Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

St. Francis College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you need to take the train it's right down the block! If you love to go shopping in your spare time, the train will take you to the city in 10 minutes. If you love professors who love what they do, this is the college for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is a little pricey, but defiently worth it. With no more then 20 students in a classroom, you can really pay attention and create a bond with all your professors and not just be a face in the crowd!

  • 07/07/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    St Francis College is a great college for students wanting to go to a cheap private school. If you love the city this is a great school. Brooklyn heights is close to Manhattan. If you are looking for a fresh start this is the way to go. New friends and new experiences.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is beautiful. The first time I saw it I feel in love with it and knew this is where I was going to go. There are securitys everywhere for you to feel safe. The deans and everybody is so friendly and respectful towards you.

    Will enjoy being here

    The college is in the middle of everything. You have the subway right next to you. Manhattan is just one stop away. There are resturants all around the place. There are great people to be with and great hangout spots.

  • 01/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students look for private elite college wiithout the whole ridiculous price, students living near by and looking for community

    Tips for prospective students

    it's a little expensive but i suggest taking classes all year round to get your credits you need on time and also try taking classes in community colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    i love it here!!! for the most part, people are very friendly here and i enjoy walking to the brooklyn promenade and lots of places here in the city. they have a gym fitness room down stairs and a swimming pool. . . it's awesome!!!

    Academic Rigor

    everyday you learn new things that are beneficial plus you have very helpful people here to inform how to achieve your goal and the college experience is challenging but great.

  • 06/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for the type of students that like to shop because the stores are right down the street. There are also a lot of areas to buy food as well. Great for people who like diversity.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school has a lot of diversity.

    Bang for the buck

    The only problem I really have with this school is that it is pricey but you will be able to focus because they have smaller classes and nice professors.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like the environment and the diversity. It is an overall great experience. Everyone is so nice.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are the nicest people ever. They will help you out in any way they can and they make sure that you learn the material.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Honestly St. Francis has a very wide variety of class styles to fit just about any student type you could imagine. But if I have to say a specific one it would have to be for the arts community style student. From Art History to Broadcast they have every form of art imaginable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I would have to give any advice to new students. It would be this, make sure to keep your grades up as a default and more or less get as many scholarships as you can and make sure you keep them cause your gonna need them.

    Bang for the buck

    To be honest what they do offer isn't really worth all the money that you pay for it. However its not due to the fact that the education or social aspects are bad it is simply because the tuition is massively high. for 18,000 plus dollars its a bit pricey but if you can afford it I say go for it especially if you can get lots of scholarships or a student loan.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am more than definitely enjoying myself in St. Francis for a numerous amount of reasons. First and foremost are the people who attend this college. Most of the people you will meet here are genuinely nice and tend to let you know them very easy. The second thing is that despite how it may sound the work load is actually quite light. Finally there are many great places and opportunities around and in the school itself.

    Am learning a lot

    St. Francis College is a great learning environment. It is honestly one of the greater schools that is not CUNY in the state of New York. I can say to the fullest extent that in my short time here I have learned so much not only academically but about myself as well and I wouldn't change it for the world.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is a safe school, the security guards are well prepared in case of an emergency.

    Great for these types of students

    it is great for students who need more attention and help because the class sizes are fairly small.

    What to do for fun

    you can listen to guest speakers during activity break, join a club, or play sports in the gym.

    Food and Dining

    the food is good and reasonable.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live on campus but i have friends that do and it is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are fun and exciting.

    Tips for prospective students

    never be afraid to ask questions because there is not a dumb question.

    In three sentences

    st francis is a small college for big dreams. the professors are always willing to help their students. they make the school a great place to learn.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards, however no metal detectors, so it could get dangerous. Since I've been there, so far nothing dangerous has happened.

    Greek Life

    I do not know of this lifestyle.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs. I, for one, am in the Pre med club for students who are biology and chem majors, or for people who just want to become doctors, nurses, or pursue any type of medical career.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like Basketball, golf, soccer, or even water polo (just to name a few) and you're strong in these sports, then you have a great opportunity to join these particular sports.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I've heard there is a worshiping room for Muslims, but i am not sure of it's location in the campus or it's aesthetics.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a good college overall with many places to visit. Movie theatre is a few blocks away; promenade is also a few blocks away with a great view of NYC. There is also Fulton mall, which is an outside mall with many clothing stores.

