Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

St Mary's College of Maryland Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    St. Mary's is perfect for students who are a little off. Students here are creative, eclectic, and very socially-conscious. It's a very granola school, and most people are barefoot the majority of the time. It's a great school for students who want to make a difference, enjoy nature, and like to be challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    I'd recommend visiting the campus in early fall or in the spring- you'll fall in love! Stay overnight with a student (the Admissions office will set you up). Take every experience you can get, and take advantage of all that St. Mary's has to offer!

    Bang for the buck

    At St. Mary's you get the benefits of a private college, for the cost of a public one. Because St. Mary's is a state school, tuition is low for in-state residents, but with all the perks of a small liberal arts school. There are endless amazing opportunities available- for example, students who study abroad in the fall have the airfare paid by the school, which is an incredible value. There are a lot of resources available to students, and you still get individualized attention from faculty and administrators.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have never been as happy as I am at St. Mary's. The campus is beautiful and along the St. Mary's River, so there is a lot to do. I'm able to spend most days at the beach, sailing, kayaking, or just studying. There are so many clubs, and the school has a lot of great speakers and comedians come to the school on a regular basis. There are also free movies every weekend, student coffeehouses, dance shows, and lots of different festivals.

    Am learning a lot

    I am consistently challenged at St. Mary's. Each of my classes has been interesting and informative, even in areas that I had already studied previously. As a sophomore, I have already learned so much academically, and I've also learned a lot about myself. St. Mary's is an honors college, not just a school with an honors program. Professors push you to see things in new ways, and class discussion is always informative.

  • 07/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SMCM has a reputation as a school for weird kids, but it's increasingly becoming a school that has something for everyone. Lacrosse, rugby, frisbee, and partying are all definitely rising in popularity, but at the same time clubs such as fencing and Safe House-- which sponsors weekly nerf wars!-- and events like Humans vs Zombies definitely keep it weird. If you want to fit in you'll quickly find others like you, and therefore I would say that SMCM is for any students hoping to succeed and have fun who has the dedication to find like-minded students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely come on a visit to campus if you can find the time, but don't let your impression of campus be all that makes your decision. Try to visit South Campus and the boat house at all possible-- that's where you'll realize how truly beautiful it is. When you're applying, creativity is hugely rewarded-- students have been known to be accepted who have terrible grades but killer essays, and thinking outside the box will get you noticed.

    Bang for the buck

    St. Mary's is one of the more expensive public schools, but it's also an entire school-wide honors program. Out-of-state tuition may be a bit much, but I can't speak for them-- as an in-state student, I find the prices reasonable and the accessibility of aid unbelievably high.

    Am enjoying being here

    Around campus, it's common to refer to our school as Camp St Mary's. Between the waterfront full of rentable supplies, the amazing gym, the huge number of clubs, the beautiful campus and the feeling of being constantly being surrounded by friends, even though SMCM is school it feels like it's always too fun to be true (except maybe during midterms weeks!). Even though it's far from town, there's always plenty to do and if you want to enjoy yourself, you'll easily be able to do so.

    Am learning a lot

    While some classes definitely feel very high school-- intro level and core curriculum classes have to cater to all levels of knowledge as students of all areas of study take them-- even the easiest class tends to be fascinating and informative. As with any school, professors vary in teaching styles and efficacy, but in my time here I've learned that even if one class doesn't quite suit you, others in that area often will because of that variation.

  • 03/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    St. Mary's is great for lovers of the Arts and sciences. Any student interesting in writing, theatre, English, music, philosophy, and visual art looking for a small, quiet campus conducive to creativity and thought will be very happy here--and LGBT students will find an place that is accepting and safe. Environmentally-conscious students concerned with sustainability will also find a wonderful home here with an excellent biology program if that is their interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Transferring into St. Mary's may be easier than a first-time enrollment. If you do not get in the first time you apply, do not give up--I transferred in as a Sophomore after being rejected during my Freshman year. And remember when writing the essay for application that creativity and innovation will get you far.

    Bang for the buck

    Though St. Mary's is a little more expensive than some other schools, it is impossible not to learn and enjoy each and every day. There is always something to do either on the water, with the numerous clubs, or within campus buildings. The campus and surrounding area are also beautiful--very conducive for outdoor studying.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love it at St. Mary's; it is impossible not to catch the contagious creative energy from staff and students around campus. The professors are energetic and excited to be teaching each and every day, and I have not yet met a single student who was rude or inconsiderate as I so often did at other campuses. Everyone at St. Mary's has a love for some aspect of the arts that has the power to spark creativity and a similar passion in others.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at St. Mary's love the subjects they teach with a contagious passion that makes each student want to know more. The courses are challenging without being impossible to master, and students are encouraged to think, contribute, and innovate in the classroom just as much as the professors. Professors are brilliant and accessible--they will do whatever is necessary to help any student who may be struggling with the material.

  • 06/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    St. Mary's is a great place for students who are willing to be challenged and do not give-up in the face of a challenge. The school has a beautiful campus that is somewhat secluded. So, if you are an outdoors person, then St. Mary's may be the perfect place for you. The campus surrounds the St. Mary's river and students are always outside at the docks enjoying the sun and the water. The school has a very relaxed atmosphere. There is no need to dress up to go to class. If you have a nonchalant attitude then you will fit right in at St. Mary's.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not underestimate college. It is a one-in-a-lifetime experience, you must remember that you're main priority is to obtain an education. If you are not doing as well as you thought you were going to so, don't get upset of give-up. Simply have a determined mindset and allow yourself to adjust to the new lifestyle. You are finally living on your own and you will find that there are always both good and bad times. Learn from the bad times and become a better person, and relax and enjoy the good times because you deserve them.

    Bang for the buck

    St. Mary's is a public school which allows you to get in-state tuition if you live in Maryland. It is a relatively cheap school that has an excellent academic program and is always striving to better itself so that the students may profit.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love St. Mary's College. I am completely happy and content with my choice in schools and I do not regret my decision to attend the college. St. Mary's has provided me with the perfect situation. I am able to play sports while also receive an excellent education. St. Mary's has a fantastic athletics program that completely supports academics before athletics. It has allowed me to meet new people while also continuing to play a sport that I love. St. Mary's also has a very good biology program that challenges you to overcome problems while also working on your weaknesses and strengths. I am really enjoying being a biology major because I feel accomplished and prepared for my future.

