Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

St Clair County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone who is ready to get started learning and pursuing there career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sign up for classes early because they fill up fast. Also go to an advisor so you are on the right track.

    Bang for the buck

    St. Clair is a community college so it is very affordable. It is perfect for people with low funding.

    Am enjoying being here

    St. Clair is a very safe place and learning environment. I have had all great teachers and an overall great experience.

    Am learning a lot

    St. Clair is a very awesome college that I really enjoy. The teachers are great and the campus is small and easy to get around. Everyone is very helpful and the school offers much help to all the students attending!

  • 10/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a comfortable education of quality will like this. Classes aren't too crowded. They're decently close together and you can find yourself in the same building for more than one class. There are nice hangout areas and you can be yourself and fit in. It's a nice outfit.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only downfall for this college is close parking. There is close parking but it's in high demand. It's not bad to walk though. The area is nice and parking other places really doesn't put you too far away. Look around, find your own signature spot. I parked at the Bowl a Drome and now they actually fixed up the lot and bunches of people park there.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is very affordable. My first year I paid out of my pocket. No financial aid. Tuition is less than 3000 a year for me and the quality of the education is great.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like it here. It is small and the classes are just the right size. the surrounding area is full of things to explore from places to eat and shop to McMorran Arena. The Learning Resource Center is great with access to computers and books. The only thing is I want to experience the university life so I'd rather go away to school. This one is great with a great education being close to home and affordable. If that's what you are looking for.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are from different communities. Not just Port Huron. They are fun and have a lot to offer. They are very professional and present material in an excellent way for me to understand. They are helpful in and out of class. Also a wide variety of courses are offered and transferable.

  • 12/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Undecided majors; people without a lot of money; people planning to get basic credits out of the way before a transfer (like me); people transferring into a science program - the science department is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need to take contemporary biology, try to get Dave Sheldon. He's a great professor and he'll work with you. Also, students in classes that start around eleven or twelve will have the most trouble finding parking spaces. The McMorran lot is $2/day.

    Bang for the buck

    The bookstore is expensive if you buy new, but college bookstores always are. And lab classes are more expensive, of course. But the buildings are nice enough and there are a lot of resources available for students, especially in the CEM (science) Building.

    Am enjoying being here

    When I first got to SC4, I was like, Oh, GREAT, a community college. I thought it would basically be grade 13. But it's been a great experience so far. The professors I've had have been knowledgeable, helpful, and willing to work with students. Many of them are from areas outside of Port Huron or have traveled extensively. I've learned a lot and become more confident, and I think Port Huron is a beautiful city. The only real problem here is that there isn't enough parking, especially in the fall semester.

    Am learning a lot

    I can practically feel my brain expanding when I'm sitting in class. I frequently find myself spouting facts from school and annoying my sisters with them. It's awesome.

  • 12/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SC4 is great for student who are looking for a subtle transition into college life. The classes don't provide an overbearing workload but you'll learn to be responsible for doing your work, taking notes, and showing up for class. It's a great start for students who want to attend a university but need to save the money or build up a better academic record. The MACRAO program makes it easy to transfer to many of the universities in Michigan. It's also great for people who want to get an associates or bachelor's degree. SC4 has good programs to start you off in career of nursing, computer technologies, music, business and other programs. They provide an over all good education for an affordable cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live far away from the campus, try to take all you classes on as little days a week as possible, this saves you money in gas and time so you can use those other days to study or work a part time job to help you pay for school. Make sure to get registered early because classes fill up quickly, especially in the winter semester. If you want to speak with an advisor before registering you should set up an appointment a couple weeks before registration starts. If you plan on transferring to another school make sure classes will transfer before you take them so you don't waste your time and money. Read reviews and talk to other students about the classes and professors that you might be interested in. If you are planning on taking any online courses make sure it's a subject you are somewhat familiar with because you will be learning a lot of it independently. Although it saves you from driving to the school, online classes can be very demanding.