    What to do for fun

    Go the gym to workout, play basketball during activity hour, go to the computer lab, or go study if you consider it fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright, a little expensive though. They sell breakfast and lunch, and the cafeteria closes around 6pm

    Dorm Life

    If you live an hour or two away from school do not dorm. It's too expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    For Biology and Chem majors, The courses required are challenging and the professors want the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take up to 18 credits your first semester, so you wont have the same problem i have. You want to graduate on time so do as i say, not as i do.

    In three sentences

    St. Francis College motto is the small college for big dreams, however this these dreams can be costly. Most of the professors are great, and others shouldn't be able to teach. The area where the college is located is great and the college itself has a great atmosphere.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are not much clubs and not that fun

    Great for these types of students

    students that like small class

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the school located near train station. the location is really good.

    Bang for the buck

    it provides decent scholarship

    Food and Dining

    there are many places to eat out

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not hard

    Tips for prospective students

    it's a nice school with everything you need

    In three sentences

    School's location is a plus. we have small class teaching so it is easily get in touch with professors. Class is not that hard.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A+ for safety.

    Greek Life

    I have no knowledge about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to facilitate the students of their choice. They are very helpful to the community.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have fear of being in a large college will be happy here. Students who are up to learning quickly and move on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is speech competitions where students compete and win cash.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a safe environment and students are like family. Everyone is helpful, professors reach out to students.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and their activities are very extensive and helpful towards the community and internship.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat here.

    Dorm Life

    I am not a dorming student.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is agressive and satisfying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should consider St Francis as their first choice.

    In three sentences

    It is a small and efficient college. The professors are great and encouraging. It is a stressfree college.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since there is a lot of down-time outside of classes, St. Francis has different intramurals that they do, from football to basketball to soccer and even frisbee. The students also organize different programs such as fashion shows n parties which are fun as well. St, Francis is also a Division 1 school so one could always attend a game to help support their hometown team.

    Food and Dining

    I do not really eat the food they serve in the college but I see a lot of other people eating and ordering on a daily basis so I am guessing that the food is good and edible.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm so I can not elaborate on the experience of the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are not difficult in St. Francis College, if the work seems too hard it is because you are making it hard. It becomes very easy when you apply yourself and take the time to understand everything that is being taught to u.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not slack off on any of your work. There are alot of times where you will have alot of down-time so you should use this time wisely. Make sure to attend class every day, just because a teacher does not take attendance does not mean it is a free pass to skip classes.

    In three sentences

    St. Francis College is a good college to attend. From the low tuition to the great professors, St. Francis is a very nice and affordable college. It has a very homey feel to it because it is a relatively small school but it makes college seem easier than what everyone makes it seem.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend fairs and Activities held during the week either in the cafeteria or gym. Many resturants and always something going on in downtown brooklyn right outside school. Great place to be.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is always clean, foods cooked there are absolutely amazing,everything is a low price.

    Dorm Life

    Did not dorm, had many friends who did. Very spacious and very close to main building.

    Academic Rigor

    Late work is not tolerated, Must be attentive and participate, note taking is a plus.

    In three sentences

    Comfortable atmosphere, Small class sizes, and Teachers are aware of who you are. Cafeteria is very clean, many places to sit, fun to participate in activities. Easy to find classroom and friendly faces.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's not the campus safety that makes you feel safe, it's just the atmosphere. I've always felt safe here The campus safety seems to be a bit lazy and just keep watch at the front desk, but you could say that's the most important area to watch since people are always coming and going.