    Am learning a lot

    I am sophomore and a biology major at St. Mary's College of Maryland, and have found that I have learned more in my two years of college than I have throughout my entire life. The school has provided an incredible learning environment that is sprinkled with extremely knowledgeable professors that make your education their top priority and determined and persistent students who have a passion for learning. The school has challenged me and as a result I am a better student and person. I have gained life experiences not only through my classes, but also through the college community that St. Mary's so willingly offers.

  • 06/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    open minded well educated responsible respectable respectful hardworking talented and out-going students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus so that you can fall in love with the beach-side view and friendly atmosphere. And once you are here, live-love- and learn.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a public, liberal arts, honors college and with a reputation of being in the top 20 for education overall, this school is cheap in comparison to the private school people try to attend for the same education and experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school lets you implement a major if they do not have it. As well as have an independent study, so your making you own class, schedule and assignments. And there is an organization for anyone from any walk of life, and if one is not yet made you may make it yourself.

    Am learning a lot

    With it being a liberal arts college you not only learn your field of study, but you are also challenged to encounter the fields of your peers. Also, with a study abroad program you are given the opportunity to see how people in other parts of the world are, first hand.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are that student that stayed in the back of the class and didn't raise your hand, because you were afraid of what people would say: come here, because classes encourage differing views and unique ideas! If you are the student who always excelled in class, wants to be challenged intellectually, and loves getting involved on campus: come here! If you want a close knit community with campus-wide inside jokes, silly traditions, and a relaxed atmosphere: come here! If you are a student who wants to be known by name, have your ideas remembered even after class is done, live and learn with kind and accepting classmates, and have teachers that truly care about you and your well-being... COME HERE!

    Tips for prospective students

    When writing your essay or shooting you application video: be yourself! The staff goes through each and every application individually, and they want to be reading about and getting to know a snippet about a person. They do want students with leadership skills, a love of learning, and involvement in high school and their community (like any college), but they also want to hear about your uniqueness, hobbies and goals! The students here make the campus, and we want to welcome people with ideas, personality, and a love of a community!

    Bang for the buck

    College is expensive. Everyone knows that, but St.Mary's gives you an education worth every penny you or your parents spend... and then some! I am actually paying for college, and I never feel any regret or shade of doubt when I have to write a check for tuition, because I know I am going to get my money's worth. Teachers here are very fair, and they ask the students their opinions on subject matter and homework load. Classes go beyond the textbook, too. There are many study abroad opportunities, internship opportunities, and classes get related to each other and life past college. There are also many facilities that are included with tuition: a gym, the library,all the library amenities, various labs, research materials, and much more!

    Am enjoying being here

    I commute to St. Mary's, which does separate me from the weekend and nightly activities, but I still have a lot of fun in class and between classes! A lot of people get together to study, and there are always things to do on campus. People here are so friendly- we actually joke about how part of the criteria to get accepted is to be super friendly! The teachers here know students by name, and they relate to students and our lives in class. It is really hard to feel out of sorts here, because people here accept everyone and their quirks! We also have swag, and you will understand when you come here!

    Am learning a lot

    St. Mary's College of Maryland is an amazing school where teachers truly care about their students and encourage them to learn. At some schools, there are two very defined groups: the one that truly appreciates learning and the one that just wants to get their degree. At St. Mary's, the vast majority of students attend to learn, and class discussions are encouraged and plentiful! I just finished my first semester, and I feel like I truly learned material- not just memorized facts in order to pass a test. A truly excellent institution!

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Creative, artsy, intelligent, those working for social change. We have a really active LGBT community. Anyone of any sexual orientation can feel welcome here. We also have a bunch of students concerned with the environment. If you like being eco-friendly, this is the school for you. A large number of students are also involved in Varsity/club/intramural sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT THE CAMPUS. You'll feel the community sense I was talking about. And you can see the beauty for yourself! Make sure to look at the river and the campus center. Oh, and the library. You'll be spending some time there. When you're applying, there is usually an option between a traditional essay and a video component. No matter which you choose, be creative. Be yourself. As always, grades/extracurriculars/SATs are important. But SMCM looks at the whole student. Don't get too hung up on one bad grade or one low SAT score. Scheduling an interview with admissions also shows that you're interested in the school.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm not going to lie, St. Mary's is expensive. Not as expensive as a lot of schools, but still, my parents have had to make financial adjustments. But is it worth it? Absolutely. St. Mary's faculty are warm and understanding. You won't be in a class of 300 like at UMD. You will be an actual person here, instead of just being another body in a lecture hall. Like I said before, the atmosphere is fantastic. The surroundings are beautiful. The classes are challenging.

    Am enjoying being here

    A common complaint I've heard amongst people is that SMCM is in the middle of nowhere. While it's true that St. Mary's County is no New York City, there are always a ton of things going on at campus. Not to mention, we live on one of the most BEAUTIFUL campuses I've ever seen. Utilize the river: rent a kayak, go swimming, tan on the docks, or learn how to sail. Our athletic programs are fantastic as well (especially basketball and swimming!). St. Mary's just has such a warm, community feeling. I enjoy being here because this is my home. Both the students and teachers feel this way about our campus.

    Am learning a lot

    St. Mary's is a challenging school. It's a public honors college, so expect to do actual work here. With that being said, the classes offered are fantastic. Look at the academic catalog, which can be found online, to get a feel of the classes you might want to take if you attend. We have really cool programs like Museum Studies and Asian Studies, too. There's a program for everyone here. Classes are small, so professors will notice if you're not there. They will ask you questions. They will challenge you.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in being a Biology major, don't consider going here unless you took AP Bio. It is extremely difficult and 50% of the students taking Principles of Biology either fail or drop the class.

    Bang for the buck

    It is the most expensive public school in Maryland. And they are going to raise their tuition. So no it is not the best school for cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although I really like the teachers, being here was a waste of a semester. Due to the mold I lost a lot of study time and my grades suffered. The administration also doesn't treat us with respect and don't take our opinions into account. They do what they think will make the school look best and don't care about the students. Most of the people here are friendly and be sure to go out on the weekends!

