have the opportunity to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    Spring Arbor is great for the students looking for a deeper relationship with Christ while getting the education they need for the future.

    Bang for the buck

    Personally, I think this school is well worth the money I'm paying to attend. On the other hand, it is an expensive school which makes it difficult for many people to see past the dollar sign.

    What to do for fun

    Because the town is very small, most things to do must be either found on campus or you have to travel to the closest town for entertainment (which is only about 10 minutes away). The school tries to plan regular events for the students knowing that it is sometimes difficult to do. We have bowling and skating nights, as well as movies and open mics.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing can compare to a home-cooked meal, especially when the cooks are making meals for thousands of people. The Dining Commons are newly remodeled and beautifully done. There is a great variety of food that makes it easy for even the pickiest eaters to find a good meal.

    Dorm Life

    Every dorm here is all about the community. The resident assistants (or RA) make the halls a place to have fun, study, and make great life-long friends. Your floor becomes your family which is very comforting for people who come from out of state.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically this school is right on check. They make scheduling classes and picking majors an easy and stress-free environment. Teachers are friendly and care about you and your grade which makes it an desirable learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking for a school, make sure that not only the learning aspect is compatible but also the morals as well. The learning experience becomes much less stressful when your morals and values are not being tested and compromised.

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing! Christian schools such as Spring Arbor take on the responsibility of taking a learning environment and making it a christian environment. Spring Arbor University does an excellent job balancing the two while creating a fun learning environment.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    39 of 56

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have been looking into Spring Arbor for awhile. I would really like to go there. i think it would benefit my education more than a community college would.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety LOVES to give out tickets for the tiniest things and their kind of strict, but I guess they're doing their jobs.

    Clubs and Activities

    I wish there was more/ better advertisement for them. But things like Porchfest are always fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chipping at the lays factory is a good one. The tunnels. P-loop. Lime Lake. You pretty much need to be here to have someone explain and understand it for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little pricey and I do not know exactly where all that money goes, but the community and friends I make and the knowledge I get about life and the subjects is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Go to events even if you don't feel like it would be fun. There is not much to do around campus because its in the middle of no where, but you can find things. There is a pool and frisbee golf and people everywhere and pool and pingpong. I play video games with the guys inside when it is snowing. There could be more, but there is definitely stuff.

    Food and Dining

    It's college. The food is not going to be gourmet, but the dinning area has just been refurbished and looks amazing and the food is not half bad.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. The dorms themselves could be nicer, but the community in the dorms is amazing and makes everything worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    Everything that is taught is taught very well. Most professors do care about you and want you to succeed and understand the material. It is a great place to learn about the real world and how to handle it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that you are at school, so make sure you set aside time to work on Homework. Have fun, but avoid fines, they like to give those out a lot and they can get expensive. This is a great place to make a lot of friends that you will have for the rest of your life.

    In three sentences

    A great school with great community. A Christian college taught with Jesus Christ as the foundation. Rules are strict, but helpful in some circumstances.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety does its job well. I have never felt unsafe on or near the campus. The neighborhood it is located in is known to be safe and peaceful.

    Clubs and Activities

    This college does a great job of providing ways for students to connect and become more of a family!

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, but I wouldn't say it isn't worth it. Prices could definitely be more reasonable though.

    Food and Dining

    I have been told by many people that the meal plan is not the most fair, pricing wise.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Eat in the DC even if you might not like the food, it's much cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    Ultimate frisbee is the main recreational sport at SAU.

    Food and Dining

    The dorm life is fun. But the weekends can get boring because a lot of people go home on the weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are difficult, but the school provides a lot of extra help for the people who are struggling. And since the classes are small, the professors are always available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are a lot of events and things to do, do everything you can. And get to know Ron Kopicko, he can change you for the better.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor University has a great community. Unlike many colleges the professors really care about the students. And all the students are like a big family.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Homeschooled, non-socia people

    Bang for the buck

    I think for the money, you could get a much better degree for much less somewhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Movies and video games are what's done for fun at Spring Arbor University. Other than than, go home.