    Greek Life

    The National Fraternity, Alpha Phi Delta has a chapter at St. Francis College. The Sororities include Alpha Sigma, Epsilon Sigma Phi, Kappa Theta Nu and Mu Sigma Upsilon The International Fraternity, Tau Kappa Epsilon All are different in their own sense, depending on what your looking for.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is every kind of club for every interest such as Psychology Club, Educational Society, Asian Culture Club, African Culture Club, Biology Club, the SFC Newspaper. Also, THE SPORTS TEAMS!!!! There is Golf, Basketball both Men and Women's. Our school is really big on the Men's Water Polo team because they win almost every competition and seem to be the best team. Soccer both Men and Women, and Track and Field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their not unusual traditions, just different from other universities since sfc is a Catholic institution. We have blessing of the animal's day where you can bring your pet and they can get blessed by a priest. We have a Saint Francis Week which is to tell the history of Saint Francis as well as remember other Saints and their history, just to name a few. We have the club fair where you can meet all the clubs and sign up for activities and terrier tuesday

    Bang for the buck

    Even though it may not seem like on of the most affordable private schools in NYC, I believe it is considering the resources the student body has to utilize. We have 4 computer labs that include the imac's with up to date programs, various subscriptions to scholarly journals which comes in handy when you need sources for your paper, free bagels and coffee/tea every Monday Morning..etc

    What to do for fun

    JOIN CLUBS!! There is a very active greek life on campus, whether sorority or fraternity. Consider the classes you have to take for your Physical health credit. These classes can be really fun which include Karate, Fencing, Zumba, Yoga, Weight Training plus you'll all fill the common core requirement.

    Food and Dining

    Has really good food for great prices considering the school is in a upcoming neighborhood and restaurants are expensive. For example, a salad with turkey, chick peas, olive oil, cheese cubes ranges from 5 to 6 dollars while across the street, 7 to 10 dollars for a regular size salad. An array of food to choose for: soups, sandwiches, pizza, rolls, etc

    Dorm Life

    I've heard good things about the dorm but haven't had a first hand experience since I didn't do room and board. Things that are included: Pool table, open kitchen where everyone can prepare and make their own meals, some of the rooms have a really great view showing the NYC skyline

    Academic Rigor

    The amount of academic rigor depends on the students major. For example, if you are looking to pursue psychology, there is a lot of work that goes into that major such as the group experiment which I believe is counted towards your thesis grade. This thesis grade is essential to whether you will graduate. Psychology, Science majors and Accounting majors- I've heard the work loads for these majors can be challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    BE ACTIVE IN THE SCHOOL!! Join clubs that have a greater purpose like the Leo Club. If you're an academic, there are various honor societies or clubs based on your interests like the Philosophy or Psychology Club.

    In three sentences

    It can seem everyone is pretty much caught up in their daily work because it's a commuter school but to really enjoy your time there, be active in the school activities. This is a great school for students who are looking to major in accounting, any type of education, and psychology. Professors are easy to reach, which is a plus when school can already be busy, let alone trying to track down a professor.

  • 04/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on the campus, I even feel safe outside as well. Security at the front desk is the first thing you see when you enter so it makes it seem like there is a good presence. There have been NO incidents that I have heard of or seen which is good. Its mostly quiet.

    Greek Life

    There are a few frats/sororities on campus, I haven't thought of ever getting involved though.

    Clubs and Activities

    Don't have much experience with this topic, although I do know that we offer much to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who really want a small school experience with professors that really know your name and face, also for students that want classes with under 30 kids...

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition although cheaper than most schools, can get expensive. Overall, I do think it is worth it for the price you pay. The small school atmosphere is unlike any other and the school itself just feels right when you step inside.

    What to do for fun

    In school, you have the option to attend D1 sporting events, hang in the cafeteria/lounge which has ping pin tables. Also, join a club...it helps with the boredom on campus sometimes. OUTSIDE of school, you are virtually limitless in your things to do being you are in NEW YORK CITY. Brooklyn itself is unique and fun, and lets not forget about Manhattan being a 10 minute subway ride away where you can do anything you want and more. The school is really centrally located in the entire city and it shows.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria at school is not bad, Ive only had it a few times but they cook to order most of the time, and it is pretty tasty. They do have a wide variety of food as well including things like pizza, sandwiches, bagels, pasta, chicken etc. It is also relatively cheap. THAT being said, the cafeteria is the ONLY place to eat on campus aside from the new vending machines. More options would be ideal, but then again you are in the food capital of the world just outside the front door.

