Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

State College of Florida-Manatee-Sarasota Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    SCF is the place for those who cant afford a University, who want to be in a small town(which has a beach nearby), and want to work and go to school at the same time. you can be part time or full time or even just take one or two classes, what ever fits YOUR schedule. and the counselors are there to help you, so ask when you need help deciding a major or just what to do with school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont ever be late to class. Be ready to learn. Be more than willing to make friends or class buddies in each class( it will come in hand when you do miss a class or two) and more important: love what your learning and become involved in all the activities that are offered at SCF.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a bang for your buck. This school is inexpensive and you will learn just as much if not more than a major University. plus with all the scholarships out there it makes it even easier to attend. SCF also has their own scholarship foundation.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being a student at SCF. It goes at my pace with school work and activities. There are so many clubs that it actually was hard for me to decide, but I chose two and I love them and I am an active member in both. We have a cafe that has WiFi and yummy muffins and I always go there during my breaks between classes.All my teachers are nice and they understand that people work and have hectic busy lives and they are more than willing to help you out if you help yourself out first.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a part time student and taking my basics. My teachers understand the busy lives of everyone and are willing to work with you as long as your willing to learn. I am learning events that happened in history that I already learned, but it is in more detail and I am learning more about them then I expected. State College of Florida is definitely a place to start where you can learn quite a bit, for a cheaper price than a university.

  • 07/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ~Undecided majors. ~Nursing Students ~Those with lots of talent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't feel too bad if MCC wasn't your top choice. There's always the chance you can transfer... and think of it this way, you can keep a job without having to worry about whether or not you'll have it after the summer, and you can live without paying for your own room and board if you're living with your parents.

  • 01/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to talk about your grades to your professors SCF is perfect. The classes are not crowded and teachers have time for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Become best friends with your guidance counselor! Though the website has all the information you can get, questions of your future will always linger in your mind. Everyday i wake up knowing exactly what I'm working for because of the staff at SCF.

    Bang for the buck

    If this is your local college, you do not pay for housing, meal plans, or super expensive out of state fees.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely LOVE having my own room so close to school! People are friendly, and the staff is always willing to help.

    Am learning a lot

    College is college. Not everyone's dream is to go to the local college, but you will still get the degree you can get anywhere else here. Plus SCF makes it super simple to transfer.

  • 06/21/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Eager and determined to learn.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I look forward to next year when i will be atttending this school. i already can't wait!

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for any student that is driven and dedicated to putting in the time and effort into their studies. This school is continuously growing and adding new programs. I only see this school getting better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your fields of interest and meet with a student counselor to review your goals. Make a plan, stick to it and you will be fine.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is definitely a lot of bang for your buck. They offer great programs, professors and ultimately SUCCESS! This school makes it affordable to reach your potential and educational goals. With dedication, this school is the perfect match for a career-minded and dedicated student. Success is unlimited here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here, the atmosphere is very comfortable and friendly. I feel like I am reaching my goals and it made me more comfortable in my transition into college life.

    Am learning a lot

    This is a great college and has great professors. As long as you are dedicated to putting in the time and effort you are sure to learn alot! The professors set you up for success and are more than willing to work with their students.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wanting to get there AS to move on to finish there 4 year degree. Also the have a great nursing program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register as soon as possible for classes since they fill out very quickly. Also when applying for Student aid fill out all your forms properly and keep copies of all forms filed. Students seen to screw up when filling out these forms. The forms are very straight forward and easy to fill out via paper or internet. So do yourself a favor fill out things correctly and DO NOT WAIT TO THE LAST MINUTE.

    Bang for the buck

    Very reasonable prices per credit hour.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is well designed with plenty of free computer labs so you can do work between classes instead of running back and forth between home and school to use computer resources. The support staff are wonderful and are very willing to help you out, especially the Financial Aid Department. SEE MY NOTE IN TIPS FOR STUDENTS AND FOLLOW THE ADVICE!!!!

    Am learning a lot

    As a returning experienced learner I have found my college experience at SCF enjoyable if not a bit redunant. I would like to see a larger variety of courses offered at this school. And to there credit they are adding more 4 year courses at this time

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is safe all the time. I had night classes and theres always security man walking and watching.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres lots of clubs and activities, religious and non-religious. The best part is that almost all of them are free.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for any types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love spending time outside.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, its a great college to go to.

    What to do for fun

    You can walk around and enjoy the beautiful nature of the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The vedors are great and it has a the good snacks to help you study. We have awesome coffee drinks from starbucks and other energy drinks and juices. The cafeteria is ok, maybe more healthy food would work.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home. No dorms yet but they are planning.

    Academic Rigor

    It's just perfact.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you use the help that is available in ARC or Library and all the tutors.

    In three sentences

    State college of florida is a great college. i love the professors flexability and the extra help available in here. The nature outside is so beautiful and peaceful, it just calms your mind. The class siza is just perfact and easy people.

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Dual-enrollment, going back to school while working full-time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be informed regarding financial aid. Ask questions well before the semester begins to make this process smooth. Paying for school is as stressful as passing the courses. Ask questions, be informed!

    Bang for the buck

    I am definitely getting the up to date information I need. They are teaching courses with regard to the current work environment issues.

    Am enjoying being here

    The college is only 5 minutes away from my home and offer classes that are convenient to any schedule.

    Am learning a lot

    The instructors use contemporary issues and examples to convey the course material.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on campus and I have enjoyed the theater productions as well as the musical programs. There are also many clubs and other organizations to enhance your college live.

    Food and Dining

    The lunchroom offers many types of food and it is very good.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes I have thus far taken have been challenging but interesting just the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient during peak times during the enrollment period. They have only so many people working and they are people too. They will help you if you just be patient.

    In three sentences

    The school offers many choices for a degree program. The personnel are very helpful and friendly. The professors are great at their profession.

  • 01/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs you can join on campus.

    In three sentences

    it is a nice, clean and organized college. teachers are respectful, and helpful towards the students. registering for classes, and financial aid is easy.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    fun exciting experience

    Great for these types of students

    foreign out-of-state out-of-country

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i go to school at night so im not there that much

    What to do for fun

    workout sports on campus tutoring

    Food and Dining

    i dont eat there because i go to night school

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    upscale

    Tips for prospective students

    get in have fun pay attention

    In three sentences

    location teachers education

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nothing, its a small campus that you can transport from and to work/home from.

    Food and Dining

    good cafeteria food. very fresh

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    stick to your core classes and leave room to have at least one easy one during the semester.

    In three sentences

    state college of florida is a good starting school with a decent curriculum. students and teachers are friendly, and don't interfere with the work and learning process. good for a transfer student or two year degree seeking student.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is clean and safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are clubs but not so much to choose from.

