Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Stark State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who might need a little help along the way will fit in perfectly at Stark State. The college offers free tutoring at the Tutoring Center- which is open during flexible hours. This center has helped me maintain my high GPA when I felt like I needed a little more assistance in understanding a topic- and it helped me prepare for exams, as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Get the most out of your college experience. Stark State offers many different clubs and activities, and you can easily meet new friends. Also, the beautiful campus has many areas where you can easily meet new study partners that can help support you to succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    I pay for college without the help of financial aid or student loans. It is possible to do this at Stark State. The flexibility of the school schedules allows me to work full time while being a full time student. Also, the reasonable credit hour prices allows me to get a quality education without breaking the bank.

    Am enjoying being here

    Stark State offers a great college experience. I am a member of Phi Theta Kappa, which is the academic honor's society at Stark State. It is fun to meet new students through the many programs and clubs, and it also gives you motivation work harder.

    Am learning a lot

    I have taken both online and in-person classes at Stark State. The professors here really care about your future and your quality of education, no matter what class type you attend. The smaller class sizes and individual attention from the professors allow any student to have to chance to excel.

  • 08/11/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student can fit in at Stark State. Though it's a technology college I go for massage therapy. I love my program and the people in it and it's very advanced learning for Ohio.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out everything a school has to offer. From it's classes, teachers, tuition, activities, EVERYTHING. Ask loads of questions and get ever information down on paper so you can take it with you to help remember for later. Don't settle for any college. Set your standards high and strive for great things, no matter the cost.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is not a community college. It is a advanced learning atmosphere. Tuition is low but the stuff I learn in my classes is the same things people in liberal universities are leaning. I can complete my degree in a short amount of time for a very low price.

    Am enjoying being here

    I've become friends with most of the people I go to class with. The school isn't that far away and I can meet up with people in the area. Everyone is ubber friends (besides the people in the cashiers office) and the teachers are very helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of my teachers are amazing people. They make learning a lot easier than it was in high school and are willing to stay after calls for additional help. The teachers are with the students not against them. And with updated technology in every classroom it makes the learning experience a lot better.

  • 02/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Motivated. In need of assistance. Shy to outgoing. Basically about every student type fits Stark State.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do homework on time. Show up to class daily. Have good contact with the instructors.

    Bang for the buck

    This is an outstanding college for the price. The price is super low and mostly everyone can afford it. It provides intelligent and helpful information for a very affordable tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the relaxed feeling Stark State provides. All my classes are full of people in my field or a similar field. I enjoy talking to everyone and have made a few trustworthy friends.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning quite a bit here. Each course provides very decent information and it is hands on which helps me learn more than just pure lectures. I already had basic knowledge in my major so I'm not finding it severely helpful like most people in my classes are.

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students do well at this school. There are kids straight out of high school, to grandparents attending school there. Everyone, regardless of age, ethnicity, and gender should do well at this school. So what are you waiting for? Apply already and do something positive for yourself. I am!

    Tips for prospective students

    Challenge yourself to do better than you think you can. I was a C student in high school. I started college after being out of school for over 20 years. I have had nothing but A's in my classes so far and that is what I EXPECT from myself. I feel I am setting an example for my daughters. At least I hope I am.

    Bang for the buck

    So much for your money. The only problem with such an affordable school is the wait time to get into the program of your choice. However, it is much better than paying 3 times as much for another school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love, love, love going to school. I love the challenge, the wide diversity of people, and I love the professors. I have had a great experience.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel the school is geared toward helping everyone achieve their goals, and from my experience, you get what you put in. If you are there for every class as you should be, you will learn plenty.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good price!

    What to do for fun

    Since it's a community college there are not a lot of campus-based activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is decent, nice little cafeteria open all day. Made to order sandwiches, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study!

    In three sentences

    Good Community College. Nice small campus, easy to navigate. Small class size and lots of personal attention from instructors.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 74

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    great college to attend. the majority of the teachers are more than willing to work with you if you need help. there are also a lot of resources to utilize if you are struggling.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus area is very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional.

    Bang for the buck

    Least expensive college in Ohio that I know of.

    Food and Dining

    Never experienced dining there.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic is wonderful, a great learning environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be ready to learn and have a wonderful learning experience.

    In three sentences

    1. It is a wonderful institution. 2. Stark is a very friendly, and safe. environment. 3. Stark State is just a wonder environment.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to walk.

    In three sentences

    Great place to attend. Engineering is where you want to be. The professors are great.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    KIDS COLLGEGE This summer program by the Corporate Services and Continuing Education Division of Stark State College. The goal is to develop and expand students' interests, stimulate creativity and provide unique learning opportunities on a college campus. Kids' College is held in the Advanced Technology Center, a beautiful self-contained building that includes classrooms, computer labs, and cafeteria.

    Food and Dining

    Campus cafeteria, vending machines, micro waves are available or outside campus dining area(restaurants)

    Academic Rigor

    Attaining the required grade point average. Tardiness or Absence

    Tips for prospective students

    First, apply for Financial Aid as early as possible. When accepted in an institution, pick your prerequisites according to your major. In addition, use your grants and loans wisely.

    In three sentences

    Stark State College provides many academic resources. Stark State College have many career opportunities of your choice. Stark State College is friendly and cares about the students well being.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security that does patrol all the parking lots during all school hours. Stark State also has their own security office on campus and you can request assistance to your car if you wish to do do.

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally am not involved in any due to my 40 hour a week job and my personal obligations to my family but there are many clubs and activities available.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any student really. This is a very diverse college. Students attend right out of high school as well as individuals who have been displaced from their jobs. Students of all ages attend this college for various reasons. It is a comfortable environment where all is made to feel welcome.

    Bang for the buck

    Stark State College is one of the most reasonably priced institutions in my area. The college is expanding and adding new state of the art buildings which I hope does not effect the pricing much.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations and clubs you can join at the college.

    Food and Dining

    There are eating areas at the college and many vending machines. You can also get hot meals or just snacks.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging yet enjoyable. You will leave the classes with a greater understanding of your field or class. As with any class you get out of it just what you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you wish to attend Stark State College I would encourage all individuals to take advantage of the many resources they offer. The number of individuals that can attend a class is small in comparison to a larger college which is a great benefit for more individualized teaching. Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Stark State College is a wonderful 2 year college. Stark State College prepares individuals for furthering their education experiences at a 4 year college. Stark State College empowers individuals with skills and training to be effective and productive in their future professional fields.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get to know your classmates

    Food and Dining

    the food is fantastic

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on which classes you take

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a fantastic school especially for the amount of money you pay

    In three sentences

    It is a good school. Its main focus is on academics. I would recommend people take a look at this college

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students. They offer a variety of learning options

    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest per credit hour around!

    What to do for fun

    Stark state offers many extras to become involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Its very close to alot of local shops and restaurants.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with an open mind and a goal. They will help you figure out the rest!

    In three sentences

    Is a rapidly expanding local college with alot to offer! The teachers really care and there are all kinds of resources to help you achieve your long term goal. Very organized!

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many places to shop and eat are in the area!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes with labs are very time consuming and detailed, other than that the classes are manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some of the programs can take awhile to get into, so be willing to wait to get into the program you want.

