Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

State Fair Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - undecided majors - nursing majors - students who want to save money by getting the general education courses for their degree at State Fair's great price - those who may not have done great in high school but want another chance to prove themselves and get into a university

    Tips for prospective students

    - sit in the front row - get involved on campus - utilize the free tutoring lab!

    Bang for the buck

    State Fair Community College is a great value. The price of tuition is very cheap but provides great academics and plenty of ways to get involved on campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have greatly enjoyed my time at State Fair Community College. There are many clubs that students can utilize to make the most of their college experience. I am involved in our school's local Phi Theta Kappa chapter. Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society that provides members with many opportunities and I feel that all new students should strive to reach the academic standards to gain acceptance into this organization.

    Am learning a lot

    State Fair Community College is providing me with many opportunities to challenge myself academically. It also provides the algebra curriculum in graduated steps to better serve each students individual needs; they offer algebra classes from basic math all the way to college algebra. State Fair also has several higher level math classes for those who want to challenge themselves further or for those who need to fulfill a degree requirement. There is much to be said about their biological science classes also. I have found the teachers to be very friendly while also providing sufficient course rigor. I am also involved in a student success program called TRiO. Through TRiO I have been able to receive free, personal tutoring when needed and I also have the opportunity to share my knowledge with other by becoming a tutor or mentor. The only downfall I have found in the schools academics thus far is the chemistry department. Unlike most other universities the chemistry classes have no formal lecture time, which I found made it very difficult to learn new material.

  • 09/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are having financiall problems. Those who live close to the school can easily drive there and don't have to worry about staying in the dorms they offer. If you are a returning student, this college will also be a good choice of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in attending college but have not decided on a degree, this is a good college to attend due to their multiple options. The courses encourages you work word hard and stay dedicated at school.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are struggling with finacial needs, this is a good college to attend. It offers many scholarship opportunities. If you are a theatre major, you can try out obtain a theatre scholarship which will pay for you school. This school also excepts A+ and you can obtain pell grants through the state to pay for you college.

    Am enjoying being here

    This college has many activities going on. They often have a movie night for new releases and Texas Holden Tournament to when great prizes. They only have men’s and women’s basket ball as a sport which is a downfall but they regularly have activities such as flag football and ping pong which the college students compete against each other. You could spend time in the Commons room in the arts building hanging out with friends or you could just relax by their pond.

    Am learning a lot

    Being a two year college, I was afraid that the courses wouldn't be challenging enough to prepare me for my future career or when I decided to transfer to a four year university. I have learned that some of their courses are challenging and gave me the proper education I needed. One course I really enjoyed was General Chemistry with Lab. The Instructor, Jack Hayes, made the class and the multiple labs interesting. His teaching methods kept you involved and active. His methods have helped me work harder and accomplish more in my other classes. There are a wide variety of courses to choose from no matter what your major is. The instructor there are willing to give you one on one time if you are struggling with a course, have questions about your career or future, or just want to talk.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for all types but, I am a non-traditional student and find that there are several of those going. That was a great find for me because I felt so out of place. I have made some life long friends at school. Just cuz I'm older....don't mean I not still fun!!!It is NEVER to late to learn!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you go into the Ag/Hort make sure and speak to the counselors in that department. If you speak to a counselor at the main campus they will lead you astray. You need to take certain classes at certain times. I didn't do that and it has hurt.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely feel you get the best bang for the buck there. I checked at a couple other colleges and they are at least triple the cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    Absolutely I love SFCC. It is a great community college and we are very fortunate to have it. I believe it is one of the best schools around. People come from other states to attend.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot. The basic education classes are top notch. I love the Agriculture department. I spend a lot of time working in the greenhouse. That is definitely my passion.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe and welcoming, and in a clean environment with friendly people willing to help a stranger.

    Great for these types of students

    State Fair would be the perfect place for new students who are not sure of what field they should enter, and who do not want to spend too much to figure it out. It is also a great place for someone seeking an associates.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school itself is in an unusual location; it is at what used to be a mall. The way of the building and the interior design is less intimidating than any other college. It makes people feel comfortable when walking in and talking to people.

    Bang for the buck

    State Fair Community College is a great place to start if you want or need an associates. It is very inexpensive, but only in the cost. State Fair is a fantastic place to begin higher education.