    Bang for the buck

    it's cheap if you have financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    clubs

    Food and Dining

    the food is cheap and great.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    there's definitely a lot to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    the classes are first come, first serve and classes fill up quick.

    In three sentences

    scf is a great place to start your college education.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there has not been a single vehicle break in or theft on campus in the year that i have been attending. campus security is always visible.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs on campus and many people are actively involved in them.

    Bang for the buck

    i think that this school is an excellent bang for the buck and the best school for getting your feet wet in the college world.

    What to do for fun

    go to the beach, bike ride, jog, go to sporting events, etc.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is alright, but not high end food and it closes early.

    Academic Rigor

    the pace for classes is fairly easy, just keep up with your assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    be organized and be prepared for school and arrive early.

    In three sentences

    it's a great little school to go to where you get to know everyone. it's clean and quiet. it is my favorite school that i've attended so far.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food at the student union is amazing and very good quality.

    Dorm Life

    at scf, there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics meets your perspectives about the class you signed up for. the professors teach you everything you need to know for that class to pass with awesome grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    some tips for prospective students should be to always take notes, review those notes for 10 minutes at home every day, and always do your assignments on time.

    In three sentences

    state college of florida would be rated a 7 out of 10 on a scale from 1 to 10.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this school is extremely safe. security guards can be found around campus.

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Bang for the buck

    as i said earlier this school is perfect for students who are paying for college by themselves. the school allows you to get great education at a fraction of the price of a state university.

    What to do for fun

    there are lots of sporting events, mainly baseball, softball, basketball and volleyball. the school also offers free yoga classes, a farmers market, and plenty of other clubs.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria food is good. they have a different lunch day, while somethings are available everyday. a sandwich press is available as well as very good mozzarella cheese sticks. a smoothie king is also located on campus, which is very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life, thought there is many ways to get involved on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the classes you take the amount of academic rigor differs. this college has a rigorous science and math programs, while political science and humanities department is not as difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    though the teaching staff is great be prepared for frustration when dealing with financial aide, or any other office tasks at this school. this school can be very frustrating when it comes to getting correct information regarding anything financial.

    In three sentences

    state college of florida-manatee-sarasota is great for students looking for an easy transition from high school to college. it is perfect for students who plan on paying for college by themselves or for students who might not be able to afford schooling at a state university. this university offers smaller class size, and great schedule flexibility.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    geeks in the back of the cafeteria, avoid the weaboos though

    Bang for the buck

    totally getting money's worth

    Food and Dining

    best french fries ever

    Academic Rigor

    not many classes provided a challenge grade-wise, but i still learned a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    check with former students about which professors are ideal, there are some extraordinary ones here.

    In three sentences

    scf is a fantastic place for a solid yet affordable education to get you through your 2 years at a price you can afford.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus and well lit. I haven't heard of any incidents...

    Greek Life

    No idea

    Clubs and Activities

    I see plenty of flyers for activites. I personally don't have any time for them so I don't get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Fresh out of high school or those looking for a new career, they're all here. Plenty of online courses for those who prefer them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    In state tuition rate with top notch professors. What else is there to say?

    What to do for fun

    I'm a parent that is full time employed and going to school - no fun allowed.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafeteria with plenty of options - good but a little pricey though.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Study - what you put in is what you get out. You earn the grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register EARLY! Classes fill quickly

    In three sentences

    The professors are very knowledgeable and give you the tools to succeed. The students are fresh out of high school and returning 'second career' oriented alike. Administrative and financial aid office are efficient and seamless.

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Being a community college it is definitely more economical to complete all general education classes.

    Food and Dining

    very good they even have a smoothie king on campus

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but engaging

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources that are available on campus, go to your professors if you have any questions they are there to help.

    In three sentences

    The professors are knowledgable in there fields and genuinly interested in there students success. They have ample student resources to ensure learning. The class schdules are flexible to allow students to work full time while attending classes.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study,Build your rapport with peers and Study!!!

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner are served during Fall/Spring Sessions. Vending Machines are located around Campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at SCF.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the professor, and what course your taking. To find info about a professor before you take the course, ask around and do research on ratemyprofessor.com, and read the course catalog on the school's website about what the classes objectives are. To increase rigor do an honors course or include a lab.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study for the college placement test! You do not want to spend thousands of dollars on baby courses before you actually start your pre-reqs. Review Math,Writing and Reading.

    In three sentences

    For the moral agent that has a desire to learn this institution has the fundamentals to get you that head start on pursuing your goals. SCF recently changed its name and degree programs. Prior to the amend it was called MCC-Manatee Community College,which offered two year programs now it offers B.A programs.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Bad things hardly ever happened here, and the last few pages of your agendas will probably hold the statistics to prove it. There are even emergency phone/button poles in every part of the campus. As I've mentioned before, we became a smoke-free campus, which is one of the many reasons that we have clean surroundings. The ducks by the reflection pond will leave you alone if you leave them alone (or feed them). Beware of the bathrooms, though. Some people act like they're too young to remember to flush.

    Greek Life

    We have a Phi Theta Kappa.

    What to do for fun

    Women have a softball team and a volleyball team. Men have baseball team and a basketball team. Brain Bowlers, Math Olympians, and the Business Club are good choices for people who have fun with academics. The gym is open to all students at a certain time, and there were even martial arts lessons last semester. I was part of the Writers' Guild, which is just a baby but still keep the poetic spirit alive, along with the Elektraphrog and Pentangle literary journals. We also have an art club, SPACE club, Film Club, Pop Culture Club, Multicultural Exchange, Environmental and Earth Clubs, and many others.

    Food and Dining

    SCF has a Smoothie King outside of its library and is very close to a McDonalds, two Taco Bells, two Subways, a Thai Restaurant, a Chinese restaurant, and quite a few others. This will hopefully make up for the expensive and lackluster cafeteria food. The cheapest meals I've had were a $1.20 pancake, $1.60 fries (or $2 if you add cheese) $2 pizzas, $0.96 scallop potatos, $0.75 sodas from a machine, and snacks from a machine.

    Dorm Life

    SCF is a community college and a commuter campus so it does not have dorms. However, there are some nice apartments and houses in its immediate vicinity. The Manatee Cat buses will transport you if you live too far to walk but don't have a car. Lastly, there are bike racks everywhere and I've witnessed no penalties for bringing a skateboard as long as you don't do something obviously stupid with it.

