Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Springfield Technical Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/22/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Its affordable to do a community college first before going right into a four year school.

    Bang for the buck

    Its affordable and comfortable and easy to get to with or without transportation.

    Will enjoy being here

    Alot of my peers will be the people that live in Springfield and i will pretty much get along with everybody.

    Will learn a lot

    Usually people that go to community colleges have to pay out of pocket and i can compare with them and will learn alot because we will all go threw the same experience.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Stay organized and turn in your work!

    Bang for the buck

    Worth every dollar!

    Am learning a lot

    In the field I am currently in, Energy systems for HVAC, I am learning a lot and the professors actually know what they are talking about. You get a lot of hands on assignments which helps me learn directly versus just being told in a classroom what to do.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe no safety issues

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs for everything

    Great for these types of students

    Students who need to save money !

    Bang for the buck

    Saves money

    What to do for fun

    They have many different fun events all year long.

    Food and Dining

    Good food

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Just the right amount of work, not too overwhelming !

    Tips for prospective students

    College is way too expensive, you can save a lot by attending a community college first.

    In three sentences

    Great school to start off in ! Want to save some money before transfering to a 4 year college. Has a Nice campus.

  • 01/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel very safe, campus police will take care of you, their always around keeping their eyes out.

    Clubs and Activities

    i think they have a few club, i play basketball that take up my time.

    Great for these types of students

    it you are interesting basketball and soccer they have it their.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    building 2, pizza and hang out spot.

    Bang for the buck

    the price is great and affordable.

    What to do for fun

    they always have stuff happen at stcc you just have to get involve.

    Food and Dining

    the pizza is great their.

    Dorm Life

    they have no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    academic is great, they teacher clearly so everyone who want to leard will.

    Tips for prospective students

    stcc would be a good choice to start of with and it's very in expense like the other college, credit is except everywhere.

    In three sentences

    it a small college, but you will lean just as much as the bigger college, the teacher i have so far is great, caring they want everyone to do well.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    constantly see campus security around, the school is located 1 minute down the street from the police station.

    Clubs and Activities

    all kinds of sports and clubs available, large student activity center.

    Great for these types of students

    anyone who wants to learn a trade or who knows they dont want an office job.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    free lunches every month somewhere within the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    good price per credit, well suited for anyone who is looking for a change in their life and wants to learn a trade.

    What to do for fun

    plenty of extra curricular clubs and activities

    Food and Dining

    pizza shops and small cafes with good food.

    Academic Rigor

    they offer all sorts of classes from very simple and easy to very in depth depending on your needs and requirements.

    Tips for prospective students

    come with goals in your mind that you want to achieve and there is nothing holding you back here.

    In three sentences

    vocational programs are among the best. great place to start college and transfer. big college look with small college feel.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The College Activities Center always sets up special events to help promote and engage the campus community. Music, patio lunches, games, and entertainments are usually offered throughout the semester. Field trips are also available throughout the fall and spring semesters. In addition to campus activities, there are also pizza lunches with the Dean, brunches with the student government where they introduce sort of like a pot luck from different cultures, and during the hot summer days, ice cream to help cool us off.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is available in several buildings on campus. There you can enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner either before or after classes. They have a variety of different foods and accept all forms of payment.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not a significant part of the campus life at STCC. It is a community college so most prospective students commute each day to school. There are designated parking areas and it's easy access to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Although it is a Community College, the faculty and staff do not hold back on providing every student with an academic challenge. Slack, indolence and procrastination aren't tolerated because the faculty strongly believes that the students' achievements are a direct reflection of their lecture and practice. Every professor is available to help you whenever you need it and will never belittle you. Instead, you will always feel encouraged to go higher and will always be pushed to the outer limits of your potential. It's not necessarily a simple task to complete, but the work ethic that teachers expect of you is designed to either break you or make you and in most cases, teachers make sure that they're there to keep you from falling apart.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you aÂ?re looking for an opportunity to feel the waters and gauge yourself before making a permanent career decision, then starting off at Springfield Technical Community College is definitely a smart decision. Your college experience also determines how successful you will be academically so having a friendly, judgment free community is a prime emotional contributing factor and can make your college experience that much easier. If you do not know what you aÂ?re most keen to pursue, then start with general studies and test yourself. Testing yourself gives you an opportunity to find out what interests you. Once you find your strengths, as well as weaknesses, you can get that much closer to what your career objective might be. For some people, their career objectives are known directly out of high school, while others remain indecisive. No worries, being uncertain of what you might want to pursue is extremely common. It is not necessarily a con, but more of an opportunity to part-take in different courses and enjoy a true college experience. Not an experience of immediately getting your degree, but an experience of knowing what campus life is like and what it means to find your essential goals, your future career, and eminent successes.

