Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

St. Norbert College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure. Safe rides are also available to students on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a great range of clubs and activities to become involved in on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On campus we stress communio which is our Norbertine tradition characterized by mutual esteem, trust, sincerity, faith and responsibility.

    What to do for fun

    The residence halls put on events often. Sororities and fraternities host events. There is also a movie theatre and mall somewhat close by. There are not a ton of things to do, but there always seems to be something.

    Food and Dining

    A new cafeteria was just built and the food is fantastic. St Norbert also has a cafe in the library and a small restaurant in the campus center.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kept very clean. Most of them are roomy and some even have sinks in the rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found that their Biomedical program is very rigorous. The workload is manageable if you remain focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small campus with friendly people, St Norbert is a great school for you.

    In three sentences

    The faculty at St Norbert are friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful. The campus is always beautiful. Here at St Norbert we students have a strong sense of community.

  • 01/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those looking for a small school, capable of being close to your teachers and knowing all of your peers. Friendly faces are never hiding, and help is always there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your scholarships and just come to St. Norbert's. :)

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private school so of course it's a little pricey. I don't think I would be able to get by without loans and my other scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I arrived early with a group on campus for freshman. These people have been great friends to me, and we use each other as a support system. Aside from friends, the resources the school has is endless. I went to the writing center for help on an essay, I've gone to T.A.'s, and I feel like I get a chance to know everyone since the school is so small.

    Am learning a lot

    I've only gotten through my first semester at St. Norbert, and I have really enjoyed it. High school scared me into thinking college was a big difference and a lot harder, but they're exactly the same for me; the class sizes are even similar. St. Norbert has really opened me up to different topics that have peaked my interests. Sometimes the workload gets a little hectic, but it never gets out of hand, as long as you stay on track.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They don't do a good job. They don't really need to be great in the small town we are in, but they don't do there job. It is the worst thing about St. Norbert.

    Greek Life

    Greek life on this campus is the antithesis of what is seen in movies. Service activities that promote the college are at the core of each Greek group on campus. Just last year the TKEs organized a very successful run for St. Judes Childrens' Research Hospital. The stereotypical drinking and reckless abandonment is something that isn't attributed to any Greek group.

    Clubs and Activities

    St. Norbert has a club or activity for everyone. There are constant intramural sports going on, and club sports like hockey, la crosse, crew, and water skiing are very popular.

    Great for these types of students

    St. Norbert is great for people who want to experience something that is incredible. If you want a college experience in which you can actually make an impact on the institution, St. Norbert is the place to be. Its great for people who want a big city nearby, but don't want to live in the commotion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming is something that all schools do, but St. Norbert's is especially awesome. With events like Scream Your Theme and Air Bands, the whole school gets excited. There are 2000 students, so it is easy for everyone to get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    With the highest quality of education I saw in my college visitations, this school offers incredible financial assistance that make the 36,000 check look more like 7,000-10,000 a year. It is better than any state of private school I looked at. Obviously, I received my aid based on academic merit and, but St. Norbert tries its hardest to make schooling affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Well, there are many great Sororities and Fraternities on campus. They are not about drinking, but more about growing as a group through respect and communication. These groups are fun and offer many opportunities to be active in the community.

    Food and Dining

    I think St. Norbert has some of the best food out of any school I ever visited. Michels Commons is nearly state of the art, serving great tasting food in different varieties each day for each meal, except for breakfast. But who eats breakfast in college anyway? Haha

    Dorm Life

    Other than not being air-conditioned, the rooms are large enough for two people. I would advise not to live with a long standing friend. Because the dorms are so close to the academic buildings it makes early mornings convenient and possible. There is also very good heat in the winter.

    Academic Rigor

    St. Norbert's general education requirements stress the formation of a solid, rounded individual that is at times difficult but very rewarding. It forces a person to dive deep inside themselves to be successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to work. Your first days of classes will tell your professor a lot about you. Because they care, it is important to make a positive first impression. They won't go easier on you if you do make a positive connection, but you will have much better relations.

    In three sentences

    St. Norbert is a place for scholarship. The professors are very helpful and even kind. St. Norbert does a great job making the student feel like they are more than just a number.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is as safe and secure as any campus in Wisconsin.

    Greek Life

    Its all Greek to me!!!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Always something to do, depending on your interests

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all students would benefit from St Norbert. I am Business major with English minor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college is located on the Fox river, so there is polar plunge and various other traditions associated with the long winter.

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth the money and lots of great scholarships available

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports, musicals, hanging out

    Food and Dining

    Great food and dining plan. I could eat whenever the dining hall was open, as much as I wanted. The variety was also great. they have it all fast food, healthy food and tons of desserts.