    Food and Dining

    The food is mediocre but the hard part is that if you live in the dorms you are forced onto the meal plan. It gets really difficult because they serve the same exact meal everyday.

    Dorm Life

    SAU is a very small campus out in the middle of nowhere so students often go home on weekends. Plus the dorms are small to begin with.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not too difficult, as long as you attend and do your homework you should have no problem getting a passing grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really make sure that this is the place you want to go. If you don't like people in your business, SAU probably isn't for you.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor University is a great college if you are really into small atmospheres where everyone is into everyone's business. The faculty are very helpful and often care about the students. Spring Arbor is out in the middle of no where, so expect people to go home on weekends.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety at SAU is just as good as any other university. The Spring Arbor area is a very safe township as it is.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities from sports to dance. They are usually listed in the announcements via your student email.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for Christian students or just students wanting a quality education without going to a huge school.

    Bang for the buck

    For the 20,000 dollar tuition they have, the university does deliver in terms of education. The career placement percentage is quite high.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of campus wide programs and events, you just have to check your SAU email. There are also good eateries and other entertainments in the Spring Arbor and Jackson areas.

    Food and Dining

    Chartwells is the company that is responsible for SAU's student dining. I actually work in the dining commons as a student worker. This company is very well-known in the student dining arena, and as such the food a of good quality. The employees are also considerate of the students; they always ask the students about what they could do better.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is exceptional at SAU. the resident assistants and spiritual life advisors are very involved in the life of the students living on their floors. The community in the dorms is unparalleled and it is a great place to strengthen your faith.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at SAU are very competent. The professors know what they are talking about and you get a better college education here than most other universities. They also use a ivy league grading scale, so it is slightly harder to maintain a solid A, B, C etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a private university, as such the tuition is higher than many other schools. Make sure you formulate a good financial plan before coming. Also, if you are looking to strengthen your relationship with Jesus Christ while in college, this is a great place to be.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor University is a great place of higher education that centers around Jesus Christ. They have small class sizes so your students are worked with as they are needed and the staff are quite skilled and helpful. It is a very competent University for any major.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As I am an off-campus satellite student, I have not experienced this aspect of the university.

    Greek Life

    As I am an off-campus satellite student, I have not experienced this aspect of the university.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I am an off-campus satellite student, I have not experienced this aspect of the university.

    Great for these types of students

    As I am an off-campus satellite student, I have not experienced this aspect of the university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As I am an off-campus satellite student, I have not experienced this aspect of the university.

    Bang for the buck

    Spring Arbor offers programs through local colleges that allow you to get a degree from the university while attending classes in your home town. Many credits from local community colleges transfer into their programs making it much more affordable to take your general education and elective courses.

    What to do for fun

    As I am an off-campus satellite student, I have not experienced this aspect of the university.

    Food and Dining

    As I am an off-campus satellite student, I have not experienced this aspect of the university.

    Dorm Life

    As I am an off-campus satellite student, I have not experienced this aspect of the university.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are intense, ranging from one to two weeks in them summer and anywhere from four to fourteen weeks in the Fall and Spring, but you really gain a wealth of knowledge in the short time you are taking these classes. Every class incorporates the Spring Arbor Teaching Model and makes sure that all aspects of it are present in each class. Expect to work hard and learn a lot through textbook readings, research, writing and hands on experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get into a cohort because these allow you to complete your program with the same group of students which makes for a much more valuable learning experience because of the support you gain from the bonds formed with fellow students. This faith based university is one that cannot be matched by any traditional/public higher education experience.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor's faith based education program has helped me to realize my potential and has been the perfect outlet for helping me to achieve my goal of becoming a leader of children. The staff are professional, caring and dedicated to making our educational experience of the utmost value. The opportunities granted by the satellite/off-campus program are instrumental in the successful completion of my program.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In Jackson, there is plenty to do, but not much right in Spring Arbor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply for outside scholarships. If you plan to major in education, stay strong and hold your ground; remember that YOU are in control of your future and make your own decisions. Don't let the school of ed push you around.

