Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

St. Mary's University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who wish to pursue a career in either Law or Medicine. These are two big programs at this university but all other majors in the liberal arts are also at an advantage here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the scholarships and financial aid that this university has to offer you. They really do a great job helping get the best possible financial aid award packages.

    Am enjoying being here

    The small size campus plus the student ratio to professor carries an exceptional advantage for students who need that one on one experience to do well in their classes. St. Mary's University offers that one on one support everywhere on campus. From the classroom to the Learning Assistance Center, students can always find help here.

    Am learning a lot

    The core curriculum here at St. Mary's University focuses on the traditions of the Marianists. As a Biology major with a minor in Psychology, core curriculum courses that focus in the humanities and social sciences are really helping me grasp a well rounded view of the world and not just a focus in medicine.

  • 08/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    St. Mary's is great for students who are looking for a good education in different majors especially biology and business.

    Tips for prospective students

    At St. Mary's University you not only gain a great college experience but you gain a great education as well. For prospective students you should really have your mind set on school before anything else and it will be hard so try to gain study skills while in high school.

    Bang for the buck

    Any college is going to cost money and St. Mary's isn't cheap so apply for a lot of scholarships and grants because if you get loans its not fun to have to pay them back.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at St. Mary's because it is a small campus which is great because you gain one on one time with you professors instead of making appointments like you would at a huge campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a student at St. Mary's and have learned a lot while being here. I am a biology major and have gained a lot of knowledge in biology. I've learned how to study and manage my time between my social life and my school life.

  • 08/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who like to be involved will love this school. We have a lot of opportunities to volunteer for community service around the city of San Antonio. Also, if you like to stand out, this is the school for you. We only have a total of about 3,000 students or less so you get the opportunity to be yourself, and at the same time, do something great that will benefit the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice to anyone who decides to come here is to meet a lot of people, get connected, stay involved, ask questions if you have them and to stay organized. If you need help with any class, do not be afraid to meet with your professors during their office hours because that's what they are here for. If possible, get into study groups with other students so that you can help others and they can help you as well.

    Bang for the buck

    This school costs about $36,000 a year, and while this may seem like a lot of money, I feel that every dollar is worth paying for the wonderful education we get here. Not only that, but St. Mary's offers a lot of financial aid and scholarships to a lot of its students. So most people don't even have to pay for half of their tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since it is such a small school, I have gotten the chance to know a lot of good people since last year. A lot of the students here are very friendly and since the majority of the students are Hispanic, I feel that I can relate to a lot of them. The Greek Life is awesome because not only do its members commit to doing a lot of community service, but they also try to get to know other students and get them involved as well.

    Am learning a lot

    From dedicated and caring professors to helpful classmates and friendly fathers and brothers from the church ministry, this university has helped me to grow a lot as a person, mentally, emotionally and spiritually. Since it is a liberal arts, private and catholic institution, it has a lot of new information to provide for me. One of the strongest majors that it offers is Biology, which is also very challenging. Though, since the student-teacher ratio is about 17 to 1 the professors pay a lot of attention to their students when they need help.

  • 10/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    THis school is great for everyone

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to make sure that this is the school for you. Talk with the professors about your major if you know it.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes the tuition is high but it is worth it because you get a good education where the teachers actually want you to succeed. My teachers have given me their cell numbers that why if I have a question I can call them at home.

    Am enjoying being here

    Even though our school is small you have lots of organizations that you can join and even greek life here. Just being here has taught me leadership skills and how to relax a little

    Am learning a lot

    I learned so much about psychology and what it really means what a college student means. I am required to take some classes that I really dont want to take but I know later that it will help me in the long run because I can question that the choices I make will really help me.

  • 08/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that will be most at home here at St. Mary’s are hard workers, leaders, and those seeking spiritual growth. (You don’t have to be Catholic in order to be included in the latter category; we have all sorts of religious organizations to choose from, including a thriving Islamic society.)

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do intend to come to St. Mary’s, or any college for that matter, always make certain to stay on top of your finances. While you’re at it, it’s also a good idea to stay on top of your grades because academic achievement is always rewarded here on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, the total cost of tuition is pretty scary to look at sometimes, but if you’re willing to overcome that number you’ll find that every dollar is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    One of the best things about being here is that you can feel at home, even though you might find yourself surrounded by people you never expected. In addition, everybody, including the faculty and staff, is highly encouraging and willing to lend a hand when you need it.

    Am learning a lot

    Thanks to the Marianist principles at this school, each student, including double majors like myself, can expect to become well-rounded people both academically and individually. Each class provides a challenge of its own, and it’s always an adventure to make it to the end.

  • 06/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    GREAT FOR ALL TYPES OF STUDENTS! :D From Biology majors to Music majors. From outgoing students to quiet laid back students. No matter who you are or what your goals are, St. Mary's is a wonderful opportunity for all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students, if you plan to attend St. Mary's University I suggest that you get involved as soon as you step on campus. When you get involved you meet people. Like I've mentioned before, it's the people that make it worth while. They are also the people that get you through every hardship and over every speed bump on the journey of discovery. ;) Also, take advantage of every opportunity that knocks on your door. St. Mary's offers plenty of free help, for example, mock interviews, help on resumes, community service, they have job/internship fairs, etc. TAKE ADVANTAGE OF IT ALL!!

    Bang for the buck

    Let me just say. College is definitely NOT cheap! St. Mary's is a bit pricey, but they also offer Financial Aid and scholarships as well as Work-study, which is a convenient job on campus. There is plenty of money out there in the world you can get your hands on, college and St. Mary's University is worth EVERY CENT.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love St. Mary's University. It's truly is my second home, and I rarely go to my hometown anymore. St. Mary's keeps me going and is actively teaching me. Again, it's the people here at St. Mary's that make your experience worth while. This university has so much to do to keep you active and keep your time here enjoyable! St. Mary's has over 82 clubs and 12 NCAA accredited sports teams.

    Academic Rigor

    I can definitely say that I am learning a lot here at St. Mary's University! When I say I am learning a lot I don't only mean in a classroom. At St. Mary's University I've learned to speak out, help out, and go all out. I haven't only grown mentally, but I've also grown spiritually, emotionally, and personally. The people you meet here are experienced in their specified areas and in the area of life, love, and hard work. I've also learned skills that will be very helpful and convenient in the future.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    many residence life activities and campus activities including foam parties and zip linning

    Food and Dining

    buffet style dinning

    Dorm Life

    family settings all over campus

    Academic Rigor

    though classes and great relationships

    Tips for prospective students

    try hard and never give up no matter how hard it get just dig deeper

    In three sentences

    it gave me the best college experience. it is though but worth it. i feel i have grown in knowledge and in life.