    Dorm Life

    I dorm here, in the school-offered dorm. Its about a 10 minute walk away, the blocks are tree-lined and quiet for the most part, which is rare to find in Brooklyn. The close proximity is key. The building itself is nice, large, and only a few short blocks away from the Brooklyn Bridge. The subway station for the 2/3 train is directly downstairs in the lobby of our building which is as close as it gets. You can literally be in Lower Manhattan in under 6 minutes if you time it right. The lobby has 2 lounges with pool tables, t.v's, sofas, chairs, even a fake fireplace. There are also a few study rooms in the lobby as well to work in if your room is not quiet enough. The rooms themselves are rather large compared to other dorms, and clean. A bathroom in each room is nice opposed to community bathrooms and almost each room has a great view of either the manhattan or Brooklyn skyline. IF you can afford it, even if that means for a year or two, I highly suggest looking into dorming, it really makes the college experience and a commuter school like this a bit better.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload isn't too much, but it isn't too little either. I would say its in the middle, depending on the classes take and the professor you choose. I have not found myself drowning in work so far in my freshman year, but like any other college/university you are expected to keep up on things - if you fall behind you will become stressed out and do worse. The good thing is that the professors, or most of them will talk with you privately and really try to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to talk to financial aid as much as possible, although good - can be better. Also try and schedule a walking tour of the school itself, tours are often led by an admissions officer and can help you see the entire campus (even area and dorms), which is key in choosing a school.

    In three sentences

    Small enough to feel comfortable when talking to staff & etc., in a great location, and recognized nationally for our programs and overall experience.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    New York City has no limits when it comes to fun. You can really do whatever your heart and mind feels like. The school is situated less than 3 miles from downtown Manhattan and is a 5 minute train ride from the city. Nearly every train in the city borders the school, which makes your trip that much easier.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Saint Francis College is reasonably priced and well prepared. The menu is pretty extensive, but it doesn't feature too much of your average cafeteria junk food; they feature some gourmet-style freshly prepared meals that are made upon your request.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay on campus, but the dorms are very nice. They're very new, in a great area in Brooklyn Heights, and look very much like a hotel room in a quality hotel. The dorms are fitted with new amenities and give you more than enough room to live comfortably, whether that be with yourself or with a roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is no slouch academically. You are placed in classes according to your entire cumulative high school transcript and placement test scores. The teachers expect you to be on time, work in a timely fashion, and do the best work you possibly can do; they also go out of their way to help you if you need extra help. The education you receive is comparable to that of a top flight institution with a loftier tuition price.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely consider St. Francis college. You would be attending a college with an estimated enrollment under 3,000 students, which nowadays is smaller than some high schools. Also you get to attend a Division 1 institution in the heart of Brooklyn, where you can thrive as a student and also enjoy the many things New York has to offer.

    In three sentences

    I, so far from what I've experienced, believe St. Francis College is an underrated academic institution. The school provides an affordable education, that is not sub par, despite what some may thing. The school is small enough where you can know all your peers and teachers on a first name basis, providing you with the warmth and closeness of a regular public high school.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    majority of the sororities are snobs!

    Great for these types of students

    greta for catholics

    Bang for the buck

    you get what you pay for

    What to do for fun

    sports(if you qualify), working out, hang out with friends etc.

    Food and Dining

    the food at st. francis is pretty good but there are low costing restaurants around the school that are awesome so you'll manage.

    Dorm Life

    i dont know about it. They dont have housing for young parents so experience at your own risk.

    Academic Rigor

    some professors are hard. Just study study study on your own time and you'll be alright

    Tips for prospective students

    get a list of classes you will need. Talk to your advisers and other students (very helpful by the way). Also if you have difficulties with outside situations that hinder your attendance or performance just talk to the professors ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    so far st. Francis meets all of my expectations. the class sizes are small which is good but some professors it seems are over worked. All in all great programs/ opportunities and people.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe at St Francis, theres always security around.

    Greek Life

    There are many diffrent types of frats you can join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None to think of.

    Bang for the buck

    St Francis is relatively cheap compared to most 4 year colleges.