    Dorm Life

    One word for dorm life AWESOME

    Academic Rigor

    St Norbert has classes for everyone. You may take a light load or really challenge yourself with the harder classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus. Things are always changing, new buildings and programs. The campus is small, but not to small. The classes are great. One on one with professors is available at all times. Great learning environment, plus St Norbert is accredited worldwide.

    In three sentences

    St Norbert is a great small college which strives to give the best there is to offer. The college itself is an extension of the community so there is a lot of involvement throughout in many ways. The programs the college has to offer also allow the student to work and still finish in 4 years.

  • 10/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive college, but it is private and that ought to be expected. I expect to stay here for the rest of my college career, and hope that even if I have to work 40 hours a week, I'm willing to try.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everybody on campus is very helpful. The faculty and staff enable the students to do well. In many ways, SNC is a kind of an extended family-- there is always somebody you can turn to. In this way, my college experience has been very enjoyable and I do not regret my decision to come to SNC.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are all very helpful and insightful. Though there are some classes I have taken that were not my favorite, I cannot say that I truly dreaded going to any class. I have learned so much since coming here, and believe that when I graduate in 2012, I will truly be ready for a career.

  • 12/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SNC is the place to be for quality learning experince, amazing instructors, community learning and involvement, service, and spiritual growth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you join a campus club or organization. St. Norbert clubs and organizations are great networking tools, and you'll meet so many new people with similar interests.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is quite expensive, but you definitely get a good education out of it. It's worth it to pay a little extra for more individualized attention and experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the campus, it's a beautiful place to be all year round. The atmosphere is very welcoming and students here are very friendly. Small class sizes allow student to connect with professors and meet with them whenever they need to.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a sophomore enrolled in the early childhood education program. The classes I am taking in the education program have given me a lot of opportunities to be in the classroom and gain experience before I gratuate. The general education program offers a wide range of classes to take and gives students the opportunity to gain knowledge in other fields.

  • 01/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone and anyone who wants a good college education with a fun atmosphere!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply!!! St. Norbert's is a great place to spend your college career!

    Bang for the buck

    While it is a great institution, it is hard to pay the expensive tuition. Even with scholarships and financial aid, it still is going to be difficult to pay off loans.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are so many ways to get involved on campus, which means meeting lots of different and interesting people. Everyone is very helpful and willing to help make your experience at St. Norbert memorable.

    Am learning a lot

    I have only completed one semester, but I already learned a lot from general education courses. The professors know their stuff and make it interesting to learn about.

  • 09/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I honestly think St. Norbert College has something for Every student, athletics are enthused, the sciences are well funded, the humanities and social sciences have amazing opportunities, and students interested in the arts have access to theaters and galleries on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    SNC is a liberal college, so coming in undecided is not a bad thing; with all of the general education classes needed, you are sure to find an area of study that will interest you as a major. Take advantage of the close community feel of the school, and all of the academic opportunities SNC has to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    SNC is expensive, but very few people actually pay face value tuition. There are many opportunities for scholarships and grants that take a lot of the financial pressures off of the students and their families. I think this school is worth every penny, though, and would have no problem paying full cost for such a well rounded education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love SNC! It is well maintained and expanding yearly. With challenging programs and opportunities for further research, I am kept on my toes and getting direct experience with what I want to be doing in the future. The professors and faculty are probably the best part of St. Norbert College, though, each one strives to create a relationship with his/her students and learn not just first names but goals and aspirations so that they can assist each of us as students in attaining those goals.

    Am learning a lot

    I could not be happier with my choice to attend St. Norbert College. I am constantly being pushed to my mental capacity as a biology major, and the resources are amazing. I am excited to take part in undergraduate research with some of the bio professors that have projects going on year round. The general education program also has added a rounded depth to my knowledge. The education at SNC is one that can't be matched elsewhere.

  • 11/15/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great school for anyone. yes it might be a private catholic school but their is no pressure

    Bang for the buck

    yes it is expensive but you have so many opportunity's to do so many great things

    Will enjoy being here

    the campus felt like one big family

    Will learn a lot

    When I toured the campus I was afforded the opportunity to meet with a few of my future professors and i got the feeling that they really want to do their best to help you succeed

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    St. Norbert is great for any person who loves being apart of a good community of people who share in good Christian values and strive for excellence. This school will challenge everyone but will make anyone who attends stronger and better for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you desire a great sense of community and support from the students and the faculty, then St. Norbert is a great school to look into. If St. Norbert should be your choice, contact the school about available scholarships to help reduce the otherwise daunting tuition cost.