    What to do for fun

    At the Lake of the Ozark campus, there is not, yet, many activities, but there are great, interesting people to get to know.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had some very challenging teachers at State Fair. They push me to be original in my writings, but do not push me to where I do not think I am able to not do/finish homework or projects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read Syllabi's, show up at least 5 minutes early, sit in the front, and use the resources available.

  • 11/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Basketball Players- Only sport offered here. There is a Nursing program here. Who want to get an education and live in a rural setting. For those who messed up in high school and want to make it up!

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet new people, join organizations, study hard! There are alot of fun activities always going on like organized dodgeball and movie nights.

    Bang for the buck

    State Fair accepts scholarships and offers alot of their own. Apply for FAFSA and you just might qualify for federal aid. Sport games are free to the students, come out to support. Come watch theathre shows, teachers usually offer extra credit and its free to students.

    Am enjoying being here

    What I like most about State Fair is the location. Sedalia is a pretty neat town with alot of friendly and helpful people. My family lives a few minutes away so I can live at home. :) If you ever need help or advice there are plenty of people you can talk to on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    State Fair Community College in my opinion has lower expectations of students. There are a few excellent instructors which you can learn alot from. Heather Holye, an English instructor, is the best teacher on campus. She made English fun and was very informative, creative, and helpful. Definetly take a class she teaches, it will definetly be worth it. There are other instructors in which you will see that you will have to teach the class to your self with no help from the teacher. State Fair provides a tutors lab and amazingly they actually know what they are doing and I highly recommend you stop by there.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    a pretty small campus, so it appears to be safer. there haven't been too many incidents since i've attended, and if there is an incident the staff and faculty is quick to spread the word to help enforce the safety.

    Great for these types of students

    their online classes are great for those who have difficult schedules and find it hard to attend traditional classes. you will get just as much knowledge if not more from the online classes by working a lot closer with the other students in the class than in a traditional class.

    Bang for the buck

    get great knowledge and education for a lower cost than going to a bigger university

    Academic Rigor

    just the right amount of rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    the staff and instructors are friendly and always happy to help. if you are willing to communicate with them you will find this out.

    In three sentences

    wide range of classes offered excellent instructors great education at a lower cost

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had an issue or even thought there might be one. It is located in a strip mall so the public is always around. I have always felt safe around campus.

    Greek Life

    See above

    Clubs and Activities

    I believe they have a Phi Delta something... Not too familiar with it-think I'm too old for that-although I have heard good things about it.

    Great for these types of students

    The Lake campus is very small and class size is too-it is great for students who want a small school and personalized education. You will get to know almost everyone, definitely administration on a first name basis-they are great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the Lake they are pretty involved with community activities-I feel that's a good thing.

    Bang for the buck

    I actually typed those exact words already! As far as community colleges go and my experiences with my grown children attending other community colleges, State Fair is pretty good.

    What to do for fun

    Same as above!! And more!!

    Food and Dining

    If you attend the satellite campus in Lake of the Ozarks the possibilities are endless and excellent.

    Academic Rigor

    My experience with the quality of instructors and material covered has been very good. I feel I have learned a lot-not just made it through the classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are attending a satellite campus, like I am, it is proven to be most helpful to contact the main campus for important issues such as financial aid.

    In three sentences

    State Fair Community College is an excellent college to earn an AA degree or work towards a bachelor's degree. It is reasonably priced, the availability of courses is good, and instructors/administration are helpful. You get a lot of bang for the education buck at State Fair.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe, and if there is any notices of someone causing problems or issues the campus alarms all students through out the system.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is not alot of clubs or activites that the SFCC offers.

    Great for these types of students

    There is a program called Trio for students with learning disabilities that need free tutoring.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus offers a free movie to the students once a month.

    Bang for the buck

    I have really tried my hardest during my first year of college passing with A's & B's. I never thought that college would be this hard while trying to maintain a full time job, having 2 kids and a relationship. I fight a battle with dyslexa and reading is my weakest strength. My fiance has been my strongest point though always telling me not to give up and to keep pushing that in the end it would pay off.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my fiance and my two children. I have one child who is 4 years old and is Autistic. I also have another Son who just turned 1. We enjoy going to church on Sundays, fishing, monster trucks and most of all watching a good movie. I have a passion for motorcycles and love to rebuild them.

    Food and Dining

    The school offers breakfast lunch and dinner for students. The food is pretty decent and is hot. The do offer a variety for students.