    Bang for the buck

    SC4 is very cost efficient, especially for St.Clair County residents. It is a cheaper way to get your general classes out of the way before transferring to a university, or of just getting an associates or bachelor's degree. Although it's less expensive the classes and the professors are just as good as at any other school and because of the small class sizes you can talk to the professors on a one on one basis.

    Am enjoying being here

    The teachers are very helpful. I don't feel overwhelmed with homework, but I don't feel like I'm not doing anything either. The classes go at a good pace and it is pretty easy to catch up when I've missed something. The campus is nice, it's small and easy to find your way around. There are lots of places to hang out or study between classes.

    Am learning a lot

    A lot of my classes are just like high school. Most of the material was stuff I've known for years, but that's why I decided to take my general studies here. The tuition is a lot cheaper than at a university with the same quality education. Even though I have not learned a lot of new stuff, I've learned things in different ways and from different people and it has been a great experience. This is only my semester so I hope to learn even more next semester.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are ready to apply yourself to get a better education St. Clair is the school for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sign up for classes early, and look up your teacher's ratings before getting into the class.

    Bang for the buck

    St. Clair is one third of the cost of most Universities in Michigan. This gives you a chance to try to pay it off as you go!

    Am enjoying being here

    I feel the St. Clair is a safe learning environment for me. I have not had a bad teacher or class yet since attending.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot from St. Clair! The teachers are great and the campus is small and easy to get around. Everyone is very helpful and the school offers much help to all the students attending!

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The nursing program is accredited, and highly recommended and also quite competitive.

    Bang for the buck

    Prices are reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    not much to do.

    Food and Dining

    TERRIBLE!!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Save ALL your paperwork, log into your online account, and check your email often. Make sure you stay on top of your own financial aid.

    In three sentences

    While I strongly believe that the college needs to expand it's size of each individual program, especially nursing, I generally like the school.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and has their own police on campus. If you need help to your car, then they will help you. The campus police are always willing to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college has tons of clubs and activities for students. There is always something going on for students and you can be in as many as you would want.

    Great for these types of students

    SC4 is great for any students who doesn't have a lot of money or is looking to save money. SC4 has a very low tuiton rate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know of any yet.

    Bang for the buck

    SC4 is a cheap and nice college. Tuiton is very low and can be paid by almost anyone. Tuiton is nothing to complain about. I have not taken any classes yet, but I am sure the classes are the bang for the buck or worth it.

    What to do for fun

    SC4 has many clubs and extracurricular activities to offer to all students. If someone wanted to start another club, all one needs is a couple people to join and walla! There is so much to do there.

    Food and Dining

    I have not ate at the college yet, but I hear that it is very good by many sources.

    Dorm Life

    SC4 does not have any dorms, but a student advisor can help you find apartments by emailing a list of websites for apartments close to the college.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not taken any classes there thus far, but I am really excited to start college at SC4.

    Tips for prospective students

    SC4 is a great college. You can get your basic classes out of the way for a cheaper rate and then transfer to a bigger school. You can also go through a program under a differnt school under SC4 and for SC4's price of tuiton. It is also a very safe college.

    In three sentences

    St. Clair Community College offers many classes and majors for a college student. SC4 also offers many tranfer options and programs from other colleges or universities. SC4 is also a very safe, cheap, and community oriented college.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is very responsive to situations, and very student friendly.

    Greek Life

    there are no greeks on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    A very good selection of standard clubs, a few are fairly progressive. other than Phi theta kappa, there is no frat or sorority presence.

    Great for these types of students

    job skills students, late start non traditional students. and those who are looking to save money by doing prerequisites on the cheap.

    What to do for fun

    They offer a lot of activities on campus, but being an evening student, I haven't had the chance to attend many of them.

    Food and Dining

    there are a lot of restaurants down town. the cafeteria in the student union is very limited and quite expensive for what you get. Eat off campus to save money.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes arent tough, and home work is very very light compared to a 4 year school. I am not convinced most students are ready for the shift to a 4 year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to the outlines in the handbook. The Academic advisers will agree to what ever you want to do, and do very little real advising. A lot of students have found themselves having to stay another semester due to missing a class that is only offered once a year.