    What to do for fun

    You can play sports, join a school club or even make up your own club.

    Food and Dining

    You are surrounded by a multitude of dining options.

    Dorm Life

    Surrounded by nice people, and by many different dining options.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here aren't too difficult but you are here to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to St Francis it has a good mixture of academics and outside school culture.

    In three sentences

    Nice academic and social atmosphere. Alot of various dining options around the school also. Teachers are here to help you progress and learn.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security walking around and they are on call when you need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a large variety of cl;ubs and sports teams.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student will fit in great at St. Francis College.

    Bang for the buck

    St. Francis college is pretty affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities to get involved in from sports to clubs that you can join. There is also a lot of things you can find to do outside campus since it is located in the city.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe in SFC is delicious but there are also plenty of resturaunts outside the school so there is a lot of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on dorm but everybody who does absolutley loves it. The dorms were previouisly a hotel

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are quite interestiong but good grades don't come easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is very important

    In three sentences

    This is great college to attend. It is a small school but has a lot of personality and diversity. It's full of open minded people and anyone will fit in great.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe while I'm on the property and have never seen or heard of any incidents while I've been here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of different clubs and events. Next year I will actually participate in a few.

    Great for these types of students

    The college welcomes all kinds but for me as an older, returning back to school student it was particularly welcoming to me in my opinion.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private college so the tuition is a little pricey and the amount they want for books and lab fees are a little excessive. I do feel that I am gaining a great education so that balances it out for me.

    What to do for fun

    The college is located 2 stops on the train from Manhattan. There are plenty of shops in the vicinity. A movie theater is 3 blocks away and the Barclays Stadium is 5 minutes away. For the 21 and over crowd there are bars and lounges in the area. There are also a few gyms nearby.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is okay. They have pizzas, salads, burgers and sandwiches along with breakfast and snack items. The college is located downtown Brooklyn so there are a ton of other eating options such as BBQ's, I-HOP, Panera Bread, Hale&Hearty Soups, Chipotles,several delis and every fast food resteraunt there is. On Tuesdays the farmers market is right across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are harder than others. The teachers in general work with you and give you everything you need to pass. There are a lot of reading and papers and assignments but it's college and should be expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    If students are respectful,follow directions and understand that they have to do the required work to get a good grade they will have no problems here. If you drive there really is no parking so it makes more sense to take public transportation. Rent your textbooks online instead of buying or renting them at school.

    In three sentences

    St. Francis is a diverse college that welcomes all. It is small and intimate. The faculty is helpful and wants you to succeed.

  • 09/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I haven't ventured around St. Francis too much, as I live in NJ, but being that St. Francis is located in NY you're just a subway ride away from fun :D

    Food and Dining

    The food the college offer is decent. There is no such thing as a meal plan, but the food doesn't cost very much. I don't find the food very tasty so I either bring my own food or buy from outside. There are many food places around St. Francis.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm because of the price, but I have seen the dorm and they're really nice. It's very clean and looks fairly new. The building is like a hotel.

    Academic Rigor

    I think academic difficulty depends on your major and the teachers. I am a Biology major so I don't have a lot of flexbility in regards to courses I can take, as theres so many required courses. The teachers are pretty fair with the workload though some teachers can give you a lot of work unexpectedly.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending St. Francis College you should rely on public transportation because finding parking is very difficult, as SFC is located in the city. Also, if you don't live very far you should not dorm because dorming is fairly expensive.

    In three sentences

    St. Francis College is a small college, where you will get the one on one attention you need. It offers numerous clubs and sports, along with it's many academic courses. They also offer great scholarships and it's a great price for a private school in New York.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Inside the school you are completely safe. No one can get inside without an id and security is right at the door to make sure of that. But it is a different story once you step outside. You will be attending school in a large city so all bets are off. Brooklyn Heights is a great neighborhood but that doesn't mean that you'll be 100 percent safe at all times if you do not stay alert.

    Clubs and Activities

    This has to be one of the schools worst pitfalls. There are only about 40 clubs on campus and a lot of them lack interest and I'm not just saying that because I'm not interested in them. These clubs have very low turn outs.