  • 01/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great University for anyone who wants to be more than just another face in the class. Your professors will actually know who you are. This campus has people ready to help you succeed and they will do everything possible to help you graduate and be ready for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will not only leave this university with a new experience but also with a great education. The only tip is get ready for college and do everything possible to prepare yourself. Apply for all financial assistance as possible. Trust me you will need all the money you can get.

    Bang for the buck

    This university is not cheap as well as others. If you really have your mind set to come here then apply to all scholarships possible. Eventhough it is expensive it is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. The atmosphere is great and the people and so friendly. The campus is small so it is very easy to make your way around campus. This campus is very family-oriented and people actually know one another here. There is always something to do to make your stay worthwhile.

    Am learning a lot

    This university is great it offers a great education. The classes are small and you actually get to know your professor. The professors here help you with anything you need. Their main goal is to ensure the student's success and they will work with you to make sure you succeed.

  • 09/14/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for the students that want to get a medical or law, or basically anything they want to pursue.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost seems at a good price to go for mostly any body.

    Will enjoy being here

    So far from what i have seen everything looks great, but i want to live off-campus for freshmen year.

    Will learn a lot

    Haven't attended yet but I'm sure i will learn a lot.

  • 11/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Overall i think St Mary's is great for any major. The thing about St. Marys is making sure you know how to manage your time. If you can do that you should be all good.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say to take advantage of Sleeping Bag weekend. That is how many people get the real feel of the school. Don't worry to much about the money. If you can honestly say that you tried in high school, than St MU will help you take care of your financial situation.

    Bang for the buck

    The price here may seem a little scary at first glance, but the scholarship programs here are amazing. I didn't want to stay in town for school, but the amount of money St MU sent my way was undeniable. I'm saying that as a student who didn't do to hot in high school. I guess i can be described as the average B student in high school, but that didn't stop St MU from sending me a great financial aid package. on top of that, in different reviews and magazines, St MU has constantly been ranked among the top best value schools. Your money is best spent here

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy being here. I didn't come here willingly because i didn't want to stay in Town for college, but i came for the money i was offered, and since then my view has completely changed. Every single student, including the athletes, upperclassmen, and even graduate students are so friendly. You can meet so many friends just from going to the basketball courts, to work study, or going to any of the school organized events. I love that i can walk to class, and see at least one smiling face that i know.

    Am learning a lot

    One of my Core class professors put it best on the first day of class, college is not going from the 12Th grade to the 13Th grade, its more like 12Th jumping to 16Th. With that being said, of course the learning and education here is great, but i believe so more than other colleges around. Smaller classes, Professors knowing your name(for the most part), free tutoring sign up, its impossible to not learn something here. With the SMC(St. Marys core) courses, your view on different aspects can change from class to class, due to the knowledge you obtain from each professor. Just showing up to class can almost guarantee learning something new.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a great campus for every major they offer but law students and business students have many things to accomplish and aim for in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as soon as possible, get in contact with one of the counselors they will work with you until everything is ready for transfer or acceptance. Goodluck!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private catholic institution but well worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Of course you can enjoy it after all it's San Antonio, Texas!! Great area for studying but also to take breaks in between studying.

    Am learning a lot

    Here at St Mary's University, there are caring and professional professors. This university is known for the professors and their backgrounds. Top economists, leaders, and alumni make this university a home to any student.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone that loves to feel in a friendly environment, loves a close relationship with their teachers, and loves to make friends, and like any college it comes with hard work and dedication, but the teachers and students make it a nice experience.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun, in school and in San Antonio so be ready to explore!

    Food and Dining

    I personally get tiered of eating the same food over and over again, but the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    If you ever feel lonely there will always be someone there if your a sociable person then your perfect for it, living in dorms is a nice experience that you should try no mater where you go.

    Academic Rigor

    the rigor is based mostly on classification (as a freshman there is many basics) and also on the major (if you picked one you like and are good at then its easy, otherwise then its hard).

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with a positive attitude, ready to learn, and make friends, don't be shy, if you ever need anything there will be some type of help just ask.

    In three sentences

    Its fun, safe, inviting and challenging. Its a wonderful experience but not for everyone. Its a small college, small classes, and very friendly.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are lots of things to do for fun here at st. mary's university. there are lots of clubs and extracurricular programs to do after or between classes. there is also a small cafe, where you can stop and hang our and drink a beverage. the university center is also a good stop to just hang out.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining at st. mary's is pretty good. the have a wide variety of meals to choose from. also, the have a subway and a small cafe on campus. however, at certain times, the dining hall can get crowded, so it's always important to get there early during lunchtime.

    Dorm Life

    i personally am not a dorm student. however, i have heard that the living conditions there are really good. the bad thing about the dorms is that they are so far away from the rest of the school. however being in the dorms, it gets the students to socialize more with other students, and become more involved.

    Academic Rigor

    the students will find at st. mary's university that it is not easy. the professors are quite difficult, and you will have to always stay sharp and pay attention. the grades will not be handed out on a silver platter. the students have to work for the grade they want.

    Tips for prospective students

    my tips for students would be to get involved. st. mary's has so many opportunities for students to know other students and to socialize. also, to be active in their school's community.

    In three sentences

    st. mary's is a beautiful campus. the campus has so much to do, and you will find the teachers very helpful. st. mary's university not only focuses on the students current education, but an education that the student can carry for a long term.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 56

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus, very friendly staff. They are very helpful. They have small classes so there is a more intimate learning environment which I love. Overall, great school.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    University Programming and Counseling help coordinate social and academic events for students on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the riverwalk, six flags fiesta texas, and seaworld.

    In three sentences

    I love St. Mary's University. It has helped me grow a whole lot. I also love the size of the campus and the population.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    St. Mary's is located in San Antonio, TX, a city full of things to do. Not only that but within the St. Mary's community there is plenty of events to attend during the week. From working out, swimming, playing intramurals, to listening to a great speaker or even attending a battle of the bands event. All these are awesome experiences you don't want to miss at St. Mary's. Don't forget to research Baby Bake and Oyster Bake at St. Mary's because they are so fun!

    Food and Dining

    Since St. Mary's is a small private university the dining options can be limited but the food is great. We have options from time to time and that works perfectly. They provide healthy choice foods for those that are very concerned about their health.

    Dorm Life

    I live in Dougherty Hall and I love it. The room is very comfortable and sharing a restroom with only 3 people is such an awesome benefit, I mean compared to community restrooms. Visiting hours seem to work perfectly for the students and almost every one has a smile on their face when you walk in.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here at St. Mary's are small but not too much. I believe they are the perfect size to have the freedom to interact not only with professors but also with classmates. The academic system here runs smoothly since you can have that face to face contact with your professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend St. Mary's because the transition is not as rough as it would be in a public university where you would usually become just a number. The ability to have easy access to many resources is definitely given at St. Mary's.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's University is a great place to join as a community. It is easy to interact and talk with professors. The success in this university is guaranteed.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great safety on campus. you can call the campus security any hour of the day and as a student you can receive text messages alerting you about anything that could potently be dangerous on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of different clubs and activities to get involved in. St. Mary's encourages students to participate in internships as well.