    Am learning a lot

    I definately learned a lot in my classes. Most of the teachers are very nice and are good at teaching. However, if you think that since this is a small school the teachers will know your name and remember you, this is not true here. I was in one teacher's class and stayed through to the next class and she had to ask if I was in the new class just coming in even though I had just been in her previous class.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety (PS) does their job very well and ensures safety throughout the campus. I have never experienced any sort of discomfort even when walking from one side of campus to the other at early hours of the morning.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for just about everything on campus. You are also encouraged to start your own club and gather others to do the same.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students are socially accepted at St. Mary's. So far I have never experienced or heard about any sort of discrimination.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a few very unusual traditions at St. Mary's, for instance; on your birthday it is tradition that you are ponded by your fellow peers. There happens to be a large pond in the middle of the campus and when your birthday comes around you are thrown in. Another festivity we have on campus is Hallowgreens and Mardigreens, the greens are a part of the campus where the senior townhouses are located. Every year around Halloween a major party/gathering is held on the greens and the whole campus participates.

    Bang for the buck

    St. Mary's is worth every penny. I could have played division one soccer at a couple other schools that had offered athletic scholarships but chose not to because I fell in love with the campus and the people the first time I visited for my overnight recruiting trip. I therefore settled playing division 3 soccer and not getting additional money to pay for my education.

    What to do for fun

    St. Mary's is situated near the water so in the spring it is very popular for students to go out on the docks and sail, swim and engage in other fun beach activities. There is always something to do on campus whether it may be going to a play, a movie at cole cinema or walking down to the docks at night.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to St. Mary's with an open mind and you will enjoy the next four years of your life.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's is a very warm and welcoming college. Everyone is socially accepted here regardless of race, sexual preferences, or view. You will end up knowing everyone by a first name basis by the end of your four years.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    learn to sail.

    Food and Dining

    the dining hall is decent. the vegetarian co-op, though, provides excellent opportunities for superior food and friendship.

    Dorm Life

    being able to move from a traditional dorm to a suite to a townhouse or apartment was a nice transition from the traditional college experience of ramen and communal bathrooms to the more grown up world of cooking, cleaning, and paying my utility bills. the best of all the worlds!

    Academic Rigor

    some classes were tough, others were less so. striking a balance in any given semester makes things challenging but totally manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard, but also take time to participate in extracurriculars; they prove equally, if more not valuable, in making connections and getting a job after graduation.

    In three sentences

    a great, small school with a gorgeous campus. most of the professors are absolutely fantastic, as are the people you meet there. nothing really beats studying by the waterfront.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    So many clubs so many clubs. Join one or make one. We're on the water, so kayaking is always available late spring and early/late summer and (september-october until it gets cold). Windsurfing also there, sailing is a Must. And just swimming around in the water itself is perfect on a hot sunny day. The outdoor adventure club has outings practically every week with good weather of course. We've been to places like Snowshoe mountain (for skiing), White water rafting, cave and mountain hiking and the list goes on. the fee for all of this is mostly always under $200.00 and normally the prices drop significantly the more people go. for the hiking trips it's under $50.00 Don't have alot of homework for the weekend? go to cole cinema, go see a free movie showing. Want a laugh? a comedian always comes like every weekend down to St. Mary's. go with some friends. Don't like the latter? Parties are always on campus and off campus. It's not hard to find at all. Mostly for on-campus, go to WC. Since the newly installed Pub, yes Pub. If you and your friends want a late night snack or just to hang out on weekends, go there and get some awesome nachos.

    Food and Dining

    Variety of food everyday differs but repeats every week with the exception of the international section. I rarely saw food being repeated on that side. The crepes by BIG T are brilliant, you must have them. Don't know a crepe? it a pancake mixture sauteed on a skillet with toppings of your choice. I normally get oreos and whipped cream and strawberries all topped off with chocolate syrup. It melts in your mouth. sooooo goood.

    Dorm Life

    The friends you meet in your hall whether it's a 2am after a long study or party or 8am early in the morning for breakfast will be your very good friends for the rest of the year as long as everything goes well amongst you all of course. I say that because the community is so close knitted and everyone is so close together with campus being small also, it's rare that you do not run into your roomate or hallmate on a daily basis. For all fresh men, if you want some good dorms, go for PG (co-ed), CAROLINE (co-ed) or QA (all girls). Dorchester is an all men dorm. Whatever your taste go for that. There are kitches located in every Dorm complex, the toasters work but are not the best. We have microwaves (not so clean but gets the job done). There's a common area with pool tables and a piano which is not so good. The bathrooms are never gooood on weekends after parties. but during the week, they aren't so bad. If you have asthma like me, chances are you will be placed in an air conditioned room. But you must sign up for it, that's how the preference works out. Dorchester is not air conditioned generally, PG AND CAROLINE ARE BOTH operated on a vent cooling system. QA is not air conditioned.

    Academic Rigor

    (I am a chemistry major who took POB for fun because I like biology) The Sciences are no joke especially POB106 (principles of biology) which you would take in your 2nd semester there. If you plan to go the science route make sure you are CERTAIN. More than half of the students who initially signed up for being a biology major get dropped out. The rigor I cannot emphasize enough is quite overwhelming. You will be spending countless nights in the library or Schaefar under some study light studying or writing some paper for another class. It IS NO JOKE, St. Mary's is called the Honors college for a reason. For any intro classes and classes after that fufill your major requirements, you must obtain a C i.e 74.5% to continue pursuing that major. If you do not obtain it, you will have to take the class over if you still want to continue. However, you will get credit still for the class if it a 4-credit class for example. Just as long as your grade is not below a D. The standard at St. Mary's is set pretty high which is why it is ranked among the top 3 liberal arts colleges in America.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before signing up for you 1st Year seminar class, be sure to do proper research on the seminar and speak to someone if possible that has taken the one you're interested in before. Because chances are you might not like it like what happened to me. I took Galileo and the Birth of Modern Science, very interesting topic but the teacher was a bit boring and in terms of the variety of topics, it was a bit limited so be sure to choose wisely. In terms of dorm life, be sure to really answer those profile questions for dorm matching carefully or else you will end up with the wrong roomate and trust me you do not want that. I was luckily placed in a room with no roomate for the first 1 month but that was because it had air-conditioning. If you can, somehow avoid getting placed in Dorchester. It's not where you want to end up if you're a boy, it's an al boys dorm and it smells. Go for Prince georges or Caroline dorms. What will help is if you had AP credits from high school, chances are if you're lucky you'll get placed into those good dorms. In terms of cleaning material for your dorm, be sure to stack up on Lysol and a swifter if you can. Also, maybe invest in a broom because that helped me clean up the after party messes in my room on weekends. If you're a party'er places to check out between 9pm-12am on Friday and Saturday is WC (warren commons). Don't take random drinks from some people there. Friend of mine learnt that the hard way. Eat before you go party'ing for god sakes. Don't get caught by public safety. You will get a J-board if you get caught, which is not a good thing. When choosing classes be sure to sign up carefully for the ones that match your sleeping schedule, try to avoid early classes if you're a evening afternoon type or try to avoid evening classes if you're the morning type of person. Also it'll be helpful to check out rate my profesor website on the school's page. It'll let you know what teachers to look out for interms of teaching proficieny.