    Dorm Life

    I live off of campus so I technically can not give a fair answer on this one. I do hear from other students that the dorms are very strict. You have to be in by a certain time or you may be locked out.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't feel that the college has a high Academic Rigor, the teachers often let students miss homework or assignments and allow them to complete them at a later time. This may work in the students favor at the time but it does not prepare a student for a University when they transfer. I feel that this could set the student up for failure later on.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell all students to be well prepared for each and every class. Know your schedule well, and bring all items that you need to your class. Don't give up if you feel like you may not understand something. Go to your teachers and explain that you may not understand what they are going over. They may offer you tutoring.

    In three sentences

    I give State Fair Community College 4 out of 5 stars because it has a lot of different opportunities for students. The college is trying to improve the learning center all around the campus. Some of the teachers may not teach you the way you expect to learn, but that can happen at any college. The college is flexible with hours, and works well with students.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a safe place to learn. I had no trouble walking around campus by myself.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many types of clubs on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For the first to weeks there are a bunch of activities that students can do to win prizes.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends by going to the movies and going out to eat.

    Food and Dining

    The food could have been better.

    Dorm Life

    It was a great place to live and have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers here try to make sure you understand the subject you are studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to be yourselves and ask for help if you need it.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to learn and make new friends. The teachers and staff members will help you with anything you need help with.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If your struggling ask for help in the tutoring center.

    In three sentences

    The teachers care about how well you succeed in classes. The staff is extremely friendly. The college grounds and buildings are always kept clean.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their No Tolerance policy as stated before has been very strict, they've also weeded out the unfit for campus life and and would love to keep the peace.

    Greek Life

    I'm unfamiliar with the Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The State Fair is held every year in August for 10 days, Art Club, and History Club as well as many others I'm not fond of.

    Great for these types of students

    Country, small town, and city folk are well-fitted for this college, as well as a wide variety of degrees for the basis of their future. It is also great for art students, business and management, and agricultural fields.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No, I don't believe we have any cults or crazy traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    Money is always an issue but not for the fortunate that receive scholarships or grants from other organizations. The A+ Program has been provided for those which are eligible and have acquired the required hours of tutoring in which the college credits will be mostly paid for if not all. I myself would love to proceed with my higher education and show my works of art for all to love, but great prospects always have a beginning.

    What to do for fun

    The campus provides free Wi-Fi so Internet games shouldn't be an issue, and I've heard the classes I wish to attend have great professors. The State Fair is also held on campus grounds which last from August 9-19 in celebration of the schools 110th anniversary. Along with attendance, the activities present are expected to be fun like movie nights, all sorts of games, and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    My brother and father have both attended and graduated from here so I believe that their food will suffice. No complaints nor empty stomachs, but the encumbrance of payment towards the meal plan has its toll. But regardless of price, a full stomach is all one would need for an everlasting day of fulfillment.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life on campus should be as homely as can be, as well as the people within. The rooms accommodate at most two students which aren't selected by random but either choice or similarities. The price also accommodates each student's financial situation along with the help of financial aid which can be provided.

    Academic Rigor

    This campus has the no tolerance policy, it is also a drug and smoke free zone. A clean environment allows room for your proper learning experience and full potential. The college staff and dean also would like to congratulate their students for their great accomplishments outside and in college, but don't want them attending forever.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't waist your time for classes not needed, focus on the ones required for your degree. And remember you are paying them for your education, but also try and have some fun.

    In three sentences

    My father and I share a common passion for art and an attention to detail, which is useful for this talent. He has my confidence and I believe him when he says that this college has a great art program and the best starting point for my degree. Also its location is quite convenient and the pond I hear is occasionally pleasant.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The Staff is all very nice. They are also very helpful with all your problems or concerns.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to get prerequisites out of the way and want to transfer, but also great for students like me who want to get a two year degree and be done.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    State Fair has several sub campuses around Missouri, all listed on the website.

    Bang for the buck

    I love it here at State Fair Community College. Not only is the entire staff helpful, but its a very nonstressful environment.

    What to do for fun

    Since I live in a sub campus there aren't as many oppurtunities here, but they still offer some clubs if you want to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe food is amazing at the main campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They push you to get good grades and all the teachers want you to excel, they even help when the students don't know how to ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think you can do it on your own. Go to the front desk and ask for an advising appointment. If you don't like the classes that have been offered, let the people know. Don't forget you still have a voice that matters, after all, it's your education, not theirs.

