Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Springfield College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/12/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great school for athletic students. Theres alot of physical activites going on and alot of teh majors have to do with physical activities like AT. Also, students who like to be active.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for an interview, they help a lot and visit the campus mulitiple times during different weather; if you visit campus in the rain, you wont like it as much as if you visited it on a sunny day!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money. The school has just been renovated and its beautiful. Also, laundry is built into your tuition which is pretty awesome.

    Will enjoy being here

    The current students are so inviting and friendly. There are alot of clubs and activities as well.

    Will learn a lot

    The classes are small so the professors really pay attention to you and help you out.

  • 03/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    athletes, people who love to volunteer and/or get involved with the community and other activities

    Tips for prospective students

    Get out there and meet people! Join clubs, try out for sports, do intramurals. There are so many opportunities on this campus. Take advantage of them!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is going up here as it is everywhere in a not-so-good economy. However, the college is great at helping with financial aid, much financial aid is available, and the college gives out a lot of financial aid to deserving students. I applied to 8 colleges and none of the other 7 compared to the amount of financial aid I received from Springfield College.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is a smaller-sized school but not too small. I know many people on campus and everyone is friendly and says hi as you walk by. However, there are some people I do not know. Therefore, in my opinion, this is a perfect size for a school. I feel as if I am learning everything I will need to be successful in my field of choice. There are many clubs, sports, and activities going on around campus that anyone can get involved in. Night life off-campus is great as well. There are bars within close proximity that are great quality, not too expensive, and an overall great environment.

    Am learning a lot

    The class sizes are small so professors know every student by name. This is very helpful because class time is more personal, more attention is paid to individual students,questions are gladly answered, and overall you get more out of class in my opinion. The professors are extremely knowledgeable and fit for their jobs. I have never had a professor who was not openly available for extra help outside of class.

  • 01/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking to go into some sort of health science, physical education, or exersice related major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus a lot and talk to current students and alumni about their time here.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is always in great condition, and you are rarely taught by a GA. The majority of the professors here are great and love what their doing, and have real knowledge of what their teaching.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone on campus is extremely friendly and want to make new friends. There is an endless amount of clubs to join and activities to attend, even on week nights.

    Am learning a lot

    I am in the Occupational Dual Degree program, have only been here for one semester, and have learned an extensive amount about the field of OT. Even the basic classes for freshman for all majors give you a lot of knowledge about the field and make you more comfortable about your future.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Springfield College is a school who is best for students who are interested in health sciences and rehabilitation studies. It is a great school for athletics and students who are looking to play sports in school. Springfield also highlights on educating the whole self as the spirit, mind, and body. So if a student is interested in really getting to know who they are as a person and a student Springfield College is the right place for them.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage students to visit Springfield College before they make their final decision on picking a school. Personally before I attended Springfield College I was unsure about the school because Springfield College was located in the city of Springfield. But once I visited Springfield College I realized that i didn't feel like I was in a city at all. I was comfortable on campus and the visit was what made me solidify my decision to attend Springfield College

    Bang for the buck

    Since Springfield College is a private college it is relatively expensive, however if a person has the ability to fund their education at Springfield College it is definitely worth it. I have spent hours applying for scholarships and grants to make sure that I can go to Springfield College because I know that there is no other college that I would rather attend. While I understand that many colleges allow students to take the minimum amount of credits, Springfield College allows students to take the maximum amount of credits while being able to manage school work and a social life. This way one is able to graduate with a broad and extensive education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love every moment on campus. It is a beautiful campus and there are so many activites and programs for students to get involved. I have taken advantage of the gym which is extensive and offers many classes for students who are looking for more than just the basic gym routine. From comedians, to students singers, to poets, and intellectual speakers come to perform giving students and opportunity to get outside of their dorm room and spend their time enjoying themselves around campus. Further activities like bingo, rollerskating, fit festival, and more are many of the reasons why Springfield College has made my time there very enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    I have only attended Springfield College for one year but I honestly feel that the quality and level of education at Springfield is outstanding. I feel that I have retained more information then ever. I understand concepts more clearly and I am able to apply what I learn to everyday life and I feel that I will carry everything that I have learned with me into my career.

  • 04/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who work well in smaller classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have an appointment for your interview, it is necessary.