    In three sentences

    Breath taking when you wake up in the morning and stare out across the bay seeing the sun glisten against the water. Expectations very high since it's an honors college with all classes being very rigorous. Social life for the first month is a bit hard to grasp but after that it's like you've known the friends there your entire life.

  • 09/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with the classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it, but still kind of expensive.

    Am enjoying being here

    A lot to do on campus. Many, many activities and clubs. Very fun, whether you are laid back, serious, or hyper. Something for everyone.

    Am learning a lot

    Very challenging classes, but in a way where you can still handle it. Very nice to finally have classes that challenge its students intellectually, where other schools don't.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dangers are close to zero

    Greek Life

    None

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sunset by the bay

    What to do for fun

    outdoor activities, many water-related such s sailing, crew, canoeing,

    Food and Dining

    Good food in a spacious and beautiful cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are old but there is the incentive to get good grades for a better choice of accommodations

    Academic Rigor

    Small classes, most teachers hold a PhD. D. in what they teach. No way, you cannot hide!

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to like small and tranquil environments. If you want to party hard this is not the place for you!...but if you rather want a beautiful corner where to set yourself to study this is definitely the best!

    In three sentences

    Challenging , learning-conducive environment with many possibilities to interact with faculty. Great place to make friends and enjoy life. A plus : the college is by the water as it is at the point where the St. Mary's river meet the Chesapeake bay.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A woman alone would be perfectly safe walking from one end of the campus to the other by herself late at night. If for some reason you're not, Public safety is only a call away.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    We make our own types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ponding. If it's your birthday, you might get an extra treat from your friends; get thrown into the pond.

    Bang for the buck

    A bit pricey as far as most campuses are concerned, for in-state tuition. However, I think the value of the education and the experience makes it an even trade off. This is coming from someone paying their way through college too, not just a privileged family child.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in clubs, activities, festivals, SGA. Do something in the community. Go outside, explore and have fun in nature. Chill with your friends. Go to a dance party. There are tons of things to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I have mixed feelings about the food on campus. At first it's wonderful, but eventually it can get a little boring. It's served in a buffet style, eat as much as you want in the great room. On the other hand, it's relatively healthy and it's a MILLION times better than the food available at most schools and universities. There are other places across campus you can pick up sustenance. I can't wait to be able to cook my own food, but I have to admit I will miss the convenience of great food room. (I also know how to cook, which puts me at an advantage).

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is boring and average. If you have to live in a dorm, go for Calvert.

    Academic Rigor

    See the tips for prospective students. Also note that the rigor actively and sufficiently prepares you for real life. Graduates of the school go and do some really cool things out in their fields, or go to nice graduate schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study something besides biology if you are not into plants invertebrates, or marine. The biology department personnel are heavily focused on these subjects. If you are transferring in, make sure to do your research ahead of time on the details involved in payment, travel, moving in, and living conditions. There is a lack of communication between the admissions office and the rest of the campus; admissions is usually the last one to know about the latest goings on. As a transfer student I overcame several issues that came up with housing because of it. The other departments have good educators/professors. Of course there will always be the occasional professor that someone doesn't like, while someone else enjoys that teaching style, but overall the quality of the education is solid. The environment of the school is welcoming and easy to get involved in. I highly recommend getting involved in multiple clubs, sports, and activities around campus. As far as academics are concerned it'll take a large amount of adjustment for the work load, which is heavy. In the long run it'll be worth it because you'll be learning worthwhile information (usually). The Career Center is a great resource, but if you're looking for internships, talk to professors and other adults in the career field you're looking for- networking and hard work is what it's all about. Overall I wouldn't have chosen to go anywhere else for school. Don't let the school chose you- chose the school for you.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's is peaceful, but full of excitement. If there's not already something there you want to get involved in, there's plenty of help both from the professors and the students to create new opportunities. You get a chance to know your professors at this college.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Pondings! On your birthday (official school policy is three days before or after) or on your half birthday (or a random date assigned by your friends if your birthday and half birthday falls during school breaks), your friends drag you to the pond on campus and throw you in!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out by the water! There is always tons of stuff to do on campus: parties, free movies, club events, guest speakers, comedians, dance shows, etc.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one dining hall (we are a small school), but there are other food options on campus!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you really want to go to a small school. Visit the campus and talk to current students. Work on your essay!

    In three sentences

    This school is small and very personal. Its a beautiful campus right on the water. Everyone is super friendly--the students, the staff, and the professors!

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public safety will try to get you in trouble whenever they can

    Greek Life

    there is no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    there are enough clubs at St. Mary's that you have to find something you like

    Great for these types of students

    hipsters

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    too many traditions to count

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable considering the quality of education

    What to do for fun

    at st. Mary's the most popular thing to do for fun is go to the riverside

    Food and Dining

    the food at the dining hall is awful and there is only two more places to eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    the freshmen dorms are pretty honorable and it dose not get too much better after that

    Academic Rigor

    Freshmen year is easy like every other school but the difficulty increases especially for biology majors

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up for classes early, there are not a lot to choose from

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's is a very small liberal arts honors college. The atmosphere is one of a kind. Students who attend St. Mary's find that most people love the school and very few people leave.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I am about to go to school here. I haven't gone yet!

    Dorm Life

    I am about to go to school here. I haven't gone yet!

    Academic Rigor

    I am about to go to school here. I haven't gone yet!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to college early, and make finantial decisions!

    In three sentences

    I am about to go to school here. I haven't gone yet!

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe on campus. People leave laptops and bags in the open in the library when going to meals and they are perfectly safe. The public safety officers are also all really friendly and helpful.

    Greek Life

    St. Mary's does not have a Greek system.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ponding is a tradition at St. Mary's. This involves throwing a friend in the pond (located at the center of the campus) on their birthday.