    In three sentences

    Being from the Clinton campus it's hard to drive to Sedalia to get books or talk to anyone higher up if I need to. Although I only had to drive up there once due to there being so many helpful people here. The college website is also easy to follow and tons of help.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty cheap and you feel you get what you pay for. I am told that State Fair's classes are just as difficult and sometimes more than other schools. It is a great school for those that want a good education.

    What to do for fun

    The gym is great and it is in a town that is small enough you can go across town in 15 minutes. There are lots of things to do in this small town and if you want to go to the city that is not too far either.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is great!

    Dorm Life

    I have not stayed in the dorm and I don't know anyone that has so I can't rate this one fairly.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, especially the online ones, but the knowledge you gain is worth the work. I feel I get the same experience and education as if I were in a bigger school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the orientation course and the college preparation courses. They help you understand more about what you are going to be doing and what is expected of you.

    In three sentences

    State Fair Community College is a great school that helps you prepare for four year colleges. Small student to teacher ratios give students the attention they need to succeed. The option of online courses also makes it a great choice for non-traditional students that have to work as well as attend classes.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not a focused aspect of college life.

    In three sentences

    In Lake Ozark Missouri I attend State Fair Community College. I feel that this campus is a basement college. The faculty and students make the classes and lectures interesting and entertaining.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and well lit all the time.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional students bode well here.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities being held - whether athletic or academic or a fun movie night on the lawns.

    Food and Dining

    For a small college, the dining hall has a lot to offer. The seating is spacious and there is a large flat screen to watch the news on while you eat if you want.

    Dorm Life

    There is a small dorm right off the main campus which is nice. I've never lived there, but I've friends who did and they enjoyed their stay.

    Academic Rigor

    The math courses are famous for their toughness, but there is always the tutoring center to help you get through. The course loads aren't horrendous. The instructors are available for help during their posted office hours and welcome students to ask questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early so you get the best selection of classes. Use all the help the school provides when enrolling in classes. If you're a smoker, get used to walking to your car - we have a drug free campus.

    In three sentences

    The faculty are very involved with their students. The campus hosts the Daum Museum, which is kinda cool. They are always working towards making college a better experience for all students, not just traditional students.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school always has many activities planned that are a blast. There are also many stores to shop at in the area. The area also has a movie theater and many fun places to go!

    Food and Dining

    I have never had an issue with their food. I always find it delicious and appetizing.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't live in the dorms but my friends do. They always tell me that it's a great place to stay.

    Academic Rigor

    I have really enjoyed being in this college. I also feel that they are not trying to put me in debt unlike other colleges. It is very affordable and a great experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would start your admissions process early just to make sure that everything goes by smoothly.

    In three sentences

    I find State Fair to be a very affordable college. I have had a great experience so far. I would definitely recommend this college to anyone that would like to go to a great affordable college.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Began as a 'commuter college' but has grown to include dorms, satellite campuses, and online courses/degrees as well as partnerships/transfer opportunites to complete Bachelor's degrees while still on the same campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of campus activities - movie nights, clubs, organizations, and events - to get involved with/in.

    Food and Dining

    Most of what I've tried has been quite good.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience with this area.

    Academic Rigor

    I've had little trouble with my classes, but I'm an overachiever and very determined to push through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships/financial aid early - process sometimes takes a while. Get involved in campus activities, and enjoy the experience.

    In three sentences

    Small class sizes means personal attention. Like Cheers, everybody knows your name. Quality education, multiple campuses, affordable tuition.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do, whether if it is attending an athletic event or taking evening personal enrichment courses. There are many excellent theater and euphonious music productions throughout the semesters. Try participating in special clubs, such as anime or literature club, or student government.

    Bang for the buck

    This school provides the most bang for your buck with: In-district residents- $95 per credit hour; Missouri residents- $127 per credit hour; Out-of-state residents- $190 per credit hour; International residents- $222 per credit hour.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are pretty rigorous, but not too hard, as most of the classes are the lower level classes that transfer for Bachelor's. Always try your best and if you have troubles there is on-campus tutoring and also the professors are willing to help anyway they can to help succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    State Fair is a great school to start and get your general education credit out of the way while trying figure out what to major later on down the road.

    In three sentences

    State Fair Community College is a great place to start your continuation of higher education. They provide many opportunities to succeed through academic tutoring or other programs, the curriculum, and great professors that are willing to help. It is a encouraging, friendly environment that makes feel right at home.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. I have never personally seen any security at the campus, but when something occasionally happens at or around the school the college does a great job informing students.