    In three sentences

    SAU is great at offering scholarships. Almost everyone gets accepted. However, I was disappointed with my college experience here.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very nice when coming back to campus late in the middle of winter. Just call them and they will come and pick you up and take you to your dorm.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a couple of clubs, which are showcased the first week of school. There are many activities happening all the time. There are even dances!

    Great for these types of students

    The student center is great for social butterflies. It is often to see someone you know because everyone cuts through the student center. The library quiet floor is for intense studiers. There are also quiet room up there for privacy, but they are monitored.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One fun tradition is when O-men, the residents of Ormston sings a medley of Christmas songs in front of the school. It is very comical.

    What to do for fun

    There a many things to do for fun. In the student center, there at are pool tables, foosball, air hockey, and ping pong for study brakes. There are also a ton of events during the night time. There is something for everybody! There are open mic nights, movie nights, board game night, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of options for food. The food for the most part is good. Sometimes it slacks for the dinning commons, but there are alternatives. The cougar den are for people quick and in a hurry. If running late, go to the cougar den, grab a to go bag and take your food to class. Professors are alright, being that they understand why. There is also Ada's kitchen, which is a soup and sandwich joint. It's is also to go if needed. Ada's is very good!

    Dorm Life

    The Resident Assistance work hard to make sure the everyone on the floor connects. There are also weekly bible studies, which is another nice way to connect with the people of the floor on a spiritual level. Bible studies are really refreshing when school and life seems overwhelming. Also your Resident director is there for you also, so if you feel like you are alone, there is plenty of people there ready to help in any way they can.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are really good at connecting with the students. They genuinely care for the students of the campus, which makes a difference fir the students. Most of the professors pray before starting a lecture. It's nice to open a class in such a positive way.

    Tips for prospective students

    The people of Spring Arbor University are very nice and friendly, so accept their kind gestures . Also Bring rain boots and an umbrella! There is lots of precipitation here. Also bring an open mind. Everyone at SAU loves to have fun and wants everyone else, including you, to have a great time learning too.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor is Awesome! The sense of community there is 4 stars. Also the professors are so open to help for YOU, not for them.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria was just re done recently and have made a lot of improvements. The food is great and you have a lot of variety to choose from. Even if you are a picky eater I am sure you will still find something to like. Its has lots of places to sit and chat with all your friends.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. There are some older dorms, but there is also a newer dorm that might interest many people. The dorms are great and getting to know your roommate is also a great way to make new friends. Everyone in the same dorm tend to do lots of activities together.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very good and might be what you are looking for in certain areas. They look for hard working students who are going to do their best.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor is a great place to go to learn more about God. You can grow in your walk of faith with Christ and learn how to share the good news. Its a great place to make new friends and have a great education

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a big thing here, they have squad cars that patrol the campus and are available to call if you feel worrisome and want a ride back to your dorm from the parking lot. A student I.D. is required to get into your hall and other hall's that house your gender to maximize safety in your hall.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs here for really anything, it's hard to not somewhere you fit in. Even if you can't find that perfect club, you can always make one yourself for people like you who enjoy some of the things that you do. As far as activities go, there is always some activity going on like poetry readings, plays, the occasional concert, and stuff like that.