    What to do for fun

    The waterfront provides the opportunity to sail, swim, paddle board, and kayak. Sail boats, kayaks, and paddle boards are signed out at the boat house and are free. There are also a lot of clubs on campus including club sports (in addition to varsity teams). Every Thursday night there is a musical Coffee House event featuring a local band or sometimes St. Mary's students. Comedians visit the school on some weekend nights and a movie is shown in the cinema on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays. Because the school is in such a rural location, there is not a whole lot to do off campus. However, DC is less than an hour and a half drive away.

    Food and Dining

    By college standards the dining at St. Mary's is pretty good. There are usually a lot of options within the Great Room (the main dining hall). There are also several other small places to eat around campus, including the Pub. The Great Room's salad bar selection improved this year and they offer some vegetarian and vegan options. The staff is usually pretty good about accommodating suggestions/requests.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm buildings are adequate but nothing special. The suites and houses that upperclassmen live in (housing is based on credits) are more nice although they cost a small amount more. The houses include a kitchen and living room while the suites have a common room. The dorm buildings have a communal kitchen for the entire building. Some of the kitchens are nicer than others.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the professors I have had expect a lot from students. Classes often involve a lot of reading and it's important to be able to write coherently. Because the classes are small it is important to contribute to class discussions. A lot of the students at St. Mary's are very focused on their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want to go to a small school. If you want a lot of anonymity St. Mary's might not be the school for you. Even if you don't know everyone on campus, you will probably recognize a lot of people. This has both perks and drawbacks.

    In three sentences

    The St. Mary's community is exceptionally friendly and welcoming. The water front is beautiful as are a lot of other places around campus. The professors are generally approachable and helpful.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a very low rate of crime. I walk around at 3 am no problem.

    Greek Life

    NONE! Greek Life would not mesh well with the tight knit community of SMCM.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL.

    Bang for the buck

    Low price and great education. t\There is no better value!

    What to do for fun

    The outdoors is literally everywhere! Get out of the dorm and go sailing!

    Food and Dining

    The great room (the main cafeteria) offers a large variety of food and is comparable to a restaurant. However, the budget must have been cut or something, because the food gets repetitive and bad into the semester. However SMCM now has a Pub with beer on tap!

    Dorm Life

    I live in a two story townhouse as a junior! Its awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    SMCM offers an education that is both very rigorous and intimately personal. I have had classes where the professor will make your friends in the class call you to get your butt in class. Add into this a personal relationship with your professors, who know you well and truly care about your future, and a perfect environment for growth is found.

    In three sentences

    SMCM is overall the perfect combination of the best aspects of a college. SMCM is academically rigorous (and you actually retain what you learned) and has tiny class sizes; a perfect model of a liberal arts college. Yet, SMCM is a state college with tons of aid and a low cost -- what else could yo ask for?

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life on campus, but hundreds of student-run clubs and societies involving all aspects of life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Way too many to name. http://www.smcm.edu/students/clubs.html With many unnamed and more every day.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants a challenge but also a really relaxed, friendly environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The 7 Wonders of St. Mary's, which each first student should try to find at some time in their first year or so; Hallowgreens (giant, open Halloween party on the Greens), Natty Boh Hunt (Easter, by upperclassmen for underclassmen); PONDING. On your birthday (or your half-birthday, if it's yours is in the dead of winter), your friends toss you into St. James Pond. Don't worry though, you'll get to chuck people in far more than you'll get thrown in yourself!

    Bang for the buck

    Great academics, liberal arts structure, and fantastic atmosphere, but with mid-high tuition. It's the kind of school you fall in love with, so the experience itself is priceless.

    What to do for fun

    There are hundreds of clubs, everything from Math club to Ultimate Frisbee to the Tolkien Society, varsity, intramural, and club sports, and sailing is a HUGE on campus (they say you can't graduate without learning how at some point). There are movies, lectures, concerts, and other events every weekend. There are a lot of musical ensembles, small and large, for-credit and student-run. Campus is incredibly friendly, especially since it's small.

    Food and Dining

    The Great Room serves food buffet-style throughout the entire week. There is a lot of variety and various options for different diets and preferences, and everybody lives for Big T's crepes! Additional food options include Quizno's and the Grill, which operate during the week, The Daily Grind (a sort-of convenience store plus coffee and smoothies), The Green Bean (small cafe in one of the academic buildings), and the Pub, which now has a liquor license, for those over 21.

    Dorm Life

    There are a variety of housing options available on campus. Any students, but especially first years, who live on campus are guaranteed a space in one of the dorm buildings; two are co-ed, separated by floor and hallway, and two are single-sex, each with its own kitchen and large common room on the first floor (roommates can be chosen by mutual request). Other housing options on campus include the apartments, which have kitchen units, suites without kitchens, and townhouses. Each of these options allows students to choose their room- and housemates.

    Academic Rigor

    It is an honors college, so most of the classes are at least 4 credits, or 3 with a companion class or lab worth 1 credit. 16-17 credits is considered an average course load (4 classes) but students can take 19 without it being considered overloading, at which point there is an additional fee for extra credits. Most students have a major and minor, and many either double major or major and double minor.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is small and reasonably competitive, but your essay and recommendations can be as important as your SAT scores. It is also a bit expensive for a public college, averaging closer to $30,000 including tuition, room and board. But, if you visit campus, you will absolutely fall in LOVE. It is so beautiful and comfortable there.

    In three sentences

    Bordered by the St. Mary's River, surrounded by naturalized habitats and situated in part in Historical St. Mary's City, St. Mary's College of Maryland (not religiously affiliated) is a fascinating mix of history and nature, with a small, close-knit student body. It is the only college in Maryland that has been designated an Honors College, with most of the students taking between 16 and 18 credits each semester in classes, many double-majoring or minoring, yet even with rigorous academics, students have plenty of time to hang out with friends, go to lectures, hold jobs, participate in the vast number of clubs and sports, and study abroad. It's an incredibly close-knit campus, with accessible, knowledgeable professors, friendly students, and the ability to customize your academic experience to fit you.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can easily travel at night by yourself and be perfectly safe. We have blue light safety call devises to contact public safety if there is a danger, but this very rarely happens. There are never any thefts, one can easily leave personal belongings out in the open, leave for extended periods of time and nothing will be stolen. Our campus is very easy-going and non-threatening.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent, and get used to it because it's so much better without it.