    Bang for the buck

    It seems as though the education that I am receiving here has been worth the cost of the tuition. The opportunities given allow students to gain back what is required of them to attend this institution.

    Am enjoying being here

    It has been exciting watching the school grow and develop into a more modern environment with new equipment and facilities. Being apart of a school that is striving for excellence is quite rewarding.

    Am learning a lot

    In high school, one believes that they are aware of the world around them. However, being at St. Norbert and being able to share in discussions with others, including the faculty, has opened my eyes to new ideas and how to look at our world.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus very rarely has anyone ever get harmed. Our campus safety is always patrolling and on the lookout for anyone in troubled situations and if anything does come up, the entire campus is notified immediately through emails, phone calls, and texts. The area is also a very good neighborhood so if you are off campus doing something, you can know that you'll be safe.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is also very open to anyone who wants to join. They are a little more time consuming to join which can make it difficult at certain times of the year depending on the school workload, but they provide a good group of people to be involved with. They also put on many functions for everyone and it is a great way to meet people and have fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs, from math clubs, to music clubs, to chess clubs, to LARP clubs. There is anything you can think of and they are very open to anyone and everyone who wants to join them.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student would love it here, every major they have is very strong and the college is looked upon highly from businesses around the state and nation.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is located on the fox river which enhances the beauty that already exists on the campus. One unusual tradition is that the Green Bay Packers hold their training camp there and they share a close bond with the college. Our cheerleaders that cheer at all the Saint Norbert games are also the cheerleaders that get to cheer at the Packer games. It is also only a few miles from Lambeau Field itself.

    Bang for the buck

    It is slightly pricey, but with financial aid and school scholarships that can be lowered and made very manageable. As for the bang for the money you spend, it is very, very worth it! The school and the education provided with it are top notch! There are not many schools that can provide you with this quality of an education and still have such a close community.

    What to do for fun

    There are always different things to do! Athletic events are always fun to attend, especially since we are the home the 2011 Division 3 hockey nation champions! For almost every sport students get in to the games for free with your I.D. card. There are also clubs to join, sororities and fraternities to join, campus entertainment (hypnotists, concerts, etc.) and meeting up with friends is always very easy to do because people are always looking for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The college just put in a new cafeteria that was funded by donations of over 7 million dollars! It is a great cafeteria with various food stations, from brick oven pizzas to around the world foods. If you want to change it up or just do not like what is at the cafeteria for that meal, there are also 3 other spots on campus where you can use meal money (that gets placed on your account when you purchase the freshmen meal plan) and you can purchase various other kinds of foods.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is awesome! This is where you'll meet most of your new friends and be able to build relationships with people. People become so close in the dorms and everyone's door is always open and welcome to have a spot to study, have fun, and hang out. There is usually always something fun going on in the dorms. If you are looking to study there are always quiet areas designated each dorm designed to help people get away from everything and focus on your work.

    Academic Rigor

    I would actually rate it about a 3.5 instead of a full 4 (no half stars allowed) but some classes need a lot of effort and time put into them, and others are pretty simple but you will be able to tell when you get a few weeks into each class. The most important thing is that the classes actually help you learn and REMEMBER the material. I have learned so much in each class and the professors do a great job of giving you work to do, but not to overwhelm you, especially as an incoming Freshmen.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay involved! There are always so many things going on all the time! Sometimes things can fly under the radar and you can miss out, but all you have to do is ask around or keep your eye out for posters. Also really put yourself out there, don't hold back. You will be able to meet more people and build more relationships. Also be prepared to manage your time so you can fit in a little studying every day... better to study a little bit every day then to cram for exams the night before.

    In three sentences

    Saint Norbert is a wonderful liberal arts college with a small town feel that embraces a tight community amongst its students. They provide a great college experience for every student as well as great academics along the way to help you be prepared and placed into a job immediately after. The smaller feel also allows for the students to build personal relationships with the professors as well.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school is very safe and the campus safety is always prompt when needed. They will drive you wherever you need to go if you feel unsafe without question.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many students are involved around campus in different activities and clubs, there are even fairs at the beginning and end of the year welcoming students to join in on the fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, college is expensive anywhere you go, but St. Norbert College offers a great variety of classes and being a Liberal Arts School provides students with a very well rounded education and future employers like to see that type of education on a resume.

    What to do for fun

    Our school is very into their sports teams and many people go to the football games and hockey games with their friends. There are fraternities and sororities on campus as well. Some of these groups schedule great campus activities available to anyone who wants to participate including sports games between dorms and quidditch games between battling dorms. Very exciting!