    Bang for the buck

    It really depends on how you view it. Tuition is fairly cheap and your going to school in New York so you get a lot.

    What to do for fun

    At the school there isn't much to do. Not many people attend the games cause everyone goes home. The students have to be emailed to remind them to attend games if they can. Terrier Spirit is not really seen much at this school. HOWEVER, you are attending school in New York City and the list of things to do during the weekends and breaks are literally endless. You could easily take in a broadway play or go shopping in SoHo or go to Central Park when it gets warm out. The school also offers things to do in the city for a discount like a trip to Six Flags.

    Food and Dining

    Okay food at the school is miss. I wouldn't waste my money. BUT you are in Brooklyn Heights so simply stepping outside the building gives you a plethora of cheap and delicious eats. The possibilities are endless if you are willing to walk.

    Dorm Life

    Like I said this is a commuter school. Housing is a few blocks away form school. A lot of them are dirty and a bit undesirable.

    Tips for prospective students

    - if you want a small school go here. - if you want a lot of interaction with teachers and small class sizes, this is the school for you

    In three sentences

    Saint francis is a great place for someone to attend if you want a small, and I mean small college. Because of its size, you get small classrooms and teachers that really make an effort to accommodate you. On the downside, if you are looking for a real college experience, do not expect to find it here. It's a commuter school so most kids leave right after school.

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am on a sports team (track and field) so anything pertaining to that is fun. There are also activities and parties promoted by several clubs which shows diversity.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe that is available from Monday-Saturday and the food is very well cooked and prepared. Prices are fair.

    Dorm Life

    I do not reside in the dormitory, but I visited. The rooms are somewhat small but durable. There is either a single, double, or triples,

    Academic Rigor

    The academic criteria is fair, however it depends on certain subjects. Accounting, biology, and psychology require a great amount of focus due to the courses required.

    Tips for prospective students

    A lot of resources are given to you and it is important for you to use those opportunities. Also, keep in touch with fellow peers for any information.

    In three sentences

    Saint Francis College overall has is pros and cons. I enjoy my time at St. Francis because of the time I spend in activities and clubs which help promote the college in a positive light.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our security guards are always on the lookout. If you come in as a visitor, they will contact the office you're going to and let them know that you're going there. They will also find out if you actually got there. While this could be tedious if you're on the end of being the visitor, I on my end like this practice because it shows me that they are protecting their students.

    Greek Life

    We have various fraternities and sororities present in our campus. However, I am not too involved with those. I would not be able to truly name them but I can tell you that we have over 5 in campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have been busy due to work and haven't truly gotten to enjoy the clubs yet. However, there is a club for just about everything. We have clubs for different religions,ethnicity, art interests and so on.

    Great for these types of students

    SFC is great for athletes. However, it's strongest area is most likely Business. Allow me to take the opportunity to say that I write this on Dec.20,2013 and on Dec.23 our Entrepreneurial Club will be ringing the bell at Wall Street.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have Terrier Tuesday, a day for incoming freshmen to tour around campus, do giveaways and competitions and meet professors,advisers and future classmates. We have Metrocard Monday where we do competitions for Metrocards that range from $5 to a 7-Day card. We get into the spirit of Christmas and have a huge gathering of staff and students in the cafeteria where we eat cookies, bagels and other things. On some activity periods, you'll find pizza; completely free. As many as you want!!!

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that the school is worth its price. Besides, if you get a good scholarship like the ones they offer, you'd be paying the same amount for this private college as you would for a public one. The career center can connect you with over 20,000 companies and job opportunities. You can definitely have a well-paying job while being a student here.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the gym or take a dive in our pool. We have tons of intramural activities and sports. We have activity hours in which there are no classes in sessions; this allows for students to hang out in the cafeteria where they serve bagels, coffee, chocolate and so on. You can head to the library and if you're like me that like to be alone, you can check out an ipad or a netbook and go elsewhere on your own.