    In three sentences

    The campus is in a very nice area and is well kept and clean. The staff is also friendly and the tuition is very affordable! Overall, a great school to earn an associates degree, or just take a few classes and then transfer to a larger university.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college sits within a couple miles of about any food you could want, the mall and a movie theatre.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall is fantastic. The food is quality and well prepared.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not available at Stark State. Students must live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    As with any class, you get what you put into it. Study and when you think you have studied enough, study some more. Get to know your instructors, they are experienced in their field, many working their profession and teaching along with it.

    In three sentences

    Quality Instructors that take the time to help you get through projects and understand the lessons. A small school where you feel part of the school, not just a number. An education that is worth every penny of the affordable tuition.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable tuition for certified education.

    Food and Dining

    Isn't too bad but not available for summer season.

    Dorm Life

    NONE

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your classwork seriously. Don't think that you can skip classes on a regular basis and get a good grade, especiallly if you do not apply yourself and make every effort to turn in work promptly.

    In three sentences

    I have found this school to be older student friendly. They go out of their way to be accommodating to scheduling around work schedules and disabilities. I have been there for 4 semesters and have yet to have a teacher that was not accommodating to emergency situations, if necessary. They have definitely encouraged me to excel in everything I have accomplished there.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Small, located in a good area and when I finish my night class at 10:20, there are always numerous security officers circling the parking lots.

    Great for these types of students

    Stark State is great for all types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices per credit are so much more affodable than the larger colleges in the area and the courses are transferrable to all other schools.

    What to do for fun

    I am only enrolled in anatomy and medical terminology classes, so I don't hang out on campus since my class is from 5:30-10:20 at night.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Stark State.

    Academic Rigor

    My professors are there to help if every I need it in my classes, during and after classtime.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start out at a small state college to get a feel for college and take your basic classes and then think of transferring to a 4 year college. Stark State is a great small school to start your college education.

    In three sentences

    Stark State is a small and personal campus. The campus is very clean and has ample space for students to study. Stark State's staff is very helpful and caring about the students' future.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of choices on and off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I can't rate dorm life very well, as I have not experienced it before. My guess is dorm life is going to be a different experience for everybody.

    In three sentences

    I was very impressed with the staff at Stark State when I visited the campus to enroll. The staff was very friendly, helpful and informative. Overall I was very happy with my first impression.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards around and cruising the parking lot.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the working, family person. Many class times available.

    Food and Dining

    Great food court. A little expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep all papers and beware of financial aid. At times mistakes are made and usually entails a lot of leg work and paper work. Some times it's not as easy as just filling out the FAFSA and signing up for classes.

    In three sentences

    Classes are small enough to receive individualized attention, if needed. Beautiful campus. Growing and expanding to accommodate more students. Great instructors.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking is open lot and very close and well lit. Cannot comment further on this at this time.

    Greek Life

    Cannot rate this area at this time

    Clubs and Activities

    Cannot rate this area at this time

    Great for these types of students

    The have a great opportunity for disabled students looking for education to get back into the workforce. Of all the campuses I have interviewed in this area, Stark State College has more to offer to people with disabilities who want to succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    For the classes I am taking, I have noticed they are pretty reasonable in comparison to other major schools in the area, such as Kent State and Akron University

    What to do for fun

    I have not had an opprotunity to experience anything in the area, because I am commuting a half hour away. But hopefully once I start attending classes, I can become more involved while I am there. I noticed a lot of activities not just listed on their website, but on the bulletin boards located around campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is right in the front as you enter the school, have not had the chance to experience the food yet, but it smelled pretty good. There are so many restaurants and stores very close by the campus to meet your needs and tastes.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be staying on campus, so I cannot honestly give a rating in this area.

    Academic Rigor

    There are so many tools and utilities available that the school provides to help you to not only succeed in school, but also lead you in the right direction after graduation towards your career. One of the main reasons I chose this school over the others

    Tips for prospective students

    Setup a tour with an advisor, the school is easy to navigate, so you have more time to explore all the school has to offer, rather than trying to find your way around.

    In three sentences

    The Faculty are very helpful and courteous. Everything is close, (even parking), easy to navigate through campus. Amazing how many older students like me attend, makes it a little more comfortable.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security.

    Greek Life

    There are some but they are more based on academic standing.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a good amount of activities and clubs including religious and diversity related.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any kind of student.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said before, this college has every resource needed to help you achieve your degree.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall near by and other shopping centers and food establishments in the area along with a movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafeteria has fast and healthy food to choose from at affordable prices.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so there is no dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers give a good amount of workload but they are willing to help you and answer any questions you may have. They are also available by email on days you aren't in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out your FASFA early and don't wait until last minute.

    In three sentences

    This school has anything you need to succeed in your studies.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You are near Tinsle Town and Belden Village Mall.Movies and overpriced pizza.There is a good bookstore in tinsle Town though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect too much help from Financial Aid department . They don't seem to be there to really help you through the process.

    In three sentences

    CAmpus s very nice. too big to get the individual care you need if you are a first time college student. The Financial Aid Department does'nt seem too connected with the rest of the school.The departemnets do not seem to communicate well at all. kepp track o who you talked to and what you have done.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Bang for the buck

    The college and the courses are very cost efficient, compared to other community colleges in the area.

    What to do for fun

    Many area events activities during the summer months, for FOOTBALL HALL OF FAME.

    Food and Dining

    From what I have had its good!

    Dorm Life

    Off Campus Only

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare your finicial aid , as soon as possible I do mine as soon as I am done filing my taxes and the option is available, because than I know I can get things out of the way. SSC is very different than other colleges when it comes to the way they disperse their funding and loans.

    In three sentences

    Quick way to get your degree if your focused, but compared to other college classes I've taken in other colleges, it can be very challenging.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can get on the computers an browse the web or sit outside with friends and talk.

    Food and Dining

    They have excellent food in the cafeteria. Mostly everything hand made in front of you.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms. This is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The most difficult thing is adjusting from high school to college work. It is easier, but do not forget to do it. You are paying to go to school here so do not waist your money, and someones time if your not going to complete it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to do with your life before you go apply. Do not just go take many different classes, and switch majors all the time.

    In three sentences

    They are very good at teaching. I like how their classes are setup in class, and online. There is always someone around to help you.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    All food and beverages can be purchased in the cafeteria which has a wide variety of choices that anyone would love.

    Dorm Life

    Stark state is a 2 year college, so unfortunately there are no dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, most classes are set up for your level and there is help always available if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips i would give to future students is stay on top of things, don't be scared to ask for help and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Stark state college is a great experience depending what you make out of it. Most professors are nice and very helpful, that is if you are lucky enough to get one. However if planning to attend this college, you can guarantee that it will be a memorable experience.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are some Greek life activities. There is also a Honor Society that requires a GPA of at least 3.75 or better to receive scholarship and transferring opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who want individual help. Also, for those who don't mind a little traffic and being in the city life. This school provides opportunities for multiple students learning styles.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The main building is completely connected so you never have to go outside if you do not want to be in the elements or weather if you do not want to. There is neat and unusual student art displayed throughout the halls.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is on the main strip of North Canton Ohio. There are plenty of stores, shops, theatres, and attractions to see. The school itself has a walking trail and various activities to join in and participate in.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to take the time to do your research and figure out just what you want to study before you start classes. Make sure you have someone you can trust to talk with you about your options and class choices.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the smaller classes with one on one teaching. Every professor has been amazing. I enjoy the scaffolding approach to new challenges that Stark State offers.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Best I have ever seen

    Clubs and Activities

    This college has only been around for 50 years and has over 150 clubs.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food only wish that they had a Starbucks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to what they have to say.