    Bang for the buck

    Kind of costly

    Am enjoying being here

    Campus is great and there is a good social atmosphere

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers work well with you

  • 07/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to better themselves spiritually, mentally, and physically, while still having fun doing it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips I would give to prospective students would be utilize the campus resources, you already are paying for them so why not use them to your advantage. It will make school go much smoother for you. Also be friendly, it will pay off.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that for the money I am paying to attend Springfield college the benefits are well worth it. I am learning more and achieving higher goals than I ever did in high school. Everything you need and more is right on campus. Also the school is kept together very well, the grounds look amazing as well as the dorms providing you with easy living.

    Am enjoying being here

    Living at Springfield is very enjoyable, there is always something going on whether it be sporting events or late night activities in the campus union. The dorms are very nice on the inside and everyone is very friendly making the experience of being away at college all the more exciting.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot here at Springfield college the professors and staff are very friendly and willing to help you out. They help you to better understand the material that you are being taught. Last semester it was very easy for me to get good grades because Springfield has a very well rounded learning environment. The class room sizes are normally on the smaller side which allows for more one on one time with your professors. It also makes it easier for you to make yourself known to them. All of this combined creates the formula for awesome grades.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent

    Great for these types of students

    all ages

    Food and Dining

    EXCELLENT

    Academic Rigor

    tough, but at the correct level for institution of higher learning

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Be Discipline 2. Work hard 3. An always ask for help

    In three sentences

    The professors is all about the students education, and the opportunities are unmeasurable. I love Springfield College......

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cheney Hall features a little bit of everything. Pizza and burgers 24/7, also have a gluten free section as well. Solid food most of the time. Massive salad bar with all the fixings.

    Dorm Life

    Social life is fun, but unlike at a big state school or major university, the off-campus party scene is very limited. Dorms are undersized, but solid community makes living in the dorms very fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The science based classes at Springfield College are top notch. Whether it is for a biology major, or whether you are in their P.A. , P.T. , or A.T. programs, you are getting taught by the best of the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school's tuition is a tad high, but if you can afford it, well worth the price. Also get involved! Have a club or group for everyone. Extremely supportive in helping people get into shape.

    In three sentences

    The school has a great athletic atmosphere. Almost everyone either plays a sport or is into fitness/health. Very friendly environment with a great work ethic in the student body.

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    anyone looking for more than just a school Its really a community

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Don't walk on the grass. Spirit Mind and Body ...were all about it! Its all about being a balanced, well-rounded person here.

    Bang for the buck

    This college more so than any I know of offers a well rounded experience. From the variety of classes sports and clubs you'll find to the variety of people, this school will make you feel like you belong

    Am enjoying being here

    This school makes you feel like you are not just living on a campus but you actually belong to a community filled with your peers. The school offers a large variety of sports and clubs. SC make it easy to find what you want to get involved in and get involved in it.

    Am learning a lot

    If you put the effort in, you will get the results out of it. The college offers an academic success center which will work with you to help you do your best in all subjects.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Some who like playing sport or not the school is awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    It a great school, and they greet everyone with respect and I feel like there family.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is a bit high.

    Am enjoying being here

    Play basketball

    Am learning a lot

    About being a PE teacher. Having school pride. Helping other.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very very safe

    Great for these types of students

    great for students that know how to balance school and fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a 4-day new student orientation for freshman before classes start in september. it's a wonderful experience!

    Food and Dining

    food is delicious and fresh everyday, with a large variety!

    Dorm Life

    amazing!

    Academic Rigor

    very rigorous. especially the science courses

    Tips for prospective students

    do not procrastinate!!!!

    In three sentences

    springfield college is an amazing school with a beautiful campus. the professors are wonderful and very helpful. i would definitely rank this school at the top!

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always a call away. make me feel safe, always sends pride ride to get me from the parking lot when im scared to walk across campus

    Greek Life

    always ethnic foods in cheney

    Clubs and Activities

    so many to chose from

    What to do for fun

    there is always an event going on. there is always an activity going on on campus that everyone can be involved in and free. all sports team events are so fun because everyone goes to them and has a great time bonding.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining is amazing. there is always so many options to choose from especially when you dont know what to eat. if your not feeling the buffet style, there is subway, dunkin donuts, hamburgers to get in the union. food is always fresh and yummy

    Dorm Life

    making friends in the dorms is easy, mandatory hall meetings make it easy to meet and know your other floor buddies. every building is maintained every day cleaned, vacuumed, like new.

    Academic Rigor

    amazing. the professors are understanding, personal, and very helpful at all times. professors are flexible when the times needed, but strict with learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    say hi to everyone you meet. the more people you know the bigger your world becomes. never be afraid, this is a community of open sweet people.