    Great for these types of students

    I think Spring Arbor University is a wonderful place to attend college for anyone. There are support groups for people with troubled backgrounds, there are clubs for really almost anything and if you don't find a club you like, then you can make one instead. Judgmental attitudes are discouraged through just positive reminders by peers and teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the teachers and community here give you your money's worth on education and just feeling at home here. I have yet to meet the person who feels or felt uncomfortable here as the teachers want to get to know you and help you succeed in both your educational goals, but also your spiritual goals.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is always some campus activity going on or you and/or your friends could go across the street to your pick of McDonald's or Marino's Pizza. There is a game room on campus with pool tables, ping-pong, air hockey, and foosball to play there. This is located right next to the Cougar Den which sells snacks and meals so you can eat and play here.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining commons that is open three meals a day as well as a snack bar that is open twenty-four hours a day for the student on the go. The food is not terrible, but it's not stupendous either. It's very average though there are a ton of choices for each meal at the dining commons.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good here; everyone gets along, the RA's and RD's are qualified as they have to pass a training camp during the summer before the school year begins to make sure that they are up to the challenge before they are hired. Roommates are assigned by personality traits that are checked off on the housing application so as to try to match each person with their ideal roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    There is always homework, in fact I am taking a short break in my homework to write this review. The teachers are so understanding of the students that they know how to challenge them to grow in leaps and bounds. The workload is tough, but invigorating because you know that the teachers are doing it for your betterment.

    Tips for prospective students

    A couple tips I would give prospective students are that this college is huge on writing; there are papers due nearly every day in nearly every class so if you think you are up for the writing challenge, then this school is for you. Another thing is that because community is so important at this school, you have a required class that's all about building relationships with your peers and God.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor University is a small close-knit, Christian school where community is key. You get a lot of homework in each class, but you know you're getting a good education. The teachers are awesome; they take the time to make sure everyone in the class understands the materials and make themselves available to you through email or in person.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Taking classes for a bachelor's is going to cost a lot more than what you would be paying for classes at a community college. I feel I am getting what I am paying for though.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been challenged throughout all of the courses so far. But I am learning a lot from each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are some rules that I find a lot different than any other university you would attend in Michigan. Some of the rules I find a little out there but that is their right as a school.

    In three sentences

    I am attending SAU and I feel my education has really been taken care of. All of my instructors have been wonderful and I have been really surprised about how well things have gone. I would recommend this school to anyone who is furthering their education.

  • 11/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable price. Decent education. Could be a little more challenging.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Not extremely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit several schools before choosing where to attend.

    In three sentences

    OK school. Faculty could be better.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is super safe already since it's so small. Most people don't even lock their bedroom doors because it's so safe (it's optional of course). Campus safety will even escort you to your car or dorm if you need assistance. They are generally very helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Government Association is huge, but there really aren't many clubs otherwise. However, there are several kinds of Bible studies, and if you want to have a certain club, you're welcome to start your own with a group of other people.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated students and loving Christians

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ping pong...it is said that whomever you play ping pong with (opposite gender) is the personal you will end up marrying.

    Bang for the buck

    Spring Arbor is expensive, but the school offers a great amount of scholarships and grants. There's also the Loan Repayment Assistance Program which helps you pay back some of your loans after graduation, if your income is less than $37,000 a year (rejoice, teachers and pastors).

    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of activities that occur during the week, including sports games and occasional special events (popcorn and punch, pancake breakfasts, feminar, movie on the lawn).

    Food and Dining

    The options aren't great on the weekend and sometimes during the beginning of the week, but once Wednesday rolls around, the food (and dessert) is excellent. The dining staff are wonderful people.

    Dorm Life

    There is a fantastic environment in the dorms. Muffit (female-only) and Ormston (male-only) are the smallest and oldest, but I hear they have great community. It's typically where honors students are held. Lowell is the female-only dorm building with wonderful community. It has two lobbies, a kitchen, a movie theater room, a computer lab, and a fitness room. Andrews Hall (male-only) and Gainey Hall (female-only) are the newest and biggest dorm buildings. A good majority of athletes live there. (Bonus: Andrews and Gainey have air conditioning!) However, Gainey doesn't have as great of community because many of the girls keep their doors shut and they keep to themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are definitely challenging. You aren't in high school anymore. However, this is also where learning takes place. As a student you need to make sure to set aside a lot of time to maintain good grades. The work isn't that challenging, but it's time consuming. Procrastinating will get you nowhere (and I speak from experience).