    Food and Dining

    St. Marys offers a meal plan to every student, and they are currently bringing outside venders on campus for the students.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are a great way to get to meet new people and you can be close to your friends all the time.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes seem like they are going to be interesting, but you still neeed to study in order to not fall behind.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get alot for your mone here. The teachers make sure that you get everything yyou possibly can from your classes and the dorm life is pretty good.

    What to do for fun

    For fun my friends and I go to dance halls around San Antonio.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is pretty good, there are not that many options but they are expanding.

    Dorm Life

    I stay in Founders Hall and it is really nice and everyone in the dorm is fun to hang out with.

    Academic Rigor

    As a Biology Major the classes here are very tough, it is alot of work but if you put in the time then you will be ok.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and do not slack off because if you do not do the work early in the semester it will come back to haunt you in the end.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's University is a very good school. It has a great community and the people here are easy to get along with. It has strong academics and the professors are very easy to talk to.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    don't mess with campus police they are very strict

    Greek Life

    very welcoming

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of them

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    some buildings it seems your on the first floor when in reality you on the second.

    What to do for fun

    Gym, indoor pool, dorm events, campus event, intramual sports, cheering for varsity sports are just some of the few things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Foods good you just get tired of the same thing everyday but granted next year there are plans of chik fil a so that is a definite upside.

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life being a social person and having the honor of meeting a lot of new people.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are hard but the prepare you. yes there are some classes that may seem tedious and pointless but its part of the curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Future students get involved as much as possible it helps. Take advantage of talking to upperclassmen everyone here is willing to help and guide you.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's University is a school that offers so many opportunities you can't go wrong. The school has much diversity within its student body you can't help but feel at home. The atmosphere here is wonderful and in my experience its been great.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You are encouraged to get involved in the many clubs and organizations that are provided at the University, as well as the many intramural sports available.

    Food and Dining

    Although I have not eaten there yet, the food services have been praised as well as the restaurants that are located on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The community at St.MU is one in a million. There is no other University that I've been to that encourages and fosters such an active student body.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses here are tough and challenging, however, the education you gain is worth the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly encourage you to consider St.MU because of the foundation it lays for the future. You will be enlightened and inspired to be an active member in your future community and world.

    In three sentences

    Very personal, yet impressive University. Values Education while encouraging students to engage their education in the world. St.MU is a great institution to study the Liberal Arts and provides a solid foundation for Graduate Studies

  • 05/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though the school is in a neighborhood that looks unsafe, our school is gated and when you walk around you really do feel safe. There are police cars going around the school at some times too making sure everything is good.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who rather go to a small school, instead of a huge school like UT, would love it here.

    Food and Dining

    On the weekend there is usually just one thing open (Grill Works) and you get tired of it after a while. Other than that the food at the Home Zone changes everyday and it is delicious most of the time. I just think we need more variety. Good thing they are adding a Chick Fil A and there already is a Subway.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's in the buildings are great, they treat you like a friend and are easy to talk to. Everyone around you is nice and there is rarely anything bad that happens in the dorms. You really do feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers do their best to make sure you have the best education. They also make sure the students do their work and help us with getting the grades we want by encouraging us. The teachers want us to succeed in their class so they make it a priority for us to do the work in their class.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every single day I go to school, I see at least one kind of cop on campus. I haven't felt unsafe since I've been attending St Mary's.

    Greek Life

    Despite it's size, St. Mary's has many sororities and fraternities. Freshman are able to join by their second semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    St. Mary's also offers various clubs and organizations relating to anything from majors to gay and lesbian support groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the person who enjoys the small university setting in a relatively big city. If you the type who learns best in small, intimate class rooms, St. Mary's definitely offers that.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, San Antonio kicks off Fiesta Week with the Oyster Bake that is held by St. Mary''s. Huge country and rock artists perform, there's plenty of beer for everyone over 21, and you got it: lots and lots of oysters. Ticket are usually sold at around $20 and proceeds go to scholarships to help incoming freshman and students who qualify.

    Bang for the buck

    St. Mary's University is a small, catholic campus. Because of the size of the school and intimacy found in class rooms, the tuition prices are relatively high. If you can afford it, this school is definitely worth attending.

    What to do for fun

    It seemed every day I stayed on campus late, the University was still thriving. The cafeteria was always filled with students just hanging out. I also noticed that on those late days, students were out in the courtyard singing karaoke or practicing for a play. It was interesting to watch and made me want to be involved more.

    Food and Dining

    I've only eaten from the cafe once. I ate chicken strips, which were good. I focused on eating at the Subway on campus, since its much more healthier. Good food is served there, however the employees are always so rude. Good news is they are adding a Chick-fil-a in the cafe, so maybe I'l end up eating there more often.

    Dorm Life

    I can't quite comment on dorm life since I'm a commuter. However, A few of the halls are newer and of better quality and I have yet to hear a complaint from any of my residence friends.

    Academic Rigor

    As I mentioned before, I feel that because the school population is small enough, classes are more enjoyable and getting to know your professors is much more simpler.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's University serves as a small but friendly campus. It is quite expensive, but worth the money you pay as professors are always easy to get a hold of. If your looking for a pleasant education experience and bonding with professors, this is the campus for you.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Riverwalk, movies, mall hanging out with your friends

    Food and Dining

    It gets boring after a while but the cafe is changing this summer so I don't know what it will be like next semester

    Dorm Life

    Willing to work with you if you have trouble with your roommate. Very clean

    Academic Rigor

    This place will make you a better person. You have to study for the tests to do good

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and make friends as soon as possible

    In three sentences

    It is a place where you can be yourself. This school is very open.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are on site 24 hours a day, with a gated campus. Cops are not just university police, but SAPD. Very protected, makes you feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    A few fraternities and sororities, but not too many known outside of the school. But still a good way to meet friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many NCAA d2 teams, clubs and organizations, really something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who know what they want to do post graduation, who can handle living in a city growing at a rapid pace.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, oyster bake takes over campus. A 2 day carnival/concert series that allows over 20000 people to enter campus for a weekend of non stop chicken on a stick, country concerts, and Carnival rides and games.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very generous in giving out scholarships, and the level of education really meets the price you pay to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Go downtown on the riverwalk in San Antonio, attend athletic events. There are a lot of things to do, San Antonio is a huge city with a small town feel.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is good for three weeks, but then gets old, as i am sure happens at any college. Subway, chick fil a, and starbucks recently opened though.