    In three sentences

    springfield college is honored by spirit, mind and body. the outgoing students and faculty make going to springfield college enjoyable. the well maintenance buildings and lawn make an atmosphere like home.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    springfield college is safe, but the surrounding community is not.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many options.

    Great for these types of students

    hard workers. those who are interested in a community feel. those who like to be involved in a lot of different activities. great for those who are looking to play sports

    Bang for the buck

    i am getting a great education in physical therapy, and it is worth every penny that i am spending.

    What to do for fun

    go to the gym. join any of our clubs. go into the community to dance.

    Food and Dining

    there are many choices at the new campus union. the main dining hall is very good, and they have choices that will meet everyone's needs. there is a vegetarian station, a gluten free station, as well as to go options for those who need to eat, but don't have the time to sit down and eat.

    Dorm Life

    freshman dorms are a little cramped, but overall all the dorms are clean and have a great atmosphere.

    Academic Rigor

    i'm in the physical therapy program. it is very rigorous, but i have learned a lot and have gained the knowledge to feel comfortable going out into the community and helping to rehabilitate people.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to springfield and enjoy it! stay on top of your studies, and be involved in as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    springfield is a great college that is known for their academics and close knit community. they are very involved in humanics, and helping the surrounding community. it is a great place to go to school.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is a very safe place on campus with few instances and most of the time people from small towns who are not used to a city life blow up the small time problems into huge ones

    Greek Life

    none they are not allowed but the sport teams take over for that

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many, i'm on the ski club. student judicial board, hall council , and career center advisory board

    Great for these types of students

    athletic, very active, friendly, and ready to have fun

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have a freshman orientation that is so much fun

    Bang for the buck

    40,000 a year is a lot of money though luckily there are scholarships to be given out and if your a RA they pay for your food and half of your housing

    What to do for fun

    if your 21 then the bars and clubs are a lot of fun and inexpensive. if your not then there are 18+ clubs. also there are so many clubs, events, and activities to do so you don't have to go off-campus

    Food and Dining

    in comparsion to others Springfield College is the best though once you get used to it you start to get annoyed. the union is the best for fresh food and quality

    Dorm Life

    I think the dorms are great and when you come in here you should live in gulick if your a freshman. Then later Abbey if your a sophomore and Living Center as a junior if you can get in but abbey is fine. Finally, for a senior go for the senior suites.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a criminal justice major and it is not that hard to keep up with. However, I am a exception and any major that is a science will be very rigorous and intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to get in then promote the community service you have done or leadership skills including sports.

    In three sentences

    SC is very friendly and welcoming. It has a open atmosphere and everyone tries to say hi to everyone.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always feel safe and secure on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional and adult learners.

    Bang for the buck

    well worth the tuition price.

    What to do for fun

    There are various attractions nearby. The b-ball hall of fame, six flags, and in the fall, the big E.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is excellent!

    Academic Rigor

    The Staff is all about student learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its challenging at first, but well worth it in the long run. Never give up.

    In three sentences

    I give Springfield College a 5 star rating. The dedication to student learning in outstanding! I am in the adult learning program and I am treated with respect and kindness all the time. I feel proud to be a student, and will recommend others.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have very serious police officers working on campus and they ensure the safety of all students, faculty, and staff.

    Clubs and Activities

    Dance team, althetics (football, cheerleading, soccer, lacrosse), P.R.I.D.E.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, athletes, friendly, involved students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition for Springfield College is on campus during New Student Orientation, all of the incoming freshman wear a beanie to make sure that we know they are freshmen.

    Bang for the buck

    Springfield College is definitely worth the $45,000.00 per year!

    What to do for fun

    There's tons of weekend and weeknight activities depending on the time of year. There are events based on holidays, seasons, and some events are just for pure fun!

    Food and Dining

    Cheney Hall has phenomenal food! We also have Subway and Dunkin' Donuts on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is phenomenal; it's fun and exciting! You can have fun doing legal things, instead of drinking and drugs.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult, but as long as you stay focused, you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay organized, go to class, and do your homework!

    In three sentences

    Springfield College is friendly and the students are outgoing. The college is small, like a close-knit family. It is also very organized, with wonderful classes and professors.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always on patrol!

    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots on campus for all types!

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, hard working, athletic.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school!

    What to do for fun

    Western Mass is boring, or maybe I think so because I've been here for 18 years!

    Food and Dining

    Only had the open house food.

    Dorm Life

    not dorming :(

    Academic Rigor

    Great academics

    Tips for prospective students

    Its really great academics and finding a friend who lives in the area to help you out will be easy, many students live in the area.