    Academic Rigor

    Degree programs are like pathways. The rigor mostly depends on which one you take. Nevertheless, I recommend using Rate Your Professors for opinions about teachers that run the classes you must take. Some teachers' classes are easy to pass because they don't care. Some classes are hard to pass BECAUSE the teacher doesn't care. In contrast, others' take their classes as seriously as if they were teaching at Yale, and are hard on students who catch on more slowly and ask a lot of questions- in those cases, you will need as much discipline and resourcefulness as you would in an online course (of which we had plenty).

    Tips for prospective students

    -SCF has become a smoke-free campus for the sake of everyone's health. -Read the course catalogs thoroughly (and RateYourProfessor.com) so that you can save time and money for yourself and the faculty. -Pay close attention to deadlines and don't procrastinate!

    In three sentences

    Attending State College of Florida was a wonderful opportunity for high school students such as myself because it allowed them to gain high school credits and college degree credits simultaneously. As a commuter campus with a part-time option, SCF is also a great option for adults in the area who seek an affordable route to a higher education. Since it is a community college, the best part is that it doesn't reject its applicants as long as they complete their admissions requirements before the deadline of their prospective term.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional and those who cannot afford to pay high tuition costs.

    Bang for the buck

    It is difficult to complete a degree when classes are not available...

    Academic Rigor

    Classes do not appear to be difficult and class size is relatively small.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed the classes I have completed thus far. A major problem with the Venice campus is that the number of classes seems to be diminishing especially those that are under the fine arts umbrella and the best instructors have been transferred to the Bradenton campus. Not surprisingly, enrollment is down at the Venice location.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't heard of anything troublesome happening here.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally, am way to busy to partake in an after school club sadly.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who have been out of school for a while may find SCF to be a great option.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty affordable here. Good education for a decent price is hard to come by these days.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or an after school activity.

    Food and Dining

    I would not know. The vending machines have some decent stuff in them.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know, I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The work, for me, has not been that challenging thus far. I find it to be quite easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all your homework. Be on time. Common sense stuff.

    In three sentences

    State College of Florida provides quality education at an affordable price. It is a great place to get started if you are not sure what you want to do. The professors are friendly and accommodating.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very secure on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If you area Florida resident the value is better than average.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun. The beach is close. There is a local aquarium, Mote Marine, parks, museums, theaters, and shopping. Within a couple of hours to numerous theme parks.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is okay. There are numerous dining alternatives closed by.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but not extremely hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive. Communicate with your teachers if you have a problem. Do not procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    SCF has a wide range of classes to get you started with your college education. The facilities are nice and with several locations in the area. SCF offers day and evening classes as well as online.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a security detail who is always available and they also constantly cruise the parking lots. I always feel safe even at night.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs that you can join, sports and choir, and around town there are many amazing beaches to explore.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has wonderful food for every taste and it is nice and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    I find this college to be challenging but also extremely helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and set up a class schedule tailored for transferring to a four year degree. This is a great school, very helpful, and a great step towards continuing your education.

    In three sentences

    This school has dedicated professors and they are extremely helpful. The costs of attending this college are amazingly low. They have a variety of Bachelor's degrees offered and there are many ways to get involved.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach. Which is only 8 miles away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the advising center wisely, and if you are confused about anything let them know so they can help you better understand.

    In three sentences

    Excellent source of basic college academic classes with multiple A.A. degree paths.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security officers are usually very helpful, and you can see them patrolling the parking lots which is important. They make sure there is no one there past a certain time, and anytime there are performances they are there to make sure everyone leaves safely.

    Greek Life

    I am a member of Phi Theta Kappa, and Delta Psi Omega. There is not a large amount of Greek life though.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was highly involved with the theatre program, and was able to even hold leadership positions. It was the best two years of my life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a club rush every semester, which was always a lot of fun, and hard to miss.

    Bang for the buck

    It definitely is cheaper to go to SCF before transferring, especially if it is well planned. Tuition is way cheaper, and you still get a degree. Plus your credits should transfer completely if you are going to a school in Florida.

    What to do for fun

    I am very involved with the theatre at the school which is what I always did for fun. I had the greatest time with it.

    Food and Dining

    There is a nice cafeteria, and many vending machines throughout the school. The biggest problem with the cafeteria is that it holds irregular hours, and closes early on Friday, which is a pain because I am at school for the whole day.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus, but there are cost efficient apartments nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not the most challenging school, but then again it is a junior college, and all of the classes are Freshmen and Sophomore level. I think it is certainly a good way to introduce yourself to the college life without being thrown full force into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to figure out what you want to do as soon as possible, if that includes transferring then find out what prerequisites you can take at SCF and get them out of the way as quickly as possible. That will save you time and money at your next university. If you don't plan though you may waste both.

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful worthwhile school. I enjoyed it, and I think I got a lot out of it. It's a cheap option compared to most four year universities.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is fresh and the dining is a peaceful environment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class, everyday and on time. Attendence is the key to success. When you show up, you will know what's going on and will be on top of things.

    In three sentences

    SCF is one of the best colleges to start off with after high school. The school has a very friendly and helpful staff.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    To many security golf carts every where around the parking lot. So safe it sometimes gets irritating on my way through the lot.

    Great for these types of students

    Laid back, must love the summer heat!

    What to do for fun

    Beach is the most popular activity around here. Also drum circle at night on siesta key.

    Food and Dining

    Food is fabulouse,many options for breakfast lunch and dinner. Portions are very large. I order half a meal for $2.40 and am completely satisfied for cheap!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty straightforward. All my professors so far have been very clear as to what they want from you and how the information is expected to be presented.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with advisor regularly to discuss possible class changes and new credit receiving opportunities. Also they are well informed of the best teacher to attend and your learning style.

    In three sentences

    Fabulouse school with added classes and new opportunities each semester. Not easy locating resources, best to visit advisor regularly for changes.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good Security

    Food and Dining

    never ate their food.

    Dorm Life

    Married live off campus, plus no on campus or off campus dorms.

    In three sentences

    After thitry-plus years of being out of school, they made the transition back to school life very easy.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the classes. Pay attention to the course. Take the classes seriously.

    In three sentences

    It is a very moderate school. The classes are nice.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is ample security at SCF. There is decent lighting throughout the campus and always an officer nearby. I don't think there are many issues on campus, it is a pretty laid back area anyway.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Great for hard working, diligent and motivated students.