    Food and Dining

    There are a few smaller shops and cafes on campus that provide very tasty food. Also, the cafeteria is brand new this year and the food has improved with the new building!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are old, however, new dorms were just added in the past few years for upperclassmen which gives incoming freshmen something to look forward to. There are also great activities planned by the hall directors regularly which allows the entire dorm to interact together. Accommodations aren't superb but the atmosphere is!

    Academic Rigor

    This is a private college and the academic rigor is very demanding. You must put at least an hour in of homework every night per class you had that day. It is smart to get ahead on your classes and study in groups to review material daily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in prepared to work hard. Know that the curriculum is rigorous but doable and very worth all of your hard work. Also, get involved in student activities on campus. There are plenty of opportunities to make friends here.

    In three sentences

    St. Norbert College is a great school because of its small community atmosphere. The curriculum is difficult and demanding but there are plenty of opportunities to seek help. This school wants you to do well and graduate being able to be a strong member of your community.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not always on the ball, but it's still nice to know they're around.

    Greek Life

    Most aren't all they're cracked up to be. Kappa Sigma is a good fraternity, but the others don't exactly have the best track record on campus. Nor the sororities either. But it's just not something that was right for me is all. Do your research, if you enjoy it, then by all means.

    Clubs and Activities

    Social groups and Greek life are a little overrated for my taste, but again, everyone's different. You don't have to be a part of a social group or Greek life to be involved; if you don't want to be a part of them, don't let yourself be pressured, they do try pretty hard.

    Great for these types of students

    Those yearning for a small town/small community feel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's not really a tradition and we don't really have it anymore, but the unofficial mascot of the school is the Albino Squirrel. He died a few years ago, but hopefully we'll have a new one soon! Everyone on campus loves him.

    Bang for the buck

    Every experience is different. Do your research before attending. It's not right for everyone, but I love it.

    What to do for fun

    If there's nothing going on on campus, which there usually always is, there's always the places surrounding the campus community that are great to go to. The Luna Cafe, the Cleopatra Hookah Lounge and Gallagher's Pizza are all favorites. You just have to go out and be willing to explore.

    Food and Dining

    The new cafeteria is cool, but the food is still the same, and they didn't keep a lot of the old favorites. The newer items are good and its always a good place to go to socialize

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a bit of a pain, and I think there are a few rules that definitely need to change, but it's something everyone's got to go through and it gives you a chance to make bonds with roommates and hall neighbors.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you see an event posted up on campus, no matter what it is, even if it sounds only the slightest bit interesting, go to it. You don't have to be part of a social group to be involved.

    In three sentences

    St. Norbert's is the best decision I have ever made. It's expensive but the investment in my education is worth it, especially here. I've never been happier than I am at this school.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Appears to be a very safe campus to live on.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who like small campuses and class sizes.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school, so naturally it is quite a bit more expensive than others that you may be considering, but they are really good with financial aid.

    Food and Dining

    The food is so good. You will not be left wanting after a meal in Michels Commons.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms have sinks in them, which is a plus. They are average sized rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't started yet, so I can't say much yet, but from what I've heard it is rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Send in your applications as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    St. Norbert has a beautiful campus. Everyone there is super friendly and will help you if needed. The food is awesome.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is always looking out for the students, always. They help you if you lose anything or if you are scared walking home alone. If you call, they will be there for you.

    Greek Life

    The students that are in Greek Life take it very seriously, and it is gaining recognition. The Greek Life is not the same as the big ten schools, but everyone that is involved loves it and keeps it close to their heart! They have friends they would have never made without it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are social organizations for all types of people.

    Great for these types of students

    Any one and everyone is welcomed at SNC. It is one big family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Winter Carnival was from years ago that has recently came back. There are games and they put an ice rink on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is great, the location is amazing, and the person you become is one you will not regret. There is so much to learn and so much to get involved in.

    What to do for fun

    There is tons to do for fun such as, sports games for SNC or the Packers, sororities, social organizations, and anything around the little town of De Pere. Their is also Green Bay with bowling, food, festivals, and shopping. The school constantly hosts art shows, intramurals, and musical fun, along with picnics, just to name a few.