    In three sentences

    It has a very easy accessed and open plan for the campus. Student life is very friendly. Tough area but great academics.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is number 1 on campus.

    What to do for fun

    A great gym with a climbing wall. Inside pool and track.

    Food and Dining

    Great food - great selection

    Dorm Life

    Seems to be alot of fun. Alot of things going on to keep you on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Seems to be very well balanced.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the school and campus and meet with advisors and administration . Very Helpful

    In three sentences

    Very nice clean safe campus. Everyone is very helpful and they have my 5 yr program of Physician Ass't.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Public Safety on campus are very nice and helpful to students. They always look to help students in any way they can. There is a Pride Ride on campus that gives rides all over campus for students at night if they need it.

    Greek Life

    There are no frats at Springfield College

    Clubs and Activities

    We have an entire board for all of the clubs we have on campus. All activities that go on at campus usually become packed full. The students have high energy and get involved in all different kind of events at SC.

    Great for these types of students

    SC is great for an athlete who wants to continue in anything related to sports, if you like science, want to become a PA. Physical education is huge at the school as well as Sport Management and Recreation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    STI-YU-KA is only held at SC and is a week long celebration of spring. A grease pole climb is held out on one of our greens as well as a oatmeal toss. Midnight madness is held in our field house and gives students something to do with their friends, sporting games are set up along with a bunch of inflatable courses and bounce houses. Fit Fest is also something pretty cool that is also in the field house where students can go in and learn so much about fitness and how fit they are and what they can do to improve their everyday lives to become more fit. And at every event there are always FREE t-shirts!

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little on the expensive side, but it is a private school. The professors are awesome and well connected. The dorms and food are perfect for any college student. Our fitness center is AMAZING! The campus is safe for all students and everyone is super nice. In my opinion it is definitely worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    The campus always has events and games going on throughout the entire school year. Sports is a huge thing at Springfield and going to watch a game is always fun to do with friends. There are a million different clubs to join that meet weekly and events go on at the union all the time. In the spring we always have a concert with a celebrity performer and in the spring we have a week called STI-YU-KA, which is a spring celebration and events go off everyday where SC's true tradition comes out where you see all students getting together as one to have a good time on campus.

    Food and Dining

    We have an amazing campus union with a Dunkin Donuts, small market, burger shop, Subway, Salad bar, and much more. Everything is reasonably priced and tastes oh so good!! Our dining hall is called Cheney, and the food there is actually really good! The options for meals is always different from day to day and the staff there are super friendly and love striking up conversations. The dining hall is also a great place for students to meet up and work on homework together, its spacious and has WiFi!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are where strangers soon become family at Springfield College. The buildings are older but the school keeps them up to date and they never look dirty, they are always clean and inviting. The maintenance staff are all friendly and the RA's at the school are super helpful and welcoming. The life for a student in the dorms allows for time to study and then time to have fun when warranted. I only wish the showers were bigger!

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others just due to the class level but all classes are thorough and you will never walk out of a class not learning something. Professors give fair amounts of homework and papers and challenge all students to their highest potential, I really like that about Springfield College.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest talking to professors in any major you want to really get a feel for what you want to do so that way you won't have to switch majors while at school. Come to campus with an open mind and be ready to meet your future best friends.

    In three sentences

    Springfield College has become my second home. I love everything about the school from the campus, staff members, amazing professors, and the friendly students. Attending SC has been one of the best choices in my life so far.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus activities board (CAB) runs events every night in the union. Campus Recreation has intramural and club sports and well as many academic clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not your typical college food. I eat better at school than i do at home

    Dorm Life

    Residence life is pretty good. The rooms are pretty much your standard college dorm room. The RAs a really good about getting to know everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you manage your time you'll have no problems. the academics are challenging but doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Springfield College is a place to get involved. You'll meet new people and become a part of close knit community.

    In three sentences

    Springfield College is a small school with a personal feel. The faculty will know your name and want you to succeed. The connections you can make at Springfield college are immeasurable.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great, no worries at all , from your room to class or even if you wan to take a walk , security is great

    Clubs and Activities

    I have heard a lot of good things as i mentioned i will be applying to some i will let you know , Football my first semester was awesome

    Great for these types of students

    Springfield is great for a student that wants a family atmosphere and support

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't have much to say besides tradition at Springfield is strong

    Bang for the buck

    Springfield is a great atmosphere, the college is situated next to a river and the campus is eye appealing

    What to do for fun

    I play football at Springfield but I am now looking to expand to more groups

    Food and Dining

    Food at Springfield is also great, the choices are outstanding

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great , i have made many new friends in my first semester

    Academic Rigor

    I will not say studies are hard but i will say they are challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard in high school and come to Springfield

    In three sentences

    Springfield College is exactly what i was looking for, it shows me self confidence, pride in what i do, and supports me

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has informed each student about fire drills or if we have in climate weather, what is to be done

    Greek Life

    I have no idea about this because I am in school only on weekends.