    Great for these types of students

    Open-minded. Academically vigorous. Easy-going Nature loving Friendly and adventurous

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our campus is small, which is both a blessing and a curse. When you first get here, you'll be completely lost, but the great thing is that you'll get to know the campus pretty quickly. It's easy to hike from the North Campus forest and housing (where parties abound on the weekend), to mid-campus, where you can easily see people you'll get to know and have great views of the beautiful campus and pond, and all the way to south campus where the oldest buildings stand looking over the river. If you keep going past south campus, you'll find historic St. Mary's and you'll get to the point, which are both great hangouts for college students.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, sports, and parties abound at this school. Whether you think you are a social person or not, you are bound to make friends and form great memories by participating in the wide array of extracurricular events. If you think you're going to be bored on the weekend, think again. St. Mary's offers free movie showings (prior to home movie release) on the weekends, the occasional comedian and quite a few parties, from quiet hangouts, to giant ragers, to bonfires in North Campus forest.

    Food and Dining

    Don't expect your mama's cooking, but this food isn't the worst in the world. Our campus is lucky enough to offer many different food options, despite its small size. The greatest thing is that St. Mary's is equipped to handle all food allergies, intolerances and ideological choices when it comes to meal choices. I am a vegetarian, and I do not find it difficult to get a good meal three times a day.

    Dorm Life

    The dormitories are not the best in the world, but really, which dorms are decent? All of the dorms on campus are quirky and have their own stories. The goal is to get into Caroline or Queen Anne you freshman years, and then to get into upperclassmen housing ASAP. Become friendly with you neighbors quickly, and all of the issues (mold, lack of proper heating and a/c and cleanliness) will begin to not be such a big issue.

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent school for individuals who want a great community full of friendly, open-minded people. St. Mary's offers academically rewarding curriculums with great opportunities for further development. If you want to be surrounded by a beautiful campus and have the opportunity to be involved in life-changing experiences, then this is the college for you.

  • 02/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty safe, unless there's a major party occurring that night.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many you just have to find a good crowd to go with.

    Great for these types of students

    If you love small campuses, small amount of student body, small classes you'll like this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a pond by the library, and people get thrown in there on there birthdays, it's something called ponding.

    Bang for the buck

    That depends on what you're looking for in a college.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities during random times (lectures, comedians, improv shows, games etc.), all you have to do is find out when/where they are.

    Food and Dining

    At first it seems/looks luxurious, but doesn't always taste good. The only time something is really well cooked is on a holiday/

    Dorm Life

    The dorms themselves are a bit shabby( paint peeling, something is either always broken or is breaking, the boys dorm buildings are always extremely dirty), depending which dorm you live in you are likely to get to know everyone in your hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be challenging depending on the professor, but the biology seems to be really hard for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have come from a high school with a huge and diverse student body, then this college will feel a lot like high school. This college is really good for people who have not yet figured out that they want to major in, but if you have all of those extra classes outside your major may be a nuisance.

    In three sentences

    The campus, nature and river view are beautiful. The staff members are helpful. The liberal arts curriculum helps you grow in different ways.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Hundreds!

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal Arts, misfits, athletes, intellectuals, artists, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    St. Mary's features Seven Wonders: St, John's Pond, the naked man statue, the shoe tree, the hidden grave, the point, and the bell tower. Hallogreens and MardiGreens are huge parties on campus celebrating Halloween and Mardi Gras. There are dozens of weird and fun traditions on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    St. Mary's may be a little on the expensive side, but the education and the experience are DEFINATELY worth it!

    What to do for fun

    There are a million things to do for fun here. My favorite: sitting on the docks by the river. Popular activities also include: sporting events, kayaking, paddle boarding, wind surfing, visiting The Point or Point Lookout, going out to eat in Lexington Park or California, going bowling, attending movies or events on campus, and just playing outside with friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about fitting in or making friends, at St. Mary's; everyone is friendly and eager to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's is the perfect college; the welcoming atmosphere, the beautiful campus on the St. Mary's River, the tremendous professors and faculty. The first time I stepped foot on campus I knew this was the right fit for me, and I believe everyone here agrees. All the students have such a passion and love for St. Mary's: SEAHAWK PRIDE!

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No greek life, but I heard about someone throwing a greek/roman themed party. Togas and all.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, Outdoorsy types, and People trying to get away from the city

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, there is the Polar Bear Plunge, where students charge into the water's of the St. Mary's River to protest against Global Climate Change.

    Bang for the buck

    SMCM is pretty generous with scholarships for people with slightly average GPA. They truly pay attention to the extracurricular things that are passionate about and reward you for it.

    What to do for fun

    Almost anything water related! Kayaking, Windsurfing, Sailing, Swimming, Aqua Aerobics, and more! They have many fun fitness classes like Yoga and Zumba. We even have a rock climbing wall! You can always take a walk in the beautiful campus and Historic St. Mary's.

    Food and Dining

    It's half and half. The Great Room (Dining Hall) has its ups and down. But they try to serve the campus as best as they can. Students can even make requests and write reviews on the food quality.

    Dorm Life

    There can be some annoying people, but I feel as if it's pretty nice. 1st years get stuck in QA (All female), Dorchester (All male), and sometimes in PG and Caroline (Co-ed dorms). The latter two have A/C, but trust me you won't need during fall.

    Academic Rigor

    This rating is specifically for the Biology majors out there. POB (Principles of Biology) is a required class that weeds out all of the uncommitted. So if you want to be a Bio major, be sure of yourself and don't be afraid to ask for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't sweat about not knowing what to major in. You have time to settle on the campus and to start thinking about your future plans. Take things slowly, but don't procrastinate. College is a place where you need to plan your time because you are an adult. No more teachers telling you what you need to get done.

    In three sentences

    This school is great for those who want a change of pace for people who are tired of the city, like how I was. It's also perfect for the athletic, the slightly/want to be athletic, and outdoors type. The nature and environment really pull you in.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You will hear all about them during orientation, I don't want to spoil it. Just know that this is a weird place, in the best kind of way.

    What to do for fun

    The Green Door Tavern of course! There are plenty of clubs and groups to get involved in, and lots of hiking/outdoorsy stuff in the area if you bother to look.

    Food and Dining

    The Green Door Tavern of course! Pizza and a pitcher on Mondays, taco night Wednesdays, pint night Thursdays... and it's seriously cheap! Retriever's grille is also close by and well worth visiting! Other than that you will have to drive a bit to get to Lexington Park where there are dozens more options.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus so I don't know. I do have to mention though that the social life is kind of hard to break into for commuters.