    Dorm Life

    Fantastic living arrangements, especially for incoming freshmen. Apartment styled dorms for upper class men, very accessible and easy to get to class from.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes require quite a lot of time, especially since many are service based, requiring certain numbers of community service.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick the brains of the on campus Marianist Brothers, they live on campus all their lives and have a lot of valuable knowledge about what goes on, on campus. Also make sure you make time to balance school and social life, college is a big change.

    In three sentences

    A great student teacher relationship, in all subjects. The school allows for exploration into fields of study and professions, all with a Catholic background. Despite the religious affiliation, do not force religion upon you.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    St. Mary's is very expensive. They literally take your wallet and bank account.

    What to do for fun

    There is the student lounge in each building, the gymnasium, and multiple nights where clubs offer entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is okay. The dining hall had a Food Court feel to it. The dining hall will soon be changed to a buffet style feel.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter student. I have heard that dorm life depends on where you are housed.

    Academic Rigor

    St. Mary's has a vast range of academic rigor. It has easy classes and extremely hard classes. Either way attendance is key to passing each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the opportunities that are present.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's is a small university with a great student to teacher ratio. This university is great with the community. Opportunities are available to be taken advantage of.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Inside the gates of this school, I feel safe. I wouldn't walk around in the middle of the night by myself, but I know nothing will happen to me if I stay within the school boundaries.

    Greek Life

    I am not Greek, but I love how St. Mary's doesn't have sorority and fraternity houses. They choose not to because they don't believe in hazing and segregation.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club and activities for everybody.

    Great for these types of students

    St. Mary's is great for students who are used to a small school environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, St. Mary's hosts Oyster Bake. It is a public festival that kicks off Fiesta week in San Antonio. There is carnival rides, lots of food, live music from famous bands, etc.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can go to the events that St. Mary's has. Several times a year, there is a shuttle bus that takes students to the San Marcos Outlets, to the Spurs' games, excursion trips, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    A good tip would be to attend all the free events that St. Mary's offers. You will always meet new people and make great friends. Something I strongly recommend is joining Continuing the Heritage. Every semester a large group of students get together to participate in a number of community service events in our own community. For example, one group builds a house for a family. Another, paints a classroom, etc.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's has a very friendly environment. At all times of the day I feel safe and welcome. You are never bored because there is always something to do, and there is always free food!

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are serious about been educated while st the same time helping out the community, this is a place for you.

    In three sentences

    A small campus. A great sense of community. Helpful professors.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It looks like a great value for the individual attention.

    Food and Dining

    So far, the cafeteria is delicious! This coming fall there will be a Chick Fil A, and Starbucks, so even better!

    Dorm Life

    So far, it seems well thought out. I have been assigned to Founders Hall! :)

    Academic Rigor

    It seems tough so far, but professor look like they are willing to help!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to many, MANY scholarships as you can! This school isn't that cheap compared to public, so be worry free and apply to scholarships!

    In three sentences

    It is a great university so far. I will be a future student and have visited the campus, and let me just say, WOW. The dedication of professor and staff is simply outstanding!

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are the best. They can help you jump start your car and keep students safe in the dorms. The campus police are on bikes and in cars on campus. They patrol 24/7 and its very comforting!

    Greek Life

    Yes Greek life is on campus, but not all are party style. Academic honor societies are cheap and well worth applying to get the scholarships!

    Clubs and Activities

    TONS!

    Great for these types of students

    All students adult and younger. Military are very welcome! If you are close to your family and are not comfortable leaving home, this is the place for you. Everyone watches out for each other.

    What to do for fun

    The campus offers trips and river tubing really cheap. Concerts and rodeo are offers discounted including a bus to take you back and forth. Oyster Bake is on campus so you have entertainment right at your door step.

    Food and Dining

    New Starbucks and new restaurants are being built!

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is the best! Small, home away from home, and adult students..including military are always welcome. It is one of my favorite places to be and where I am accepted the most.

    Tips for prospective students

    The cost will surprise you, but in house scholarships are plentiful. The grants and scholarships are developed not just with grades, but dedication to your chosen career and your volunteerism. I would be very comfortable sending my children to this university, knowing the core values and care to personal assistance.

    In three sentences

    The professionalism gain and leadership that will be accomplished, is unlike any other college in Texas. The close family ties are never limited to just new friendships, they extend to the professors and Brothers who give us all their efforts. The success is limitless and being an alumni is a well earned honor that never dies.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    UPD is always there

    Greek Life

    Amazing

    Great for these types of students

    For people that are from small towns

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every friday the greeks throw a get together in the quad.!!!

    Bang for the buck

    the campus book store is great.

    What to do for fun

    There is something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    We are getting a new Cafe

    Dorm Life

    great staff

    Academic Rigor

    Hard but achievable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Sleeping bag weekend. Be ready to make great friends with professors and classmates.

    In three sentences

    The best place to really get to know your teachers and classmates. Is a beautiful campus that is small and cozy. Is the best school on Earth!

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus, but it's not like that for everyone. The outside community is kind of ghetto and somewhat unfriendly. We have car break ins because of that. Other than that, there's never been an incident where a students been placed in harms way because of the outside community and our campus police are quite diligent.

    Greek Life

    Most people really seem to enjoy Greek life. They have a lot of fun, and they are really close knit. I'm not involved with that myself, but count on it being a great experience if you're interested in that kind of thing.

    Clubs and Activities

    This is the money maker because you don't have a lot of competition if you're looking to get involved or if you're looking to start up a club.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for the low income motivated students who could not afford to pay for OMG school. It's also great for students that want to be involved with their community. College is what you make of it though, and the community is nice enough to accept all types of people (even atheists-I know, I'm an atheist at a Catholic school).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We now have a Starbucks; I'm sure that will bet a hotspot next year and we also have a Chic-Fil-A (an addition after Aramark changed the meal plans). The university center has a nice lounge. Many people study in the library because it's a ghost town. Outside subway people hang out at the amphitheater. Pecan Grove is nice if you want some scenery alongside some quiet to study. A fun spot to chill is in Chaminade hall (the 21 and older dorm hall) as a freshman if you can get in because it's neat-especially the balconies (you can see the whole school from there). Just avoid the smokers.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not overpriced, although the cost is increasing. As long as you keep up the good work and don't focus entirely on getting a degree (and more on learning and taking advantage of extra opportunities) you won't be disappointed.

    What to do for fun

    Throughout the year, the different student associations organize tons of activities for the students to take part in that are sometimes pretty fun. These organizations, such as Student Programming council, black students union, and student government among others, bring some flavor. Other than that, it gets kind of boring without a car. So plan on clubbing or being a mall rat on the weekends. There are also quite a few service opportunities. In short, there's enough to keep you busy-but you have to look for it sometimes. Don't fall into the dorm is my sanctuary trap. Get out there and do something!