    In three sentences

    Stark State College is a excellent school overall. The college is cheaper and the professors are willing to help and answer any questions you have about any class.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is everywhere and willing to help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The sculpture in the front of the building is awesome. Makes you stop and thing about it.

    Bang for the buck

    Good price for your education.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs for just about everything you can think of.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    You don't have to know what you want to do when you walk in. The flexibility is that good.

    In three sentences

    The staff is nice and they really try to help you. You get to choose a schedule that works for you. Placement of things in the buildings helps make things easy to find.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Stark State provides many school clubs and organizations where you can converate with people who are either interested int he same thing, or in the same field of study. I have also heard that they could possibly be planning to add a recreation center to the college.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe at the college is always good at keeping the food fresh and providing the meals of the day.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I would give to prospective students is to stay on top of all assignments and pay close attention to you class syllabus.

    In three sentences

    Stark State College is a wonder place for post secondary education after high school. The school gives you flexibility in your schedule and is also affordable. Stark State College is a great place for improvement.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sit around and meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    I have not ate their so I wouldn't know.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to each student, not everyone is the same

    In three sentences

    It is a very good learning environment. Their is always great help. Very easy to get along with the teachers.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Commuter, undecided, transfer. Start your education here, the tuition is very reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    Study! haha

    Food and Dining

    Not bad for a small school.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The science department is amazing. The professors are extremely helpful and really want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Leave time in your schedule for unannounced workshops and open labs, especially for the science classes.

    In three sentences

    Small, personal, affordable.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am fairly confident I see a security guard at the school EVERY time I go there.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs or activities available for students.

    What to do for fun

    Stark State is in the heart of Belden Village. So if you have a break between classes you can jump in your car and surely find something to do within a 5 mile radius.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is nothing more than that. It is also over priced.

    Dorm Life

    There really are no dorms at Stark that I am aware of. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    I think academically it is a very good school. A lot of the professors are willing to help you on a one on one level if you do not understand the material. They also have a lot of study labs you can go to where professors are there to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be fooled by the stereotypes that may float around about the school. It is very professional and will prepare you for your future career.

    In three sentences

    Stark State is a good reputable community college that is growing every year. They offer many degrees for students that aren't sure what they want to go for yet. The professors are very knowledgable and willing to help you in any way.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many choices for meals here, though there are no individual restaurants. There are cafe carts stationed throughout the campus as well so there is no need to walk to the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not offer campus housing.

    In three sentences

    I have greatly enjoyed my first semester at Stark State College. The instructors are great and the curriculum is easy to follow. The campus has plenty of study areas and computer stations, highly visible security, and decent parking.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Be careful, there have been cars stolen, but overall it is pretty safe.

    Greek Life

    Haven't seen much of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Online is great for mothers and single parents who can not make it all the way up to the campus to take classes. I would not be doing as well as I am if I could not take these classes from my own home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Food is great.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is really cheap and in the long run this is very beneficial.

    What to do for fun

    There are academic clubs and different activities for social contact.

    Food and Dining

    Food court is great. they have a food court card that really helps because you can purchase it on your financial aid.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty easy for the most part. The teachers are really nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really use the resources on campus, they can be very helpful. Also check out the online classes! Check out the all the different options there are for financial aid!

    In three sentences

    It is a really great technical college that just keeps on expanding. There are many different career options to pick from and many resources at the campus. My favorite thing about it is being able to take my classes online.

  • 11/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has very delicious food. My friends and I go there about twice a week. There are plenty of restaurants around the area.

    Dorm Life

    I live about 20 minutes away from the school, so i just live at home. There is not any dorms however.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Stark State are very intelligent, teaching you only the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply now!

    In three sentences

    Stark State College is a down to earth school that wants to keep students happy. With it being a smaller school, it is very hands on and allows you to connect with professors and students on an easier level. If you have not yet looked into this college, I defiantly recommend it!

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security patrol the parking lots and building all day and afternoon, until everyone is gone.

    Bang for the buck

    Stark State is affordable with small class sizes.

    What to do for fun

    My first semester I was introduced to Hacky Sack which introduced me to a lot of other students.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a bit small, but they tend to have pretty good food. Nice thing about stark state is within a mile you have everything from fast food to fine dining.

    Dorm Life

    It's a community college so they dont have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Get financial aide done early. -Take advantage of oppurtunities provided to you. -Get involved! -If your full time, take advantage of the free class through Kent Stark College.

    In three sentences

    Stark State is close to home and affordable. Professors and tutors want to help you to succeed to reach your final goal of graduation or to transfer to a larger school.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hunting

    Tips for prospective students

    Very nice school

    In three sentences

    Small classes. Nice professors. Low tuition

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    don't miss classes

    In three sentences

    Good and afordable school. Very flexible hours. Reccomended.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A great thing that I, and many others, really enjoy are the designated smoking areas on campus. This allows smokers to enjoy their break and everyone else to avoid unwanted second-hand smoke.

    Bang for the buck

    Want to talk about cheap? Try attending a community college and being enrolled in twenty-one credits hours for a little over $3,000! No living, food, laundry, or regular tuition expenses make for a reasonable bill when it comes to paying for school.

    What to do for fun

    With the campus being a community college, there aren't many places to go and hang out. However, there are multiple rooms and halls to sit and chat with friends, or even study for an approaching test. All around campus there are tons of restaurants, movie theaters, a mall, and other businesses to go and take a load off.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a great selection of food and beverages! Vending machines around campus allow for quick and easy snacks while the cafeteria offers delicious hot food. However, if you cannot loosen your belt buckle one more notch, I do not recommend eating here too often, the food is just too good to resist!

    Dorm Life

    Stark State is a community college, therefore there are no dorms available on campus. However, there are postings and people available to assist you in finding an apartment off campus that is reasonable for your budget and schedule.

    Academic Rigor

    Stark State has a goal to get everyone where they need to be. With mainly non-traditional students, those who are attending are not typically in college just for the experience (like in many universities), but are ready to get their degree. Take advantage of this and utilize your accessibility to professors and advisers as much as possible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you register and sign up for classes early! This will ensure that it is an easy process and will take some stress off before starting the semester. Also, when you begin, plan ahead for the remaining semesters you will be attending at SSC, that way when the time comes for you to obtain your degree or certification, you don't have any surprise courses that you did not know were required. Good luck!

    In three sentences

    Stark State is a great source for cheap and easy education! The professors go above and beyond to help students achieve their goals. the admissions counselors and advisers also do an excellent job ensuring that we are all on our way to success!