    Academic Rigor

    They like to play up the whole Honors College thing, but it's really not that tough. It's respectable but not all that and a box of cracker jacks.

    Tips for prospective students

    If the social scene is a big deal to you, be aware that starting mid-year and/or commuting are going to make it harder- there are really great people here but students can be very clique-ey. Also make an effort to develop a relationship (a professional one!) with your professors; they are very approachable and most like to hear from students, getting to know them and making yourself known will really help you in the long run.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus feels very secure. Most places require a key-card to get into, and you must be authorized to get into that area. And, if at all you feel threatened, there are numerous phone boxes across campus for the safety office where they will come and escort you where you need to go.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent, to my belief.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a great array of clubs and activities, both school-made and student-made.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who love rural settings and would like to get a great education without being in debt for the rest of your life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are two main unusual traditions (that I know of) and they're called ponding and May Day. Ponding is where your friends take you, on your birthday, and throw you into the large pond on campus. You're not a true student if you haven't been ponded. May Day, well, you'll have to come here to find out what it is, but I assure you it is worth it.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a great education for a fairly low price. It's the same as many other colleges and universities but you get a better education and a better support system for it.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is far from any major city, but people often hold parties. There's also a placed called The Pub where you can go to hang out with people and friends. There's a beach not far from campus and there's always outdoor activities to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always good and they always have various dishes from other styles and a few vegetarian and vegan dishes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty comfortable. Not the best but they're decent. They're interspersed between the academic and dining buildings, so you can chose where you want to live based on your major and where you'll spend most of your time.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes take a lot of work, but you get a lot of pride in completing them. You learn so much more than you could ever expect, but you have to work for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're applying, make sure you bring out everything that makes you unique and interesting. If you are planning on attending, make sure you try to immerse yourself in the community, but also make sure to spend a lot of time on your schoolwork. It isn't an easy college.

    In three sentences

    It's a really great school with a great community and setting for learning and making great connections. The staff and students are mostly very nice and helpful and finding people to help with your studies isn't hard. There are always things to do and ways to help the school and yourself become better.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ponding--on your birthday (or half-birthday, depending on the time of year) your friends are bound to toss you into St. John's Pond to celebrate.

    What to do for fun

    The river is a great source of fun on campus--all students have access to kayaks, sail boats, paddle boards, and windsurfers as well as the college's private beach. There is a general cook out culture on the weekends. The school also does a great job bringing comedians and concerts to campus and providing regular transportation to DC, Baltimore, and even NYC for concerts, plays, guest lecturers, and shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The food at St. Mary's is fantastic, and provides a ton of variety. The Great Room is particularly kind to students with dietary restrictions--they cater to students with severe allergies, those who are gluten free, and there are always tons of vegan/vegetarian options.

    Dorm Life

    A combination of the lack of Greek Life and a population of about 2000 students combine to create a uniquely friendly atmosphere on campus. The dorm options are varied (traditional residence halls, suites, and townhouses), but they all share one thing in common--everyone's doors are always open. People are always popping by, introducing each other, and building relationships that transcend the usual barriers like athletics, majors, and extracurricular interests.

    Academic Rigor

    SMCM professors are all notable members of their particular field--it always catches me off guard how well published my professors are. They chose to work way down in southern Maryland because they are passionate about teaching. The small class lend themselves to interesting and productive conversations, but they also mean students can't hide. It is always abundantly clear who is and is not prepared for class, so it's important to develop good study habits early.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit--other reviews haven't exaggerated the beauty and uniqueness of this nearly 175 year old campus nestled on the banks of the St. Mary's river. Take advantage of the Admission's Office's offer of an interview, tour, and dinner with a faculty member. By meeting actual members of the community you'll discover how passionate and enthusiastic everyone actually is about what they do and, more importantly, where they do it

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's College of Maryland takes its status as the state of Maryland's Public Honors College very seriously. The students, staff, and faculty work together to build a living-learning community that encourages broadening our horizons, working hard, and living well. We are united by our love of the campus, our respect for each other, and our enthusiasm for whatever we happen to be passionate about.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe but I still always travel with someone. That's just the way the school is, one of your friends is always going in the same direction.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics is fun because you meet people.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't mind studying but still want to have fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is beautiful. Since the school is located on the water you are allowed to take a swim test and if you pass (it is a very basic test) you are allowed to take the small paddle boats out in the water. Gets cold in the winter because of the air off of the water.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on. I attend a lot of the athletic contests to support my friends. In the spring the lacrosse games are packed, students line the field to watch the games.

    Food and Dining

    Its dinning hall food but there is a lot of variety. The omelet guy is great never had one better. Sometimes the food gets old because I miss home cooking,

    Dorm Life

    I have a great roommate and our dorm room is very large. I got lucky I am in a corner dorm. Dorms are not new but they are in very good shape for their age.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough. This is a honors college so we work hard. We do have fun but its not uncommon to spend lots of nights in the library studying then having fun after that.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to visit the school. It is in a great atmosphere. Since most things I do are on campus you spend a lot of time here. If you want to be involved in clubs or athletics its great. No a big school setting at all, so if that is what you are looking for probably not the right school.

    In three sentences

    The best school I have been to. The school sits on a beautiful campus. Everyone I have become friends with since arriving have been great.

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Very good school with very interesting people.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    NONE! I love the fact that there is no Greek life present

    What to do for fun

    There's so much to do on campus! (But nothing off campus) Many of the activities revolve around the water; sailing, boating, ponding (which is SMCM speak for throwing your friend in the pond on his/her birthday), etc.

    Food and Dining

    There's only one dining hall, but the food actually looked real, and the vegetables looked fresh and edible

    Dorm Life

    I didn't get to see the dorms on my visit, but I hear the freshman and sophomore dorms are pretty average, and the suites/townhouses for upperclassmen are good

    Academic Rigor

    I don't have experience in this area

  • 02/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is usually safe in general, but in the event something goes amiss there is a force of campus safety professionals who will be happy to assist in any way they can to protect students or ensure the students get the help needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    Great variety and quality of activities

    What to do for fun

    Kayaking, rowing, sailing, hiking, camping, fishing, swimming, paddle boarding, canoeing, on-campus events, pretty much anything one could imagine.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent quality and selection prepared by friendly and professional food service workers. The Great Hall dining facility is very much an open and community-centered environment.