    What to do for fun

    I cannot imagine my college experience without being a student-athlete; playing on the tennis team helped me form friendships with other tennis players and kept me busier and healthier than I would have been otherwise. I know that I will continue to play on the tennis team throughout my time at State College of Florida. Another great thing I enjoyed to do for fun is indulge in sheer pleasure on Bradenton Beach which is very convenient to my school campus. An extra plus is the mall is literally right down the street along with St. Armands which is full of shopping and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    State College of Florida's dining services offer a variety of dining plans to fit your busy lifestyle. Meet your friends for breakfast and indulge in breakfast sandwiches and cereal. Are you in a hurry for a quick lunch? Stop by our deli station for your made-to-order wrap. Maybe youâ??d rather eat a comforting dinner with your roommates? Try out the home-style station for an ever changing variety of meals prepared from scratch. Whether you want to eat one meal a week or three meals a day there is a meal plan that suits your lifestyle.

    Dorm Life

    Because it is a State college, there is no dorm life at SCF. However, there are apartment buildings for student athletes to live in across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    You get out what you put in. The academics are great, the classrooms are small so students will be able to get one-on-one help from their teacher or have chances to get tutored by the instructor. The academics in this college offers a variety of courses, classes, subjects that are complex and challenging for students. And each individual class helps students to get where they need to be, to help them prepare for the workforce or in their career or to explore what life has to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Now that I have completed my first year of college, I think that I am qualified to offer some advice to incoming students. I would tell them not to worry too much about making friends or trying to establish the same relationships that existed in high school, because very few people come to college with established friendships at the school already in place; everyone is looking to meet new friends. I think that new students should recognize that college is a new experience entirely and should welcome a chance to present themselves in a different way. It's very laid back, easy going, and the students come from all different backgrounds of life which has taught me a lot from my time there.

    In three sentences

    State College of Florida is a great and friendly with lots of diversity and culture within its campus for all students of all ages. It also has many great helping opportunities for many students to get tutored or to get efficient help for their classes. This college is one of the best State colleges in Florida and it is well-known for its great service and for encouraging students to engage in the community as a whole.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well we live in Venice, so your main options are to go to Sarasota or go to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers great food!

    Dorm Life

    I can't answer for this because I am currently living at home, SCF does not offer dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on school, you are a college student this is your main concern right now. There will always be time to earn money and get a job.

    In three sentences

    State College of Florida is a great opportunity for the college students who would like to save money, work a job part time and receive a great degree. Currently going to SCF has helped me focus in more on my education and be able to work part time. This school has made my life manageable in the best way possible.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a campus ministry and many sports.

    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter what anyone tells you, get things done as soon as possible. Don't procrastinate!

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are everywhere around the campus even a cop to make you feel safe.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and commitees, Or if youre into athletics you can join sports.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good just a little expensive, But the cafeteria has a nice view of the lake.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the librarys, And tutors. Its all free help provided to the students from the college, Their always welcoming with open arms.

    In three sentences

    This college is a very good college to learn and get one on one assistance. Its a small community college, But aslo very peaceful and quiet. The teachers and staff cares alot about their students and makes sure they do all that they can in order to motivate them to achieve their ultimate goal.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I didn't feel in danger at this school at all.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are some clubs offered but I wasn't involved in any.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is a little pricey but it tasted pretty good. My favorite was the BLT sandwhich!

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes taught me a lot and the professors knew what they were teaching. They didn't just give you assignments and let you learn by yourself. Group activities helped a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    The textbooks in the bookstore are the most expensive! Try to rent online or buy from students with their flyers all over the campus.

    In three sentences

    This college is great to get your pre-req's done before a University. It saves you a lot of money and you get the same degree. I enjoyed this college and the professors.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Full-time workers and night students.

    What to do for fun

    Sports and group activities.

    Food and Dining

    Just one cafeteria I've never cared to eat in.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty easy to do well here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check into your professors! Some of them are simply awful.

    In three sentences

    SCF is a good starter college. It is neither perfect nor terrible. The small classroom sizes are the best part.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Meet new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early! That way you get what you want.

    In three sentences

    The State College of Florida-Manatee-Sarasota is helpful. The teachers I have want to help, and to make sure you are on track. I can tell the teachers here love what they are doing, and that makes learning so much more fun.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Most who go to school here are locals, but if you are not, Welcome to the worlds Nicest beach in the US!

    Food and Dining

    The school offers a wonderful cafeteria with a variety of foods to chose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go to college and waste your time taking courses that you don't have any interest in. Try and think in high school what interests you the most and start there. College is very expensive and you must not waste your time or money.

    In three sentences

    The school is doing very well and is up and coming with more bachelor degrees to chose from. It is good to have an accredited school so close to where we live without having to drive an hour.

  • 09/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At SCF Venice, campus security regularly checks the parking lot. There are also poles set up throughout the parking lot that have phones and a help button to push if there is an emergency or you need assistance. The school takes the safety of their students and faculty very seriously. There is always someone you can talk to if you feel endangered or harassed by another student.

    Greek Life

    There are clubs such as Phi Theta Kappa (International Honor Society), Mu Alpha Theta (Math Club), Sigma Kappa Delta (English/Literature Club), and Phi Beta Lambda (Business Club). Some of the clubs have certain requirements on G.P.A. to be considered as a member.

    Clubs and Activities

    SCF offers Greek clubs such as Phi Theta Kappa. SCF also offers clubs just for fun such as the Math Olympics Team and The Brain Bowl. There are clubs directly related to careers, for example: The Radiography Club. There are also special interest clubs such as The Gay-Straight Alliance and the Association of Motivated Individuals Striving to Assist the Disabled (A.M.I.S.T.A.D.) There are so many options! If you are interested in forming your own club, go to the Office of Student Life to begin!

    Bang for the buck

    The SCF Wellness Program (mentioned above) is a great way to save some money on books, lab equipment, calculators, and pencils! You can earn a $300.00 voucher to the SCF store by participating in the program and racking up enough points just by having fun!

    What to do for fun

    SCF has a multitude of clubs ranging from Student Government to Phi Theta Kappa. The school also has something called the Student Wellness Program. It's a great way to meet people and get into a healthy routine. You earn points for attending different sessions like yoga class. If you rack up enough points, you can earn a SCF-store voucher for $300.00! It's a great way to stay active, live a healthy lifestyle, and save money on books! SCF Venice is also within 15 minutes of a movie theater and 30 minutes of a shopping mall.

    Food and Dining

    SCF Venice is located within 15 minutes of Chili's, Applebee's, Outback Steakhouse, Panera, McDonald's and many other restaurants. SCF has an onsite cafeteria. I haven't tried the cafeteria yet. Throughout all the campuses, there are also soda, candy and chip vending machines for quick snacking.