    Food and Dining

    I haven't been particularly thrilled with the dining service. In fact, I might have rated this a two, had I been able to tell you more about it because they totally revamped it last semester and it is effective Fall 2012. Basically, it's changed from a gift card that buys all of your meals until you run out to an overpriced all you can eat ordeal that does not limit how much you eat or what you eat. The downfall to this is that you're forced to pay for your meal plan, and eating off campus won't get you your money back because it's paid for at the beginning of the semester. As for the food, it's also changing, but last semester it got old really fast. Most people ate at Grill works (basically a cheap fast food place) 3 times a day, 7 days a week. Yeah, gross.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman year, you'll have an absolute blast. Don't be fooled, universities are also businesses to some extent. This is their way of pulling you in. You have the best dorm halls and access to fun activities and a lot of leniency. But after that, most of the dorms kind of suck. For the moment, many students that aren't freshman are being forced to triple up (have 2 roommates) in rooms that are meant for 2 people. This is because the university is growing. While growth for the university is good, the newspaper put it the best: we're experiencing growing pains. You might have this problem when you get here. Expect it.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are pretty easy, for me at least. The classes will challenge you some of the time, bore you some of the time, and rest somewhere in between most of the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in extracurricular activities-the Rattler Newspaper is a good one to start with if you're a decent writer, artists, or photographer. Others include student government, fraternities, sororities, the black students union, and ethics bowl. If you have good grades in high school, decent writing capabilities, and some drive, apply for the Bill Greehey Honors College; the work load isn't much different, but the points on future resumes or college applications are invaluable. Don't slack off. Grades aren't everything, but they are more important in college than they are in hs. You're supposed to be mature, even if you don't always act like it. If you have trouble with financial aid, talk to the director Dave Krause directly, he is infinitely amicable and equally generous as long as you prove that you deserve the aid. Keep on good terms with the teachers, make an effort to get to know some of them and they will do the same for you. This is important for future job opportunities, friends, or just a break when you forget to print out that essay (cough* write).

    In three sentences

    A great small school, especially for lower income students or students whose parents have no intention of paying for school. You'll have fun if you're a party kid, and have no trouble avoiding parties if not. Most professors are very easy to approach, especially in the humanities department (Less true in the math and science department).

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I am currently in Kappa Sigma. The Greek Life at St. Mary's University is looked at something good and it is very nice.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym. Rock climbing. Sports. Many places are close to St. Mary's University.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a challenge and you are ready to study at one of the top universities in Texas, then enroll here.

    In three sentences

    A great school. Well-oriented school. Academically a great school.

  • 09/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus police 24/7 roaming the school so everyone feels safe here. There are no worries by the students.

    Greek Life

    The greek life here is big and you can join the many greek life clubs we have here. Its a very fun school to be on.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of clubs and activities you can join. It's just up to you what you can join.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who love school first of all. Then students who are outgoing and like to get involved in school events.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tradition every year called Continue The Heritage. It is where anyone can sign up to complete a volunteer serivce for 4 hours on a certain day. Its very fun and you get to know other and people around the community.

    What to do for fun

    You can lots of things for fun. You can go rock climbing here at school or play basketball indoors or intramural sports. Like me i play dodge ball for intramurals and its awesome. You can go work out also or even go swimming!

    Food and Dining

    St. Mary's University just added a new cafe this year and its awesome. They have great food and serve breakfast, lunch. and dinner. They have a five day meal plan or a seven day meal plan so you can choose what you want.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is awesome. You meet new people and make new friends everyday. These other students will also help you with homework because everyone is skilled in different subjects.

    Academic Rigor

    These professors are cool and awesome. They will help with you anything you need. They have office hours which you can go visit any time during that time to ask for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships and make good grades. Check out the school before you come here because maybe this school is for you or not.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's University is a five star university for my rating. Not only is the faculty and stuff fun and cool but they help you with everything you need when you need it. Especially living on campus and getting to know your class is even better, you get the full college experience and it pays off, the student resident life is awesome also.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    34 of 56

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I am currently looking at this school as one of my top 5 picks. I love every aspect of it and it seems like a challenging school that is still fun and a place you will always remember. I'm planning on visiting soon! I can't wait to see the campus for real though :)

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always on watch!

    Greek Life

    Definitely go greek! It's the best way to meet new people and make networking easier!

    Clubs and Activities

    Go Greek!

    Great for these types of students

    Go Greek!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Greek life is the best! Everyone should go greek!

    Bang for the buck

    St. Mary's is definitely on the pricey side, but in the end, it's all worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Go greek!

    Food and Dining

    The food can get some getting used to!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what makes your college experience!

    Academic Rigor

    It can be hard, but in the end, it's all worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    St. Mary's is definitely the school for you if you would like to form a new family.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's University is a close-knit family. It is a friendly environment and everyone is always willing to help one another achieve thier goals.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus and buildings are very old and carry a history unlike any other school's. There are uncountable amount of traditions available, and daily mass is always available to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Every weekend there is an activity on campus that can be attended. The activities either help to go on your resume, or are simply for fun and don't interfere with classes! Downtown San Antonio is only a few minutes away and there is always something to do at a tourist oriented city like this one. Money may be a problem, but always remember that to have fun you just need friends and walking out of the residence hall is a new adventure. There are dull moments if you don't look for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The university has a Starbucks, a Chick-Fil-A, a Subway, and it's own grocery store! Apart from all the junk food, it also has a buffet life cafeteria that provides healthy meals. The buffet tries to please every one's likes, but if you don't like something, then simply head to a different station and find something that you love. There is bound to be something out of all the food choice that they have.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is the best way to feel at home other than living at home. The hall directors and residence directors help with any problem presented and will do the very best to make you feel at home. There are on going activities through out the year that help you socialize and make more friends. Life at the residence halls is very safe and will do anything to keep the residence safe. St. Mary's does not have dorms because a dorm isn't a home, but a residence hall is your home away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    Due to the university bring private, the student to teacher ratio is very small, which allows for a more personal learning environment. The classes are in detail and truly apply to what your major is. Almost every school on the campus has a high accreditation and will attract employers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early for that FAFSA and try to get as many grants as possible even though St. Mary's will do everything to help one pay off tuition. Do plenty of community service to help you get started on a resume. Even though college may seem far away, study and try on AP tests and SAT and ACT.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's is a very small, conservative private campus, but the amount of fun, education, and financial opportunities are no less than a public university. The residents, staff, and professors are caring and helpful, in every way possible. There isn't a better campus for a freshman.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    St. Mary's University has its owned hired police department on campus which tremendously increases the safety of the university.

    What to do for fun

    There is always great activities hosted by many organizations on campus such as baketoberfest and oyster bake.