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Stark State is definitely affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in student organizations. Get to know your classmates. Participate in the student activities that the offer throughout the year like the annual halloween party.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining area is always delicious and a wide variety of dishes are offered from wraps to burgers.

    Dorm Life

    Stark State is a community college so there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    As with most colleges, some classes are easier than others. Some classes like science and biology classes challenge you more than general classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind and work hard. If you are waiting to be accepted into a program like the OTA program or the PTA program, do your best to build up your grade point average by doing all the prerequisites that you can.

    In three sentences

    Stark State is a wonderful community college. Most of the teachers are helpful and willing to go the extra mile to help you succeed. The environment is also friendly and welcoming.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Good cafeteria food that is not expensive at all.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Stark State.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips for students would be go into college with a positive attitude because going into college not knowing what to expect isn't the greatest thing to go. Learn about what you are going into and make sure you take that extra step to wanting to go to college.

    In three sentences

    Stark State is an amazing school that I am attending. The learning environment there is one of the greatest. There are lots of opportunities there to get a degree to your liking.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is really good, there is a lot of different choices to choose from at different hours of the day. There is plenty of places to eat all over the school.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very nice, very reliable.

    In three sentences

    I think it is a great school, its very well managed. The teachers are really good they know what they are talking about. There are so many opportunities when going to this school.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a big concern but they certainly maintain a safe campus and I have no doubt they will continue to to do so.

    What to do for fun

    Locally there are many options. Stark Parks, several amazing restaurants and night life activities.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Success can only be accomplished if your willing to work hard. make a list of goals and look at them atleast once a week and make the appropriate changes within yourself to succeed and reach them.

    In three sentences

    Stark state has given me the chance at a new beginning. Regardless of my questions or concerns they have always provided me with the answers or resources to help. There amazing staff and support has eased my concerns throughout this new journey.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety here is great, they have security patrolling the parking lots and a couple in the hallways. But overall this is a safe school even without the campus security because this is a safe area.

    Greek Life

    There are a few frats and sororities on campus, but they are not like the ones you would find at a big school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus, but I have not been a part of any of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to get a good paying job but don't want to go to school for a long time, or students who want to work and go to school, students who have children or other responsibilities outside of school or students who want an education that comes at a decent price.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isn't really anything that is unusual about this school except there are students and teachers from all walks of life here, this school is non discriminatory, there are students from all ages and ethnicity.

    Bang for the buck

    You receive a good and speedy education from this establishment at a very decent price.

    What to do for fun

    Well honestly there isn't much to do in this area except go to the mall, go to the movies, or bowling or something along those lines.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent and so is the price.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    At times the classes are challenging, but because the teachers have experience in their field that they are teaching they make it more understandable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school with smaller classes with more hands-on teachers, and a low cost tuition, Stark State is your school. It may not seem like much but it truly is a good school.

    In three sentences

    The professors here at Stark State are very in-tune with our busy daily lives and are very nice if you come in late or miss a class or two. Most of them have also had real life experiences with the subject they teach. Tuition is more affordable than many surrounding schools, classes are smaller, and teachers really care about their students.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    44 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Stark State College has great campus security. They are always driving around the parking lot and keeping a close eye on there students and faculty.

    What to do for fun

    The college is located in North Canton Ohio and is only a few seconds away from a place we call The Strip which offeres plenty of stores to go look at, restuarnts, also a movie theater. Also, there is our mall that's only about 5mins away as well.

    Food and Dining

    Stark State offers food in the cafeteria and plenty of vending machines. If your not interested in that they are plenty of places to go and eat at around the school that isn't too far of a drive.

    Dorm Life

    At Stark State College there is no dorm life. This is a 2 year technical college. Although, there are plenty of apartments for rent around the area if you were interested.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically Stark State College is challenging. Most majors there require you to maintain a certain GPA to continue your major and be able to graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students make sure you don't wait until the last minute when it comes to filling out financial aid if you need assistance. Financial aid can take a while to process and may delay you actually being able to start school if you can not pay out of pocket to get started.

    In three sentences

    Stark State College is a good college to start taking pre-reqs for any major you are wanting to pursue simply because titution there is less than most college's. It is also great because when your having any kind of trouble they offer all kinds of extra help outside the classroom, which is nice! Stark State College also offers a friendly staff to help guide you through your college experience.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Well worth the small tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    Good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early as possible. Take advantage of tutors. Listen to your financial advisor.

    In three sentences

    This school is mazing. I Love how they have small class sizes. Professors are very helpful

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I am not plugged into any clubs or activities on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a much cheaper school to attend rather than a larger university.

    Dorm Life

    Stark State does not have dorms.

    In three sentences

    Stark State College is an awesome school because the classes are normally smaller and the professor helps you out a bunch. I'm glad I chose to attend there. I would give it a 8 out of 10.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security everywhere! They are always stationed at the entrances and parked in the parking lots keeping watch. If there is an issue somewhere on campus, we are notified by email as to the situation and what steps have been taken to resolve it.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Unknown

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great school for all age groups but especially for older returning students because of the smaller class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Stark State has the lowest tuition costs in the area. I would highly recommend going here even if they do not have a major that interests you. You can complete all your core classes for a very reasonalble amount of money and your credits transfer to other schools.

    What to do for fun

    The college has various computer labs on campus but because this is a technical school there is not much to do on campus. Our school is located in a very busy part of North Canton and there is lots to do in the area.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has very good food and they are open everyday the school is open. There are also vending machines available everywhere.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this college

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on your major. I am a nursing student and our program is very disciplined and difficult. I only go part time but it feels like full time! With lecture, clinicals and lab, you are easily there three days a week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get started registering for classes as soon as you know about financial aid and your major. Because of the small class sizes, there is not as much availability for some classes

    In three sentences

    I love Stark State. The classes are smaller and you get more one on one with instructors if needed. There is a very diverse group of students ranging from high school graduates and older returning students.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security is wonderful. They are always lurking around making sure everything is going smoothly. They patrol the parking lots all day and into the later part of the evening. I feel absolutely safe there.

    Greek Life

    I am not really sure about this one. I just go to my classes and put my time in with fundraising for my class.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to do. I however, do not spend much time there because I have a home life to attend to. I have a farm with horses that need my attention.

    Great for these types of students

    The college is great for anyone that wants to live close to home. If you are looking for a hands on type of education, this is the place to go. I have enjoyed this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The is a pond and scenic trail to walk around and get fresh air. Some of my instructors have taken us out side to have class in the sun sitting on the grass.

    Bang for the buck

    The credit prices are so affordable. The instruction fees are great with hands on experience.

    What to do for fun

    Every year the college has many different events going on. They have a spring fling with free food and music, a hot air balloon festival, and different colleges setting up booths for further education opportunities. Or you could check out the local theaters, laser tag, gyms, or shop at the mall.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is great and the food is always fresh. If you do not want to eat at the college, there are many restaurants to grab a bite to eat in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    One of the down falls is there is not a dorm facility for the college. However, the commute is not bad from where I live. The college is located right off a major interstate and is easily accessible.