    Greek Life

    I am don't think that there are any sororities at the school because of it's size, but there are a few clubs that you can join.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are only a few clubs, but there are many activities, especially at the beginning and end of the semester, The activities are always free and the events are emailed to students and posted around the school.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for all students. Those who like to save money, those who are undecided on a major, those who like personal one on one with teachers, those who like small classes, those who like a good mixture of teachers and classes, those who like options, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is a lot cheaper than the other colleges around. I would highly recommend starting at a Community College. You save money and there are smaller classes and you can take more classes if you have an undecided major without breaking the bank as bad as you would at a university. I don't understand why everyone doesn't start college at a Community College, it's the smartest thing to so.

    Food and Dining

    I have never ate in the cafeteria, but there are many restaurants not far from the college. There are even two gas stations and restaurants less than a few blocks from the college.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in dorms. The college is said to have a limited amount of dorms and they are said to not be all that great. I would recommend renting and for you to start gathering up rental references for when you are out of college and want to purchase a house.

    Academic Rigor

    College was very hard and time consuming for me. The college does have many computer labs and free academic tutors to help students. The college also has WiFi. The school helps students match up with advisors that help student take the correct classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take teachers that are recommended because of their knowledge on subjects. The school has great teachers and ask around and make sure you get the great teachers. Take on campus and online classes to learn more and push yourself as a student, prospective job seeker, ect. Be apart of Trio Student Services if you can. They help low income students, first generation students, and students with disabilities. The program helped me adjust to college.

    In three sentences

    I think that State Fair Community College overall had very good instructors that were friendly and knowledgeable. The class sizes are great and you are able to connect and feel more comfortable with teachers and students while learning. The school is small and most buildings are connected with added convenience to students and teachers.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten in the cafeteria once but the food was amazing!

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others. Be sure to challenge yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are taking online courses reach out to your classmates. They can become a valuable learning assets. Also never be afraid to email a teacher. They are here to help you achieve your goals.

    In three sentences

    State Fair Community College is a wonderful college. I am currently taking online courses and the teachers are caring and engaging. I am very happy to have started my college career at State Fair Community College.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very little reported incidents.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have a hard time focusing are easily helped with small student to faculty ratio because it allows teachers to work one on one with the professor.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the Lake Ozark campus the school was moved to the top part of Stone Crest Mall allowing us to have a beautiful lobby which includes a fountain, and unique entrances around every door.

    Bang for the buck

    By earning a degree with State Fair one saves a substantial amount of money, can meet a lot of excellent professors and get a degree that fits best around ones schedule.

    What to do for fun

    Around the School there are many fun things to do such as bowling, shopping, here in Lake Ozark that allows one to go swimming, fishing, and almost any outdoor activity depending on the weather.

    Food and Dining

    Food is up to you none is provided at state fair in Osage Beach Missouri.

    Dorm Life

    NO DORMS at Osage Beach( Lake Ozark ) location.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the classes depends on the class and whether or not one took online classes. The Online classes present a better opportunity to work at ones own pace and the difficulty of online verses in class work is the amount of time one takes for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking for a Graduate school, State Fair will not transfer all earned credits without a earned degree. Lectures tend to be lengthy, but there is hands on learning with some teachers.

    In three sentences

    State Fair Community College is a fairly smaller school that focuses on the needs of the Students. Faculty is fun and interactive. Lectures can be long in some classes but over all I would rate it a 6.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's plenty of shopping to be done as well as on-campus events and sports!

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of restaurants in Sedalia and I believe there is also a food plan you can sign up for.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't yet say, but I've heard good things.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will probably enjoy this school!!

    In three sentences

    It is a small, close-knit college. It should be easy to find my classes. I will enjoy getting to use the gym and library for free.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe that is one of the things they have spaired no expense.

    Greek Life

    unfortanatlly, there is no greek life at state fair community college in sedalia.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices for the campus classes are reasonable. Were as i feel the online classes are expenseive.

    What to do for fun

    Sedalia is a small family type town. There is not alot to do ,but in any direction you have a bigger city with things to do if you have transpertaion.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not that good ,but i have had worse. however, there are some good resturants off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am not sure about the dorm life i live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are good for a community college. However, it is a community college most people do not make it though their first semester,but if you really want to make it though there are pleanty of people that you can seek out to help you with any kind of problem you are haveing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I would give to prospective students would be keep a open-line of communication with your instructors. Have good organization skills. Relize its not high school anymore. Keep a positive attitude about school even when difficult. Have good work ethics.