    Food and Dining

    The Rattler cafe has plenty of food variety and the best part is that it is a buffet with plenty of healthy food to fill your needs.

    Dorm Life

    Student dorms are not crowded and have plenty of space. If possible make sure to stay at Founder's Hall since it is brand new.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers will know your name and expect the best out of you while pushing you to improve to their level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for all available help from the financial assistance staff because they can get you outstanding financial aid.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's University has a outstanding financial assistance and incredible help. St. Mary's University has a excellent teacher to student ratio with a 13 to 1 ratio. St. Mary's University is a well known college and helps students be connected to their communities.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    San Antonio is a big city and has alot to do for fun. There are many famous restaurants and landmarks. Fiesta Texas and Sea world are great places to visit.

    Food and Dining

    The style of dining is now a buffet but I believe it needed more options. The food is good but not exceptional. They also have Starbucks, Chik-fil-a and Subway, which are really delicious.

    Dorm Life

    It is an old campus and the only really nice dorms are the one freshman dorm and the one upperclassman dorm that usually seniors get into. They are cozy and you get close to those who live next to you but they are not the best living arrangements.

    Academic Rigor

    You are thrown into your major but you are very well prepared in whatever you choose to do after you graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take advantage of the opportunities they give you for your academics. There are many resources you can use if you are struggling.

    In three sentences

    The school is small and a close net community. You get the best education. The teachers and staff truly care for you as an individual.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't let the neighborhood mislead you, campus police work hard to ensure that we are safe 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a huge part of St. Mary's. The chapters on campus are not the stereotypical fraternities/ sororities. Being a part of Greek life promotes personal growth and helps you become the best person you can be while gaining meaningful friendships for life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oyster Bake is a celebration on campus every year that starts off Fiesta Week in San Antonio. Thousands of people come to enjoy food, games, rides, and concerts on 5 stages around campus. Last year, I got to see Smash Mouth perform.

    What to do for fun

    Life on campus is very active and fun. There are always events to attend as well as plenty of organizations to get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is newly remodeled and the the food quality is ever improving.

    Dorm Life

    I have met the most amazing people since my freshman year. Living on campus means gaining a new family.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are definitely a challenge, but it is very achievable to succeed here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to apply early and visit the campus. Do not hesitate because of the expensive tuition, St. Mary's awards generous scholarships to most of its' students! Once you experience the truly caring atmosphere on campus, you will know that St. Mary's is where you belong.

    In three sentences

    Quite simply, coming to St. Mary's has the been the best thing that has ever happened to me. My entire perspective of the world has dramatically changed and my eyes have been opened to so many opportunities that I never before imagined. Everyone one campus, including the students, professors, even the Starbucks employees, cares about you and supports you in succeeding!

  • 11/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, there are not just rent-a-cops on campus we have actual San Antonio Police officers on duty at all times, on foot, bikes, golf carts and cars.

    Greek Life

    Very community oriented, seem very nice. I plan on rushing next semester. :D inviting to anyone who wants to join, get to know you for who you are, make an effort in this as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek Life, Residence Hall Associates, Dreamers, President's Peace Commission, Marianist Leadership Program, Rattler Madness, Sports (except football), cheer, dance.

    Great for these types of students

    Small community, like community service, caring, looking to better the world, interested in learning

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Oyster Bake, haven't experienced it for myself but I hear it is super fun and about 70,000 people come one campus for the event. Also known as the kick off for Fiesta (Tex-Mex San Antonio Tradition) in San Antonio.

    Bang for the buck

    definitely, it is pricey but financial aid and shcolarships are great. They are always trying to help you!

    What to do for fun

    Six Flags, Sea World, shopping, movies, Greek Life (friday at the quad), community service, many activities and swimming in the indoor or outdoor pool! (:

    Food and Dining

    Not always the best, but on most cases it is, pasta is amazing as well as omelettes and waffles in the morning.

    Dorm Life

    Very fun, hard to live away from home. Teaches you responsibility, academically, socially and with who you are. The RA's are awesome!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Good always try to stay on task, learning on your own is key sometimes instructors can't cover as much in class tutoring is a great advantage.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for many scholarships, prepare for sleepless nights, do not get an 8 am class.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes work great for me. Your instructors are always trying to help you out. The school has great community involvement.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always more than enough cops around campus and respond quickly to any calls.

    Greek Life

    personally not my point of interest.

    Clubs and Activities

    All kinds of societies that always have something going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Any kind of student, but if you're very devoted to the catholic religion and love to always feel like you're walking in faith, this is your university.

    What to do for fun

    Volunteer with different societies around campus, go to the river walk, Cowboys dance hall, simply enjoying San Antonio

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter how hard classes get, never give up - because whether you know it or not, professors look up to you.

    In three sentences

    One of the greatest at home feelings I have ever encountered away from home. Professors go above and beyond to help a student out. Simply perfect.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of cool hole in the wall places in San Antonio, as a local resident and you will sure find where the party is at.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the scholarship at the school and make sure you have a good SAT score. Also this school is very small, if you like a small school setting go for it, if not look for somewhere bigger.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's is a very strong community based school and has many local service opportunities. The small class room settings and the availability of the teachers outside of the class is great. The connections to graduate school and professional schools is amazing.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always walking, riding in their cars or on their bikes around campus. There's emergency phones scattered around campus. They also hold self defense classes for anyone who's interested. I always feel safe.

    Greek Life

    I know there is one on campus but I don't know too much about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's something for everyone. I'm doing drama, music and opera.

    Great for these types of students

    It's for anyone and everyone!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We're a catholic university, although any faith can attend, so our catholic holiday traditions are always present. For example a beautiful nativity scene is set up in the front of the school. My catholic traditions are well expressed and I'm honored to be here because of that.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive university but the caliber of teachers is extensive and well worth it. This is a prestigious school as well. Everyone knows and respects this university.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can join different clubs on campus, you can work out in the gym, you can go swimming or rock climbing. There's an indoor track so instead of walking outdoors if it's late or hot/cold you can walk inside and be comfortable. There's sports teams as well. When the weather warms up there's outdoor activities such as cookouts or pep rallies. It's never a dull moment out here.

    Food and Dining

    Our cafe is great. There's a lot of variety of foods and they're open early and stay open late. The ladies are friendly and always helpful. We also have private business restaurants on campus such as Starbucks, Subway and Chick fil a. I eat well at school.

    Dorm Life

    I love my room, my roommate is awesome! My little private island! And when I'm not needing to be in my room there is always something going on in the different lounges in my residence hall. There's tv's, video games, pool tables, sofas and tables and chairs in case you hold a study group. The RA's (residence hall advisers) are always around should you need anything! It's just one of my favorite parts of being in college.