    Academic Rigor

    At the end of the day, what you put into each course is what you get out. Each professor teaches and grades differently. Some professors grade homework while others don't even check to see if you completed it. Other professors base student's grades solely off their test scores, essays and the final exam. There isn't a fair way to judge the rigor of academics overall. The rigor of each course ultimately depends on what credit-level course you take. A 3000 level Accounting class will most likely be more demanding than a Career Explorations class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some students don't pay attention as much as they should in their first two years in college. Just because some of the basic required courses for an Associateâ??s degree might not seem relevant to you, you should try your best. Your G.P.A. is very important. Devote yourself to your schoolwork and you will see positive results! This will pay off more than you realize later on in life. If you need help studying, visit the Academic Resource Center (ARC). There you will find free tutors, student study groups, and access to computers.

    In three sentences

    I would rate SCF a 8 on a 10 point-grade school with 10 being the highest rating. SCF offers it's students the option to take regular scheduled classes and late-start accelerated courses at one of three different campuses; you can also take certain online courses. Other schools may not care about their student's personal lives, but at SCF we are a team!

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A student can't travel anywhere without finding the school's private security riding around in their golf carts.

    Greek Life

    There are just a few of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Great if your looking for small class sizes, diverse student body, and a great value/low-pressured education.

    Bang for the buck

    A great education for a small price tag compared to other college s or universities. Degrees are easily transferable and opportunities become endless.

    What to do for fun

    There are plays, concerts, sporting events, and local hang out spots only a few minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Smoothie King on campus and a cafeteria with decent food choices. There are vending machines all over campus for quick snacks or drinks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Prerequisites classes are fairly simple, but the science classes such as Chemistry and Biology are difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Rate your professors before you register for their classes. Become involved here and it will enhance your experience and resume.

    In three sentences

    Class sizes are small and the professors are great. There are many resources for local jobs, volunteering, and internships. There are only a few clubs, but they are diverse.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    who need that one on one attention, small campus

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest to make the most of the school. Talk to your counselors every semester, discuss with them what you are hoping to achieve so they can help you decide on the courses that are best for you. It'll make transferring alot easier. I would also suggest seeking help if you need it. There are tutors who are very patient and will help you with whatever subject you have difficulties with.

    In three sentences

    It has very small class sizes. It offers tutoring services for students who need help in subjects like math, english and science. I've met some great teachers who are really enthusiastic about teaching.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't hesitate to check out all three campuses.

    In three sentences

    SCF is a wonderful local resource, especially for students who need to complete their degree online. It is a growing school with many opportunities to get involved in the community. The three campuses are very conveniently located and there are numerous online classes to accommodate the schedules of students returning to college after an absence.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The main campus has a cafeteria, but minimal food and dining options on campus.

    Dorm Life

    As far as I know, there aren't any dorms on campus. All three campuses are communter campuses, but there are a number of apartment complexes around the main campus in Bradenton.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the courses you're enrolled in, but most classes are fairly easy to get an A.

    In three sentences

    The State College of Florida is a great local college in Southwest Florida for students looking for a 2 year degree, 4 year degree (limited programs) or just to take some classes and discover future goals. Class schedules vary, for those going full time or working students needing night classes. It's inexpensive compared to the 4-year Universities in Florida and you'll get a good education here.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    never been

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that i have taken so far are not exactly challenging.

    In three sentences

    Its a nicely sized school, with a clean campus. The teachers that i have encountered so far are really engaging.

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register early as the classes are small and fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    Cheap tuition is great. The small classes are amazing and the staff is really helpful.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Decent food in the cafetira

    Dorm Life

    No dorms its a community collge

    Academic Rigor

    Great overall teachers that know the subjet

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    SCF is a school that gives you bang for your buck! A student can save money by attending SCF just from the lower tuition costs! The SCF Wellness Program also offers students the opportunity to get SCF bookstore credit! Low tuition + free books = one happy SCF student!

    What to do for fun

    SCF offers a wide range of clubs such as Phi Theta Kappa Society! SCF also has a few sport teams including volleyball and tennis! SCF also encourages students to participate in their Wellness Program which offers fun, exciting sessions of yoga, defense classes, STD information discussion and more in return for points which can be used to buy books at the SCF bookstore!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and the vending machines are the only places on campus where you can grab a bite to eat. Universities often offer restaurants all over campus, but students won't find many community colleges with fine dining.

    Academic Rigor

    SCF professors do not overwhelm their students with busy work! Every essay, project, and presentation has a meaning and a goal as listed in the teacher's syllabus. The syllabus tells a student what to expect from the class and what is expected of the student! The rigor of the class matches up with the level of the class. A 3000 or 4000 level class will be more challenging than a 1000 or 2000 level.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in pursuing a higher-level of education, then come to SCF's advising center and bring a list of goals! Planning ahead in life becomes really important once you get into college! You can make your basic 2 year associates degree well-worth it by making all your electives the prerequisites for a Bachelor's you are interested in. Even if you don't know what you want to do, the advisors at SCF will come up with a plan made just for you!

    In three sentences

    At State College of Florida, students can earn a higher-level of education without paying high costs. I would rate SCF a 5-star school between the course availability, great staff, educated professors, friendly advisors and awesome clubs! SCF is a community college that cares about their students and that makes SCF a college that really stands out!

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Stations to press a safety button. Night classes offer a person to walk to your car with you.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are pretty cheap here, and with financial aid, you pay almost nothing. The books can be a little steep, so go to campus books right down the street. Nice teachers, good classes, and tons of fun activities for the students!

    What to do for fun

    Free yoga classes, sports, clubs, free movies form the film club. Lots of cool things offered for students!

    Food and Dining

    okay selection, friendly staff, many options.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms for this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are hard, some too easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes as soon as you can, they fill up really quickly. Get your Financial aid figured out quickly as well, because they are known to lose documents and drop classes. Stay in touch with a counselor and you'll be fine!

    In three sentences

    Overall State college of Florida is a nice college. I wouldn't pursue an actual degree here (even though they offer good programs) but just use it as a transfer. Good teachers, nice environment, good learning experiences.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely cheaper than going to a university but you don't get that feeling of going to a serious school.

    What to do for fun

    Not much around here. The normal stuff bowling, mini gulf, movies... etc.

    Food and Dining

    food is very expensive there... you'd think because we are college students they'd make it cheaper for us but NOPE! I'd recommend to go to subway across the street or somewhere else. We have a Smoothie King which is awesome but very addicting & once again expensive!

    Dorm Life

    none.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on which classes you are taking it can be easy especially your first year but it definitely gets tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely try to know what you are going for before you start here because you will be taking random unnecessary classes which is a waste of your time and money! not only talk to counselors from this school but ones from others schools because you might actually not need some classes that they are telling you, you need. Do your own research as well.