    Clubs and Activities

    At the main campus we have Foot ball, and Flag Ball events, swimming, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    I agree, because it is the school of Human Service. We have the same things in common

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is my first year going to Springfield and I love the people which attend classes with me.

    Bang for the buck

    Every now and then there is a sale on student products.

    What to do for fun

    There are several work shops throughout the year to challenge student's mine.

    Food and Dining

    I bring my own lunch from home.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus. I give this school a 5 star rating

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging at times however, we have access to our Professors so that we are able to complete work.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest you look into going to the school if you really want to work and go to school.

    In three sentences

    Springfield college is one of the best adult schools. It is the best of both worlds online and in class. I have excellent teachers

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    on campus 41/2 stars very safe on campus have heard of a few incidents on campus but off campus gets 1 star for being in Springfield the 8th most dangerous city in america and rated the #1 worst city overall to live in seen people getting jumped been in fights personally had knife pulled on me just outside of campus and public safety is a joke they just power trip on small things such as someone throwing up but if they ever are needed they call the real cops and step to the side

    Greek Life

    no greek life, your sports teams are your brothers and sisters and you will spend 70% of your time with people on your team

    Clubs and Activities

    offer a million clubs, always something happening, will meet most friends in clubs or sports teams

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes for sure outgoing if your shy you'll get left behind must be active or you wont meet people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    many unusual traditions some are awesome some not so much, Sti YU KA is a party week towards the middle of spring, great tradition or humanics day where everyone gets the day off and you can volunteer in the community if you'd like to, but others such as NSO or no walking on the grass are pretty ridiculous and its hard to understand how grown adults adhere to these things

    Bang for the buck

    expensive and they tack it on, any minor thing that gets broken is a huge expense such as a 4x4 inch window cost me 120$ to fix the paper towel dispenser my friend damages cost him $460 dont think anything they offer is cheap or priced right

    What to do for fun

    alot of activities always going on most of them didn't appeal to everyone but you can find something to get into, if you cant find a sporting event the union often has entertainent

    Food and Dining

    Food is amazing, chenney is the best college dining hall ive been to, they pride themselves on that food is cooked fresh infront of you and can be customized to your liking also has a subway, burger joint, pizza spot, and a dunkin donuts on campus and a school mini food store

    Dorm Life

    dorms aint bad the RA's are usually strict and annoying, depends on who you get what building your in and what you floor looks like

    Academic Rigor

    some majors are a joke, pretty much anything not related to science, but majors such as AT PT PE OT are Ex Sci are all veryyy difficult but also very well taught

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you KNOW you want to be here many majors such as mine are hard to transfer out of and not lose minimum a year of work, courses are specific and often do not transfer to other school. Also be a jock if your not you get outcasted, and play a sport those are like frats and most of your time will be with your team

    In three sentences

    Overall appealing but sadly a huge letdown when you get there, the teachers are mostly great but the admin such as business office, deans, and sometimes department heads. They seem to be more about the bottom dollar rather than the student highly disappointing I'm not Holding anything back honest review from an alumni

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety at Springfield College is a joke! There are times when they can actually be friendly, but that is rare. They can come off extremely racists towards minority students. They are not as helpful or friendly as you would expect them to be.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately the Greek life does not exist.

    What to do for fun

    The school has a lot of activities to do for fun on campus. Every month the school hosts many things to do. Activities like: Watching a movie that recently came out from the theaters; making your own bamboo plant; creating a snow globe; having comedians, hypnotists, and musicians make an appearance; and sporting events. There is an endless amount of activities that the school has for students. Very rarely do you find students bored with being on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class! You sign up for a particular for a reason; therefore, you need to attend classes and make the most out of it. Ask questions. If you are ever confused about something, whether it's a homework assignment or an event happening on campus, I strongly suggest asking anyone what is going on, instead of being lost the whole time. Join clubs that interest you. There are many clubs on campus. If you join one or two or more, I guarantee that you make a friend or two. Keep an open mind. College is a new experience for people coming out of high school, especially for those students that have been sheltered. You do not have to agree with what someone says, but it is good to keep an opened mind about it. Be yourself. You do not have to change who you are to fit in with a certain group. Stay true to who you are, and you will be fine.