    In three sentences

    A very good place to get a good start on an education. For Prerequisites it is fine. with enough rigor to get a starter job in a professional field.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college offers many sporting and drama events for the students to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend any prospective student meet with an academic advisor and financial aid advisor before attending to ensure that the school can meet thier educational goals.

    In three sentences

    SC4 is a good school option for me. The location is ideal and the pricing is good. The curriculum offered meets my educational goals.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Very well advertised and they have something for everyone

    Dorm Life

    There are no Dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    TAKE THE COMPASS TEST!!!!!

    In three sentences

    Its super easy. Its clean It has a quiet camups

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many wonderful places to eat around town if you don't feel like eating on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, but there are many nice apartments in the area, but if you live within an hour drive it isn't bad either.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be challenging, but the difficulty of the classes also depends on which teachers you take and what you strengths and weaknesses are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for prospective students would include working closely with the academic advisers and learning about all of the resources available to succeed. I would also tell them to look in to any career paths that they may be interested in and to work with career services as well.

    In three sentences

    The college has great class hours to fit any schedule. They have many wonderful services available to the students. They have everything you need to do well.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    sc4's safety rating is high because it is such a small campus. it's well lit and their is always other students around if you feel insecure about walking alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs for almost anything a student could want on campus, and if you can't find one, you can make your own. all you need is two other students and a teacher who will agree to supervise your meetings.

    Great for these types of students

    sc4 is great for any students who want to live at home, or close to home and still go to school. sc4 is also good for anyone who has to coordinate their school schedule with their work schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    while sc4 is mainly a 2 year college, it can be a great starting place for anyone who isn't sure what they want to do career-wise. the classes and books are a considerable discount compared to four year universities.

    Food and Dining

    the dining center is located in the student center, and has good, cooked while you wait food. they also have quick snacks and have decent prices.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at sc4, it's mainly a commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    with every school, some courses are harder than others.

    In three sentences

    sc4 has a wide variety of programs, and an intimate learning environment. the professors have actually worked in the fields they are teaching, and are always willing to help you if needed. sc4 also has many on-line classes, and enhancements (such as the on-line class rooms/webstudy).

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see campus security through out my days at the college. The are easy to call if you need them. I don't hear of hardly any issues of crime or violence on campus.

    What to do for fun

    It is located on Lake Saint Clair. This provides access to several FREE beaches. There are several local trails that are paved in the wilderness. It is located downtown Port Huron. Therefore there are many places to dine, drink, and be social. Birchwood mall is only a few miles down the road.

    Food and Dining

    The college has a snack machines, soda machines (that accept credit cards), cafe, and a kiosk. They offer nutritious and junk food at a reasonable price.

    Dorm Life

    At this time there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are planning to go to SC4 for the RN program, be prepared. It is a very challenging program, but it is well worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    A definite class to take for your first semester is study skills with Dr. Berry. It is a great and useful class that you will use throughout your life. Carpool with others and arrive early for class because parking is very limited. Apply for as many scholarships as you can, there are many unclaimed scholarships every year.

    In three sentences

    There is not enough parking for students and staff. It is a great local learning experience. The Instructors are well educated and great leaders.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many festivals year wide to choose from and to visit. There are also many sporting events to join in on and see such as the mighty Fighting Falcons that play at McMorran Place. There are also many Theatrical plays to be seen as well, and a majority of them are play acted by students of SC4 in the McMorran Place Auditorium.

    Food and Dining

    The campus is right in down town Port Huron, there are many cafes and Delis to choose from. However for more formal Dining you would have to visit Fort GRATIOT just north of Port Huron, there are many restaurants such as Olive Garden, Applebees, Ruby Tuesdays, and of course a Chuck E Cheese. The opportunity and variety of food in and around SC4 is incredible.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life? I am sorry but SC4 is a local college built for locals, everyone goes home or to work after class. The students however on the campus are quick to talk and socialize. There are many clubs on campus that are offered, there are so many in fact that there is one for everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very demanding because if you do not keep up you will fall behind. The classes will challenge you to think outside of the box and never expect the answers to come easy. Homework is key, studying more than 4 hours a day will keep the teacher away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not fear the teacher, their job is to help and they will. I see the professors as student helping guides that I always frequently ask for help. The life on campus is always at ease as well because there are so many places on campus for peace and quiet.