    In three sentences

    It's nice going there because it isn't as expensive as going straight to a university. They kind of prepare you for that moment when you actually go to a bigger school. There are great professors only a few not so great but overall its a good school.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria offers very limited selections for vegetarians.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not procrastinate.

    Tips for prospective students

    GPA does matter in the nursing program.

    In three sentences

    I believe this school provides a student with a good education. The nursing program offers many good opportunities for clinical experience. The simulation labs are great!

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach and the gym.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, so it's awesome.

    In three sentences

    It reminds me of my high school. If you want to get something done you have to keep at it, they don't go out of their way to help you. Plus most of the time the people in the office are out every time I would try and see them. The professors on good, its the administers that need some work.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety and security guys are really helpful and at times rather funny.

    Clubs and Activities

    Dana and Herschel the student life advisers are amazing! They organize and help run the clubs. There are many clubs to choose from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of students like to hang around in the various trees on campus because there are many banyan trees.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap classes

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs, Tennis courts and frequent events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good but hard to find anything edible if you have dietary restrictions. However there is a pizza place a Chinese restaurant and a Subway close by.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms so no on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the professors really love their subject and you can really tell. Other professors lackadaisically teach with little or no love for their subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    The club hub is in the student union in the lunch room area a lot of students have trouble finding it but it is very helpful if you want to be active in clubs at the school. There are ipads for borrow at the library as well as laptops, nooks, and other devices. The student advisers aren't very helpful but most students can tell you the good professors.

    In three sentences

    State College of Florida can be very helpful. The classes are a lot cheaper than a University. There are a lot of student resources offered by the school that are available if you live in the area.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The State College of Florida is an extremely affordable option. It is about 100 dollars a credit hour for a Florida resident. That is a fraction of what you would pay at another school for the same class.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I would suggest join one of the many clubs the college offers. You will meet people with the same interests and do activities you enjoy. It's one the best ways to make friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is full of fine but over priced food. It is deffintely a step up from the slop you would buy at high school, but not worth the money. You can get good quality food for less in one of the small restraunts only ten mintues away from the main campus.

    Dorm Life

    While the State College of Florida is no longer just a community college, it does not yet offer dorms. So I'm afraid that since they are non-existent they will have to get a one star rating.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics range from easy to challenging, and you can easily choose what is best for you. The school offers many classes that help you build your skills and knowledge so that you feel confident and comfortable taking harder classes. If you feel ready and have the scores to prove it, you can simply jump to the hard academics right away. Just because this is a small school does not mean you should assume you'll simply breeze through everything. Professors know their topics and will challenge you to be your best, no matter what level you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to your classes, do the work, and have some fun. That's all there is to it.

    In three sentences

    The State College of Florida is a small school with a relaxed environment. It is a good stepping stone when you are fresh out of high school and don't feel ready to leave the nest. It is also a wonderfully affordable option!

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Not ready for big campus yet

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the teachers!

    In three sentences

    Small classes, involved professors, fair grading.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never heard of any incidents at my year at the school, and campus security constantly patrols the school. State College of Florida is a tobacco free campus, and it is enforced well. Flat tires, dead batteries, and on campus traffic incidents are handled by campus security.

    Bang for the buck

    State College of Florida is a great opportunity to gain an education without breaking the bank. They offer a collegiate program that allows high school juniors and seniors to take a full college load and graduate with an A.A. degree with books and tuition paid for.

    What to do for fun

    Multiple sports teams and other organizations to join at the school. Bradenton beach and other beaches are within 10-15 miles of the school.

    Food and Dining

    On campus food is decent, most meals are $4-5. There is also a Smoothie King and farmers market located on campus. Subway, McDonald's, Panera, Starbucks, all major chains are close to the school.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus residence, but there are homes and apartments close to the school if you plan on renting.

    Academic Rigor

    The class difficulty depends on what classes you take, but General Requirements classes are easy. Macroeconomics is difficult, along with Calc I+II+III, Chem I+II and higher math and sciences.

    Tips for prospective students

    As for all schools, stay focused and don't put off projects until the day before. If you need help with anything, head over to the Academic Resource Center or the library. The school is in a great location in Bradenton with easy access to food and shopping off campus.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are involved in your education and work to help students succeed. Many online classes offered and great affordability. Lots of academic assistance available, and great programs in upper level classes.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This college has plenty of clubs and activities. I feel like every week there is something new going on at every campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    My best tip is to always plan your schedule based off of the teachers. I always use ratemyprofessor.com to find the right teacher for me. Please take a look on their and save yourself from a bad semester.

    In three sentences

    I believe this college is overlooked too often. The teachers are experience in their field and know what they're teaching. I feel this school is great and I'm learning things for my future education.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    59 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't like a big campus, inexpensive, closer to home and family

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, make friends, volunteer at the collegiate school.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend making friends with at least one person in each of your classes and get their number just in case you can't attend class. Its best to speak to your academic advisor/counselor every semester so you take the classes you need to graduate. If you plan to change your major do so quickly or else you might be taking classes for a major you're not even interested in and waste time. Make the most out of the experience, join clubs and make friends so you're not too stressed. It is important to communicate with your teachers so you know what you need to do to pass and get and A. It is also important to communicate in class, you will learn better, remember the material and be more interested. If you never participate it is like you were never there.

    In three sentences

    There are study rooms available for students who prefer a quiet environment and multiple places to study on campus. The counselors are always ready and happy to help you each semester to keep track of your progress. It is inexpensive and the perfect place to get started if you're considering transferring after two years or even staying there for four years.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to save money before transferring,or undecided on major.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are pretty cheap and are worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club besides that nothing much.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are really good and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    if transferring after two years make sure all your classes will transfer to your other school.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    61 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always there.

    Clubs and Activities

    Variety of clubs and activities for students.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid is there for those who need it.

    What to do for fun

    Campus offers many activities to students.

    Food and Dining

    Variety was always nice. Food was delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply. There are affordable apartments very close to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers will challenge you to do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it seriously, even if it is community college.

    In three sentences

    Best place to start if you don't have tuition for university. Classes have flexible hours. Teachers are very knowledgable.

  • 06/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards on campus and there haven't been any serious incidents either. People are free to come and go and the atmosphere is pretty lax.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs on campus, however I do not participate in any of them so I can not say how they are.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who need to get their Associates degree before transferring to another school. Many of the students who come here do this and the courses, especially the science ones, are meant to do so.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any that I really know of.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are very good and (compared to other colleges at least) affordable. 15 credit hours, counting nothing else, runs about 1,537 dollars. Financial aid is pretty easy to get and they are willing to help you a lot in order to do so. A lot of people attend this college before transferring to other colleges so, provided you take the right courses, your credits should transfer.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of stuff to do around the campus. There are also various clubs on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is pretty good, they give you a decent amount for the price you pay and it tends to fill you up. One downside, the drinks are rather expensive for whatever reason.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really rate this as there are not dorms at SCF.