    Dorm Life

    The average of what one might imagine dorm life being, most dorm halls have air conditioning, all have heating, and most dorm residents are agreeable. Resident Assistants are engaging but at the same time respect their hall residents and give them space when needed.

    Academic Rigor

    Though the classes may be difficult, the value both in terms of experience and how much one can get out of them is well worth the work necessary. However, in order to get the most out of the classes, one must put forth the best effort possible, otherwise you won't be getting the most out of your academic experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work hard but also enjoy yourselves on your way to graduation and future success. Get to know your academic advisers and meet with them often as they will have important information regarding course planning, study abroad opportunities, internships, and scholarships. Last but not least, get involved! There's plenty to do so get out and become part of our family!

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's is very much a community of high-achieving, motivated scholars. The professors and faculty almost become an extended family and are 100% behind the students in their goals.

  • 02/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is literally so so so sooooo safe it's ridiculous. I know people who never lock their doors and people who literally don't know where their keys are (disclaimer: I don't actually recommend this approach). Myself, I've lost my student ID card with all my debit and laundry money on it and had it returned immediately, no problem. Seriously, we're a very safe campus--there have been maybe three publicized incidents in my three years here, and they're incredibly rare.

    Greek Life

    Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha, what Greek life? We don't have any; we don't need frats to throw killer parties, and we don't need hazing or dumb power games ruining everybody's lives.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's so many clubs that I'm always surprised when someone wants to start a new one, but the SGA is very helpful if you arrive and you decide there's a need you want to fill. There's a ton of activities too, from World Carnival and Riverfest (both awesome!) to other events--there's usually one every weekend, although some of them can be kind of lame. Of course, if you want to get involved, go for it!

    Great for these types of students

    You've got to be relaxed, flexible, intelligent and creative to thrive at St. Mary's. Recognizing that we *are* a small, somewhat isolated school is important--nobody wants to hang out with the kid who'll complain that somewhere else is bigger or better. Take control and do what you want, and always let your freak flag fly, and you'll fit right in here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual? There's the shoe tree--but that one's a secret. Or the secret treehouse, which you have to find on your own, it's too secret. There's the 7 Wonders of St. Mary's, but you've got to find them yourself. Make sure to find the Awesome Room for the best views of the sunset on campus, too.

    Bang for the buck

    St. Mary's is expensive, even for a state school--it's one of our least things about the school, and we're working hard to lower tuition, but for now we're probably going to stay on the high side. (Sorry, folks.) That being said, the school doesn't skip on amenities, or education--the professors, fellowships and internships available are really excellent. Check out student chatter in your major field to find the top professors and know that you *will* get the chance to take classes with them, unlike some schools, or check out our career development center to work on your resume and score internships.

    What to do for fun

    Real talk: at St. Mary's, we make our own fun. We have a ton of clubs and sports, from intramural to varsity, and the school has an amazing boathouse on our prime real estate, the St. Mary's river. As for at night, there are always parties on North Campus or, for the less adventurous, activities and movies and theme nights sponsored by SGA and other student groups. You can always trek into Lexington Park as well--it's a little far and you'll need to drive, but it's a pretty decent town.

    Food and Dining

    There's just one caf on campus, what we affectionately call the Great Room, but it's a social highlight--especially for weekend brunch. The food is pretty decent all-American fare, if expensive, but you can usually count on a friend to swipe you in if you're on a limited meal plan. There's a couple of informal eateries, too--the campus coffee shop, the Grab-N-Go, the pub--but it's the Great Room where we all congregate.

    Dorm Life

    We mostly all live on campus (there isn't much of a town nearby) and it's great. If you've heard of Hallowgreens then you *know* that St. Mary's goes hard, but there's quiet alternatives if you're not the partying type. The freshmen dorms are pretty basic, hall-style dorms, but the upperclassmen housing on North Campus ranges from suites to townhouses to full apartments (separate bedrooms for everyone!). It's pretty rad.

    Academic Rigor

    You can probably graduate from St. Mary's via coasting, but not in every major--Biology in particular is notoriously selective. No matter what your major, though, you can find rigorous, meaningful study with like-minded students and professors, but you have to be ready to work hard. Don't expect to be spoon-fed; you'll get the grade but not the respect, the connections or the real-world knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the most affordable waterfront property you'll ever have--we're right on the river, and there's no excuse not to swim, sail or just soak up the sun! You'll never regret laying out on the docks or sunning at the Point, even if you have to bring your homework with you. When it comes to academics, get on good terms with your professors early; we're a small school so you'll be working with them again. Lastly, be creative--find internships, set up clubs, get active in the school and the community!

    In three sentences

    You get what you put into this small, awesome school. It's small and it's a little out of the way, but it's also close-knit, close to home and a blast to attend. Learn about biology or Kant while learning to sail--what could be better?

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety will jump your car and even walk or personally drive you back to your dorm if you're feeling paranoid at night.

    Greek Life

    None, but that's what's so great about the school. There's no pressure to be a certain way to make friends. We're all weird here. KEEP ST. MARY'S WEIRD!

    What to do for fun

    Party all night, watch movies all night, laugh at a comedian, enjoy burlesque, or even embrace the great outdoors. This campus is really fun if you go out and find it.

    Food and Dining

    Very good, caters to vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free dietary restrictions on a daily basis. The crepes made by Chef Big T are fantastic.

    Dorm Life

    Average dorms, complete with kitchens for both omnivores and exclusively vegetarians and vegans.

    Academic Rigor

    It is an honor's college, with the focus of heavy critical thinking and discussion within the curriculum of most classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    * get a bike * join club sports * befriend chef big T

    In three sentences

    It is a college full of academically engaging professors. It is a college by the water, with beautiful sunsets. It is a college where everyone is welcome to enjoy.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is extremely safe. It is a nice, spread out area. There are enough lights to feel safe at night and the public safety officers will help if you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    What to do for fun

    The SGA programs board plans weekly activities for students to do. Basketball games are big on campus and just relaxing at the waterfront is nice.

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten in the great room one time but the food was excellent!

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student so I do not know much about dorm life, but I hear it is pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can sometimes be hard, but if you talk to your teachers they will help you with anything you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should know that there is not much to do outside of SMCM. The nearest mall is an hour away and the movie theater is not the best. However, there is plenty to do each week on campus that will keep you busy. This is an honors college so make sure you do your homework!

    In three sentences

    SMCM is an amazing college. It is in a beautiful location, right on the water. The professors are wonderful and extremely helpful. Everybody should apply!