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to be surrounded by loving people who want to support you. There are rules here, but it's not a hard transition if you're a Christian because these are the guidelines you'd want to follow anyway. Things may seem hard or strict at first, but hang in there. Everyone around you will want to support you and listen to you. People here truly care about you.

    In three sentences

    It is the most loving environment I have ever experienced. You learn a lot from the professors, and there is great emphasis on spiritual life. People you meet here can easily be friends for life.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It`s alright during the day, but at night - I probably would`t go walking around alone on campus or anywhere else. It`s not that the campus safety isn`t good, it`s just a small campus and it`s really easy for other people to walk onto the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Personally, I had high expectations for the school from how it was presented and what people where saying about the school once I got there. It was alright. I questioned a lot of the things that were taught in the curriculum in one of my classes, because I disagreed with somethings. Overall, the instructor was alright with it. With everything in account, with a price tag of about $32,000 for a year - I don`t really feel like I see these tuition dollars at work.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really on campus. There`s a ping-pong table, pool table, air hockey, and a few tv`s here and there. But the town of Spring Arbor has next to nothing in it. If you really need something there`s a Dollar General down the road, it` like a 15 minute walk. Otherwise, if you want to do something entertaining then you`ll want a car or a friend with a car.

    Food and Dining

    One of the worst things on campus, something that I can count on every day to be the same. The dessert are generally pretty good. But the food is normally the regular frozen food, but cooked a little. There`s always waffles, cereal, and bagels. On sundays the food is better because people from the church (that`s right next to the campus) will come eat in the cafeteria, so they tend to make better food for them (because they pay for it - I guess). The dinning area is really kind of small, compared to most schools - there`s only one of them. Where there`s meal exchange, that`s another place to eat. But that`s also a place where people hang out, and do homework.

    Dorm Life

    Wonderful, I live in Muffit Hall - the oldest dorm on the campus. The rooms are smaller than all the other rooms and the hall is smaller than all the other residential halls. There`s nothing terrible about it, of course cooking a meal in the community kitchen is nothing like cooking one at home but it create a lot of bonding with others in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I`m a Film/Video Major. Where I hope to end up, is in visual effects. If that`s what you`re looking for, then the academics isn`t what you`ll get here. The courses are mostly communications (which are important) but the video classes are limited and it does`t dive deep into the subjects. Mostly find it to be an unsatisfying degree program, because it`s so limited - it`s limited to the point where I wonder why there is one (it seems to get the basics of production, but doesn`t go into the story writing, storyboard or any of that). It would also depend what part of filming your trying to get into as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Food is something that`s really great to always have in your room, weekends are a pain because the cafeteria opens later in the day. For the first week, the food might seem really great because it`s a new experience or something, but after a few weeks - it will taste awful. With that in mind, don`t get the block meal plan if you eat a lot. There is meal exchange (which is normally better), in terms of more money for the dollar - full meal plans give you more. Printing papers, homework assignments, or whatever it is, is a pain - for being at a private school the amount of printers and computer labs that aren`t functional - so either bring your own printer or plan on spending a good amount of time printing off your stuff.

    In three sentences

    A close knit community, that is really warm and loving to everyone. Everything is really close, but having friends with a car is something that`s ideal. After living on campus for a semester or so, you`ll start to realize that you`re seeing a lot of the same people and the size of the campus will start to sink in - so being social is really key.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    54 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is VERY prominent. You see them around campus often and they take their jobs VERY seriously.

    Greek Life

    Nonexistent.

    Bang for the buck

    I say yes and no. There is a class titled CORE and the basis of the class is to learn how to form and maintain relationships in college. This class also requires that you attend a mandatory camping trip in which you're not allowed to bathe, bring your cell phone MP3 player or any type of electronics. The trip decides your grade for the entire class. If you do not attend the trip yet get straight As on everything else, you will still fail the class. This is the MOST expensive class an freshman takes, I believe the school could use tuition dollars a little more wisely.