    Academic Rigor

    The Dental programs that Stark offers is exceptional. The instructors are very knowledgeable in the field. I am happy to have them teaching me with their own experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip would be to take time and study. Know your materials and practice your skills. You will be so proud of what you can accomplish through hard work and dedication.

    In three sentences

    I am incredibly happy with Stark State. I have been through the Dental Assisting program and I am currently in the Dental Hygiene program. I plan to graduate in 2014 feeling confident and well prepared to enter the dental field.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I usually just go to college to learn so I honestly wouldn't know however they do have quite a few student run programs like the poetry club.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is quite expensive, however there are quite a lot of choices and the service is quite excellent

    Academic Rigor

    Keep with it and study at least an hour a day for each class and you will most certainly do quite well.

    Tips for prospective students

    remember a simple tip in all aspects of life that is little by little wins the race go to fast or use to much force you will burn out. Remember there are always people to help you out if you feel overwhelmed Find your best study habits and learning attributes and utilize them to the fullest extent Remember failure is just another motivator for success sometimes dropping a class is the right thing to do Keep with it and don't give up Make sure to attend as many classes as you possibly can and if not let the teacher know why you are unable to attend. devote at least one hour a day to each class.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are highly driven to enable students to be as successful as they can possibly become. Administrators are more than happy to assist you at finding the right degree and gaining that degree. A great steeping stone for future advancement

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Stark state has a small military of security officers who constantly patrol the school and grounds for safety.

    Greek Life

    Not fluent throughout the college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are many clubs to participate in and offer a wide variety of ranges.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the student who enjoys the big fish small pond theory. Professors and teachers focus on individuals more and actually care about you not just themselves and what they are doing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall the best way to stretch your dollar and get the most while spending the least.

    What to do for fun

    The college is located within walking distance of the movie theater, and the strip, which is a long strip of commercial businesses including Best Buy, Panera Bread, Bed Bath and Beyond, Marshall's , etc. You can find a nice spot to sit out side and enjoy the view as well as the park shared with Kent State Stark.

    Food and Dining

    Food is adequate at best, they do not have the room to accommodate the amount of students they have for their main campus. They need to do a better job of focusing on this aspect.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is non-existent as to date.

    Academic Rigor

    I am taking classes in Design Engineering Technologies, Applied Science General, & Applied Arts General. The Classes in engineering can be quite rigorous as are some of the physics, and mathematical courses as well. I however did no have a problem with any other classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    You want to make sure you keep up on your work, and are prepared for the homework and exams ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    What they lack in size, they make up for in heart here at Stark State. They are continuously growing, expanding, and improving to suite everyone. Overall this college is the best for the little amount of money it costs.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of dining and shopping in the area.

    Dorm Life

    I have had no experience with dorm life

    In three sentences

    A great college for the adult student! Everyone I have had contact with is helpful and wants to see you achieve your goals

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security, and they are very vigilant.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Academic clubs, from what I can gather.

    Great for these types of students

    Any.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Common areas where many students gather.

    Bang for the buck

    Good priced school, on the lower side, and many of the same programs offered at a higher placed school.

    What to do for fun

    In the surrounding areas, there are various shops and a movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    There are various options, from cafeteria to vending, that vary and are decently priced. The quality of the food is good, too.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms present on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers explain material carefully, and generally tell you ahead of time what is needed to be known for future tests/exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get your financial aid done early, so that you can sort any problems that may arise before you begin classes.

    In three sentences

    The teachers I have had so far have been excellent, and willing to work with you. Class sizes are medium-sized, so that you actually have a chance to get your questions answered, and get individual attention if needed. Students are very friendly, and seem sociable.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is on patrol at all times, parking lot is patrolled, safety buttons are found throughout campus. A report is emailed every year for the number of crimes and it is always insanely low.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Minimal.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults returning to college and students unsure of their major. This college is phenomenal for starter classes and those going back for a degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    State college, all credits transfer. You learn alot from the practical applications that the teachers have experience in and its one of the lowest cost colleges in Ohio.

    What to do for fun

    North Canton is where Stark State college is located and the Strip has plenty of restaurants and activities for any age level. The college sponsors many activities and things throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    Mediocre cafeteria for lunch and lots of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Very good starter college. Classes at the 100 level are enough to challenge you but there are no weed out classes. I have recently reached the 200 level and studying is a must, but the teachers are there to help you learn, not take your mone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get financial aid figured out as soon as possible. The administration is effective but it gets extremely crowded around the beginning of a semester.

    In three sentences

    The teachers have practical knowledge and have been in the field. Class sizes are small and individual attention is easy to find. Cost of the college is very low and affordable for a working person.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The amount of security is enormous for it's size. You will find this campus safer than many other public schools.

    Great for these types of students

    -People who have children, lives or jobs seeking higher education. -The college bound student seeking higher degrees but wishing to save money. -One who wants an intimate faculty and environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, yes, and yes! If you want to go get a degree and you live in North East Ohio or even further, this school has saved many students tens of thousands of $$$. It is well worth the money saved too!

    What to do for fun

    Canton, Ohio is famous for the Football Hall of Fame. Other than that, the greater Canton and Akron areas has attractions such as the Blossom Music Center that constantly holds big name concerts like Luke Bryan or Drake. The University of Akron is a bustling place that holds its own entertainment for students and is often open to the public. There will no trouble in finding something to do if you look for it.

    Food and Dining

    Although you may not encounter the variety that you may see in a large or university town in Canton itself, the greater Canton and Akron areas have a vast selection of fast food, new hip restaurants, and fine dining. Trust me, if you want it, you can find it. P.S. One of the best coffee shops in the country is about 15 minutes drive from the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly, Stark State does not have dorms or even student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Being an open admissions school, Stark State has to focus a lot of attention to making sure people, who graduated a long time ago or those who may have lacked college prep classes in high school, can understand the course work and succeed. Nevertheless, you can and will encounter classes that are 4-year degree level classes. After all, the OBR has deemed much of the curricula for classes transferable to universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead. Get an adviser as soon as possible. This community college currently sports upwards of 14,000 students (yes, I am serious) and several years ago was only maintaining about 4000. Classes fill up fast, and the admissions office is often swamped. There is enough faculty that are passionate about Stark State's student. Don't be afraid to ask them for one-on-one guidance. They also have tons of resources. Take advantage of them! They're there to help you!

    In three sentences

    Stark State college gears their programs and resources towards those of us who are either: already working class citizens looking for new career opportunity or; students fresh out of high school seeking bachelors degree from a university that wish to save money and have an ease of transfer. Stark State has lots of resources that are designed to help you succeed in attaining your degree and get a job as well as provide you with other helpful knowledge. Students who want to transfer to a public university will have an easy time because of Stark State's partnerships with many of the biggest schools throughout Ohio such UA, KSU, OSU, BGSU, OU, YSU and others.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs to join such as chemistry club and skiing club. Other than clubs, I would suggest making friends and bonding with them.

    Food and Dining

    Food is standard cafeteria food. There are vending machines located all over the campus and coffee machines as well.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Stark State, everyone commutes.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are taken very serious. Professors are always available to help you in your classes and they want you to pass their class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on task and manage your time wisely. College is to be taken very seriously. Stark State is a great starter school that always has time for you.