    Academic Rigor

    This really depends more on the classes you take, to be honest. The science courses are held to a high standard as many students transfer to neighboring schools after getting their associates, and this ensures the credits transfer over.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before school starts you should visit the classrooms before hand so you know where they are and also visit them in the order you will attend so you know how long it is going to take you to get to each one. The campus is rather large so if you have two classes on separate sides of it you may have to hurry to get to them on time. Other than that just keep up on your studies and you should be fine.

    In three sentences

    The teachers at SCF (formerly Manatee Community College) are both kind and know what they are doing. The students are friendly and tend to focus on their studies. The entire campus is very nice, but rather large so you do have to walk a lot.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Safety officers are very helpful and pleasant and are always in view and willing to help. There has been zero issues since I have attended.

    Clubs and Activities

    The College has a list of clubs and activities to choose from. Check them out!

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts, extroverts, students who like a slower pace and more of a quiet scene, not so much for the party types. No beer party dorm life here, just peace and quiet all while getting great grades and enjoying life.

    Bang for the buck

    I would never recommend another College. This college is reasonably priced, the teacher student ratio is more than acceptable and I truly enjoy every minuet Im on campus! I excelled in subjects I never would have thought about, due to the staff at State College.

    What to do for fun

    State College has lots of fun classes like back packing, canoeing, dancing, bowling, theater and even fitness. The Professors themselves even go the extra mile to make their classes as fun as possible.

    Food and Dining

    State College has a awesome cafeteria with almost everything to offer at a fair price, as well as a Smoothie Cafe that's great in between short breaks. The food is tasty and offers selections for veggie eaters as well.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm here, however State College feels like a second home. The professors are wonderful mentors, you have so many activities you can join in, and wonderful areas to relax and take a break in between classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Student life is calm, stressless and enjoyable. There is plenty of help within the college if you struggle with your courses, and lots of fun classes to take as well. If your looking to focus on your studies and NOT goof off and party 24-7, this is the college for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    State college is a wonderful college to start if your a little unsettled about attending a college. All you have to do it show up, give your best effort, and the rest will be taken care of for you. You will be amazed on how much success you can obtain going to this school.

    In three sentences

    Wonderful college to go to for those afraid of what college may be like. The professors and all staff are personable, helpful and care about your success. If you struggled in high school no worries, State College makes going to school enjoyable and believe it or not a lot easier than most high school settings.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    Worst food ever

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend going to any other community or state college. Run away from this one fast!

    In three sentences

    This is one of the worst schools to attend, they will nickel and dime you as much as they can. They do not make procedures clear that way when you fail to do something they can charge you tons of money. They have made me pay for classes I didn't take because I couldn't afford them twice now. They are rude and unhelpful.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security team is top notch, and provide more than just safety. They also help with other needs, such as broken down cars, lost items, etc. The school prints their hotline directly on the back of it's student ID so that you always have direct access to their services.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities and sororities here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a club for just about anything you can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you are here purely for education, your will get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    It's Florida! Join up with a club, go play guitar on the beach, swim and drink a little. Soak up the sun!

    Food and Dining

    Their dining facility has decent food, but it overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    SCF does not yet possess dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't speak for the graduate programs, but the undergraduate programs can be challenging, but usually are fairly simple. The social studies course are quite thought provoking though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Double, then triple check your schedules on orientation day.

    In three sentences

    SCF (formerly MCC) is a state college with a nice campus, great veterans services, and a relatively helpful and friendly faculty. It's cheaper than the other schools in the area without compromising educational standards, and it has a wide variety of subjects for study. However, its graduate programs are limited.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    66 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The beach around here is awesome!!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm so...

    Academic Rigor

    There's always going to be certain classes you find easier or more difficult but when you leave here you will be prepared for a 4 year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Figure out what you want to go to school for or have a really good idea before you start because you don't want to waste your time and money taking classes you don't need.

    In three sentences

    I have had a great experience here. The staff is as helpful as they possibly could be. The only bad thing I could say is they don't offer enough times and days for certain classes so you have to be quick to register.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    67 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you don't mind hassles and rude employees and teachers, this school is for you. If you like being ripped off and your money being tossed around like it means nothing, this school is for you.

    Bang for the buck

    The residency crew are the worst and most unhelpful. I truly think they try to make it difficult for people to claim residency so we have to pay more money.

    Food and Dining

    Fine

    Academic Rigor

    Web Teachers do not respond to questions! Be prepared to google, folks.

    In three sentences

    Do not recommend this school to anyone. All individuals in advising, residency, etc. have continually been less than helpful. Truly, the worst service and help I have ever seen. It's more hassle than this school is worth! Looking back I'd have rather paid more than go to this school. It takes hours out of the day to get anything done here and then they will always tell you your missing something. Everytime. They've changed the rules on me several times and have made it very hard to prove residency even though I moved here over a year ago! When I called to get help they literally would NOT tell me what I needed to bring - I had to force her to tell me. Like they don't want you to get Florida rates! Advisors are a bit racist - yes I said it - and if you're a white person in this school then you will taste your first taste of racism here and be treated as if you don't matter by a certain advisor male who seems more interested in showing off his black power than being helpful or friendly to us white folks. I have never been more disappointed in an organization than I have with this school. They also accept next to NO credits from other schools if they don't EXACTLY measure up to their own classes. Really frustrating place!

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    68 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always a security guard walking around. Very small town not a dangerous area.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs and they meet regularly.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing and Transfer Students.

    Bang for the buck

    Prices for junior colleges in Florida are all about the same.

    What to do for fun

    Not a lot. This is a junior college and doesn't even have a gym.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't too bad. They have a cafeteria that is open most of the day. It's a bit pricey for what you get.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    A majority of the classes are fairly easy. This is a junior college and in a smaller area. The majority of students are nursing so I can't speak for that but as an AA transfer student it's fairly easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to the campus and ask faculty and students which teachers are decent. Many of the faculty graduated from this campus and came back to work there.

    In three sentences

    A small campus that is quaint and lacks amenities. Most staff is extremely helpful and due to the small size you regularly meet people that you share multiple classes with. It is extremely military friendly.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    69 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Studying is important but if theres a chance to relax a little the school is in a very tourist busy city. There are things to do on every corner from amusement parks to local parks.

    Food and Dining

    They look out for students with the healthiest meals at good prices all over campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not own a dorm but what I've heard and seen is that SCF has very clean, roomy dorms suited for any need.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging without interfering with your personal life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be afraid to ask questions. Everyone at the office is very friendly and will point you in the direction you need to go.