    In three sentences

    Springfield College is not very diverse. Many of the teachers at Springfield College are friendly and very approachable. Springfield College is very community-oriented.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There hasn't been a moment when I have felt uncomfortable walking around at night or during the day.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently in 5 clubs and I love each one. The people are so friendly and you build a little family with them.

    Bang for the buck

    Springfield College was definitely worth the cost. There is so much opportunity and enriching experience here. From top gym facilities to excellent chefs at our dining hall and the challenging classe and excellent teachers, I'm glad I came.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many events held in the campus union. I must have been to 20 different events this year. From parties to laser tag to comedians and singers to making build a bears and custom spray painted hats. With the Late night madness committee, you can be walking into subway or dunkin' donuts and stumble into a trivia gameshow

    Food and Dining

    Springfield Colleges dining is ranked as one of the top dining halls in this half of the United States. Of course having the same food everyday becomes dull but they always change the menu. For Dr. Seuss's birthday, they had green eggs and ham!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. I live in a smaller dorm and it has its excitement. I love the feeling of not being home and being treated like an adult. The dorms are really nice. A lot of them look at the lake behind campus and you get to go to more campus activities by living here. I'm going to be a resident assistant next year because I love it so much.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but definitely something expected when you enter college. There have been any challenging times for me and probably many to come but there are great tutors and services to get you through. Having study buddies helps alot too.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip would be to build a study group early. The libraries get full and sometimes having that support makes a difference. Also join clubs. I was really shy when I came in and joining all different types of clubs really got me connected with many people and the school as a whole.

    In three sentences

    Springfield College symbolizes mind, body and spirit. Mind is what needed to excel and many other students will help in that journey along with staying healthy by exercising the brain and body. The spirit of this college is enormous and will shine bright when you take a tour and get a one on one feel.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not extremely safe. Caution is required.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not much choice.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love sports and if you love charity works. Springfield College is a heaven for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students at Springfield College have fun like students from other college.

    Bang for the buck

    Springfield College is taking good amount of efforts to boost diversity.

    What to do for fun

    East Campus is a good place to hang out, a must-go campus to build friendship with others.

    Food and Dining

    Springfield College has a very nice cafeteria. Yet meals are not cheap, range from $7 to $14.

    Dorm Life

    I am not in a good stance to comment the dorm life as I live off-campus

    Academic Rigor

    Highly depends on professor / lecturer, overall, getting good grades together with work/life balance is not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Lots of on campus employment opportunities. Not cheap tuition fee, get ready for scholarship hunt.

    In three sentences

    Springfield College is a divisional private school, well known of Physical Education, and Social Works program. Springfield College does not actively involve in academic research.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around and ready to help

    Great for these types of students

    Springfield's motto is Humanics They educate mind body and spirit. If you are looking for a well rounded education with community outreach then SC is for you

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends from your dorm, people you meet in class.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok but I wish there is more fruit and vegetables, I know it sounds crazy but for me it makes a difference

    Dorm Life

    Amazing!!!! You have to let go of what you knew and be open to new people and expierences

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough but Springfield College gives you the tools you need to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to new expierences

    In three sentences

    I am thrilled to be at Springfield College. My professors have been great, they are available to you outside of class and will help you succeed in their class. I have made so many friends this year, friends that I know will last a lifetime.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Only come if it has your major and you enjoy athletics

    In three sentences

    It is a great campus with friendly people. There is plenty to do.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe on campus, not off campus.

    Greek Life

    nada.

    Great for these types of students

    athletes. health orientated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are too many to list. Springfield College takes pride in their traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school, but you receive a unique experience. That said, no matter where you go your life will be unique.

    What to do for fun

    There's a nice gym, people here work out a lot.

    Food and Dining

    Not very many options, but I think most people can make it work for them.

    Dorm Life

    The custodians are friendly, know me by name, and go out of their way to make sure that we're comfortable. Work orders are taken care of very quickly. I broke off my thermostat adjustment one year, told my r.a., who filed a work order, and a new one was put on the next day. Once I even suggested to my R.D. that we get a new microwave for the building, just because the old one was...old. There was a new one that weekend. Residence life really wants us to feel at home here.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your major. Most majors here are easy/a joke. Other majors, you have to make your academics your social life, and become close with your classmates for studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're applying here for p.a. or p.t., really know that this is what you want. Be prepared to work harder than you think you will, and know that even though you're confident in your decision, there will be times along the way that you doubt yourself. Choose your school for who you are, not for who you want to be.