    In three sentences

    The staff is very well prepared for High school students and for adapting their curriculum and expectations to the students enrolled. I had a great deal of help with classes from other students because they are always helpful. The Professors are more than willing to take you aside and steer you in the right path as long as you have the courage to go up and ask.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency buttons throughout the parking lot which is also well lit. There is also many security guards walking campus for your safety.

    Greek Life

    No fraternity available, although, if accepted, joining Phi Theta Kappa Lambda Mu chapter is a must.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus, for fun or academics. They even have a club awareness day that invites you to meet with the clubs and see what's available on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    All types, review your professor before you choose your class to see what learning type they appeal to. Also, many online classes available.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The parking could be better, some buildings are quite a walk from the parking lot, also, plan to come early because good parking spots fill up fast.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are affordable and transfer easily to most 4 year colleges and give you the foundations for lifelong knowledge.

    What to do for fun

    There are beautiful sandy beaches nearby and just for attending, you get access to the school gym. The sports teams are also successful and a great way to make lifelong friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is amazing and adequately priced.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not available at this community college, but there are many apartments nearby campus b

    Academic Rigor

    Many choices of classes and many professors available to appeal to all types of learners.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes as early as possible once they are opened for the next semester. Try not to miss class unless mandatory, or else you may find yourself behind and struggling to get caught up. Also, take as many notes as possible, they are great tools for studying for exams.

    In three sentences

    Great opportunity for an affordable Associates Degree or transfer to a 4 year college. The professors want you to learn, but they also want you to pass, therefore, they work with you to help pull your grade up. Planning your classes around your current work schedule or family schedule is made easy online.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are looking to save as much as they possibly can on their college. Also good for students who are unsure what they want to major in. It is a great idea to get the general education classes done here if you are planning to transfer because it is cheaper.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely a cheaper option when it comes to saving money on college. There are many scholarship opportunities. There are also classes in different areas of the county which makes it easier for some students to get there in a quicker and cheaper fashion.

    What to do for fun

    There are athletic teams that students can try-out for. Also, there are a variety of different clubs that students and become a part of. There are often plays performed by drama students that are open to public viewing with a cost.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria with hot and cold lunches that may be bought. The food doesn't generally taste the best and the prices are high. I would recommend taking your own lunches or snacks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms because it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes generally have a lot of homework. Most professors are willing to help, although some will blow it off. Going to class on time and paying attention is very important in order to receive good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be on time to classes, and come prepared. Be very attentive and ready to participate in class. Take it seriously; just because it is a community college doesn't mean that it should be treated lightly.

    In three sentences

    I have had both good experiences and bad experiences here. The staff is always willing to help, but sometimes they seem as if they do not really know what they are doing. I do feel that I am getting an overall good education here.

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Felt pretty safe, but I am a 6'3 in shape guy!

    Clubs and Activities

    Too busy working to take much advantage of this

    Great for these types of students

    Sc4 is a great school for all types of kids, especially those who like being close to home, have an undecided major or arent ready to get their feet wet by going a way to a 4 year university!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Just Study!

    Bang for the buck

    SC4 is a great place to take care of your gen eds for a great 'bang for your buck'. Too bad the University that I am transferring to, which costs $40,000. per year, isnt so reasonably priced!

    What to do for fun

    I have had a lot of fun meeting people as a stage manager for a theater production. Fun is what you make it. Spent a lot of time studying!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is ok. Did not take much advantage of it as like to pack my lunch to save money. PB& J still the best!

    Dorm Life

    I lived at home so information not available. Living at home is a great way to start college with out overwhelming yourself by moving out. Living at home is a lot cheaper too!

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor was perfect for me. I started off in some basic math and English classes which increased in difficulty as I progressed. I had a considerable amount of homework, but am not complaining. How else would I learn?