    In three sentences

    Professors at SCF are topnotch and very responsive to a students learning needs. The school offers many great classes needed for any major. It is made easy to achieve success at this school.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    70 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security patrols on golf carts, helps you with car lockouts very friendly!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to choose from and be apart of depending on your availability

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who wish to stay local and have a job as well as receive an excellent education in the process.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for the education received! Often 3 to 4 times cheaper than larger colleges!

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! Whatever suits you, become an active member of the student body!

    Food and Dining

    SCF Cafeteria has good food something for everyone healthy and comfort food categories, and Smoothie King is an option in the library

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, appartments nearby

    Academic Rigor

    The beginning course material is relatively easy but if you go for one of the bachelors programs that quickly changes into a much more strenuous course grouping

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into it having an idea of what your major is so you don't burn up your credit hours on courses you don't need

    In three sentences

    Smaller class sizes for better learning than larger colleges. Cheaper courses same material for the same educational credits. Overall a well put together campus and educational system.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    71 of 76

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Enjoy the little fairs they have! They do it every once in a while and you can get all sorts of free stuff. They also have 50 cent hot dogs, pizza slices, etc. and there are lots of informational booths to look at on campus.

    Food and Dining

    We have a Smoothie King on campus which is always delicious. We also have a mini cafe that has some great food! The burgers are cooked right in front of you and it isn't too expensive. There's great variety and also just some little snacks laying around here and there.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here!

    Academic Rigor

    You must keep up with your work and don't procrastinate whatever you do. There are many resources to help you succeed and take advantage of all of them! People want to help you here, and you don't have to look to far to find them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go check out www.ratemyprofessors.com and see which professor make work best for you. Also, take time to look through all the possible classes and find some that are interesting to take as electives. You will enjoy yourself and you need electives anyhow! You will not enjoy being in an elective you don't want to be in.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college that offers so many different courses to take. All the professors are passionate about what they are teaching and are always eager to help. Great campus and so many academic resources if needed!

  • 11/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    72 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This place is a definite bang for the buck deal. It is less expensive than other colleges in the area and it still gives you a quality education.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club!

    Food and Dining

    There is something for everyone and it all tastes good!

    Dorm Life

    Many clubs and extracurricular activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Ever teacher I've met has been awesome and intelligent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to take care of all the paperwork way ahead of time, this is true for all colleges though. Also don't be afraid to ask questions, these guys are here to help you and they are all so sweet that even if you feel silly for asking they'll make you feel like that is a question that they hear all the time. Who knows it might be!

    In three sentences

    The State College of Florida is wonderful on so many levels. It has a beautiful, clean, open campus with palms trees and beautiful little ponds everywhere. The staff and teachers are, for the most part, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable in their areas of expertise. Also even though they do not offer a wide range of degrees and classes at this time, they are always trying to expand and all of the degrees are transferable, if you wish to continue your education.

  • 12/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    73 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very good education for very cheap.

    What to do for fun

    There are some groups that students can join and the Bradenton campus has sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    The downside to this school is the food. Just bring your own, the cafeteria is super expensive and kind of gross

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small and teachers are willing to help one on one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the Academic Resource Tutors and don't think that SCF is below you, it' s actually a decent school.

    In three sentences

    The school gets a bad rep from the people in the community because they all think that they're above it, but it really is a decent school. There are a lot of helpful teachers and free access to tutors and it's very mom and alternative student friendly. Whether you take traditional, blended, or online classes, SCF has a place for you.

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    74 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When you first apply, you have to get a parking pass. When you go and get your parking pass, they give you the security office's number and they have parking lot emergency lights around the parking lot. I haven't seen anything unsafe happen on my campus but those emergency lights make me feel better, in case something does happen.

    Clubs and Activities

    I definitely recommend PBL if you're into business. It is a great thing to put on your resume and you meet really amazing people.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who are unsure what their major is because all of my teachers have helped me figure out what I want to do with my life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our school has a pool table, Ping-Pong tables and really comfortable chairs to sit and watch. It is a great place to relax after a stressful fay.

    Bang for the buck

    RENT YOUR TEXTBOOKS. The school store sells them for so expensive and just because a teacher says to get the latest edition of the book, doesn't mean you have too. RENT THEM.

    What to do for fun

    For SCF students, every Tuesdays you can bowl with a really good discount. I've never used the discount yet, but I can't wait to use it!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is incredible. They will make sandwiches for you on the spot. The campus also has a Smoothie King and there are a lot of club events that cook food.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not have dorm, but I really wish they did.

    Academic Rigor

    I never expected to have a class with more than twenty five students because all I knew was high school classes. I have now had two classes with over than fifty students, so it's hard to get to know your teacher because they are always focused on something else.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're wanting early classes, try to get to class ten minutes early. The parking lot fills up fast and it would suck if you would have to park far away from your class.

    In three sentences

    I love that SCF has an easy way to get cash back with their SCFOneCard. It's like a debit card and you can use it anywhere and I love how easy it is to get my scholarship money and use it. SCF is always just a clean campus and I take pride walking onto the pavement of SCF.

  • 02/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    75 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They always have a security gaurd protecting the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that can't go into a university for expenses.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a smart choice for people that live near by. It is a great campus and easy to trasfer from high school to college.

    What to do for fun

    They have some activites around campus to keep people active.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know anything about it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many classes as you can.

    In three sentences

    It is a small school with many opportunities.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    76 of 76

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I did not realize that the parking passes expired every year, so I accidently went nearly two full semesters with an expired parking pass. That was also the year they redesigned the passes and made them a different color. I went nearly two semester with an obviously expired parking pass and no one said a single word. Security is not air tight.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much on campus (The Venice campus). There's a movie theater, a bowling alley, and a small disc golf course in town. Venice is not an exciting place and full of retirees. Don't come here expecting a wild college town.

    Food and Dining

    The student union has a little cafeteria. It is good enough, but pretty over priced. Also, very greasy. I mean VERY greasy. Stay away from the fries, they are the greasiest.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    This varies greatly with the teacher. My Chemistry and history teachers required a large amount of work and had very high standards, but my english teahcer gave very little homework and the class was easy. Most teachers strike a fair balance between the two extremes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid taking classes from Prof Mason, prof Straight, and Prof Murray. They are almost universally hated and students rarely do as well in their classes. Find some friends, research the teachers, and be ready for a small campus. Also, avoid the french fries at the student union.

    In three sentences

    Venice branch is very nice for the price. It has a small town feel. Some teachers do not seem to be up to the standards that the others are.