    In three sentences

    This college offers an affordable academic system that can guide you onto the path of future successes. With an array of courses, this school provides the stepping stones to help familiarize yourself with the college environment. Most essential, the community, faculty, and staff are always dependable and willing to personally help any student that needs assistance, so you are never alone in this life changing experience.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    In enjoy what you do, You major is your life career that set you for life, so make sure that the major you choice is the one you love.

    In three sentences

    I love learn about different topics and assignment, it helping me to my goal in the future. It a good School, I learning all about my major. It fun and I am enjoy the moment of each class that is getting me closer to my A.S. degree.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's an open campus but we stay relatively incident free.

    Greek Life

    Umm im not greek, idk? lol

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports are great here!

    Great for these types of students

    Must be motivated.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Burger king right next to the college!

    Bang for the buck

    Defiantly a good education for how much you pay, go to a community college! It's cheaper but just as good as those expensive colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of clubs and always some activity going on some where on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management for sure!

    In three sentences

    They have really good professors for the most part. Easy to get to and easily accessible campus. Very competitive programs.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Check out local landmarks, museums, libraries, and find the Advocate it will inform you of local happenings monthly.

    Academic Rigor

    Organize, prioritize, and minimize clutter. Study at least an hour a day.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best academically, do not let school drama become part of your academic life. In the summer volunteer in the area of career choice you are thinking of pursuing. Apply to all scholarships that available online and in the school you are going to apply to.

    In three sentences

    I just started and Im still in High School, but it has been a very great learningg experience thus far. Im proud to have been chosen to be in college/high school program and I am working very hard, so far its been very rewarding. It has allowed me to experience the college life and academics before finishing high school.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing much. join a club and take part in the few activities that they plan.

    Food and Dining

    limited but good

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    somewhat difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    unless u pay attention to the announcement boarda and fliers you will have no idea whats going on in the school and find urself not really involved in anything.

    In three sentences

    interesting place to attend. simple and quiet. not much going on.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sing

    Food and Dining

    Food is cafe type. Not that expensive though.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for a parking decal are early are you can. The lots fill up fast!

    In three sentences

    Awesome school! Professors are great. The college isn't the cleanest but it's a great place to be!

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. But you don't ever have to worry bout to many things going on. This campus is friendly and just about everybody gets along with one another.

    Bang for the buck

    The Finicaial Aid Department is very helpful. They have answers to just about every question you have. They are a awesome help when you nedd to help filling out your fasfa every year.

    What to do for fun

    There are always clubs and activities going on. And also many sports. Never can bored on campus if your just sitting around.

    Food and Dining

    I have ate at school a few times. Varetiety is pretty normal. Food is goo though. Worth the money.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Stay Foucused...

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay positive and never be afraid to ask questions. There are enough services on the campus that you can recieve help from.

    In three sentences

    Stcc is a very well diversed school. Class are not to big and you have time to speak with your professor. Everyone is helpful on this campus.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police around 24/7 for any needs.

    Great for these types of students

    Student who are undecided what they want to do, students who struggled with high school, student who are not ready to go far away or students who have not gone to school in and while and would like to get back into education

    Bang for the buck

    STCC only cost about $2,000 for about 4 classes.

    What to do for fun

    Things you could do for fun are go check out the Springfield Falcon Ice Hockey team at the Mass Mutual Center. Stop by the Basketball Hall of Fame in the city where basketball was founded.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip i would give a student would be to get your placement test and paper work done early there fore you can get the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    I believe that Springfield Technical Community College is a great school to attend if you are looking for a school that is not heavily populated. I also believe that it is a outstanding school because the staff really care about your needs. The professors are also really driven to help you get your work done and keep you on track.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Many students that attend qualify for financial aid

    Food and Dining

    The food in building 2 is great

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very challenging

    In three sentences

    Springfield Technical Community College is a great college with professors that are polite and always willing to help. And the campus setting is very friendly.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I dont know what greek life means

    Great for these types of students

    All really. It offers job training, 2 year plans and transfer options...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Theres a museum on campus. Its free and pretty cool.

    Bang for the buck

    cheap but wonderful school

    What to do for fun

    join clubs, go to a student lounge, make friends...

    Food and Dining

    they could use a better selection of food but they offer great coffee

    Academic Rigor

    varies on major

    Tips for prospective students

    I am transferring from this college to another. Its a great way to save money while doing your general classes! I would advise others considering this option to choose this school because its classes count for transfers.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. It has great people, great teachers, great computer labs, great everything. Its challenging and fun, an awesome school.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On Campus is safe. Parking is off campus.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs, if you don't find what your are looking for start one.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students. Classes are days, nights, and weekend.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Home of the Springfield Armory, great history of the American revolution. Right on campus. Springfield is the home of Dr Suess.