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging. Depending on how many classes/hours your taking your daily schedule can be intense. Especially if your also doing work study. I wouldn't have it any other way though. I need to stay challenged or else I get bored.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your attending this university you might want to invest in a bike. The dorms are on one section of campus and the rest of the buildings are on the other. So there's plenty of walking involved. Be ready to work hard as the teachers are awesome and highly qualified. This isn't high school.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's University is a beautiful campus. Plenty of things to do outside of classes. Extracurricular activities abound in this campus.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    44 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not yet to see what type of food and dining is here.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are beautiful, i researched them, you feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are amazing, the student to teacher ration is low. So, you will be getting the education you paid for.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a prospective student, and this school is one of my top choices.

    In three sentences

    This school has amazing Medical and Law programs. If you want to go into either of these, choose this school.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    having our own campus police and the university fenced in, it does provide that sense of security

    Greek Life

    they have a huge greek life with tons of different organizations. the key is to find the right one for you

    Clubs and Activities

    tons and i mean tons of different clubs and activities to get involved in. i was overall very impressed

    Great for these types of students

    looking for the great education but also to have fun

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there really isn't anything unusual on campus

    Bang for the buck

    yes the cost of attendance is high but with the education you get, it is worth is

    What to do for fun

    they often hold several activities for students throughout the semester as well as different programs to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food isn't all that hot and you can only eat subway and chikfila so many times

    Dorm Life

    I currently reside in the Marian Hall, everyone knows everyone, you will soon feel part of the 'family'

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on which professors you decide to take you can be really challenge which will greatly benefit in the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for the small school with great education opportunities to call home, this is the school for you

    In three sentences

    As a current student of St. Mary's I would say overall I enjoy it here. The smaller campus size allow more interaction with professors and better education. Everyone here is very warm and welcoming.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    46 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Over privileged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a strong advisor.

    In three sentences

    Not worth the price.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police is constantly patrolling the campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties off campus, events almost every weekend on campus. There is the gym that has intramural sports during the week.

    Food and Dining

    There is Starbucks, chick fil a, and a subway. Then there is a little convenience store and the Cafe. the cafe food is ok but they are working on it since it is new.

    Dorm Life

    There are so many things to do in the dorm and on campus it's nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The course work is challenging but doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's is a wonderful place where the attention of the professors is on the student. People who work there are always trying to help you. It is fun as well as a personalized environment.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of Sororities available, so you will never be bored! There also dance classes and sports. There are always events at night, but you can also go to the gym, or even to the pool.

    Food and Dining

    Their Cafe is great! The food is new almost every day and the staff is very polite. Their is different places you can out besides the Cafe though. There Chick- fil -A, and Subway, or there is also a small convenience store. All these locations are on campus, so if you're hungry, there is no need to leave campus, especially if you are not very familiar with San Antonio.

    Dorm Life

    I myself do not live in the dorms, but if I could, I would. It is more pricey to live the dorm life, but I have been in the dorms, and they are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Well, as mentioned before, it is a private University so the classes are pretty small, which is great! But, they, I mean, your professors and advisers are on top of you the entire time! I suppose this is a good thing, but with all the things you may already have going on, you still have to deal with them, so it kind of adds to the pile. Also, community service is a must, especially for Biology majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a private University, so it is quite expensive, so if you are planning to go there, find out about Financial Aid and go to their Financial Aid Office right across the street to ask if they have any scholarships. And, if you have to, apply for loans,but leave them as your last option.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's University is great. If you are an in coming freshman, they are even nicer to you! And the professors will work with you every single time you need help, literally.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe campus. The headliner on the school paper involving campus security was that a hair-straightener that was left on for too long set off the fire alarm, enough said.

    What to do for fun

    I like to get out of the campus and see what new things San Antonio has to offer. I hear the Greek houses and student life throw some cool parties, though.

    Food and Dining

    After a while, the cafeteria food starts getting boring and trite. They also have a tendency to burn the pizza.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is really nice and friendly, they also leave you alone if you are a hermit-type.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty tough, especially if your major is related to any type of science.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly and patient, everyone there is there to try and help you. Take advantage of all the free skill-building classes, they may come in handy. Also, be happy that it such a small campus because it means that your adviser will actually get to know you and do the best he/she can to get you ahead of the game, so don't complain.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school...if you're majoring in science. It's a liberal arts college with little emphasis on the actual arts. If they changed this and had a more balanced curriculum, it would be an amazing school.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's safe enough for a private school in a sketchy neighborhood, but always lock your dorm doors and your car doors. I've had people whose rooms got broken into and a friend whose truck got stolen off campus. And don't walk alone at night. Some places aren't very well lit and can scare you at times.

    Greek Life

    We have sororities and fraternities on campus, but no Greek houses on campus. Sigma Beta Chi has a house that the boys rent out every semester, but that's about it. At times, it's easy to tell who is in Greek life and who is not. We have Greek Week in October and the fraternities and sororities have fundraisers during the week and during quad on Fridays.

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics. We have clubs for majors that are fun at times and throw nice fundraisers. We also have Greek life.

    Bang for the buck

    Kinda sorta. They raise tuition every year and attach all these unnecessary fees to your tuition so you end up paying more. If you're still on insurance with your parents and it can cover visits to the student health clinic, waive the insurance. It's $514 you'll save your parents. Waive anything you can, and it might be a good idea to close out your bookstore account and use that money to rent them on Chegg. But getting a degree from there is actually pretty prestigious.

    What to do for fun

    Our volleyball and baseball teams are really good. When there aren't any athletic activities going on, everyone usually leaves campus and does their own thing. I advise you bring a car with you or know someone that has one. You will mostly see a lot of students at Cowboys or Midnight Rodeo on Wednesday nights.

    Food and Dining

    Food sucks. Play it safe and either make your own or get Subway or Chick-fil-A. I've gotten food poisoning twice from there from the same thing even after I complained.

    Dorm Life

    Founders Hall is the best out of all the dorms for freshman. It's a decent walk to campus, really close to the gym (I think they did that on purpose), and it is a really nice dorm room. The Outback is fairly decent, but you tend to get tripled in there unless your GPA is really good and they just give you one roommate. Once you're an upperclassman (junior or senior), try for Leies. It's extremely hard to get into unless you have a good GPA and/or are a senior, but it's so nice. You have your own room with a common room and bathroom you share with your suitemates. Chaminade is for 21+, so seniors and graduate students. Try your hardest to get a room there by yourself. You share a bathroom with two suite mates, and the room is so small if you have a roommate that you're at times forced to bunk your bed (like I have to do this year).