    Food and Dining

    Saint Norbert College just built a new cafe this year. Everyone loves it. Even the seniors eat in the new cafe. Everyone also has their favorite foods made by the chefs. Dining also hosts Thanksgiving dinner, Easter dinner, and breakfast at night for midterms and finals. There is also a diner on campus called Phil's and everyone goes there. It is like a mini grocery store that makes great food! There is great breakfast there, grilled cheese, chicken fingers, pizza, pitas, sandwiches, and almost anything you can think of. Ed's is another place in the library that is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It has breakfast sandwiches that are so tasty! They also have delicious sandwiches and all sorts of coffee drinks. Besides the on campus dinning, there are tons of place surrounding the school!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is always enjoyable. There are ups and downs and some floor problems, but you gain so many friendships that it is all worth it. The residential assistant is always there looking out for you and willing to help you in any way they can! There are even activities planned for floors, dorms, and groups. These activities are a way to make friends and learn about people, and they have an educational benefit. Sometimes it is learning about etiquette and other times it can be raising money for a charity. I believe dorm life teaches you a lot about yourself and about life.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at Saint Norbert College are very educational. I previously attending Marquette University and I must admit I have learned more at Saint Norbert College. Since the college is much smaller, there is a benefit of making deeper connections with you peers and teachers. The teachers are easy to contact if you have any problems. They are a perfect balance of understanding and strict. Students need to put in the proper time for their studies to see the results they want. Saint Norbert College is a great place to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    An important tip for any student is to be open-minded and be yourself. To become greater, do not fear the unknown and go out and try new things.

    In three sentences

    Saint Norbert College makes the perfect environment for learning, friendship, and leadership. I am allowed to be myself and develop into a better version of what I want to be. The community encourages leadership and helps reach any goals you have set for yourself.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety isn't over bearing, but they are always there when you need them. Crime on campus is incredibly low and I have never felt that I was in danger while on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    No matter what you're interested in, there is most likely a club for you here. From the vegetarian club to the newspaper, it seems that there is something for everyone. And, if there's not, it's really easy to start your own new club and have it approved!

    Great for these types of students

    St. Norbert is great for students who don't want to go to a big school and would prefer a more one on one classroom approach with their teachers. You won't just be a number here.

    Bang for the buck

    It's an incredibly expensive school if you don't receive the right grants and scholarships. However, it is also very credible and you will get the education that you paid for.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of parks and trails nearby, as well as sports and concert venues in Green Bay. De Pere is full of little restaurants, but most of the entertainment can be found on campus. There is almost always something to do and the clubs on campus bring in a lot of wonderful programs from making Christmas cookies to watching break dancing, seeing hypnotists perform live and holding campus wide picnics.

    Food and Dining

    The new cafeteria that was finally finished last year is AMAZING. There are plenty of different healthy options, as well as kosher and vegetarian food. The cooks make sure to add variety and there is always something new to try. There is also a small restaurant, a coffee shop, and a late night sports restaurant available on campus that you may use your meal dollars in, however they are expensive. The meal plan itself is also quite expensive your freshmen and sophmore years, ranging about $3,000.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are small and it is a huge adjustment. They do not have air conditioning and heat is universal throughout the building. There isn't much storage space. However, once you get to know some of the upper classmen and involve yourself in different clubs and activities you will find that you're hardly in your dorm room to begin with. Also, the living options become incredibly nicer as you continue your education.

    Academic Rigor

    The English program that I am enrolled in is intense. The professors will push you and challenge you. On average, I would say that I had about two essays and two novels to read a week on top of homework for my other gen. ed. classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really look into this school before you decide that it's for you. If you are looking for a smaller school where you can feel at home and focus on your studies, this is the perfect school for you. However, Green Bay is also just a few minutes drive away. Be prepared for a rigorous academic schedule that will challenge you, but also know that the professors are always easy to contact and make themselves readily available. Most importantly, look into cost and keep in mind that just because you are awarded a certain amount of grants or scholarships one year DOES NOT ensure that you will be awarded them again next year. I've just recently learned this the hard way, despite keeping a great GPA. Due to lack of financial support in grants through SNC this year compared to last year, I will most likely have to take at least a semester off.

    In three sentences

    St. Norbert has a beautiful campus, a small town feel, and the students here are very friendly, sociable, and welcoming. The class sizes are small and many of the professors seem to prefer a discussion based approach to teaching. However, it is very expensive and grants seem to be inconsistently awarded from year to year.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always an officer walking around campus to check up on things. Don't be afriad to call for a ride from the parking lot even if you're just a little worried. It's better to be safe than sorry.

    Bang for the buck

    It is kinda expensive but 85% of the buildings are new.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events planned for fun and even just exploring De Pere can be a night.

    Food and Dining

    With the new caf the food is even better, I mean who could pass up all you can eat and soft serve ice cream all the time?

    Dorm Life

    I have nothing but pleasant things to say. My freshman roommate and I were a perfect match and even going into out third year we are still living together.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are too easy and some are too hard, but really it depends on your major, professor, and how hard you want to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry. On the first day, everyone is nervous and no one has friends so don't fret about things. Also, have fun and make sure you study, after all, that's why you're here.