    In three sentences

    State Fair Community College is a small community college. The instructors are very attentive to your needs. State Fair Community College is also a good starter school instead of a big university.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is not a dining hall at the Lake Ozark campus, but there are several resturants close to campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very helpful to the students if they need any help or assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like small class sizes and to get to know your teachers I reccommend State Fair Community College at the Lake Ozark campus.

    In three sentences

    I attend State Fair Community College at the Lake Ozark Campus. The class sizes are small, which allows the teachers to get to know all of the students personally. I am having a wonderful time here.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    State Fair does not have a campus.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on the campus.

    In three sentences

    State Fair Community College is very friendly and easy to work with. It dint take me long to get started, and they are very supportive of active duty families. I love the online college access they have.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and the parking lots are well lit. I had a few evening classes but I never had any problems with safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are way to many clubs and groups to count. You are bound to find one where you fit in. Also, there are many interesting activities to choose from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a quiet pond for photographing, reading or just to appreciate nature.

    Food and Dining

    Never ate their but it looked really good.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I like how the instructors are understanding and flexible but they challenge there students to think outside the box and be creative.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read everything that you get. You will find free tutoring, financial advising and many others.

    In three sentences

    In SFCC you get to know your instructor and classmates. You have the opportunity to work together. Also, the instructors are very helpful.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great. very safe and secure campus

    Greek Life

    limited

    Clubs and Activities

    many clubs and diversity on campus

    Great for these types of students

    All types from high school grads to non traditional students

    Bang for the buck

    Great value for the quality education you get.

    What to do for fun

    live off campus

    Food and Dining

    Live off campus

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging and instructors are there to make you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advisor, they are your best connection to the school.

    In three sentences

    This is a great community college with instructors that care about their students. Student to instructor ratio is great. I wish I could finish my bachelors degree here.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a safe place, i have never heard of any incidents.

    Clubs and Activities

    State fair has a few clubs the main one being TRIO which is designed to help students move on in their college careers!

    Great for these types of students

    State Fair is great for students wanting to get the basics in before transferring to another college for a four year degree.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has several movie nights so you can bring your roadrunner card and camp out of the grass and enjoy a great movie. The campus also offers a basketball tournament which the guys seem to love and the actual state fair basketball players officiate its a great way for fans to bond with the players.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is always a great place for students to relax and chow down on some amazing food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is limited and not required for freshman which is great for people just wanting to get into an apartment situation or those whom would rather commute.

    Academic Rigor

    State fair feels that maintaining a good GPA is important and they have tutors to help you maintain that GPA and also TRIO you can join!

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early for the best classes!!

    In three sentences

    State Fair is a small town college that offers a great education for students wanting to start out their college years without damaging their pockets! State fair makes the college experience more affordable and offers a large amount of things for such a small school. I would recommend SFCC to anyone, any day!

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    After looking at a few other options - this college made the most since for me!

    Food and Dining

    Unknown

    Dorm Life

    Unknown

    Academic Rigor

    If you work hard you will do wonderful!

    In three sentences

    I really love the personal setting that State Fair Community College offers. It has been easy to get back into the college setting with the great staff and students. I am looking forward to continuing my education at State Fair.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Im not sure the dorm life, I stay in apartments on my own. but the campus is really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that they have a top academic status

    Tips for prospective students

    if you have transporation and can get in class seats do so, its way cheaper than online. State fair offers many mini off set campuses.

    In three sentences

    I like that I can take online classes. The one complaint is that they don't answer the phones a lot, seems like your always transferred to voicemail and some people don't respond. Some of the teachers information for online classes were not updated. I do like that they are the one place in Missouri that offers dental hygiene programs.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus here is relatively safe. There is a very low crime rate (right next to non-existant) and the college website actively updates their campus safety bulletins.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who have little money. The tuition here is affordable, yet the teachers do such an amazing job teaching, it's shocking how low you will pay. It's also great for those who don't like large, intimidating campuses.