    Tips for prospective students

    My best advice would be to take advantage of all that your teacher has to offer. I learned a lot of practical, in the trenches, kind of information from my marketing teacher that I would not have learned in a book. This was invaluable to my career decision.

    In three sentences

    I am happy that I went to SC4 because of the great value of the education for the dollars that I spent. This school was a great spring board for my next educational leap to a University. I learned a lot!

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For the students who are undecided, just starting, poor, or not ready to leave home yet, SC4 is the best place around.

    Food and Dining

    While fairly expensive for a student budget, the food at SC4 is delicious and almost always available. The addition of the coffee cart was a nice surprise and made my early classes just that much easier. Don't get there too late, though, or you'll be stuck with the vending machines.

    Academic Rigor

    The 100-level courses are fairly basic, even feeling like high school classes at some points. The 200-level courses, though, felt challenging on a regular basis, and it was pleasant to have to actually stretch my brain for possibly the first time ever.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect to breeze through every class because it's just community college. Teachers expect you to try your hardest and do set some challenging, long assignments. They're also willing to work with you if you have serious problems, though, so don't be afraid to ask for help!

    In three sentences

    SC4 is a great place to learn for those who don't want to or can't afford to leave home. The professors are all very smart and friendly, and honestly care about their students. Attending SC4 made me less of an academic elitist, for which I am grateful.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. Never once have I felt like I was in any sort of danger. Although it is kind of an open campus, I see campus security almost every day walking around the campus area.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities at SC4 to get involved in and there is much variety. There are not only sports to get involved in but also there are academic clubs and clubs that are put together by students.

    Great for these types of students

    SC4 is a college that is great for student who really have a love of education and want to integrate what they learn to their lives. Professors really do a great job of connecting the material they are teaching to the real world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    SC4 is pretty big on art and science. Outside the Fine Arts Building, there is an art sculpture that an artist has made out of scrap metal and other things. Inside the art building, there are different little art rooms where students can display their drawings or sculptures. In the CEM building, there is also a small museum of fossils and information about them.

    Bang for the buck

    SC4 definitely provides bang for the buck. I've never regretted one single cent put into the college. It truly has been a growing experience here in a great environment of faculty and staff and I have learned so much.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun at SC4. Not only are there numerous academic clubs like Phi Theta Kappa but there are also fun clubs like the Zombie Defense Alliance among others. You also can participate in fun activities in class like field trips to the Detroit Insititute of Art or other exciting placest that relate to the materials being taught.

    Food and Dining

    The food at SC4 is very good. Although there could be more options, student are please with the choices that are available to them.

    Dorm Life

    SC4 is a community college and therefore doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I would give SC4's academic rigor five stars. The professors who teach at the college are all well-educated and very well-rounded. They know the material they teach and teach it with passion which therefore helps students learn the material considerably better.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say some helpful tips would be to study hard, take many notes in class, and be involved. Try your hardest to really understand the material you're learning and ask questions when you don't fully understand what you're being taught.

    In three sentences

    SC4 is innovative and constructive, not only in the lives of the student who attend it, but also the surrounding community. It helps students to succeed and reach their goals while directing them in a helpful supportive way.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Friendly guards, no riff-raff to report.

    Clubs and Activities

    Global Awareness, Inner Varisty, Phi Theta Kappa, Zombie Defense Alliance.

    Great for these types of students

    Looking for certificate degrees, nursing students, gleaning transfer courses for a cheaper price.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth it. And the finacial aid and scholarships are a great help.

    What to do for fun

    Boating, Swimming, Biking, Sight-Seeing, Shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Delicious, fair-priced resteraunts abound downtown.

    Dorm Life

    It's a commute! Which means you still get to enjoy Mum's home-cooking!

    Academic Rigor

    The college does have many degrees available as well as many outside connections so students can enter into their full-time career with ease.

    Tips for prospective students

    Push yourself, take that course, respect the Professors (they will be your grandest asset in progressing towards your degree).