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major and the teachers you select, your classes can either be a walk in the park or a nightmare. All of mine with the exception of a few have been really good. It never hurts to ask for extra credit or opportunities to raise your grade, unless the teacher specifies in the syllabus or on the first day to not bother with it. As your classes get more advanced, some become easier and some become a lot harder and make you wonder why you chose to be a biochemistry major in the first place.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your FAFSA before the priority deadline! They tend to screw you out of really good grants if you turn it in late (take it from me, I've had personal experience in that department). There are only a few people on campus who will sincerely try to help you should you run into a problem with anything. Wear comfortable shoes every day, it's quite a trek from the dorms to the classrooms, especially in this heat. And do not be stupid and bring in paraphernalia or drugs or anything they say you aren't supposed to have. We do routine fire drills so hall directors and police can search your rooms.

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's is interesting, to say the least. If you're a student who still wants to feel like they're not making the fast transition from high school to college and still want that high school feeling, St. Mary's is the place for you. Campus is small and, like high school, you won't wait to get out of there fast enough.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. St. Mary's has campus police constantly patrolling and other good security measures. It doesn't matter that it is not in the fanciest of neighborhoods because once you step on campus it feels like you entered a different world.

    Greek Life

    If you are interested in Greek life then St. Mary's has a fraternity or sorority that fits your interests. Every Friday all the Greek life clubs hangout in the Quad and show their letters off.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for anyone. There are clubs for almost every major, ethnic group, or sexual orientation. They also have music groups, Harry Potter, Anime clubs, and service organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is perfect for anybody and I'm not just saying that. It is for the future college sports star, business major, or future law/med/engineering student, science major. It is for shy or outgoing people. Someone looking for freedom or someone looking for a home. Someone who is interested in Greek life or someone interested in community service. It is for the Catholic or the Atheist, the LGBT or the straight. St. Mary's is a diverse campus that can fit anyone's needs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our biggest even by far is Oyster Bake during San Antonio's Fiesta week. Over 70,000 people attend and there is tons of food, games, and drinks. The profits go towards scholarships and the advancement of the school. We also have other community events such as Boo Bash which is a community Halloween party.

    Bang for the buck

    I can honestly say that St. Mary's is worth every dollar! The price tag may seem big, but the University does an amazing job with financial aid. I'm an above average middle-class student and St. Mary's is taking care of 75% of my cost of attendance. Besides that, St. Mary's has everything you could ever need and it is all covered by tuition. They have a free gym with racquetball, basketball, dance studio and more, a fully equipped work out room, free tutoring, free laundry room, free projector, computer, camera, movie rentals, free sporting events, and if you decide to travel then that is covered by your tuition as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are events on campus everyday. From church, guest speakers, dances, dance lessons, fitness classes, there is always something to do so it's impossible to be bored.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good for cafeteria food, but most people don't eat there. There is also a Subway, Chick-Fil-A, and Starbucks on campus. If you don't want to eat on campus then there are plenty of places just down the street that can satisfy anybody's craving.

    Dorm Life

    The new Founder's Hall is a beautiful new dorm hall with a ton of amenities such as pool and ping pong tables, oven with rentable baking supplies, study lounges on every floor with whiteboards, flat screen viewing areas on each floor and a free laundry room. The other dorms are older, but they still have the same amenities. There is family atmosphere with people hanging out inside others dorms and there is never a dull moment. Even during quiet hours.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging, but that des not matter because you can talk to professors anytime during their office hours, outside of class, video chatting, or through email. And if you are too scared or don't want to ask the professor, then St. Mary's offering free tutoring with students that already taken the class from 8 am to 9 pm. And if that still isn't enough, each resident hall has tutoring sessions every week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you connect with professors, take advantage of the all day free tutoring, eat. and most importantly sleep!

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful and welcoming University. It is a diverse campus with people from the far reaches of the world. Professors go out of their way to help you anytime of the day and its religious backing allows for personal growth and exploration of yourself.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have Chick-Fil-A Subway, Starbucks, and the Caf!

    Dorm Life

    A lot of activities!!! Hey have separate residences for Freshman!!

    Academic Rigor

    It isnt so rigorous but it depends on your professors. Also, your professors are always willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved in service activities, campus activities, etc Dont be shy!! Ask questions Explore new opportunities Smile!!

    In three sentences

    This is my freshman year, and its been awesome!! There are a lot of campus activities, the professors are really nice, classes are small(no bigger than 25 people per classroom), and the campus is wonderful!!.

  • 11/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    St. Mary's is constantly organizing events like rattler madness or shuttles to take students out into san antonio. there is always something to do in StMU.

    Food and Dining

    Not really to fond of the food.

    Dorm Life

    Currently a freshman living in Founder's Hall. The rooms are very spacious and the hall directors are constantly organizing events to get all the students involved.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a Forensic Chemistry major and the course work is very vigorous but the professors are amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    This university really is amazing. Current students offer new students so much help.

    In three sentences

    Amazing university. I always feel at home. Very close-knitt community.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Extra-curricular activities are the way to go.

    Food and Dining

    Sometimes the food can get boring and there is not great options for outside food unfortunately.

    Dorm Life

    The hall directors are friendly and the RAs are helpful as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging, but they can be done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you apply to as many scholarships as you can. College is expensive.

    In three sentences

    It is a very unique university, it has a great number of students from different countries. When a student needs help in something, there is always someone there to help in any way possible. I do not regret coming to this university at all.

  • 02/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    intramural sports, I join the chapel choir, I go out with friends, and I swim in one of the two pools on campus

    Food and Dining

    If you are looking for the healthy choice then I recommend checking the labels

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you live you can get aggravated by some people

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus, do the work, and find the balance for social life and school life

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's has some amazing teachers that will challenge you mind. It is very easy to find a study group in you class and in your major. The most of the staff will help you as much as they came so you do not have to leave.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are a number of places to eat at St. Mary's. Of course there is a Starbucks in the library for the late night study sessions. There is also a school store with various every day necessities and cheaper snacks and coffee for those on a college student budget. There is also the campus Cafe, which offers a reasonably priced and tasting buffet as well! The campus Cafe has so many different types of food to choose from. Nearby the campus are so many more restaurants to choose from as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a reasonable size for a college student. The halls are always offering fun ways to meet and stay in touch with the other students in the dorms nearby. Each hall also has a different theme that you can choose from that matches your personality best!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at St. Mary's are great. They do not keep classes boring; classes are kept interesting with various challenges. Although the work load can be tough at times, the professors are all very willing to help and offer flexible office hours if help is needed outside class. The best part is, you can actually build a relationship with your teacher; you're not just a number!

    In three sentences

    St. Mary's University is a great school that holds values of a close knit community and family to high standard and that is evident in any classroom with its student to teacher ratio; you're not just a number at St. Mary's! Along with comfort, St. Mary's is all about academics and the aura of competition is definitely around to keep you motivated. St. Mary's is also devoted to helping you get to where ever you need to be; there are so many people who are dedicated to keeping you on the right track for your career choice.