    Bang for the buck

    Best bang for your buck. Great associate degree programs, highly rated and most classes transfer. Very helpful staff..

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs check out their web site. Set in center of Springfield, all kinds of activities.

    Food and Dining

    There are places to eat on campus. Nice little cafes in buildings.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Strong academics. Everything you need to pass the course is provided. Professors explain things well and are available for questions. Easy to get to buildings that are well marked. Most classes transfer to other colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do yourself a favor and check out their associate degree programs. Have affiliations with many 4 year colleges.

    In three sentences

    Strong academics and can be easily transferred. Great resources and clubs. Easy to find your way around.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's on campus officers so when they are needed they will be there at a click of a button. There's rarely any safety issues at STCC, everybody is there for one and one reason only and that is to better themselves.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is many clubs at STCC it doesn't matter what you're interested in there is a club for you. There's also many activities, the STCC calendar is always filled with things to do on a daily basis, from a blood drive to a pizza party!

    Great for these types of students

    STCC is perfect for students that want go home every day or stay close to home or even just students who aren't sure what they want to do after high school but don't want to take time off from school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At STCC they do have this thing where the students majoring in massage therapy will give you a full body massage, it is not free but after a long day I think it's safe to say we can all use a massage!

    Bang for the buck

    It's everything you paid for, nothing more, nothing less.

    What to do for fun

    Every week they have calendars posted around campus with events for that week. They have talentshows, special trips, gatherings, etc. STCC is also minutes from downtown Springfield where there's many other things to do like going to the Basketball Hall of Fame, an event in Mass Mutual, or even some shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, there's many options whether you are having breakfast or lunch. There's vending machines everywhere so if you get hungry during classes you won't have to suffer. They take credit cards and cash so that's not a problem either.

    Dorm Life

    There actually are no dorms at STCC but being there is like any other college with dorms. You get there you can have breakfast, lunch, or snacks and the campus is big enough to where there is people everywhere you go. Socializing is not mission impossible like people might think.

    Academic Rigor

    They teachers are approachable and caring, they will help you if you just ask. They also will respond to any emails, texts, or calls quickly so any questions you have they will answer for you in a timely manner. Everything is organized and well explained.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared to approach your professors or advisers they are there to help you. Spend time at the library it has everything you need whether it is to study or to write a paper, and whatever they don't have they will help you get it.

    In three sentences

    STCC is great, from the moment you step foot on campus there's always someone there to help you every step of the way. It is such a smooth transition from high school to college, going to STCC is like going to high school for big kids. The campus is big and easy to get around, it's perfect.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is great security on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Ambassador club

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    well in building two on like the sevens floor, theres a dinning place where you can over look some of the downtown area.

    What to do for fun

    I usually go to the library or to the student success center. There is also a gym and fitness center

    Food and Dining

    Not great at all. You can buy things from the vending machines or from the school half of cafe.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get to know how your teachers work. Keep up with the financial aide process as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    STCC is a pretty good college, because the teachers that i had really tried to help me as much as possible. Also applying was a breeze. One issue was keeping up with fasfa and it just didnt feel like home to me.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's not in the best part of town, and the STCC alert system is a tad bit slow. I remember there was a stabbing on campus and I didn't receive an alert until 1 1/2 hours later. Oh, it also seems like they cut back on security. With that being said, I always felt safe.

    Greek Life

    Nope!

    Clubs and Activities

    I never joined a club.

    Great for these types of students

    Days classes are great for people who are forced to attend day classes because they receive financial aid, adults who act like teenagers, people who attend STCC and want to treat it like a uni, and people who are busy during the evening. Evening classes are great for people who work, are mature, want a quiet atmosphere, enjoy the perks of making friends with classmates, and those who are there primarily to get an A grade.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The art building is located in a creepy area. It looks like a crime scene.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money to attend. I just graduated and I am honestly going to miss this college. The amazing professors, small class size, and the personal attention I received.

    What to do for fun

    Go to class, meet interesting people, and then go home.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is great. I never tried the pizza even though everyone raved about it. Although, I will say certain items are overpriced and the vending machine cost rise every semester.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. Thank goodness! I can only imagine how crazy that would be.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the professors that you elect to take. There are professors at STCC who are known for being easy, as well as professors known to be tough. STCC has a lot of great professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Value you our education especially if you're getting a free ride from the government. I can't stand people who attended STCC and treated it like high school. Public high school is free. STCC cost around 6,000.00, there is a huge difference.