    In three sentences

    St. Norbert College is a great place to grow and learn how to adapt to living on your own. Choosing to attend college here has made me a more open person that can accept peoples differences. I learn new things everyday, I see my classes connecting to make my future, and I've met the greatest people here who make going to college fun and easy.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Swim in the Fox River.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save a lot of money for tuition.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. The small class sizes are wonderful. The food is terrific.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is ALWAYS open and patrolling the campus. In the fall and spring they bike around campus. And no matter what season it is they are an ever constant presence driving around in the familiar Campus Safety SUV. And there are blue lights everywhere so if you ever run into a problem you can push the button and help will come. If you ever do not want to walk back from the parking lot by yourself at night, just give them a call and they will come and pick you up. Don't ever be afraid to call them, they are extremely understanding and friendly.

    Greek Life

    There is a small number of sororities and fraternities on campus who host dances and other events.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer a smaller campus. Who are outgoing and who don't just want to blend in with the crowd.

    What to do for fun

    There's a free nature center nearby. Also SNC is known for their Mens Hockey Team who won the National Championship for Division III back to back. SNC students can attend football games, soccer games, and any other sporting events besides hockey for free. There are also, numerous clubs for one to join so there is always something going on. On the weekends the school usually hosts a movie night or has a guest speaker come. The mall is no more than 10 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    St.Norbert just this past spring opened up the newly built cafeteria. It is spacious and well stocked with a variety of food and drink options. We have a pizza bar, salad bar, fusion bar, sandwich bar, healthy bar, dinner bar. Then there's the new sports bar with its own separate seating area. The food is always fresh and made on site.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a wonderful experience. The campus is small, so your dorm will always be close to everything (cafeteria, library, campus center, classes). The RAs are professional but are really here to help you adjust to college life. They are super outgoing and welcoming. You meet a good majority of your friends while living in the dorms. Dorms are like small communities.

    Academic Rigor

    St. Norbert prides itself on employing a faculty that are considered experts in their area. They have a variety of experience and try to keep students updated on current events/theories. Also there are a variety of majors and minors to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    You do not have to choose your major right off the bat. Take some time your freshman year and explore your options through your general education classes. You do not want to be stuck in a major that you rushed into and have it be too late to change it. Also take AP courses in high school in order to get ahead; you could graduate early.

    In three sentences

    St. Norbert is a competitive college that places a high emphasis on academics and guarantees you will be out in four years. Classes are small so students are allowed to actually connect with fellow classmates and their professors. Here, you are not just a number.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletic, Science Majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Haunted house in the PAC; an old high school building on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There is a beautiful walking trail across the river that's great for biking, rollerblading, and running. Join clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Brand new cafeteria; it's really great! There are also many restaurants within walking distance or are a short car ride away.

    Dorm Life

    Many different options; living with 1-7 other people. It is difficult to get off-campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Speaking on behalf of Biology majors at St. Norbert, the classes are pretty tough. Professors are willing to help but will definitely give you a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships; St. Norbert is pretty pricey but does have many opportunities for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    St. Norbert is a small school along the Fox River where you can really grow. Most of the professors what to know who you are as a person and are really helpful. There are many clubs and organizations to join; lots to do!

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food available at 4 different locations. Every meal there is something different but there are always items that are available whenever the places are open.

    Dorm Life

    Everyone in the dorms are really friendly and the doors are always open if someone is in their room. There are activities that occur as a dorm and as a floor.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes that are definitely challenging but there are some that are really easy. It depends on the subject and what you are good at. There is always help available to those who need it though.

    In three sentences

    St. Norbert College is a good college to go to in that it has a Catholic parish on campus and it is really laid back. The professors care about their students and learn every student's name. It feels like an extension of high school only with slightly harder classes.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe I think, I never really feel like I have anything to worry about.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and different activities offered here, there is something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students who need more one on one learning, or help. They offer a lot of academic help here, like tutors, a writing center and study groups with TA's.

    Bang for the buck

    I am just a freshman, but so far I have learned a lot and i feel like it has been worth it so far.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do, but going to the mall is always fun, along with bowling or seeing a movie.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is very nice and there is usually a ton of different, good food choices. There are 3 different locations on campus, and many located off the campus and around the area.

    Dorm Life

    Again, the people are really friendly and there is enough space in the dorm rooms to fit comfortably.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are more difficult than others but so far it hasn't been too bad.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a nice place to go to school because of the small class sizes. You get one on one access to your professors and it is extremely helpful.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful here at St. Norbert. The people are very friendly and willing to help with anything that you need. I love it here.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    People complain about them a lot.