    In three sentences

    The convenience of a simple, scenic commute, coupled with Professors who geniunely enjoy the topics they teach grants SC4 a proud status amoungst the plethora of other Community Colleges.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is fairly small and always busy with students walking around along with the campus and local police always making their routes. Even though the campus is small there are still alert buttons scattered throughout the area and being that it's small help can arrive quickly.

    Greek Life

    As for the Geek Life SC4 offers the internationally recognized honors society of Phi Theta Kappa. By becoming a member of this prestigious club a student must display a minimum of a 3.4 GPA, and the benefits of being a member look really good on you if you plan on transferring.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a great variety of clubs for students to participate in. There are clubs for academic purposes, clubs for setting up events on campus to help raise awareness on certain things like homelessness, and clubs just for meeting new people. Heck we even have a zombie defense club.

    Great for these types of students

    Academic wise this is a great college for students who really benefit from one on one time with their professors. Not only that the tuition rate is also set at a decent rate for students who really need the financial aid.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite traditions for the winter semester was finals stress relief week. The SC4 clubs all put on a bunch of fun activities to help the students try and take off some of the stress all finals seem to cause. These include things like giant inflatable boxing, human fuse ball, battle balance, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    SC4 also has students who branch out into the Port Huron community and help give back and offer services to people in the area. These include things like setting up local art events where people can come and learn from the students.

    What to do for fun

    There is a few activities for students in the student center like pool, table tennis, etc. Along with that there is a weight room and gymnasium for student use as well as a bowling alley not even five minuets away from campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining area connected to the student center but due to the convenient location of the campus, a great variety of restaurants are easily within a five to ten minute walking range.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living quarters, but there are some local apartment complexes available for rent to those who have quite a bit of a drive to get to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The smaller classes allow you to get that extra one on one time for students and professors. I found this helpful because it felt like I was getting more out of the class versus a university class where you are sitting in a room with hundreds of students and it is not as easy to get that extra help from the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    SC4 is a great stepping stone for kids not ready to jump right into a four year university. For incoming students the best thing to do is to get involved with events going on at campus to make the your time there great.

    In three sentences

    Scared of the thought of college? Not sure if that big university is gonna be right for you? Then take the first step and start your college experience at St. Clair County Community College.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't really heard of any incidents at SC4. As long as I've been there, everything's pretty normal for the most part.

    Greek Life

    there's always language classes, i suppose.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's Zombie Club, Drama Club, sports teams, orchestra classes, Erie Square Gazette paper, and learning how to do any type of art.

    Great for these types of students

    Hang in the cafe. Join some clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I heard that there's this thing called the Zombie club.

    Bang for the buck

    When I first attended, we honestly thought it would be cheaper, but in the end I'm still happy with the progress I'm making. It only makes me realizes with each passing class, that I'm getting closer to transfer.

    What to do for fun

    You can always sit around and chill, there are piano rooms for practice, go to the library that's nearby, or just hang with friends in spare time.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines in every building, and even a cafe on the third floor of the main building, and an even bigger one in the center of campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty good.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you end up coming here, make sure to sign up for your classes for next semester in November.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed this college so far. For most of my classes, I have been doing pretty well. I like the teachers I have for the fall semester.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never seen or heard of any problems. ADDED BONUS, if you have vehicular problems or have lost something, campus security comes to your rescue.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a busy mom, so I haven't had much time to look into these activities. I see posting around the campus a lot.

    Great for these types of students

    any student is perfect for SC4, from first time college student, returning student, to the senor, we have them all.

    What to do for fun

    There are always extra curricular activities available. they are posted regularly on the college website.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria available. there is also a lot of vending machines. I am always on the run so I have only eaten there a couple of times.

    Dorm Life

    as of right now, there aren't any dorms available, however, I was recently informed that SC4 is in the process of discussing how to change that for future students.

    Academic Rigor

    staff is always challenging student so that they can reach their best potential and get the most out of their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early because like all colleges, classes fill quickly. work hard to maintain a good GPA and don't be afraid to ask for help if you don't understand something, the staff is there to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Very clean campus, with excellent staff. professors are willing to help and care about the progress of their students. the nursing program is among the best.