    In three sentences

    A small campus, without much academic diversity. Takes pride in service to humanity. An athletic school, but with opportunities for artistic development, if you're willing to look for them.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is safe, but could be a lot safer. More emergency boxes should be placed in key areas such as parking lots instead of being attached to buildings. It would help prevent further crime from happening.

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is always something to get involved in or do.

    Great for these types of students

    Physically active, looking to play sports, interested in humanities and giving back to others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sti-Yu-Ka is our spring carnival including traditions such as the taste of SC. A event where food is prepared for all and every student is encouraged to participate.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive, but the memories and education is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and sport. The wellness center is gorgeous and physical activity and health is promoted on a large scale. Attend any campus events being held such as late night bingo, sti-yu-ka activities, and join a club that you feel strongly about.

    Food and Dining

    Many options are available, but not many for those with gluten intolerance issues.

    Dorm Life

    Much improvement needed.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be a challenge, but if time is utilized correctly they will be no problem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep a balanced social life and academic life. Know what your priorities are, and do not be afraid to join campus activities they can make or break your experience.

    In three sentences

    It's a home away from home. The people are compassionate and caring of their futures and one another. Embracing the mind, body and spirit and a place where everyone feels welcomed.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good. We are in Springfield and are not a gated campus, so, like anywhere, kids should be careful and use good judgement. I've not heard of anything bad happening.

    Greek Life

    I am not part of Greek life, so don't know a whole lot about it ...

    Clubs and Activities

    Every kind you can think of ... if we don't have it, it's easy to start a club!

    Great for these types of students

    Every kind of student .... sportsminded (the gym facility is fabulous), shy (you will definately meet friends here without awkwardness), smart -- there are lots of really smart kids here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Springfield is really big into class and community unity. My favorite day on campus is Say Hey Day where the students are required to say Hey to every student or staff member they encounter. It is fun and geared to encouraging making new friends! My mom was on campus with me on Say Hey Day and didn't know about it. After like the 5th or 6th kid that went by and said Hey! she asked me how I knew so many people!!

    Bang for the buck

    I applied to several schools for the Masters in OT. Springfield provided me with an unbelievable generous package, which made my parents happy, and I was accepted into the OT program for all 5 years as a freshman, so I didn't have to reapply for the masters portion as a junior.... another sense of relief for my parents and me! At orientation, they give (not sell) each student two pairs of gym shorts, a really nice sweatshirt, two long sleeve tee shirts ... and encourage you to wear them!

    What to do for fun

    Sports, shopping, go to the gym, hang out with friends, study (uh, not!) .... there's always something fun going on. I rowed crew my first couple of years, but then my field work made it too difficult time-wise. So going to meets and hanging out with rowers from nearby schools was also fun. We went to the Head of the Charles race in Boston, which was a blast! Sporting events are really big here. Never a dull moment!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Cheney dining hall is really terrific. I am a foodie and appreciate the special meals the chefs make on a regular basis ... it's not uncommon to have lobster risotto or steak or lobster! Really! There are also other food options. As a senior, I am not required to have a meal plan, as my on-campus apartment has a kitchen. But I still keep a minimal meal plan so that on my busy days like exams, I can stop by and get a great meal without the planning and fuss.

    Dorm Life

    Like most colleges, the living opportunities get better each year. Freshman live in the closes quarters -- by design. They want the freshman to meet each other and become a unit. By senior year (like I am this year), housing is awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    I think that all college academics is probably pretty tough. I am in the Occupational Therapy major, which is 5 1/2 years and pretty involved. You need to stay on track and keep up with the field work required, but the advisors are always at the ready to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for the big university type campus, this isn't it, but it is a tight-night, very active campus with something always going on! The classes are small, so if you don't want it to go unnoticed when you miss class ... this is not the school. But, if you miss class a few time, your professors and the Dean of Students are right there to make sure you're okay and to help you get back to class.

    In three sentences

    SC is a fitness minded school with required involvement in fitness activities. SC is really big in Humanics where students are involved in giving back to the local community (SC actually cancels classes so that kids can be involved in these activities.) SC is a big family, where everyone really cares about each other and looks after and helps each other.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Downtown Springfield has great bars

    Food and Dining

    Very good dining services

    Dorm Life

    Not too bad

    Academic Rigor

    Easy general education classes but major specific classes can be challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on classes and not the sports.