    In three sentences

    Word of advice, attend evening classes if you're looking for a better learning environment. I personally felt that the day classes were extremely overcrowded, and it felt like a human zoo. Plus, the evening class students are more mature, friendly, and focused.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    lots of activities planned for students

    Food and Dining

    great food and very accessible

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    must be punctual with assignments

    Tips for prospective students

    do your financial aid ahead of time

    In three sentences

    great teachers great accessibility a friendly environment

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    State Police are on campus daily

    Clubs and Activities

    Many offered

    Great for these types of students

    All types

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable

    What to do for fun

    Sports, Fitness centers, and student activities.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Great learning experience, classes are small so you get to bond with not only the students but the professors as well. I believe that is crucial to your education. Study groups are great.

    In three sentences

    This school was a great experience for me. I was able to schedule my classes around my busy schedule. The professor where always available to help.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have the Massachusetts State Police Academy right on campus and they provide security for use of our campus. It is a very beneficial and successful relationship. There is no crime on campus and we barely notice their presence in return.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    MANY CLUBS! And with 10 students you can start any club of your choice!

    Great for these types of students

    Any hard-working students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none to my knowledge but we are welcome to new things and ideas.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition! Classes are affordable and financial aid is available to so many students! Many options are here to be used!

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the outdoors student area, go for a walk around campus, enjoy a free student organized fair with music, games, free tokens, awesome food/treats/drinks at the beginning of every Spring and Fall semester. S.T.C.C. also offers a free wifi lounge, Art museum, and free access into the First Armory built in the entire nation right on campus. S.T.C.C. is a treasured gem that will hopefully last many more glorious years.

    Food and Dining

    Pack your lunch and plenty of healthy snacks to keep you going all day and ready to learn both mentally and physically. If you don't have time there are plenty of healthier options at both S.T.C.C. cafes in buildings 2&20 Even the vending machines are following suit and providing healthier options like trail mix, unsalted peanuts, granola bars etc.

    Dorm Life

    S.T.C.C. unfortunately does not have any on/off campus dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Always do more than you think will be just enough. Don't just pass the class. Ace it. You can do anything with the right motivation. This is all for your future so act like it benefits you to be there; because it actually does. Classes may feel overwhelming but S.T.C.C. offers free tutoring in many subjects every semester. The Student success center and Library have so many resources that no problem can go unsolved if it related to academic affairs. Many professors are also willing to put away time to help students in their courses to better understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.Take it seriously 2.Put in the time and effort, 2hours of studying for every 1 hour you're in class 3.Ask for help when and even if you don't think you need it 4. Stay on track, make notes of important goals and expectations 5. Memorize your syllabus 6. Record all grades from homework, classwork etc. 7.Get to know your professors/head of program directors 8. Learn to enjoy learning and reading 9. Be a team player and aware that you are not the only student in class 10. Make your professors' job easier by doing your job; be an active student 11. Be an active listener/note-taker/student

    In three sentences

    A great college for anyone willing to work hard and utilize one or more of the many resources available. The faculty and fellow students create a challenging and encouraging environment. If you are looking for a high quality education at a cheap price, this Community College will keep you coming back for more.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although campus is in a pretty sketchy section of the downtown Springfield area, it is pretty secure. There are actual state cops (not the usual rent-a-cop establishment) who are always on duty and often patrol the surrounding block to keep the hoodlums from any shenanigans. There have been very few incidents on campus that caused any sort of ruckus.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a community college, so obviously those who are either looking to earn a degree while working or caring for their families, or for those looking to save some money on their first years before transferring to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a heck of a lot cheaper than a university, but it is well worth what you pay.

    Food and Dining

    There's lots to choose from on campus, though some of it can be a little pricey. Often you're better off bringing food from home, but there are still plenty of places to sit and eat that are super comfortable. However, if you want something hot and fresh, there's some pretty good stuff if you're willing to pay for it.

    Dorm Life

    Uh, its a community college, so there are no dorms on campus. However, as far as facilities go, there's a wonderful gym with full locker rooms and showers and the whole lot, all of which are kept in fabulous condition.

    Academic Rigor

    There is plenty of room for a custom-tailored program with a a variety of different professors and teaching styles to choose from. STCC really tries to communicate the importance of academic prestige. There are tutors and aid available almost always to help you with anything you're having problems with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have everything you need beforehand! Some professors won't tell you what books you need for class until classes start, so keep that in mind, as well.

    In three sentences

    This school is super flexible and user-friendly. They run a clean ship and the facilities are great! Staff and faculty are exceptionally nice and compensating.

  • 10/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Several clubs you can join from music, politics, sports, and drama.

    Dorm Life

    Most people just commute.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely come visit the campus.

    In three sentences

    STCC is a great school with plenty of different options from classes to clubs to join. I have made several friends here and really gotten to know my classmates in my major. I would definitely recommend going here.