    What to do for fun

    Sometimes the school has little get togethers, but it seems more like high school activities than something a college student would enjoy. There was a movie night on the lawn but the movie is PG. You aren't allowed to watch an R rated movie or a questionable movie in the lobbies. There is a VERY strict rule about boy and girl interaction in dorms and lobbies. Basically everything is strongly monitored. If you want to go to a club or a bar, go in Lansing, Ann Arbor or back at home. Don't get caught by someone that attends SAU because you can get in trouble for someone telling on you.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Commons (DC) are awful. The food is rarely healthy and there are times where there isn't anything for breakfast. There were many days when I did not even eat because I got sick from the food from the previous night. Also, the water in the Jackson, MI area is considered well water. If you attend, be sure to bring A LOT of bottled water or a water filter.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are always a hit or miss. The dorm I stayed in was small but had a lot to offer in the common areas. There was a small gym, a lounge, a movie theater and a computer lab. I lived in the second newest building. The newest girls dorm is amazing. Their rooms are enormous and they seem to have a better community than the other dorm buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    I give SAU 3 stars because none of the classes prepare the students for the real world in my opinion. I understand it is a Christian University, but non of the classes offered a different mindset other than that of a Christian. Even if the student doesn't believe in Christianity, they do not offer a different mindset. Other than the one-track mindset, SAU does offer a very strong science and math programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit more than once. If you are a minority, I would suggest that you think long and hard about the fact that you may be the only person of your race in your class or on your dorm floor. There is a mandatory attendance for the bi-weekly chapels and a mandatory camping trip in which you're not allowed to bathe, bring your cell phone MP3 player or any type of electronics. The trip decides your grade for the entire class. If you do not attend the trip yet get straight As on everything else, you will still fail the class.

    In three sentences

    SAU offers a lack of diversity and due to their religious affiliation, there is a lot of rules that some may not agree with. I believe the school is good for some but not for others. I have come to the conclusions that SAU is a hit or miss University.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Are great

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots and Lots

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshman, get ready for Cedar Bend... go in with an open mind.

    Bang for the buck

    Its expensive... thats rough.

    What to do for fun

    Spring Arbor is tiny, there is not a lot to do here. We are only 10 minutes from Jackson where you can find a couple things to do and 45 minutes from both Lansing and Ann Arbor and 1 1/2 hours from Detroit, so if you're feeling adventerous you can find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    To be honest, the food here is probably better than a lot of colleges from the stories I hear, but like all college food, it gets really boring really fast. There are three different places on campus so that add variety which is good. The people who work in the dining commons are amazing people, you feel right at home there.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's here are phenomenal and do a great job of creating an awesome community.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends a lot on how prepatory your high school was but also how hard you worked in high school. I took a lot of college prep classes in high school, so I thought I understood how college would be, but even high school college prep classes can't prepare you fully for how much homework you actually have. But if you manage your time well it is no too hard to handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in with an open mind. SAU is a small community and can seem antimidating at first because of how everyone knows each other but soon you will know everyone too. It is important to realize the small community that it is and understand that this is not like a large state university at all... it's not like the movies.

    In three sentences

    Spring Arbor University is a place that accepts all types of people. The faculty and staff genuinely care about each and every students to ensure a good education and future. The students care about one another and are quick to share a smile while walking accross campus and accepting of each person.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    non-existant

    Great for these types of students

    Ministry focused

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Chapel two times a week, probation if you miss more than six times a semester, take away grants if you live off campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Depends on your Major and financial situation.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of options in Jackson and Ann Arbor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check the ratio of aid to loans and then make your decision, they sneak in the debt.

    In three sentences

    Over-priced and money focused. Lovely community and campus. Great Social work program, professors, and opportunities.