    In three sentences

    A great school for health sciences and a tight knit community of students. It is very sports oriented as in almost all student participate in some sort of athletics. The surrounding city is very bad.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The night before finals begin, the ENTIRE campus gets together for midnight breakfast. There is live music and the faculty/staff serves omelets, pancakes, bacon and more. The presidents might even toss you a chocolate chip pancake.

    Bang for the buck

    Springfield College is expensive, but you get a lot of free (included) stuff. For example, free printing and even free laundry. My wardrobe is being taken over by free Springfield College t-shirts.

    What to do for fun

    I was told when I arrived on campus that if I ever got bored it would be my own fault. I kid you not, there is ALWAYS something to do on campus especially if you are willing to leave the comforts of your room.

    Food and Dining

    If you are open to trying new things, then you will enjoy the food here. Your regular college food is served (burgers, pizza, spaghetti, etc.) in addition to foods from around the world.

    Dorm Life

    I am a resident assistant so this may be a little biased but living on campus is AWESOME. I absolutely love the community feeling and there is never a dull moment.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough but you have a lot of support and resources to utilize if needed. From tutors, to meeting with your professor, or even review sessions you will have what you needed to excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as you possibly can (tuition isn't cheap). Although you may not enjoy New Student Orientation, it will be the best time of your freshman year and you will meet so many people. Prepare yourself for a blast!

    In three sentences

    Attending Springfield College has been an overall rewarding experience so far. I couldn't picture myself anywhere else. I love it!

  • 02/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the Rec Center. With multiple fitness classes, the rock wall, and intramural sports of all types happening, you can never get too bored at the Rec Center.

    Food and Dining

    Best cafeteria food. Hands down.

    Dorm Life

    It depends where you end up and who your roommates are, just like any other college campus. Once you make your friends, great opportunities in the Suites and Townhouses are available to have some fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty here respect the students and have high expectations. High expectations are what have provided Springfield College with such a great reputation in the New England region.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend a weekend on campus to fully understand what the student life is like. A simple 2 hour tour will not do the school justice. I suggest choosing a weekend filled with student activities and sporting events to embrace how the students support one another.

    In three sentences

    A school embodied in its mind, body, and spirit culture. The faculty and staff here at the school embrace the opportunity to help one another and provide the best outlook for its students. The student body is very active in supporting its schools colors and participating in local community activities.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in a good education, but also want to be around athletic students that are constantly involved in other activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During the last week in April the school holds STAYUKA. WHich is basically a week for kids to have an excuse to drink during the week. The campus holds various events such as a greased pole climb and rope pull and midnight bingo.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the school offers a great education and the campus is beautiful, it is very expensive. The college currently sits around $40,000/yr and the price is constantly growing.

    What to do for fun

    During the winter the school is slow. There aren't big houses for parties so they typically are held outside. During the summer and spring though the campus is fantastic. Since everyone is so active students are always outside playing various games and setting up pick up games of whatever sport you could think of. Downtown springfield offers some nice places to eat out and get away from campus. Six flags is also only a few minutes away from campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Springfield Aramark company that services Cheney Hall for meals was voted best out f all the Aramark locations. The food is constantly changing and comparatively to other schools I have seen it is much better than what is offered there. The student union also has pizza, subway burger studio, and other options that can be paid for with your student card which has money on it from the beginning of each semester.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are very small and limited. Same goes for sophomore housing, but it slightly upgraded. Apartment style living doesn't become available until junior year, and it is a little dissapointing overall. The layout of the aprtments doesn't make any sense. The senior housing is great however. Both living arrangements are in senior village, isolated away from the rest of the campus. There is apartment style in the senior suites with single rooms, personal bathroom and kitchen. The Town houses also have single rooms, multiple bathrooms and a kitchen. The townhouses are bigger than the senior suites.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the program you are in the academics can be very rigorous. Even degrees you would assume are easy such as physical education have a reputation for being the best in the country. You must be willing to put in the time and effort into your school work if you expect to succeed at the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stray too far from capus as the surrounding area is angerous. This school focuses in on health and wellness so if you are into the same you will love it. Although there are a lot of jocks at the school don't judge them right away. No one is sterotypical at the school and all are very bright and friendly.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus and facilities with dedicated teachers. Demanding undergraduate curriculum with supportive student body. All students at the school are involved or have been involved in sports throughout their high school and college careers.