    In three sentences

    Stark State is very opening and friendly. They truly want what is best for their students. Stark State has amazing resources that can help anyone with anything.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security here is great. I have had them follow me to my car at night in their vehicle until I got into my car. They waited till I pulled away before they left. They are there all day and at night ifyou need them.

    What to do for fun

    Stark State offers alot of clubs to take advantage of.I personally am not in them but I do know there are alot to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    The college offers a cafeteria for those who are here at school all day. The food is good and inexpensive. They try to cater to the wants of the students and provide a variety of foods. They hours are good as they are open till 7 p.m. for those who come after work..

    Academic Rigor

    Stark State is very fast paced. Be prepared to study and give it 100%. Some of the classes are tough and require alot of thinking where others are quite easy. College requires alot of your time so be prepared to work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the college has to offer. They offer a variety of student services, tutoring centers, digital library and writing centers. The teachers are there to help you. Some will go way out of thier way to see to it that you succeed. Get an erly jump on your carreer and see whatStark State has to offer. I have taken advantage of the manyservices and they have helped me tremendously.

    In three sentences

    I think the college has a wide variety of programs for everyone. They are constantly looking to add new programs that will fit a persons desires and needs.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Phi Thetta Kapa Honors society.

    Great for these types of students

    People looking to get a professional quick education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You can find lots of cool hiding places to just relax and be by yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth your money. Ive learned so much and gotten so much more from stark state than i did at a highly ranked christian college

    What to do for fun

    Different clubs and groups you can join.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm, its a commuter college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely try to take classes for a major that you love. Don't waste your time or money learning about something you don't love.

    In three sentences

    Good solid education. They have very knowledgable teachers who are good at providing real life examples and jobs. Professional education.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Stark is very safe. Security is everywhere, the parking lot is well lit and the campus itself is located in a safe and populated area.

    Greek Life

    Stark does not have frats or sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of things you can get involved in on campus from speech to religious meetings. You will find just about anything you want here.

    Great for these types of students

    All students will feel comfortable attending here. The population is so diverse in age, color, creed, and religion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I cant think of any

    Bang for the buck

    Stark gives you a first rate education at half of major Universities. This is a great place to start your higher education.

    What to do for fun

    Stark is located within walking distance to movie theatre, restaurants, coffee houses and mall.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has great food choices for every taste and lifestyle not to mention at affordable prices.

    Dorm Life

    Stark does not have dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I feel this is a no fail institution since you have so many resources to help you. Many of the classes are challenging but they also are life changing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask for help or clarification about anything! There are so many helpful people that want to guide you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    Stark is an amazing college. They provide so many resources to ensure your success such as Math tutoring, Writing Center, Seminars on how to study and how to get rid of test anxiety just to name a few.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a few minor issues from time to time, but the college takes safety very seriously. Their connections with the local police departments are very strong, security is visible but not invasive. The only thing I would suggest is to never leave your stuff behind without someone keeping an eye on it for you. I have not had any issues yet, but the worse that occurs within the security reports are theft, and this is pretty rare.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of student ran clubs that have been formed. The activities of most of these clubs are minimal, but this is only due to the students who have joined them. If there is an active student population during a semester, then there are a lot of activities available.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are very interested in gaining quality education for the best rates, this is the college for you. They only offer up to Associate degrees, but there are a number of colleges that they have deals with that will take nearly 100% of credits earned in the college for transfer, most taking all! This is a great starting point for further education as well as enhancing career skills.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The atrium has signs around it that state that it is a quiet area. Do not believe this. Most of the time the noise level increases more than necessary due to the level of echo that the room produces.

    Bang for the buck

    Here I must give the college many more stars than 5! The college can easily charge more per credit hour for the quality of education they provide for most of the courses. If there are anything lacking in a course, they improve it. The college does listen to the students, and always strive to improve the level of education and quality of instruction!

    What to do for fun

    I am one of the programmers who actually really enjoy programming. I love to create, and my field of study also includes video games development. So what I do for fun is directly related to my education. I love programming!

    Food and Dining

    The location of the main campus is within a very decent distance of a number of great restaurants and stores, but on campus there are a lot of improvements that need to be made, and are being made. Vending machines are located in many locations and are stocked well. There is a lack of communication with concern to certain food opportunities on campus, which are also being worked on. Remember, second floor of the main dining hull also has some food services that I have been told is excellent, but I have not tried it yet.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms attached to the college. I am not even sure if they help with finding housing, I never needed the services so I never even found out if they exist. All I do know is that all housing is off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent instructors teaching up to date technologies and techniques. There is not an investment in the most cutting edge computerized technologies, but it sure is modern and more up to date than the current industry practices. All instructors encourage and reward seeking the most cutting edge techniques. My majors are within the Computer Science and Engineering Technologies department, and this is the experience I know of directly.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a party school, this may not be the first destination for your ambitions. If you are seeking quality education at better rates, this is the school to check out! An added bonus, there are connections with Kent State University that would make coming to Stark State very attractive for your first two years of college!

    In three sentences

    SSC is a great college focusing its efforts on giving their students the best education at the lowest rates available. The school is lacking on some of the perks of the bigger colleges, and they are working on bringing improvements into the college that is not related to academics. As far as how the instructors are and the materials presented, I have enjoyed the learning experience and have always had positive reactions of the instructors.

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Mall and hanging out with friends in court yard

    Food and Dining

    cute cafe and places around college to eat

    Dorm Life

    None but places to live around school

    Academic Rigor

    Great

    Tips for prospective students

    Great College over all should take a tour

    In three sentences

    Very Clean college. They have great teachers. I love the small class settings.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are there to help you.

    Greek Life

    lots of reading

    Clubs and Activities

    a club for everyone to join.

    Great for these types of students

    there is a lot of tutoring available

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    digital library

    Bang for the buck

    stark state college is an affordable collge to attend.

    What to do for fun

    there are different clubs through the college to join.

    Food and Dining

    the college is near belden village which holds a lot of dinning.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic level is where everyone can reach.

    Tips for prospective students

    search for different careers you are interested in before signing up in a college.

    In three sentences

    I am very pleased with my college. They offered many different areas of study for everyone. Stark state college has came a long ways in the past 10 years.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt threatened at this campus. It is a really safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs to join and activities on campus daily.

    Great for these types of students

    Stark State College is a great college for someone who knows exactly what field they want to go into. I have noticed that a lot of older people attend this college and also have full time jobs or children.

    Bang for the buck

    I have attended a state university and I can tell you right now that Stark State is the least expensive school around for the great education you receive there. I have been able to pay cash for all of the courses I have taken thus far at Stark State because of the low tuition rate.

    What to do for fun

    They always are trying to get students involved in student life activities and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    I have personally never been at the cafeteria but have heard they have good food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Stark State College is actually set on preparing you for your future by not letting you just goof off and get an easy A. You must attend all the classes and put forth the effort of homework and studying at this college in order to get an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't just think that because this is an associate degree college that it will be easy and you won't be challenged. I have been able to learn great study habits with this college because the teachers do not cut you any slack. I am amazed at how rigorous some of these classes are and am thankful for the great education I am receiving here.