    Food and Dining

    I give food and dining only 4 stars because the food is delicious but it can be kind of pricey. Food in the school can be pricey but if you play around with the menu, you can find things that will be a great bargain. Food places around campus are also delicious and you could find some with reasonable prices.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm but I have previously visited the dorms. If you dorm, you would be staying in the St. George Hotel in Brooklyn, blocks away from the school in an amazing neighborhood. To give you a little history, Marilyn Monroe once stayed there. From what I am aware of, we also have students from Pace University and another college in that dorm, so you can expect to create a huge network there.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging, just like they should be; this is college so we should not be expecting to be taking toddler steps. Professors are extremely helpful and available to work on individual solutions with students and they are extremely well qualified. Small classes make it a great 1-on-1 experience with your professors. You will even have access to Deans, not many colleges have that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to inquire about scholarship opportunities; Saint Francis offers scholarships that range from $5000 to $15,000 a year, which makes it affordable in my opinion. Make sure to participate in lots of activities - you will hear this about every college but SFC truly loves proactive people. Pay SFC a visit - you will love the tour and if there's something you end up disliking, maybe our Olympic pool will change your mind - or our state of the art library and gym.

    In three sentences

    Being a Terrier is amazing because we have caring professors,great staff, tons of activities and giveaways for students, services and areas that no other colleges provides and the food the cafeteria has is amazing! If you haven't heard of us athletic-wise, our Water Polo team is in the finals, as well as the Women's Basketball team and our Men's Basketball team;our soccer team won the championship. Saint Francis College gives you room for growth in many area; they even offer a guitar class- in case you're looking for a college that'll help you serenade someone

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food services is one area of my school that I feel could do with some improvement. Its very small with not much choice and has a very unwelcoming atmosphere. Maybe the fact that there are so many restaurants and eateries so close by adds to the school not providing as much though.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus and so dont really know too much about the dorm life here but many of the students I have talked to who live in the dorms at St francis have only good things to say about it.

    Academic Rigor

    St Francis is very good at making sure that ever student takes only those classes they needs, in order to graduate in the least amount of time. Students have to meet with their advisors once a semester to discuss their classes and i found this to be very useful in helping students get in and out of school as fast as possible.

    In three sentences

    St Francis is a great school with a small intimate feel. Its in a great location with so much to do and see very close by. Because it's such a small school it's easy to meet and connect with many great people both students and non-students and you really get the attention you deserve from faculty!

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small school, one entrance. There are always security guards at the entrance so I always feel safe at this school.

    Greek Life

    I wasn't part of this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There many clubs and honor societies at SFC, so find the one that fits you an join the group

    Great for these types of students

    Students who live to have small classes, rather than a class of 500 students, will enjoy being part of this school. The maximum class I had was 60 students and even in that class I knew my professor very well, and I like that part.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are always activities happening in the cafeteria during activity period. Since there is no class during activity period for the entire college, you are sure to make friends on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I do believe that my education at St. Francis College is worth the money I am paying. I love the small environment, everyone is very helpful to make sure you have a good career after graduation. The school gives generous scholarships, one of the reason why I chose this school because it helped me fund my education.

    What to do for fun

    Explore the place, the location. The city has a lot of offer. Do well in school but give time to yourself as well. There are Yoga classes near by, join them and make friends and have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Since, it's located in Brooklyn Heights, New York City, there are endless amount of opportunities to eat and dine in the area. The Montegue street is filled with amazing restaurants so you can't do wrong. If you discover the place around the school, you will discover amazing food places nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I did not dorm so I can't answer that question but judging from my friends who do dorm, they love the experience of living in New York City. They enjoy being one train stop away from the Manhattan, the heart of New York City. The location has a lot of offer so you can never be bored.

    Academic Rigor

    I like the school and it's teaching style. The professor are really helpful. Easy to make friends because the class sizes are small and easy to get to know your professor, which helps when you are struggling in class. Everyone is always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends, join activities, and enjoy the small environment the school offers because you can get the most out of it if you give it your best. Discover the location, Brooklyn Heights near Manhattan has a lot to offer so get out there! Joine clubs so you can make friends.

    In three sentences

    St. Francis College is a small college located in Brooklyn Heights. I love the small environment it provides for the students. All the department chairperson or even deans are easily assessable and are very helpful.