    Greek Life

    The people who are part of sororities or fraternities wear clothing with their group's letters on it a lot. Makes it seem like they are sort of rubbing it in your face.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many social groups, so if you're not into Greek Life then you can probably find a social group, if you're a girl. There are like 5 different social groups for girls and 2 social groups for guys.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People have this weird fascination with the squirrels on campus. Pretty weird.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty expensive, so you definitely get your money's worth.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of things to do on campus, there are too many social groups, there's probably something going on in the dorm somewhere. But after the first few weeks or so, a lot of the programming that different organizations provide stops. Like, they have comedians come in, magicians, and a bunch of other things, but that pretty much just takes place in the 'Week of Welcome'.

    Food and Dining

    FOOD = AMAZING

    Dorm Life

    Great during the week, but on the weekend a lot of people go home, and it gets pretty lonely and boring in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are difficult, most of the time. But it's a good difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to office hours for as many of your classes as you can, they are really useful. Also, if you think you might need a tutor, go and sign up for one at the beginning of the year.

    In three sentences

    The food is great, the people are wonderful, and the weather is cold. The professors might seems cold at first, but you just have to wait them out, it takes a while to connect with them. Make friends with your neighbors in your dorm, you'll become part of a group quite quickly that way.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are places around campus and by all the parking lots with blue lights that you can press a button and call campus safety to come and get you. They are very nice and will walk you back to your dorm if its late.

    Greek Life

    There is a thriving Greek life! There are several fraternities and sororities and also social groups.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    St. Norbert College is a arboretum and has every tree found in Wisconsin on the grounds.

    What to do for fun

    There is Greek life. There is a hookah bar just downtown for those 18 and over. There are dances every so often. For those 21 and over, there are many bars within walking distance downtown.

    Food and Dining

    St. Norbert just got a new cafeteria spring 2012. It has many dining options. They also have a coffee shop in the library and a small convenience store and a sports lounge. There are also many places nearby that deliver.

    Dorm Life

    There are many on-campus choices because they encourage students to stay on campus all four years.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are usually smaller (30 or less.) St. Norbert has a writing-based curriculum and there are papers in almost every class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Despite its small size, St. Norbert College has a thriving Greek life. There are several fraternities and sororities and even social groups. Make sure you check it out!

    In three sentences

    St. Norbert College is beautiful and it takes less than ten minutes to walk anywhere on campus. The small class sizes are nice and intimate and allow for good class discussions. The teachers get to know you by name and are very helpful when it comes to discussing options after college.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very save feeling.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like that small school feel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    So many. One of the most famous in the area ... campus is home of the Green Bay Packers during training camp.

    Food and Dining

    New caf. Very good food.

    Dorm Life

    Housing improves as you become a higher level in school.

    Academic Rigor

    Very focused on academics. 4 year graduation for all students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus and apply early.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is in a low-crime area of a low-crime city. There are the occasional car break-ins, but in general, it is a very safe area.

    Greek Life

    There are a few sororities and fraternities. They are rather new to campus (within the last 5-10 years), but they are really taking a stronghold.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many, many clubs. Sororities, fraternities, service clubs, sports, hobby clubs... you name it, they have it.

    Great for these types of students

    All students would benefit from St. Norbert College. It is well-rounded, leaning towards Liberal Arts, but still has many STEM programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    St. Norbert is the only Norbertine college in the world. It was founded my priests and monks of the Norbertine order. It has a great tradition of Christian scholarship. Also, the Green Bay Packers stay on campus during their training camps in the summer.

    Bang for the buck

    St. Norbert is a well-known college, offering a great education. It has many programs of study and offers a great variety. You also leave the classes with a greater understanding and appreciation of the subject matter.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on campus, comedy clubs off campus, and plenty of sporting events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Perhaps I am a little biased, but my husband is a chef at St. Norbert. Even if I wasn't, their cafeteria food is on par with delicious buffet restaurants. Most of the chefs have culinary arts degrees and it shows.

    Dorm Life

    I personally did not get to experience dorm life, but after talking to fellow students who did, they highly recommended it. They say there are many activities and the campus is surrounded by restaurants, shops, businesses, and a wonderful community.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough, but you learn a lot. I previously attended a state college and I did not get nearly as much out of my classes as I do at St. Norbert.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live on campus. St. Norbert College is surrounded by a wonderful college community. I attended St. Norbert as a non-traditional student (married with a child), so I did not get the opportunity to live on campus. I wish I had!

    In three sentences

    St. Norbert College offers many programs of study. It is in a very college-friendly city. It is the only Norbertine College in the world, a very unique distinction.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At no time did I ever feel unsafe at SNC. De Pere is a small community, filled with young families and elderly people.