    In three sentences

    Affordable tuition rates. Small size classes for great communication and tutoring. All classrooms under one roof so it is easier than having to walk outside all day to get to other classes.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I swear these guys are on it. They hand out more tickets on cars for parking and not having a pass.. wow

    Great for these types of students

    Its good for the student that has to work and does not have time for all that other stuff that goes on at most colleges.

    Bang for the buck

    The best bang for your buck without a doubt. Creidts transfere anywhere and thats important.

    What to do for fun

    Everyone commutes so I guess you could hang out with anyone you wanted after class and get into something.

    Food and Dining

    They try to have a variety of things and I like that.

    Academic Rigor

    I love the small classes and the personal attention

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an advisor and make a goal. Get there early because parking space is limited. Show up for class its for your benifit.

    In three sentences

    I think it is a wonderful place to attend for your educational needs. The teachers are always willing to help and are there for the same goal and that is learning. You can not beat the cost per credit hour, I will take all the classes I can here.

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have families or are working full time

    Bang for the buck

    I'm pretty sure this is the most reasonably priced college in the area which it is really nice to keep student loans to a minimum.

    What to do for fun

    It's located right around the corner from beldon village so there's lots of dining options, shopping, movies, bowling, putt putt, and other choices of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The foods good lots of variety and reasonable prices

    Academic Rigor

    Just like any college I think it depends on the teachers you get. For the most part I'd say I've been lucky to have really good teachers. I feel that I've learned a lot from them and have done well in my classes.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great security inside and outside the college

    Clubs and Activities

    great clubs that have to do with your major

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you get to see a lot of people from kent and you can take classes at kent-stark for free!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    cheap plus in some classes you can get lectures from profesors from all over the world

    What to do for fun

    theres not a lot to do for fun but you will always find something going on in the parking lot

    Food and Dining

    they have an open cafeteria all day where you can study and also eat in a quite place

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    great teachers and great people

    Tips for prospective students

    If you really want to be someone in life study and trust the teacher because they do know what they are doing

    In three sentences

    This college is not your big time college, As a student you will find yourself surrounded by people who actually want to go to college and get an education. now not all the people arround here are not your age (if you just got out of high school) you will find people who have children, people who work in the mornings and go to college at night as well as you will have the small classrooms and you did in high school and trust me that kind of connection with the teacher and other student will take you far.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    66 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a huge factor in choosing if you want to attend a college or not, and Stark State does a fantastic job at providing a secure environment. There are at least three college cops patrolling each of the campuses parking lots at all times. They keep an eye out for everything from checking for parking passes, to suspicious activity in the parking lot. Security can be found in the main Stark State building. Visit the office or call in to report anything you think is suspicious; they will handle the problem right away. Stark State College is such a peaceful campus to attend, I feel so safe inside the campus and outside as well.

    Greek Life

    Greek life at Stark State College is not like other universities that have sororities. Beta Beta Beta (Tri Beta) Biological Honor Society, Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society are some clubs that Stark State College offer.

    Clubs and Activities

    Stark State College provides hundreds of clubs and activities such as: Chess Club, Cultural Diversity Club, Ski and Snowboarding Club, and Environmental Club. Joining clubs is a great way for students to meet new people and find lifelong friends.

    Great for these types of students

    Stark State College is perfect for first time college students, straight out of high school students, and first generation students. If you like a more personal classroom setting with a capacity of 30 or less students, then this is the college for you. Stark State College is a great way to complete your general academics before transferring to a large university, which is what most students here do. Attending a community college such as Stark State can lessen any confusion about the college process. Being thrown into a large university sometimes isn't the best for some students. Stark State College allows students to ease into the college world at their own pace.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are locations on campus that are set aside for students who smoke. Recently Stark State has changed their smoking areas around so that nonsmokers won�t have to directly walk past those who are smoking. This is a positive for both smokers and nonsmokers.

    Bang for the buck

    Stark State College is a prime example of a Bang for the Buck College. You can find tuition comparisons at http://starkstate.edu/tuitioncomparison. The amount that you save going to Stark State College is outrageous which is perfect for students like myself.

    What to do for fun

    If your schedule provides a long break between your classes, go out to lunch with your friends or wind down with a shopping spree at Target and a cold beverage from Starbucks. Every fast food and sit-down restaurant that you can think of is just a couple of minutes away from the campus.

    Food and Dining

    This year, Stark State College has stepped up their game with lunches; more options are available. Also, there are many opportunities for free pizza and other foods throughout the day provided by certain clubs and committees.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus living at Stark State College.

    Academic Rigor

    Stark State College provides more academic recourses than what you could dream of. Your guidance counselor or academic advisor is always an email or a call away. There are multiple study areas and tutor classrooms found in every building within the campus. Stark State has also added a Student Success Seminar class which is required for all freshmen to take. This course provides the tools that students need to become a successful college student. All of these options are available to any student and are there to help avoid any academic rigors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you LOVE the environment of the campus. You'll know when you visit Stark State College if it's the right college for you, and trust me, you'll fall in love. Investigate your college's website, find your intended major and read the course description. What courses are required? How many credit hours do you have to complete in order to obtain your degree? These and many more questions will be answered on your schools website. Full time college students typically take at least 6 classes each semester, this can become overwhelming. Managing your time is one of the most important things a student can do. Don'Â?t wait last minute; you'll only stress yourself out. Stark State College provides multiple study areas so don't take these for granted. If you have breaks between your classes, take that time to begin some of your homework. Make a study plan utilizing when you have the most energy throughout the day. A lot of students make the mistake of studying at the wrong time during the day. If you have the most energy early in the morning, take that time to study. If your energy peaks in the evening after you eat dinner, then use that time to create an effective study environment. Organization is very important in college. Always have a planner or a notepad in hand to use in each of your classes. Students think they will remember each assignment by the end of the day, but most of the time they don't. Many college professors require specific details in every homework assignment or project. Many of these details are small, but they make the biggest difference in your grade. Pay attention to your instructor and write down everything that is important, even if you don'Ã?Â?t think it is. Finally, check with your instructor if he or she allows their students to record their lectures, this way you will never miss a thing.

    In three sentences

    Stark State College is making my dream become a reality. Class sizes are small which means a more personalized class experience. The campus is the center of attention in Canton Ohio; it's surrounded by every restaurant and department store that you could think of.

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    67 of 74

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Around here on the actual campus there is always small little things going on. But other than that there isn't anything fun to do. Off campus just down the street there are many different restaurants to chose from and the Belden Village Shopping Mall is close by.

    Food and Dining

    The only thing Stark State has to offer for food is vending machines and a cafeteria. I've personally never have purchased anything from the cafeteria but I hear it is good food.

    Dorm Life

    Stark State does not offer a dorm life. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    So far my courses haven't been too difficult. I've passed every course I've taken with either an A or B. Don't get me wrong, I have struggled in a couple courses to really keep up and keep my good grades. I put a lot of time and effort into my school work and take it very seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips I would give prospective students include; time management. Even though this is a community college you still get homework, papers and tests. Finding time to study is very very important. I would also say to come during orientation and find out where your classes are or even just get a feel for the school. College can be frightening for some students. It's always helpful to get ahead and prepare yourself.