    Bang for the buck

    You can save a lot of money coming here to knock out your Gen. Eds. The tuition here is affordable. The staff is well-trained and always willing to lend a hand. What gets me every time is how awesome the teachers here are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't waste time being in the Undecided category. Find a profession you like and get a degree in it.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of 1 to 10, I would Give State Fair a 9. The teachers here are great, the faculty is always willing to help you, and it's not too big of a school. I love going here.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Low Income

    Bang for the buck

    Great prices to utilize your school funds.

    What to do for fun

    Fishing, hunting and family.

    Academic Rigor

    You're started out with a bang and it doesn't slow down.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early because they get slammed and can't get you processed as fast. Sign up for your classes as soon as possible because they fill up fast. Don't hesitate to ask those troubling questions!

    In three sentences

    Very friendly staff will make your experience top notch. Wonderful teachers who take the time to help you anytime. Detached office staff is not very knowledgeable in helping you with your registration questions�

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite thing about State Fair - is that there is something to do every day - they might have a outdoor movie, a put-put golf tournament, or a basketball game. They try very hard to get the students involved in activities, and it helps!

    Bang for the buck

    The bang for your buck is a huge reason I picked SFCC. I looked at other schools that I would have gained the skills, but not the same degree, and they we 2x if not 3x what State Fair was. Plus having knowledgeable staff that WANTS TO HELP is priceless!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at SFCC is great, they work really hard to provide a good variety of foods and beverages.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I know people that do. If you are coming from out of state, it is a great option!

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of different programs to get involved in. They have one of the best nursing programs around!

    In three sentences

    State Fair was a fit for me - I had looked at other colleges, and the small town feel and the affordable credit hours made getting a degree easier. The teachers that I have had so far, have been very helpful and dedicated. The availability for tutors and help is never ending!

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emails are sent out whenever we need to be alert about something.

    Clubs and Activities

    Kansas City and Columbia MO. St Louis is just a 4 hr drive.

    Great for these types of students

    County loving students who like farms, rodeos, fairs, and small towns.

    Bang for the buck

    You can obtain an RN here and that's not too bad for a 2 year college.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Columbia or Kansa City for activities and shopping. The school holds a lot of functions as well.

    Food and Dining

    I don't live on campus but I hear it isn't too bad.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in the dorms but they're big on safety. I'd live there if I didn't work at the base.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the teacher you have. The teachers I've had are pretty understanding and love to teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait until the last minute for anything.

    In three sentences

    State Fair s the cheapest school I've been able to find. State Fair is in the middle of no where. The financial aid rules are not very accommodating for the students.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Greek Life

    Greek restaurant in town

    Clubs and Activities

    various clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    small class sizes for more personal learning experience

    Bang for the buck

    do get your money's worth

    What to do for fun

    I am sure there is always something going on. I see it posted all over the satellite campus

    Food and Dining

    again always went to a satellite campus

    Dorm Life

    never got to experience this

    Academic Rigor

    being a non traditional student I have enjoyed the interactions of the smaller class rooms

    Tips for prospective students

    do your research and follow through and if you don't understand something be sure to ask. It cost you a fortune in education so get your money's worth and ask the questions!

    In three sentences

    To start off and get all the general academics out of the way I have enjoyed this campus and their support staff.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are multiple things to do for fun. You can join one of the many activities and groups they offer. Or you can attend the athletics.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dinning is just like every other school.

    Dorm Life

    I personally have not lived in the dorms as I go to school at a brach of Sedalia's campus in Clinton MO. I have heard the dorms are affordable and nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers and staff make this a good educational enviorment. We have everything thing we need to work with and there are always chances to get help with studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest taking advantage of the computer labs and toutoring sessions. They're very helpful and if the teacher sees that you're trying they are going to be more willing to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    State Fair Community College is a great place to start out in a career path or get your general education classes complete. All of the staff is very willing to help you whether it's in the classroom or finding funding. Also the class sizes are small so you get to know most of your class mates well and that works out great for study groups.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a tobacco free campus.

    What to do for fun

    I like to work out in the campus gym and run on the track.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and at a reasonable price.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know what the dorm life is like but I hear from friends that it is nice and pretty relaxed.

    Academic Rigor

    It is easy to fairly difficult depending on the class you take but overall it is not to rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and pay attention in class and it won't be hard.

    In three sentences

    My college is clean, good teachers, free tutoring, great counselors, and financial aid are very friendly and great at answering questions and helping students. It is a nice and smaller campus, making it easy to get around. The atmosphere is warm, fun, and relaxed making classes less stressful through out the year.