    Greek Life

    There is not a very active Greek life at SNC. There are a lot of parties hosted by social groups (a less expensive Greek-alternative) and sports teams.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for kids from the Green Bay area, and students that are focused on leading a faith-driven life. This school has a lot of students from small town WI, but also very wealthy students from the Chicagoland area. You need to fit one of these criteria if you hope to fit in at SNC.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do at SNC. If you are in an organized sport, there are always parties to go to, but they aren't always good, clean fun. There are a lot of events put on by SNC, but a lot of those events are washed up comedians and magic shows; not things the average 20 year old wants to be a part of on a Friday night.

    Food and Dining

    The food at SNC is very tasty and balanced, although there are not many options. There is a main Cafe, a coffee shop, and a fast food diner to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very nice at SNC, although they are small compared to many of the UW schools. Expect a lot of hot water and plumbing problems (the schools system is old and is under construction). The RAs are very strict, so alcohol has to be consumed stealthily. The dorms have very harsh rules regarding misconduct.

    Academic Rigor

    SNC wasn't a hard adjustment from High School. There were challenging courses, but there were many classes where I felt bored and like I wasn't reaching my full potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you're okay with the small size, and the lack of a social life. If you are looking for a purely academic experience, this is the school for you. Also don't expect to find a lot of things to do in De Pere. You'll need to find a person with a car in order to get out and do things off campus.

    In three sentences

    St. Norbert is a very small, closely knit college. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, confined college experience, SNC is for you. Although I craved a bigger school in a bigger city, there are many students that love it at SNC because of its small atmosphere.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty safe. There are some incidents but if something happens report it immediately to campus safety so they can notify everyone else.

    Greek Life

    I don't know. But the people that I know who are involved in Greek life absolutely loves it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty to choose from. But don't overwhelm yourself! ;D

    What to do for fun

    There's the campus center when you can go the gym, hang out with friends, or go to Dale's and play board games. But you can also expand your horizon by going into the city to a near by restaurant in walking distance. Also, being a st. Norbert College student, bus fare is free if you show your id, you can take the bus to the movies, bowling or what ever it is you want to do!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria did is delicious most days. And Phil's is excellent when you are craving food at 8-10:30 when the cafeteria is closed.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is different for everyone. For me, i enjoy it because i actually like my roommate. I've met people whose roommate and him/her do not get along what so ever. But i feel like if you don't live in the dorms, you do miss out on the college experience because you're not there maintain relationships, you don't get involved as much, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors want you to succeed, but if you're having trouble, you need to take action and talk to them about it. They like to get to know you better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to your professors office hours when you need to.

    In three sentences

    St. Norbert College has a beautiful campus, filled with some nice people. The staff and professors are interested in helping you succeed. And the food, the food is great.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent and fair. We are a very safe school. There are patrol cars out all the time, many of the staff members are students. We have ride programs for when dangerous weather makes walking between parking lots and dormitories unsafe. Unique to our school we have a code. If a friend is drinking and you believe they are in danger, you can call campus safety and neither your friend our you will get in trouble.

    Greek Life

    It exists but it's not as prevalent at SNC as at other schools. The majority of Fraternity and Sorority members live on campus in dorms like everyone else. There are special events for members and it is a brotherhood or sisterhood like anywhere else but it's not as big on our campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot to choose from, and it can be overwhelming choosing which clubs to join but there is a fair at the beginning of the year to help you find something you are interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a community feel. It is especially great for students who are pursuing degrees in biomedical sciences, music, or education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All the freshman touch the bell at the beginning of the year for good luck. For initiation the freshman football players jump into the Fox River and run around the entire campus shirtless.

    Bang for the buck

    For the number of scholarships the school gives and how well recognized by employers it is, I rate it high in the bang for the buck category. In some programs, like education, employers have been known to give special consideration to SNC graduates.

    What to do for fun

    With the majority of students living on campus there is always someone around or an event going on somewhere on campus. Everywhere on campus is within a five minute walk.

    Food and Dining

    The dining plans are expensive and required when you live on campus. The most inclusive plan includes unlimited access to the cafeteria, 10 guest passes, and 400 dollars to spend at the on campus café, restaurant and store. There is a variety of food everyday and special meals on holidays.

    Dorm Life

    There are a lot of on campus housing options provided to students. More options are available to upperclassmen. It is rare to find someone without a roommate. So be prepared to live with someone or pay extra to have a single room. The community on campus is strong and fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are incredibly hard while other are on the easier side. Saint Norbert produces well rounded students but it requires effort on our part. At the same time it is definitely possible to balance course work and a social life.

    Tips for prospective students

    High grades in high school will earn you a lot of money in scholarships.

    In three sentences

    It is a friendly and rather small school with a community feel. It has many opportunities for scholarships and financial aid. It is a well known private liberal arts school with respectable programs.