    In three sentences

    I would highly rate Stark State College. I love coming here. Very nice school.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    68 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has great food!!!

    Dorm Life

    Stark State currently does not have dorms.

    In three sentences

    I love Stark State! There are plenty of helpful resources for students young and old, everyone is so friendly. I am proud to be a student here!

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    69 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have only heard of a few incidents on campus and I see security all the time. In the parking lots, walking through the halls. I feel safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are no Fraternities or Sororities at Stark State, therefore Greek life is limited to learning the language or joining a Greek style club.

    Clubs and Activities

    The only thing I have completed is the Student Leadership Program but I am currently looking into more things available for me. The Student Leadership program was very educational and fun. I met a bunch of people from both Stark State and Kent State Stark and was a part of volunteering throughout the community and received information to help with my personal and professional life. This program has made me interested in seeing what else Stark State has to offer for clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Older students and working people, there are lots of satellite locations to make it easy to get to the classes. Stark State has a variety of class times available to meet your needs, as well as a variety of assistance available to help with studying or really anything you require help with.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think the fact that Stark State and Kent State Stark share the same property is a unique feature in a college. The two school enjoy working together on things, this is something I learned during my Student Leadership Academy hearing from both Stark State and Kent State advisors.

    Bang for the buck

    Stark State is by far one of the best educations you can get for the amount of money you are spending. I am trying to get as many classes that I can in at this location before I start my masters program at a considerably more expensive school.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many options for social interaction at Stark State, from general clubs to academic clubs, like chess club, ski and snowboard club, Stark Raving Writers, Stark Voices (publication/newsletter), and a ton of other clubs. They also have lots of parties and giveaways throughout the school year, such as the thanksgiving dinner, and the end of the year party. Stark State is an all around great school to attend for things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The Food is pretty good considering. AVI is the catering company that serves at the main cafeteria and there is a Mexican style restaurant on the second floor that has delicious tacos. The variety that is available is wonderful and a great price.

    Dorm Life

    I am unaware if Stark State has Dorms, from what I know there is not available dorms or discounted living spaces for the college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard, but worth it. If you spend twice as much time outside of class studying and reviewing the material you will do great at this school. The teachers are available via email if you have questions or need help practically 24 hours a day and the there are so many options for assistance and tutoring, if you are having problems in class there is something available to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The registration process is easy and everyone there is really nice and helpful. Once you are registered the first time class registration is a breeze and everyone there is so helpful and knowledgeable. Don't hesitate to ask questions in class during the registration process, financial aid office, they are there to help. This is something I wish I would have done more of when I was registering.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school for anyone who needs flexibility in their schedule; with classes available 6 days a week and starting early in the morning and running late into the evening. It has a wide variety of academic programs and clubs available, there is something for everyone if you want to do more with the college than just attend classes. Stark State has one of the best educations you can get for the cost of attendance.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    70 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never experienced or known anyone in my time on this campus that experienced anything bad or had any problems.

    Bang for the buck

    The Tuition is Very Affordable. Well worth the Money you are going to spend toward your Future.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great but with a growing college, I really think they should invest in a larger dining area or multiple areas that offer food around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived on campus but since Stark State is a Community College, I didn't think they had any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, You are expected to succeed well beyond your expectations and the expectations of others. There are tons of supportive staff members as well as tutors and future classmates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stark State is well worth the money and a lot of the classes are transferable. There are various campus locations for your convenience. They also have great programs in addition to your classes that would help you with continuing your education and getting through those hard times that come up unexpectantly.

    In three sentences

    Stark State is a Great College. Its easy to travel to and GREAT on your pockets. The Professors are knowledgeable about what is being taught to you, and are flexible with their time when you have additional questions or emergency situations outside of class.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    71 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    excellent for a 2 yr

    What to do for fun

    anyhting that sounds fun

    In three sentences

    excellent college to attend

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    72 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've always felt safe here. There are security guards everywhere, and they are extremely helpful and friendly. They are especially careful about people who get out late, and make sure the parking lots remain as safe as possible.

    Greek Life

    To my knowledge, there is no Greek life here on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't that many that are widely advertised, so I don't know much about them.

    Great for these types of students

    For people who are really serious about studying, who don't want the distractions of parties and slackers, and don't really do well in large classrooms.

    Food and Dining

    Their food is alright, but is also pretty cheap. Their sandwiches are the same quality as I make at home, so I usually just bring my food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories here.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone is serious about school here. You don't see very many people goofing off around campus, and professors are equally serious. We're here to get an education, and everyone is willing to do their best to help us obtain it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the online courses with a grain of salt. They aren't easier, and often take a lot more work than attending the actual classes.

    In three sentences

    It's a wonderful campus with equally wonderful staff and students. One of the most dedicated groups of people I have ever seen. The students know they're here to study, and it really sets you in the right mood.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    73 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    My Abnormal Psychology Professor told us: I do not dumb this class down. I teach the exact same stuff to the students at the other universities that I lecture at. Stark State offers the same courses that four-year universities offer at a fraction of the cost!

    What to do for fun

    There are a plenty of student organizations; you just need to find the right fit!

    Food and Dining

    There is a large cafeteria, but the options are very limited and the prices are a bit high. It's easier and cheaper to bring your own food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no option of on-campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Stark State offers courses that are similar to those at four-year universities for a fraction of the cost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although it might seem small compared to large universities, Stark State is large and it's easy to get lost: make sure you read the signs and grab a map! Ask questions if something doesn't seem clear. There is no such thing as a dumb question. Attend the lectures if you can; no skipping!

    In three sentences

    Stark State College offers courses that are available at four-year universities at a fraction of the cost. The lectures usually only have about twenty students attending, so it's easy to interact with the professors and get the information you need. The small size and the helpful faculty make Stark State College a great place to help the transition from high school to the real world.

  • 10/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    74 of 74

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always walking around, makes you feel good!

    Greek Life

    Huh? Not here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Chem Club and Bio Club help with your studies an LOOK amazing on an application!

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students this is the place for you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Walk around campus, every building, every floor! There are awesome study areas that not many people know about. My favorite is in-between H and B.

    Bang for the buck

    Free tutoring everywhere! The writing center is invaluable! Because so many people drop out half way through the year the actual student teach ratio is amazing! The teacher who are here feel passionately about helping you achieve your dreams and will invest in you if you prove that you are willing to do the work!

    What to do for fun

    Who has time for fun?! STUDY.

    Food and Dining

    I pack a lunch. The food here is expensive and not all that great.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, no traditional library, no gym, but those things often correlate with expensive tuition!

    Academic Rigor

    I am a pre-nursing major and the classes are tough! Just because this is a community college does NOT mean that the classes are a breeze. I was surprised by how challenging my classes are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as much assistance as possible! There is help everywhere and it only hurts you if you don't accept it! Look into the connection central, TRIO, the writing Center, the SLC and the Math Labs!

    In three sentences

    Stark State College is expanding rapidly. They offer affordable tuition rates. The teachers really care.